General => General Discussion => Topic started by: scarps on May 06, 2014, 06:14:19 PM
Except for WA who I discovered recognise the Queen's Birthday later in Sept, we've all possibly got a long weekend coming up.
What's your plans?
If I can get enough interest, hope to be camping/trout fishing on Lake Eildon in Central Highlands Victoria.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37057.msg597045;boardseen#new (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37057.msg597045;boardseen#new)
Unsure yet I am working the Saturday but weather permitting maybe we will just do river trip.
Yep, going camping but not sayin' where, except mid north coast NSW.
Unsure yet I am working the Saturday but weather permitting maybe we will just do river trip.
you could bring the dogs up to The Pines at Eildon. There'll be heaps of room up there given it will be the middle of winter.
We are off to Boreen Point on lake Cootharaba. this will be our 2nd trip with our new Nomad hard floor camper Trailer.
should have the 12 volt system sorted by then, I hope.
you could bring the dogs up to The Pines at Eildon. There'll be heaps of room up there given it will be the middle of winter.
Will see just river is close by the time I finish work but the dogs will be a factor
We're going for another little drive to the north.......... ;D ;D ;D
shall i put the kettle on? 8)
Perhaps on the way back....white & 1 thanks......
sounds like a local sights 4wd tour coming up :cup:
Up the Lakes. Doubt it will get above 0°C, so will need lots of winter woolies.
Except for WA who I discovered recognise the Queen's Birthday later in Sept, we've all possibly got a long weekend coming up.
What's your plans?
If I can get enough interest, hope to be camping/trout fishing on Lake Eildon in Central Highlands Victoria.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37057.msg597045;boardseen#new (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37057.msg597045;boardseen#new)
You now know what we have planned ;D :D you could always come up with us :cup:
Rooney's Point on Fraser Island.
been seriously thinking about it. Need to get a few work/life things sorted out in the next week which will help.
I could do the grey nomad trek to a warmer climate for a month:-)
Hopefully meeting family in Sydney(it's midway) don't know location yet.
Tell me more
been seriously thinking about it. Need to get a few work/life things sorted out in the next week which will help.
I could do the grey nomad trek to a warmer climate for a month:-)
You could do that, or you could even fly up and we string together some camping gear lol
Just doing our regular JLW
Tell me more
Trip from another forum. :cheers:
You could do that, or you could even fly up and we string together some camping gear lol
Hmm I probably have enough spare stuff to deck out one or five extra campers. :)
At this stage going to the caravan and camping show at RNA brissy. Then might head somewhere ;D
Come on scarps pack the bags and head north ;D ;D
At this stage going to the caravan and camping show at RNA brissy. Then might head somewhere ;D
looks like its safe for me to get my secret spots back ;D
I'll meet you there ;D
man, pressure's on. I normally fly up every week for work, but a long weekend as well? Possible.......
I'll meet you there ;D
for you i will divulge some secret spots but for that van towin' road block mate of yours NO!!
>:D
for you i will divulge some secret spots but for that van towin' road bloke mate of yours NO!!
>:D
Let's get one thing straight right now!!!!!!!
I don't have friken mates ok ;D ;D ;D
neither do i....cant afford em' ;D
That's true.
And I always thought you can't believe anything you read on the interwebby thingy.
:) :)
That's true.
I know. I am a Shit stirrer, not a liar. ;D
I know. I am a **** stirrer, not a liar. ;D
Lol beat me before I finished editing...
I had some mates once.
Then they got to know me.... ;)
Lol beat me before I finished editing...
I had some mates once.
Then they got to know me.... ;)
Lol ;D
Lol ;D
You two are equally as bad as each other.
I dunno if that's a good thing either.
Come camping with us and find out lmao.
They are both pr!cks ;D ;D
Thanks for the kind words. ;D ;D
Come camping with us and find out lmao.
Don't do it!!
You'll never be the same again ;D ;D
And I held back as well ;D ;D
no wonder i dont turn off the electric fence to let him down here :angel:
Righto, you tell me where your gunna be and I'll make up my mind then.
Is Clouty any sort of a Judge Scarps?
I'm gate crashing wherever GU is going!!!!!
Actually I'm going to free camp at his place, hook up the 240 and do day trips to Broom's and Redcliffes.
Don't tell him about that GPS tracker on his 4wd ;D ;D
I'll find those secret spots mate 8) 8)
Righto, you tell me where your gunna be and I'll make up my mind then.
