General => General Discussion => Topic started by: alnjan on October 17, 2013, 03:22:00 PM

Title: Sydney Fires
Post by: alnjan on October 17, 2013, 03:22:00 PM
Just watching the ABC 24 watching Sydney burn again
Title: Re: Sydney Fires
Post by: baldheadedgit on October 17, 2013, 03:36:34 PM
http://www.broadcastify.com/listen/feed/12349/web
Post by: bushbandit on October 17, 2013, 03:37:11 PM
Not good son was told to evacuate and go home and this is in the Hexham area in the Pt Stephens.

6x house burnt down up here at Salt Ash the other day and the goose O'ffarell visits the area and says the home owners have to take more resposability in there fire plan yeah right as soon as they try to clear arond there property they are fined.

Doesnt look good up the Blue Mountains.
Post by: Bird on October 17, 2013, 03:46:50 PM
Quote from: bushbandit
Not good son was told to evacuate and go home and this is in the Hexham area in the Pt Stephens.

6x house burnt down up here at Salt Ash the other day and the goose O'ffarell visits the area and says the home owners have to take more resposability in there fire plan yeah right as soon as they try to clear arond there property they are fined.
someone should hit and then hit up these ****wit pollys when they open their mouths with this sorta info... "we try to clear up and get fined, what do you suggest"
Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2013, 03:58:41 PM
My brother lives 1 street away from mt York rd, mt Victoria. Our old family home still. Hope all is good for them
Post by: Brett B on October 17, 2013, 04:26:45 PM
I feel for all affected stay safe  :-[
Post by: gv 2003 on October 17, 2013, 04:32:55 PM
Sydney radar showing smoke cloud
Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2013, 04:36:01 PM
Just spoke to my bro,  couple houses gone on mt York rd. he isn't far from fire. It has burned through to dargon and Clarence to the north and has jumped Darling causeway and is in the grose valley. It has or will join with the state mine fire burning in lithgow which is already at Clarence also. He is in the RFS but hasn't gone out as yet. All you guys down there need to prepare for another bad fire season. This fire looks like it will do the same as the 1994 fires. They started at dargon and just outside bell (east side )

Post by: bushbandit on October 17, 2013, 05:02:49 PM
Fire Crisis Map

http://google.org/crisismap/2013-nsw-bushfires
Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2013, 05:15:23 PM
If you zoom in on the mt Victoria fire and look at the shaded area. My bro lives on fairy dell rd. where it showed that it joins with balmoral, that is not actually correct. Cause it is just bush. The roads have never meet.

Post by: Crisp Image on October 17, 2013, 06:04:55 PM
After having the black Saturday fires only 9km away I feel for anyone in this situation.
I hope all are well and looking after themselves.
Crispy
Post by: Clouty on October 17, 2013, 06:05:14 PM
WOW.. Just watching the coverage on the 9 news.. I hope your bro is alright mate..
Post by: Bunyip on October 17, 2013, 06:07:58 PM
Stay safe everyone, looks likeo ne of our friends will lose their place up the Central Coast  :'(

They have been evacuated and basically had time to grab the kids an dogs.

Post by: Clouty on October 17, 2013, 06:09:08 PM

Post by: D4D on October 17, 2013, 06:10:00 PM
After having the black Saturday fires only 9km away I feel for anyone in this situation.
I hope all are well and looking after themselves.

Post by: achjimmy on October 17, 2013, 06:44:50 PM
Totally absurd here. Iam less than 3ks from where the Springwood fire started. It just screamed up. I really thought it was closer and I rang the firey's they were already on it, not even that hot just insane winds. Then about an hour in the wind just started coming from every direction. I don't know fire stuff but I figured the poor sods just didnt know what to do. Straight after that we staRted seeing thick black smoke which sadly told us there where houses going up. We never even got smoked out, totally up wind. Got a lot of friends around there and locals who's kids school there tragic as always and again the dedication and professionalism of the firey's is amazing.
Post by: speewa158 on October 17, 2013, 06:49:09 PM
My prayers are with you  all of you out there
Post by: Turbojohn on October 17, 2013, 07:17:11 PM
Was working in bowral today. Hume hwy closed at mittagong. The smoke was horrendous,  detoured via jamberoo pass now home only to hear several houses across the road from a mates place in winmalee burnt down and fourty or more  in the area gone. Not good.  Hope everyone is safe.
Post by: Turbojohn on October 17, 2013, 07:26:38 PM
Really pi$$ed off with the amount of moronic driver's I saw today failing to move out of the way of emergency services vehicle's trying to get to their destination!  How can you not notice a fire truck with lights and sirens on two feet off your back bumper!
Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2013, 07:32:47 PM
WOW.. Just watching the coverage on the 9 news.. I hope your bro is alright mate..

Yeah he will be fine, although I can't remember the last time we had a fire in the mt York/st George's parade area, he should be still ok. I feel for the guys down yellow rock/springwood. I just read up to 30 houses down there are gone? Can someone there confirm area, I also have family in the area down there.

Post by: achjimmy on October 17, 2013, 07:33:21 PM
Really pi$$ed off with the amount of moronic driver's I saw today failing to move out of the way of emergency services vehicle's trying to get to their destination!  How can you not notice a fire truck with lights and sirens on two feet off your back bumper!

Way of the world now John. Just wait till the gorkers come out touring the burnt out zones.
Post by: achjimmy on October 17, 2013, 07:35:13 PM
Yeah he will be fine, although I can't remember the last time we had a fire in the mt York/st George's parade area, he should be still ok. I feel for the guys down yellow rock/springwood. I just read up to 30 houses down there are gone? Can someone there confirm area, I also have family in the area down there.

