General => General Discussion => Topic started by: KieranR on February 01, 2014, 10:02:54 AM

Title: New car (for my mate) what to choose
Post by: KieranR on February 01, 2014, 10:02:54 AM
So my mate has been talking about a vasectomy for 4 years since thier last kid was born, but he was too scared to get it done, and now they have a little unexpected surprise due in about 7.5 months which makes 4 kids.  So they need to upgrade one of their cars as they currently own 2 dunnydores, he's keeping his bogan ss and going to trade in her SV6.  obveiously it needs to be 6 or 7 seater but he really is not sure as he has only ever owned commodores.  Does anyone have any info on what is out there or feedback on any of the below, he's just sent me through this list (it's not indepth)

He doesnt have the money to go for something like a Landcruiser or Patrol, they are looking at new though as they will more than likely lease the vehicle through salary sacrifice. although they will ocnsider second hand if the right deal comes along. Budget is somewhere around the 40-50k

Captiva
Kluger
T T T T T T Territory (his stutter comes out when mention of a ford)
Isuzu MU-X
Honda Oddysey
Kia Sportage
Pathfinder

Would love a 200 series but the budget wont go there as they also have house reno's or new house purchase they have to look at also.

Any info would be great so i can pass onto him
He is now booked in for a vasectomy!
Title: Re: New car (for my mate) what to choose
Post by: Goose on February 01, 2014, 10:20:09 AM
Most of the 7 seat medium and large SUVs are ok but only suit occasional 7 seat use. Its hard to use them as a 7 seat full time. Lots of climbing into the back seat via the rear door or over the middle row. It trashes the interior and you loose boot space depending upon the model.

With that many young kids I'd def recommend he go second hand. And in his price range you easily pickup a xlarge SUV such as patrol or 200 in great condition and have no issue with space.
Post by: Mace on February 01, 2014, 10:36:58 AM
Kia sorrento instead of a sportage. That and the Freddy kleuger are the pick of the bunch IMO if he doesn't want a full on 4x4 .

Post by: dirtpilot on February 01, 2014, 10:38:21 AM
Depends if off road use in on the cards. If it is, the only one is the Izuzu. Strech to 50k and a Patrol could be the go, might be slightly used or a demo.
Post by: mrdenn1s on February 01, 2014, 11:58:07 AM
I have a Kia Sorento 7 seater diesel.

Can't fault it.

If I was buying now, would look heavily at the Isuzu MU-X
Post by: sunshine on February 01, 2014, 12:24:54 PM
 x2  the Kia Sorrento  diesel
just picked up a 2013 model ..first new car for us
does everything for us ..towing wise ..7 seater
5 year fixed servicing ..5 years road assist

and youre not buying other peoples problems
very happy Kia owners

cheers mick
Post by: evolution on February 01, 2014, 01:23:16 PM
Any reason the pajero didn't make the list. You could buy a cracker for that budget!

Evo
Post by: Stozz on February 01, 2014, 01:49:23 PM
Agree re the Pajero. You get a lot for your money.

I was one very unhappy Kia Sorento owner. Lovely car but don't count on Kia if something turns out wrong with it.  I know there are lemons, but I could never recommend a Kia to anyone since my experience with the company.

Post by: KieranR on February 01, 2014, 01:54:57 PM
Any reason the pajero didn't make the list. You could buy a cracker for that budget!

Evo

Yep he didnt put it in the list he sent me, i'll pass it on to him, thanks
Post by: heath74 on February 01, 2014, 02:01:30 PM
 Prado would be an option, and the 4l petrol might suit him, going by his other cars!

But also a Pajero would be a great option.
Post by: achjimmy on February 01, 2014, 02:02:17 PM
On the list can't go last the Kluger. Doing great deals on runout I hear too.

