General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Brumbypt on February 03, 2014, 08:11:10 PM

Title: Do you remember trips from when you were a child and a teenager.
Post by: Brumbypt on February 03, 2014, 08:11:10 PM
Quite often we hear, ohh your kids will learn more on the trip than at school and they will remember the trip al their lives?

Do you remember trips from when you were a child and a teenager? How much of it do you remember and where did you go?
What did you learn on those trips?

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.4 using Tapatalk HD
Title: Do you remember trips from when you were a child and a teenager.
Post by: scarps on February 03, 2014, 08:13:19 PM
Camping holiday at Port Stephens for about 10years.
Swimming, fishing, holiday friends, freedom...
Oh, and meeting teenage girls. Remembering I was also a teenager:-)
Title: Re: Do you remember trips from when you were a child and a teenager.
Post by: Wezza on February 03, 2014, 08:24:41 PM
Chain of Lagoons, east coast Tassie, and Waterhouse Point, North East Tas. 

Used to leave home Christmas morning on daybreak for a number of years and camp for 3 weeks, tent only, no power, no proper toilets, no showers, no fridges, Eskis were styrofoam vege boxes with block dry ice........Learnt how to fish, snorkel, catch abalone, spearfish.
Post by: lucky1 on February 03, 2014, 08:34:57 PM
Lived in FNQ as a kid and spent much of our time camping all over the cape. When I was 10 mum and dad went around Oz in six weeks in a 2.4 litre hilux  ;D. Do I remember - yes as it is why I now have a camper trailer and take my kids on trips as often as possible.
Post by: D4D on February 03, 2014, 08:39:07 PM
Yup, many Loch Sport trips where you had to pump your own shower water. Wilsons Prom in a unit, Halls Gap in an on-site caravan.
Post by: crackacoldie on February 03, 2014, 08:42:23 PM
Across the nulabor toWA when I was four, remember learning about mining and buying gold, going to rottnest and mum being crook on the boat, also remember dad parking the car inside the big trees around Pemberton. 

Dirt across the paddock back then did the trip in the old charger 176 with caravan in tow.
Post by: edz on February 03, 2014, 09:00:20 PM
After the parents went seperate ways in the mid sixties , the old man took us kids that were still at home  [ four of us, me just 3 yro ] on a working holiday across a fair chunk of Australia.
 All these years later, I could tell the old man [ He's past away now ] where we had been and done, even in the earliest times of our travels.. He always said there is no way you could remember those early times as he reckoned I was to young to.. These recollections bought him a lot of joy in his final months of life .
But for me its just like a film or collection of photo's that replays those fantastic times growing up free camping /  travelling Australia with my dad, two brothers and sister ...
A little 13 ft duck egg green painted bondwood caravan towed by a sky blue Zepher 4 loaded with five of us and our worldly possesions was our home away from home for years.
Post by: JCAT on February 03, 2014, 09:05:30 PM
First trip I remember, I was 6 y/old and we went to Berri. I recall learning to swim, thought I was going to drown and fishing with my Grandfather.

My daughter was 3 (now 14) when we went around Aus in 03. She still recalls heaps from that trip, even things that jog our memory.

All our photos and video seem to help her recall other memories as well.

Post by: Sun Boy on February 03, 2014, 09:16:06 PM

We spent 4 years on Bougainville in PNG. Lived in Kieta and used to love visiting the famous Arova Island Resort off Arawa. Sad to see the place has changed so much with all the unrest over the years. This used to be such a relaxed and peaceful place. Many happy memories  :laugh:

