General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Hefty on May 07, 2014, 12:20:30 PM

Title: Which home wood heater should I get?
Post by: Hefty on May 07, 2014, 12:20:30 PM
The "show us your home wood heater" thread has inspired me to ask and I didn't want to hijack.
We're building our house this year and one of the few totally unnecessary (we live in Brisbane) luxury items we want is a wood heater!
We want a free standing fire place and I'd like the benefit of a surface I can boil a kettle on. The house is 254 sq metres but I'm only really aiming to heat the open kitchen/living/dining area and attached media room with any heat to bedrooms down the hall being an added bonus. Ceiling height 2550mm.

So, what brands, features etc do you recommend?
I've done a little research but I'd love to hear from people with wood heaters, especially if they've chosen and installed their own.

Cheers!
Jono.
Post by: scarps on May 07, 2014, 12:35:47 PM
Masport get's my tick.
edit: Made in Newzealandasia very thick steel plate and solid fire bricks
Title: Re: Which home wood heater should I get?
Post by: Woodsie on May 07, 2014, 01:01:31 PM
Look at the KENT EV Series
Post by: Kangaron on May 07, 2014, 02:40:53 PM
Look for the thickness of steel, must be lined with fire bricks/tiles.
Just like CT's unfortunately most come out of China now.
Post by: fuji on May 07, 2014, 04:28:19 PM
Yes alot are made in ROC. When I bought mine, i made sure it was made in oz. have a look at these websites to get an idea.
http://www.pivotstove.com.au/ (http://www.pivotstove.com.au/)
http://www.classicfireplacesandbbqs.com.au/wood-heaters/ (http://www.classicfireplacesandbbqs.com.au/wood-heaters/)
Victorian sites I agree but gives you an idea. Get one with a fan and put in a ceiling fan to push down the heat. Masport are a good heater for sure, Ned Kelly are great! And as well as Kent. I have had a Kent, Ned Kelly, and now a Jindara. Good luck.
Wayne
Post by: Rumpig on May 07, 2014, 04:48:56 PM
we have a Morso heater, to be honest we bought it mainly for it's looks as it suits our home being we have an older timber house. we bought ours about 10 years ago, there used to be quite a few shops around Brisbane back then selling fire places / combustion stoves, but most seem to have disappeared these days.
Post by: FZJ on May 07, 2014, 05:14:22 PM
Bought a KENT EV6 last year....very very happy.    takes a large log in the morning(a bit like my uncle Vinny) and it will tick away for ages.
Great value.
Post by: Brumbypt on May 07, 2014, 05:56:51 PM
dunno which brand you choose but get the biggest one they make, you can always turn the fire down if too hot, and you can use all sorts of funny shaped wood, like small  tree stumps etc.

we have a ultimate 25 in our 11 square house, yes its meant for a 25 square house, we hardly ever use the fan on it, saving us $$ on electricity..

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Post by: Kangaron on May 07, 2014, 06:17:07 PM
I went to Pivot for research as well, they said Masport and Kent were now China based as well.
Don't know who to believe these days.

Aber Holdings in NZ hide it in their mission statement  Aber has been procuring products from overseas for the past 30 years and has secured strong agencies and trading relationships with international manufactures all over the world. Today approximately 70% of our product is sourced from the SE Asia, with the remainder from Australia, USA, Japan and Italy

While Masport advertise on their front page, so we don't really know what or how much of the component is made here, if any at all.

Post by: DropBearRacing on May 07, 2014, 06:17:59 PM
dunno which brand you choose but get the biggest one they make, you can always turn the fire down if too hot, and you can use all sorts of funny shaped wood, like small  tree stumps etc.

we have a ultimate 25 in our 11 square house, yes its meant for a 25 square house, we hardly ever use the fan on it, saving us $$ on electricity..

Peter,
sent by telegram stop

x 2 couldn't agree more with this Peter.
Post by: fuji on May 07, 2014, 06:22:20 PM
Unbloody believeable!
Post by: Swogjb on May 07, 2014, 06:28:46 PM
We have recently been doing a fair bit of research on combustion heaters.

I rang the local bloke that installs the heaters, he installs them all and I asked him what the best was.
Eureka was his No 1 pick by a fair bit.
Ultimate no 2 pick.
In his opinion the cheapies are not worth owning, the fire boxes just don't last and the baffle plates burn out real quick.

