General => General Discussion => Topic started by: scarps on May 05, 2014, 08:46:44 AM

Title: Show us your in home winter camp fire
Post by: scarps on May 05, 2014, 08:46:44 AM
Been some interesting discussion of late re this topic and realised as people who love a good campfire, seems quite a few swaggers also have a wood fire at home.
Not just us southeners, but I have discovered a few Qld'rs also have one at home for those days it get's down to 18degrees:-)

So show us ya hot stuff and some detail on how good it is (or not), how you clean or maintain it. Where you source your wood and type.

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/05/5ara2uve.jpg)

Here's my 2yo Masport from Nu Zeelund. Has fan unit included, but rarely use the fan.  This model also comes with a cast plug in the bottom that opens a hole through to a large ash pan underneath.  While not a bad idea, have you ever tried to grab a hot piece of cast iron out through fire ashes?  Only really a good idea when fire is cold, and round here that's not likely to happen for a few months.
We have had ours going now for the last few weeks since the sun disappeared and having a concrete slab and tile floor, (but insulated home), we keep it slow combusting almost 24hrs as even when it's gone out, the heat remains for a few hours.
Title: Re: Show us your home wood fire
Post by: Woodsie on May 05, 2014, 10:10:19 AM
Here is our Kent EV8, the largest in their range. It gets lit in mid Autumn and gets put out at the end of Winter.
The entire house is Tiled and keeps the tiles in the immediate area cosy warm and takes the chill out of the entire house.
We use jarrah and sheok to burn.
(http://i802.photobucket.com/albums/yy308/rockcreation/IMG_1481_zps1ce1b69d.jpg) (http://s802.photobucket.com/user/rockcreation/media/IMG_1481_zps1ce1b69d.jpg.html)
Post by: Nay-DMAX on May 05, 2014, 10:40:09 AM
Ours is a kent jindabyne ii and it was here when we got the house. We usually do a wood run at barmah when it is open and burn pine offcuts as well. Have metal fire bucket and shovel for cleaning. Last year the chimney needed a good clean, on my search for a chimney brush I found local store that hired one out for $5 this suited us fine. No fan and being older house it doesnt heat bedrooms have thought a few times about putting heat transfer kit in the roof.
Post by: Brumbypt on May 05, 2014, 12:55:29 PM
11 square house and a fire place for a 25 square house.. hmmm toasty..

Dont get them smaller, cos the wood has to be cut smaller..

Note the tray in the front, that is fire tray ver 2, leant out the ver 1 to friends.
the tray catches all the ash  (cos ultimate fire places are prone to drop a bit of ash) and it catches the logs that roll out when I have loaded it up and left the door clipped.

also gives you a place to throw a wrapper etc during the day, or some sticks etc when starting the fire and you can only get on your knees once.

We have an old metal dust pan in it for scooping the stuff back into the fire.

Anyway, make one yourself.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Post by: Nay-DMAX on May 05, 2014, 12:58:37 PM

Note the tray in the front, that is fire tray ver 2, leant out the ver 1 to friends.
the tray catches all the ash  (cos ultimate fire places are prone to drop a bit of ash) and it catches the logs that roll out when I have loaded it up and left the door clipped.

also gives you a place to throw a wrapper etc during the day, or some sticks etc when starting the fire and you can only get on your knees once.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop

If we had been choosing our own fire would of got one a bit bigger but since it was here we stuck with it we are lucky as we have the saw bench so can cut it to the size we want.  At least with the saw bench cutting to size is standing up instead of with the chainsaw.  We get reasonable size logs in ours still.
Post by: Brumbypt on May 05, 2014, 01:00:12 PM
and its much cheaper than spending 2k plus for a new bigger fire place..

Hmm saw bench, would like one of them..

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Post by: Nay-DMAX on May 05, 2014, 01:12:54 PM
and its much cheaper than spending 2k plus for a new bigger fire place..

Hmm saw bench, would like one of them..

Peter,
sent by telegram stop

Absolutely it is cheaper  ;D  The other benefit is when we cut wood at Barmah we will take the small end lengths that most people have left as they are easy to bench and easier for me to load in ute/trailer whilst Andrew is chainsawing

Hmm saw bench we were lucky enough that this one was at the inlaws not getting any use it is an electric one and apart from sharpening blades it has certainly done a great job for us. 
Post by: Steffo1 on May 05, 2014, 03:15:20 PM
This is ours being utilised by the "Rough, Tough, Farm Dogs" & we're lucky enough to be able to supply our own wood. Fired it up last night thankfully as it hit 8.6° this a.m.  :o
Steffo
Post by: Kangaron on May 05, 2014, 04:58:20 PM
Just installed mine in the shed up at the block.
It is a Norseman, not sure which model but quite large, picked it up on Gumtree for $500.
Fully lined with fire bricks and glass in near new nick.
A 5L pot of water takes no time at all to heat up.
In the mornings we use the hot plate from the weberQ for breaky, toast on the grill.