Is Clouty any sort of a Judge Scarps?
well I used to like Clouty but then 2 things happened.
1 - I saw a pic of Him that I oughtnotta seen. Now scarred for life. Not even laser eye surgery can undo the damage.
2 - He left the Trackabout family and is thinking of joining the caravanersforum.
1 - I saw a pic of Him that I oughtnotta seen. Now scarred for life. Not even laser eye surgery can undo the damage.
2 - He left the Trackabout family and is thinking of joining the caravanersforum.
me too only he trespasses on my sites........................
Aww you two sound like you've both been in need of a lot of sympathy.
And I'll bet no amount of counselling will make it up.
You sound really mean Clouty.
What did you do?
It must have been horrendous.
Actually I'm going to free camp at his place, hook up the 240 and do day trips to Broom's and Redcliffes.
you are banned too just like Rod. (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-taunt005.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
It's okay, don't feel obligated to be there or anything.
It's okay..........what your driving i know it wont make it here 8)
Aww you two sound like you've both been in need of a lot of sympathy.
And I'll bet no amount of consoling will make it up.
You sound really mean Clouty.
What did you do?
It must have been horrendous.
I haven't done anything wrong.. I'm a really nice bloke, honest ;D ;D They're just a bit jealous of me and Broncos cause of the mobile road blocks >:( ;D ;D
Actually funny you mention that, I think you guys are twins, certainly have the same tan ;D ;D ;D
And no tan lines either ;D ;D
(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-sick029.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Yep. Nightmare type stuff.
we'll I've seen it before, you guys get to dream about it tonight:-)
Mmmm boobs. Lol
apologies my good man. It seems I may have uploaded the wrong pic. File updated. Sweat dreams.
Mmmm boobs. Lol
Oldmate, That's juz Scairy.
apologies my good man. It seems I may have uploaded the wrong pic. File updated. Sweat dreams.
Oh god. I'm not game to look :D :D
Edit: yeah your summer tan is not bad at all lol
Think we are heading back up to Bestbrook near Cunningham's gap, nice and close and kids keep occupied.
Scarps, Is the Missus smilin or frownin when you tell her about your indecision.
And why your so undecided?
Think we are heading back up to Bestbrook near Cunningham's gap, nice and close and kids keep occupied.
Nice and chilly on top of the gap also.
Scarps, Is the Missus smilin or frownin when you tell her about your indecision.
And why your so undecided?
i think she is, hang on, no now I'm not sure!
My daughter & I should be near Winton or Longreach by then on our trip.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37000.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37000.0)
Nice and chilly on top of the gap also.
Didn't take the chainsaw last time but will defiantly bring it along on this trip!
Minus one yesterday. Bring some spare chainsaw fuel as well :D :D
I'm hoping to be set up out near Ipswich, but I doubt I'll be allowed :'(
http://www.willowbankraceway.com.au/events/detail.aspx?EventGroupID=89 (http://www.willowbankraceway.com.au/events/detail.aspx?EventGroupID=89)
Shane.
Thnx guys for getting this thread back on track. It got hijacked there for a while:-)
Didn't take the chainsaw last time but will defiantly bring it along on this trip!
Yeah will need it for sure. As kb said -1 not fun. Lol
Sorry about the hijack ????
Yeah will need it for sure. As kb said -1 not fun. Lol
Sorry about the hijack ????
No ya not:-)
1 - I saw a pic of Him that I oughtnotta seen. Now scarred for life. Not even laser eye surgery can undo the damage......
could be worse, I was there and saw it in the flesh.....so so much flesh :o :o
lol......
It got hijacked there for a while:-)
I'm not sorry ;D ;D
Might go to Cairns. Around the 20th by plane ;D
How'd. we are heading up to Bestbrook on the 26th May to test run our new hard floor camper.
Great place for kids I agree. we usely stay @ Bore Flat, (down the hill rom Ray & Ellesse's house.
How'd. we are heading up to Bestbrook on the 26th May to test run our new hard floor camper.
Great place for kids I agree. we usely stay @ Bore Flat, (down the hill rom Ray & Ellesse's house.
Lots of nice spots there, hope the camper performs well.
KB I might have to resort to what I call a whitemans fire and pile the wood on at -1 deg. Normally I just go for a smallish fire that you can sit around and chat without yelling but that's not going to cut it.
