General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Sir Kev + Darkie on December 01, 2013, 03:15:35 PM

Title: How to convince her??
Post by: Sir Kev + Darkie on December 01, 2013, 03:15:35 PM
The boss has put her foot down and decided that she wants to get a bloody Caravan and not get a camper  >:(

I want the freedom of a camper and a Coota at that and now she is going on about her and the kids want a built in shower and toilet  ???
It didn't worry them when we had the Trak Shak.

How can I convince her to stay with a Camper  :cheers:
Title: Re: How to convince her??
Post by: D4D on December 01, 2013, 03:24:03 PM
At least she wants to get out there. Just buy an Expanda with a shower and dunny and enjoy being out with the family.
Post by: Bird on December 01, 2013, 03:27:06 PM
At least she wants to get out there. Just buy an Expanda with a shower and dunny and enjoy being out with the family.
what he said
Post by: krisandkev on December 01, 2013, 03:38:39 PM
Don’t be a wimp, just tell her no!  Be a man and show her who rules the house, or camper.  Women, they think they can just walk all over us men.  This is your chance to stand up and set an example for all to follow.  Remember, you are the male, the provider, the hunter and gatherer.  She is the weaker sex. 
But, best to do all this when you are in company. Don’t try it on your own. Make sure she is not armed and have a place you can stay at for a few years until she gets over it.  And, don’t mention my name.....    ;D  Kevin
Post by: Robbo on December 01, 2013, 04:31:38 PM
Don’t be a wimp, just tell her no!  Be a man and show her who rules the house, or camper.  Women, they think they can just walk all over us men.  This is your chance to stand up and set an example for all to follow.  Remember, you are the male, the provider, the hunter and gatherer.  She is the weaker sex. 
But, best to do all this when you are in company. Don’t try it on your own. Make sure she is not armed and have a place you can stay at for a few years until she gets over it.  And, don’t mention my name.....    ;D  Kevin

Hey Kev, what hospital ward are you in?? Thought i'd send you a Get Well Sometime Soon Card. Hope your injuries are'nt too serious.
 ;D ;D
Post by: Sir Kev + Darkie on December 01, 2013, 04:38:45 PM

mmmmmmmmmmmm maybe I shouldn't have bought her a rifle for her birthday  :cup:
Post by: Garfish on December 01, 2013, 04:58:37 PM

He would be able to stay in his new camper trailer
Post by: TOPNDR on December 03, 2013, 03:01:07 PM
The boss has put her foot down and decided that she wants to get a bloody Caravan and not get a camper  >:(

I want the freedom of a camper and a Coota at that and now she is going on about her and the kids want a built in shower and toilet  ???
It didn't worry them when we had the Trak Shak.

How can I convince her to stay with a Camper  :cheers:

Get an AOR Quantum.  It's the camper that comes with a built in shower & funny - hot water too!
Post by: edz on December 03, 2013, 04:13:02 PM
Take her to see the camper of your choise and take her out to a nice lunch and say wow this is what we can afford ...... the next day take to see the  top of the line Kedron vans, show her the price tag then the bank balance print out and offer a can of baked beans ,,, DO'NT forget to duck and weave .. ;D
Post by: Robin Miller on December 03, 2013, 04:50:37 PM
You can get the caravan Kev - start your trip across the dessert on a lonely track and then it will break down - after your run out of water for the shower - you could say , "Well this wouldn't have happened if we had brought the camper ! "
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on December 03, 2013, 04:59:50 PM
Take her to see the camper of your choise and take her out to a nice lunch and say wow this is what we can afford ...... the next day take to see the  top of the line Kedron vans, show her the price tag then the bank balance print out and offer a can of baked beans ,,, DO'NT forget to duck and weave .. ;D

Or.... trade her in on a new sporty model  ;D
Post by: briann532 on December 03, 2013, 05:01:55 PM
Could you compromise with a "glamper"?
Post by: AlanB on December 03, 2013, 05:11:35 PM
Go out and get a few quotes from different caravan mobs, with the extra's like extra water tank, solar panels, extra batteries, etc, then ask if she wants to drive the thing over dirt tracks and do constant repairs to the cupboards and draws that will fall apart and remind her that the cost of the trip will go up as you need more fuel as the van is larger and heavier to tow and may not go to those lovely seculed places that are tight to get into.
Post by: nbd73 on December 03, 2013, 05:51:27 PM
Here's a thought: what's wrong with a "bloody caravan"? It's all a matter of perspective: to the camping person who sleeps in a swag and considers a shower to be a dip in the nearest creek, a CT is overkill. The first 2 comments are spot on: getting into the outdoors is the key, how it's done is not the point. Of course, if she wants something that you can't afford then that's simple maths, but if you can afford it don't rule it out but keep an open mind. Lifestyle campers also do a single axle pop top caravan with most of the fruit that looks quite robust. There are options besides kedron etc
Post by: UIZ733 on December 03, 2013, 05:57:53 PM
Is it easier to beg for forgiveness than ask for permission?
Post by: gronk on December 03, 2013, 05:59:33 PM
. Lifestyle campers also do a single axle pop top caravan with most of the fruit that looks quite robust. There are options besides kedron etc