Over last month have got 4 trailer loads of redgum [ 8 x 5 with a 3' cage] and the firewood collection still has
untill the 30th June to run.  Will get another 4 loads before then to get a head start for next winter.
The 2 designated areas for up here are only 5k's away, so easy pickings.

Post by: griz066 on May 05, 2014, 05:42:42 PM
This is our Australian Made "Nectre" we put in when we bought the house 18 years ago. Bought it second hand out of trading post for $500 including the extra long flu kit as we have 3.3 mtr ceilings in the Queenslander. We can fit a log 450mm long and 250mm diameter in it that will last overnight and half the next day if you close it right up. We only use iron bark which we source ourselves from secret spot X ;D. I had the flue professionally cleaned after 15 years of use and the guy got about half a bucket of ash and crud out of it. Should be right for another 12 years I reckon. We use kiln Dried Cypress Pine for kindling ( I get it from work). We always keep the kettle on top full of water, puts a bit of moisture back in the air and reduces static electricity. The key to a fire drawing well is the chimney must be higher than the highest point of the house so it gets air flow from all directions. To clean the glass use wet newspaper and dip it in the ash, rub the glass till it's clean then wipe the streaks and dry it with more newspaper. :cheers:
Post by: D4D on May 05, 2014, 06:06:55 PM
This is ours, it's a basic Jetmaster firebox, plan is to upgrade it to a gas log fire.

It get used about twice a year when the missus wants to be romantic ;D

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/fireplace.jpg)
Post by: oldmate on May 05, 2014, 06:16:25 PM
Nice mantel piece. I bet you look at that while stoking the fire.  ;D  ;D
Post by: Fathom on May 05, 2014, 06:18:54 PM
Here is mine..
Turbo 10. Bought it not long after we bought the house.
Heats the house just fine.
I mainly burn iron bark or if I have cut down a tree or three... It ends up in there too.
Love a good fire! ;)
Post by: fuji on May 05, 2014, 06:26:03 PM
This is mine (unlit). Have to be frugal with wood. It too is basic and serves our needs. The ceiling fan comes on to bring the heat down from the 10' ceilings. Works a treat. It is made by Jindara and made here in oz. it has a three speed fan as well.  I love my fire!! Ooops sorry should only be one foto.
Post by: fuji on May 05, 2014, 06:27:40 PM
Been some interesting discussion of late re this topic and realised as people who love a good campfire, seems quite a few swaggers also have a wood fire at home.
Not just us southeners, but I have discovered a few Qld'rs also have one at home for those days it get's down to 18degrees:-)

So show us ya hot stuff and some detail on how good it is (or not), how you clean or maintain it. Where you source your wood and type.

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/05/5ara2uve.jpg)

Here's my 2yo Masport from Nu Zeelund. Has fan unit included, but rarely use the fan.  This model also comes with a cast plug in the bottom that opens a hole through to a large ash pan underneath.  While not a bad idea, have you ever tried to grab a hot piece of cast iron out through fire ashes?  Only really a good idea when fire is cold, and round here that's not likely to happen for a few months.
We have had ours going now for the last few weeks since the sun disappeared and having a concrete slab and tile floor, (but insulated home), we keep it slow combusting almost 24hrs as even when it's gone out, the heat remains for a few hours.

The glass is so clean
Post by: scarps on May 05, 2014, 06:37:06 PM

The glass is so clean
swmbo cleans the glass on occasion with wet newspaper.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on May 05, 2014, 06:38:31 PM
swmbo cleans the glass on occasion with wet newspaper.

Clearly from my photo I do not clean the glass very well.
Post by: theins on May 05, 2014, 07:42:16 PM
open fireplace - going through a lot of wood but loving the ambience...  :D

Post by: Rumpig on May 05, 2014, 08:03:09 PM
here's our fireplace, cranked it up yesterday for the first time this year when it dropped below 20 degrees....lol. Normally i burn hardwood offcuts from the worksites i work on, if we do reno work on an old house i'll usually cut a heap of the old timber up and take it home with me.....just got to fish the old nails and window hinges and what not out of the fireplace later on when it cools down is all...lol. Heats up the lounge and dining room nicely, but sadly the heat doesn't make it's way down to the bedrooms through out the house.....been meaning to put in a duct system with inline fan, just never got around to it yet.

(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/tn_photoJPG25_zps6ab1db33.jpg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/tn_photoJPG25_zps6ab1db33.jpg.html)
Post by: baldheadedgit on May 05, 2014, 08:07:06 PM
Mine, first fire for the season, will run 24-7 now.....

