General => General Discussion => Topic started by: muzza01 on February 03, 2014, 07:54:42 PM

Title: Are airline seats big enough?
Post by: muzza01 on February 03, 2014, 07:54:42 PM
As the topic says, "are airline seats big enough?" I travel with Qantas a fair bit with my job, mainly on Dash 8's.

This has happened to me a few times now and happened again last week.

I am a bit over sitting next to really obese people. It sucks when the person sitting beside me is so big  that their arse and leg goes under the armrest and on to my side of the seat and their tummy is so big that their arm is also on my side. I usually have the window seat so I try and jam myself right up against the side of the plane. Not easy, as I have a beergut and weigh 90-95 kgs myself.

It must be really embarrassing for the big people. We keep getting told Australians are getting bigger and bigger but the seats on planes are not.

1. Should the airlines put in a few bigger seats to accommodate the XXLG people?
Or
2. Should the XXLG people have to purchase  a second seat.

Your thoughts?
Title: Re: Are airline seats big enough?
Post by: 02-SR5 on February 03, 2014, 08:01:54 PM
I reckon they should have a couple of fat seats down the back for such people.
Post by: scarps on February 03, 2014, 08:11:03 PM

I reckon they should have a couple of fat seats down the back for such people.
could create a weight distribution problem. Maybe one at the front, two over the middle and one down the back?
Post by: Tractor88 on February 03, 2014, 08:13:57 PM
could create a weight distribution problem. Maybe one at the front, two over the middle and one down the back?

Would that really cater for the amount of obese people catching planes? Perhaps half and half ??
Post by: BigDougie on February 03, 2014, 08:27:47 PM
Seriously, so us bigger people should be penalised why? What the same way smaller people should pay more for not using all their space? And while we are at it lets now make it an offense for not giving pushbikes 1 mtr clearance. Makes me wonder what the world is coming too......

Sorry for being me, no that's right we are all different in some way and for this no one should have to apologize...

Rant over, Cheers and as the NAME states BIG DOUGIE........ :cheers:
Post by: scarps on February 03, 2014, 08:31:52 PM
Hey bigdougie, no offence meant, but I didn't realise you could take pushbikes on planes? I normally see people checking them in.
Post by: BigDougie on February 03, 2014, 08:33:08 PM
I'll pass that one Scarps..... :cup:
Post by: TOPNDR on February 03, 2014, 08:43:44 PM
2 is the answer, otherwise the wider seats will see someone sitting through the wall.
Post by: Top.ender on February 03, 2014, 08:44:20 PM
I find the seats big enough ... but at 6ft 4 inches its the lack of leg room that pisses me off >:(
don't get me started on airlines like Air Asia....
Post by: scarps on February 03, 2014, 08:58:12 PM
Ok, so now we're picking on short people?
Post by: JCAT on February 03, 2014, 09:00:26 PM
I'm just happy to get on a plane

Post by: Bird on February 03, 2014, 09:09:39 PM
I find the seats big enough ... but at 6ft 4 inches its the lack of leg room that pisses me off >:(
x 2309820394023948teen
Post by: V8CRSA on February 03, 2014, 09:17:42 PM
x 2309820394023948teen

Post by: evolution on February 03, 2014, 09:19:14 PM
Being In albury It is allot more convenient to fly to either Melbourne or Sydney than drive. (especially for a short trip to see my wonderful docs)
Now those that know me are well aware that I am not going to be playing Basketball for anyone Professionally.
I am a very average 5ft10. Now Every time I fly, be it in a prop or even a larger jet all the way through to a 747 I find my knees are nearly an inch from the seat in front, and that the seats are no where near high enough for my thighs to be on the seat and my feet flat on the floor.
Even when I fly business its the same, a bit more space between the seats but not on the height.
Thats what gets me the most.

In regarding sitting next to someone on the heavy side, I had that problem coming home friday morning from Sydney.
Before he even sat down he was apologizing to me, nothing the poor bloke could do about it though.
we just swapped seats, I took the window, he took the isle. After take off he lifted the isle armrest and moved over.
Great bloke, had a top chat.

Evo
Post by: muzza01 on February 03, 2014, 09:20:41 PM
Maybe some of the seats could have a double love seat instead of two singles. That way couples could sit together or a XXLG person can have the seat to their self.
Post by: ATC on February 03, 2014, 09:30:39 PM
Few years ago had an interrnational flight, on Qantas, from LA back to Sydney.

I managed to get an exit aisle seat in the middle, but the flight was full as a previous plane had been cancelled.

Long story short there were 3 of us in the exit aisle, a really small bloke 160cm 70-75kg, myself a small 193cm & only 110kg, and a very frequent flyer that couldn't get an upgrade into business at a small 190km & 14-150kg.

The big bloke was polite and tried his best to stay inside his seat, the small bloke didn't give a **** and had arms & legs everywhere.

It's the people that don't believe in deodorant, washing hair or clothes that get me on flights.

ATC
Post by: crackacoldie on February 03, 2014, 09:33:44 PM
Being of a stockier build, it is not the size of the person next to you, but how much they think they own the shared armrest that pi$$es me off, together with the drunks and the chatterboxes.
Post by: oldmate on February 03, 2014, 09:34:08 PM
Maybe some of the seats could have a double love seat instead of two singles. That way couples could sit together or a XXLG person can have the seat to their self.

Just lift the centre arm rest, and you can cuddle any large bloke you want. Lmao
Post by: cancan on February 03, 2014, 09:38:27 PM
Advantage of flying every week is I get to sit up the front and rarely have someone besides me... I do feel sorry for the tall guys... Sat next to a guy last year and the tray wouldn't fold all the way down,, just hit his knees... Sat next to one larger guy once... He said it was uncomfortable sitting next to a skinny guy but worse when sitting next to another larger person.... also have sat next to a lot of skinny people that take as much room as they can..,.. worse party of flying is the constant delays but the very worst thing is that there has been no beers on the flight for the last 4 weeks....

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Post by: bluejay on February 03, 2014, 09:38:35 PM
plenty of room in the back 4 rows of a JUMBO, the window isles have rows of two we always pay extra to get these seats not that we are "overweight? being 55 kg and 80 kg its just so much more  room in the back
Post by: bluejay on February 03, 2014, 09:41:22 PM
if you are gunna over flow into some one elses seat space you should reimburse them for preventing them having their seat to them selves because thats what they paid for?
Post by: edz on February 03, 2014, 09:44:26 PM
Muzza !!   Ya know ya want to get it introduced to the civil airlines, I can almost hear ya saying it ... Rig tha bloody aircraft out with the same seating as a Caribou or a Hercky bird rigged for para ... That would solve ya problem... Lets face it if your going to be uncomfortable they may aswell do a job of it ..
Post by: Paul (SA) on February 03, 2014, 09:52:36 PM
Seriously, so us bigger people should be penalised why? What the same way smaller people should pay more for not using all their space? And while we are at it lets now make it an offense for not giving pushbikes 1 mtr clearance. Makes me wonder what the world is coming too......

Sorry for being me, no that's right we are all different in some way and for this no one should have to apologize...

Maybe us tall blokes should charge a fee when some short ass wants something off a high shelf at the shops?
Post by: muzza01 on February 03, 2014, 10:03:19 PM
Muzza !!   Ya know ya want to get it introduced to the civil airlines, I can almost hear ya saying it ... Rig tha bloody aircraft out with the same seating as a Caribou or a Hercky bird rigged for para ... That would solve ya problem... Lets face it if your going to be uncomfortable they may aswell do a job of it ..
Yep, The good old days EDZ.
I hated carrying bloody passengers.  C stands for Cargo on a C130. Cargo doesn't move, doesn't touch things it ain't supposed to, doesn't whinge, doesn't ask stupid questions.
Nowadays I am passenger  ;D
Post by: V8TL8 on February 03, 2014, 10:52:39 PM
Yup it’s all crap and comes down to money.

I am 75 kg, I get told I can check in 23 kg luggage.

Some geezer weighs 120 kg and guess what gets told he can check in 23 kg luggage. Huh?

If I am over weight in the luggage department I get to pay for extra luggage!
He is overweight in the body department and doesn’t!

THAT is discrimination.
I am saving the airline a Shit load of money in fuel consumption because I am small, and aim to stay that way.

What a load of crap.

BTW: It’s not about fat people it’s about large folk.

Flew to BNE to Perth once next to a bouncer on his way to Saudi, no fat on this dude, pure bodybuilding type, he still filled out his seat and half of mine! Not pleasant. He had no idea of personal space. No attempt to stick to his own seat, where was my discount for having to put up with that?

Airlines SHOULD have oversize seats, sure the extra space costs more, you choose.
For the large folk, you may choose to pay a bit more to avoid that awkwardness.

Next time you fly to NZ try the Premium economy, for small price extra, you get massive extra leg room and arm space.

No wonder Qantas is up to Shit, run by some little leprechaun, they should follow the NZ example.

Ha ha.
Post by: KieranR on February 03, 2014, 11:31:00 PM
I fly all the time as well across the country and up and down it, just to get to and from work. I always have an isle seat and generally book one in the middle row of the plane and ask the staff at check in if they would be kind enough to put a block on the middle seat if the flight is not a full one. never had a knock back yet, that's how I manage the big people issue.  5 or 6 hours is long enough with out being uncomfortable the whole way.
Post by: BigDougie on February 04, 2014, 05:52:52 AM
On ya Muzza, look what you started. Anyhow this xl bloke has to go to work. Flying to Melbourne in April might be lucky enough to sit next to a couple of my swaggers on the trip. Ha.

Post by: D4D on February 04, 2014, 06:00:23 AM
Travelled 3 weeks a month for 10 years, glad I gave up that game 3 years ago. On the odd occasion I fly now, I do miss being up the pointy end.
Post by: Jason B on February 04, 2014, 06:26:59 AM
You lot need to harden the f!$k up, how can some one of my frame 6'3, 130kg and a meter across the shoulders help what size they are. I am not obese, just big and courteous as I am aware of the situation.

Seriously if one of you pip squeak wingers give me your condescending attidute on a flight you may just find yourself stuffed in the overhead luggage department.

Generation me, I am over you!

Post by: scarps on February 04, 2014, 06:27:15 AM
Arh the pointy end, nice aspect on ocassion. Just boarded Melbourne to Sydney, then Sydney to Bris later today. Been doing this for 15 years most weeks.
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2014, 06:29:24 AM
You lot need to harden the f!$k up, how can some one of my frame 6'3, 130kg and a meter across the shoulders help what size they are. I am not obese, just big and courteous as I am aware of the situation.

Seriously if one of you pip squeak wingers give me your condescending attidute on a flight you may just find yourself stuffed in the overhead luggage department.

(http://blogs-images.forbes.com/afontevecchia/files/2011/11/Gold-Bars-in-Fort-Knox.jpg)

I usually find dropping your guts stops them talking.. sadly sometimes they never recover :D
Post by: oldmate on February 04, 2014, 06:30:33 AM

yourself stuffed in the overhead luggage department.

Lmao. Gold.

Post by: drenno on February 04, 2014, 06:36:11 AM
The engineers that design planes must be around 160cm tall and under 75kgs! We all come in different shapes and sizes and I believe it is the attitude of the people or persons you are sitting next to that directly effects your experience when flying! As previously mentioned, personal hygiene does not appear to be high on some peoples list of priorities.

I would be interested to hear of other peoples experiences when flying.........recently when flying from Gold Coast to Sydney, boarded the very crowded plane and took up my seat next to someone my size (110kg). We had a chat while everyone took their seats and it appeared that the window seat next to me was vacant. All good so we thought! Just as they are closing the doors of the plane (and I was about to move into the vacant seat) a Hari krishna boards the plane. Myself and the guy sitting next to me exchanged looks of oh well there goes that idea. We all exchange pleasantries and he takes his seat.........all good or so we thought......... as the plane takes off old mate starts chanting (much to the disbelief of me and those around me).
This goes on...........and on.............and on. After several minutes of uninterrupted chanting everyone around us starts looking at each other in disbelief. The guy sitting next to me shoots me a look of FFS if you don't put a stop to this I will!  The short version is that our new found friend took some convincing that it was in his best interests to continue his conversation with his spiritual leader in silence.
Post by: Snow on February 04, 2014, 06:37:29 AM
Yep, The good old days EDZ.
I hated carrying bloody passengers.  C stands for Cargo on a C130. Cargo doesn't move, doesn't touch things it ain't supposed to, doesn't whinge, doesn't ask stupid questions.
Nowadays I am passenger  ;D
The difference between a Loadmaster and a bunch of nancy boys............the 245 bulkhead.  ;D
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2014, 06:43:30 AM
Ok... lets add another question or 2.

Whats the rush to get ON the plane.. Then stand in the aisle waiting for people to stack their **** and fumble around ???
I'm usually one of the last 3 on the flight...

Whats with people taking 1 carry on, 1 suit bag, and a laptop bag on interstate flights without checking them in - I thought there were limits to what you can bring on a flight... ??? They cause every flight to be late leaving as by the time 1/2 the people are on the lockers are full... and calls are coming over the plane for people to stuff bags under their seats...
I check everything in and just walk on myself.

Whats the rush to be first one standing up and have your bag out of the overhead locker??? Nobody is moving for 10 mins... ??? I love watching people on the window side of me twitching and itching to be first standing up, but I usually wait until everyone has gone, or someone lets me stand up (yea that happens)

**** people  ;D
Post by: DaveR on February 04, 2014, 06:51:50 AM
I've done a lot of the short connection, long haul flights, eg, Trinnidad - Miami - LA - Syd - Gold coast.
I hate being stuck next to the big folk, the states is bad, but getting same here to.
On 1 memorable occasion, I am on the plane 1st, membership privileges give this, sure it was Miami, and 2 x heffers climb in and sit next to me with both arm rests up and 3 inches into my seat and squeezed into the wall.
So I just stood in an exit area, out the way, waited for everyone to get to the seats, which is now time for plane to go and walked up the front saying that someone is in my seat, and just stood there. Presented my boarding pass which shows gold membership. Plane was full so no more cattle class seats.
I said calmly that someone has got to go, simple, and here are the boarding passed for the next 2 flights.
So into 1st class I went.......
That is the only time I had it good, rest of the time, I just don't stand for it, I am proud to say I have the disease that allows me to say it as it is, so I just come right out with the forbidden, and tell them to get out of my chair.