If he wants a capable 4x4 the Pajero is great and again fantastic deals.
Post by: KieranR on February 01, 2014, 02:25:25 PM
Im trying to convince him into a 4wd, he's not a 4wd or camping type of fella but his wife loves that stuff, i think i might be slowly convincing him (very slowly).
Post by: TheWall on February 01, 2014, 02:44:25 PM
Challenger 7 seaters are in the 30's now. Used Prado would be good value as well
Post by: dirtpilot on February 01, 2014, 02:50:09 PM
Challenger runs the same mechanicals as Tritons. Avoid at all costs. Petrol Prado sounds good.
Post by: grafy82 on February 01, 2014, 03:28:08 PM
Tell him to check too as some lease companies allow you to buy second hand up to 5 years old. That would put a lot more vehicles in his price range.
Post by: Mace on February 01, 2014, 03:31:21 PM
Tell him to check too as some lease companies allow you to buy second hand up to 5 years old. That would put a lot more vehicles in his price range.

Yep, correct, but some like mine (leaseplan) also say that the vehicle must be less than 7 years old at the end of lease period.
Post by: Nomad on February 01, 2014, 08:24:11 PM
My friends with 4 (2yo to 12yo) kids have a Kluger and a roofpod for longer trips. The Kluger is by far more family friendly internally than a Prado.

Post by: GeoffA on February 01, 2014, 08:35:35 PM
If he doesn't have the money to buy outright, why buy new and salary sacrifice? It's still gunna cost serious $$$$ in the long run.
What about an early GU 4.5L Patrol or 100 Series 4.5L petrol Cruiser? They're 7 seaters, and VERY cheap to buy, especially privately. Yes, they chew juice, but they're TOUGH as nails, and depreciation will be just about zero.

http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35030.0;topicseen (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=35030.0;topicseen)

Just another view to consider......
Post by: Brij on February 02, 2014, 08:42:20 AM
Downside of the Pajero (post 2000 models anyway) is the single bench 3rd row seat so you either have seating for 5 with luggage space, or seating for seven with no luggage space, no in between 6 seat with some luggage space options.

I think most of the other 7 seaters have the 3rd row seats that have individual 6th and 7th seats that fold to the sides so you only need to have one seat in position (as a 6 seater) and can retain some luggage space beside it.

Peter
Post by: dazzler on February 03, 2014, 09:17:08 AM
Agree re the Pajero. You get a lot for your money.

Good choice. 
Post by: dazzler on February 03, 2014, 09:19:21 AM
If there is no need for 4wd then second hand Tarago or Hyundai Imax.

We hired a newish Tarago last year and the space for us six was amazing.
Post by: Matto on February 03, 2014, 12:57:20 PM
If there is no need for 4wd then second hand Tarago or Hyundai Imax.

+1 - don't discount the Kia Grand Carnival either. Heaps of car for your money. Earlier ones could have a touchy throttle, so test-drive first to see if you can live with it. The diesel would be nice - the old v6 was a bit thirsty. The convertible seating in the back is absolute gold for long road trips with kids

(http://www.kia.com.au/showroom/~/media/kia/car/car%20details/grand%20carnival/grandcarnivalred_my14b_514x270.ashx)

(http://www.kia.com.au/showroom/~/media/kia/car/car%20details/grand%20carnival/carnival_2_204x200.ashx?h=200&w=204)

I like the new Pathfinder. It's not a 4WD by any sense of the word any more, more a Kluger competitor. I reckon they look good and so far everyone I've spoken to who has drive one, has nice things to say about them. Rumor is that Nissan will be releasing a Hybrid version soon, which would be good as a town car.

(http://www.goauto.com.au/mellor/mellor.nsf/story2/817DD99A63A9292ACA257C16000B4401/$file/Nissan_Pathfinder_Large.jpg?OpenElement)

Good luck.
Post by: NewieCamper on February 03, 2014, 02:07:21 PM
Cross the captiva off the list if you want to cart a stroller around and still use the back seats. That is one of the reasons we got rid of ours, started taking extra kids to school, soccer etc and when the third row is in use there wasn't enough room for the stroller, except on the floor behind the front seats. Upgraded to a pathfinder, last model not the new one, and it has a more usable space behind the third row. The seats fold flat into the floor when not in use which is great, and common to lots of SUV 7seaters.

I looked at a prado and the seats that fold up to the sides looked like a pain in the ... . A mate who recommended the pathfinder to us also thought that the pathfinder was more spacious inside than the prado when they got theirs in 2010, not to mention the pathfinder being a bit cheaper.

