General => General Discussion => Topic started by: scarps on January 18, 2014, 05:18:52 AM

Title: So, what ya doin Straya Day 2014 weekend - camping?
Post by: scarps on January 18, 2014, 05:18:52 AM
Me, my sons and their cuz's all head to far east Vic for a week long camping and fishing. I'll post up a trip report when I get back, but we've booked 5 camp sites in one of the NP reserves.
This is the 10th year we've done this trip and 3 of us have ditched the tents this year and taking CT's instead. There's very limited phone service so all is good.(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/18/y6aju4y9.jpg)
Title: Re: So, what ya doin Straya Day 2014 weekend - camping?
Post by: brickiematt on January 18, 2014, 05:43:44 AM
Heading off today to the Prom for 10 days ;D
Got the lamb roast packed ready for the traditional Australia Day cook up, can't wait!
Post by: speewa158 on January 18, 2014, 06:06:15 AM
scarps  ls there any chance of scaring the fish or is it just a chance to have a huge  :cheers: & tell stories of misappropeated  furniture  :cup:
Post by: scarps on January 18, 2014, 06:22:55 AM

scarps  ls there any chance of scaring the fish or is it just a chance to have a huge  :cheers: & tell stories of misappropeated  furniture  :cup:
thnx Jamie, well there is this one story I'm busting to tell.  It's about 2 guys, one lives in Sydney and the other in Nagambie............
On another note, the Oz day week is a no moon week and that means prawns!!!!!!!!  Oh Yeah and beer
Post by: lindamc on January 18, 2014, 06:41:40 AM
Port welshpool. Back to my old stomping ground for my daughters 18th. Will be the first time ever camping there, even tho I lived in welshpool for just under 40 years.

Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk 2

Post by: brickiematt on January 18, 2014, 07:51:02 AM
Port welshpool. Back to my old stomping ground for my daughters 18th. Will be the first time ever camping there, even tho I lived in welshpool for just under 40 years.

Have fun guys! We'll wave to you across Corner Inlet ;D
Post by: lindamc on January 18, 2014, 08:13:46 AM
Haha yep, will be waving back!

Post by: Mace on January 18, 2014, 09:09:50 AM
Heading down to Gillhams? Beach just up the road from Cockle Creek early Friday morning. A co worker has a spot there fo r the summer with room for us nearby. Looking forward to it.

Are you staying at Long Jetty CP?

PM will be sent.

Post by: lindamc on January 18, 2014, 09:13:59 AM
Yes Mace

Post by: JD-120 on January 18, 2014, 09:17:56 AM
We are heading to noosa north shore for three nights. Hopefully at double island point playing beach cricket eating every cut off lamb off the bbq on Australia day. Can not wait

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk

Post by: Wuzgonna on January 18, 2014, 09:29:25 AM
Off to the High Country.
Lamb on the menu!
Happy Days.

Bugger ????
Post by: cm4x4nut on January 18, 2014, 09:40:28 AM
supposed to be heading to Manar Park, but grandmother is very ill, so not sure at this stage.....
Post by: Doweymex on January 18, 2014, 11:44:45 AM
Annual family fishing comp at Manns Beach. Been going over 10 years, now named in honour of FIL who sadly passed away 8 years ago and started it. First prize is generally around $400!
Wont be true camping for us though as the CT will be set up in the back yard of the house.
Hopefully weather will allow some fishing this time instead of the crappy weather dealt up around New Years and the week following.

a few Myswaggers down in South Gippy  :cheers:
Post by: 02-SR5 on January 18, 2014, 11:53:24 AM
Drink imported beer,

Buy meat from Woolies, imported from China,

Head don to the local park, and watch all the "imported terrorist", play soccer when their wives are dressed as black ninjas, then ask you to move (we were there first) because their playing field isn't big enough,

Cable tie the Australian flag, brought from the local $2 shop, made in China, to the antenna,

Get hassled by the local traffic branch because they have the long weekend quota to fill, to make the commissioner look good,

Get charged exorbitant entry fees to use the local national park,

Sit in traffic, because all the imports haven't learnt to drive in Australia yet,

Yea,........., fk that.