Tenkyu tru and lukim you

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dj_ZFS0noKRc&h=OAQGgP-JNAQGbjEPkYqmm0shmWJxAG3vWZXyeHPU2qP-Xmg&s=1 (http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.youtube.com%2Fwatch%3Fv%3Dj_ZFS0noKRc&h=OAQGgP-JNAQGbjEPkYqmm0shmWJxAG3vWZXyeHPU2qP-Xmg&s=1)
Post by: rags on February 03, 2014, 09:31:37 PM
Over the last 20 years I have been building and renovating our house, that is now complete. During this time we have travelled all over the place with the kids  that  in that time i could have been finishing the house. People would often say that maybe we spend too much time travelling and not enough time on the house. My standard response is always the same, that as a kid way back when ,that I could not tell you what colour the carpet was in my parents home or what colour my bedroom was there BUT i can always tell you about the family holidays I went on as a kid. So I think just get out there with your kids and enjoy our great country because before you know it the kids have upped and gone. Thankfully they now have there own travel bug.
Post by: Bird on February 03, 2014, 09:34:25 PM
Yep, gold panning around Solfala, Hill End, fossicking around Oberon, etc etc

The olds had a poptop Kombi, was perfect...
Post by: Barry G on February 03, 2014, 09:39:36 PM
 Dad had a couple of WW2 army mates who were caretakers on rural properties.
One at a little place called Joel South, east of Stawell, and the other on a dairy property right on the river at Swan Hill.  Loved going out in the tiniest to check 'Uncle' Jim's cray pots, and fishing for Redfin. Amazing how us 4 kids were so good at fishing, we would catch heaps and dad and Jim virtually nothing. :angel:
'Uncle' Roy taught us rabbit trapping at Stawell and we spent hours in the shearing shed, etc.
I headed up that way for the first time in 20 years a couple of years back. While much has changed ( bitumen roads, etc)  :'(  I could pick the outbuildings and what was left of the old farm house as soon as they appeared on the horizon.  The tiny old house, the verandah seemed HUGE to a 10 year old,  :D is barely a frame now, but the track from the road, and the MASSIVE old gum near the house gate, are unchanged.
Post by: muzza01 on February 03, 2014, 09:43:47 PM
Growing up in FNQ, traveling up the Cape, learnt how to fish, catch crabs, dive for Crays, shoot pigs, drive 4x4s,  cook bush tucker and smile at crocodiles. Those were the days. :cup:
Post by: AlanB on February 03, 2014, 09:47:53 PM
Travelling to Kalbarri with the Grand Parents when I was 5-6 and also going to Dunsborough every Christmas when there was only a deli and a bakery and 2 caravan parks. Oh the memories  :laugh:
Post by: Paul (SA) on February 03, 2014, 09:56:03 PM
Wow - sure do. I recall sitting on Dad's lap when driving around NT and 'steering' - just had to be careful not to stub your toe on his double barrel shotgun when climbing over from the back. Also remember curling up in the foot wells and sleeping overnight on long trips between Katherine and Brisbane.

Memories as a kid inspire me to travel today.....
Post by: crackacoldie on February 03, 2014, 10:02:04 PM
I recall sitting on Dad's lap when driving

That reminds me of doing just that driving up the corona in the valiant!

Good thing we had a 2wd then, wouldn't want to take ax Xtrail places like that, only a real 4wd!
Post by: NewieCamper on February 03, 2014, 10:09:18 PM
Heaps of memories, and great ones too. All over the place, got no idea why people want to go to the same holiday spot year after year and never go anywhere different.

Across the nullabor with dad, while mum and the baby flew to Adelaide, great adventure. On the way back three kids took turns on the foam cushion on the centre console (with seatbelt bolted in) in front of the baby bassinet that was in the back seat - no capsules like today, and the company car wasn't allowed to be a six seater.

Then another trip a few years later towing dad's boat across with a top speed of about 80. Mum and dad taking turns at the wheel into the night while the back of the van had the seat folded flat and sleeping bags spread for the four kids. They'd eventually pull up and hop into the boat to sleep. Then one day looking out the window to see the wheel of the trailer bounding off into the scrub then backtracking to nullabor station to try and switch the tyre off the rim while their compressor and tyre machine was broken down. Long night with no result, leading to an extremely slow and cautious trip to the next town until Repairs could take place.