Better take the sharpening file for the chain as well as it is gonna get some use!
Looks like between work & the young bloke playing soccer we might not be able get away :'(
Normally I just go for a smallish fire that you can sit around and chat without yelling but that's not going to cut it.
Try this. Grab a few disposable aluminium trays from the supermarket, not too big. Fill with nice hot coals from the fire and place on the ground under your camp chair. Works a treat on a cold night.
And hope ya chair is a good quality one and doesn't collapse.
No responsibility taken if used by fools or drunks :D
I'm a little concerned about methane levels close to an ignition source.
Might go to Cairns. Around the 20th by plane ;D
So what are you coming up to cairns for fuji.
I'm hoping to be set up out near Ipswich, but I doubt I'll be allowed :'(
http://www.willowbankraceway.com.au/events/detail.aspx?EventGroupID=89 (http://www.willowbankraceway.com.au/events/detail.aspx?EventGroupID=89)
Shane.
Come on Shane they would let you camp there would they not. ;D
Off to Beechworth - always assuming I get the CT in time... :-[
Come on Shane they would let you camp there would they not. ;D
If she truly loves me she will. ::) ::) ::)
I think it will be Bendethera with Fishlips, Saltbush and Action Man. Love the cold!
(http://www.weprowl.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/10/DejaVu.jpg)
We're heading to Andrew Drynan. Never been before but looking forward to a big fire on the river bank. :cheers:
Good spot, it our " last minute getaway" place. Not to far from home but far enough.
Flinders beach, Stradbroke Island...
I'll be floating between Willowbank and Cooly Rocks On!
Are you racing Shane?
Janowen again. Big fires, 4wd tracks to muck around on. Good fun!
Are you racing Shane?
Where's my wedding photos? hmmm... ;D
Private property backing onto Lake Maroon is the plan.........unlimited fire wood, no camping fees, puppies allowed, hopefully talk my mate into bringing out his clay target launcher for a bit of fun
As oldmate said, great spot but on our first visit we arrived in the dark and had some trouble finding a level spot. It is perfect in summer with kids being able to splash in the creek and not far from brissy or the Goldcoast.
Are you racing Shane?
No, not racing the Winters. Not racing again until the Nostalgias in August.
Shane.
We are going to schools Point Lake Tinaroo. There are only 8 camp sites and we have booked three of them. We are camping with two other couples that are great friends. We will be skiing and there will be plenty of :cheers: at night. Can't wait.
Where's my wedding photos? hmmm... ;D
Sorry mate, been busy rebuilding. Nice rainy day here today so i'll see what i can find. I've got every Dragster Mag from mid 95 so it could take a while ;D
try Nov 98, as we got married in Oct 98, so i'm thinking it should be the one.
Found it, just need to remember to take it to work to scan it.
I think it will be Bendethera with Fishlips, Saltbush and Action Man. Love the cold!
another one here for Bendethra with Bussoboy and his better half and another couple that l haven't met yet......... we'll be the one's with the dirty Kia Sorento and a GIC camper
So what are you coming up to cairns for fuji.
Looking at the 23rd of June. Trying to get my son motivated to go away for a couple of days. ;D
:'( :'( :'( :'(
Our new Outback Swan wont be delivered in time for the long weekend
Trying to get the planets to align for Wollondilly. Hope to have some good friends of ours who we usually travel with. I will know more next week.
Swaggers welcome.
My daughters birthday is the 6th (her fifth) and she tells me she wants to go camping for her birthday, only problem I'm on shift that weekend so we are heading somewhere the weekend after, not sure where yet.
Not camping but next best thing... Looking at lots of new shiny campers at the Brisbane camping show. Been wanting to go for years :D
Another taker for Bestbrook here. Will make sure we take multiple layers of clothing to cope with any cold weather. Stanthorpe at Easter was a good intro to what cold nights are like in the CT.
See ya there ynot
Heading north of Licola on a club trip.
Carrying snow chains 'just in case'. ;D
Heading north of Licola on a club trip.
Carrying snow chains 'just in case'. ;D
Howitt plains? Awesome up there in the white stuff :cheers:
'Butcher country'. (Named after General Blucher IIRC) but yes, that part of the world. ;D
I believe I wont be going anywhere for the long weekend apart from the Brisbane show! My new camper will be on display and I pick it up on the 9th. Maiden voyage is planned on the 18th-22nd June to Gordon Country. Heard this was good and lots of space. Keen to hear back from ANYONE with great spots to take a camper trailer.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37152.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=37152.0)
A mate and I are heading up to Finke desert rally for a look, leaving Melbourne on the 4th June.
going up along the Oodnadatta track across to Mt Dare for a few :cheers: brews then onto Finke for 3 days ;D
Our new Outback Swan wont be delivered in time for the long weekend
Oh no.... I am still hopeful to get my new camper just in time. ?.