We also didn't like the idea of the rear row in a pajero being two seats or none, compromised luggage space too much.
Post by: dazzler on February 03, 2014, 03:22:45 PM
Cross the captiva off the list if you want to cart a stroller around and still use the back seats.

And not well respected by mechanics either.
Post by: ako on February 03, 2014, 04:07:10 PM
Downside of the Pajero (post 2000 models anyway) is the single bench 3rd row seat so you either have seating for 5 with luggage space, or seating for seven with no luggage space, no in between 6 seat with some luggage space options.

I think most of the other 7 seaters have the 3rd row seats that have individual 6th and 7th seats that fold to the sides so you only need to have one seat in position (as a 6 seater) and can retain some luggage space beside it.

Peter

Peter is bang on here. Wife has a 7 seater pajero for freighting kids around. If the 3rd row seat is up, we can't even fit a pram in the back. People with a new baby need a pram.

In a Patrol I would remove one of the 3rd row seats, leaving a bit of space for luggage and the older kid in the back can let themselves in and out.
Post by: Landyline on February 03, 2014, 04:54:26 PM
Peter is bang on here. Wife has a 7 seater pajero for freighting kids around. If the 3rd row seat is up, we can't even fit a pram in the back. People with a new baby need a pram.

In a Patrol I would remove one of the 3rd row seats, leaving a bit of space for luggage and the older kid in the back can let themselves in and out.

If you have the back seat deployed you can put your shopping under the floor where the seat normally resides.
You can't put a pram or fridge in there but it is a good space all the same.

We pulled the seat out entirely. Although we don't have four kids (or three or two)
Post by: Landyline on February 03, 2014, 04:55:55 PM
Unless I really wanted a 4wd I wouldn't buy a 4wd for the 7 seats. A people mover is so much more practical.
Post by: NewieCamper on February 03, 2014, 07:58:37 PM
And not well respected by mechanics either.

Reason number two for selling. :) was getting a few niggling electrical gremlins. I also found a bolt on the floor of the garage at one time, the rear drive shaft bolts had become loose and 'luckily' one fell out on there floor otherwise....?
Post by: crackacoldie on February 03, 2014, 09:42:05 PM
Has he had a look at the Colorado7, heard some good reports on them and it keeps his garage Holden friendly.
Post by: Spartan on February 04, 2014, 12:55:22 AM
You could put the Hyundai Santa Fe on the list too. Same thing as the Kia pretty much.

I don't think it would matter what 7 seater SUV type of thing he buys, they all have the problem of bugger all luggage space in the back when using the third row of seats.

I reckon, the only way around it would be a dedicated people mover like the Hyundai Imax or similar.
Post by: smartyingreen on February 04, 2014, 08:41:49 AM
You also need to consider the number of kids booster seats you are putting in. Many of these SUV will struggle width ways if you need to go 3 across, let alone your access to rear seats. I tend to sadly have to agree that if you don't want 4x4 capability then the people movers are the way to go! Thankfully we have stopped at three!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Post by: Pipeliner on February 04, 2014, 08:53:20 AM
My daughter bought a Territory when she learned that her second child was actually going to be twins, as at the time (2006) it was the only car in her price range which could fit 3 child seats across the back seat.  Last year she traded it in for a 7-seat Prius which she loves (children are now 7 and nearly 10).  Try adding that to the list.  She loves the fact that her fuel bills are now a fraction of what they were.

The majority of taxis in Brisbane are now Prius or Camry hybrid, which must say something about their running costs.
Post by: Brumbypt on February 04, 2014, 09:10:48 AM
how many seats are the colorado, he might be happy to stick with holden

a 105 series would be my choice,

the callenger thats been mention, they are prooving to be a great little 4wd too.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.4 using Tapatalk HD
Post by: Diesel Power on February 04, 2014, 03:23:12 PM
JCOJ has a nice Pajero up for sale.
Post by: Pipeliner on February 04, 2014, 03:38:24 PM
how many seats are the colorado, he might be happy to stick with holden

Don't you mean Daewoo?  Holden (i.e. the Australian arm of General Motors) only make the Cruze and the Dunnydore variants - they've never made a 4wd.

Think about who makes them, not what badge is stuck on the front.