Love the bit about paying for extra baggage so pay for extra weight on the seat, to true.
Post by: BigDougie on February 04, 2014, 06:52:02 AM
LMAO Jason.
Post by: D4D on February 04, 2014, 06:54:14 AM
Rush to get on - to ensure you get your stuff stowed before everyone else brings the kitchen sink on
Always avoid checking stuff in to ensure quick getaway - travelling for business is a PITA and the shortest time you spend in the airport/plane the better
Rush to get off - because they have been sitting next to you :)
Post by: BigDougie on February 04, 2014, 07:00:07 AM
Sorry mr boss sir, sorry for being the wrong size, shape, colour or religion, so sorry mr boss sir I'll just go pick some more cotton. So much for this we are all created equal BS.
Post by: bluejay on February 04, 2014, 07:27:57 AM
may be the big people should try stuffing the small people in the luggage comp that why when the big people get taken off the plane for causing a disturbance the little people can have all their seat to themselves
Post by: Swannie on February 04, 2014, 07:31:25 AM

Whats the rush to get ON the plane.. Then stand in the aisle waiting for people to stack their **** and fumble around ???

Whats with people taking 1 carry on, 1 suit bag, and a laptop bag on interstate flights without checking them in - I thought there were limits to what you can bring on a flight... ??? They cause every flight to be late leaving as by the time 1/2 the people are on the lockers are full... and calls are coming over the plane for people to stuff bags under their seats...

Whats the rush to be first one standing up and have your bag out of the overhead locker??? Nobody is moving for 10 mins... ??? I love watching people on the window side of me twitching and itching to be first standing up, but I usually wait until everyone has gone, or someone lets me stand up (yea that happens)

**** people  ;D

It's why I'm really hating flying every week these days
Post by: dazzler on February 04, 2014, 07:39:12 AM

Or covered in chocolate and eaten maybe?

;D  :cheers:  :angel:
Post by: dazzler on February 04, 2014, 07:42:41 AM

**** people  ;D

I pi55 myself laughing with this.  I always get on last, wander along like a dero, then hand my bag to the hostie if there are no spots to put it. 

And really, why the hell can't the airline tell everyone to sit on their big fat arses until those with connecting or NO BAGGAGE to leave first. Then they can scramble like lunatics to stand in line at the carousel while the bags are unloaded.

Retards.
Post by: scarps on February 04, 2014, 08:04:17 AM

hey Jason, I reckon I've sat next to you:-)
Post by: scarps on February 04, 2014, 08:05:51 AM
Arh the pointy end, nice aspect on ocassion. Just boarded Melbourne to Sydney, then Sydney to Bris later today. Been doing this for 15 years most weeks.
apol's got asked to shut my phone down:-)

My next point is how come in 15years I've only ever managed to sit next to 3 hot classy ladies? Usually I end up next to one of you ugly #####'s.  Thought it was time for someone to pick on ugly passengers:-)
Post by: Swannie on February 04, 2014, 08:08:47 AM
Do you fly qantas or virgin?
Post by: scarps on February 04, 2014, 08:15:02 AM
Mostly Qantas, hence why I used the term 'classy'.
Virgin was OK 10yrs ago, but they've all grown up now, in their 30's and wear big pants these days.
Post by: Pipeliner on February 04, 2014, 08:46:28 AM
I admit that when in the departure lounge I look at all the people with bums wider than the seats hoping they don't end up next to me!  And I get on early (when in cattle class) to make sure there is locker space available for my carry-on bag (which is usually all I take as most of my flights are only for a day or two).

Then I sit down, put on the noise cancelling headphones (how anyone who flies regularly can manage without a set of these I have no idea), get out my book and ignore everyone else until we land.

Fortunately in a couple of weeks I shall have Platinum status with Qantas which hopefully will make life a little bit easier.
Post by: scarps on February 04, 2014, 08:52:01 AM
Platinum status - don't get me started there:-)

Platinum great for check in and the better Q club, but unless someone is guarding the premium boarding lane forget it.  Why don't people read signs?

Now we're picking on illiterate passengers. 
Post by: terravista on February 04, 2014, 09:05:13 AM
If you skinny bastards whinge about someone larger taking some of your seat, maybe you should just eat less lettuce and carrot sticks and give us more room.
As far as charging more, I pay higher taxes on greasy takeaway food and clothes from fat shops instead of buying cheap sweat shop crap at K Mart or Target, so maybe some of that tax should be put up to the airlines to compensate the few drops of aviation fuel used for the extra weight. When the plane weighs 150 odd tonnes, twenty fat bastards weighing an extra 30kg each doesn't add much to the total safe working load.
Seats are designed by engineers who seem to think 58 seats on a single engine Cessna is good planning. Maybe a few rows of seats with one narrower seat next to a wider seat could work, or build them so the armrest can move sideways.
Either way, I'd much prefer to have contact with someones overweight leg and hip and shared armrest than put up with the body odour stinky mouthed stale cigarette breath from some anemic semi-human that needs to dance in the shower to get wet.
Post by: D4D on February 04, 2014, 09:16:59 AM
Then I sit down, put on the noise cancelling headphones (how anyone who flies regularly can manage without a set of these I have no idea),

Bose QuietComfort 15, never fly without them :cup:
Post by: Passionfingers on February 04, 2014, 09:26:22 AM
Ahhh, loving this!

To the princesses and the very important business types who must get on last with your yuppie macciata pooncy or whatever they are called coffee things that you got for free in the Q club, if you have a window seat, get on earlier, then you might not get my condescending grin in your face as I try make room for you to get in over me, ohh, your laptop bag and versace handbag(either sex) has hit me in the face as well, ohh, the other 3 items you are trying to jam in that locker with no room means you need to get on a tad earlier!

I am 6'5, I take the aisle seat so my legs have room to move until the trolleys start coming down the aisle, but if you recline your seat straight back there is a fair chance you will jam my knees, and my instant reaction is to lean forward and slap you, sorry, survival instinct clicked in, ohh, btw, don't recline your seat until we have taken off and I have eaten my meal, as that coffee that just spilt over my lap from your reclining seat may also lead to you getting a slap around the ears. Irony is it is usually a 5ft nothing doing the reclining and I cant reach the lil bugga to give em a slap.

I average around 40 hours a month in the air, domestic and international, and airplane etiquette is very poor! I so wish we had very fast rail here in Oz, so much easier for us vertically and girth challenged ppl.

Post by: Diesel Power on February 04, 2014, 09:52:44 AM
And whats with ret**ds who insist on using your head rest or seat back to lift themselves out of their chair?. A decent sized person can pull a chair back 40-50mm then they let it go, sending you forwards. Got to love flying?
Post by: scarps on February 04, 2014, 09:55:00 AM
Well that's covered the illegitimate, rich, famous, wealthy, smelly, anorexic, yuppy and royalty.

Btw, just in case you're wondering, my flight's delayed.........
Post by: Jason B on February 04, 2014, 10:09:11 AM
hey Jason, I reckon I've sat next to you:-)

Trust me you would know.  >:D
Post by: noel_w on February 04, 2014, 10:09:50 AM
Well that's covered the illegitimate, rich, famous, wealthy, smelly, anorexic, yuppy and royalty.

Btw, just in case you're wondering, my flight's delayed.........
Hey Scarps
Do you use your "own" camp chair whilst flying?  >:D >:D
Post by: Bird on February 04, 2014, 10:12:19 AM
Quote from: Pipeliner
I admit that when in the departure lounge I look at all the people with bums wider than the seats hoping they don't end up next to me!
Interesting...
I usually look for hot chicks and hope they are sittin next to me, or look for dudes that look like they might blow up and hope they miss the flight... :(
Post by: scarps on February 04, 2014, 10:23:46 AM

Hey Scarps
Do you use your "own" camp chair whilst flying?  >:D >:D
not anymore, they won't let me take it as carryon, only checkin.  Something to do with taking up locker space for skinny blokes:-)
Post by: Nay-DMAX on February 04, 2014, 10:29:53 AM
Plenty of reasons in this thread as to why I don't fly.  ;D
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on February 04, 2014, 10:34:02 AM

Agreed. Planes would be much better if they,

a; didn't leave the ground
b; had nobody else on them

Shane.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on February 04, 2014, 10:35:00 AM
Agreed. Planes would be much better if they,

a; didn't leave the ground
b; had nobody else on them

Shane.

Yes and to most places I quite like the driving.
Post by: Pipeliner on February 04, 2014, 10:48:09 AM

For personal travel, if I have the time available I drive - but when your work requires you to be in Brisbane on Monday, Perth on Tuesday and Darwin on Thursday driving just isn't an option!
Post by: Nay-DMAX on February 04, 2014, 10:51:26 AM
For personal travel, if I have the time available I drive - but when your work requires you to be in Brisbane on Monday, Perth on Tuesday and Darwin on Thursday driving just isn't an option!

True luckily for me my work doesn't require me to do that as I don't fly at all.
Post by: Ben.Archer on February 04, 2014, 11:08:29 AM
I do a hell of a lot of flying - over 250 flights last year and this is one of my bug bears.  If I have paid for a seat I expect to be able to sit in my seat and when someone else is is taking half of mine not only is it unfair and bloody uncomfortable it is also unsafe both in the case of needing to make an emergency exit and through potential crush injuries.  Ten or so years ago Virgin Atlantic were sued and lost the case (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/wales/2346319.stm (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/wales/2346319.stm)) where someone overweight had been placed in a seat during a trans Atlantic journey and crushed the woman sitting beside them.  I think it is simple - I end up having to pay for more leg room due to my height those who are overweight should have to pay for two seats if they are taking two up!
Post by: D4D on February 04, 2014, 11:20:07 AM
And whats with ret**ds who insist on using your head rest or seat back to lift themselves out of their chair?.

That is one of my pet hates too and the dude who wants to read the paper and uses your headrest to rest his hand and his paper...
Post by: KieranR on February 04, 2014, 11:59:00 AM

best headphones ever - on before i board and still on when i get off
Post by: Pipeliner on February 04, 2014, 12:15:35 PM

Had a panic moment the other day when I unpacked at home and realised I'd left mine on the plane - fortunately the cleaners and lost property crew were honest and I got them back the next day!
Post by: muzza01 on February 04, 2014, 02:41:55 PM
The difference between a Loadmaster and a bunch of nancy boys............the 245 bulkhead.  ;D
What's your background Snow? Not many would know what FS245 is.
Post by: Swannie on February 04, 2014, 02:44:32 PM

X100, they are on before I board:)
Post by: muzza01 on February 04, 2014, 02:53:33 PM
Here we go. Reminds me of the lady I sat next to on the plane last November. That was a real treat

(http://phatstuff.files.wordpress.com/2008/04/phatonchair.jpg)
Post by: DaveR on February 04, 2014, 03:02:31 PM
X100, they are on before I board:)
Me 2, never go anywhere with out them also.
Hey folks, did you know that you can get spare parts for them, just call Bose folk in Sydney, and the nice lady there will send you what you need. I got new cushions for mine, twice now. I squash them when asleep I think.
Post by: dazzler on February 04, 2014, 03:30:45 PM
Ahhh, loving this!

To the princesses and the very important business types who must get on last with your yuppie macciata pooncy or whatever they are called coffee things that you got for free in the Q club, if you have a window seat, get on earlier, then you might not get my condescending grin in your face as I try make room for you to get in over me, ohh, your laptop bag and versace handbag(either sex) has hit me in the face as well, ohh, the other 3 items you are trying to jam in that locker with no room means you need to get on a tad earlier!

I am 6'5, I take the aisle seat so my legs have room to move until the trolleys start coming down the aisle, but if you recline your seat straight back there is a fair chance you will jam my knees, and my instant reaction is to lean forward and slap you, sorry, survival instinct clicked in, ohh, btw, don't recline your seat until we have taken off and I have eaten my meal, as that coffee that just spilt over my lap from your reclining seat may also lead to you getting a slap around the ears. Irony is it is usually a 5ft nothing doing the reclining and I cant reach the lil bugga to give em a slap.

I average around 40 hours a month in the air, domestic and international, and airplane etiquette is very poor! I so wish we had very fast rail here in Oz, so much easier for us vertically and girth challenged ppl.

You sound like a delightful travelling companion.   :cheers:
Post by: Pipeliner on February 04, 2014, 03:42:24 PM
Ahhh, loving this!

To the princesses and the very important business types who must get on last with your yuppie macciata pooncy or whatever they are called coffee things that you got for free in the Q club,

I'm still hoping to hear the PA announcement "Mr Smith and Mr Jones, travvelling to XXXXX on flight YYYY, please collect your baggage from the gate as your pilot got fed up with waiting for you to finish your drink and left on time without you".
Post by: Jason B on February 04, 2014, 04:16:31 PM
Here we go. Reminds me of the lady I sat next to on the plane last November. That was a real treat

(http://phatstuff.files.wordpress.com/2008/04/phatonchair.jpg)

Just so lucky you are a super model, hey champ.  :angel:

Post by: scarps on February 04, 2014, 04:26:32 PM
Just boarded my second flight for today and realised there's another whole group of passengers that need discussion.

CHILDREN - don't get me started!  That's when the NC Headphones are worth their weight.........

