General => General Discussion => Topic started by: briann532 on January 28, 2014, 09:24:10 PM
I listed my camper on gumtree tonight and have received a text from someone.
It says" Hi mate, just viewed your van online, Pls confirm the selling price to my email address: blah blah blah..@ blah blah....
email pls"
Do you think this is a scam?
Should I respond? and if so what harm is there is giving away my already listed email adress?
Thanks for any help,
I say yes
but play along, what do you have to lose?
Sounds a bit dodge. Does the email address look like something legit?
just dont click on any links they may send you. I had a few scams on fleabay asking if the product I had listed was similar to another product in a link they provided. The link will go to a mirror ebay site and ask you to log in. ta-daaaa, they have your username and password.
some ppl cant understand how to see all of the email address in the gum tree ads.
I would give all the details of the van and say the email address is on the site.
or just continue to communicate via the gum tree messaging system.
or if worried pull the ad and just stick with the trading post and EBAY..
or search facebook for a local buy sell group and sell ya stuff on that.
Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.4 using Tapatalk HD
On the other hand, he could just be dipping a toe in to check you are not a Nigerian scammer.
If the info is already listed it won't hurt to email a confirmation to him.
That's the exact same email I got for my camper add.
I always use gumtree but always put in big bold letters that I will only speak on the phone and will not reply to sms/email. If you are serious then ring my mobile.
If they are serious they will ring.
Proceed through Gumtree buy just be cautious that it could be a scam...
Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
If they are serious they will ring.
Scam.... my old man listed his caravan last week and got a very similar text. He then sent an email to the scammer, who gave some story about being offshore and unable to view the van.
Search Gumtree scam and you will have plenty of reading material.
This link explains how it works
https://help.gumtree.com.au/knowledgebase.php?article=201
Ignore the message, its not from a genuine buyer. I've sold a bit of stuff on gumtree and this does happen occasionally. If someone really wants to have a gander at the goods, they contact you via a phone call.
Sent an email on the weekend asking what year a camper was built as they didn't have it listed and got a reply not worth a call.
Really depends on what the msg is I would say and what your selling I like to deal via email but for something considerable $$$ I would be visiting to view first.
It says" Hi mate, just viewed your van online, Pls confirm the selling price to my email address: blah blah blah..@ blah blah....
email pls"
Should I respond? and if so what harm is there is giving away my already listed email adress?
Thanks for any help,
Another thing you can do Brian is set up a separate email on outllok.com or say gmail when selling something just make it Briansgumtree_add@gmail.com or something like that, this way you not sharing you email with the world use it for all your adds.
If it has links and stuff in it then bin it otherwise send the info back no harm as they already have you email address anyway, you could be doing yourself out of a sale he may also think that the add is a scam and is just asking for confirmation.
It is a scam. Just ignore it. It won't be the last shonky email you will receive.
Another thing you can do Brian is set up a separate email on outllok.com or say gmail when selling something just make it Briansgumtree_add@gmail.com or something like that, this way you not sharing you email with the world use it for all your adds.
If it has links and stuff in it then bin it otherwise send the info back no harm as they already have you email address anyway, you could be doing yourself out of a sale he may also think that the add is a scam and is just asking for confirmation.
Yep this is what I do. Only problem is its often so long between selling things I forget the gmail login and then create another one. Got an email from gmail the other day listing the 12 email accounts linked to my main email . :-\
I only ever communicate via gumtree..........for the items I have sold, the keen buyers text or phone.
I didn't put enough on two items.....at least six calls for each item within a few hours, items were paid for and picked up within 24hrs
Yep this is what I do. Only problem is its often so long between selling things I forget the gmail login and then create another one. Got an email from gmail the other day listing the 12 email accounts linked to my main email . :-\
lol Jimmy, I have a folder in my main account called email User names and Passwords for that very reason.
I only ever communicate via gumtree..........for the items I have sold, the keen buyers text or phone.
I didn't put enough on two items.....at least six calls for each item within a few hours, items were paid for and picked up within 24hrs
Dont feel bad about it feel good, I would say you priced them accordingly got what you wanted and didn't rip the person off, that's a good thing as if you price them high and people just watch and when they see you dropping the price they then ask for even more off.
email pls"
Thanks for any help,
Definite scam. Similar to these 2 replies from Gumtree
(http://i896.photobucket.com/albums/ac168/evans052/scam_zpsebc35e17.jpg) (http://s896.photobucket.com/user/evans052/media/scam_zpsebc35e17.jpg.html)
(http://i896.photobucket.com/albums/ac168/evans052/scam2_zps1f542cf1.jpg) (http://s896.photobucket.com/user/evans052/media/scam2_zps1f542cf1.jpg.html)
I tried to sell a leather lounge on gumtree! local pickup only.
Received an email from a UK hotmail adreess for a person allegedly living in Holland who just had to have ny leather lounge and for me to email urgently.
So many scam responses that now, I won't touch Gumtree with a barge pole.
Dont feel bad about it feel good, I would say you priced them accordingly got what you wanted and didn't rip the person off, that's a good thing as if you price them high and people just watch and when they see you dropping the price they then ask for even more off.
yeah e were happy with what we got........I was just surprised by the interest. if we had higher prices on them we could very well be still stuck with them, $900 in my pocket is better than somebody elses
So many scam responses that now, I won't touch Gumtree with a barge pole.
Agree. This is too funny!! Theres one of these threads every couple of days. I don't even look at scamtree when buying stuff as majority of it seems like scams.
but sadly the long term picture for Ebay owners is to have Ebay for business and Scamtree for private buyers..
I treat most enquiries as genuine and haven't had a scam call yet, it can perhaps be the way you word your advertising. I put up an add last week for my excavator/bobcat/truck and have had 4 enquiries , 1 text with relevant questions, 2 asking if I'll sell them items seperately ( legitimate question) 1 asked a lot of questions, had a look on Sunday morning and left a deposit big enough not to want to lose it.
Same thing with my 1st little kayak, couple of tester texts, ie, will you give the yak away, will you sell it for x, for these I had a standard reply "ha,ha,ha,...........NO" I received 1 reply to this text " ok, calm down you don't have to shout " 2 other phone calls, both legitimate, 2nd 1( a girl ) asked if I'd sell at $380 answered no but I'll take $450 (asking $475) sold!!! Was a late birthday present for boy friend
So, while I'm not saying that there aren't any scammers out there, you just have to let them know in advance that you are aware of them.
My rules are pretty simple and are allways spelt out in the adds
1/ Positively NO Paypal or Credit Cards
2/ No Scammers, I've got a very short fuse
3/ Payment will be Cash,or Bank Transfer or Bank Chq ( will require 5 days clearance)
These rules will generally keep scammers away because they want to get your stuff for nothing or even get your stuff for nothing and money out of your account
good shopping
cheers :cheers:
Definite scam. Similar to these 2 replies from Gumtree
(http://i896.photobucket.com/albums/ac168/evans052/scam_zpsebc35e17.jpg) (http://s896.photobucket.com/user/evans052/media/scam_zpsebc35e17.jpg.html)
(http://i896.photobucket.com/albums/ac168/evans052/scam2_zps1f542cf1.jpg) (http://s896.photobucket.com/user/evans052/media/scam2_zps1f542cf1.jpg.html)
Not having a go at you, but, how did you know these were scammers if you didn't reply ?
I have seen things advertised on G/T and the T/P that I took a note of and waited for a couple of weeks after the add went off air and then called the advertiser to see if it was still for sale and, bingo, it was and I got a good price. Does that make me a scammer or just a smart buyer
Scam. I received the same message when selling our camper last month. I have found you will get (automated) scam texts within minutes of posting an ad. One even asked me what the price was and the condition of the van! If they read the ad it's all there, especially the price seeing as it is usually the first thing in an ad! And they send a text but only want a reply to an e-mail, and if you have a look at the number the text comes from, it's not a normal style of number.
Not having a go at you, but, how did you know these were scammers if you didn't reply ?
if you google you'll see the wording is the same in 100's of SMS's..
And I think people who are serious would call, not SMS
Scam. I received the same message when selling our camper last month. I have found you will get (automated) scam texts within minutes of posting an ad. One even asked me what the price was and the condition of the van! If they read the ad it's all there, especially the price seeing as it is usually the first thing in an ad! And they send a text but only want a reply to an e-mail, and if you have a look at the number the text comes from, it's not a normal style of number.
X2 when I put the camper on the market a few weeks ago. Word for word..............scam for scam!
I have seen things advertised on G/T and the T/P that I took a note of and waited for a couple of weeks after the add went off air and then called the advertiser to see if it was still for sale and, bingo, it was and I got a good price. Does that make me a scammer or just a smart buyer
I've posted a little bit of stuff on gumtree and get the same messages. Also i want selling a van as per the first message received. Also both ask for a "firm price" and "condition". That's Nigerian scammer lingo.
Thanks for all the replies.
It seems the consensus is, its a scammer.
I will probably end up taking it off and listing on caravancampingsales.com.au instead.
Thanks everyone,
No need to give up on it. The scams seem to happen at the start and then that's it. As mentioned before anyone really keen will ring or will make proper contact with you.
I will probably end up taking it off and listing on caravancampingsales.com.au instead.
Thanks everyone,
No need to remove it. You're doing yourself out of free advertising. It's not a constant thing.
Thanks everyone,
I sold our Jayco Hawk a few months back.
I advertised on Gumtree and Trading Post.
Definitely got more response from Gumtree, and the guy that bought the camper was through Gumtree.
Got a couple of scam emails within hours of listing and then rest were genuine enquiries by telephone.
The most frustrating thing was people saying but I get get a new one for this much money.
.... Yeah a bare bones Jayco with no fruit.
Stick to your price and a genuine buyer that knows what things are worth will eventually show up.
All the best with the sale mate.
Thanks everyone,
don't remove the ad Brian, Gumtree is still a good place to sell it, you just need to ignore the scammers.
i sold a caravan on there a few years back, got atleast 4 scammers sending me text messages (one guy sent several), but in the end several genuine buyers rang the number i listed and asked questions, before one then came and inspected it and bought it. my rule is is ignore the text messages for the most part, anyone who is super serious usually rings.
I use Gumtree all the time, have sold about 30 items on it, including a $30,000 car.
My add always says
"CALLS ONLY. Txt and emails ignored"
Funny thing is, women will always send a text, even though they read the add, then call the next day saying that they had sent the txt, to which I say, yes and I ignored it.
Blokes, well, they always call.
The dodgy folk will always ask a question I find, so I put all the info you would wish to know about the item for sale plus heaps of pics, then there is no need to ask questions.
Oh, and at the same time, there are 2 types of calls.
Item for sale is $25, a kids slide.
Call 1. Hey coussy bro, you take $12 for it??? (think kiwi accent)
Call 2. G'day mate, whats ya address, and when ya home?
don't remove the ad Brian, Gumtree is still a good place to sell it, you just need to ignore the scammers.
i sold a caravan on there a few years back, got atleast 4 scammers sending me text messages (one guy sent several), but in the end several genuine buyers rang the number i listed and asked questions, before one then came and inspected it and bought it. my rule is is ignore the text messages for the most part, anyone who is super serious usually rings.
Agree. After the old man worked out it was a scam, the very next day he got a call and a bloke came round for an inspection, a handshake was done and the same evening the fella turned up with cash.
Now I'm totally convinced........
Who the bloody hell needs anything else other than "myswag"
SWMBO (occasionally) said yeah right what would they know..........................
WELL APPARENTLY - A LOT............
Thanks guys and girls.
Seriously, a lot of info, helpful folk, juicy gossip (roaming chairs and the like) light hearted banter, group therapy (daily rant and others) general interests (some suit some don't - but photography, guns, 4wds RC hobbies, sheds....etc)
No wonder I spend so much time here........
Thanks all,
Now I'm totally convinced........
Who the bloody hell needs anything else other than "myswag"
SWMBO (occasionally) said yeah right what would they know..........................
WELL APPARENTLY - A LOT............
Thanks guys and girls.
Seriously, a lot of info, helpful folk, juicy gossip (roaming chairs and the like) light hearted banter, group therapy (daily rant and others) general interests (some suit some don't - but photography, guns, 4wds RC hobbies, sheds....etc)
No wonder I spend so much time here........
Thanks all,
Good result. :cup:
Remember the days of the old Trading Post paper. If you were after something that sold pretty quickly, you'd get to the newsagent at sparrowsfart on a Thursday and try to be the first to call. No emails or texts, just a landline call to try and catch the seller before they left for work.
Not to mention spending the next few days thumbing though nearly all the sections.
Jousting Sticks.... "What's he asking?"
Tell hin he's dreamin
gordo350
Same here. I received a few scams SMS like that....I didn't respond.
catch the seller before they left for work.
No wonder I always missed out, due to starting work early, I could only call in the arvo's, with no answer......
http://whocallsme.com/Phone-Number.aspx/61428465117/28 (http://whocallsme.com/Phone-Number.aspx/61428465117/28)
its amazing how many hits you get when you google for 'gumtree scam'....
........., and if you have a look at the number the text comes from, it's not a normal style of number.
Nothing wrong with the numbers. +61 means Australia swap it with a 0 and you have a mobile number. If you have an iphone have a look in contacts. AT the very top your phone number appears the same way (or at least mine does)
Some carriers send the mobile number different like that. I have some phone contacts in my phone u saved from friends messages that look the same.
As for the content of the message I don't know.
If I look at things on eBay gumtree cars ales etc I sometimes deal via email because of the hours I work o
No wonder I always missed out, due to starting work early, I could only call in the arvo's, with no answer......
Back in the late 60's or early 70's. My best mates old man scored a rust free, complete 34 Ford coupe for $200 out of the Saturday Age classifieds. Called the bloke at 6am and picked it up at 7am. The blokes house phone was running hot when he was loading it onto the trailer with some crazy offers. It's still sitting in his shed to this day gathering dust and $$$'s.
As for Gumtree. I've tried buying 3 things from there. A camper which was legit, a set of Hilux mags and a new unused nail gun with a receipt from Total Tools. The bloke with the mags wanted to drop them off at my house and the nail gun bloke wanted to meet at Macca's. Both declined to give me their home address before meeting... Thanks but no thanks!
I must apologise I then checked the gumtree scam link from one of the posts. Turns out the phone numbers may be dodgy, from an online program.
The bloke with the mags wanted to drop them off at my house and the nail gun bloke wanted to meet at Macca's. Both declined to give me their home address before meeting... Thanks but no thanks!
Not uncommon I do that as well, I have sold a few items at the local servo you can never be sure of who you are dealing with but I would bet my ass a lot of thieves do this as well.
Scam texts are the norm on these sites,much like the Nigerian emails, has been this way for years.
The only solution is to only have phone responses,nothing else is foolproof.