Yep, I have one.....after having 2 KK's, I'd have to say there are not many places the new "van" won't go......and no canvas !!!

Post by: discoteddy on December 03, 2013, 07:49:46 PM
Wine mate and plenty of it, works in my place :cup:

Disco teddy.
Post by: fuji on December 03, 2013, 08:04:52 PM
After buying the Aussie Swag, I am now considering a van of sorts. Maybe the Quantum or Trakmaster. A lot easier to just rock up somewhere and pop the kettle in and jump into bed.
Post by: DropBearRacing on December 03, 2013, 09:21:50 PM
Happy wife = happy wife  >:D
Post by: Sir Kev + Darkie on December 03, 2013, 09:29:34 PM

But I also have 2 girls under 10 as well so the odds are against me :(
Post by: Bird on December 03, 2013, 09:31:48 PM
(http://www.gupatrol.com/crapola/bullcrap.meter.gif)
Post by: speewa158 on December 04, 2013, 06:03:31 AM
THIS IS CRAP !!!!! STAND UP & FACE DOWN THIS WENCH .  >:D

said the little voice from under ct in the dark
Post by: Hairs on December 04, 2013, 06:14:06 AM
G'day kev,
My first thoughts were an Expanda, and D4D was the first post with this suggestion, Hmmm
I'm sure you can mod it to be able drag it anywhere you like.  ;D

As a last resort, do as Speewa suggested, just make sure he is standing between you and Sam when you try this approach  angel:
BTW, good luck with that  ;D
Post by: Chris-Vi on December 04, 2013, 06:31:08 AM
We went to a small van after 2 campers. Love it. Makes life much easier and we use it more. Actually 10 times since February this year for short trips so far. As Fugi said, just open the door and walk in, which is what we enjoy for overnight stops. Everyone has their own ideas and it is what works for them. For us there is no going back.  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on December 04, 2013, 06:33:25 AM
Hairs   Leave me out of the fire fight , belive it or not l ac get into trouble all by myself .  :cheers:

don't take any crap give her both barrels ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,before you get them fired at you    >:D

l will be under the ct till this blows over or UP as the case may be  :cheers:
Post by: fishfinder on December 04, 2013, 06:39:15 AM
Just put your foot down if she also suggests a new Patrol as a tow tug - then you will never get to go any where
Post by: Black Diamond on December 04, 2013, 07:27:24 AM

Good luck, I know what it's like I have three girls plus the wife, even the dog is a bitch :)
An Expanda is going to take you to most places you wanna go anyway so not such a bad thing.

Post by: DropBearRacing on December 04, 2013, 08:11:52 AM

I got 3 girls 10 and under and an 18 year old plus the missus, I consider myself an expert (not in women but in knowing what's good for me  ;D). If a van with an inside dunny and shower is going to make the bride and little princesses get out there with you then it's a small sacrifice to make in exchange for see this beautiful country. Get a couple of swags for the crew when travelling to those areas a van won't get into.
Post by: flindersroses on December 04, 2013, 08:40:11 AM
We had the same issues. We settle on the Goldstream....Closer to a camper than a van......You can get them with the shower and toilet (although I don't get crapping where you eat and sleep) You can still go offroad and you are not boxed in. Just my 2cents worth.
Post by: Coiled on December 04, 2013, 08:58:51 AM
Got to manage expectations. Treat them mean to keep them keen and promise the world but give an atlas.

Don't know your ages but we have me 35, the mrs 32 and a now 12month old. Ok, it is a bit better than an atlas but we have used the Kimberley Kamper 6 times since picking it up in September. Everytime we use it my mrs says how fantastic it is both easy and comfortable and that she would spend the $$ again without hesitation. Only thing it doesn't have is a toilet which you could chuck a jimmys or porta potti in the standard ensuite tent if thats important. The hot water for washing up, baby's bath and showers is fantastic as is the space heater on cold nights.