General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Kangaron on April 07, 2014, 11:21:27 AM

Title: Easter Traffic Conditions in Vic
Post by: Kangaron on April 07, 2014, 11:21:27 AM
Hi all, I usually go away the week before or after Easter, and spend Easter itself at home.
This year my wife's has Easter and 2 weeks there after off.
I know the roads are clogged on Thursday afternoon onwards.
What are they like on Good Friday morning?
I have to go up the Calder to Bendigo and beyond.
Title: Re: Easter Traffic Conditions in Vic
Post by: scarps on April 07, 2014, 11:28:34 AM
Usually just as busy after 9am. If you can leave early you should be good.
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2014, 08:20:14 AM
Quote from: scarps
Usually just as busy after 9am. If you can leave early you should be good.
We left 5am one morning thinking we'd beat everyone, they had the same idea..  But it is luck of the draw.
Maybe leave late on Thursday if you can (8pm+) Most will have left at 2-6pm.
Post by: Kangaron on April 08, 2014, 10:03:24 AM
Bugger, we usually leave at 0500 so will just stick with that then, and plod along.
It won't be a quick trip towing and 8 x 5 with 3' cage full of building materials.
Post by: Swannie on April 08, 2014, 10:42:18 AM
Once you hit the calder it will be an easy run.

I'm going the opposite way out to phllip island,, it will be interesting.
Post by: Kangaron on April 08, 2014, 12:01:27 PM
I am in a good spot here where I live, I have only one set of lights and am on Eastlink.
I can get to my block in Dunolly towing in 2hr 20 min with no more lights.
Post by: Swannie on April 08, 2014, 12:05:45 PM
Actually I don't think I see a set of lights form my place to phillip island  ;D
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2014, 12:31:00 PM
Actually I don't think I see a set of lights form my place to phillip island  ;D
dunno which way you go...
Post by: Traveller on April 08, 2014, 05:55:37 PM

Don't forget the ones in Grant, the ones that are always red for me.
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 08, 2014, 06:40:46 PM
And Cranbourne, there's a whole town there in the way.  And a Railway crossing.
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2014, 07:08:22 PM
I got lost the other week down there, I didn't know they had removed the big round about to turn right and head over the hill with...
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 08, 2014, 07:27:19 PM
If you end up on the Hastings, Dandenong, Westernport Highway.
They've changed that  considerably too.
You still have to go through Tooradin as well. 
Where you stand the chance with Ped. Lights.
As well as others already mentioned.
Post by: Swannie on April 08, 2014, 07:29:25 PM
So between the traffic, stop lights, pedestrian crossings, 3 screamimg kids in the back and torrential rain why the heck am  I going to phillip Island!!!!!!
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2014, 07:40:55 PM
Quote from: swannie
So between the traffic, stop lights, pedestrian crossings, 3 screamimg kids in the back and torrential rain why the heck am  I going to phillip Island!!!!!!
Mate went to a place down at Rye the other week said it was great.. I just called to try and book in at Warnambool for the easter break.
Post by: Black Diamond on April 08, 2014, 07:42:26 PM
Mate went to a place down at Rye the other week said it was great.. I just called to try and book in at Warnambool for the easter break.
Make sure you pack some extra guy ropes ;D
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2014, 07:43:55 PM
Make sure you pack some extra guy ropes ;D
I hope I have some Brettb (c) tent pegs for it...
Post by: Swannie on April 08, 2014, 07:59:07 PM

yep only do down their in summer. Plenty for the kids to do at the island over easter. Churchill Island has plenty on
Post by: D4D on April 08, 2014, 08:10:50 PM

Here's a tip from somebody who travels that way often. Don't take the South Gippy/Philip Isl. turn off, keep going straight ahead along the Princes Fwy. When you get to Pakenham take the Cardinia Rd exit, then turn right at the roundabout back over the freeway. Follow that road all the way, it will turn into Patterson Rd, Officer Rd, Dalmore Rd and will pop you out on the South Gippy just near Tooradin. You bypass all the Cranny crap traffic.
Post by: Swannie on April 08, 2014, 08:15:16 PM
Here's a tip from somebody who travels that way often. Don't take the South Gippy/Philip Isl. turn off, keep going straight ahead along the Princes Fwy. When you get to Pakenham take the Cardinia Rd exit, then turn right at the roundabout back over the freeway. Follow that road all the way, it will turn into Patterson Rd, Officer Rd, Dalmore Rd and will pop you out on the South Gippy just near Tooradin. You bypass all the Cranny crap traffic.