I was thinking about checking out either Flanagan's Reserve or Darlington Park. Thoughts on which one is likely to be the least crowded?
I will be at darlington park from the 18th till the 22nd :cheers:
both are quite popular and likely to be as busy as each other I'd hazard a guess. Maybe Flanagans would be slightly less busy, but only because Darlington is a nicer spot IMHO.
I agree with mal, although I haven't been to either, the facts are that any camp ground within 1.5 hours of Gold Coast/Brisbane are generally just as busy as each other on a long weekend. Long weekends we generally like to travel a bit further away,but even then it still doesn't always work.
thats why i do my holidays after everyone else has gone back to work!
Smart man. :cheers:
one thing with Flanagan's is i believe you can book a site for there, which you can't do at Darlington Park as it's first in best dressed there. I've never seen Darlington look real unappealing (other then the crowds), but i have seen Flanagans look like a spot i wouldn't want to stay at after a run of dry weather. If they've had rain and some grass grows, then Flanagans can look like a nice spot, but if there's no grass it's not a pretty spot to set up in IMHO, and if it rains whilst there in those conditions it'd be a mud hole.....the trees that give the place it's shade can also be it's downside as far as the grass growing goes. not trying to put you off flanagan's, just mentioning how i've seen the place when we've stopped in at the creek there for a swim on different occasions over the years. The creek at flanagan's is a much place to swim in then Darlington Park IMHO....would just be a touch cool to do that at that time of year for me...lol
I take it you're looking at these spots as they are dog friendly?
First time camping in 18 months, at Delicate Nobby, with some new camping friends.
I'll be heading down the track here in Alice for the Finke desert race. Should be a few quiet but good nights, oh yeah and the racing.
Batto.
one thing with Flanagan's is i believe you can book a site for there, which you can't do at Darlington Park as it's first in best dressed there. I've never seen Darlington look real unappealing (other then the crowds), but i have seen Flanagans look like a spot i wouldn't want to stay at after a run of dry weather. If they've had rain and some grass grows, then Flanagans can look like a nice spot, but if there's no grass it's not a pretty spot to set up in IMHO, and if it rains whilst there in those conditions it'd be a mud hole.....the trees that give the place it's shade can also be it's downside as far as the grass growing goes. not trying to put you off flanagan's, just mentioning how i've seen the place when we've stopped in at the creek there for a swim on different occasions over the years. The creek at flanagan's is a much place to swim in then Darlington Park IMHO....would just be a touch cool to do that at that time of year for me...lol
Thats a pretty spot on assessment :cup: of Flanagans..we went some years ago in the drought and experienced exactly as described above.
Jet ;D
Maybe heading up the Murray, just depends if the tow buggy is ready
Cheers mate, yeah we were looking for somewhere to take the dog. Looks like the long weekend isn't going to happen now as we've got a couple of things we can't get out of in Brissie Fri & Sat and now we've got a family thing up in Toowoomba on Sunday. I enquired about Murphys Creek Escape as an option close to Toowoomba, but they want 3 nights minimum at peak prices.
I appreciate the feedback on Flanagans and Darlington. I'll get out and check them out for myself one of these days.
Heading off to watch the fireworks along the river.
Anyone heading to Boreen Point !!! stop in and say hello over a beer or coffee.
Jus look of "Nomad Condor" Hard Floor camper with a blue tent/annexe & a Beige Dmax.
2 days of work and were off
>:D >:D
Have fun mate.. Wish I was going :cheers:
Eldest is having her birthday, 9th, on friday and wants to go away camping. Trouble is, can't get away before Sat Arvo.
We went Stinson Pk last year and froze our butts off, dubious of going out that way again as we're not fully prepared for the cold.
Might try Lennox Head Van Pk, by the lake, or something easy like that
The swmbo is presently in labour :) ain't going nowhere this weekend...