Btw, hot classy lady one row over, ugly mug next to me. Karma maybe?
Post by: rockman on February 04, 2014, 04:51:59 PM

all this time you told me that why your missus gave you that nickname ( for reasons not allowed to be mentioned around little children ) I'm shocked !
Post by: 02-SR5 on February 04, 2014, 05:24:29 PM
I fly at least every couple of months with work.

What I hate the most,

some dude that is late, decided the locker over MY seat, were MY laptop is, is a great place for him to cram all his carry on luggage, with no consideration for other peoples luggage  up there. When his seat is two rows over.

Air crew should police carry on luggage to hand bags and laptop bags only.

Oh, a a quiet elbow in his balls, as he is standing there cramming all his sh!t into the locker above your head, with his crotch in your face, works a treat.

Elbow, bump, oh sorry mate, I didn't see you........ >:D
Post by: Paul (SA) on February 04, 2014, 05:59:31 PM
There has to be nothing better though than letting one rip as loud as you can with all that cabin noise drowning out any hope of you being identified as the culprit.

Don't tell me you haven't done it.......
Post by: D4D on February 04, 2014, 06:03:35 PM
(http://2.bp.blogspot.com/--F2Z-bQvrE8/T4Q-JbaoDlI/AAAAAAAABms/WRWLMXUNy3k/s320/farting+on+plane.jpg)
Post by: austastar on February 04, 2014, 07:03:58 PM
   I hope never to get on another aircraft - ever!

(http://cms.ukintpress.com/UserFiles/800x600_1365498369_A350_XWB_SeatsCeleste_-_BC_frontview_HD(2).jpg)

Link (http://www.aircraftinteriorsinternational.com/articles.php?ArticleID=576)

They are working on seat design.

My vote would be a cost for a seat and a cost per kg of total load going onto the aircraft.

i.e. kids and midgets with little luggage are cheaper than a sumo wrestler with lots of luggage.

Not many agree with my thoughts on that though.

Post by: Barrabart on February 04, 2014, 07:24:11 PM
I'm a big unit too, though I think I still fit fairly well in the seat width wise, however I do get jack of my knees digging into the seat in front!!
Post by: Passionfingers on February 04, 2014, 07:35:46 PM
Delightful Dazzler probly not, and I havent followed through with those slaps yet except for once from Karratha, where the end result of a seat being reclined onto my knee was a dislocated kneecap, imagined it often tho!
I am now fortunate to get business class for all my O/S trips, and my tablet and bose cans are a godsend, but I love watching the ppl I posted about earlier every trip domestically, and again, I wish we had high speed rail just for the chance to move around and stretch without disrupting fellow travellers.

Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk

Post by: Fathom on February 04, 2014, 07:41:06 PM
With a bit of luck all the tough talkers who want to smack large/small/ smoking/ kids/rich/tall/skinny/seats back/ luggage space hogs etc... Will put words to action...
Then they will be booted off the airline and I won't care about the minuscule seats and pathetic legroom or the masses rushing to board , the plane will be near empty, and I can lay across ten seats... :)
Although I suspect I won't like the new pricing when the airlines raise seat prices to cater got all the empty seats...  :/   :)
Post by: Azz on February 04, 2014, 07:59:25 PM
I didn't see this in the previous pages.....

Dear Jetstar...
Do you like riddles? I do, that's why I'm starting this letter with one. What weighs more than a Suzuki Swift, less than a Hummer and smells like the decaying anus of a deceased homeless man? No idea? How about, what measures food portions in kilograms and has the personal hygiene of a French prostitute? Still nothing? Right, one more try. What's fat as f***, stinks like Shit and should be forced to purchase two seats on a Jetstar flight? That's right, it's the man I sat next to under on my flight from Perth to Sydney yesterday.
As I boarded the plane, I mentally high-fived myself for paying the additional $25 for an emergency seat. I was imagining all that extra room, when I was suddenly distracted by what appeared to be an infant hippopotamus located halfway down the aisle.
As I got closer, I was relieved to see that it wasn't a dangerous semi-aquatic African mammal, but a morbidly obese human being. However, this relief was short-lived when I realised that my seat was located somewhere underneath him.
Soon after I managed to burrow into my seat, I caught what was to be the first of numerous fetid whiffs of body odour. His scent possessed hints of blue cheese and Mumbai slum, with nuances of sweaty flesh and human faeces sprayed with cologne - Eau No.
Considering I was visibly under duress, I found it strange that none of the cabin crew offered me another seat. To be fair, it's entirely possible that none of them actually saw me. Perhaps this photo will jog their memories.
Pinned to my seat by a fleshy boulder, I started preparing for a 127 Hours-like escape. Thankfully though, the beast moved slightly to his left, which allowed me to stand up, walk to the back of the plane and politely ask the cabin crew to be seated elsewhere. I didn't catch the names of the three flight attendants, but for the purpose of this letter, I'll call them: Chatty 1, Chatty 2 and Giggly (I've given them all the same surname - Couldnotgiveash***).
After my request, Chatty 1 and Chatty 2 continued their conversation, presumably about how s*** they are at their jobs, and Giggly, well, she just giggled. I then asked if I could sit in one of the six vacant seats at the back of the aircraft, to which Giggly responded, "hehehe, they're for crew only, hehehe". I think Giggly may be suffering from some form of mental impairment.
I tried to relocate myself without the assistance of the Couldnotgiveas*** triplets, but unfortunately everyone with a row to themselves was now lying down. It was then I realised that my fate was sealed. I made my way back to Jabba the Hutt and spent the remainder of the flight smothered in side-boob and cellulite, taking shallow breaths to avoid noxious gas poisoning. Just before landing,
I revisited the back of the plane to use the toilet. You could imagine my surprise when I saw both "crew only" rows occupied by non-crew members. I can only assume Giggly let them sit there after she forgot who she was and why she's flying on a big, shiny metal thing in the sky.
Imagine going out for dinner and a movie, only to have your night ruined by a fat mess who eats half your meal then blocks 50% of the screen. Isn't that exactly the same as having someone who can't control their calorie intake occupying half your seat on a flight? Of course it is, so that's why I'm demanding a full refund of my ticket, including the $25 for an emergency row seat.
I'm also looking to be compensated for the physical pain and mental suffering caused by being enveloped in human blubber for four hours. My lower back is in agony and I had to type this letter one-handed as I'm yet to regain full use of my left side. If I don't recover completely, I'll have to say goodbye to my lifelong dream of becoming Air Guitar World Champion. If that occurs, you will pay.

To discuss my generous compensation package, email me at: richwisken@hotmail.com, or tweet me at: @RichWisken

No regards,

Rich Wisken.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2531797/Airline-passenger-complaint-having-sit-obese-man.html#ixzz2sARGvfHN (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2531797/Airline-passenger-complaint-having-sit-obese-man.html#ixzz2sARGvfHN)
Post by: ako on February 05, 2014, 05:23:58 AM
The engineers that design planes must be around 160cm tall and under 75kgs!

Don't blame the engineers. They probably had a perfect layout, which then gets sent to the bean counters for review.  :angel:

The bean counter comes back to the engineer with "add 30% more seats to make this economically viable".   >:D

And a big +1 on the Bose headset. Makes all the annoying people go away.  :cheers:

Post by: Snow on February 05, 2014, 07:43:51 AM
What's your background Snow? Not many would know what FS245 is.
RAAF ATECH C130E/H/J. Been here at Richmond working on, around and in support of them since 1985.  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on February 05, 2014, 08:27:08 AM
Quote from: Azz
I didn't see this in the previous pages.....
Dear Jetstar...
Do you like riddles?
They would have got to Riddles, and clicked shift+delete.
Post by: Bunyip on February 05, 2014, 09:13:49 AM

Hay Jas,

Imagine if they put us beside each other on the plane, we are about equal in dimension they would have to put us inthe middle row of seats, otherwise they would just circle the airport :)
Post by: Bunyip on February 05, 2014, 09:22:12 AM
but if you recline your seat straight back there is a fair chance you will jam my knees, and my instant reaction is to lean forward and slap you, sorry, survival instinct clicked in,

If people do that to me I just wriggle occassionally and make life uncomfortable for them. They then turn back to have a go, see this ugly b@5tard 6'3 130Kg guy sitting there with a "just say something" look on his face.

This usually ends up with them sitting back down and putting their chair up. Only once has it come to anything which ended up with me being moved to a bulk head seat.
Post by: edz on February 05, 2014, 10:44:01 AM
Had a ferret continualy do that to me untill [ I'm also 6'4" 130 and Rather than start a blue with the goose],  the hostie got the look [ I'm going to throttle this cretan ] once from me when serving our drinks.
  She went and politely informed him it might be in his favour to  be a bit more considerate to the large man behind him, that he's making unhappy .. O'l mate became very ginger with his moving around in his seat after that .
Post by: Passionfingers on February 05, 2014, 11:01:23 AM
Yeah, it's the most annoying thing for me, and I once (and only once) flew to Perth on Jetstar, not only did the squirmer in front near hobble me, the bloke alongside got airsick beside me, so struggling to walk, LHS shirt and shorts covered in vomit, asked if they could find a spare seat for me- answer was no, and please return to your seat as you are obstructing the walkway! Thanks for that!
The time I ended up with a dislocated kneecap was a bit different, we all had boarded in Karratha 20 minutes earlier, then had to wait for a offshore crew's chopper to arrive and connect, and as they got on, the lil fella jumped in the seat and immediately dropped it back with no warning, he must have been a bit tuckered out from his previous flight -  POP, and instinct for me was a loud yell of ##%#, a slap and pushing the seat forward hard to get his weight off my leg. Naturally most of the plane wondered what the disturbance was, he turned around and started to vent, the guys beside me were giving it to him, and then I stood up in obvious pain, and as he registered I was at least a foot taller and 50 kg heavier he started to slink back down. Painful few hours until I hit Perth to get it looked at, but karma is great, 2 months later I arrived at his rig to teach them about risk mitigation and identifying hazards - naturally I had a very real scenario involving said individual much to his workmates enjoyment!
Post by: Swannie on February 05, 2014, 12:33:08 PM
Ahh currently sitting on the plane in Melbourne going to Perth. The seats have plenty of room. Not sure what you blokes are complaining about

Post by: achjimmy on February 06, 2014, 06:59:23 PM
Rush to get on - to ensure you get your stuff stowed before everyone else brings the kitchen sink on
Always avoid checking stuff in to ensure quick getaway - travelling for business is a PITA and the shortest time you spend in the airport/plane the better
Rush to get off - because they have been sitting next to you :)

+1
Post by: achjimmy on February 06, 2014, 07:20:52 PM
Platinum status - don't get me started there:-)

Platinum great for check in and the better Q club, but unless someone is guarding the premium boarding lane forget it.  Why don't people read signs?

Now we're picking on illiterate passengers.

Love platinum, like today 10mins to go stroll up to check in "any seats up the front" " yes Mr Achjimmy 7500 points" bang row 2. Never happened like that as pleb class. 
Post by: achjimmy on February 06, 2014, 07:22:58 PM
Got bounced around on a recent trip home from Europe by Finnair. Ended up getting front row on a new Qatar B787 Dreamliner. The only way you will fly better is private jet I think. The plane is magnificent.

Post by: muzza01 on February 06, 2014, 07:23:52 PM
Love platinum, like today 10mins to go stroll up to check in "any seats up the front" " yes Mr Achjimmy 7500 points" bang row 2. Never happened like that as pleb class.
Bah. I end up with silver each year with 4 or 5 flights short of Gold.
Post by: Mace on February 06, 2014, 07:24:17 PM
Sorry folks, it appears if you have read rick wiskens  blogspot post about his jet star experience, but you really need  to see the pics to bring it into perspective!

From

http://richwiskendrinks.blogspot.com.au (http://richwiskendrinks.blogspot.com.au)

Post by: Azz on February 06, 2014, 07:49:03 PM
Hahaha is that Coshy?
Post by: cancan on February 06, 2014, 08:45:20 PM
Not always good in platinum....I had to sit in row 3 tonight.... At least I got a couple of free beers to help with the misery

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 01:22:58 PM
It's Friday, Bris airport to Melb flight, end of another looooooooooooooooooooooooong week.

Carry on luggage - check (one laptop bag with ipad only (quicker through security))
NC Headphones - check
4WD & Camping mags - check
Check out the potential flight buddies in the Q club - check (mostly middle aged business men - boring and ugly)
2&1/2hr flight ahead of me - check (doubtfull I'll feel take off as tired and once head rests against window - out)

Wait, wait, wait, hot classy lady walks in.  Going to Melbourne?  No Sydney.....  bugger.

Man, look at the size of that bloke.  7' tall, 4'wide, with a wheel bag, suit bag and a laptop.  Seriously some people abuse the system.  Think I'll go and have a go at him.  B#sh, B@ng, Cr&sh. Certainly sir, take my cabin bag allowance.

Only thing to look forward to now might be that it's a plane with inseat entertainment screens.  Series 8 of Big Bang Theory now available..........can only hope.
Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 01:41:47 PM
Bugger
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/07/ypyqagan.jpg)

And no entertainment screen bugger bugger
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/07/daqe6uty.jpg)
Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 01:51:19 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/07/3yture2y.jpg)
Ok hold that, scenery just changed seat E.
Seems she needs whole of my arm rest,  mmm, let me think about it
Post by: wilson79 on February 07, 2014, 01:58:37 PM
I am one of those fat buggers on the plane..6"4 and 140kg's but been running, slash walking slash crawling slash crying 3 times a week to bring that down a little!!!

Oh well better finish my hamburger ( without the fries and coke) because I am dieting.. and get back to work!!
Post by: D4D on February 07, 2014, 02:02:51 PM
That's a p!sser scarps :cup:
Post by: muzza01 on February 07, 2014, 02:45:33 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/07/3yture2y.jpg)
Ok hold that, scenery just changed seat E.
Seems she needs whole of my arm rest,  mmm, let me think about it

And then????
Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 04:25:10 PM

And then????
turns out she's a hairdresser on her way home from a hol in fnq. Single, no kids! Could be $&@$, but did say recently split up with bf, so who knows.