Yep it's happened but I doubt it will be confirm till morning old mate. Thankfully seems no loss of life which is what matters.
Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2013, 08:09:41 PM

Yep it's happened but I doubt it will be confirm till morning old mate. Thankfully seems no loss of life which is what matters.

:cheers: mate.

It's always happened, try being the driver of that truck, and predict what the driver will do when they realise you are behind them. Not fun
Post by: Rumpig on October 17, 2013, 08:24:33 PM

i hope all your family are safe Olly.
Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2013, 08:33:21 PM
 :cheers: buddy. Will check in with them in the morning. At his stage all good. Pray for some rain for nsw, then piss the greenies/tree huggers  off  so hazard reduction can take place to reduce the effect that these fires can cause. Sorry. My rant for the day.
Post by: Mobi on October 17, 2013, 08:43:32 PM
Drove from Raymond Terrace to Canberra today. Smoke at Raymond Terrace when I left but no wind. South of Sydney the wind was crazy easy to understand how bad the fire at Balmoral is. Hope everyone stays safe
Post by: Turbojohn on October 17, 2013, 08:44:29 PM
Way of the world now John. Just wait till the gorkers come out touring the burnt out zones.

Sad but true!
Post by: MDS69 on October 17, 2013, 09:15:34 PM
Apparently the Catherine Hill Bay pub is gone. For those of you that know it you will understand how devastating this is. Still no loss of life so that is the main thing.
Post by: Bird on October 17, 2013, 09:32:00 PM
the ****ed part is its the same Shit every year...

same dangers.. yet the gov make it hell for people to clear Shit to save their lives..  WTF is wrong with ANY government??? Why don't they **** off and let people live?
Post by: Bird on October 17, 2013, 09:33:25 PM
And don't forget people

10:04pm: The Salvos have launched an appeal for NSW fire victims, saying all funds donated will be used to support those affected during the bushfire crisis and to help communities recover.

Spokesman Major Peter Sutcliffe says Salvation Army officers were out delivering meals to evacuated residents and emergency services personnel today.

Donations can be made online by visiting www.salvos.org.au or by phoning 13 72 58
Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/latest-nsw-fire-updates-thursday-october-17-20131017-2vo14.html#ixzz2hyhjhgDF
Post by: oldmate on October 17, 2013, 09:41:29 PM
And don't forget people

10:04pm: The Salvos have launched an appeal for NSW fire victims, saying all funds donated will be used to support those affected during the bushfire crisis and to help communities recover.

Spokesman Major Peter Sutcliffe says Salvation Army officers were out delivering meals to evacuated residents and emergency services personnel today.

Donations can be made online by visiting www.salvos.org.au or by phoning 13 72 58
Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/latest-nsw-fire-updates-thursday-october-17-20131017-2vo14.html#ixzz2hyhjhgDF
And don't forget people

If anyone wants to help this is how to do it. The salvos do a great job, not just with assisting communities but even for the firies. Nothing better than getting a  sandwich and coke after spending all day or night or both fighting fires, and come back buggered and totally exhausted. These guys do a great job
Post by: Pete_R on October 18, 2013, 06:46:54 AM
Apparently the Catherine Hill Bay pub is gone. For those of you that know it you will understand how devastating this is. Still no loss of life so that is the main thing.

Catherine Hill pub was saved
http://inagist.com/all/390785436865396736/
Post by: Proudy on October 18, 2013, 07:06:48 AM
Hi we are from Nords wharf you can't believe all the reports on the tv. I have been talking to the few people who stayed and at the moment no houses have been lost in Nords wharf. The fire burnt right up to my fence line. And has now moved past burning out all the bush behind our house. The worst part is we were out when they shut the road so couldn't get home to get our pets. So at the moment house and pets are safe.
Post by: grc on October 18, 2013, 07:27:41 AM
Hi we are from Nords wharf you can't believe all the reports on the tv. I have been talking to the few people who stayed and at the moment no houses have been lost in Nords wharf. The fire burnt right up to my fence line. And has now moved past burning out all the bush behind our house. The worst part is we were out when they shut the road so couldn't get home to get our pets. So at the moment house and pets are safe.

That's good to here Proudy   CHEERS  GRC  ;D ;D
Post by: britts on October 18, 2013, 07:36:16 AM
Good to hear you're all ok, Proudy would have been a long night for you.
Thoughts to all that these fires are affecting.
And to the guy's and girls on the front line  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Bird on October 18, 2013, 08:40:23 AM
Quote from: oldmate
If anyone wants to help this is how to do it. The salvos do a great job, not just with assisting communities but even for the firies.
Nothing better than getting a  sandwich and coke after spending all day or night or both fighting fires, and come back buggered and totally exhausted. These guys do a great job

Doesnt have to be hard either..

Go without a few pack of cancer sticks for a week and donate th cash, or miss out on a slab for the weekend..

Just remember your sitting at home in our warm dry house for the weekend, some 100's of poor ****s are sleeping in a school/community hall but have nothing to go back to.
(http://images.smh.com.au/2013/10/17/4839168/ZZZZZZZZZZZ_fires-20131017211607735035-940x628.jpg)
Post by: Bird on October 18, 2013, 09:49:58 AM
The Salvos  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BWz4EsRCEAARkBK.jpg)
Post by: SteveandViv on October 18, 2013, 10:29:22 AM
The back of our house/property burned and all the leaves on the roof. The house next to us is gooonnneee. The kids cubby house burnt but that is it. Lots of friends lost every thing, very sad.