Thanks Mate
Post by: fuji on April 08, 2014, 08:24:38 PM
Everyone, please be careful driving. I had to attend another fatal today and it doesn't get easier. The roads are really greasy with this constant drizzle.  Its not you thats doing the bad driving its the other idiots out there. Be careful.

fuji
Post by: Brett B on April 08, 2014, 08:24:51 PM
I hope I have some Brettb (c) tent pegs for it...

all ready to go  :D
Post by: Swannie on April 08, 2014, 08:26:02 PM

Make him grovel a bit mate.... at least get a "lost" rant to give you a laugh
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2014, 08:26:40 PM
Might get my passport out this weekend
Post by: Brett B on April 08, 2014, 08:26:59 PM
Everyone, please be careful driving. I had to attend another fatal today and it doesn't get easier. The roads are really greasy with this constant drizzle.  Its not you thats doing the bad driving its the other idiots out there. Be careful.

fuji

Hey fuj where you in the silver car this arvo
Post by: D4D on April 08, 2014, 08:31:36 PM

Yeah I heard about that one on Yan Yean Rd, truck and car, not nice.
Post by: Brett B on April 08, 2014, 08:31:41 PM
Might get my passport out this weekend

sounds good
you have my mobile
Post by: Bird on April 08, 2014, 08:32:35 PM
sounds good
you have my mobile
yup, you have mine?
Post by: Brett B on April 08, 2014, 08:33:34 PM
yup, you have mine?

nup  ???
Post by: Brett B on April 08, 2014, 08:36:11 PM
Make him grovel a bit mate.... at least get a "lost" rant to give you a laugh

Where do you find a lost rant ?  ;D
Post by: fuji on April 08, 2014, 08:47:16 PM
Hey fuj where you in the silver car this arvo

I was after the fatal, going back to the office.
Post by: Brett B on April 08, 2014, 09:00:20 PM

I was after the fatal, going back to the office.

l seen a few of you guys heading out from Diamo
Post by: Andrew_C on April 08, 2014, 09:38:58 PM
Must be Easter or any other holiday, another bad car and truck collision at Dixons Creek on the Melba Highway tonight.
Post by: speewa158 on April 09, 2014, 02:21:50 PM
Don't be a Bunny  stay in your warren  its safer there  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: Kangaron on April 17, 2014, 02:03:15 PM
It has started, I just crossed over the Monash and heaps of traffic, 4by's, vans etc heading out of town.
Post by: Bird on April 17, 2014, 02:10:43 PM
Quote from: Kangaron
It has started, I just crossed over the Monash and heaps of traffic, 4by's, vans etc heading out of town.
They were going like that at 6.30 this morning...
Post by: Kangaron on April 17, 2014, 02:26:19 PM
Good luck to them.
I have started my own journey, look for me in the Drunk's thread about 9 or 10 tonight. :cheers:
Post by: Bird on April 17, 2014, 02:32:08 PM
Quote from: Kangaron
Good luck to them.
I have started my own journey, look for me in the Drunk's thread about 9 or 10 tonight. :cheers:
L U C K Y    M A N !!!!

PS... not lookin forward to joining the traffic later... :(
Post by: Kangaron on April 17, 2014, 03:29:36 PM
I'll be in it about 0500 tomorrow morning, hence the early start today which will lead to an early finish and a top sleep.
Post by: ozstickman on April 17, 2014, 03:36:35 PM

fuji

Please don't be in a hurry. Who cares if you get there a few hours late. It's sure beats people like FUJI and people like my olds having to deal with you and your family. Note:my parents are funeral directors!!

That is all.

Post by: Brett B on April 17, 2014, 04:15:15 PM
Just come down the monash fwy from home to Kooweerup to pick my son up and its chockers
Post by: Bird on April 17, 2014, 05:21:36 PM
Quote from: ozstickman
Please don't be in a hurry
I agree, infact, everyone planning to head west tomorrow between 3am and 3pm, postpone your trip.

Fuj. how much for an escort out of suburbia :D
Post by: oldmate on April 17, 2014, 05:24:16 PM
I agree, infact, everyone planning to head west tomorrow between 3am and 3pm, postpone your trip.