We are staying home and have a BBQ (home made), cooking Meringandan Pub steaks drinking XXXX.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 18, 2014, 12:07:11 PM
Off to Shallow Inlet i think, just scored the last spot

Post by: SteveandViv on January 18, 2014, 12:30:00 PM
I'm going here....

17°36'57.86"S
123°38'48.61"E
Post by: scarps on January 18, 2014, 12:54:40 PM

I'm going here....

17°36'57.86"S
123°38'48.61"E
looks like a great spot. Fishing?
Post by: DropBearRacing on January 18, 2014, 02:05:19 PM
Staying home. The missus is working all weekend so good ????????????
Will do a lamb BBQ at home and swim in the pool all weekend with the kids if this heat keeps up.
Post by: Clouty on January 18, 2014, 02:47:29 PM
Heading to a Atkinson dam west of brissy for four days..
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 18, 2014, 03:01:54 PM

We have a property that backs on to the dam out there.... 
I've always said we should open our place up to camping etc.
Being 12 acres, i reckon there could be an earn in it too.  :cheers:
Post by: mike and tracy davis on January 18, 2014, 03:22:20 PM
Just north of Sandy Cape, a few yellow cans and hopefully a couple of fish on the line for dinner.
Post by: tourin n fishin on January 18, 2014, 04:26:33 PM
Drink imported beer,

Buy meat from Woolies, imported from China,

Head don to the local park, and watch all the "imported terrorist", play soccer when their wives are dressed as black ninjas, then ask you to move (we were there first) because their playing field isn't big enough,

Cable tie the Australian flag, brought from the local $2 shop, made in China, to the antenna,

Get hassled by the local traffic branch because they have the long weekend quota to fill, to make the commissioner look good,

Get charged exorbitant entry fees to use the local national park,

Sit in traffic, because all the imports haven't learnt to drive in Australia yet,

Yea,........., fk that.

We are staying home and have a BBQ (home made), cooking Meringandan Pub steaks drinking XXXX.

Best Straya day ever ;D ;D
Post by: Mace on January 18, 2014, 04:58:58 PM
Best Straya day ever ;D ;D

Except for the XXXX!

8)

Post by: DropBearRacing on January 18, 2014, 06:06:12 PM
Except for the XXXX!

8)

Go the Coopers for a true Aussie beer :cheers:
Post by: gordo350 on January 18, 2014, 06:14:28 PM
Might go to the wangaratta 4b show

gordo350

Post by: Clouty on January 18, 2014, 06:15:33 PM
We have a property that backs on to the dam out there.... 
I've always said we should open our place up to camping etc.
Being 12 acres, i reckon there could be an earn in it too.  :cheers:
Nice..
Well I'm happy to go and check it out every now and then ;D ;D And payment would be some :cheers: :cheers: around the camp fire 8)
Post by: wambesi on January 18, 2014, 06:16:12 PM
We're taking the new Camper Trailer on its maiden voyage out to Batemans Bay.
Staying in a Big 4 so we can shake out and see how we go,  next to the beach so although I'm sure it will be packed we'll have plenty of fun.

Just trying to finish up the last of the initial mods and properly wire up the 3 way fridge for 12 volt operation while travelling.
Post by: Xfigio on January 18, 2014, 06:37:23 PM
It falls in the middle of our annual family camping holiday, and as we have slight accents having moved from other western countries over 20 years ago, we're sick of getting hassled by bogans on "their" day, whilst camping in national parks or free camping, so will retreat to a unit or expensive campsite for the night.  Pretty sad really.
Post by: scarps on January 18, 2014, 06:47:38 PM

It falls in the middle of our annual family camping holiday, and as we have slight accents having moved from other western countries over 20 years ago, we're sick of getting hassled by bogans on "their" day, whilst camping in national parks or free camping, so will retreat to a unit or expensive campsite for the night.  Pretty sad really.
tis sad to hear that. If you guys ever find yourself in Vic, very welcome at our campfire.
Also interesting in that most Aussie's have ancestor immigrants
Post by: speewa158 on January 18, 2014, 06:55:46 PM
His people can in chains to The Great Southern Time Share  :cup:
Post by: SteveandViv on January 18, 2014, 07:29:16 PM
looks like a great spot. Fishing?

