General => General Discussion => Topic started by: xcvator on May 01, 2014, 07:19:10 PM

Title: My Chainsaw Died--- advice needed urgently
Post by: xcvator on May 01, 2014, 07:19:10 PM
My Stihl 009 has been hard to start, so I took it to a Stihl dealer who has told me it has no spark ( but I was able to get it to fire with "aero start", just not keep going) and needs a new ignition thingo that will cost me  about $250-00  ??? ??? ??? ??? so I said forget it I'll just pick up the saw.

Now I'm hopefully going away Sunday week and I need a new temporary chainsaw to tide me over untill I can fix the Stihl  :-[ when I get back.
So what to buy, a Bunnings, Masters or Ebay special. Personal experiences please, not rumour, here say etc
 :cheers: :cheers:

Title: Re: My Chainsaw Died--- advice needed urgently
Post by: D4D on May 01, 2014, 07:20:02 PM
$99 'Partner' from Masters, Husky in disguise
https://www.masters.com.au/product/100977724/partner-14-inch-blade-35cc-chainsaw-p340s-black (https://www.masters.com.au/product/100977724/partner-14-inch-blade-35cc-chainsaw-p340s-black)
Post by: briann532 on May 01, 2014, 07:21:02 PM
Don't do it............

Just go buy a decent one from somewhere reputable.
I have a preference for huski, but only because the small ones are very light.
Stihls are awesome. Probably best to stick with them.

Just my 2c.
You get what you pay for.
Post by: Bird on May 01, 2014, 07:24:16 PM
you wanna borrow my chainy?
Post by: Jason B on May 01, 2014, 07:25:39 PM
Why spend $200 on a crap saw when you can fix your Stihl for a similar price? Even if you spend $100 where is the economy in that? Madness I tell you!  :D

If you are worried you were getting crap advice go to another repairer.

Post by: Bird on May 01, 2014, 07:32:15 PM
if its the coil that's gone - $37.00 new on ebay
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/IGNITION-COIL-FITS-STIHL-CHAINSAW-009-010-020-MS200-MS200T-FR120-FR160-FS180-/390828635227?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item5aff33b45b (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/IGNITION-COIL-FITS-STIHL-CHAINSAW-009-010-020-MS200-MS200T-FR120-FR160-FS180-/390828635227?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item5aff33b45b)
Post by: Tim - Stratford on May 01, 2014, 07:34:54 PM
I've got a spare Stihl 023 (?) about 15yo that just got re-built - you can borrow it for your trip if coming past this way.

Tim
Post by: scarps on May 01, 2014, 07:35:10 PM

Why spend $200 on a crap saw when you can fix your Stihl for a similar price? Even if you spend $100 where is the economy in that? Madness I tell you!  :D

If you are worried you were getting crap advice go to another repairer.

x2. Not a good time of the year to be asking a chainsaw place to repair a broken chainsaw. Maybe seek a second opinion.
Post by: Bird on May 01, 2014, 07:35:52 PM
I'll give ya  a 6 pack for ya 009 :)
Post by: koshari on May 01, 2014, 07:36:58 PM
Lost, is on the money there, there are heaps of aftermarket parts available for stihl saws.

I just got an after market coil for my ms261 for $21 just to throw in the gear bag, OEM is $50 Via the US and a whopping $145AUD locally!!!

with the older ones that have a separate coil/CDI unit you can even get replacemnts that are integrated,

and when you replace it just place a Playing card / business card between the flywheel and the ignition , nip up the screws and remove the card.
Post by: Steffo1 on May 01, 2014, 07:40:50 PM
A short term healthy replacement!
Post by: koshari on May 01, 2014, 07:45:15 PM
given some ebay adds state the same coils will fit/work on the 009 as the ms 250 this one would prolly even do the job.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Ignition-Coil-MODULE-For-STIHL-021-023-025-MS210-MS230-MS250-Chainsaw-/171144509352?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27d901f7a8 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Ignition-Coil-MODULE-For-STIHL-021-023-025-MS210-MS230-MS250-Chainsaw-/171144509352?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item27d901f7a8)
Post by: Bird on May 01, 2014, 08:47:34 PM
stop talkin to me on the phone and get shoppin

https://www.manuals4u.com.au/chainsaw/stihl-spare-parts-lists/ (https://www.manuals4u.com.au/chainsaw/stihl-spare-parts-lists/)

http://www.newagearbor.com.au/shop/ (http://www.newagearbor.com.au/shop/)