I have not yet decided to go for a Eureka or for the Ultimate. The Eureka is a $hit load more $$

We have an Ultimate built in unit in our current house, we purchased it new about 8 years ago and it has been brilliant.
The new house has 11ft ceilings and is massive so have been tossing up wether it's worth spending the extra coin on a Eureka for such a big old house.

Post by: Swannie on May 07, 2014, 07:44:56 PM
Clean air
Post by: Mrs smith on May 07, 2014, 08:10:00 PM
Current heater is a "Arrow 2400"  just about to replace the flu after 20 years apart from that it's cost very little in maintenance, 1 baffle and one or 2 of the cast iron
parts and it's still got plenty of life left in it.
Also made in Oz.

http://www.shamicheating.com/arrow/index.php?id=187 (http://www.shamicheating.com/arrow/index.php?id=187)

http://www.shamicheating.com/arrow/product_detail.php?id=226 (http://www.shamicheating.com/arrow/product_detail.php?id=226)
Post by: Grayzo on May 07, 2014, 08:39:20 PM
We brought a SAXON, Rosewood-freestanding-heater. Awesome bit of gear...  :cup: solid steel wood box. Built solid.
Post by: griz066 on May 07, 2014, 09:05:05 PM
Buy Australian made
http://www.nectre.com (http://www.nectre.com)
Post by: heath74 on May 07, 2014, 09:25:09 PM
I have an ultimate, I'm very happy with it.
Post by: hargs on May 07, 2014, 09:52:46 PM
people have wood heaters in Brisbane ! Why ?
Post by: scarps on May 07, 2014, 10:07:13 PM

people have wood heaters in Brisbane ! Why ?
sunny one day, perfectly cold the next!
Post by: hargs on May 07, 2014, 10:12:29 PM
Strange ...........

We light ours down here in April and it goes non stop it sometime in August ...its 30 years old. Kent.

wood heaters in Brisbane..............you sure you need one ???
Post by: scarps on May 07, 2014, 10:15:26 PM
Strange ...........

We light ours down here in April and it goes non stop it sometime in August ...its 30 years old. Kent.

only when the temp drops below 20degrees.
Post by: hargs on May 07, 2014, 10:22:31 PM
I tell a lie........we will be going north to Gods own country for 5 weeks of winter to escape the cold.....
We rarely bother with a fire when camping...unless others we are camping with want one. Not a novelty just a necessity. Have had wood heating and cooking most of my life.

Post by: Scooters5 on May 07, 2014, 10:29:23 PM
Buy Australian made
http://www.nectre.com (http://www.nectre.com)

+1 We have one of their Mk2, it's been going strong for about 14+yrs now. Still as good as the day we installed it. Big door opening for the larger logs too.
Post by: Hefty on May 08, 2014, 08:23:14 AM
Strange ...........

No, I know I don't need one (I thought that was pretty clear from my original post!)
But, for the biggest house we will have lived in yet, for less electricity, for the romance and just coz I wanna, dang it! :cheers:

Cheers!
Jono.
Post by: scarps on May 08, 2014, 08:24:10 AM
No, I know I don't need one (I thought that was pretty clear from my original post!)
But, for the biggest house we will have lived in yet, for less electricity, for the romance and just coz I wanna, dang it! :cheers:

Cheers!
Jono.
do you have a bearskin rug on the floor in front?
For insulation on the floor to save on electricity.
Post by: Hefty on May 09, 2014, 02:32:32 PM
Lol, no but I have a goat skin! Maybe I could stretch it real thin and cover the whole floor.

Seriously though, apart from brands, are there any particular features that people consider really important eg cast iron firebox or welded steel? Fire brick lined or (I don't even remember what other materials they use for this)?

I know down south they are a necessity and up here it's just a luxury but we're on a camping forum where one thing that is talked about a lot is sitting around a fire. Why shouldn't I want one in my home? Therefore, if I'm gonna spend the money, I thought I'd ask those in the know what they recommend.

Cheers!
Jono.
Post by: scarps on May 09, 2014, 04:10:25 PM

Lol, no but I have a goat skin!

Cheers!
Jono.
you're kidding me, right?
Post by: Kangaron on May 09, 2014, 07:46:33 PM
If it floats your boat, look for a grill on top for heat transfer,
some only have a thin covering plate.
We leave a 5L kettle on it all day and it does the toast etc in the mornings.
But if you have little ones your ideas might differ.