Very pleasant trip home for a change.
Nice tan!
Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 04:26:49 PM
And now the captain advises that the aerobridge has ceased up 2" short of the plane door. Go figure.  Techie on way.

Nothing worse than being an inch too short when you really need it!
Post by: D4D on February 07, 2014, 04:29:33 PM
I can sense the increasing tension as 150+ people wait anxiously to get off the plane :)
Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 04:33:23 PM
Still waiting
Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 04:37:03 PM
Nah, she's stuffed. We're stuck! Roll out the inflatable slides
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/07/epa2ypy9.jpg)
Post by: wilson79 on February 07, 2014, 04:43:15 PM
maybe your new friend could give you a hair cut while you wait?
Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 04:46:10 PM
I'm glad you used the correct grammar with that sentence
Post by: dazzler on February 07, 2014, 04:50:50 PM

Look at the retards.  Thats funny.  Sit you idiots till the next row moves.  Sweet stinking baby jesus!
Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 04:52:44 PM
And we're off. Reboot I say. And I think that's what they did
Post by: Swannie on February 07, 2014, 04:58:35 PM

Geez thats a long way down the back...
Post by: D4D on February 07, 2014, 05:27:13 PM
Geez thats a long way down the back...

... and not even an exit row :)
Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 05:34:10 PM
16f and a platinum qff. Could be I'm blackbanned for giving poor feedback on their fb site. Usually habit row 5 or 6.
At least now I know where all the chicks sit.
Post by: Swannie on February 07, 2014, 06:51:57 PM
Virgin platinum, never further that row 3...
Post by: scarps on February 07, 2014, 08:18:18 PM
Virgin platinum, never further that row 3...
yeah but Virgin doesn't have the front 4 rows set aside for the rich and famous

Unless, are you a rich and famous virgin?
Post by: Beatle on February 07, 2014, 08:49:19 PM
You aint seen nuthin yet.....................http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1311623/Skyrider-saddle-plane-seats-launched-Aircraft-Interiors-Expo-Americas.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1311623/Skyrider-saddle-plane-seats-launched-Aircraft-Interiors-Expo-Americas.html)
Post by: nelso on February 07, 2014, 09:38:33 PM
Get used to it people, Qantas are not the only "national carrier" struggling because of changing flight demographics and economics. Most of the others (eg Air NZ) are government owned and are "subsidised". This is Qantas' main argument/plea/beg angle ATM.

Let's face it... flying is no longer "glamorous" or "exciting". Pax planes are just flying buses carrying people from Point A to Point B. Every airline is looking for ways to either make it cheaper to fly (more seats, less service), or more expensive to fly (fancy fold downs, bigger margins).

These days the vast majority of people want to fly somewhere for the cheapest possible price and spend the difference at the destination, airlines don't help by trying to make money from a different revenue stream (eg charging for limited checked baggage), but then shoot themselves in the foot by having the bags in the cabin and not the hold because no-one want to pay excess baggage.

More ferals fly because it's cheaper, therefore where's your fellow traveller courtesy? They never had any to begin with  >:D

When was the last time you saw anyone at check-in or boarding be asked to put their carry-on in the little metal cage to check dimensions? Yep... never. The staff can't/won't be arsed to do it because they're not on $120k a year anymore - they're mostly sub-contracted agents with no union delegate buying them beers in the arvo.

So on the topic of hating things about flying: I can't stand people bringing all their poop on board instead of checking it in, and I'll never understand the whole stand-up-once-the-plane-stops-and-wait-for-10-minutes thing.

Post by: V8TL8 on February 07, 2014, 10:51:30 PM
Beatle

I have it on good authority that this is just Mark I.
Airline Execs regard this as a failed prototype because the armrest and backrest take up too much space.

Mark II will look bit like Jimmy's Thunderbox, thus saving us the hassle of queuing up at the rear of the plane.

Mark III will be higher, more like a standing position, to allow those in a hurry to disembark to get to the aisles faster.

Business class will have built in noise cancelling headphones.

Of course, the economy flights will give generous discounts for BYO.

Chris

Post by: Beatle on February 08, 2014, 09:24:12 AM
Yes Nelso, the days of The Romance Of Air Travel are well and truly over.  It's said that commercial aviation is the least profitable of all the large industry sectors.  A 1cpl change in the price of fuel has an instant and significant effect on proifitability.

I saw a show the other day which said the A380 chews fuel at the rate of 4L per passenger per 100km, and it's a modern design relatively economical aircraft.  That number would be with a full PAX list.
Post by: Jason B on February 08, 2014, 01:28:52 PM
Hay Jas,

Imagine if they put us beside each other on the plane, we are about equal in dimension they would have to put us inthe middle row of seats, otherwise they would just circle the airport :)

Lol that would be an interesting flight mate. I am sure we could use our polite gentle natures to negotiate a result.

Post by: Garfish on February 08, 2014, 04:42:07 PM
I don't know, the last international flight I took was quite comfy. This is from the SMH I didn't take any photos but 2a to LA was plenty of room and the free pj's were good as well, much better than 12a on the dash 8 or 29e on a 737 takes around 12 mins on average to get off the airplane from there

When dinner came around was told the 5 courses came with matching wines, I said, just a jack with them all is fine, 
Post by: nelso on February 08, 2014, 10:59:34 PM
LOL. See my previous post. 99% of pax don't get to do this so all I can say is I hope you or your boss got value for money out of it. Well done.
Post by: SteveandViv on February 08, 2014, 11:06:15 PM
As the topic says, "are airline seats big enough?" I travel with Qantas a fair bit with my job, mainly on Dash 8's.

This has happened to me a few times now and happened again last week.

I am a bit over sitting next to really obese people. It sucks when the person sitting beside me is so big  that their arse and leg goes under the armrest and on to my side of the seat and their tummy is so big that their arm is also on my side. I usually have the window seat so I try and jam myself right up against the side of the plane. Not easy, as I have a beergut and weigh 90-95 kgs myself.

It must be really embarrassing for the big people. We keep getting told Australians are getting bigger and bigger but the seats on planes are not.

1. Should the airlines put in a few bigger seats to accommodate the XXLG people?
Or
2. Should the XXLG people have to purchase  a second seat.

Your thoughts?

I'm with you Muzza. I understand some people need more space but they should cater for that rather than inconveniencing others. I have also and still do travel a lot and it is a real pain. Mind you I think they should also have a children's section closed off at the back of the plane. No issues with kids being on planes but it would be nice for them and us.
Post by: scarps on February 09, 2014, 07:54:27 AM
Bring on the very fast train Melbourne to Sydney to Brisbane. Much better way to travel those distances.
Post by: 02-SR5 on February 09, 2014, 08:39:24 AM
Bring on the very fast train Melbourne to Sydney to Brisbane. Much better way to travel those distances.

We were just discussing this at work.

Australia has the real estate to have multi lane major highways and high speed rail, we just don't have the money to fund it.

Imagine a multi lane Bruce Highway from Brisbane to Cairns?
Post by: muzza01 on February 09, 2014, 09:47:18 AM
Amen brother, amen.
Post by: edz on February 09, 2014, 10:03:46 PM
What they need to do is get a few Russian  Ekranoplan's operational,  up to 600 Knts 3Mtr's of the surface with up to 1500 passengers for 1/2 the fuel that a regular airliner would use over the same distance ..Caspian Sea Monster Ekranoplan Flight Video (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V8Nu94khHoo#)
Post by: Top.ender on February 09, 2014, 10:30:22 PM

Australia has the real estate to have multi lane major highways and high speed rail, we just don't have the money to fund it.

we have plenty of cash for all these projects...just have to get it out of the greedy fat cat pollies.... >:( >:( >:(
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on February 10, 2014, 04:57:56 AM

If they start now, it'll be complete by 2062.

Shane.
Post by: krisandkev on February 10, 2014, 06:17:48 AM
Hi all, got back yesterday after spending 3 weeks in NZ.  Flew with Virgin over and back with Air New Zealand and paid the extra for the exit seats.  Why did I go with the exit seats?  On a flight to Melbourne a few months back I had a rather large bloke sitting beside me and I had a very uncomfortable flight so I thought next time I will try an exit seat. Believe me the extra cost is well worth it!   Kevin
Post by: Ben.Archer on February 10, 2014, 07:49:24 AM

Yep, the journey would be just as slow as it would give all the grey nomads with their caravans an extra couple of lanes to block :-(
Post by: Rumpig on February 10, 2014, 08:39:17 AM
No issues with kids being on planes but it would be nice for them and us.
my kids i can tolerate, it's other peoples kids that get on my nerves. so why should i be lugged down the back with them?
Post by: scarps on February 18, 2014, 06:22:32 AM
Good legroom on today's flight. In seat entertainment - bonus!
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/18/uju5ybyr.jpg)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/18/uhemuba7.jpg)

Skirt in seat next door - bonus bonus!
Post by: achjimmy on February 18, 2014, 06:48:47 AM
Another reason I like to get on early besides actually getting locker space. You can ditch all that crap in your seat pocket into the other pockets and gain a few extra millmetres for your knees!
Post by: scarps on February 18, 2014, 08:00:34 AM

Another reason I like to get on early besides actually getting locker space. You can ditch all that crap in your seat pocket into the other pockets and gain a few extra millmetres for your knees!
actually in the seat pocket is the latest 4wd Camping mag I picked up on the way to the gate, but you're right, the Q mag got jammed into the back of the seat next door:-)
Post by: muzza01 on February 18, 2014, 08:19:31 AM
actually in the seat pocket is the latest 4wd Camping mag I picked up on the way to the gate, but you're right, the Q mag got jammed into the back of the seat next door:-)
I did that on a trip last year. Bought a CT magazine at the airport, got on the plane and decided to have a sleep instead of reading my mag. On arrival grabbed my unread mag out of the seat pocket and checked in to my motel. I went to read my CT mag and found it to be a Qantas mag instead. ???
Not happy Jan.
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on February 18, 2014, 09:00:18 AM
I do a fair bit of air travel and always prebook and pay for extra legroom. At just a tad over 6'4" the extra legroom is not a luxury, it a necessity. There's good seats and bad seats. I have my preferences, and book accordingly.

Recently jagged a berth on the Dreamliner's inaugural flight from Melbourne to the Gold Coast. Didn't know what all the fuss was about when I arrived at the departure gate. Seat 2C. Once seated another passenger asked how early I had booked to get such a good seat. The night before last was my answer. Nice plane, business class seat at the economy rate. Leg room in cattle class is apparently tighter than on previous aircraft. Bums on seats equates to $$$.
Post by: achjimmy on February 18, 2014, 10:47:30 AM
I do a fair bit of air travel and always prebook and pay for extra legroom. At just a tad over 6'4" the extra legroom is not a luxury, it a necessity. There's good seats and bad seats. I have my preferences, and book accordingly.

Recently jagged a berth on the Dreamliner's inaugural flight from Melbourne to the Gold Coast. Didn't know what all the fuss was about when I arrived at the departure gate. Seat 2C. Once seated another passenger asked how early I had booked to get such a good seat. The night before last was my answer. Nice plane, business class seat at the economy rate. Leg room in cattle class is apparently tighter than on previous aircraft. Bums on seats equates to $$$.

Depends on who you fly and what plane. On the 737 there isn't a lot of seats with extra legroom, theirs business (ridiculous for domestic) and then there's the emergency row. I can book the emergency rows free at time of booking but if late there taken, plus they always attract the big burley blokes like me! invariably I take a seat close to the front. QF look after platnuims and unless the flight is full will block out the seat next to you (shadow) I don't fly jet star, they got the three strikes rule from me, when all that is left is low cost carriers I'll quit or drive.
Post by: dazzler on February 18, 2014, 03:50:23 PM

Anatomically I take it our hips are all very similar in width?  (thats a poly worded question but I have a headache)

And if so are the seats made for that width?  My BIL and SIL are both huge and neither fit in an airline seat.  But their hips are still the same size aren't they?   

If thats correct then really they need to supply people who can't fit in a std airline seat without inconveniencing others with seats that do - IE the business class seats.  Add in a surcharge of say 20% on the seat cost. 
Post by: scarps on February 18, 2014, 04:05:28 PM
Return flight, no leg room, no headrest entertainment, however classy lady in next seat again. That's three flights in a row and a new record.......lady passenger that is:-)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/18/yhu4egys.jpg)
Post by: achjimmy on February 18, 2014, 04:22:01 PM
Return flight, no leg room, no headrest entertainment, however classy lady in next seat again. That's three flights in a row and a new record.......lady passenger that is:-)

The pits
Post by: D4D on February 18, 2014, 04:30:05 PM
.......lady passenger that is:-)

Post by: Malcolm Tugless on February 18, 2014, 05:27:35 PM

Nice trousers ...  :laugh:
Post by: scarps on February 18, 2014, 06:08:26 PM

Nice trousers ...  :laugh:
they're hers, not mine
Post by: scarps on February 20, 2014, 05:48:24 AM
Inseat entertainment this morning.
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/02/20/5a5uje7y.jpg)
Plenty of leg room, good hip room between arm rests, but ugly male business men next door. My run of classy ladies may have come to an end, but I am also toward the pointy end of the plane.

Adelaide today, Lake Eildon tomorrow night.
Post by: Garfish on February 20, 2014, 06:56:41 AM
I wish I could board early but always on standby......  And neatly always in a middle seat if in economy
Scarps interesting as to the significant change in seat room obviously the one with heaps wasn't one of the 737 so was it an airbus or 767 I'll miss the 767 when their gone
I  originally thought exit but there's a bag under the seat in front. 
Post by: achjimmy on February 20, 2014, 07:30:01 AM
I wish I could board early but always on standby......  And neatly always in a middle seat if in economy
Scarps interesting as to the significant change in seat room obviously the one with heaps wasn't one of the 737 so was it an airbus or 767 I'll miss the 767 when their gone
I  originally thought exit but there's a bag under the seat in front.