http://www.stihl.com.au/dealer-locator.aspx (http://www.stihl.com.au/dealer-locator.aspx)
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 01, 2014, 09:01:10 PM
Your a hard man LOST.
The poor fella's pourin his heart out to you.
He's tryin ta get some understandin an sympathy.
OOOO your harsh. ;D ;D ;D :cheers:
Post by: koshari on May 01, 2014, 09:23:58 PM
I'll give ya  a 6 pack for ya 009 :)

iam prepared to give you a dozen, could use a nice little top mount.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 01, 2014, 09:27:01 PM
Any  advance on a dozen!!!
C'mon, a dozen's not that many.
C'mon who'll go a slab?
Post by: xcvator on May 01, 2014, 09:36:11 PM
Geeze, I thought I was among friends here, but bend over to tie up your shoe laces and your getting reamed, c'mon fellas, at least use a bit of ky  :o :o :o

and thanks to those KIND folk  :-* :-* that offered a loan of their saws but I don't feel comfortable using other peoples equipment   :angel:
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 01, 2014, 09:47:39 PM
At least I was trying to get ya value for money.
Post by: Bird on May 01, 2014, 09:49:16 PM
Any  advance on a dozen!!!
bakers dozen... :D
Post by: fuji on May 01, 2014, 09:59:39 PM
A new stihl 231 cost me $650. Trying it out at Scarpsy Sunday ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 01, 2014, 10:01:03 PM
Aww FUJI, your just rubbing it in now.
Post by: griz066 on May 01, 2014, 10:02:07 PM
Ditch the stihl they are garbage. Get yourself a husky. That is all. :cheers:
Post by: DeBe on May 01, 2014, 10:44:56 PM
If it starts on Aerostart there must be spark. I have a very old Stihl AV10 & when it gets hard to start or not run smoothly. I just fit a carby kit which are around $15-$20 & its all good again for several years.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 01, 2014, 11:19:35 PM
bakers dozen... :D

C'mon Lost, that's just insulting.
It's a Stihl, just because it doesn't go.
I mean, well, ah, umm, yeah right. 
It's a Stihl that's the important thing.
Post by: Bird on May 01, 2014, 11:39:38 PM
Its still cheaper to buy them new from the US!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 02, 2014, 05:55:13 AM
My Stihl 009 has been hard to start, so I took it to a Stihl dealer who has told me it has no spark ( but I was able to get it to fire with "aero start", just not keep going) and needs a new ignition thingo that will cost me  about $250-00  ??? ??? ??? ??? so I said forget it I'll just pick up the saw.

Now I'm hopefully going away Sunday week and I need a new temporary chainsaw to tide me over untill I can fix the Stihl  :-[ when I get back.
So what to buy, a Bunnings, Masters or Ebay special. Personal experiences please, not rumour, here say etc
 :cheers: :cheers:

Just because it doesn't run, doesn't mean it won't work, just needs a bit more effort on your part, ya Nancy boy.
Post by: xcvator on May 02, 2014, 07:59:56 AM
Just because it doesn't run, doesn't mean it won't work, just needs a bit more effort on your part, ya Nancy boy.
I need advice from an expert, so just how hard should I pull, and for how long  :angel:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on May 02, 2014, 08:28:02 AM
No need to pull it, just slide it back and forth, back and forth until you get the desired result.... whatever that me be.

Umm, now getting serious for a moment, the chainsaw does have fuel in it, does it.
Post by: xcvator on May 02, 2014, 08:52:00 AM
Umm, now getting serious for a moment, the chainsaw does have fuel in it, does it.

??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ??? ???
Post by: macca on May 02, 2014, 09:18:23 AM

Your not going up there knocking off our Knockwood wood are you, where are the bloody  coppers when you need them C:-)C:-)C:-)C:-)

macca

Post by: scarps on May 02, 2014, 09:34:38 AM
Your not going up there knocking off our Knockwood wood are you, where are the bloody  coppers when you need them C:-)C:-)C:-)C:-)

macca
I have it secured under chain, lock and key, but if a paddy wagon turns up with a warrant to remove it as evidence (of some sort), not so sure.

You have to remember I am 'known to police' :-)
Post by: Mrs smith on May 02, 2014, 09:51:19 AM
I'd be making 100% sure it's not the slide switch playing up before replacing the coil, I know of several that played up.
Post by: macca on May 02, 2014, 09:52:03 AM
I have it secured under chain, lock and key, but if a paddy wagon turns up with a warrant to remove it as evidence (of some sort), not so sure.