Going back in two weeks, was anyway. Wonder what I will see.
Post by: Bunyip on October 18, 2013, 12:16:00 PM
We were planning to go to Sydney tonight for my daughters netball presentation. Looks like that is now off the cards due to both the Bells Line and Great Western being closed.

Good luck to all those with houses in affected areas, and to those that are fighting to control these fires.

Post by: Bird on October 18, 2013, 12:23:38 PM
We were planning to go to Sydney tonight for my daughters netball presentation. Looks like that is now off the cards due to both the Bells Line and Great Western being closed.

Good luck to all those with houses in affected areas, and to those that are fighting to control these fires.

You could get a flight :D
Post by: Bunyip on October 18, 2013, 12:34:03 PM
You could get a flight :D

Knowing my luck the smoke etc. from the fires would choke the planes engines  ;D

Not that keen on getting there to be honest, we will take a drive and see if the road is re-opened (I cannot see this happening but the drive will be good in any case) but if not will just turn around and come home.

Post by: alnjan on October 18, 2013, 12:36:32 PM
I hear there has been a loss of life. 

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/2013/10/17/02/04/firefighters-prepare-for-hot-dry-day
Post by: alnjan on October 18, 2013, 12:43:36 PM
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/2013/10/18/10/45/man-saves-home-from-bushfire

Champion  :cup:
Post by: Proudy on October 18, 2013, 02:16:32 PM
I have managed to get home today. At the moment the threat to property in Nords Wharf. But Chain valley bay and catho still not out the Shit..

Proudy

Post by: Jenko67 on October 18, 2013, 02:26:44 PM
And there are some scum out there looting after all the loss....

http://www.news.com.au/national-news/all-you-can-taste-is-smoke8217-fire-survivors-tell-their-stories/story-fncynjr2-1226742269519
Post by: achjimmy on October 18, 2013, 02:29:16 PM
Went out to buy some stuff at Bunnings  and passed a dozen firey's going the other way, just got back pass the cordone being setup on way back, streets now blocked to incoming traffic. Firey's have been down and checked the hydrants and bugged out. Had one stop point at some  trees and say "got a chainsaw? cut em down" " there's no tree preservation order in the face of a bush fire" and then left. We're not in the direct path but while there no wind it just creeps every direction, hence can come our way. Had Elvis beat us up a coulple of times, must of been refueling? Just gone passed again, huge.
Post by: achjimmy on October 18, 2013, 02:48:28 PM
Size of the embers blowing in, and there SFA wind currently.

Post by: Bird on October 18, 2013, 02:51:52 PM
Size of the embers blowing in, and there SFA wind currently.
IM moving to your joint. we have never had gold ring embers floating in here :(
Post by: oldmate on October 19, 2013, 12:04:36 PM
A photo my brother just sent me
Post by: Robbo on October 19, 2013, 12:22:59 PM
Big Thumbs Up for the Salvos, they do an amazing job in emergency situations. They do not preach or distinguish, they just work tirelessly and effortlessly to help those of us who are affected by these tragedies.  :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Robbo on October 19, 2013, 12:25:20 PM
And there are some scum out there looting after all the loss....

http://www.news.com.au/national-news/all-you-can-taste-is-smoke8217-fire-survivors-tell-their-stories/story-fncynjr2-1226742269519

These Scum are the lowest of lowes and should be thrown into the fires to burn.  >:( >:(
Post by: oldmate on October 19, 2013, 12:33:25 PM
I agree robbo, these events generally bring out great community spirit and support, but unfortunately bring out the a***hole scum that seems to travel australia following these events
Post by: SteveandViv on October 19, 2013, 01:37:54 PM
We were very lucky. Here are some pics.

This is at the bottom right of the yard. The cubby was just burnt and you can see where the fire was burning in our yard but our Tenant decided to stay and put that out

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/cubby1_zps526195b0.jpg) (http://s207.photobucket.com/user/Steveandviv/media/cubby1_zps526195b0.jpg.html)

These next two are at the very bottom right of our property and this is the other side of the Valley where all the houses are lost. You can see there is only a few metres from our yard

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/bottomyard2_zps308deafd.jpg) (http://s207.photobucket.com/user/Steveandviv/media/bottomyard2_zps308deafd.jpg.html)

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/fenceatback3_zps23a2ea7f.jpg) (http://s207.photobucket.com/user/Steveandviv/media/fenceatback3_zps23a2ea7f.jpg.html)

This house is, was next door at the bottom of our yard.

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/nextdoor4_zpsc7e17570.jpg) (http://s207.photobucket.com/user/Steveandviv/media/nextdoor4_zpsc7e17570.jpg.html)

This is how lucky we were. The leaves were scorched on our roof

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/roof5_zpsc3b64f43.jpg) (http://s207.photobucket.com/user/Steveandviv/media/roof5_zpsc3b64f43.jpg.html)

This is the house at the bottom of the yard in the pic.

http://youtu.be/IxzMzZQBjn0

This is the street where you are hearing about all the losses. This is 1 house from our place.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QcRCbdakurw
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2013, 02:01:55 PM
I must admit I'm over the blood thirsty TV stations and morning shows interviewing people who have lost everything and saying **** like
"so how you feeling now you have nothing left"
"you must be upset your house burnt to the ground?"
(http://www.sherv.net/cm/emoticons/guns/dynamite.gif)(http://www.sherv.net/cm/emoticons/guns/dynamite.gif)(http://www.sherv.net/cm/emoticons/guns/dynamite.gif)(http://www.sherv.net/cm/emoticons/guns/dynamite.gif)

That's pretty heavy Steve..