The seat pitch varies between the later 737 and the earlier ones.  (Later less) unless you get one of the QANTAS ZK ones (NZ registered)

Yep I like the 767s. Only thing crap is there small luggage compartment.
Post by: D4D on February 21, 2014, 10:20:14 AM
http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/to-the-passenger-who-reclines-their-plane-seat/story-e6frfq80-1226833459665 (http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/to-the-passenger-who-reclines-their-plane-seat/story-e6frfq80-1226833459665)

Post by: Bird on February 21, 2014, 10:33:39 AM
http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/to-the-passenger-who-reclines-their-plane-seat/story-e6frfq80-1226833459665 (http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/to-the-passenger-who-reclines-their-plane-seat/story-e6frfq80-1226833459665)

Their seats must recline more than any plane I've ever been on...

"On another flight, one of my colleagues was working diligently on his laptop when the seat in front of him flew back. The seat back hit so hard it shattered his laptop computer screen. The glass actually broke. He had to buy a new computer. The woman who was the recliner never even noticed."

(http://bohemianbowmans.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/01-some-bullcrap.jpg)

Post by: Stylemaster70 on February 21, 2014, 11:28:36 AM
Im off to Java in May and it's business class all the way! The bed is better than my one at home.......Free booze in the Qantas lounge( could be the only one drinking at 6am though)! Complimentary PJ's. Might try and snavel a smooch off an airhostess on the way over......I'm so rock'n roll.
Look for me....I will be the bloke in boardies looking like a scozza! :cheers:
So screw ya little pissy seats.
Post by: Bunyip on February 21, 2014, 01:38:19 PM
Their seats must recline more than any plane I've ever been on...

"On another flight, one of my colleagues was working diligently on his laptop when the seat in front of him flew back. The seat back hit so hard it shattered his laptop computer screen. The glass actually broke. He had to buy a new computer. The woman who was the recliner never even noticed."

(http://bohemianbowmans.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/12/01-some-bullcrap.jpg)

I have seen results of this happening, as they recline the seat the catch that holds the tray in the upright position catches on the top of the screen. The feet of the laptop stick to the table and the weakest point in the chain is the housing around the laptop screen which gives way. Had two cases of this at the last place I worked and both the guys were high enough in the company that they needn't have lied to us about how it got damaged. Infact one of the guys was always completely honest about damage to IT equipment, he had lots of expereince telling us how everything he touched broke from drowning phones in sinks, to running over laptops left beside cars etc...
Post by: scarps on February 26, 2014, 10:14:40 AM
Not today, they're not. Sardine can with wings.....
Post by: scarps on February 26, 2014, 12:36:32 PM
Not today, they're not. Sardine can with wings.....
The cracks in Q might be starting to show.  Plane no.1 - mechanical problems.  Moved to another gate with another plane and ready to take off, captain announces, "apologies folks, but the left engine has an oil leak and the ground crew are just measuring the drips.
If more than 9 drips in 60seconds, no fly.  Less than 9 drips in 60 seconds good to go.

So we went.

Bit like my old Kingswood 6.
Post by: scarps on February 28, 2014, 02:04:11 PM
OMG, finally saw 2 passengers being told today that their 3 items of carry on are not permitted. They had to go back to the service desk and check at least one in.
Bit hard for them to argue when there's 100 people waiting in line to board.
You go Qantas - well done!
Post by: Swannie on February 28, 2014, 02:26:01 PM
Geez I wished Virgin did the same
Post by: nelso on February 28, 2014, 07:06:14 PM
OMG, finally saw 2 passengers being told today that their 3 items of carry on are not permitted. They had to go back to the service desk and check at least one in.

Fair enough. It 5h1t5 me to tears the hide people have taking some of these oversize bags on board. More tears when the checkin staff "don't see" them. Too scared.
Post by: koshari on February 28, 2014, 07:09:09 PM
Fair enough. It 5h1t5 me to tears the hide people have taking some of these oversize bags on board. More tears when the checkin staff "don't see" them. Too scared.
simply what you get when you begin chaging for check in luggage

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk 2

Post by: Garfish on March 01, 2014, 07:03:59 AM
simply what you get when you begin chaging for check in luggage

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk 2

The reality is convenience, who wants to wait 20-30 mins for your luggage,
Post by: scarps on March 01, 2014, 07:14:57 AM
Post by: scarps on March 15, 2014, 06:52:38 PM
No they're not on this Sat night:-(

Also missing inseat entertainment!
Post by: Mace on March 15, 2014, 07:41:59 PM
Also missing inseat entertainment!

What, no hairdresser next door?

Post by: laf on March 15, 2014, 07:55:38 PM
maybe fly a c17 to carry them would need a few in the air at any time , i would have to wink other wise i would be on one   ;D ;D ;D
Post by: scarps on April 08, 2014, 07:58:41 PM
Great race is on 6am tomorrow - Melbourne to Brisbane.

Post by: Swannie on April 08, 2014, 08:00:04 PM
Great race is on 6am tomorrow - Melbourne to Brisbane.

R you at the pointy end.. show us your seat ticket  >:D
Post by: scarps on April 08, 2014, 08:02:17 PM
Nah, I like the middle section, the seat companions are usually better looking and not middle age business men.
Post by: Swannie on April 08, 2014, 08:03:38 PM
Don't you fly the big Q, only oldies on that carrier  ;D
Post by: Cruiser 105Tvan on April 08, 2014, 08:06:03 PM
I'm just happy to get on a plane

I'd be happier to get off after a safe trip.
Post by: scarps on April 08, 2014, 08:07:31 PM
Don't you fly the big Q, only oldies on that carrier  ;D
yep, have a thing for MABW's. They dress to impress
Post by: scarps on April 08, 2014, 08:08:56 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/08/8emyneda.jpg)
Post by: scarps on April 08, 2014, 08:09:41 PM

R you at the pointy end.. show us your seat ticket  >:D
and yours?
Post by: Swannie on April 08, 2014, 08:14:16 PM
Standard seat...
Post by: scarps on April 08, 2014, 08:25:50 PM
Be interesting to see which Brand gets the first spot on the runway.
Post by: achjimmy on April 08, 2014, 10:49:28 PM
Hey I am on the 8am (gentle men's hours) SYD to BNE tomorrow maybe an impromptu my swag get together at BNE?
Post by: scarps on April 08, 2014, 11:04:28 PM
:-( would love to, but I'll be in a meeting in Bris by the time you land.
When do you fly back?
Post by: achjimmy on April 08, 2014, 11:07:06 PM
Thursday
Post by: Swannie on April 09, 2014, 04:48:53 AM
Mate I'm in out same day fly home late tonight. Would have been good to catch up

Post by: scarps on April 09, 2014, 05:15:32 AM
Car parked, on way to Q club

Ahh, coffee!
Post by: scarps on April 09, 2014, 05:36:59 AM

Thursday
I'm on a 5pm back to Melbourne on Thurs. Happy to catch up at the airport if you're there around that time. Outside of that, I'm booked solid. Would be great to meet up if it works.
Post by: achjimmy on April 09, 2014, 05:39:09 AM

Car parked, on way to Q club

Ahh, coffee!

45mins behind you. Do you get the bus lounge ?
Post by: Swannie on April 09, 2014, 05:39:33 AM
Sitting on the plane...
Post by: scarps on April 09, 2014, 05:49:50 AM
My inseat entertainment for this morning's flight

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/09/azeqyzad.jpg)
Post by: scarps on April 09, 2014, 05:52:15 AM

45mins behind you. Do you get the bus lounge ?
PM sent
Post by: achjimmy on April 09, 2014, 05:54:39 AM
Mate just leave it 5c incase I pick up your plane later! You ever get out to the hema office in Bris?
Post by: oldmate on April 09, 2014, 05:57:25 AM
http://www.flightradar24.com/-28.84,151.54/7 (http://www.flightradar24.com/-28.84,151.54/7)

So you can keep an eye on each other's progress lol
Post by: scarps on April 09, 2014, 05:59:46 AM
Shut down time
Race on
Post by: oldmate on April 09, 2014, 07:53:10 AM
Scraps is on the approach. Look out Qld lol

Post by: wilson79 on April 09, 2014, 07:54:39 AM
The suspense is killing me who won!!!!!
Post by: achjimmy on April 09, 2014, 08:01:44 AM
On a new 737 definitely closer seat pitch than older birds.
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/09/ru5emyry.jpg)
Post by: achjimmy on April 09, 2014, 08:02:42 AM

The suspense is killing me who won!!!!!

What who had to get up earlier or who gets there first !
Post by: wilson79 on April 09, 2014, 08:04:29 AM
What who had to get up earlier or who gets there first !

First one on the tarmac.... :cheers:
Post by: Swannie on April 09, 2014, 08:23:22 AM
 :cup: Landed
Post by: Swannie on April 09, 2014, 08:34:17 AM
Scarps where are you? I hope your not missing like speewas chair  ;D
Post by: ozstickman on April 09, 2014, 08:43:06 AM
Use to fly a bit for conferences and trade fairs and the real bad part are the people that have bad BO, bad breath that have to be in ya face to talk to you, oh and the drunks!
Post by: Swannie on April 09, 2014, 09:24:24 AM
Use to fly a bit for conferences and trade fairs and the real bad part are the people that have bad BO, bad breath that have to be in ya face to talk to you, oh and the drunks!
That's what noise cancelling headphones are for!
Post by: achjimmy on April 09, 2014, 10:23:32 AM

Oh yeah had some shockers over the years, luckily flying a lot QF they tend to look after me and if the plane is not full the seat next to me is  usually blocked off.

Like this mornings flight. :cheers:
Post by: ozstickman on April 09, 2014, 10:58:55 AM
Oh yeah had some shockers over the years, luckily flying a lot QF they tend to look after me and if the plane is not full the seat next to me is  usually blocked off.

Like this mornings flight. :cheers:
Winner!
I use to offer to help people out of the plane if there is an emergency when I flew with Virgin and got those spacious seats near the emergency exits most times.
Post by: oldmate on April 09, 2014, 01:54:32 PM

So you've sat next to me before then?   ;D ;D
Post by: MattNQ on April 09, 2014, 03:35:55 PM
Winner!
I use to offer to help people out of the plane if there is an emergency when I flew with Virgin and got those spacious seats near the emergency exits most times.

Some airlines now charge extra for the exit row.....

sent from earth via tapatalk

Post by: wilson79 on April 09, 2014, 03:48:46 PM
Some airlines now charge extra for the exit row.....

sent from earth via tapatalk

They sure do but when you are 6"4 its worth it...
Post by: Shelbyright on April 09, 2014, 07:39:07 PM
I have no problem with fat or obese people sitting next to me on the plane, bus, or train.
as long as they can keep their bodies on their own seat and dont make my ride uncomfortable.

Otherwise find a way for the transportation to offer you 2 seats, or kindly pay for them.
Post by: scarps on April 09, 2014, 08:10:56 PM
Scarps where are you? I hope your not missing like speewas chair  ;D
sheez, that was a long holding pattern. Landed. Bugger, you beat me.....
Now, where's my luggage?
Post by: scarps on June 28, 2014, 11:51:31 AM
Sheez my last flight Bris back to Melbourne and flight delays everywhere. Storms over northern NSW, Snow over the Snowy's and Vic High Country, destructive winds across Victoria could make for an interesting landing sometime later today.
Going to be interesting

p.s. Did I know it was school holidays???????
Post by: gronk on June 28, 2014, 12:31:50 PM
They sure do but when you are 6"4 its worth it...

Going to USA next yr and flying Virgin....but couldn't book exit seats ??

I'm 6'5", so I booked the 2nd last row at the back...only 2 seats instead of 3 in a row, which will allow me to stretch a bit to the side....not ideal, but what do you do ??
Post by: fuji on June 29, 2014, 04:56:09 PM
I like the exit seats and so does everybody else. As you say what do you do? We are booked to fly to London with Cathay in 57 days (not counting) so I hope it's comfortable. And we are average height.
Post by: IanC on June 29, 2014, 07:08:21 PM
I get the seats directly n front of the the exits if I can.  Usually means the ones behind have more leg room and don't knee me in the back the whole way. 

I thought those sitting in the exits are supposed to asset in the case of an emergency.  One trip I was on there was a lady who was drinking her way through the airport lounge prior to boarding, was of generous proportions, wheezed when she walked and was quite red-faced (literally) and proceeded to sit in the emergency window seat ???.  Clearly she would be unable to assist if required......

Post by: Crisp Image on June 29, 2014, 08:29:19 PM
I found the A380 seats were a little more spaced out. maybe only a couple of inches but made a big difference.
I am just over 6ft.
Crispy
Post by: smokescreen on June 29, 2014, 08:37:48 PM
I not to worried about leg space but for the $1200 dollars my wife just paid for a return flight from Karratha to Perth she should get a whole row of seats I reckon.

The flights is only two hours and she flew cattle class and to top it off she only got a muffin and apple for breakfast with no drink and the food didn't even come on a tray >:( bloody budget cuts.>:(

Whoops this probably belongs in a whinge or rant thread  ;D
Post by: SteveandViv on June 29, 2014, 08:40:32 PM

I never get a good looker next to me  :'(
Post by: Aaron Schubert on June 30, 2014, 08:18:09 AM
At 6"6 I find they are too small!

Post by: Bunyip on June 30, 2014, 08:24:44 AM
Going to USA next yr and flying Virgin....but couldn't book exit seats ??

I'm 6'5", so I booked the 2nd last row at the back...only 2 seats instead of 3 in a row, which will allow me to stretch a bit to the side....not ideal, but what do you do ??

Call them. I found they can hold back those seats and you cannot book them online but when I turned up at the airport they would move me if I asked and they had an avaialble seat.

