General => General Discussion => Topic started by: edz on January 20, 2014, 09:35:57 PM

Title: On the job .
Post by: edz on January 20, 2014, 09:35:57 PM
Well a milestone was reached for me today, As of 9 AM I have served 20 years at my place of work.
Seen a lot of workers come and go and enjoyed company of some realy great co-workers , Saw off a couple of CEO'S and numerous managers, seen a hell of a lot of inept  Brown toungue types rise swiftly to positions of authority.
Endured the dismantling of  motivated core staff  to a skeleton staff and an ocean of disposable uninterested newbies.
But all in all its kept us fed and housed all this time though not without injury ..
As I am starting to say to those at work " One day, maybe soon,  it will all just be a memory "...... Time for a beer methinks ..
                       So how many years do you have up at your place of employment ?.
Title: Re: On the job .
Post by: muzza01 on January 20, 2014, 09:50:43 PM
2 years for this employer.  Prior to this job, 23 years with my previous employer.
Post by: HoMErMY12 on January 20, 2014, 09:57:16 PM
I did 7 years then left. 3 months later came back, and I'm up to just over 7 years again. But I'm ready to leave and try something new.
Post by: kylarama on January 20, 2014, 10:02:54 PM
Congrats edz.  I'm a long termer too.  On the 6th Feb, I clock up 19 years.
Post by: Nomad on January 20, 2014, 10:05:44 PM
I did just under 10 years with my first and only employer, they got bought out by a multi national and I waved bye bye after a long term agreement was dishonored. Prior to that worked in the family business from about 10.
Am my own boss these days. Sort of.
Post by: Pog on January 20, 2014, 10:10:28 PM
Last week I clocked up 12 years with my current employer. First job out of Uni.
Title: On the job .
Post by: scarps on January 20, 2014, 10:11:41 PM
4 companies to date with 8years (approx) at each. Working on another 8 years to retirement.
Apart from the constant interstate travel, not too unhappy with current role and employer, but agree on the change of CEO's and the demolition of a very capable and skilled team all in the name of advancement.  While I don't mind change (as more often than not it's good for business), I do get disollusioned with the way companies play with people's lives, forcing some very capable people to leave just to bring in a new person who then doesn't last more than 2years and potentially does more damage than good!
Post by: alnjan on January 20, 2014, 10:13:21 PM
Early February will be 31 yrs and my body is telling me enough is enough
Post by: chisel on January 20, 2014, 10:24:09 PM
Up to 21 years at my current employer for me - although we've been taken over by new companies 4 times now so 5 different companies in a way (still maintained long service leave throughout).
Post by: Barry G on January 20, 2014, 10:35:23 PM
17 years in the industry, 9 years with current employer as of 4th April.

Unfortunately the brown nose sycophants seem to progress in many fields.

Concepts such as acting with equity and good conscience seem to be entirely lost to 'corporate memory' these days, in my experience.
Post by: smartyingreen on January 20, 2014, 11:20:56 PM
13 1/2 years with my current employer. Can't see that changing anytime soon.  Guess if ya love what you do why change!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Post by: speewa158 on January 21, 2014, 05:14:11 AM
l have spent 23 years working for a 1/2 witted , bad tempered , disorganised , drunken bludger  that's the down side .
The upside is there are perks to being a self employed sole trader  :cup:     :cheers:
Post by: Swannie on January 21, 2014, 05:42:19 AM
Been 19 years and my only employer since I finished school
Post by: KieranR on January 21, 2014, 05:58:09 AM
I work in Construction, Normally as a self employed contractor, change jobs as often as I change my undies! just looked at it for the last 12 months, 4 job changes, keeps it interesting.
Post by: D4D on January 21, 2014, 06:03:29 AM
Well done, 20 years is a big effort, I've just done 14 years and resigned at the start Jan.
Post by: Clouty on January 21, 2014, 06:11:40 AM
When I do work ;D I work in civil construction so the maximum of years that I'm in one spot is 3 years..
Post by: griz066 on January 21, 2014, 06:43:55 AM
Got 2 days casual work to dig a trench for some electrical cabling on 3/3/83 and never left, so will clock up 31 years this year. Worked my way up through the ranks to Manager and just love the job the lifestyle, & the people who own the business are fantastic. Unless something drastic happens another 17 years will see me in the same job at retirement. :cheers:
Post by: TOPNDR on January 21, 2014, 06:52:07 AM
19 years for me in June 2014.  Prior to that I'd not worked for longer than 2½ years any where in my then 21 years in the workforce.
Post by: 02-SR5 on January 21, 2014, 07:15:25 AM
24 years in the Army.