But there is some good people out there
some old lady rang up some radio station yesterday and donated all her furniture from within her house and bedding etc... she said she can get by..  :cup: :cup: :cup: the aussie spirit :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: Bird on October 19, 2013, 02:51:13 PM
Zig Zag - gone
http://www.theage.com.au/nsw/fire-tears-through-iconic-zig-zag-railway-20131019-2vt6v.html
(http://images.theage.com.au/2013/10/19/4843401/zigzag-620x349.jpg)
Post by: SteveandViv on October 19, 2013, 03:17:25 PM
Zig Zag - gone
http://www.theage.com.au/nsw/fire-tears-through-iconic-zig-zag-railway-20131019-2vt6v.html

Yea, that also sucks. Lots of great mems from there. Used to love to take the kids there and they loved it when Thomas the Tank engine was in town. Going to be a while until it all settles down

And yea, how good are some people.  :cup:
Post by: bushbandit on October 19, 2013, 03:31:59 PM
Anyone who has travelled the road between Swansea NSW and Doyalson would have seen this over many years ,how lucky that it wasnt BBQed.SS not so lucky.
Post by: oldmate on October 19, 2013, 05:13:21 PM
Zig Zag - gone

Had a bad feeling about that. Not good. All the hard work by volunteers, just gone
Post by: achjimmy on October 19, 2013, 05:43:28 PM
Zig Zag - gone

Plus they just went through Hell to keep it open through lack of finances, this is a bad blow for a great tourist attraction.
Post by: D4D on October 20, 2013, 04:10:00 PM
Prime Minister Tony Abbott joins Davidson Rural Fire Brigade to fight NSW bushfires
http://www.news.com.au/national-news/prime-minister-tony-abbott-joins-davidson-rural-fire-brigade-to-fight-nsw-bushfires/story-fncynjr2-1226743334542

I thought it was a PR stunt until I read Mr Abbott has been a member of the NSW Rural Fire Service for 13 years and is trained as a specialist breathing apparatus operator, chainsaw operator and tanker driver.
Post by: alnjan on October 20, 2013, 04:24:51 PM
More to the man then what we know, good on him for getting in and having a go
Post by: MDS69 on October 20, 2013, 06:59:14 PM
Prime Minister Tony Abbott joins Davidson Rural Fire Brigade to fight NSW bushfires
http://www.news.com.au/national-news/prime-minister-tony-abbott-joins-davidson-rural-fire-brigade-to-fight-nsw-bushfires/story-fncynjr2-1226743334542

I thought it was a PR stunt until I read Mr Abbott has been a member of the NSW Rural Fire Service for 13 years and is trained as a specialist breathing apparatus operator, chainsaw operator and tanker driver.

I remember he was involved in the fires down the south coast on NSW around Nowra a few years ago so he has been doing it for a while.
Post by: Black Diamond on October 20, 2013, 07:00:57 PM

good on him I reckon, a bit of Aussie spirit :cheers:
Post by: Bird on October 20, 2013, 07:01:59 PM
Quote from: D4D
All 3 are easy to pass.. I even beat the rule of no beard at the time with my goaty :)
Post by: gordo350 on October 20, 2013, 07:08:49 PM
Agreed all three are easy to pass. But you still have to put in the time to do them. Never saw Gillard in yellow overalls
Post by: muzza01 on October 20, 2013, 07:19:47 PM
Agreed all three are easy to pass. But you still have to put in the time to do them. Never saw Gillard in yellow overalls
Thank god.
Post by: Symon on October 20, 2013, 07:31:09 PM
All 3 are easy to pass.. I even beat the rule of no beard at the time with my goaty :)

I remember reading somewhere that he was once the 2IC for his RFS group, but had to stand down to give priority to his public duties.

He's also copped a fair bit of flack from various people who say that he has more important things to do with his time, like running the country for example.
Post by: Bird on October 20, 2013, 07:31:15 PM
Quote from: gordo350
Agreed all three are easy to pass. But you still have to put in the time to do them.
Agree. I went one step further to BFI, that was good fun.
Post by: achjimmy on October 20, 2013, 08:03:16 PM
I thought maybe Abott needs to learn to delegate, but then I thought it can only be good for the RFS. If our transport ministers caught trains and our school ministers went to school maybe the action would be more direct.
Post by: Terry W4 on October 20, 2013, 09:05:35 PM
I thought maybe Abott needs to learn to delegate, but then I thought it can only be good for the RFS. If our transport ministers caught trains and our school ministers went to school maybe the action would be more direct.

And our defence ministers went to war! Our social security ministers go on the dole - Ridiculous. Minister's should govern not look for photo and pr ops.
Post by: CRW on October 20, 2013, 09:10:15 PM
We don't need our Defence minister to go to war, strange comment you should want a war, maybe they should have served in the ADF but then you would have a narrow choice

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Post by: Bird on October 20, 2013, 09:39:07 PM
Quote from: Terry W4
Minister's should govern not look for photo and pr ops.
that would be fair enough if he joined last week.. he joined 13 years ago.. I don't think photo ops were on his mind then..
Post by: SteveandViv on October 20, 2013, 10:58:42 PM
Yea, seems strange those few have an issue with him helping. I don't give a rats who saves my house if it's on fire and they all turn up there anyway to bleat on about giving assistance for this and that anyway so why not put out a fire or two while he is there.