As they have to confirm that you are willing to help and able bodied they told me they do not offer these for everyone to book.

Worst they can say is no.

Post by: scarps on June 30, 2014, 09:20:05 AM

I never get a good looker next to me  :'(
we must have flown together and didn't know:-)
Post by: gronk on June 30, 2014, 09:25:19 AM
Call them. I found they can hold back those seats and you cannot book them online but when I turned up at the airport they would move me if I asked and they had an avaialble seat.

As they have to confirm that you are willing to help and able bodied they told me they do not offer these for everyone to book.

Worst they can say is no.

I will give them a ring !! Thanks !!
Post by: MattNQ on July 02, 2014, 02:05:57 PM
I get the seats directly n front of the the exits if I can.  Usually means the ones behind have more leg room and don't knee me in the back the whole way. 

I thought those sitting in the exits are supposed to asset in the case of an emergency.  One trip I was on there was a lady who was drinking her way through the airport lounge prior to boarding, was of generous proportions, wheezed when she walked and was quite red-faced (literally) and proceeded to sit in the emergency window seat ???.  Clearly she would be unable to assist if required......

She would have been still useful in a crash - roll her out the door & off the wing to give everyone something soft to land on when they jump  >:D
Post by: Dion on July 02, 2014, 08:35:25 PM
6'8" here.  Hate flying.  Hate people who request the exit row who don't really need it.  It's the difference between actually fitting and having leg cramps.
Post by: D4D on July 03, 2014, 08:56:45 AM
As a frequent flyer on QF94, this would ruin your night!

http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/lakes-on-a-plane-melbournebound-qantas-flight-forced-back-to-los-angeles-because-of-a-burst-water-pipe/story-fnizu68q-1226975653219 (http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/lakes-on-a-plane-melbournebound-qantas-flight-forced-back-to-los-angeles-because-of-a-burst-water-pipe/story-fnizu68q-1226975653219)

(http://resources1.news.com.au/images/2014/07/02/1226975/684981-fac585fa-01d7-11e4-9138-9da47e60188f.jpg)
Post by: scarps on August 01, 2014, 01:27:02 PM
Well this afternoon could be interesting. About to board a flight from Sydney back into Melbourne. (swannie not too far behind me).
Melbourne is down to one runway and expect the descent in to be a little interesting.........
Post by: Bullant4x4 on August 01, 2014, 01:34:32 PM

Well this afternoon could be interesting. About to board a flight from Sydney back into Melbourne. (swannie not too far behind me).
Melbourne is down to one runway and expect the descent in to be a little interesting.........

Don't worry m8, with all the maintenance outsourced overseas, I'm sure you'll land ok? ???
Post by: Bullant4x4 on August 01, 2014, 01:39:18 PM
Don't worry m8, with all the maintenance outsourced overseas, I'm sure you'll land ok? ???

In saying that, my mums partner was on a plane to Maylasia (Mon) and it had to turn back as it lost navigation. It sat on the runway for a few hours as the techs jiggled a few wires. In the end they had to get off and get a new plane.
Post by: Swannie on August 01, 2014, 02:35:57 PM

Yep getting into few few  :cheers: in the lounge as long as they have enough beer they can delay the flight as long as they want

Post by: Pog on August 01, 2014, 03:19:59 PM

fixed   ;D
Post by: scarps on August 01, 2014, 04:00:27 PM
Landed smooth and too easy. Musta got a good pilot. I've had ruffa landings when the sun was out. Actually it is out, seriously Vicswaggers what was all the fuss and ado?
Post by: scarps on August 08, 2014, 07:32:22 AM
This morning Perth back to Melbourne. Sometimes I hate being several thousand feet above places where I'd much rather be cruising through with the CT.  One day SW WA I'll be on the ground looking up at the planes flying overhead.
Post by: scarps on August 11, 2014, 05:43:42 PM
WOW!!! So this is what the inside of a virgin plane looks like..

For some reason I always imagined it a little differently!
Post by: Swannie on August 11, 2014, 05:46:55 PM
WOW!!! So this is what the inside of a virgin plane looks like..

For some reason I always imagined it a little differently!

Its a lot better than those Qantas planes :)
Post by: achjimmy on August 11, 2014, 07:06:20 PM
Ha bet your missing the Qantas B club though mate?  Those Virgin lounges are okay but not a patch on the Qantas Bus Pub.
Post by: scarps on August 11, 2014, 07:48:11 PM

Its a lot better than those Qantas planes :)
kid behind me screaming and kicking back of my seat, guy next to me coughing and sneezing all over me. Yep, not better.
Post by: Swannie on August 11, 2014, 07:59:31 PM
kid behind me screaming and kicking back of my seat, guy next to me coughing and sneezing all over me. Yep, not better.

Oh I forgot you travel cattle class :)
Post by: Bad Scott on August 11, 2014, 08:34:00 PM
Oh I forgot you travel cattle class :)
The way I make cattle class, business class/ first class, can baked beans 1 hr prior flight.  ;D
Post by: Shelbyright on August 11, 2014, 09:22:58 PM
Wont be too long before we pay fares by weight!
Post by: Swannie on August 11, 2014, 09:26:42 PM

Then I'm in big trouble  :'(

Post by: broncos11 on August 11, 2014, 09:32:10 PM
We flew Emirates return NZ last school hols and were very impressed.
Flight to and from Sydney other week with Jetstar, bloody terrible

Post by: Black Diamond on August 11, 2014, 09:33:07 PM

Ill need to take out a Mortgage every time I fly ;D
Post by: Bad Scott on August 11, 2014, 09:33:41 PM

I won't be flying then.
Post by: Diesel Power on August 12, 2014, 10:10:42 AM

Lucky the cheese and Kisses is a featherweight, when we fly I will have to work on an average weight.
Angus.
Post by: fuji on August 12, 2014, 06:17:15 PM
Well we have 14 flights to catch in the nxt 12 weeks. first lot is to Europe and back 5 flights and then 9 flights to USA and back. Not looking forward to the cramped conditions.
Post by: D4D on August 12, 2014, 06:21:30 PM
2 words - Bose QuietComfort
Post by: Bad Scott on August 12, 2014, 06:23:07 PM
Baked beans are in belly. Bugger its working a bit too soon @ Perth Airport
Sent from .................
Post by: Swannie on August 12, 2014, 06:38:50 PM
2 words - Bose QuietComfort

x100
Post by: SteveandViv on August 12, 2014, 07:11:52 PM
we must have flown together and didn't know:-)

What you trying to tell me aye, that i'm fuggly  ;D
Post by: D4D on August 27, 2014, 07:01:43 AM
Oh the joys of QF412 on a winters morning, half the pax are coughing up a lung :(
Post by: achjimmy on August 27, 2014, 07:25:22 AM
Oh the joys of QF412 on a winters morning, half the pax are coughing up a lung :(

Ha ha yes mate it's like a lottery. One thing I like about travel in Japan, when there sick they mask up.

You won't like the weather in SYD today mate, very Victorian.
Post by: scarps on August 27, 2014, 08:34:27 AM
i'm hearing you, just, above the coughing.

Oh, and the legroom on the Canberra flights has to be the least I've ever had!
Post by: LuckyDog on August 27, 2014, 08:57:21 AM
I travel all around Australia twice monthly and the company can book us on any flight company.

I don't care what the seats are like as long as i'm on my way home,

noise cancelling earphones and an ipod and the kids can scream as much as they like  :D
Post by: Dingo0163 on August 27, 2014, 03:02:06 PM
I've just seen a product called "Knee defender " . They lock onto the tray supports and stop the seat in front from reclining .
http://www.kneedefender.com/ (http://www.kneedefender.com/)

Post by: gordo350 on August 27, 2014, 04:03:59 PM
I've just seen a product called "Knee defender " . They lock onto the tray supports and stop the seat in front from reclining .
http://www.kneedefender.com/ (http://www.kneedefender.com/)

Just try and use that if I'm sitting in front of you.  go on I dare ya
Post by: Dingo0163 on August 27, 2014, 05:41:47 PM
Just try and use that if I'm sitting in front of you.  go on I dare ya
On the news today a plane was diverted because of a fight caused by someone using them. Airlines have not banned them but two have fixed the seats so they won't recline. I don't need them to stop people reclining back to far.  :angel:
Post by: scarps on August 27, 2014, 06:25:17 PM

On the news today a plane was diverted because of a fight caused by someone using them. Airlines have not banned them but two have fixed the seats so they won't recline. I don't need them to stop people reclining back to far.  :angel:
if someone in front of me reclines all the way back, I just turn the overhead air vents to face their head.
Post by: Dingo0163 on August 27, 2014, 07:31:48 PM
There is always more than one way to fix a problem.  :cheers:
Post by: D4D on August 27, 2014, 08:16:44 PM
Made it back without drama, gee I am glad I don't do that for a living anymore.
Post by: Swannie on August 27, 2014, 08:37:11 PM

Yep you are lucky mate

swannie
Post by: scarps on August 27, 2014, 09:33:11 PM
yep, I'm a whisker off hitting lifetime platinum, but not really sure that was ever on my bucket list. Not something I can leave the Grandkids.

If only I could be out camping/fishing for the same amount of time as I spend in the air....
Post by: Top.ender on August 28, 2014, 07:58:59 AM
6'8" here.  Hate flying.  Hate people who request the exit row who don't really need it.  It's the difference between actually fitting and having leg cramps.
x2.. :cheers:
Post by: D4D on August 28, 2014, 09:33:49 AM
yep, I'm a whisker off hitting lifetime platinum, but not really sure that was ever on my bucket list. Not something I can leave the Grandkids.

Wow, that's a lot of flying! I'm almost lifetime gold.
Post by: scarps on August 28, 2014, 11:15:07 AM

Wow, that's a lot of flying! I'm almost lifetime gold.
yeah and I thought it was mostly over. New job just as much if not more.
Difference is not flying into Brisvegas every week. Now all over including NT & FNQ.
Post by: Bad Scott on August 29, 2014, 10:51:41 AM
yeah and I thought it was mostly over. New job just as much if not more.
Difference is not flying into Brisvegas every week. Now all over including NT & FNQ.
NT lucky bugger. Wish there were jobs that fit what I do there.
Post by: Brinck on August 29, 2014, 11:31:05 AM

Some bigger seats that cost more!
Post by: D4D on September 01, 2014, 12:27:54 PM
The joys of JQ :(
Post by: gordo350 on September 01, 2014, 01:17:05 PM
There's nothing wrong with jer star.  it's just the customers that they attract
Post by: D4D on September 01, 2014, 10:06:05 PM
Touché :)
Post by: muzza01 on September 02, 2014, 07:35:02 AM
Today it is, seat 1A on the Q400. I feel like I just one the lottery.
Post by: Swannie on September 02, 2014, 08:07:45 AM
Today it is, seat 1A on the Q400. I feel like I just one the lottery.
Post by: Pog on September 02, 2014, 08:10:34 PM
I had seats 9F and 6a for my 2 x flights today, and no-one alongside me on either flight. Geez, that makes a difference!

We left ADL an hr late, but managed to arrive in CNS only 10-15 minutes after the original scheduled arrival time, with a very quick stop over in SYD.

By the way, the Weather in Cairns is PERFECT!
Post by: fuji on September 03, 2014, 03:21:17 AM
Just flew Cathay to London last week and I am only a small person but she was a bit cramp.
Post by: xcvator on September 03, 2014, 06:38:01 AM
Just flew Cathay to London last week and I am only a small person but she was a bit cramp.
Plenty of room in b/c  >:D >:D
Post by: muzza01 on September 03, 2014, 09:31:55 AM
Flying along in a 10 seater turbo prop Caravan. Someone dropped their guts about 5 mins ago and it still smells like a septic tank in here. Pigs..

(http://www.skydive-paris.com/uploads/1/3/0/4/13042810/822230847_orig.jpg)
Post by: Oldandslow on September 03, 2014, 10:21:14 AM
Jetstar are great, my wife and I boarded a Jetstar plane in Cairns to fly to Sydney a while back. We had seats 5A and B from memory but the seats on the plane went from 4 to 6 with no row 5. The steward made us wait near the toilets until the rest of the passengers boarded then they would see whether they could find seats for us. They eventually found a couple of seats and apologized for our inconvenience, they then said it happens all the time on that plane because of the missing row.  From Sydney we had another Jetstar flight to Adelaide, went to check in and were told our flight had been cancelled due to insufficient seats being sold. They told us to sit down and they would try to find us a couple of seats on another flight which they eventually did on a Virgin flight.

Worst airline though would go to Etihad, flew with them from Abu Dhabi to Sydney, 14 hours in the smallest airline seats I have ever sat in. I am 180cm (5"11") and slim yet my knees were in the back of the seat in front and my shoulders were wider than the seat back. Service was non existent, they closed the curtains and dimmed the lights for the entire flight and the stewards all disappeared to the first class section. Apparently that is usual when there are spare seats in first class.
Post by: D4D on September 06, 2014, 01:11:10 PM
QF club in OOL is awesome, kids section to keep mini me amused before boarding
Post by: DaveR on September 07, 2014, 10:32:45 AM
Wish me luck Swaggers.
Fliying to Houston from Singapore tonight on the pathetic Emirates.
It is a 777 all the way.
These sods have 3-4-3 seating across the plane. Normaly, on a good airline, it is 3-3-3. This means the seats are more narrow.
Best is the flights are 7 hours then 16 hours.
Love my job.........
Post by: scarps on September 07, 2014, 11:24:54 AM
Post by: DaveR on September 07, 2014, 11:00:32 PM
Amazing what a polite whinge to the logistics guy can get, if CC'd to a boss by acident, can get you.
Got new flights details and going the shorter way around the globe now.
Noice
Post by: ATC on September 08, 2014, 09:29:54 AM
Just back from Austria.
Flew Emirates, haven't had a problem with them in the 4-5 international flights I've had with them.