Post by: steppenwolf on May 09, 2014, 11:14:09 PM
An obscure boutique called Bunnings has, from time to time, great deals on all sorts of imported heaters. No doubt lots of other similar places do as well. BUT - and it's a REALLY BIG BUT - usually they are single shipments from overseas suppliers. Once that shipment goes, that's it. In 3-4 years time, when the whatsit collapses/breaks/rusts out/disintegrates, it's mate, they're all gone, no, we don't carry spare parts. Then you're back getting a great deal on an imported heater ....

We replaced a massive Irish peat-burner slow combustion stove after a couple of decades with a wood heater that was AUSTRALIAN MADE. Not just out of patriotism, but so we had a bit of a chance of getting parts and service down the track. We got a NECTRE from South Australia because they looked to have the widest distributorship, ie best chance of staying in business. Great phone advice, including honest assessment. (We got the "Baker's Oven" and the bloke on the phone said "The thermometer? Hopeless! Ignore it and just experiment!" which saved us a heap of wood and worry) and pretty bulletproof build. Sure there are plenty of good Aussie choices out there. 
Post by: bmak on May 09, 2014, 11:58:14 PM
I work for one of the leading Australian manufacturers and I say buy Australian.

The others are just not worth the hassle.

Although there is an import that's an identical copy to one of ours and seems to be good I wouldn't trust it long term.

Post by: kylarama on May 10, 2014, 06:49:48 AM
Is Coonara still around? 

I had a built in one in my last place that could incinerate the loungeroom with very little wood. Big heater, small room.
Current house has a big Coonara freestander that was installed when the house was built in 85.  Only thing I've ever had to touch on it is the rope door seal.
Post by: Brumbypt on May 10, 2014, 02:26:58 PM
when u do buy one, get ya self some welding gloves. great for picking and moving logs when putting them in so no splinters. And perfect for moving wood around when hot, thats if you have to to keep the fire burning well.

The wife will use them lots, we don't use those poker sticks, broom sets. tried them in the past and they don't last long. Unless you get the old forged type.

Anyway, welding gloves.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Post by: bmak on May 10, 2014, 04:09:53 PM
Yes coonara is still around. Different manufacturer to when yours was built but same heater

Post by: Hefty on May 12, 2014, 03:08:36 PM
when u do buy one, get ya self some welding gloves. great for picking and moving logs when putting them in so no splinters. And perfect for moving wood around when hot, thats if you have to to keep the fire burning well.

The wife will use them lots, we don't use those poker sticks, broom sets. tried them in the past and they don't last long. Unless you get the old forged type.

Anyway, welding gloves.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Thanks Peter! That's a nice little tip. I do the same already with camp ovens so, yes, I think I'll do the same inside.

Cheers!
Jono.
Post by: WilSurf on May 12, 2014, 04:24:52 PM
I have put in the order to install the Regency Alterra.
Can't wait to have a nice wood fre in the hpuse giving us nice warmth.
Post by: WilSurf on June 09, 2014, 01:17:22 PM
Heater has been installed and tested.
Post by: Bunyip on June 10, 2014, 04:45:02 PM
Looks great.
Post by: GraemeL on June 10, 2014, 05:01:54 PM
Lol, no but I have a goat skin! Maybe I could stretch it real thin and cover the whole floor.

Seriously though, apart from brands, are there any particular features that people consider really important eg cast iron firebox or welded steel? Fire brick lined or (I don't even remember what other materials they use for this)?

I know down south they are a necessity and up here it's just a luxury but we're on a camping forum where one thing that is talked about a lot is sitting around a fire. Why shouldn't I want one in my home? Therefore, if I'm gonna spend the money, I thought I'd ask those in the know what they recommend.

Cheers!
Jono.

I would also like to know what to look for when buying one. We have just bought a house that has reverse cycle as the heating, I'm not made of money and don't want to be paying a fortune in elec bills so I am also looking at buying a wood heater.

But there are so many with to many different build options etc it's a bloody nightmare.

So if someone could tell us what we should be looking for it would be appreciated.
Post by: WilSurf on June 10, 2014, 05:14:16 PM
I think the important question is: how many square meters do you need/want to heat?
Post by: GraemeL on June 10, 2014, 07:08:01 PM
230 sqm for me, I would like to know what the different materials are and what should I look out for when buying one.
Post by: Hairs on May 16, 2015, 06:13:15 PM
Sorry to drag up an old thread  8)
We purchased a Jotul NO3,second hand a few months ago.
This heater really suits our lounge room and timber throughout our home.
(http://bmjohnson.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/Jotul_F3TD.jpg)
The flue didn't come with it,  just the fire box(All parts are there), So I need to get a flue made, buy a Dektite Silicone for it.
Just wondering what the Australian Standards are for installation.
EG, distance from wall, other measurements and materials to be used.
I tried Google, it would appear to be a council thing  ???
Post by: Rodt on May 16, 2015, 06:44:13 PM
It was at least three years ago when i installed one in a previous house but i thing the distance from the wall etc is a manufacturer's thing and not councils. I was advised at the time that it had a bigger impact on your insurance if one was found installed too close to a wall and there was a fire (regardless of the cause). From memory mine had to be at least 35 - 40cm away unless there were heat resistant tiles on the wall.