I want my kids to get some memories like that too, well maybe not quite like the ones above.
Post by: Socks on February 03, 2014, 10:20:50 PM
We did 4 weeks from Sydney to cairns and back again one year and the other we did Sydney to Melbourne and Adelaide then back again. I don't remember what trip we did first. I know it was when I was in year 3&4. We spent much of the time chatting with people that my dad met thru the CB. Don't remember much about the trips themselves although I have a postcard collection from each trip. Seems every place we stopped I bought a postcard to add to the collection

Post by: gclan on February 03, 2014, 10:30:52 PM
Like most have already said, my parents also travelled a lot with my sister and I when we were kids, and I thank them all the time for instilling in me this great love of travelling and exploring.

When I was 9 or 10, we were the first tour group allowed back into PNG and had to have an armed escort. An absolutely amazing Country and people.

We travelled to Malaysia and Singapore, and I grew up on an island in the Gulf of Carpentaria where we needed a 4wd to get to all of our camping and swimming spots out of town, and I think Dad found every interesting and not so interesting dead end track on the island (he'd never go the same way home that we came). They even let us swim in the ocean ??? :o

We travelled down through the Centre two weeks after Azaria Chamberlain was taken by the 'dingo' and wondered why the bus driver was sleeping up on top of the bus while we were down in tents? That trip to Uluru(or Ayers Rock as it was then), Kings Canyon, Katherine Gorge, Coober Pedy etc... is one I still love re-telling my kids over and over. They're slowly ticking these places off their lists too, and I'm making new memories with my kids.

When we moved back to civilisation, we went camping with many other families every chance we got, and it made for a fantastic childhood.

I remember many details from travels when I was younger than 8, but they're mainly triggered by photos.

Reminiscing with Mum and Dad now, I find that I remember things that even they'd forgotten, and there's no better feeling than reliving those shared memories.

Apart from love, I don't think there is a greater gift a parent can give their child than travel.

Karen
Post by: gclan on February 03, 2014, 10:50:22 PM
Are you deciding whether or not to travel with kids Peter?
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2014, 06:46:13 AM
Quote from: Paul (SA)
Wow - sure do. I recall sitting on Dad's lap when driving around NT and 'steering'
yep, did the same with my kids, my old man used to let me drive home from school regularly, and I let Cammo drive the GU around the bush, and around the dunes at Robe.. 
So many things modern kids miss out on...
Post by: DaveCQ on February 04, 2014, 07:09:39 AM
Do i remember? Yep, without doubt some of the best times of my childhood. My children now (12 and 9) recall their earliest trips and still laugh about things that happenened on them. Some of the memories are from when they were a very early age and it makes you wonder how they can remember, considering they were so young.

My advice only only. Anyone with kids, get them out of the house and into the bush. It can only bring you closer as a family.

Post by: Brumbypt on February 04, 2014, 07:49:40 AM
Are you deciding whether or not to travel with kids Peter?

Check out my avatar, i took the family around aust in 2002 and 2003 they were only 2 n 3.

22 months, stopped for 12 months in darwin and knx.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.4 using Tapatalk HD
Post by: jetcrew on February 04, 2014, 10:37:49 AM
Sure do ;D ;D ;D

I grew up till 8 in darwin, Dad was fly in fly out and when he got home the tinny got loaded up and off we would go ..caught my first barra off the middle sand bar in buffalo creek, had many a trip to shady camp and various other spots from 2-8. if dad went without me I would cry for days.

Then we moved to Brisbane Dad had to work 2 jobs, and the fun stopped...the lesson I learnt out of all that, is to work out what you value in life, and you can't buy time no matter how much money you have.

some 20 years later after my parents divorced dad and I would do 6 weeks barra fishing up north each year together we did that for a few years and we still go away on trips off gladstone and stuff for a weeks camping , taking him away next month for a crabbing trip with a heap of other blokes and Dads.