I've convinced Mrs Chippy to head down to Yurargir National Park for the weekend. We have never been there before so we are looking forward to checking out somewhere new. I was hoping to take the canoe, however a lack of lifejackets has vetoed that idea.... Oh well I might get in a spot of fishing :D
Cheers Chippy :D
>:D >:D
Have fun mate.. Wish I was going :cheers:
Yup, we will. Send me a post card from china will ya ;D ;D >:D >:D
Heading somewhere close (free campground at Laanecoorie central Vic) with the clan from Friday to Monday. Small chance of rain and it'll be cold but we'll have a fire.
Staying at Tallebudgerra and spending time at Cooly Rocks festival.
Sandy Creek Campin for us and some friends.
Ballina for us, at lakeside yes it is expensive but it's where swmbo said we were staying.
Heading off tomorrow / Friday (after visiting the Caravan and Camping show in the morning) to Clarence River Wilderness Reserve for 3 nights. Looking forward to it, never been and I hear good things about it often. We are in one of the wilderness sites.
Enjoy the long weekend all.
Cheers Dan
nice one dan, just take it easy on the rd up, can be a bit tight in some spot. we have never been there as we take the dogs, but always go past it to another spot. Have a good week end.
Heading off tomorrow / Friday (after visiting the Caravan and Camping show in the morning) to Clarence River Wilderness Reserve for 3 nights. Looking forward to it, never been and I hear good things about it often. We are in one of the wilderness sites.
Enjoy the long weekend all.
Cheers Dan
Those spots had a lot of weed through them at Christmas time, hopefully it is a bit better now.
Well we're heading to hydeway bay this weekend. I have to admit i'm reluctant to broadcast because every time we have planned in last 6 mths it starts pi$$in down rain. After the first time swmbo was not going out in the rain.
Anyway we'll have another crack. Oh for a rainless Qld winter :D :D
The swmbo is presently in labour :) ain't going nowhere this weekend...
Well how did she go.
Cheers mate, yeah we were looking for somewhere to take the dog. Looks like the long weekend isn't going to happen now as we've got a couple of things we can't get out of in Brissie Fri & Sat and now we've got a family thing up in Toowoomba on Sunday. I enquired about Murphys Creek Escape as an option close to Toowoomba, but they want 3 nights minimum at peak prices.
I appreciate the feedback on Flanagans and Darlington. I'll get out and check them out for myself one of these days.
Lately we've been staying at Janowen Hills, at Goomburra(?), this side of Warwick.
A few places up that way to camp, and dogs are ok. It's not a bad spot, camps are fairly far apart and surprisingly there's not much noise at night from other campers. Quite a bit to see and do also, particularly if you like 4wd tracks. The main range national park is great, and the lookouts breathtaking from the top of the mountain - http://www.southernqueenslandcountry.com.au/destinations/warwick/attractions/main-range-national-park/ (http://www.southernqueenslandcountry.com.au/destinations/warwick/attractions/main-range-national-park/)
Made it to Eildon with a few other swsggers
Trying to get the planets to align for Wollondilly. Hope to have some good friends of ours who we usually travel with. I will know more next week.
Swaggers welcome.
Ended up at Upper Colo River. Top spot.
ended up at the Bridle Track near Bathurst as the road to Bendethera was closed ...brilliant weekend, spot and weather
Caledonia River - Howitt Hut - Dingo Hill Track.
Had intended to come down the Butcher Country Track from Howitt Hut, but track impassible due to a vehicle with a busted axle. >:(
Lots of river crossings ;D and muddy climbs / descents. ;D
Snatch straps and winches deployed for several bog holes. >:D
A great weekend for the 3 'young blokes' from the Jackaroo Club! :cup:
Had intended to come down the Butcher Country Track from Howitt Hut, but track impassible due to a vehicle with a busted axle. >:(
Sounds like a great trip, Pics? :)
Waiting for the photographically gifted to e-mail them to me.
We were around there too! We started in Dargo Friday night, then up Billy Goat Bluff Sat morning then over to Dingo hill track to camp on the Caledonia River Sat night. Followed Caledonia River track to Howitt hut then to a campsite near Upper Jamieson Hut Sun night. Finally popped out in Mansfield Monday morning. Rather muddy on Caledonia River track :) :)
There were 4 of us, my GU, an 80 series, a GQ and a newish Navara. We had a bit of winching to get us out of trouble, but also put my winch to use to help recover a near-rollover!
Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk
Nice pics simo. That 3rd pic is awesome
x2 love the 80 PIC :cheers: