General => General Discussion => Topic started by: autoelecau on April 08, 2014, 10:44:29 AM
I was toying with the idea of getting DRLs a while back, but of late, I have decided that it's just too much hassle.
My vehicle doesn't have DRLs, and I was looking at getting some because I would drive on the highway a lot and I want to be seen. But as it turns out, they annoy a lot of people that are on the road, particularly in conditions like fog. I have some trucker friends telling me how much they hate the white light in fog. Also, people driving with them on at night along with their other lights also earns them a reputation they really shouldn't want. So I'm not going to get them because they aren't "loved" much by other drivers, and an ADR approved pair are very costly! (there are heaps of cheap ones on-line that don't meet Australian requirements) $50 can get me a set of headlight bulbs, but about $200 will get me some DRLs that I have to wire in... too much hassle.
I particularly want to know the views of people that drive past someone with DRLs, or have someone following close behind you and they have DRLs. I'm not after the views of people that actually have them as such. So when you see cars with their DRLs on, what does it make you think?
Hope this makes sense...
They annoy me. Seem very dazzling sometimes.
I prefer the older 90w/130w bulbs with relays. Not a clear white but brighter.
I have DRL's on my to do list, I believe they're a valuable safety addition. The detractors are probably complaining about people who fit non ADR compliant lights. If they're on with the headlights then they're wired wrong. Case in point, I saw a B&S ute this morning fitted with white LEDs running up both of his 3m antennas hanging of his 5 poster bullbar on his commondore ute.
No I am just a whiny little bitch ! LOL
I have DRL's on my to do list, I believe they're a valuable safety addition. The detractors are probably complaining about people who fit non ADR compliant lights. If they're on with the headlights then they're wired wrong. Case in point, I saw a B&S ute this morning fitted with white LEDs running up both of his 3m antennas hanging of his 5 poster bullbar on his commondore ute.
So would you say that other people with their DRLs on have helped you in regards to you being a safer driver?
Hi, DRL's, or Daytime Running Lights are not so you can see where your going.
They are supposed to be used for alerting other drivers of your prescence.
Old Volvo's had them in the Parking light fitting.
Buses have them in the headlights (sorry Coaches).
If you fit them, they should turn off when you turn on your headlights.
Not a hard thing, just a relay.
NC when headlights are off and open when the headlights are on.
This supplies power for your DRL's.
The feed via an ON/OFF switch, for your control relay, should come from the parkers.
This means you need 2 different relays to do the job.
1. So you don't forget to turn them off.
2. So your tail-lights are operating as well.
3. Fog lights, white or yellow, should be wired the same way.
DRL's should be a diffuse light so they are noticeable.
They should NOT be a pinpoint beam so they dazzle.
That's where diodes FAIL for this purpose.
People take shortcuts and it ruins it for everybody else.
It's laziness based on "She'll be right.".
And it isn't right, it's half-arsed at best.
That's why people have always been encouraged to turn on LOW Beam in daytime.
Especially for low visibility conditions, Fog, smoke etc..
Hope this helps.
I have DRL's on my to do list, I believe they're a valuable safety addition. The detractors are probably complaining about people who fit non ADR compliant lights. If they're on with the headlights then they're wired wrong.
Agree 1000%
What is really annoying is that most come straight from the factory non relayed. Just a note in the manual saying they should only be used when conditions require - rain, low light and fog.
There was a Vic police media statement about two years ago sayin they were going to get tough on inappropriate use - ie, used in conjunction with any combination of low/ high beam. Didn't see any follow up actions in our jurisdiction tho.
Must say, down south, they seem to be used much more appropriately than on the mainland for some reason.
There was a Vic police media statement about two years ago sayin they were going to get tough on inappropriate use - ie, used in conjunction with any combination of low/ high beam. Didn't see any follow up actions in our jurisdiction tho.
There were mornings when I would come to work and a couple of regular people would be driving with both DRLs on and low beams on. Anyway, low and behold, after complaining about the "bright lights" to the police in the early hours of the morning, SUDDENLY, the same offenders now drive without the DRLs on in low light. So... I guess the police got them? I'm sure a lot of people have been once again blessed with the gift of sight after passing them in low light!
It'll cost 'em about $255.00 in Victoria Tim.
Especially if they arc-up about being pulled over for nothing.
Should include Demerit point as well, but doesn't.
If it did "The Boyz" would probably be more enthusiastic in enforcing it.
Darn... that sounds a bit extravagant...
I'm not being convinced that I need them here!
same...