If we don't get rain it would be considered the best Barra fishing in the area....We stay at the homestead which is great, no one else there and when they were building the Curtain Detention centre they put a few Dnga's on the property which we can stay in. Will get some video etc and post once I get back. I was thinking to maybe look at getting a few swaggers up there over the dry season if they were keen. Not much fishing ten though till the end but some bl00dy big crocs to spy on.
Post by: Hairs on January 18, 2014, 07:45:42 PM
With a few other swaggers & members of our local 4wd club we are heading to The Gorge. Should be a cracker of a weekend, 3 nights, a few trails to be traveled and a few  :cheers:, only few mind you.
Post by: Spada on January 19, 2014, 06:27:30 AM
Nice..
Well I'm happy to go and check it out every now and then ;D ;D And payment would be some :cheers: :cheers: around the camp fire 8)

Sounds like quite a task.......
Do you need a hand ?
Post by: TheTaylors on January 19, 2014, 07:19:32 AM
Heading to the Rubicon area with another couple  - kid free weekend!
Post by: Black Diamond on January 19, 2014, 10:15:01 AM
Make sure you take some earplugs unless you wanna listen to techno well into the am ;D
Have a good one Rubicon is a great spot just a bit much on LWE's :cheers:

Post by: Kangaron on January 19, 2014, 10:40:19 AM
Aust Day will be up early to pack up in the cool of the day and a leisurely trip home after 5 days of solitude camping in the bush.
Then a BBQ lunch of course.
Post by: Yimmy on January 19, 2014, 11:21:33 AM
Heading down to our campsite on the Murray in the Riverland of SA,

Luckily its behind a locked gate so minimal disruptions and close to home

Looking forward to it

(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/43529-2/The+camp.jpg)
Post by: smartyingreen on January 19, 2014, 01:22:35 PM
Heading down the Murray for a day of water sports, bbq vegemite cheese sausages from the Monash Butcher, listening to cricket and Triple J's hottest 100. Think we might throw the swags in!

Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk

Post by: oldmate on January 19, 2014, 04:05:41 PM

gee might be busy out there. i was talking to some other bloke last night that is going there also.  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Clouty on January 19, 2014, 04:52:58 PM
gee might be busy out there. i was talking to some other bloke last night that is going there also.  ;D ;D ;D
Was that the bloke with the sweet mullet?? ;D
Post by: oldmate on January 19, 2014, 05:09:19 PM
Ahhhh you know him too
Post by: Clouty on January 19, 2014, 05:30:03 PM
Yep I sure do.. He's got a twin brother named dazza ;D
Post by: Camping Grant on January 19, 2014, 06:33:36 PM
It's sad, but we're staying home...on a brighter note, we head off to Fiji for 10 days on the 1st of Feb, all-inclusive (including alcohol)... :cheers: :cheers: :cup:
Post by: fuji on January 19, 2014, 07:17:12 PM
Going to the. Suzie q concert
Post by: speewa158 on January 19, 2014, 07:22:25 PM

Can you still remember her  ??? ???                      Down at not very nice boy street or something like that ,, its coming to me n  ow    ,    no its gone  :cheers:
Post by: scarps on January 19, 2014, 07:35:58 PM

what, the one down at devil gate drive?
Post by: speewa158 on January 19, 2014, 07:40:16 PM
 >:D gate drive ,,,,,,,, l was asked to leave because l was to naughty    :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on January 19, 2014, 07:42:17 PM
Yep I sure do.. He's got a twin brother named dazza ;D
i reckon i saw that guy you're talking about lastnight  :o  ;D
Post by: cm4x4nut on January 21, 2014, 05:19:54 PM
Well Manar Park is off for us as the boss does not want to go to "another 4WD park"

We are now booked into Norval Park near Bundy :)
Post by: sol on January 21, 2014, 05:24:17 PM

Mate, if ever you get up my way, please feel free to pm me and I'll show you around :D

Post by: turbojoe on January 21, 2014, 05:24:28 PM
we are taking the  Kimberly down to marybrook for an extended long weekend starting fri .
Post by: robbo1172 on January 21, 2014, 06:40:27 PM
Taking the CT out to Cundle Flat Farm for its first run in my possession with the old man and the young fella.
Post by: DannyG on January 21, 2014, 06:45:44 PM
I'm going trout fishing in Tassie using a mates boat and his fishing license and his rods and his bait and if he is really nice I'll even let him cook all the fish I catch ;D
Post by: wmarsb on January 21, 2014, 07:40:36 PM
off to Canungra after hospital appointment on Friday, hope to be there and set up by about 2pm. nice quiet night a few to many beers and then the wife comes out Saturday about 12pm, rest of weekend honey doing around the camp.