Fuj. how much for an escort out of suburbia :D

A bottle of Penfolds Grange Hermitage should cover it  ;D ;D
Post by: D4D on April 17, 2014, 05:43:40 PM
Surprisingly the drive home tonight was quite normal, not the usual convoy of holiday makers with NFI how to drive on a freeway. Only saw one minor accident, and thankfully the :police: decided not to shut the road down this time :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on April 17, 2014, 06:18:27 PM
Yep. The CBD was very busy, but once out on the freeway, it was pretty normal.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on April 17, 2014, 06:30:32 PM
Made it out without much hoo har. Now in Bairnsdale

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk
Post by: Markoutback on April 17, 2014, 09:18:47 PM
Came back from Nagambie today traffic heading north was consistent lots of campers and holiday makers heading out of town and buissy in Yarra Glen tonight glad l am home tonight. Cheers Mark
Post by: scarps on April 18, 2014, 06:03:15 AM

A bottle of Penfolds Grange Hermitage should cover it  ;D ;D
lol, what year?
Post by: oldmate on April 18, 2014, 06:11:20 AM
lol, what year?

Around 59 should be right  ;D
Post by: scarps on April 18, 2014, 06:48:22 AM

Around 59 should be right  ;D
mate, you are old. I prefer a 62
Post by: speewa158 on April 18, 2014, 07:12:07 AM
From about Noon onwards the traffic in the main drag built up , CT , vans , boats etc . All heading somewhere but looking a Black Caviar statue on the way through . lts going to be busy  :cup:   :cheers:
Post by: Kangaron on April 18, 2014, 04:03:44 PM
Left home at 0500 this morning fearing the worst.
We have done this trip every fortnight for about 18 months.
Today was the best run we have had, ever.
SFA Traffic.
Post by: wazboz on April 18, 2014, 06:09:54 PM
We left Mentone to go to Wangaratta at about 10am. Usually go the back way through Yea but thought we would go up the Hume for a change. Quiet until we got off the Ring Road and it was 25kmh all the way up past Kalkallo. Bah. Then once into the 110kmh zone it picked up. I can only think it was getting screwed up at each of the onramps.

Wazboz

Sent from Tapatalk

Post by: Glenno on April 20, 2014, 09:30:51 PM
Drove back to Melb today (Sun) to get in before the returning Easter / School Hols traffic on Monday.

Traffic was still busy, but nothing like I  imagine tomorrow is going to be!!! 

Good luck all. Be safe.

G.
Post by: Kangaron on April 20, 2014, 10:02:33 PM
went into Dunolly main drag this morning and the town was buzzing, counted 27 cars, all parked.
Post by: speewa158 on April 21, 2014, 09:05:20 AM
went into Dunolly main drag this morning and the town was buzzing, counted 27 cars, all parked.

That's a lot of stolen cars for 1 town to be dumped  >:D :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on April 21, 2014, 09:07:28 AM
Yesterday arvo went to Shepparton & heading south was a huge mob . Looked as though the free beers & sausages had run  out . lf that was here there must have been a big mess in Melb  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on April 22, 2014, 08:08:56 AM
Yesterday arvo went to Shepparton & heading south was a huge mob . Looked as though the free beers & sausages had run  out . lf that was here there must have been a big mess in Melb  :cheers:
Sat on 100 nearly all the way from Pt Fairy to Home yesterday.. just the 40klm workzone - yes not kph, klm's....
Post by: Bowie on April 22, 2014, 08:27:36 AM
Drove home from bairnsdale yesterday the back way bit of a hold up going into traralgon  but after that smooth sailing
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 22, 2014, 10:37:03 AM
A Friend and I left Yarra Glen at 1000 on Thursday.
Arrived in Nhill at 1610.  That's a Toyota FZJ105 and Tvan.
Averaged 19Ltr/100klm. for that part of the trip.
Went for a drive around for the next couple of days and averaged 36L/100K. towing the Trailer.  Visited Milmed Rock, Big Billy Bore, saw a bunch of people enjoying themselves with M/bikes and Quads near Scorpion Springs and then down Border track to Centre Road and out to the Bitumen.
then down to Bordertown and across to McDonald's Highway and across through the Little Desert.
Then stopping off in Nhill for Tea, Showers, Comfy sleep and return to Melb. Monday Arvo. 
No real hassles with traffic at all.
Except, some  Bright spark on my side of Double White Lines, Driving a Late model mid Blue coloured FORD sedan with Sunroof.  (Hope he's not a MYSWAGGER).  Location was in Christmas Hills.  And he seemed to think I should get out of his way. 
Not with a trailer swinging off the back STUPID ***!!@*.