It really is not a big deal.
Post by: baldheadedgit on October 21, 2013, 03:56:25 AM
Well been away all weekend, got the call last night,   people I know from down the end of Steve and Vivs rd... there house is gone, they lost everything... you guys may even know of them .. the "Pendlebury's".....
Then I find out my brother is on alert, ready to be evacuated should the 3 fires merge... he is in Leura...
Post by: Symon on October 21, 2013, 05:01:03 AM

From memory when Abbott was indigenous affairs minister he spent weeks teaching aboriginal school kids up near Coen.  Love him or hate him you got to admit he does put some effort in.

Although it would cause havoc for his security detail, I think it would be a big morale boost to have the PM there supporting you on the ground.
Post by: D4D on October 21, 2013, 05:27:31 AM
Getting back to the fires, it is not looking good at all. fire chiefs have warned families across Sydney's west to brace themselves as the massive 300km wall of fire sweeping through the Blue Mountains could see Leura, Katoomba and Blackheath evacuated today.
Post by: SteveandViv on October 21, 2013, 05:29:07 AM
A few more pics.

This is the street view of the house at the bottom of our yard

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/2013-10-18_1423001_zps56100e18.jpg) (http://s207.photobucket.com/user/Steveandviv/media/2013-10-18_1423001_zps56100e18.jpg.html)

The reverse shot of our cubby. I suppose this shows best, how close it came.

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/2013-10-18_1351551_zps2a718628.jpg) (http://s207.photobucket.com/user/Steveandviv/media/2013-10-18_1351551_zps2a718628.jpg.html)

Another of the next door neighbours  :'(

(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/2013-10-18_1351011_zps26ae6732.jpg) (http://s207.photobucket.com/user/Steveandviv/media/2013-10-18_1351011_zps26ae6732.jpg.html)
Post by: SteveandViv on October 21, 2013, 05:32:10 AM
Getting back to the fires, it is not looking good at all. fire chiefs have warned families across Sydney's west to brace themselves as the massive 300km wall of fire sweeping through the Blue Mountains could see Leura, Katoomba and Blackheath evacuated today.

The thing is, there is no where for them to go or if they leave late that is. One single lane road - this is very sad for the mountains and I hope I never run into a grennie that tells me I can't back burn over winter >:(
Post by: oldmate on October 21, 2013, 06:16:13 AM
Unless there is a change in the whether, the 2 mountain fires and the state mine fire will all join up. Come on guys everybody do a rain dance.

Post by: FNQBunyip on October 21, 2013, 06:35:51 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfYOVnmkP0c

The youtube clip is 30mins but its a very well put together . 50 odd years and here we are again .
I grew up in the mountains , its hard to watch from this far away. Have relos involved .

Take care all .

Post by: VKPrado on October 21, 2013, 07:05:04 AM
It is so hard to imagine what it is like there at the moment while the rain falls here every second day.

Stay safe and if I could I would direct the rain to you all.
Post by: achjimmy on October 21, 2013, 07:05:23 AM
Well been away all weekend, got the call last night,   people I know from down the end of Steve and Vivs rd... there house is gone, they lost everything... you guys may even know of them .. the "Pendlebury's".....
Then I find out my brother is on alert, ready to be evacuated should the 3 fires merge... he is in Leura...

Mate I know the Pendleburys, they have been there for years very sad.
Post by: Bunyip on October 21, 2013, 07:16:31 AM
And our defence ministers went to war! Our social security ministers go on the dole - Ridiculous. Minister's should govern not look for photo and pr ops.

I have worked with ex-govt ministers and let me tell you them getting a dose of reality would be a great thing. The minister I worked with was straight out of parlament and I had to go out tho his house to give him his new laptop and phone.
1. he couldn't turn on a computer, he had never done that
2. he had no idea how to write a letter on a computer
3. He couldn't write email. His version of writing an email was dictating to his staff, reading an email was a piece of paper in his in tray and relying was scrawling someting on the read email and giving it to his staff

Post by: achjimmy on October 21, 2013, 07:20:18 AM

Yeah sadly these two will join if the Lithgow fire crosses the bells line. There is nothing they can do to stop the fire once it's in the Grose Valley. Which is where the Mt Vic fire  is now. It will burn to its either burnt out or extinguished by rain. High winds will force it up valleys and ridges to to the homes. The fire service have been down all the streets surveyed homes for pools and static water supplies and spoke with residents about staying or leaving and about the ability to defend. It was sobering to see them point out properties further out on the ridge and say they are undeniable.
Post by: achjimmy on October 21, 2013, 07:24:46 AM
Unless there is a change in the whether, the 2 mountain fires and the state mine fire will all join up. Come on guys everybody do a rain dance.

Or if not rain no wind. As above nothing manmade extinguishes it now. I spoke to a friend who is involved in two water bombing choppers and asked him, he said we keep bombing it till it rains!
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on October 21, 2013, 07:33:34 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MfYOVnmkP0c

Just watched the clip and it is very moving for sure. I spent my first 20 years on the mountains and can remember several large devastating fires where we lived at Leura and then at Lawson. I remember dad talking about several fires which went through the place before I was born too. My father was born and bred on the mountains and the only time i have seen him with tears in his eyes was when a fire ripped through our place when we lived in Ridge Street @ lawson. They still now have a piece of molten metal as a wall hanging piece which was a push mower.
Scary times

But saying that- i now have been here in coffs harbour for 29 years-NEVER EVER seen a fire in the hills here. Some spots there must be 4-5 of forest debris laying around.
Post by: Bird on October 21, 2013, 09:11:23 AM
Quote from: achjimmy
Yeah sadly these two will join if the Lithgow fire crosses the bells line. There is nothing they can do to stop the fire once it's in the Grose Valley. Which is where the Mt Vic fire  is now. It will burn to its either burnt out or extinguished by rain. High winds will force it up valleys and ridges to to the homes.
Lots of hard work, not knowing the area, but would fire incendiary's and water bombers to try and create fire breaks or to divert the direction be an option.. ???
Post by: achjimmy on October 21, 2013, 10:10:59 AM
Lots of hard work, not knowing the area, but would fire incendiary's and water bombers to try and create fire breaks or to divert the direction be an option.. ???

Bruce I am not a firey so wouldn't know.  Some images of the Valley here https://www.google.com.au/search?q=grose+valley&client=safari&hl=en-gb&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ei=vnBkUvLWFeSgigfct4HgCQ&ved=0CAkQ_AUoAA&biw=1024&bih=672
Gives you an idea of the country behind just about all the towns in the Mountains.
Post by: oldmate on October 21, 2013, 10:49:19 AM

G'day mate, knowing the grose valley very well and also being involved with incendiary drops in the past, hearing what the conditions are like down there I think at present would create more drama. The problem with the grose is there is no where to divert it to. Once the fire drops into it it creates a tunnel effect with the wind and just takes off. The best you can hope for is that it doesn't climb back out on to the ridge line again. When it does it is normally at springwood area, which may not be as bad due to the fact that the yellow rock fire has already spread over the towards where it would normally pop up. Here hoping the fires burn towards each other in the valley and crew can just to property protection from the ridge, (eg back burning). It not going to end anytime soon though. I am also worried about the colo heights, kurrajong area as that lithgow fire is heading there in a lot of dense inaccessible bush land.
Post by: Robbo on October 21, 2013, 10:54:52 AM
A thought for all those hard working Firefighters and Volunteers who are out there dealing with this catastrophic event.
They are all Heros in my books.

Post by: Crisp Image on October 21, 2013, 02:11:16 PM
A thought for all those hard working Firefighters and Volunteers who are out there dealing with this catastrophic event.
They are all Heros in my books.
And not just those on the front lines either but those in support. Remember most of the people also have families at home. That in my mind also makes then heros too. Keeping the families going can sometimes be hard when one parent is away.
As for Mr Abbot being in the CFS. Is ne not allowed time off and what he does in his spare time is his business. I say good on him for doing so.

Crispy
Post by: achjimmy on October 21, 2013, 02:24:03 PM
And not just those on the front lines either but those in support. Remember most of the people also have families at home. That in my mind also makes then heros too. Keeping the families going can sometimes be hard when one parent is away.
As for Mr Abbot being in the CFS. Is ne not allowed time off and what he does in his spare time is his business. I say good on him for doing so.

Crispy

Not to mention that there own homes maybe at risk.
Post by: oldmate on October 21, 2013, 03:34:02 PM

Crispy

Too true mate. Just remember for every firiie there is generally a  wife back at the station helping out, organizing or cooking or just making sure guys a hydrated when they come off shift.

Post by: achjimmy on October 21, 2013, 04:43:34 PM
We got chucked out at 4pm. The firies setup in the driveway. Told us its going to look spectacular but will probably be mild, crawled all over the property, checked our fire pump and wanted a run down on it, was happy with everything that we had done. Didnt seem, concerned about us staying till the police turned up and kicked us out. Pretty quick in the end, got the family (including dog) cruza, Rodeo, all the amo (didnt want firey's facing WW3 if the house went up ) and the engel. Reminded them again not to risk there lives for my place and left. Gotta admire them.
Post by: Redcherokee on October 21, 2013, 06:26:21 PM
We got chucked out at 4pm. The firies setup in the driveway. Told us its going to look spectacular but will probably be mild,

Fingers crossed for you.  Hope it is all there when you get back.
Post by: oldmate on October 21, 2013, 08:28:06 PM
We got chucked out at 4pm. The firies setup in the driveway. Told us its going to look spectacular but will probably be mild, crawled all over the property, checked our fire pump and wanted a run down on it, was happy with everything that we had done. Didnt seem, concerned about us staying till the police turned up and kicked us out. Pretty quick in the end, got the family (including dog) cruza, Rodeo, all the amo (didnt want firey's facing WW3 if the house went up ) and the engel. Re
minded them again not to risk there lives for my place and left. Gotta admire them.
Hope all works out for you guys. Where abouts in faulco are you?
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on October 21, 2013, 09:04:36 PM
how many myswag folk are insanely in danger do we know ??
Post by: Marcus73 on October 21, 2013, 09:22:05 PM
We got chucked out at 4pm. The firies setup in the driveway. Told us its going to look spectacular but will probably be mild, crawled all over the property, checked our fire pump and wanted a run down on it, was happy with everything that we had done. Didnt seem, concerned about us staying till the police turned up and kicked us out. Pretty quick in the end, got the family (including dog) cruza, Rodeo, all the amo (didnt want firey's facing WW3 if the house went up ) and the engel. Reminded them again not to risk there lives for my place and left. Gotta admire them.

Hope all goes well for you and your family

Post by: oldmate on October 21, 2013, 09:25:30 PM
Not sure on direct my swaggers, but all of my family are in the mountains.  Have a son in Hartley, brother in mt vic, he is fighting fires also, and other familly scattered all the way to springwood. Mainly around blackheath,mellow bath, katoomba area
Post by: achjimmy on October 22, 2013, 12:48:49 AM
Thanks Guys, all good and back home. My neighbor rang and said the firies suggested we come back but had to talk past the coppers. They had about 6 trucks n the street and a ton of guys waiting around. Midal Dural RFS up here to help out  :cheers: hoses everywhere. Not long after they were denied a Back burn and left.
Strangely eery here tonight with only two of us in the street. Took some cold waters up to the  firey's and coppers but the firey's had gone. It's good to see the riot police in the black patrols constantly patrolling the streets with there spotties on  looking for scum whom may take advantage of the situation.