If people cant see a 6ft high 5ft wide (or what ever a patrol is) ~3ton vehicle - natural selection I say.
Yes, I think so... but that's my point. I see a vehicle coming my way, I just "don't hit it" lights on or no. I just don't want to be the moron that spends a few hundred dollars on a part for my vehicle that only annoys other people... again! Been there already.
Just a by the by, if you have Google chrome that can translate from Polish, this is interesting: http://dadrl.pl/ (http://dadrl.pl/) (I'm not saying it's true, after all, the law is for people own good, right?)
If people cant see a 6ft high 5ft wide (or what ever a patrol is) ~3ton vehicle - natural selection I say.
I'd prefer to avoid an accident in the first place but each to their own.
I don't mind the LED strip DRLs, particularly on expensive European cars that turn off when the indicator is turned on so you can see the things, bit I detest the other DRLs that were the rage a few years ago. I particularly despised the w*nkers that put the higher wattage globes in the lights and then drive along with their normal low beams on and the eyeball searing lower ones. I really look forward to meeting one of the geniuses on a wet evening when the lights on the car are bad enough, but combined with reflection, it looks like a wall of light approaching.
However, even after that whinge, I think the LED strip variety are a great idea in the country as it is certainly easier to see cars approaching from a longer distance.
I'd prefer to avoid an accident in the first place but each to their own.
We all would.. but we all know even if you had an escort, flashing lights and more some scrote would still find a way to run into you.
I had 150watts of lights on my bike when I was wiped out, and he still "didn't see him"
People don't see fire trucks, and cops and ambos behind them with flashing blue/red/headlights/spot lights and sirens on, few LED's aren't going to do squat.
I don't know what the solution to deadShits on the road is... it certainly isn't getting any safer out there on the tar...
I don't know what the solution to dead****s on the road is... it certainly isn't getting any safer out there on the tar...
My 2c after 12 yrs in traffic and accident squad is ZERO ZERO ZERO tolerance.
And I mean ZERO. You go 10% you get done. Increase traffic cops x 10 times.
Smash everyone. No cautions, no let offs. Get stopped get booked.
Get it into everyones heads that if you choose not to drive to the law the right will be taken off you.
Not popular but thats the solution.
Increase traffic cops x 10 times.
I couldn't agree more. I have no issue with that at all.
I'd say 20-30 fold.
The first thing most normal people do when they see the cops is pucker up, and look at their speedo - even if they aren't doing anything wrong. A larger cop presence certainly makes a difference - even foot patrols do on the streets... But that costs money.... It will never happen.
Do cops still do Patrols ? Just drive around the suburbs and backstreets looking for crime? I never see them do it if they are... ???
...... :cheers:
Why would you need dedicated DRL's?
Why not use your headlights?
Am I missing something?
EXACTLY :cheers: ;D ;D ;D
Get it into everyones heads that if you choose not to drive to the law the right will be taken off you.
When you only know how to hammer .... the whole world is a nail.
I would prefer that we train drivers properly and re-test frequently.
TC
Am I missing something?
Yup, I get about 4 months out of a set of $60 headlights if I leave them on all the time I am driving. PITA replacing them all the time.
When you only know how to hammer .... the whole world is a nail.
I would prefer that we train drivers properly and re-test frequently.
TC
Then you end up with Drivers only able to pass the test.
Whereas at the moment, they get instructed to pass the test.
Only get quizzed on thirty questions.
Only needing to answer a percentage correctly.
They should have to be subjected to some sort of extended period of supervised training in vehicle control as well.
There are some absolute TURKEY's out there.
Of all ages and all sexes, with NO REAL IDEA of their abilities or capabilities.
They are all firmly convinced of their superiority to the rest of us.
Why, I don't know.
Yup, I get about 4 months out of a set of $60 headlights if I leave them on all the time I am driving. PITA replacing them all the time.
Use different globes.
I have, Philips, Osram, Narva
Buy a Nissan...... ;D ;D
are they overheating?? any idea why they are lunching themselves?
I agree Dazzler, I had 23 yrs in the job, 18yrs HWP on the Hume and Princess Hwy's. Been out for the last 6yrs due to a work injury (pre 88) ;D I had a bit of a reputation for being >:D and I make no apology for that. Over the years I've had many young blokes who have lived through the stupid years approach me and thank me for being tough on them and getting them through, its part of the job.
For some reason a lot of people think it's their right to have a drivers licence, its not, its a PRIVILEGE.
Enough ranting, back to retirement......