Rod
Post by: Rumpig on May 16, 2015, 06:54:01 PM
pretty sure the distances are usually mentioned by the manufacturer as already mentioned, here's a link to the specs of one very similiar to what we have in our lounge room http://mrstoves.com.au/wood-heater/westcott-3000-radiant-wood-heater.html (http://mrstoves.com.au/wood-heater/westcott-3000-radiant-wood-heater.html)
Post by: Hairs on May 16, 2015, 07:00:41 PM
G'day Rod,
Yeah, I was told today it had to be installed by a license plumber or your insurance will wipe ya as well.
I guess I'll ask a plumber on Monday at work.
Having it 400mm from the wall, with a rear flue( out through the wall because there are solar panels on the roof and the flue/chimney will need to exit up through the veranda's roof), besides there is a bloody truss smack dang where the flue needs to go.
Yeah, sounds weird, but there is no other way of doing it  >:D 

Hey Rumpig, thanks for the link  :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on May 16, 2015, 07:04:44 PM
This mob look like an agent for Jotul in NSW, maybe contact them for more accurate details regarding clearances http://www.hawkesburyheating.com.au/jutul (http://www.hawkesburyheating.com.au/jutul)
Post by: Hairs on May 16, 2015, 07:46:51 PM
This mob look like an agent for Jotul in NSW, maybe contact them for more accurate details regarding clearances http://www.hawkesburyheating.com.au/jutul (http://www.hawkesburyheating.com.au/jutul)

Again, Thank you Mate for your help and the links.
Post by: Snapman007 on May 16, 2015, 08:57:09 PM
I luv my pov old school recycled washer open fire. :D
(http://i1129.photobucket.com/albums/m501/snapman007/d8821b2ca9bc84b1cacfbbac32d225cb_zpszj4bompy.jpg)
There's a 6.2m glass door fully open letting the heat into the house. Sitting outside watching the footy with the sounds crankin, luv motley crew. Crocs and singlet is to warm
Post by: MarkGU on May 16, 2015, 09:08:18 PM
I luv my pov old school recycled washer open fire. :D
(http://i1129.photobucket.com/albums/m501/snapman007/d8821b2ca9bc84b1cacfbbac32d225cb_zpszj4bompy.jpg)
There's a 6.2m glass door fully open letting the heat into the house. Sitting outside watching the footy with the sounds crankin, luv motley crew. Crocs and singlet is to warm
you in crocs and a singlet is the stuff nighmares are made of   8)
Post by: shanegtr on May 16, 2015, 09:11:09 PM
I would also like to know what to look for when buying one. We have just bought a house that has reverse cycle as the heating, I'm not made of money and don't want to be paying a fortune in elec bills so I am also looking at buying a wood heater.

But there are so many with to many different build options etc it's a bloody nightmare.

So if someone could tell us what we should be looking for it would be appreciated.
Spend the $$$ on house solar panels to offset the electricity consumption. Reverse cycle A/C is more effecient at heating and better for the enviroment
Post by: Snapman007 on May 16, 2015, 09:16:37 PM
Mark, sorry to wreck it for ya but I'm also wearing traky daks. :-*
Post by: pauljygrant on May 16, 2015, 09:19:10 PM
Highly recommend Scan, part of Jotul. Danish / German engineering. Sadly, only a small section of their range is available in Australia due to the huge cost to get each stove certified despite them meeting much higher standards of clean burn technology in Europe and North America. Their distributor is Pecan Engineering of South Australia. Not affiliated to the company in any way, just a delighted customer.
Post by: WilSurf on May 18, 2015, 10:08:39 AM
We had our wood burner blazing yesterday as it was getting cold in the house.
Nice.
Post by: Hairs on May 18, 2015, 07:22:31 PM
So after a chat with a local plumber, all is good, I have things I have to have made, nothing to serious  ;D
A little bit of of stuffing around, but it will work.