I great set of memories for me, and why I do the same for my boys. 

Dad was also there when my son caught his first barra last year the 3 of us went away for a week together. Great memories.

This thread makes me want to go fishing. ;D ;D ;D ;D

Jet ;D
Post by: DannyG on February 04, 2014, 11:11:37 AM
Its a good question and one I have asked myself in the past.

I remember doing things with my dad as kid so I guess the answer is yes.

My kids have been camping so many times and been on so many holidays during their childhood they are sick of it LOL Yes I am sure they will remember but it will be like their childhood was one big camping trip ;)
Post by: bobnrob on February 04, 2014, 11:16:36 AM
Had a ball going camping with the old man. Most of the time was just him and me, 1 or 2 of his mates with some other kids. We over did it one time, 4 adult blokes and 5 kids in the EH wagon towing a chockers 6x4 and chockers full length roof rack.
Rear spring gave way, but that didn't matter. Weren't to far from where we were going to camp, so kept going and left 2 blokes behind with us boys to set up, while him and another headed off to fix it.

When the whole family went together, it was parents + 6 kids. Oldies would sleep in the car, and us kids all shared the 2 man tent   ;D  Fought like cat's n dog's, but boy didn't we have a ball  :)

That reminds me of doing just that driving up the corona in the valiant!

Good thing we had a 2wd then, wouldn't want to take ax Xtrail places like that, only a real 4wd!

:cup:  PMSL
Post by: BBwilly on February 04, 2014, 11:45:39 AM
I remember going going to a beach with my father and sisters in a caravan that he loaned but those trips were very few but I remember it all so well my father teaching me how to fish and when he brought me my first surf rod when we lost a kite and found it again.
These are the good times I remember with my father I choose to forget all the bad.

What I do want to do is share the same fantastic experience with my son and daughter but have plenty more of them.

About 5-8 years if age.

Post by: MC 9 on February 04, 2014, 11:50:05 AM
Yeah great memories. I remember we used to go camping every easter with my extended family, about 8 adults and 15 kids (all cousins). My uncle would take a boat and we would go fisching and crabbing. The memories of camping from when i was a kid is the very reason we bought a CT now so that i can do the same with my kids (6 and 7), i hope they have the same great memories.
Post by: Mallory Black on February 04, 2014, 01:15:12 PM
About 1968 Dad bought a VW Kombi because there were 5 kids in the family 9 years apart. A big jump from the Vauxhall Velox!

I recall camping at Scarness caravan park up at hervey bay in a big heavy canvas lean-to tent with no floor, we slept on ex army stretchers, dad cooked on some kind of round BBQ thing that you filled a basin underneath with sand then poured metho on it to get a flame. no idea what we ate off that thing...The massive low tides, hire boats and canoes, fishing on the jetty catching butter bream
Later we'd do camping trips, just drive down some random dirt roads, come to a creek crossing and pitch a tent for the night and live like gypsies,
This was when places like Bunya Crossing, Colleges & Youngs crossings, Mt Mee, Glasshouses, were considered out in the sticks and there was literally no-one there except a few farmers. no-one was bothered at all.
Post by: gclan on February 04, 2014, 02:19:26 PM
Lots of happy campers! There must be something to this whole camping, being cooped up with your family thing ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on February 04, 2014, 02:41:29 PM
My grandparents lived In Woorim on Bribie Island from the late '50s so it was an adventure to get the barge across from Toorbul Point to the island & then across the island on the sand/gravel mix road to visit them.
My G/Father was mates with the artist, Ian Fairweather.
Post by: fishfinder on February 04, 2014, 06:19:52 PM
Most long weekends my uncle took  myself + 10 - 15 cousins down to Mandurah in the back of his dump truck he would load the 4 post car port from his house on the back of the  truck along with a load of mattresses were we would sleep and spend all weekend catching crabs and watching me uncle wipe himself off on the grog and punching on with his mate til early hours of the morning.

