General => General Discussion => Topic started by: TOPNDR on November 10, 2013, 04:56:57 PM
At this stage Mrs T & I are preparing to leave our tropical paradise in FNQ, for the next adventure - a move to Antarctica North, otherwise known as Tasmania. I'll be working at Hobart Airport, and Mrs T is looking for work. We need to be within about an hour's drive of the airport, and Mrs T REALLY fancies living on the sea.
Any thoughts, tips, or other advice from MySwaggers - sensible ones too?
Mrs T has lived in the tropics (Darwin & Atherton Tablelands) since '75, me since '94! :angel:
Any thoughts, tips, or other advice from MySwaggers
Buy some merino thermals and good luck ;D
Pm sent
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
Well that's a seachange and a half. Tassie's a great place to live for a while, but you're going to notice the difference in climate around July, August, Sept, Oct, Nov, Dec, Jan, Feb, March, April, May and possibly June.
I moved down here about 7 weeks ago, I think it was spring last saturday :-[
cant wait for summer day, it will be a hoot 8)
Its a nice place, natives are friendly, it rains a bit, when it doesnt it blows like all get out, sometimes it blows and rains a bit all at once
There is snow in November
The natives say this has been a bad spell of weather, Im thinking theyre just keeping me amused ???
Scarps,
We went there for a camping holiday in Jan/Feb 2011, choosing summer so as to not feel too cold. Luckily we have a diesel heater in our camper because it got a fierce workout. I reckon we're going to enjoy it but freeze our mammaries off!
Dazzler,
PM received. Are you back in Tassie? or Qld?
I moved down here about 7 weeks ago, I think it was spring last saturday :-[
The natives say this has been a bad spell of weather, Im thinking theyre just keeping me amused ???
I saw that on the news. I think you're wrong though, at 28 C that was summer!
rug up. ;D
Well done,you will love it, we moved south 6 months ago.
Firstly, there is a distance warp here. Anything more than 15 minutes commute is considered a long haul.
Secondly, there is the east/west and north south divide here. Over the bridge towards the airport is nearly a foreign county to some! The climate out that way is definitely a bit milder tho, the city and south do catch the mountain effect. There was snow up there yesterday morning!
I work south At the Uni at sandy bay and live ten minutes north of the city. The real estate agent was amazed I wanted to commute!
There are some nice areas just over the bridge, but close to the city and reasonably priced. It's only ten minutes to the airport from Rosny for example.
Then there are beachside hamlets all the way down the south arm, lauderdale, etc.
So, plenty of options, and all close to a beach that you can use during January to March!
If SHMBO works in aged care she will have no problems finding work.
It's a great city, plenty of interesting places to see, nice short drives, and you can drive 30 minutes out and be oblivious of the city.
when I came back from 2.5 years in Malaysia I did feel the cold for a while. (That was a while ago in another world called work.) You can always get warm with more clothes if it is cold - the reverse does not apply.
The area around the airport has some of the warmest minimum temperatures, modified by a large body of lagoon water nearby, so your early morning starts won't be too frosty in winter.
Half an hour from the Airport gives you a wide range of real estate options from urban, suburban or country. East and North of the airport are some small towns/villages and lots of acreage as well. Sorrel (to the East) is one of the fastest growing municipalities in the State, and now has a good range of services and retailers.
You will have to possibly go further than 30 minutes to 'live on the sea', if you mean 'ocean' as the airport is tucked up inside a bay between South Arm and the Tasman Peninsular. There are lots of water views from the southern suburbs of Hobart, but no real ocean, as the coastline is a sheltered channel behind Bruny Island.
There are nearby surf beaches at Carlton and Clifton Beach, these have been traditionally holiday home/shack areas, but are now seeing more commuters moving in and building modern homes.
Probably the best thing is to fire off a lot of questions here and see what answers you get.
ps, you will love it here (shhhh! don't tell every one though)
A good reply from Austastar.
I was just saying to SWMBO, an hours commute from the airport would let you live at Orford on the east coast! Marina at triabanna nearby for your deep sea boat! Views of Maria Island. A very mild climate as the east coast current comes down from far north nsw here. Perfect. On our retirement plans.
Geeze Mace,
you haven't acclimatized yet, Orford is a weekend trip. That's damn near 63km! ;)
;D ;D ;D
I rest my case about Tasmanian distance appreciation!
I live 13km from Launceston CBD and a lot of locals told me before I bought, that they couldn't live all the way out there :)
I'm currently 35 km from Cairns, atop the Kuranda Range. Not once in 7 years have I regretted living up there, or the drive down the hill to work. :cheers:
Best of luck with the move.
Another experience of life. Enjoy it.
As far as climate goes, you'll adapt. Might notice it for 6 months, but then its just normal.
Just don't post tempting picks up here or us mainlanders will go GREEN...........
Best wishes
I'm currently 35 km from Cairns, atop the Kuranda Range. Not once in 7 years have I regretted living up there, or the drive down the hill to work. :cheers:
I live 130kms from work and don't regret it either. Guessing as Taswegians don't like to commute that you will find a bargain within 30 minutes of your work place.
Good luck with the move.
I'll see you as I come though Hobart airport
I did notice when we were there recently that if there was a woodheap in someones yard,it was a big bugger. Beautiful place though.
We need to be within about an hour's drive of the airport, and Mrs T REALLY fancies living on the sea.
Any thoughts, tips, or other advice from MySwaggers - sensible ones too?
Don't get to far north from Hobart T, you'll be in Bass Strait !! ;D
If you are going to leave us and move down under maybe you should try to come up and have your final fling up here in early December.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=32609.0
The few times that you have joined us around the camp fire, I know for one that I have enjoyed your company.
You and Mrs T will be missed by your NQ cousins,
All the best, duggie.
I work 35 kays from work so I board near work and only go home one weekend a month ;)
Be sure to come on one of our myswag gatherings, we are a serious sensible lot down here ;D
And we shall name him BTMNDR :) ;)
we are a serious sensible lot down here ;D
Oops
Marcus knows all about the bottom end...of men ;D
Never heard you complaining last weekend.
Back on topic though...... When are you heading down this way?
Ex-taswegian here - I can confirm that the locals suffer from being "distance challenged". It's more about "time in the car" rather than "distance" as everything is rather compact. Commuting 20 minutes to work is just crazy talk as that translates to 20 minutes driving time, and 20 minutes of actual driving covers a substantial distance (relatively speaking).
We own some land (approx 50 acres) about 40 minutes drive from Hobart, on a hill, water views etc. We bought it years ago thinking we might build ... that hasn't, and probably won't happen so we might sell if we ever get around to it. Living in Sydney, 40 minutes drive to work is nothing. For Tassie, 40 minutes is probably a weekend getaway ;)
You could get a map out & draw a circle at about a 80km radius from the air port. That would give you a fair idea on the size of the area you could live & get to work in an hour.
I live about 17ks as the crow flies from work it's about a 33k trip with the twists & turns in the road to get there & takes about 30 min to leasurly drive there at 80 to 100ks as most is on the rural 100k roads.
Thanks Duggie. Even though the enjoyment has been mutual, sadly we're not able to make the pre-Xmas gathering this year. :'(
We own some land (approx 50 acres) about 40 minutes drive from Hobart, on a hill, water views etc. We bought it years ago thinking we might build ... that hasn't, and probably won't happen so we might sell if we ever get around to it.
Is that a sales pitch? How much? :cheers:
...and daylight saving will be included, FREE..... ;D ;D
Yee haa. 8) ;D :D :cheers:
I moved here from West Australia a couple of years back and still don't have a heater - it truly does not get too cold here it's just the born and bred locals are soft ...
Is that a sales pitch? How much? :cheers:
LOL, it wasn't meant to be. But if you are interested then we can talk ;D
Never heard you complaining last weekend.
He kept quiet as he thought it was karma having another go ;D
Very funny Marcus!
G'day Troops,
Most of you know me under my other guise, that of TOPNDR.
As I've signed my formal letter of offer to take up a Hobart position from June next year, I figured I should register another name in preparation of the move to Antarctica North. We expect to arrive on the Ferry, camper in tow about the morning of May 20th. Then to a caravan park, probably Barilla Park to set up base whilst we look for a rental property that will take the two of us and the two doggies.
So if you have a property for rent within an hour's drive of the place where the planes live we might be the tenants you're looking for! :cheers:
Everywhere in Tassie is within one hours drive of an airport. ;D
That may well be but I need it to be the Hobart one!
Then to a caravan park, probably Barilla Park to set up base whilst we look for a rental property that will take the two of us and the two doggies.
you can walk to work from there.
Ptooee! Walk lugging a Nav bag and an overnight bag and an umbrella and a duffel coat and a dryzabone. You're kidding! :laugh:
Don't forget shorts, t shirt, sunscreen and thermals
Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!
Geez, looks like all the "Tassie" Members are blow-ins.
Are there any actual locals?
Also, don't forget to bring plenty of 10c coins. The parking meters don't accept 5c pieces anymore ;D
Are there any locals?
A couple down here have learnt how to use the internet thingamajig and are born and bred here. Great folks too!
Are there any actual locals?
Yes once I heard DannyG mumbling away quietly I thought he was talking to the voices in his head but no he was talking to his head next to his head
Tassie is a great place. We moved here about 7 years ago and love it. We did the beach thing and bought a place a Carlton but be aware some of the locals are a bit strange. Hence we sold up a bit over a year later. Probably best to throw out a few suburb names to get an idea of what they are like. With the traveling we didn't have a problem with it but in winter the days are short so was a lot of driving in the dark and dodging roos.
Roo's??? ....... C'mon you should know they're not roo's down here. My theory is that if it can't look at you eye to eye it's a wallaby
Yep Im born and bred Tasmanian, my wife is from NSW even though she does have a little bit of Tasmanian in her sometimes...................... ;)
. Living in Sydney, 40 minutes drive to work is nothing
yea but that's probably only 2klms.
Tassie is a great place. We moved here about 7 years ago and love it. We did the beach thing and bought a place a Carlton but be aware some of the locals are a bit strange. Hence we sold up a bit over a year later.
OMG, we've rented a place on the beach at Carlton. Ocean Grove to be precise. We arrive on the ferry on the morning of May 14 and will have our goodies delivered shortly thereafter. I start work on May 26th, so it's all coming together.
The closer we get to leaving FNQ, the more aware we become of how much we will miss the locale, and friends both from work and socially. This doesn't detract from the decision to move south but does make leaving a little more poignant.
Less than 21 sleeps to go! :D
I am jealous. We loved tassie when we were there 7 years ago. We did get a weird look when we went from Launceston to Devonport to have fish and chips and watch the ferry leave. I used to catch the ferry a lot when I was working for my parents and taking loads in or out of Tassy and the wife wanted to see the Spirit of Tasmania.
Good luck mate!
OMG, we've rented a place on the beach at Carlton. Ocean Grove to be precise. We arrive on the ferry on the morning of May 14 and will have our goodies delivered shortly thereafter. I start work on May 26th, so it's all coming together.
The closer we get to leaving FNQ, the more aware we become of how much we will miss the locale, and friends both from work and socially. This doesn't detract from the decision to move south but does make leaving a little more poignant.
Less than 21 sleeps to go! :D
I fly out of Melbourne on the 14th of may and I calculated 36 sleeps - so your thinking you will skip a few sleeps to make it come quicker
leaving family and friends does leave a lump in the throat but you can go back for visits cheap enough. Good luck and your more than welcome to join us on a tassie gathering - but they do become scarce during winter.
You'll be just in time for all of the warm weather ;)
I fly out of Melbourne on the 14th of may and I calculated 36 sleeps - so your thinking you will skip a few sleeps to make it come quicker
leaving family and friends does leave a lump in the throat but you can go back for visits cheap enough. Good luck and your more than welcome to join us on a tassie gathering - but they do become scarce during winter.
Sorry fishfinder I guess I left a bit out.
We live in FNQ currently & drive south, departing FNQ on Apr 27th. Hence less than 21 sleeps till we leave our tropical paradise, as opposed to arrive in Antarctica North.
you will enjoy it here.
The weather will be a bit bracing for a while but you soon get used to it and will wonder how you survived in the tropical humidity.
Carlton is a little beach holiday area, but is getting more commuter occupancy in recent years. Should be very quiet in the cooler months.
Take a few photos of the sun before you leave ;D
TOPNDR,
You will do well to get good warm clothing.
You'll be easy to pick, the only one not wearing shorts.
Tassie and NZ South Island people all seem to wear shorts.
No matter what the weather is like.
Good luck and safe trip.
Speaking from past experiences, if you do a lot of walkin in the bush during wet weather, it's best to have shorts on instead of long pants. Your legs get no where near as cold.
Spoken as an ex Forestry employee who spent many days trekkin thru the undergrowth.
Good Luck mate!!!!
It cant be too bad this bloke looks like he is still having fun in the cold... :cheers:
TOPNDR,
You will do well to get good warm clothing.
You'll be easy to pick, the only one not wearing shorts.
Good luck and safe trip.
Way ahead of you. Arrive MEL 8 May, 5 days shopping for cold Wx clothing, assuming that clothing stores in FNQ don't really know what cold Wx clothing is. On the ferry 13 May, dinner in the restaurant, bed, wake up in Antarctica Nth. ;D
Mate don't worry too much about stocking up on cold climate gear before you arrive!
There is plenty of good gear in the op shops down here. SHMBO got a great mountain designs parka for 30 skins that would have retailed for $300. In fact, have a good think about everything you mite want to bring down becoz realistically the price of buying here second hand when you arrive is far less than the cost of transporting. Furniture, white goods, etc, plenty of seconded hand options available on gumtree.
And we have Anoconda, Rays, etc just down the road from HIA ( hobart international airport)! Called in today after doing a drop off to jet star.
Way ahead of you. Arrive MEL 8 May, 5 days shopping for cold Wx clothing, assuming that clothing stores in FNQ don't really know what cold Wx clothing is. On the ferry 13 May, dinner in the restaurant, bed, wake up in Antarctica Nth. ;D
I will be driving off the boat to melbourne on the 12th may with empty fuel tanks and filling them before i board on the return trip = yep fuel is a bit more here so to save a couple of $ top up before you board - and it dont get to cold here - i been here from WA for 3 years now and have not yet experienced a real cold day / night and no our house does not have a heater but it does have plenty of vodka