Mick
You can buy a wiring harness off fleebay that is easy to put in. It works like it should, turns the DRLs on when the car starts, turns off the DRLs when the head lights come on.
And here's a little fact for you, in Canada a car headlight must automatically turn on when the car is turned on.
are they overheating?? any idea why they are lunching themselves?
Twice as bright half as long is my theory
The maths - 2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week, 16 weeks = 160-320 hours
Twice as bright half as long is my theory
The maths - 2-4 hours a day, 5 days a week, 16 weeks = 160-320 hours
2 hours in 1 go shouldn't do that much to them.. just seems very excessive.
I've never replaced the GU ones ... **** I shouldn't have said that should I :'(
Guess what you'll be doing tomorrow.....
I know I thought of it INSTANTLY as I typed it :(
It's like out at work, we never say at our first toolbox for the swing that we don't want to break anything or have a good swing cos that always causes the whole show going to #%€£
Hah! The spankers used to laugh at my 242gt volvo and say at least they could turn off their lights...... How times change. Ya so gotta laugh!!!!!
Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk
It does seem a very short life. Changing them would get old very quickly.
The passenger side isn't fun.......easier to remove the headlight.
Hah! The spankers used to laugh at my 242gt volvo and say at least that could turn off their lights...... How times change. Ya so gotta laugh!!!!!
I'd still laugh at the Volvo :D
The passenger side isn't fun.......easier to remove the headlight.
He can give us a demo against the stopwatch if he comes to the camp! :) Although he hasn't said yes or no yet... :(
Cheers lost don't worry my skin is pretty thick. Funny how far ahead they were. It was the main reason ford bought them so as to catch up 20 years in the area of strategic primary safety.
My uncle had one in the mid 70's.. it was so comfortable, the old man hated him for it... LOL
God bless the swedish valiant. Back on topic lost. Are the lights on the vfr hardwired and where do you / did you stand on the hard wiring of bike headlights?
Mine weren't.. Talkin to bloke yesterday who just woke up and scrapped 20yrs of Harleys nad bought a new 1200 Tenere... Apparently all bikes are hard wired again ?? AND.. theres talk of having to retrofit some form of DRL to ALL motorcycles.. Pretty pathetic if you ask me.
I rode with my lights on all the time, didn't bother me, but some people (specially those that follow Aus.moto newsgroup) swear your easier to see without headlights ????
He can give us a demo against the stopwatch if he comes to the camp! :) Although he hasn't said yes or no yet... :(
I didn't say faster, I said easier......... :-*
That's with the factory air box. Access is better with the Fatz air box.
We should be there, but we've got a lot happening around that time, and we're off to the Cape 2 weeks later.
I didn't say faster, I said easier......... :-*
That's with the factory air box. Access is better with the Fatz air box.
We should be there, but we've got a lot happening around that time, and we're off to the Cape 2 weeks later.
perfect time for a final shakedown.
We may have another special guest coming... ;)
2 out of 3 of my bikes are hardwired..... Pommy bikes Indicators are permanently on as running lights. When they need to indicate a change of direction they flash. Different take on the same thing I suppose.
DRLs are only DRLs if they automatically turn off when the headlights are turned. If they stay on they aren't DRLs, they are just additional lights that may or may not meet the regs.
Do DRLs or headlights on in the daytime work?
Something in Tim's back yard - last year in Gippsland we had a terrible spate of cars running into trucks between mid January and they end of March. 15 crashes, 15 minor injuries, 6 major injuries and 2 fatalities. This was about double the frequency of crashes for the rest of the year. Also, Gippsland actually had an increase in crashes last year in comparism to the rest of the state were numbers decreased. Not a good year for us. Also had 3 crashes, 4 fatilities in about a 3 week period in about August from cars doing u turns in front of, pulling out of intersections in front of, or wondering onto the wrong side of the road in front of full sized trucks on 100km/h roads. No one comes out unscathed in the these situations. Not the distracted driver or the innocent driver.
This year myself (heavy vehicle enforcement officer), and 3 other colleagues (a road safety community advisor, a local council road safety advocate and a local safety officer for a national transport company) instigated a headlights on campaign within the Gippsland transport community. It was a very amature job, predominantly in our own time with no formal backing from our employers.
The campaign had 3 components.
1. Headlights on to make the trucks more visible to the distracted/inattentive/texting/moron car drivers.
2. A conscious decision by the truck driver to turn their headlights which (hopefully) means they acknowledge that they are aware of the issue of cars pulling out in front of them which will hopefully mean they will drive more defensively.