Post by: Black Diamond on May 05, 2014, 08:10:36 PM
This is ours, it's a basic Jetmaster firebox, plan is to upgrade it to a gas log fire.

It get used about twice a year when the missus wants to be romantic ;D

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/fireplace.jpg)
mate that's like a display home ;D

Is that the SS Minow on the shelf? ;D
Post by: MarkGU on May 05, 2014, 08:10:55 PM
Mine, first fire for the season, will run 24-7 now.....
the floor needs sweeping when you get a minute Steve  8)
Post by: patyv on May 05, 2014, 08:26:24 PM
We all know you never look at the mantel peace while stoking the fire >:D
Post by: MarkGU on May 05, 2014, 08:29:58 PM
We all know you never look at the mantel peace while stoking the fire >:D
especially BHG's mantel peice..........its very unattractive  :'(
Post by: baldheadedgit on May 05, 2014, 09:04:45 PM
especially BHG's mantel peice..........its very unattractive  :'(
be careful next time you ring Goldie, I'm telling exactly what you said .. :cup:
Post by: pauljygrant on May 05, 2014, 09:58:52 PM
Here is our new wood burner. Hope to get it installed in a few weeks. First have to lay the solid maple flooring, then add the plate glass hearth before returning the wood burner to position, ready for the flue system.
Should put out approx 8kw heat with an efficiency of 78% - both a bit of bling, but also functional.
Post by: scarps on May 06, 2014, 05:49:20 PM

Here is our new wood burner. Hope to get it installed in a few weeks. First have to lay the solid maple flooring, then add the plate glass hearth before returning the wood burner to position, ready for the flue system.
Should put out approx 8kw heat with an efficiency of 78% - both a bit of bling, but also functional.
pretty flash, would look good in a modern home.
Post by: JCAT on May 06, 2014, 06:02:29 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/06/yjudeny5.jpg)

Our Ultimate 10. We just burn whatever local wood I can scavenge

Post by: Jon on May 06, 2014, 06:03:57 PM
Ours is a Kent too, but a bit smaller than a Jindabyne, I think it was called a New Englander. Sits in the middle of the home about 6' from the return air of the ducted AC. Get the fire going, room hot then put the AC on fan and crack open both zones and the whole house is warm.

By the way, anyone thinking of putting in a transfer system, use insulated duct and pick a fan with enough air flow to push the bedroom door closed from about 2" open, otherwise not enough air flow.
Post by: lino6 on May 06, 2014, 06:43:38 PM
By the way, anyone thinking of putting in a transfer system, use insulated duct and pick a fan with enough air flow to push the bedroom door closed from about 2" open, otherwise not enough air flow.

Thanks for the tip. Been thinking about installing a transfer system for a while.
Post by: gunna on May 06, 2014, 09:59:13 PM
Got her stoked up tonite
Post by: baldheadedgit on May 07, 2014, 04:57:46 AM
Is that the magnificent 7 above the mantelpiece ?
Post by: Brumbypt on May 07, 2014, 08:51:19 AM
I thought I would get heaps of comments about my fire tray, or ash catch tray.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Title: Show us your home wood fire
Post by: scarps on May 07, 2014, 09:51:03 AM

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Hi Brumbypt, I did notice it but was trying not to overpost on this thread, instead let others post there's as you did.  I like the idea of being able to dry wet wood out on it before throwing it in, plus having something to catch the bark, splinters and ash would save lots of swmbo sweep up time.  Any chance of a slightly better pic?
Post by: WilSurf on May 07, 2014, 09:57:23 AM

I wanted this model, but I am overruled as it was too expensive and not big enough.......
Will get a Regency Alterra.
Post by: duggie on May 07, 2014, 10:49:58 AM
Here is my inside fire place, I bought and installed this in 1988 and has been used every winter since.

(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/Myswag/002-1.jpg) (http://s1259.photobucket.com/user/dug59/media/Myswag/002-1.jpg.html) 

MASPORT-  FATSO Pot belly stove all fired up for the first time this year.

One advantage of this style stove/fire place is that you can cook on it as well as get the warmth, I often will have a stew cooking on top as well as a kettle, save on power during the winter months.

cheers duggie
Post by: peterdeg on May 07, 2014, 11:26:18 AM
Here's ours on it's toughened glass hearth.
The installer refused to put the fireplace in position until we'd gone around the base with something to protect the glass.
Couldn't get any pinchweld, so slit some 4mm irrigation hose and used that instead

(https://lh6.googleusercontent.com/-azsOC1P81VE/U2mLBuu_K9I/AAAAAAAAB8o/eY4LXXyAg4I/w477-h800-no/Fireplace.jpg)
Post by: koshari on May 07, 2014, 02:28:18 PM