Post by: ivan on January 21, 2014, 07:49:25 PM
Moruya heads tomorrow , missus will turn up Friday with more food and beverages . Come home Tuesday. Silver 105 series & Kimberley kamper drop in for a beer.
Post by: CRW on January 21, 2014, 07:54:30 PM
Lake Tabourie, with six other camper trailers :)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Post by: evans52 on January 21, 2014, 09:55:32 PM
Off to Stansbury, SA with some good friends. A bit of swimming and fishing. First time camping in a Caravan park in about 3 years.

Will have the Lamb on the Rotiserrie going while having a Coopers Toast to Sam.

Australia Day 2014: Generation Lamb (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v9Xo0v63wMA#ws)

Post by: oldmate on January 22, 2014, 06:18:53 AM
Not camping, but doing an enduro karting even on Sunday with my son. Should be a good day

Post by: Brumbypt on January 22, 2014, 09:04:15 AM

If you go through alex (not sure where you are coming from and the route you are taking), and you see a nice grey offroad trailer forsale, stop and BUY it.

Thats if I feel well enough to go and finish it off.

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
Post by: Footy Shorts Shane on January 22, 2014, 09:15:55 AM
Working  >:(
Post by: TheTaylors on January 22, 2014, 04:42:08 PM

If you go through alex (not sure where you are coming from and the route you are taking), and you see a nice grey offroad trailer forsale, stop and BUY it.

Thats if I feel well enough to go and finish it off.

Peter,

Will do Peter, if we head that way. The couple who we are camping with, are 'sorta' looking for a trailer...
Post by: stiffbreeze on January 22, 2014, 04:50:21 PM
Thinking of doing delatite arm of lake eildon for the first time with family...how crazy busy will it be down there would you think?
Title: So, what ya doin Straya Day 2014 weekend - camping?
Post by: scarps on January 22, 2014, 05:00:25 PM
Thinking of doing delatite arm of lake eildon for the first time with family...how crazy busy will it be down there would you think?
may be a little busy, but nothing like Rosebud Foreshore. My main suggestion is bypass the campsites near the road as you'll get covered in dust. Also the further you head in, the more likely to get a better spot.
Post by: gronk on January 22, 2014, 05:31:33 PM
Lake Tabourie, with six other camper trailers :)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

You going to a c c caravan park Carl !!     ;D

Getting used to it for when you get the van ?? ;D
Post by: gordo350 on January 22, 2014, 06:50:15 PM
I'm going trout fishing in Tassie using a mates boat and his fishing license and his rods and his bait and if he is really nice I'll even let him cook all the fish I catch ;D
I hope you're buying the beer

gordo350

Post by: DannyG on January 22, 2014, 07:04:45 PM

I hope you're buying the beer

gordo350

Bugger him he can buy my beer ;)

Ps, he is a myswag member but obviously hasn't seen this thread yet lol
Post by: V8100 on January 22, 2014, 09:52:19 PM
Newnes fir sat Sunday nights

Eddy
Post by: Brumbypt on January 24, 2014, 08:08:27 AM
Will do Peter, if we head that way. The couple who we are camping with, are 'sorta' looking for a trailer...

At this stage it looks like it will be out the front, did lights yesterday, painted it another coat the other day, just got a few minor things to do today and it should be ready.

Big tool box on the front is free, which I have to refit after painting.

Peter,
Post by: Dingo7 on January 24, 2014, 09:37:38 AM
Heading to Kingaroy, camping at the showgrounds for a Big Speedway Meeting, The Australian Open!

Cant wait, if the weather holds off, last year it got flooded out, and we got stuck in Chinchilla for a week in the floods!
Post by: Darren253 on January 24, 2014, 12:47:31 PM
Working in Houston... It's just another day here!
Can't wait to get home. It's going to be -3 and snowing tomorrow  ???
Post by: Trackabout Off Road Campers on January 24, 2014, 01:05:42 PM
I'm going here....

17°36'57.86"S
123°38'48.61"E

I love that place  :cheers:
Post by: Mallory Black on January 24, 2014, 06:49:23 PM
Well No.1 daughter pranged the Mazdarati (again) so guess I'll be running to the wreckers and screw/hammer/paint my way through the weekend.
might do a quick dash to the beach one morning
Lamb roast on Sunday the highlight
Post by: Rumpig on January 24, 2014, 08:39:54 PM
well i guess you were right in saying you were heading there instead of camping there mate. atleast the fuel economy on the run home was fantastic...lol.
Post by: Clouty on January 24, 2014, 11:40:40 PM
well i guess you were right in saying you were heading there instead of camping there mate. atleast the fuel economy on the run home was fantastic...lol.
;D ;D ;D
I should change my first post to just staying home and fixing my diff on the cruiser.. :'( :'( :'(
But we did have a good day trip out there..
Post by: oldmate on January 25, 2014, 11:48:39 AM
;D ;D ;D
I should change my first post to just staying home and fixing my diff on the cruiser.. :'( :'( :'(
But we did have a good day trip out there..
Opps doesn't sound good. I didn't think toyotas broke?
Post by: Foo on January 25, 2014, 05:02:34 PM
Working again.  >:(

Post by: Garfish on January 25, 2014, 06:02:07 PM
Crook as trying to keep my lamb chops down
Post by: Clouty on January 25, 2014, 07:44:13 PM
Opps doesn't sound good. I didn't think toyotas broke?
All fixed..
Wasn't the diff thank god.. Was the little brass sprindle that gave way.. While we had everything apart we pulled the diff out and fixed the small leak as well..
Post by: oldmate on January 25, 2014, 07:47:24 PM
All fixed..
Wasn't the diff thank god.. Was the little brass sprindle that gave way.. While we had everything apart we pulled the diff out and fixed the small leak as well..

Good to hear. You can come out to extreme karting and watch us race at pimpama tomorrow then hahaha. Should be a barrel of laughs ;D ;D
Post by: Clouty on January 25, 2014, 07:52:10 PM
Good to hear. You can come out to extreme karting and watch us race at pimpama tomorrow then hahaha. Should be a barrel of laughs ;D ;D
;D ;D ;D
Is that the new race track they built about 6 months ago?
Post by: oldmate on January 25, 2014, 08:12:44 PM
Yep. Opened march last year
Post by: Andrew_C on January 25, 2014, 08:22:32 PM
One place I will NOT be going is Kendalls at Rubicon. Far out, the place is packed, dogs, kids and lunatics.
You would have more personal space camping in the Chadstone shopping centre car park.
Post by: Tweekin on January 26, 2014, 11:23:34 PM
Charters towers for the goldfield ashes , camping but no CT , could not convince virgin to take it as carry on
Post by: Black Diamond on January 27, 2014, 09:10:50 PM
One place I will NOT be going is Kendalls at Rubicon. Far out, the place is packed, dogs, kids and lunatics.
You would have more personal space camping in the Chadstone shopping centre car park.
Yep you got that right, nice spot but a no no on a long weekend. Spent an Easter there a few years ago and it was like a massive rave party, the gennies and music was blaring well into the am  >:(
Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 28, 2014, 08:49:39 AM
Went to Shallow inlet reserve and had a great relaxing weekend, even caught some fish

Post by: SteveandViv on January 28, 2014, 08:56:26 AM
I love that place  :cheers:

Should have seen the water this year. We stay at the homestead as Viv works for the owners. The river was bank to bank, no fishing but one of the best storms ever as we sat in the pool..Awsome.
Post by: gunna on January 28, 2014, 09:09:37 PM
Camped Sat nite @ McKillops Bridge   
Sunday nite Delegate Caravan Park  only 3 other campers there was plenty of room  to spread out