3. An advertising campaign on local media highlighting the issue to the public so that when they see an increased number of trucks with their headlights on they might acknowledge why they are lit up and will also drive more defensively around trucks.
Did it work?
I can't honestly say. BUT, the stats show an incredible change for the same 10 week period this year - 3 minor injury crashes. With 2 of the injuries being so minor that they almost went unreported (I am told maybe a band aide or 2). This is a huge reduction on the same period last year, as well has halving the number of crashes/week in comparism for the whole of last year.
To many variables to suggest that it was purely our headlights on campaign, but we don't know what other factors could be involved.
One thing that is certain is the number of drivers, and in fact whole fleets that are moving to fit DRLs to all of their vehicles simply because of the difference individual drivers have reported in the reduction in the number of vehicles pulling out in front of them.
I am also a convert. At the very least I have made no improvement to my safety on the road. At best I may have prevented someone not seeing me and causing a fatality, potentially my own.
Info about the headlights on campaign can be found here - https://www.facebook.com/truckieslightup?fref=ts (https://www.facebook.com/truckieslightup?fref=ts)
A very sad post script to the campaign was 3 days after the end of our "official" 10 week campaign a young boy died when a car, truck and school bus collided north of Bairnsdale. I have not seen/heard official findings of the cause of this crash, however inside information has suggested a car pulled out in front of a truck (a bright red, full sized semi), mid afternoon on a clear well light day. The truck driver managed to swerve and almost miss the car, but then a bus travelling in the opposite direction appeared from around the corner.........
As I said before. No one wins. All involved have had their lives changed forever. An innocent party has died.
The car driver has failed to see the truck. If the truck had of had headlights on (or DRLs) maybe the car might of seen it.
Maybe. Maybe not. At the very least the truck would not of been LESS visible with lights on.
Have you done all you can to prevent someone else causing a crash?
Peter
Great work peter. Very impressive!
All vehicles on mine site MUST have their headlights on. From memory all the Light Vehicles their lights must come on automatically. I believe this is for the visibility reason.
Yes Peter, that crash you mentioned prevented me from getting home even... and back to work the next day. That very road is plagued with speeding drivers too, I might just say, being on it so often each day. I personally like to sit under 100, like the buses do, but I have to go for 100 mostly because of others drivers passing and being horrifically dangerous. Then, there are some that pass me anyway when I'm sitting on 102 or so (GPS clocked).
At the end of the day, I'll have my headlights on if it's a little dark or if there is a possibility that it will be hard to see me. In foggy conditions, lights are a must, as I can testify that I have seen cars with their lights on in the fog a good time before they have passed. I can't say that DLSs are helpful in fog, as they are too bright when you are passing the vehicle with them; low beam would be better.
At the end of the day, as previously mentioned, it boils down to bad drivers. Overseas, (UK, Europe, etc.) they try to stop this by having cars lights on all the time... not very emission friendly, and when you DO need your lights in the dark, I have heard some stories of them dying right when they are needed the most. Also, dash lights need replacing more often, and people love that job. The reason why I was considering DRLs, was so I wouldn't have to go around replacing all the other bulbs.
Unfortunately... as the story goes, I have been using public transport more often thanks to morons on the road. When you travel often to and from Melbourne from East Gippsland, you get so jack of bad drivers that it causes extra unnecessary stress... going to have a shortened life here, or had to make a change... so what can I say?
Blew another globe this morning, it is the passenger side which means I have to move the battery to replace it :(
August last year I replaced them so 8 months this time which isn't bad :'(
Ordered some new globes from autoelecau, hope they show up quick :)
Blew another globe this morning, it is the passenger side which means I have to move the battery to replace it :(
August last year I replaced them so 8 months this time which isn't bad :'(
Ordered some new globes from autoelecau, hope they show up quick :)
What brand globes did you order this time ?
Yeah, I'm in on that one as well.
Wot sorta globes D4D. C'mon spill it.
Ve haf ways to make you talk, you vill talk, dey alvays do.
I've had my Cruiser now for 5 years, done 120k in that time.
Had the truck out day and night, in all sorts of weather too.
Lights on most of the time, I've changed 1 Low beam Headlight and a tail-light.
They're the only failures.
On the visibility issue do we all remember when high vis first came in.
You would be driving down the road and freak out thinking it was a copper on the side of the road.
These days every man and his dog wears high vis and you just tune out to it. Admittedly the shiny strips are great at night with reflection but the bright colours do jack all during the day now.
The problem is when everything just becomes the norm.