Another holiday i recall is going to Hyden in an EH Holden my dad borrowed off his brother in law, little did we know that the boot light was on which caused all hour camping gear and bedding to catch a light also burning the paint off the boot.
Post by: Rumpig on February 04, 2014, 07:36:50 PM
our family wasn't the biggest of campers when i was a kid...i recall a camping trip to Hervey Bay and another to Kingscliff  at caravan parks as a young kid, but the majority of our holidays were in a unit complex or apartment somewhere. we did plenty of family holidays at Rainbow Beach at Coolangatta over the years, also stayed at Hevey Bay in various places over several years aswell....can recall having roller skates strapped to my shoes with big rubber bands at Hervey Bay as a kid and fishing off of the big jetty there and swimming out to the floating trampoline anchored offshore in the ocean 8) ;D ;D by the time i was a teenager it was mostly Coolangatta we holidayed at...was a much nicer placer back then, we had many a family lunch in the beer garden at The Patch listening to musicians play  8) 8)
Post by: fishfinder on February 04, 2014, 08:05:53 PM
i also

remember boy scouts camp fire and singing

Ging gang goolie goolie goolie goolie watcha,
Ging gang goo, ging gang goo.
Ging gang goolie goolie goolie goolie watcha,
Ging gang goo, ging gang goo.

Hayla, oh hayla shayla, hayla shayla, shayla, oooooooh,
Hayla, oh hayla shayla, hayla shayla, shayla, oooh.
Shally wally, shally wally, shally wally, shally wally,
Oompah, oompah, oompah, oompah.

Post by: Redcherokee on February 04, 2014, 08:56:31 PM
We had an old pop top van that went up and down the nsw coast whenever dad could get enough leave.   I remember van parks, and making friends in the pool, stopping by the side of the road and hearing bellbirds, fishing from boats, beaches and wharves, being sure we would freeze to death in the snowies. 

The canvas ends on the beds were just attached by occy strap stuff. Brother rolled out a couple of times. No idea how he didn't get injured landing on the gas bottle on the drawbar.  Remember setting up in the dark, and the rain, and mum and dad getting upset when things went badly.

The six weeks around Tasssie we visited every historical site that existed.  And went to speedway.

Yep.  Those memories are likely to be there when lots of others fade.  Your kids won't remember everything, but they'll remember heaps.
Post by: oldmate on February 04, 2014, 09:25:04 PM
I grew up camping around Abercrombie river, coxs river in Hartley and megalong valleys, and out around newnes and wolgan valley. Great times
Post by: smartyingreen on February 04, 2014, 10:30:22 PM
Sure do remember many trips. Earliest memory would be the usual gang from Kingscote and us would head to the western end of Kangaroo Island to Flinders Chase and we'd meet them there for weekend sessions. Think the lessons learnt back then was that the wildlife there was always friendly.

Later remember trips to Qld where a trip through the Bundaberg factory taught us all there was to know about sugar and what else could be made of it.

Probably the most memorable trip as a young teenager was Loxton to Alice Springs via all the usual stops, climbing the rock etc. B by now starting to take note of things like fuel economy and power (of lack of it) to weight ratios now we had the trailer on.

All great fun and now wanting to share similar experiences with SWMBO and the three ferals 9, 7 & 6.

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Post by: Stewart on February 05, 2014, 06:29:51 AM
Started camping when I was 10 in an ex hire two room canvas tent. Easters camping at the Mouth of the Daintree, a week on Wheeler Island near Dunk and lots of weekends at beaches around Cairns. A lot less crocs and tourists in those days. 
Post by: Prado120 on February 05, 2014, 03:55:22 PM
I grew up camping around Abercrombie river, coxs river in Hartley and megalong valleys, and out around newnes and wolgan valley. Great times
Its sad that the Cox's river is barely a trickle now, we used to float down it on lilos when we went up to the family farm at christmas time, fond memories!
Stu.