You have to remember I am 'known to police' :-)

In that case, said paddy wagon driver better bring a brand new Sthil to Knockwood so we can get more, BTW bloody fast paddy wagon he drives

macca

Post by: Bird on May 02, 2014, 10:40:34 AM
I'd be making 100% sure it's not the slide switch playing up before replacing the coil, I know of several that played up.
I'd take lost up on his offer of a 6 pack for it...
Post by: lino6 on May 02, 2014, 10:41:09 AM

All I can say is I hope scarps's chainsaw is full of fuel and sharp. I know fuji and know he hates to get anything he owns dirty so I reckon scarps will be doing all the cutting!

Back to OP - mate if you can borrow a saw the money you can save on purchasing a temp job you can spend on your saw and the money left over can be used to compensate the person you borrowed the saw off. I hear Lost likes a goo tear arse!
Post by: scarps on May 02, 2014, 12:22:34 PM
All I can say is I hope scarps's chainsaw is full of fuel and sharp. I know fuji and know he hates to get anything he owns dirty so I reckon scarps will be doing all the cutting!

I like running in new chainsaws:-)

We might be ok, I do brush and wipe mine down each time before I pack it away, but it definitely has a used look about it.  Love my wood fire and as you know was planning the recce for this weekend, so with the weather working against us, don't mind taking fuji up to show him the wood collection area.
Post by: Brett B on May 02, 2014, 03:45:46 PM
Bring it with you tomorrow and l will check it out
I have a special hammer  >:D
Post by: Bird on May 02, 2014, 04:34:39 PM
Bring it with you tomorrow and l will check it out
I have a special hammer  >:D
Oooooooo..... its harsh week already!
Post by: Brett B on May 02, 2014, 04:50:37 PM
Oooooooo..... its harsh week already!

Promise l will hit it gently  :cheers:
Post by: macca on May 02, 2014, 04:52:33 PM
Promise l will hit it gently  :cheers:

Whats that mean? I only know one way to hit things and if that dont work get a bigger hammer
Post by: Brett B on May 02, 2014, 04:56:05 PM
Whats that mean? I only know one way to hit things and if that dont work get a bigger hammer

Gently at first then the big one  >:D
Post by: Bird on May 02, 2014, 05:01:20 PM
what time is he heading up to your joint tomorrow Brett?
Post by: Brett B on May 02, 2014, 05:04:07 PM
what time is he heading up to your joint tomorrow Brett?

At my joint about 9:30/10:00
Post by: Bird on May 02, 2014, 05:05:09 PM
Quote from: Brett B
At my joint about 9:30/10:00
ok, was going to get him to bring that swag gig up but I'll only just be finishing my overnighter xbox comp by then.
Post by: Brett B on May 02, 2014, 05:07:33 PM
ok, was going to get him to bring that swag gig up but I'll only just be finishing my overnighter xbox comp by then.

No probs
What are you killin?
Post by: Bird on May 02, 2014, 05:15:24 PM
Quote from: Brett B
No probs
What are you killin?
COD Ghost

joined a new clan, these dudes are insanely good.. one is top 5 in the world...

might not have ya shirts n Shit for knockers either, runnin low on cabbage.
Post by: oldmate on May 02, 2014, 05:21:22 PM
COD Ghost

joined a new clan, these dudes are insanely good.. one is top 5 in the world...

COOL
Post by: scarps on May 02, 2014, 09:52:24 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/05/02/eheme9eq.jpg)
Post by: xcvator on May 03, 2014, 07:27:21 PM
It's Fixed ;D ;D with the little hammer with the flat end

thanks BRETT B yer a bl00dy champ mate  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Post by: Brett B on May 03, 2014, 07:29:58 PM

Your Welcome buddy Have a good holiday  :cheers:
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 03, 2014, 07:33:28 PM
..fixed.
Post by: Bird on May 03, 2014, 07:34:13 PM
Quote from: xcvator

you owe him a light bar :P
Need to change the thing below his name to Myswag Mr Fixit....
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on May 03, 2014, 07:36:38 PM

Ok, what size was the hammer?
How hard did you hit it.
C'mon Brett, Fess up.
Post by: Brett B on May 03, 2014, 07:37:53 PM
Just a little tweek with a small screw driver
I  did show the saw the hammer but it behaved its self  >:D
Post by: fuji on May 04, 2014, 01:21:01 AM
In that case, said paddy wagon driver better bring a brand new Sthil to Knockwood so we can get more, BTW bloody fast paddy wagon he drives

macca

No scummies sitting in my SS! :police:
Post by: GeoffA on May 04, 2014, 07:21:58 AM
Just a little tweek with a small screw driver.......

:cup: :cup:

Can't help yourself, can you Brett....... ;D ;D
Post by: mrjhodges on June 04, 2014, 12:39:06 PM
So if it has no spark, what is igniting the Aerostart?? Maybe the dealer needs to make retail target I think.

Jason
2012 Jayco Swan Touring