Aiming for 30, then go work at Woolies part time as a night packer to supplement my pension.

Aim, to retire at 47 years old (then pack shelves).
Post by: Pipeliner on January 21, 2014, 07:16:41 AM
I've been in my current position for 10 years and will stay here until I finally retire, both because the work is varied and interesting and also because they allow me to take long (unpaid) breaks for camping holidays whenever I want!

Just before emigrating to Australia in 1983 I had been in the same job in the UK for 9 years, and when I went back to visit in 1996 the same people were doing the same jobs on the same industrial estate in Slough and I realised what a good decision it had been to come to Oz!
Post by: MDS69 on January 21, 2014, 11:24:55 AM
27 years in the industry and 19 years this September with the same company. Time flies.
Post by: DannyG on January 21, 2014, 11:36:34 AM
I'm coming up to 13 with the same employer.

We currently have redundancies going through and there will be a few more over the next 3-5 years as we are installing robots.
I'm not keen on a payout yet but in around 5 years I might seriously consider it. It's a generous arrangement we have.
Post by: Garfish on January 21, 2014, 11:42:06 AM
9 years and don't think will hit 10 at this stage will be redundant on or around June 30.  Prior to this 5 years before redundancy but I resigned from that job

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
Post by: lino6 on January 21, 2014, 11:45:20 AM
I started my 14th full time year in November. But I first worked in the industry 21 years ago (I was a couple of years under age). Started as a floor sweeper and worked my way up till I got this position. Every day is a something different and I love it. I have always said to myself if you get up in the morning and have to think of a reason to not go in, its time for a change. Since taking my current role I haven't had to do that. My direct manager gives me a long lead and has always said as long as I am doing the job I'm doing he doesn't need to continually check up on me, and we work well as a team.

My employer has trained me in all of the skills I need for my job and often lets me choose the when and where for the training. So far they have payed for 2 full Cert IV qualifications and numerous High Risk Work licenses with probably 1 more to come some time this year. Plus every employee gets a paid day off for their birthday every year. So I couldn't be happier where I am and hope that it stays this good till I retire in another 31 years (or earlier if I win the lotto).

It is refreshing to see people sticking with a job for a long time. Often these days people will change jobs for an extra dollar or 2 without considering what its like to work at the place. Better the devil you know I reckon!
Post by: fishfinder on January 21, 2014, 11:57:35 AM
48 weeks 1 day 3 hours and 56 minutes at the current job - longest stint is about 19 years
Post by: cardinal28 on January 21, 2014, 12:34:19 PM
"Seen a lot of workers come and go and enjoyed company of some realy great co-workers , Saw off a couple of CEO'S and numerous managers, seen a hell of a lot of inept  Brown toungue types rise swiftly to positions of authority.
Endured the dismantling of  motivated core staff  to a skeleton staff and an ocean of disposable uninterested newbies.
But all in all its kept us fed and housed all this time though not without injury
.."

Coming up to 25 years with exactly the same comments.
Post by: Proudy on January 21, 2014, 05:47:47 PM
Coming up on 21 years going away to sea. Have done nothing else since I left school.
Post by: austastar on January 21, 2014, 06:54:02 PM
   Started at the Uni when I was 24, retired when I was 64.

Quite a ride from hand processing glass plates to Photoshop; 16mm film to 1" reel-to-reel B&W video to digital video; index cards to computers etc.

Retirement is very pleasant.

Post by: l0ckym on January 21, 2014, 06:54:22 PM
Lino6 - Your employer sounds like a champ  :cup:

It is refreshing to see people sticking with a job for a long time. Often these days people will change jobs for an extra dollar or 2 without considering what its like to work at the place. Better the devil you know I reckon!