We scored an upgrade to Business on the Dubai - Vienna sector - very nice.

We asked for & got Exit Asile seats for the other 3 sectors.
Be early, Be Nice to the Checkin staff, and don't be a short bastard who doesn't need it!

Post by: gronk on September 08, 2014, 10:27:16 AM

Be early, Be Nice to the Checkin staff, and don't be a short bastard who doesn't need it!

I wonder how it all works ??........

You pre book seats on a plane ( might be down the back somewhere ), then you turn up at check in and ask for exit seats ....

Aren't they already booked as well ??......so to get exit seats, they then tell whoever was booked in them to change seats as well ??

BUT, you can't book exit seats.....so how does the airline fill the plane ??.........do they double book some seats knowing that someone will have to go in the exit seats ??

Confusing.....I rang and said I wanted to book exit seats cause I was tall ( 6'5" )......no, we don't book those seats.......I said how come, cause I was tall and wanted to make sure I got comfy seats to USA.........no, thats just the way it is.......you can ask at checkin.......but what if they are gone before or before I get there ??.....aahh, that's just the way it is .....

So, if I get to checkin early and they say all the exit seats are gone.......who got them ???  is it a thing that some people in the know, know how to get them or is it all above board ??
Post by: doc evil on September 08, 2014, 12:02:06 PM
Flew from Perth to Melbourne for my boy's 21st on the weekend. Now, for those who know me, I'm not a small fellow and to make matters worse, I've had my knee done 3 weeks ago and am in a hip to ankle rigid brace and on crutches. QANTAS went out of their way to ensure no one was seated next to me so I had room to put my leg into that seat's leg space. I was also put onto the plane 1st to ensure I had no hindrance nor hindered other passengers.
The return flight, they ensured I was seated behind the bulkhead but ended up next row back as there was a disabled lad who had to be winched into his seat, in that bulkhead row. I had the entire 4 seat row to myself. Again, myself and the disabled lad (Oliver) were put onto the plane 1st.
All I did was check in an hour early, explain the reason (which was visibly obvious) and they looked after me however, they did advise me to see the QANTAS staff when I landed in Melbourne to secure the bulkhead seat for my return flight.
Awesome service from QANTAS and a non aggressive attitude also helps.
Doubt I would have had the same service from a cheaper carrier tho and the words, "you get what you pay for" rings very true.
Post by: ATC on September 08, 2014, 12:21:18 PM

You pre book seats on a plane ( might be down the back somewhere ), then you turn up at check in and ask for exit seats ....

Aren't they already booked as well ??......so to get exit seats, they then tell whoever was booked in them to change seats as well ??

BUT, you can't book exit seats.....so how does the airline fill the plane ??.........do they double book some seats knowing that someone will have to go in the exit seats ??

Confusing.....I rang and said I wanted to book exit seats cause I was tall ( 6'5" )......no, we don't book those seats.......I said how come, cause I was tall and wanted to make sure I got comfy seats to USA.........no, thats just the way it is.......you can ask at checkin.......but what if they are gone before or before I get there ??.....aahh, that's just the way it is .....

So, if I get to checkin early and they say all the exit seats are gone.......who got them ???  is it a thing that some people in the know, know how to get them or is it all above board ??

Generally Exit Asile seats can't be prebooked.
Virgin will sell you an Exit Asile seat, but if you aren't fit between chain age brackets etc... They will refund you and seat you elsewhere.

The only reliable way of getting an Exit Asile seat is to turn up early & ask nicely.
Or fly Virgin & pay extra, but there is no guarantee.

Post by: Oldandslow on September 08, 2014, 12:51:14 PM
I always book and pay extra for either an exit seat or a bulkhead seat preferably where there are only two seats together. Only airline that would not pre book them for me was Etihad and they were the worst airline I have traveled on.
Post by: achjimmy on September 08, 2014, 01:04:54 PM
Generally Exit Asile seats can't be prebooked.
Virgin will sell you an Exit Asile seat, but if you aren't fit between chain age brackets etc... They will refund you and seat you elsewhere.

The only reliable way of getting an Exit Asile seat is to turn up early & ask nicely.
Or fly Virgin & pay extra, but there is no guarantee.

You can prebook exit isles on Qantas at time of making a booking if your a high enough tier. On domestic it costs nothing
Post by: gronk on September 08, 2014, 08:11:17 PM
You can prebook exit isles on Qantas at time of making a booking if your a high enough tier. On domestic it costs nothing

What's a high enough tier ?? Does that mean some people get preferential treatment ??

I'm going to USA on a Virgin flight....with a Delta plane....flying cattle class..

If I could afford Qantas, I would have gone with them..
Post by: achjimmy on September 08, 2014, 08:21:24 PM
What's a high enough tier ?? Does that mean some people get preferential treatment ??

I'm going to USA on a Virgin flight....with a Delta plane....flying cattle class..

If I could afford Qantas, I would have gone with them..

Dunno what level you can start to do it. But you can do it as a platinum . Funny thing though I haven't done it in yonks as the front rows of economy are reserved for plats and they also shadow the seat next to you until the aircraft fills up. Where's as the exit seats are always booked by big burly blokes and you have no elbow room.
Post by: Garfish on September 08, 2014, 08:25:12 PM

Aren't they already booked as well ??......

Generally they will oversell seats to around 7% over depending on historical no shows! for the sector! it's annoying when everyone turns up and there isn't enough seats for everyone

Most seats aren't allocated until check in.   
Post by: FlyingBushPig on September 09, 2014, 06:24:37 PM
I fly international every 3 weeks, primarily on Singapore Airlines. Whilst many would view us frequent flyers as snobs, reality is I spend a lot of my life in planes so a bit of comfort goes a long way. I can almost always get an exit row by checking in in person rather than online, and always if I have to buy excess luggage.

On the issue of seat sizes, you get what you pay for. SQ has ample leg room, and while the width isn't enough for overweight people (my wife has a purely medical condition causing extra weight), the seats are far less wide on budget airlines. Not everyone has the luxury of expensive flights (my company pays), but, there are options out there.

What frustrates me is when Jokester charges an extra seat worth for 10Kg of extra luggage when I'd already bought the max available online, full flex fare, and upgrade to exit row, and the flight had just 30 people on it (A320).
Post by: gronk on September 09, 2014, 07:50:40 PM
When you say check in in person, even if you check in online the day before , don't you still check in on the day as well ??
Post by: DaveR on September 10, 2014, 09:57:40 AM
Just back from Austria.
Flew Emirates, haven't had a problem with them in the 4-5 international flights I've had with them.

We scored an upgrade to Business on the Dubai - Vienna sector - very nice.

I'll bet you weren't in a 777 with the narrow seats.
We got better flights, out of singapore for Houston, on Delta via Japan. Same 777 plane, but as they have 9 seats across, the seat was comfy.
So folks, watch out for the crap 777's out there, Emerites and Thai are the airlines I know of who have it this way.
Post by: Murph on September 11, 2014, 03:58:32 PM
Never have flown much but when I do it's usually to Europe so I save a bit here and there and always make sure I turn left as I enter the plane !  ???? you know it makes sense!   
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on September 11, 2014, 05:42:04 PM
If you want an experience, fly from Efate to the island of Tanner.

Little 12 odd seater and wedged in with heap of islanders, "tight and hot"..... which I don't mind, but not on a plane.
Post by: scarps on October 07, 2014, 05:00:51 AM
Haven't flown for 4 weeks and heading back to the airport today. Hope my Q club membership hasn't expired. Melbourne to Cairns, then Cairns to Horn Island. New territory.
Post by: scarps on October 08, 2014, 06:03:57 AM
We were required to de-board yesterday as the fuel system couldn't pressurise. An interesting little experience.
Post by: muzza01 on October 08, 2014, 12:10:11 PM
Haven't flown for 4 weeks and heading back to the airport today. Hope my Q club membership hasn't expired. Melbourne to Cairns, then Cairns to Horn Island. New territory.
I fly up to Horn quite often
Post by: Pipeliner on October 08, 2014, 01:42:27 PM
When you say check in in person, even if you check in online the day before , don't you still check in on the day as well ??

No.  If you've checked in online you just print out your boarding pass and go straight to the departure gate.  If you have a Qantas Frequent Flyer card you don't even have to print out a boarding pass - just take your card to the gate and they scan it and issue a little paper pass to show the crew on board.

This assumes you aren't checking in any baggage, but even that is all electronic these days.
Post by: scarps on October 08, 2014, 01:45:17 PM

I fly up to Horn quite often
noice place
Post by: scarpsD40 on November 21, 2014, 04:53:59 AM
Wow row 25, wtf?  I'd forgotten what the rear seats on a Q flight look like.  Think I've been screwed by Q online checkin. Lulled me with the pretence of thinking it was a big plane and then dumped me down the back of a small one.
Post by: Garfish on November 21, 2014, 05:15:42 AM
Wow row 25, wtf?  I'd forgotten what the rear seats on a Q flight look like.  Think I've been screwed by Q online checkin. Lulled me with the pretence of thinking it was a big plane and then dumped me down the back of a small one.

Was it middle seat?   I love row 29, with you head against the toilet.   And the 10 mins to de board....   
Post by: fuji on November 21, 2014, 05:16:17 AM
Fortunately we flew most of our North America trip with average size people next to us. But on one occasion we had this huge bloke on the window seat and I was left with 3/4 of a seat. Luckily it was only an hours flight. Not good enough though.
Post by: D4D on November 29, 2014, 01:03:45 PM
I've got one up on him as I have flown on Nancy Bird Walton :)
http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/year-old-john-martin-has-clocked-up-three-million-miles-in-the-air-with-qantas/story-e6frfq80-1227139159720 (http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/year-old-john-martin-has-clocked-up-three-million-miles-in-the-air-with-qantas/story-e6frfq80-1227139159720)
Post by: duggie on November 30, 2014, 07:53:18 AM
I've got one up on him as I have flown on Nancy Bird Wallton [/url]

I lived with Nancy Bird Walton's niece for 7 years and I watched her ( the niece ) fly off the handle, or fly on her broom every day.  ;D
Post by: JCOJ on November 30, 2014, 06:54:34 PM
For those that frequently fly - is it worth spending the extra $5k on a business ticket over economy for a round trip to Europe flying Emirates?

It seems like a lot of potential spending money just in the plane flights, so is it really worth it?
Post by: D4D on November 30, 2014, 06:58:23 PM
For those that frequently fly - is it worth spending the extra $5k on a business ticket over economy for a round trip to Europe flying Emirates?

Absofrickenlutely, premium economy at a minimum, you'll enjoy your holiday rather than spending the time wondering what time zone and planet you're in.
Post by: JCOJ on November 30, 2014, 07:03:55 PM
Unfortunately Emirates doesn't have premium economy.

It's either spend the $5k, or pray that I get an exit row seat and get the most amount of sleep I can in economy.  Problem is, when I get off at the end I have 8 days of climbing the mountains of France and Italy on my bike so I want to be 'reasonably' fresh upon arrival.
Post by: D4D on November 30, 2014, 07:24:46 PM
Spend the $5K, I have flown lots of international flights and would never fly that leg economy. Unless you had a couple of days in Dubai and/or a couple of days at the other end to get over the zombie feeling.
Post by: Swannie on November 30, 2014, 07:27:21 PM
Spend the $5k john

Post by: Rob C on December 01, 2014, 03:53:04 PM
I would agree to spend the money. You will feel great at the end.
That is if you don,t spend the whole flight in the bar. ;D

Post by: achjimmy on December 01, 2014, 04:03:58 PM
Yep do it, Iam amazed it's only $5k extra.  I know it seems like a lot to some but half way through the journey jammed up in Y (economy class) you will not only pay$5k but hand over your first born and your nuts .
Post by: pinarelloman on December 02, 2014, 04:56:00 AM
Wow, has this topic got off the subject!
Originally speaking about aircraft weight, now it is about anything aircraft related.
I work for a major airline & instruct & train people in weight & balance for the aircraft types we fly.
A few facts for the plane nuts out there.
We use the following weights for our PAX
Adult 12yrs + 85kg
Child 2-12yrs 32kg
Inf 0kg
This includes their hand luggage.

Airbus A380
Max take off weight 569000kg
Max fuel uplift of approx 240000kg depending on fuel density or SG.
Aircraft basic weight of about 286000kg
PAX nbrs depending on config 484
Longest route currently flown is DFW-SYD approx 16hrs.

B747er
Mtow 412000

As you can see there is a massive difference in Max weight between the two.

Post by: D4D on December 02, 2014, 05:51:53 AM
I work for a major airline & instruct & train people in weight & balance for the aircraft types we fly.

Great, free upgrades for everyone :)
Post by: Nomad on December 02, 2014, 06:18:30 AM
Unfortunately Emirates doesn't have premium economy.

It's either spend the $5k, or pray that I get an exit row seat and get the most amount of sleep I can in economy.  Problem is, when I get off at the end I have 8 days of climbing the mountains of France and Italy on my bike so I want to be 'reasonably' fresh upon arrival.

If you go economy, Valium is your friend.
Post by: Oldandslow on December 02, 2014, 06:57:08 PM
Just got back from an eight day, 3000km snapshot of lower WA. Flight over was average but the flight back was well below. We jumped on some cheap Jetstar flights, $129 Sydney to Perth and used the trip to catch up with some friends and see a bit of the South West. The flight home was supposed to leave at 11pm but was an hour late. We paid a few dollars more for exit row seats, window and middle. My wife took the middle, she is only 60kg so the middle is usually no problem but unfortunately the isle seat was taken up by a woman that was large enough to take up two seats. She fell asleep as soon as we took off and spread into my wife's seat, she then proceeded to snore and fart for the entire flight to Sydney. We have flown a lot the past four years, visiting about 25 different countries but this was the worst flight by far.