What brand globes did you order this time ?
Philips X-treme Vision H4
No worries, mate, found your order and actioned it with the girls, so hopefully you'll be up and running (lighting?) again soon. We'll see how we do with Australia Post being closed almost constantly over the next couple of days...
Thanks Tim, if I get pulled over for only one headlight, I'll just tell :police: 'the globes are in the mail' :)
No worries mate, thanks for the order and just be safe on the road day and night as it's a dangerous time of year it seems.
Also, just a by the by, as we have a lot of orders usually, it sometimes takes up to 2 days to finish processing an order (when we have bad days, it can take 4). I can't do much about the pricing, but I can pull the orders and get the girls to prioritise them so you aren't waiting the usual time. I just need to know, and I'll action them. (PM's work well it seems.)
On the visibility issue do we all remember when high vis first came in.
You would be driving down the road and freak out thinking it was a copper on the side of the road.
These days every man and his dog wears high vis and you just tune out to it. Admittedly the shiny strips are great at night with reflection but the bright colours do jack all during the day now.
The problem is when everything just becomes the norm.
I wont disagree with you. One of our participants of our headlights on campaign said that this year we have lights on to be noticed, next year we will have to have Christmas trees on our bonnets.
The stand out features of the lights on is your eyes are dragged to them, just like at night you have to consciously stop yourself looking at oncoming vehicles lights.
My thoughts on the headlights on (or DRLs) are not that you "see" the vehicle, but that "something" grabbed your attention to make you stop and see what grabbed your attention.
It is also worth pointing out that the very basic aim of the campaign was to try to grab the attention of the distracted driver (ie phone user etc). They may look up momentarily from their "device", but not actually "see" anything. Headlights on or DRLs hopefully increase the chances of them seeing "something", and in turn shifting their attention from the device back to the road.
Of all the operators I have talked to about the headlights on no one has complained about burning out globes, although one operator said he had issues with heat in the instrument panel from the dash lights.
Peter
Now they have come down to a reasonable price, I am very close to buying these. Hopefully I can fab a bracket where the existing IPF fogs fit to make them work.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NARVA-LED-DAY-DAYTIME-RUNNING-LAMPS-PAIR-FULL-KIT-CAR-NEW-ROUND-REVERSING-71940-/400555816220 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NARVA-LED-DAY-DAYTIME-RUNNING-LAMPS-PAIR-FULL-KIT-CAR-NEW-ROUND-REVERSING-71940-/400555816220)
(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NTAwWDUwMA==/z/YNUAAOxyLNpSFY~t/$T2eC16FHJIYFHOK4J7PuBSFY+rbCjQ~~60_12.JPG)
No worries, mate, found your order and actioned it with the girls, so hopefully you'll be up and running (lighting?) again soon. We'll see how we do with Australia Post being closed almost constantly over the next couple of days...
Parcel was waiting for me at the post office at 8am yesterday. I picked it up today, can't argue with that service! Thanks again.
Excellent mate, no worries! Let us know how you get on with those ones.
I am all for better lighting at night but during the day just turn your lights on if needed, no need for DRL, not a fan of them at all.
A friend works for a government department and they have had their vehicles modified to have DLR. They also replace their headlight globes every 40k needed or not. So when thy change the globes I get a set of second hand ones. My Prado never had the headlights turned off and is 4 years old and nearly 90k and never have I changed a globe.
I like the headlights on all the time as it makes vehicles more visible from a distance no matter what size, shape or colour they are.
Crispy
These will fit nicely in the split pan next to the number plate http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/111209432038 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/111209432038)
(http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac215/tradeworkz/tradeworks/PhilipsDaylight4-2.jpg)
Ya gotta love those scotch lock, cable joiners.
Worst bit of the kit.
From that picture, everything else looks OK.
I'm sure autoelecau didn't have any say about the scotch locks being in the box.
The kit would have arrived like that to him.
X100, no leniency, book em all. I love my job.
These will fit nicely in the split pan next to the number plate http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/111209432038 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/111209432038)
(http://i901.photobucket.com/albums/ac215/tradeworkz/tradeworks/PhilipsDaylight4-2.jpg)
Fit some for me?
I'll write up a how to :)
Thanks Tim, if I get pulled over for only one headlight, I'll just tell :police: 'the globes are in the mail' :)
Isn't it funny when we pull someone over with one headlight, 90% of the answers are?
"It just happened"
I'll write up a how to :)
You know I'm mechanically inept!
Just as well this is electrical then ;D
I was going to write electrically inept as well ;D
I think there must be some confusion between DRL's & fog lights & people who've just put any old light on their car.
I have a very strong dislike for those that drive with fog lights on, however proper DRL's do not startle oncoming traffic. I think they're a great setup if done correctly.
Now they have come down to a reasonable price, I am very close to buying these. Hopefully I can fab a bracket where the existing IPF fogs fit to make them work.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NARVA-LED-DAY-DAYTIME-RUNNING-LAMPS-PAIR-FULL-KIT-CAR-NEW-ROUND-REVERSING-71940-/400555816220 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NARVA-LED-DAY-DAYTIME-RUNNING-LAMPS-PAIR-FULL-KIT-CAR-NEW-ROUND-REVERSING-71940-/400555816220)
(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/NTAwWDUwMA==/z/YNUAAOxyLNpSFY~t/$T2eC16FHJIYFHOK4J7PuBSFY+rbCjQ~~60_12.JPG)
These might just fit in the bull bar.
I think DRLs are terrific and do make vehicles more visible in all conditions, as so many drivers do not turn their lights on in low light/low visibility conditions. I do wonder they are only on the front of vehicles? Why isn't there rear DRLs?
Also, I reject the argument that them being more common makes them less effective, same for HiVis. It's the bogan wearing the HiVis that makes it easy to ignore, not the yellow or orange clothing itself.
Currently I'm running Narva Plus 120 in my 120, but only at night. I've replaced my parkers with LED Cree globes, can be seen during the day (if that's what you want, without "dazzling" the on coming traffic) and standout at night as the "blue" light of the parker differs from the headlight.
About $10.00 on ebay
The Lightforce Venom drivings lights have come out and these lights have a form of LED DRL built into them. We have them in the store, and it's only a matter of time before we get them online. Anyone's thoughts on these as DRLs? (Love the idea, hate the idea--all thoughts accepted)
Philips X-treme Vision H4
Hiya d4d. What are they like? Thinking of ordering some as I am over Crappy headlights and the Narva ?+ whatevers aren't cutting the mustard.
The amount of DRL's we sell and fit at work is crazy. And yes they must meet ADR.
What allot of people don't know is as with all lights there is a requirement on how they must be fitted.
They cannot be too close together, and they can't be more than a certain distance from the edge of the vehicle.
A pair of daytime running lights may be fitted to a motor vehicle;
A pair of daytime running lights fitted to a motor vehicle with 4 or more wheels must be fitted with the centre of each light: (a) at least 600mm from the centre of the other light; and (b) not over 510mm from the nearer side of the vehicle;
However, a pair of daytime running lights fitted to a motor vehicle under 1300mm wide may be fitted with the centre of each light not under 400mm from the centre of the other light;
When on, a daytime running light must: (a) show a white or yellow light visible from the front of the vehicle; and (b) not use over 25W; and
Daytime running lights must be wired so they are off when a headlight, other than a headlight being used as a flashing signal, is on.
In my mind, when done right DRL's will not make a negative impact on driving. As to how effective they are thats another story.
Driving country roads every day, I will say that they certainly make it easier to see oncoming traffic in bright sunlight as well as when there is heat haze.
But then again so do headlights........
Evo
But then again so do headlights........
Yep :cup:
Seems a lot of trouble and effort for a problem that's already solved......IMO....
Hiya d4d. What are they like? Thinking of ordering some as I am over Crappy headlights and the Narva ?+ whatevers aren't cutting the mustard.
They are an improvement over the OE globes, I like them. Now they're fitted properly they have seemed to last well also.
Seems a lot of trouble and effort for a problem that's already solved......IMO....
My old '93 'tilley is a very bad colour as I've been informed of several times by friends & rellies so, I drive with my low beam on. Now on newer vehicles with auto off lights this is not much of a problem but, for me, it's a pain in the rectum when I forget to turn them off. I know I could wire them to the ignition but then I may as well do the full job & get DRLs. As mentioned earlier, there seems to be a fair bit of confusion in this thread differentiating between DRLs, Fog Lights & Driving Lights.
Living in a rural environment I've put Driving Lights (the lower round lights) on the wifes daily drive. They're LED, only work on Low & have an independent on/off. They have a good spread & a depth similar to Low. Not much chop in fog as they're a white light.
They're not DRL, Fog or Spot but Driving Lights.
Does anyone have any experience with combination indicator / DRL like these http://m.ebay.com.au/itm/400400120103?_mwBanner=1 (http://m.ebay.com.au/itm/400400120103?_mwBanner=1)? Looking to replace the original ones on my ARB bar.
Have to agree.
Does anyone have any experience with combination indicator / DRL like these http://m.ebay.com.au/itm/400400120103?_mwBanner=1 (http://m.ebay.com.au/itm/400400120103?_mwBanner=1)? Looking to replace the original ones on my ARB bar.
DB
If you find any more info on these or similar, please let me know.
Yep. I got some of Autolecau.
As usual exceptional service :cup:
I was surprised. I haven't purchased any LED automotive stuff before (except for the odd low power clearance light for trucks) and was surprised by the weight and solid feel of the diecast body.
I purchased them because I needed to mount some indicators in a 2nd hand ARB bullbar (a job I had been meaning to do for the last 10 years) so I thought I would give these a go.
Peter H
As mentioned earlier, there seems to be a fair bit of confusion in this thread differentiating between DRLs, Fog Lights & Driving Lights.
Living in a rural environment I've put Driving Lights (the lower round lights) on the wifes daily drive. They're LED, only work on Low & have an independent on/off. They have a good spread & a depth similar to Low. Not much chop in fog as they're a white light.
[/quote]
Unfortunately you're adding to the confusion. If you call them driving lights then they should be wired to only turn on when high beam is on. As they are, I'd describe them as 'additional lights' for use in adverse conditions - rain/dust/smoke - not fog due to the colour (as you mentioned.
As mentioned earlier, there seems to be a fair bit of confusion in this thread differentiating between DRLs, Fog Lights & Driving Lights.
Unfortunately you're adding to the confusion. If you call them driving lights then they should be wired to only turn on when high beam is on. As they are, I'd describe them as 'additional lights' for use in adverse conditions - rain/dust/smoke - not fog due to the colour (as you mentioned.
Actually, their main purpose is to back up the low beam when switching from high beam with the light bar in use. Without them, going from high with the light bar on to standard low is a bit dodgy on the eyes for a while :D As stated, they're good for the same range as the normal low beam.
DB
If you find any more info on these or similar, please let me know.
I've ordered some, so I'll report back when I have installed them.
I installed some on my old 80 series landcruiser. When looking at the light output from the DRL square on, the light is nice and bright. However, if your slightly off to the side then the light output drops of - they are very directional. Hence mounted to the bulbar wing which angles back slightly I think they loose some of their effectiveness.
A bit over a month ago I was driving down to Albany and back. I keep a mental note of cars I seen with headlights on vs. some of the newer cars with factory fitted LED DRL. For me, the headlights on wins as you can see it from a greater distance compared to the LED lights. I was going to refit some LED DRL to my Disco, but after that trip I wont bother and will just use the headlights when on country roads
I dunno who invented these DRLs, because the lights on during the day was an intended campain to have people turn there headlights on during the day for the purpose of being seen, what people are doing now is turning fog lights into high wattage lights that are blinding to oncoming traffic, those lights in the bottom of the bumper are fog lights and are designed to face off to the side of the road to give more spread in low light and foggy conditions in conjunction with low beam in the headlights and contrary to the belief they need to be yellow, is not true, as long as they are not too bright, they can be any colour, google it if you don't believe me.
Our car has front and rear foglights and can only be turned on when the lights are on, the rears are a slightly brighter and different shade of red to the tail lights, the front fogs are a white light, slightly duller than the headlights and face off to the side of the road
Now factory DRLs are designed to come on when you start the car and go off when you turn your headlights on and not designed to be brighter than the headlights.
Save your money and just turn your headlights on, buy more beer, or if you have too cause you think the're coooool ??? don't turn them on at night with your headlights, think of oncoming traffic.
Actually, their main purpose is to back up the low beam when switching from high beam with the light bar in use. Without them, going from high with the light bar on to standard low is a bit dodgy on the eyes for a while :D As stated, they're good for the same range as the normal low beam.
Just slightly illegal. Only allowed one pair of low beam lights. Any extra lights running on low beam is illegal. Also, any lights below the centre of low beam headlights must be fog lights only, any lights above the centre of low beam headlights are driving lights only
I've ordered some, so I'll report back when I have installed them.
So, if anyone is still interested, I've finally got these fitted and working. First up, despite the claims on the websites, and me measuring them up, they don't fit up in place of the standard ARB indicators/parkers without a fair bit of modifying. If you are buying, look carefully, I bought from autoelecAU for a start, and didn't realise it was just for one light. I bought the other for 20% less for 2 elsewhere (so now have a spare).