Worse bit for us is the waiting, it's going to come and good chance it'll be twice! The Springwood fire will creep around the valley and come up from behind, should be manageable especially with the units they had today. The second will come from the Grose Valley in the next few days and is unpredictable but will be fearsome coupled with the westerlies we get here.
Post by: woolgoolgaoffroad on October 22, 2013, 08:14:35 AM
After spending half my life down there on the Mountains and knowing what it's like to lose everything, i have been thinking that i want to make an offer to any myswag member or their families-
That if by any chance they do lose their home I am offering my hardfloor camper for them to stay in, as long as it takes for them to get back on their feet. It can sleep 2 adults and two kids. Full kitchen, water and extra enclosed room.
I will even deliver it down there for you.

pm me or call for any further details and please feel free to pass this on
Kev
0439 648 248
Post by: Bird on October 22, 2013, 10:49:07 AM
Its an awesome country - not run by pen pushing ****ing morons.

Publican offered free beer and bacon and egg roll to firefighters in NSW... They had just saved his pub

Gets warned by Gov Regulator for serving free alcohol!!
Post by: oldmate on October 22, 2013, 10:57:01 AM
Bloody pollies.
Post by: Bird on October 22, 2013, 11:43:28 AM
www.emergencyvolunteering.com.au
Post by: gv 2003 on October 22, 2013, 01:15:11 PM

this IS A CUT AND PATE FROM THER FICE BOOK PAGE:{
4wders to assist Blue Mountians fire affected residents.
https://www.facebook.com/events/165677673639290/?ref_newsfeed_story_type=regular

Please promote this event to your full extent.

Put yourselves in the Blue Mountains residents shoes, imagine the feeling of a massive group of help arriving, just as your house, shed or car has been burnt to the ground.

We as 4wders love and care for the bush, its time to show it!

Due to the recent devastation of the bush fires throughout the Blue Mountains I believe its our responsibility to lend a hand to the community that so frequently "tops up our water" at the top of Lapstone hill or helps with our puncture in the middle of bells line of rd.
 Lets show the Aussie spirit 4wders are so famous for.
 Roll up or sleeves, pull out the shovels, rakes and chainsaws and lend a hand.
 Bring your trailer and all the tubs of elbow grease you have and get stuck into it.

More then likely we will travel from Penrith in convoy to affected locations, help for the day stay there over night, get done what needs doing and head home.

If you have any means of publicising this event please do so.
 Add everyone that you can.

*The locations will be set once the true damage is assessed.

*The dates are set as 16th and 17th Nov but are obviously subject to change due to conditions.
Post by: Bird on October 22, 2013, 03:23:16 PM
Much Poo

4:17pm: NSW Rural Fire Services Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons has just begun his latest briefing and he has already issued this grim warning.

"The forecast and scenario for tomorrow is about as bad as it gets," he says.

The revised forecast is for temperatures in the mid to high 30s, with humidity down to 10 per cent.

Strong winds are forecast with gusts of between 80km/h to 100km/h.

He's urged everyone who does not need to be in the Blue Mountains on Wednesday to be out of the region by 10am

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/nsw-bushfires-live-updates-october-22-20131022-2vxsm.html
Post by: oldmate on October 22, 2013, 06:11:47 PM
I spoke to my bro again tonight, and he just sounded down right exhausted.
Post by: FNQBunyip on October 22, 2013, 06:39:41 PM
Hang in the guy's and girl's , hopefully a cooling off and wetting down coming soon , get through tomorrow safe , Best of luck , wish I could deposit rain into the appeal with the cash ..

Take care
Post by: Rumpig on October 22, 2013, 06:58:54 PM
After spending half my life down there on the Mountains and knowing what it's like to lose everything, i have been thinking that i want to make an offer to any myswag member or their families-
That if by any chance they do lose their home I am offering my hardfloor camper for them to stay in, as long as it takes for them to get back on their feet. It can sleep 2 adults and two kids. Full kitchen, water and extra enclosed room.
I will even deliver it down there for you.

pm me or call for any further details and please feel free to pass this on
Kev
0439 648 248
that's a great offer Kev...here's hoping nobody needs to take you up on it  :cup:
Post by: oldmate on October 22, 2013, 07:43:59 PM
that's a great offer Kev...here's hoping nobody needs to take you up on it  :cup:

X2  :cup:
Post by: Bird on October 23, 2013, 10:21:07 AM
Line them up against the wall, and let those with nothing left do as they will to them...

11:16am: Two teenage boys have been caught over the alleged theft of a charity collection box for bushfire victims from a Springwood cafe on Monday.

The pair, aged 13 and 15, were stopped by police at Parramatta where they were allegedly caught shopliftting there.

At Parramatta police station, officers recognised the pair who fit the description for the charity box theft.

The have both been charged with a string of offences and will attend court for the theft of the charity box at a later date.

Investigations continue and police are confident of identifying further offenders, police said.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/nsw-bushfires-live-updates-october-23-20131023-2vzs8.html#ixzz2iV3IubYx
Post by: alnjan on October 23, 2013, 08:01:50 PM
http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/2013/10/23/18/26/defence-admits-starting-nsw-fire-report

Defence admits starting NSW fire

An angry Blue Mountains mayor wants answers from the Department of Defence after it emerged army explosives training started the massive State Mine bushfire which has stalked his community for a week.