Speaking as a Gen X/Y Information Worker (i.e. I'm crap with my hands)..often there aren't the opportunities to stay with employers long term in the information/finance spaces.  They change on 2-3 year cycles with centralisation, then de-centralisation which makes staying long term not really an option.  I mean I could stay, but be stuck on the same wage and conditions for long periods of time, and not necessarily developing my career or gaining new skills - just some experience in specific areas.  In IT, if you are the ducks guts in a specific technical area - more often than not - that technical area is superseded - and you're left holding the baby...You need to do your own training and qualifications to stay current - then dodge the redundancies every couple of years, whilst they bring muppets in from the US or UK to take the plum management roles - with no real intent to develop local employees in succession planning..

Often the Gen Y/X's get the rough end of the stick - and whilst there has already been discussions on this site, and others on what a bunch of lazy sods we are  :cheers: - I don't think the ratio of bludgers is any higher or lower than any other generation..but we've had that discussion....back on thread...

I'm 3years, 2years, 2years, 7years (although 5 separate, very different roles in those 7 years for different business segments of a multinational).

I'm not sure "Job for Life" really exists any more, with manufacturing issues here in Oz, outsourcing, 473 visa's etc..

Post by: robbo1172 on January 21, 2014, 07:02:20 PM
Probably about 12 years total with my current employer

About 2 yrs then 8 months off work crook

Another 10 months then 5 1/2 years off crook

Another 7 yrs then left for 2 yrs to gain experience that wasn't available for me there

Came back as an engineer and have been there for another 2yrs and hope to be there for a lot longer yet...
Post by: fuji on January 21, 2014, 07:17:56 PM
Graduated from the Academy in 89 and still with VicPolice. So 25 years in March. Currently working with detectives and not the usual role of Highway Patrol.
Post by: KingBilly on January 21, 2014, 07:32:20 PM
23 years in June

Post by: oldmate on January 21, 2014, 08:00:22 PM
My wife is 20 years in November at her job.
Post by: edz on January 21, 2014, 08:03:42 PM
Well there seems to be quite a lot of LIFER'S out there in work land, well done guys and girls, Now lets see if I can make it to the Silver Anniversery ...
Or will it be time to do something along the lines of a "  Mid life Gap year off  " to work it out as a lot are doing atm .
Post by: 4runnernomore on January 21, 2014, 08:29:20 PM
25 years in March with DoD.

Ups and downs, can't complain too much.  Have seen most of Australia for variance work reasons including long distance road travel ( gotta luv those convoys) and been overseas for work.

How much longer I stay is up in the air but only wish both my wife and I stayed with DFRD instead of changing too MSBS (super schemes)

Cheers, Chris  :cheers:
Post by: evans52 on January 21, 2014, 09:46:11 PM
Good form to all the long timers.

Up until 2009 I had been in the same Industry for about 8 years working my way from the bottom with "a view" to go further. Then had a crack at being a Stay At Home Dad for 4 months with our Son (best job in the world), then had 13 jobs in 3 years trying to find the "right one". Found it in November 2012, 6 months after my Wife got a promotion with work and we moved 250km to the Mid-North of SA. So for me, 1 year and 2 months of not once waking up and thinking "I hate my job". And I can't see that happening any time soon.
Post by: DropBearRacing on January 21, 2014, 10:11:22 PM
7 years in my first job.  Career/life change, now this March 19 will be 15 years with my current employer, 24 years left until retirement age  :-[ (65).  I can't see myself leaving this job.
Post by: Yimmy on January 22, 2014, 07:49:01 PM
14 years in oil/gas working for a great company ... Until a corporate merger to make the biggest company in the world at the time

152000 employees 3 years later 90000 employees,beware of a company that shoots employees first and asks question second

Made a tree change and changed industry's 4 years with another corporate American company until I shifted to a local family owned company

7 years in enjoying my time, every day has its moments, love where I live, enjoy that my boss owns the company, learning to deal with the crap that every job has.

16 years to go until retirement, not sure if I want the pressure that comes with job for that long but hey life leads you where it does  :D

Post by: Landyline on January 22, 2014, 09:19:14 PM
4 years with my current employer. However there have been about 5 positions in that time in two different locations.
That is my record with the one employer. Previously it was 18 months.

I'm ready for a change though. I have wanted this position for a while but as it turns out the grass isn't greener on this side.