Peter,
sent by telegram stop

looks like your JRT is a big fan of the fire Pete.
Post by: gunna on May 07, 2014, 06:21:12 PM
Is that the magnificent 7 above the mantelpiece ?
G/day Baidheadedgit
That's a pic of a mix of good old Actors of the great western era  not out of any one movie  , Where ever u sit in my lounge room the duke always seems to be keepin a eye on u used to haunt the Shite out of my kids LOL
Title: Re: Show us your in home winter camp fire
Post by: Kris on May 07, 2014, 07:03:53 PM
Here's our heating... no gas here!  Love our Eureka dual sided heater, as it's located in the middle of the house and heats really well.  Wood's just fallen trees from around the farm, split down the paddock with the tractor splitter, loaded into sections of old flood irrigation fluming, and dropped of at the house.

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/48373-2/IMG_2261.JPG) (http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/48370-2/IMG_2260.JPG)

:cheers: Kris
Post by: Nay-DMAX on May 07, 2014, 07:11:52 PM

Peter,
sent by telegram stop

I do like the idea it is just that is where my feet go  :cheers:
Post by: Kevs GU on May 07, 2014, 07:40:50 PM
Heres our outdoor fireplace under the pergola, were we can watch tv or just sit outside and enjoy the fire with a beer or two.
Title: Show us your in home winter camp fire
Post by: Meken on May 07, 2014, 08:40:50 PM
Here's ours - chiminees phillipe - made in France. 3 glass sides, the 2 long sides both swing open & also slide up inside the wall completely so it becomes a double sided open fire - it's really cool. Good for 300 odd m2 heats our living dining kitchen in about 1/2 hour from cold. Uses convection with vents at the top of the wall which blast hot air out into the room (no fan but it feels like there is )
.... Yes that's marble covering the solid concrete hearth (the firebox alone weighs 250kg - cast iron not plate)

Post by: knoath on May 07, 2014, 10:35:19 PM
Not exactly a home fireplace, but our pit we use when we feel the vibe… Coreton (spelling ?) steel, designed to rust with age, looks awesome all fired up.

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v733/knoath/IMG_4627_zps1ec47a87.jpg)

Would love a wood heater like the ones in this thread, when we enclose the pergola i just might spoil the misses, she's always wanted one.
Post by: Brumbypt on May 08, 2014, 12:33:42 PM

looks like your JRT is a big fan of the fire Pete.

and she out herself there, I didnt encourage her to sit there for the photo either.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Post by: Brumbypt on May 08, 2014, 12:36:06 PM
Fire ash tray. Ver2.

and you need to stand a foot away from the fire place so the tray wont get in the way of where you stand.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Post by: gunna on May 08, 2014, 01:40:23 PM
I Hav'nt got any pic's but a few of the farmers around my area r investing in grain heaters they r burning wheat they use them in the states & canada ,,,,,  couple of locals i talked to seem to like them
 :cheers: :cheers:

http://www.cheapheat.com.au/ (http://www.cheapheat.com.au/)
Post by: Nay-DMAX on May 08, 2014, 06:39:30 PM
Fire ash tray. Ver2.

and you need to stand a foot away from the fire place so the tray wont get in the way of where you stand.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop

I don't have enough bricks to stand that far away haha
Post by: scarps on May 08, 2014, 07:30:31 PM

I Hav'nt got any pic's but a few of the farmers around my area r investing in grain heaters they r burning wheat they use them in the states & canada ,,,,,  couple of locals i talked to seem to like them
 :cheers: :cheers:

http://www.cheapheat.com.au/ (http://www.cheapheat.com.au/)
yep, saw one of these in the pub at Glenrowan.  Seemed to work ok and no big chunks of timber laying around. Just a bag of wheat in the corner.
Post by: Brumbypt on May 08, 2014, 09:05:54 PM
I don't have enough bricks to stand that far away haha

ya dont need to stand on the bricks.

Peter,
sent by telegram stop
Post by: wazboz on May 09, 2014, 12:11:05 AM
yep, saw one of these in the pub at Glenrowan.  Seemed to work ok and no big chunks of timber laying around. Just a bag of wheat in the corner.

Yeah that one at Glenrowan is a cracker!

Stray off to the outdoor fireplaces ... a couple of pics of mine. Before we got the big comfy couches. Love a great fire.

Need some pics of when we really get it stoked up!
Post by: scarps on May 09, 2014, 12:16:48 AM

Stray off to the outdoor fireplaces ... a couple of pics of mine. Before we got the big comfy couches. Love a great fire.

wazboz, that looks like a great set up.
Post by: SteveandViv on May 09, 2014, 12:23:48 AM
Does a Pic of our aircon count  ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on May 09, 2014, 07:52:46 AM

:cup:  :cup: Great set up mate, very neat  :cheers: