General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Brucer on November 05, 2013, 07:52:18 PM
Just for fun, and for all the Walking Dead fans...
As a camping and 4WDing family we often contemplate the potential advantages and disadvantages of various remote locations as refuge in the zombie apocalypse.
Some of those high country huts have got to be contenders. I mean have you ever seen a zombie negotiate a steep hillside? Not a chance.. they can barely stay upright on flat ground.
What about Bendethera, or McIntyre's Hut? It'd have to be a very determined zombie hoard to make its way into one of those places.
you cant stay up on the maintain forever, eventually u will have to come down to the flats to restock..
Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
I see your point. But imagine them taking over the greenies in Parliament House and then heading out to MacIntyres.
How about somewhere harder to get to, and with a challenging environment where you know more about surviving than they do. Arkaroola sounds good to me.
I dont know anything about the walking dead show..
but have often thought about skilling up, bunkers or a hide out etc, stocking up on supplies and building an awesome vehicle thats useful for either escaping or just living in those times..
But no matter how strong you are, how well equipped or where ever you hide, someone will be stronger, have a bigger vehicle or trick you somehow or over power you somehow and you end up loosing what you had.
Just look at the this new revolution show, the dad had built a nice little community, then within a few minutes was dead.
All to their own.
Peter,
Wonnangatta Station
But i reckin it would be a tuffffffff winter lol
Do you think you will have it all alone??
you will have to fight for it, and then continue to fight for it for survival.
so I guess it wont hurt to skill up, learn to grow and catch food, build shelter etc. SO basic survival skills always useful.
Peter,
You may fear the dead but you will fight the living ;D ;D ;D
Ammo
Food
water
( oh and a hair straightener if I wanna keep the Mrs with me LOL)
anything else is a bonus but not essential to survive.
I'm excited ;D ;D ;D
Jet
Dubbo - nobody ever seems to want to go there >:D >:D >:D
what will you use to power the hair straightener?? especially when the fuel runs out for the generator..
best to learn how to straighten hair the old fashioned way.
when is the shower brush hair straight
after towel drying (dont fiz the hair just dry in the same direction as (down) you brushed it.
brush hair again using a fine haired brush
keep doing this till hair is dry.
it should be straight ish..
doesnt work too well in humid climates.
Peter,
what will you use to power the hair straightener?? especially when the fuel runs out for the generator..
best to learn how to straighten hair the old fashioned way.
when is the shower brush hair straight
after towel drying (dont fiz the hair just dry in the same direction as (down) you brushed it.
brush hair again using a fine haired brush
keep doing this till hair is dry.
it should be straight ish..
doesnt work too well in humid climates.
Peter,
You know this but worry about having enough skills to grow food/survive.......funny shyte ;D
Heaps of forums full of survivalist wierdo's, I google and read sometimes for a laugh. There are some clever people, some freaks and some scarey individuals, most don't rate. It is especially funny when you consider they are gearing up for dooms day but natural selction is survival of the fittest. Fittest is clever, good genes, healthy, strong and a bag full of luck. Some of the clowns are fat armchair bandits with the same amount of common sense as a gnat.
Yeah I think about it would need temperate climate with decent rainfall, fresh water, probably in a valley, decent soil, natural shelter.
I've thought about this too. I would head to Fraser Island. Chances of zombies catching a ferry over are slim to none! Plenty of fish to catch and eat...
You should also watch Dooms Day Prepers ,, & what do you mean , where would you go . ???
There is only 1 place to go " The Pub " , plenty of zombies there to blend in with already :cheers:.
Though the conversation is a bit dull all they do is groan & moan so I might as well be at home >:D
Definitely the best place would have to be Tracy Island... for the weather and all the cool machines there.
maybe also the alien base in Antarctica if we can find it again....... would be good to find that Stargate too
I think the most important question is "who would you go with". Good groups will always out survive a collection of individuals.
The lone survivor is typical American bullsh*t
I've thought about this too. I would head to Fraser Island. Chances of zombies catching a ferry over are slim to none! Plenty of fish to catch and eat...
we have the same plan.....I will be coming, looks like ours will be the first fight ;D
god I love the walking dead
Probably stay where we are now! Hobart has got to be one of the last places on earth under threat!
Or, head for the hills around Tolmie in the heart of Kelly country. if Ned could hide out there for two years, so could I. Plenty of deer to provide sustenance.
The best thing to go is to go where there is no food for zombies. Somewhere where all the residents have no brains to eat, so I'm thinking Frankston? Or Port Adelaide? Or Shabangabang?
there is a lot of nice ppl in Frankston these days.. atleast thats the rumour..
why hide in hobart, wont there be tassie zombies there too.
same with Fraser Island.
hmmm, might have to make a bunker for my cruiser... ahahhaha dont need one for the family.
Peter,
why hide in hobart, wont there be tassie zombies there too.
same with Fraser Island.
Plan on the local dingos taking out the first round of locals......for some reason zombiitis does not transfer to dogs 8)
The best thing to go is to go where there is no food for zombies. Somewhere where all the residents have no brains to eat, so I'm thinking Frankston? Or Port Adelaide? Or Shabangabang?
Mmmm would be more "Brainless" in the A.C.T. I reckon!
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c1/Melbourne_-_Daily_Planet_Elsternwick.jpg)
I"d go to my home brew cupboard and get some full strength alcohol and make a flame thrower out of the Ethanol from the first part of the process. >:D
Islands would be risky IMO. If you've seen the 2004 version of Dawn of the Dead you will know what I'm talking about!
I think a remote location would be good for a small group i.e a family that has some bushcraft/survival skills. This wouldn't work long term but assuming the zombie curse is eventually defeated (e.g. World War Z) they may be able to sit it out.
sitting it out with the family in the outback, then where would you choose??
need water and food supplies, plenty of rabbits and roos if you can catch them.. also plenty of food according to the aboriginies.?
Peter,
Pinch a nice 80 foot sailboat, with wind generator and water desalinator, plenty of fishing gear and sail off into the sunset.
On a side note with all the vehicles to pick from in The Walking Dead why do they putt around in a Hyundai
sitting it out with the family in the outback, then where would you choose??
Remote doesn't have to mean outback. Think of somewhere in the Vic High country, or Bendethera. Steep mountainous access from all directions and far from populated areas. Clean water and plenty of wildlife.
You guys need to watch "Shaun of the Dead"!
Done it!
Mmmm would be more "Brainless" in the A.C.T. I reckon!
You are right, parliament house it is! ;D
I say bring 'em on....
I'll just put the wife onto them. I'll tell her the walking dead left the skidmarks. :angel:
I would head str8 to the naval ship yard, grab a boat, ship, big one ( you know the type) get fully supplied and i'm off, Ive learnt by experience that Zombies carnt swim. Although it would be my luck that I would get attacked by the sharks from sharknado or run into Zombie pirates but all will be ok I would be save by superman within seconds of my life ending
Dont forget that there will be ssoonarmies that will bowl your ship over..
dont forget that you will need staff, and one of them could turn into a werewolf, hey.. you didnt think about that did you..
just make sure you take a Van so it can car surf, and a basketball..
Peter,
I'd get on an asylum boat................
They seem to get everything they need..............
I'd get on an asylum boat................
They seem to get everything they need..............
If this were Facebook I'd click "like" on this! ;D ;D ;D :cheers:
On a side note with all the vehicles to pick from in The Walking Dead why do they putt around in a Hyundai
Hyundai sponsor the show.
Do you prefer a gun or bow and arrow for killing zombies??
Peter,
I reckon it would be cool to have two zombies on a leash with their arms cutoff and their teeth smashed out. Also a super sharp samurai sword strapped to my back like the badass chick.
(http://thecount.com/wp-content/uploads/Michonne_the_walking_dead.jpg)
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/6/65/Michonne2_(TV_Series).jpg)
I'm bringin' my posse!
Maybe King Is in Bass Strait? Good food, perhaps a bit chilly.
Maybe I would just go wait for the inevitable at the Guiness Brewery. :cheers:
NSW no different from normal.
I'm bringin' my posse!
Yep, River would sort them out!! (Another good TV show cancelled.... :'()
Definetley Canberra >:D >:D >:D
I think I would need to upgrade the Patrol to a Bushmaster :cup:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F7GCnPEz7Fs
where are you going to get the fuel from??
Peter,
where are you going to get the fuel from??
Peter,
Zombies don't drive so there should be plenty once i work out how to get it out of servo tanks. Pump, I guess ???
Why is everyone assuming that they will not become a zombie themselves? Zombies are downcast by the living, but I think they have a lot going for them. Some of my best friends have at various stages of inebriation resembled zombies.
Zombies don't drive so there should be plenty once i work out how to get it out of servo tanks. Pump, I guess ???
For as long as the power lasts without staff to monitor/maintain the power stations and grid.
Also, fuel only has a limited lifespan before it goes off. Stabilizers can prolong the usable period, but not indefinitely.
When (not if) the ZA occurs, I'm locking myself inside Costco. Food, gear, tyres - it's all right there.
having not watched any zombie movies, I thought zombies came from the dead people..?
Peter,
Trackaprado, I'm with you on the boat idea, except I'd have a catamaran so that you can get into shallow estuaries for fishing. Assuming of course that zombies don's swim. Aquatic zombies would be a real bummer.
I think Hyundai probably paid a big fat quid for product placement.
having not watched any zombie movies, I thought zombies came from the dead people..?
Zombies have a hunger for human flesh, and anyone they bite dies and becomes a zombie. In the Zombie Apocalypse scenario it spreads very fast, consuming entire cities in a matter of hours/days depending whether they are the running/athletic kind (World War Z movie, Dawn of the Dead 2004) or the more traditional clumsy walkers (Night of the Living Dead, The Walking Dead).
Sometimes the virus infects healthy humans too, so if they die of natural causes they become zombified (Walking Dead)
Wonder how hard it would be to steal then drive a nuclear submarine ;D may have to have a look on ebay russia
so how are they killing them and then what happens tot he zombie body??
Peter,
What about one of those flame throwers that was just on the Family Guns show on 7mate???
Peter,
Wonder how hard it would be to steal then drive a nuclear submarine ;D may have to have a look on ebay russia
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Jet :D
so how are they killing them and then what happens tot he zombie body??
Destroy the brain to kill the zombie. Then it's just a dead body.
They will have all the answers on the new tv series.
"American Zombies", or was it "hardcore zombies" ?
Lol
I think I’m pretty good at this camping thing, but not sure how I would go if our lives depended on it.
I’m sure like most of us we bring the majority of our food and drink from home and we plan our trips weeks in advance, but what if you only had very limited time to pack from what’s already in your house and find somewhere safe. I’m sure that would change how we go once the food & water we bought with us ran out, so what happens next.
I’m pretty good a fishing and had thought about going to a place like Fraser Island (assuming the barges were still working) access to clean drinking water on a sand Island could be difficult. Then you want to camp somewhere shelted which rules out the majority of 75 mile beach seeing it so open.
So if I did find water & shelter, over time my fishing line will perish from wear & UV. Then I’m in trouble as our main food source is gone and I have no idea how to catch scrub turkeys or malnourished dingos. Island has no cows/sheep etc, so not sure long term how we would go.
They will have all the answers on the new tv series.
"American Zombies", or was it "hardcore zombies" ?
Lol
Then there could be these sitcoms, Big Zombie theory? Two broke zombies, 2 and a half zombies.
Movies
My big fat evil Zombie
Documentries
Bear Grills, man vs the Zombie
Peter,
zombies are cool 8)
wonder if zombies will go into show business when they take over
movies they will make , 'broke back zombie' , ' dude where's my zombie' , 'zombie act' ,' carry on zombie' and ' a zombie called wanda'
Want!
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/like/301008172651?lpid=87 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/like/301008172651?lpid=87)
Where would i go
The Kwinana freeway perth of course
There was a zombie idiot on the freeway last night headbutting oncoming cars and jumping on peoples roofs
Check out www.watoday.com.au for the footage
I would go with this Dude!!!
Hope you got plenty of time to watch! ;D
http://off-grid.info/blog/surviving-alone-in-alaska-this-is-inspiring/ (http://off-grid.info/blog/surviving-alone-in-alaska-this-is-inspiring/)
Thanks Mace, Bloody good watch thoroughly enjoyed that ..
Great find Mace, was worth the watch