Wiring - they don't switch between DRL and parkers automatically, so I got them working with 2 relays, one ignition triggered, and then one light triggered to switch off the DRL. Never really used relays properly before, so a fun learning curve.
At the end of the day I'm happy with the way they look and work, but quite a bit of mucking around to get there.
So, if anyone is still interested, I've finally got these fitted and working. First up, despite the claims on the websites, and me measuring them up, they don't fit up in place of the standard ARB indicators/parkers without a fair bit of modifying. If you are buying, look carefully, I bought from autoelecAU for a start, and didn't realise it was just for one light. I bought the other for 20% less for 2 elsewhere (so now have a spare).
Wiring - they don't switch between DRL and parkers automatically, so I got them working with 2 relays, one ignition triggered, and then one light triggered to switch off the DRL. Never really used relays properly before, so a fun learning curve.
At the end of the day I'm happy with the way they look and work, but quite a bit of mucking around to get there.
Had missed your posts in this thread. I have a pair of them in my light bar and they fit well.
I would REALLY appreciate if you could post up a drawing of your wiring diagram. :cheers:
Had missed your posts in this thread. I have a pair of them in my light bar and they fit well.
I would REALLY appreciate if you could post up a drawing of your wiring diagram. :cheers:
Will do in the next few days
Here is my crappy wiring diagram, hope it helps.
Relay 1 closes when ignition is on, turns on DRL. Relay 2 is normally closed, so circuit is complete. When lights are turned on, Relay 2 opens the switch, breaking the circuit, so DRL turns off. Parkers in lights then come on.
Save your money and just turn your headlights on, buy more beer, or if you have too cause you think the're coooool ??? don't turn them on at night with your headlights, think of oncoming traffic
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Baz brings the logic to the discussion
My indicators in the bull bar needed replacing, and I decided to go LED. These combined indicator /parking/DRL units seemed to cover all bases, so I thought I'd give them a go.
Properly wired up they shouldn't cause any ill effects for other road users.
Also, running headlights on all the time would reduce the effective service life of the globe. In my experience the damn things blow all too regularly anyway.
Also, running headlights on all the time would reduce the effective service life of the globe.
I have done over 100k km and only blown 1 globe. I have my lights on all the time!
Crispy
http://www.powerbulbs.com/au/store/category/led-daytime-running-lights-drl (http://www.powerbulbs.com/au/store/category/led-daytime-running-lights-drl)
Reckon they are a pain in the butt, We fit the them to big WHITE trucks .
And anyone who can't see a big white truck coming at them really shouldn't be there on the road.
Spend more time replacing them from vibration damage.
Flighty
I just turn my headlights on everytime I go for a drive....
same I find DRLs to annoying
This has been an interesting read, the confusion between DRL's and fog lamps is still happening.
A lot of buzz box drivers just don't get why fog lamps are a pain for oncoming vehicles, particularly in the wet as the light reflects of any water sitting on the road.
I fitted Philips type DRL's and have them switch off with parkers.
Our rig is fairly black from the front as it has a black bull bar, chequer plated bonnet and grey roof rack so it blends in with the asphalt as a back ground on country roads.
I didn't want to run with headlamps on, beside the headlamp failure your adding tail lights and trailer lights to the equation.
From the rear I'd prefer to have a red light that appears when brakes are applied rather than just get a little brighter.
A truck I drive at work has DRL and they switch off with headlamps on, I'd prefer them to switch with parkers.
I read this post a while ago and decided it wa too hard to fit some DRLs to my car (maybe it's just too far down the to do list). Anyway, I recalled that the DRLs are meant to turn off when headlights are on. A couple off nights ago I noticed a modern car with DRLs and headlights on together, think it was an Audi. Then I steered to notice more and more. Hyundai, jeep, Audi, Nissan, Mitsubishi all had headlights on and the DRL (LED strip type) on as well. Has the rule changed, or was it just for retro fits?
Anyhow, still not fitting them to my car...yet and will use headlights on low during highway work in the pathfinder, or since the forester has auto lights I just rarely turn them off.
The increase of use is due to an ADR change for new vehicles.
During the day often the strips of LED's is turned off when the indicator is being used.
Of a night some dull down rather than go out, more about the look.
They can't stay at full brightness due to the light patern and intensity at night.
A friend has a company car and they have a lights on policy.
The cars headlamps are wired to a 10volt resister on the ignition circuit.
This has only the headlamps on but not at full brightness and works well.
When the headlamps are turned on the headlamps get brighter and the tail/dash lights illuminate.