I believe the airline has a duty of care to its passengers to make sure that another person can not infringe on the space that a passenger has paid for. If a passenger is too large to fit in a standard seat they should be required to pay for business class if available or buy two seats if it is not. If this is not suitable to them then they should take the train.

Post by: scarpsD40 on December 16, 2014, 09:30:12 PM
Woo hoo, just completed my last domestic flight for 2014. A few weeks with my feet on the ground and out with the smell of canvas will be a nice change to a pressurised aircraft cabin.
Post by: cheif carlos on December 17, 2014, 04:27:56 PM
JMy wife took the middle, she is only 60kg so the middle is usually no problem but unfortunately the isle seat was taken up by a woman that was large enough to take up two seats. She fell asleep as soon as we took off and spread into my wife's seat, she then proceeded to snore and fart for the entire flight to Sydney. We have flown a  the past four years, visiting about 25 different countries but this was the worst flight by far.

I believe the airline has a duty of care to its passengers to make sure that another person can not infringe on the space that a passenger has paid for. If a passenger is too large to fit in a standard seat they should be required to pay for business class if available or buy two seats if it is not. If this is not suitable to them then they should take the train.

I agree with you now I am not a small person and do just fit in a dash 8 seat but am always considerate of the person beside me......until today got on the plane had this arrogant businessman who thought he was better than me keep pushing me as I had the window seat. So then it was game on, had to go to the toilet twice in a 50 minute flight and then spread the wings to take up as much space a possible.
I treat anyone who sits next to me with respect until they give me the s...
Post by: D4D on December 28, 2014, 07:39:50 AM
End of an era for the 76', I have flown a lot of miles in these old girls...
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/the-last-qantas-boeing-767-dips-its-wings-in-emotional-farewell/story-fni0cx12-1227168041182 (http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/the-last-qantas-boeing-767-dips-its-wings-in-emotional-farewell/story-fni0cx12-1227168041182)
Post by: achjimmy on December 28, 2014, 10:27:06 AM
End of an era for the 76', I have flown a lot of miles in these old girls...
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/the-last-qantas-boeing-767-dips-its-wings-in-emotional-farewell/story-fni0cx12-1227168041182 (http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/the-last-qantas-boeing-767-dips-its-wings-in-emotional-farewell/story-fni0cx12-1227168041182)

Yep sad to see, I like (perfer) boeings. I flew in a "76" only a week before Xmas.
Post by: D4D on December 28, 2014, 10:29:44 AM
On a LAX-MEL trip in a 74' once I was sitting next to an older QF pilot, his comment was 'if it's not Boeing, I'm not going'. I hope the French have sorted out those Airbus'
Post by: Rogerthatv2 on December 28, 2014, 11:03:40 AM

On a LAX-MEL trip in a 74' once I was sitting next to an older QF pilot, his comment was 'if it's not Boeing, I'm not going'. I hope the French have sorted out those Airbus'

Coming back from Hong Kong last year and sat next to a Qantas GM PA, she said the same thing to me, funny thing was we were talking Skybed MK 1 and that we were in an ageing A330-300 talking about QF32.  Sat next to her on the flight over and the return, on the flight back she told me who she worked for, very enjoyable flights and lovely lady. She has just recently taken redundancy and still keep in contact.

Post by: D4D on December 28, 2014, 02:35:05 PM
Another Airbus missing...

Air Asia jet loses contact with air traffic control
http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/air-asia-jet-loses-contact-with-air-traffic-control/story-fnizu68q-1227168427005 (http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/air-asia-jet-loses-contact-with-air-traffic-control/story-fnizu68q-1227168427005)

An Air Asia jet has lost contact with air traffic control. 

The jet was travelling from Surabaya, Indonesia, to Singapore when contact was lost.

Sky News reports there are 155 passengers and six crew on-board Flight QZ8501.
Post by: achjimmy on December 28, 2014, 03:08:31 PM
Wtf is it with Malaysian based airlines this year!
Post by: Rogerthatv2 on December 28, 2014, 09:33:23 PM

Wtf is it with Malaysian based airlines this year!

Topic of discussion here in Borneo, thoughts go out to all on board and the families. We fly Air Asia on Wednesday to Hong Kong, fairly nervous girls travelling with us...

Post by: achjimmy on December 28, 2014, 09:38:51 PM
Mate she'll be right .
Post by: Rogerthatv2 on December 28, 2014, 10:45:26 PM

Mate she'll be right .

Fully agree - I am good - wife is a tad nervous, thoughts are with the families of all effected

Post by: Darren253 on December 31, 2014, 01:49:36 AM
I've been luck enough to do a significant amount of business class international travel with work to the U.S. and Europe. At 140kg I was dreading the economy trip on my ticket back to the UK for Xmas but I am pleased to report that I am presently surprised with the Emirates A380 economy. I have a good 2" more knee room than qantas and the seat must also be 1-2inches wider than other planes.
A pleasent surprise and I'm typing this post using the FREE onboard WIFi ????
Post by: Rogerthatv2 on December 31, 2014, 06:21:22 AM

How's the onboard speeds Darren?

Post by: Garfish on December 31, 2014, 07:54:21 PM
I've been luck enough to do a significant amount of business class international travel with work to the U.S. and Europe. At 140kg I was dreading the economy trip on my ticket back to the UK for Xmas but I am pleased to report that I am presently surprised with the Emirates A380 economy. I have a good 2" more knee room than qantas and the seat must also be 1-2inches wider than other planes.

Surprisingly a lot of the Asian carriers also have a larger pitch seat then QF.

I use this sometimes to check my seats

http://www.seatguru.com/charts/generalcharts.php (http://www.seatguru.com/charts/generalcharts.php)
Post by: achjimmy on December 31, 2014, 08:26:52 PM
Surprisingly a lot of the Asian carriers also have a larger pitch seat then QF.

I use this sometimes to check my seats

http://www.seatguru.com/charts/generalcharts.php (http://www.seatguru.com/charts/generalcharts.php)

Yep always use seat guru. There is so many configs of planes handy to work out your seating
Post by: berlitza on January 01, 2015, 12:14:44 AM
to o.p    no not sooo much
Post by: D4D on January 14, 2015, 07:53:41 AM
When did they shrink the seats on the 737? Very squishy on qf418 this morning.
Post by: Darren253 on January 14, 2015, 08:51:44 AM
When did they shrink the seats on the 737? Very squishy on qf418 this morning.

a little bit of extra Christmas "comfort"? :laugh:
Post by: gronk on January 15, 2015, 09:02:22 PM
Yep always use seat guru. There is so many configs of planes handy to work out your seating

Looked it up and found it very hard to work out what plane we are going on ??

Looked up timetable, but the plane "type" they list doesn't match up with the list on seat guru ?

We are flying with Virgin Australia, but operated by Delta airlines..

We are right up the arse end in the row with only 2 seats ( instead of 3 )...not on the dunny side...but hoping I can get some leg room towards the aisle ??

If we get to the airport early enough, I will still ask for an exit seat........but I still don't like the airlines attitude toward the customer....mainly that seeing as you are all sheep, you just take what we give you..... >:D
Post by: D4D on January 31, 2015, 06:47:52 AM
That's not a plane...this is a plane...
http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-advice/the-antonov-an-225-mriya-is-the-beast-of-the-skies/story-fn6yjmoc-1227202801015 (http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-advice/the-antonov-an-225-mriya-is-the-beast-of-the-skies/story-fn6yjmoc-1227202801015)

(http://resources3.news.com.au/images/2015/01/30/1227202/798799-dfbfe524-a81d-11e4-b4a3-9d4f296075c1.jpg)
Post by: Ozsnowman on January 31, 2015, 08:04:28 AM
That looks big enough to fit my arse in  ;D ;D :cup:
Post by: berlitza on February 01, 2015, 12:35:07 AM
That looks big enough to fit my arse in  ;D ;D :cup:

just about rite here too,,, to op,,,,,,no!!
Post by: scarpsD40 on February 13, 2015, 01:54:44 PM
It's been 2 months since I've been on a domestic flight. Just hope my ass hasn't grown...
Post by: gronk on March 02, 2015, 06:13:05 PM
As far as turning up early and asking for an exit seat, does that apply for domestic flights in America as well ??
Post by: achjimmy on March 02, 2015, 06:20:16 PM
As far as turning up early and asking for an exit seat, does that apply for domestic flights in America as well ??

Mate US domestic airlines are the pits. Have you booked your flights? Sometimes you can get a good deal on first class, don't get to excited it's a far cry from even business class but the seats can be wider. Also make sure you log your relevant FF number with the airline, you can make good on points, delta will allocate points to Virgin etc.
Post by: achjimmy on March 02, 2015, 06:27:13 PM
Fwiw I just returned from LA and bidded for an upgrade with virgin.  I bought premium economy return SYD LAX SYD for $2150 and bidded $1200 on the return leg for an upgrade and got it. So that was $1200 one way PE and $2400 return to sleep for 7 hrs of the 14 hr flight, laying flat, and spend the other 7 stretched out Awesome. So it's acheivable.

As a bonus I returned on the last day of Feb, and all my points expired on 1st March. But I just made Platinum with a few points to spare  ;D so that's platinum with Vermin and Qaintass  :cheers:  :cheers:
Post by: gronk on March 02, 2015, 06:48:52 PM
I don't do points or anything...might not fly again for 4 yrs !!

I just don't want to have my legs jammed against the seat in front if I can somehow snag an exit seat !
Post by: D4D on March 21, 2015, 02:51:27 PM
I might start flying BA ;D

http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/woman-strips-performs-mile-high-sex-act/story-e6frfq80-1227272561627 (http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/woman-strips-performs-mile-high-sex-act/story-e6frfq80-1227272561627)

Passengers on a British Airways flight this week got a whole lot more than they bargained for when a woman decided to heat up the skies. 

The 46-year-old woman, who was allegedly drunk, disrupted the Jamaica to London flight by stripping and exposing herself to everyone on board.

She then proceeded to perform a solo sex act, according to a witness.
Post by: achjimmy on March 21, 2015, 03:08:36 PM
I might start flying BA ;D

http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/woman-strips-performs-mile-high-sex-act/story-e6frfq80-1227272561627 (http://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/woman-strips-performs-mile-high-sex-act/story-e6frfq80-1227272561627)

Passengers on a British Airways flight this week got a whole lot more than they bargained for when a woman decided to heat up the skies. 

The 46-year-old woman, who was allegedly drunk, disrupted the Jamaica to London flight by stripping and exposing herself to everyone on board.

She then proceeded to perform a solo sex act, according to a witness.

Iam with you Jamie  :cheers:

Where's all the passengers with smart phone vids?
Post by: woftam on October 31, 2015, 06:20:16 PM
Flew for this first time in ages this week.
Port Macquarie to Brisbane via ATR 72.
Window seat, vacant seat alongside - nice.
Brisbane to Cairns, Virgin again 737.
Aisle seat, screaming & seat kicking two year old behind - not nice.
Cairns to Coen by Skytrans.
Out to the plane expecting their Dash 8, only 8 passengers so getting some space shouldn't be a problem.
Arrive at plane to find it's shrunk to around King Air size. Turns out the Dash 8 was in the open when the hail storm hit Chinchilla and is looking a bit secondhand.
Ah well at least everyone gets a window seat
Post by: D4D on February 03, 2016, 06:38:53 PM
Tonight it happened, I was minding my own business in an aisle seat half asleep waiting for take off, I then hear the words 'Excuse me, I need to get in there'. I look up and there it is, the yeti's mother. I thought in my head, there's no way you're going to fit in that seat, and then it was done, she squeezed in like a rubber duck being sucked down a bath plug hole. As I was standing in the aisle, I could feel all the other passengers' eyes on me, they were all thinking 'thank fark that's not me'. I had to look on the bright side lucky it was only CBR-MEL and not PER-MEL :'(
Post by: scrapsD40 on February 03, 2016, 06:39:59 PM

Tonight it happened, I was minding my own business in an aisle seat half asleep waiting for take off, I then hear the words 'Excuse me, I need to get in there'. I look up and there it is, the yeti's mother. I thought in my head, there's no way you're going to fit in that seat, and then it was done she squeezed in like a rubber duck being sucked down a bath plug hole. As I was standing in the aisle, I could feel all the other passengers' eyes on me, they were all thinking 'thank fark that's not me' :(
lol......
Post by: Brutus on February 03, 2016, 07:10:51 PM
Tonight it happened, I was minding my own business in an aisle seat half asleep waiting for take off, I then hear the words 'Excuse me, I need to get in there'. I look up and there it is, the yeti's mother. I thought in my head, there's no way you're going to fit in that seat, and then it was done, she squeezed in like a rubber duck being sucked down a bath plug hole. As I was standing in the aisle, I could feel all the other passengers' eyes on me, they were all thinking 'thank fark that's not me'. I had to look on the bright side lucky it was only CBR-MEL and not PER-MEL :'(
She probably got off the plane and told everyone about the hot dude she sat beside ;D
Post by: Swannie on February 03, 2016, 07:13:59 PM
Started Adelaide this morning, flew to Perth, now sitting in the lovely 1F to return to Melbourne 3states 1 day
Post by: achjimmy on February 03, 2016, 08:03:15 PM
feel for you
Post by: achjimmy on February 03, 2016, 08:06:54 PM

lol did she get your number mate? she maybe waiting for you?

Post by: xcvator on February 03, 2016, 10:01:49 PM
(http://aussiedistiller.com.au/images/smilies/puke/huge.gif)(http://aussiedistiller.com.au/images/smilies/puke/huge.gif)(http://aussiedistiller.com.au/images/smilies/puke/huge.gif)(http://aussiedistiller.com.au/images/smilies/puke/huge.gif)(http://aussiedistiller.com.au/images/smilies/puke/huge.gif)(http://aussiedistiller.com.au/images/smilies/puke/huge.gif)(http://aussiedistiller.com.au/images/smilies/puke/huge.gif)