Wonder where this will end
Post by: Marschy on October 23, 2013, 08:13:13 PM
DoD doesn't admit fault that easily. Don't believe everything you read.
Post by: muzza01 on October 23, 2013, 08:35:47 PM
Exactly x 100. So did the DOD admit fault or did the media say so?
Post by: alnjan on October 23, 2013, 08:47:59 PM
The Rural Fire Service said an investigation had found the training exercise on army land at Marrangaroo on October 16 was responsible for the blaze.
"The investigation has concluded the fire started as a result of exploding ordinances on the range on Wednesday," an RFS spokesman said.
The Department of Defence would not confirm the RFS's findings, but Blue Mountains mayor Mark Greenhill said he was not happy at all and has not yet heard from the department.

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/2013/10/23/18/26/defence-admits-starting-nsw-fire-report
Post by: CRW on October 23, 2013, 08:48:11 PM
Department of Defence is investigating, evidence so far is inconclusive

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
Post by: Marschy on October 23, 2013, 09:01:15 PM
State departments don't investigate federal departments.
Post by: alnjan on October 23, 2013, 09:28:02 PM
RFS investigate how bush fires start.  They are not investigating the DoD
Post by: Bird on October 24, 2013, 11:51:16 AM
Quote from: alnjan
They are not investigating the DoD
No investigation required.
According to teh radio DoD admitted it and worked with RFS etc

An aircraft involved in firefighting operations has crashed on the NSW south coast, the Rural Fire Service says.

Fire authorities have "grave concerns" for the safety of the pilot after the aircraft crashed in rugged bushland about 40 kilometres west of Ulladulla just after 10am on Thursday.

The RFS confirmed that the aircraft, with one person on board, was involved in firefighting operations at the time.

The rugged nature of the terrain was making it hard for emergency crews to get to the scene.

Two rescue helicopters reached the crash scene just before midday.
http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/aircraft-fighting-nsw-bushfire-crashes-20131024-2w2qw.html
:(
Post by: treads on October 24, 2013, 12:10:00 PM
Fingers and toes crossed for a successful outcome. I've got many friends up in the air over various firegrounds at the moment  :-[
Post by: Bird on October 24, 2013, 02:59:25 PM
Fingers and toes crossed for a successful outcome. I've got many friends up in the air over various firegrounds at the moment  :-[

:(
Post by: oldmate on October 24, 2013, 03:29:12 PM
Not good, and the another one at mt hothem

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/pilot-killed-in-light-plane-crash-near-mt-hotham/story-fni0fit3-1226745367533

He was apparently on the way to Melbourne to get supplies for the fires
Post by: Robbo on October 24, 2013, 03:39:00 PM

Another tragedy, this pilot was in a waterbombing aircraft that crashed near Ulladulla and sadly he did not survive.
Early reports are that a wing may have broken off.

http://www.news.com.au/national/pilot-dies-after-firefighting-aircraft-crashes-near-ulladulla-in-new-south-wales/story-fncynjr2-1226745835136

Thoughts to all those who are out there dealing with this situation.
Post by: treads on October 24, 2013, 04:20:55 PM
Rest In Peace David  :'(
Post by: achjimmy on October 24, 2013, 04:51:39 PM
Another tragedy, this pilot was in a waterbombing aircraft that crashed near Ulladulla and sadly he did not survive.
Early reports are that a wing may have broken off.

http://www.news.com.au/national/pilot-dies-after-firefighting-aircraft-crashes-near-ulladulla-in-new-south-wales/story-fncynjr2-1226745835136

Thoughts to all those who are out there dealing with this situation.

Very sad, condolences to his family.
Post by: D4D on October 24, 2013, 06:46:34 PM

http://www.news.com.au/national/breaking-news/army-explosives-training-started-fire/story-e6frfku9-1226745589221

Acting Chief of Defence, Air Marshall Mark Binskin on Thursday offered an apology over the massive State Mine Fire that has destroyed three homes and burned through nearly 50,000 hectares of land west of Sydney.

Air Marshall Binskin said a small fire that started during a routine training exercise was responsible for the blaze.

"I do apologise, because it has been identified that this fire was the start of this mine fire," he told reporters at Rural Fire Service headquarters in Sydney on Thursday.

Post by: alnjan on October 25, 2013, 09:46:22 AM
Saying they used an excessive amount of explosive.  Could end up a Coroners matter.  that will be fun.  Another media circus.
Post by: Bird on October 25, 2013, 10:12:41 AM

''There is a limit on how big the blast can be and what they were doing was well outside that limit,'' the source said.
(http://images.smh.com.au/2013/10/24/4858184/art-explosions-620x349.jpg)

''If you're a few grams over, it doesn't matter, but this wasn't just a bit of an overestimate.''

Defence admitted fault and apologised on Thursday for the State Mine fire, which has ripped through nearly 50,000 hectares of bushland in the Blue Mountains and destroyed at least three homes.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/defence-apologises-for-starting-massive-state-mine-fire-20131024-2w3y7.html#ixzz2igiUCJ7i
Post by: alnjan on October 25, 2013, 11:53:35 AM
I dare say the insurance companies will be rubbing their hands together
Post by: Bird on October 25, 2013, 11:56:12 AM
all the fires must be out now, theres nothing on the news about them at all
Post by: achjimmy on October 25, 2013, 12:04:58 PM
all the fires must be out now, theres nothing on the news about them at all

Nope just the news crews are bored and are moving on. There is 6 CFA units in my street as we speak. Yesterday sky news was on the lawn, when I said the units were just dowsing a log and they are welcome to go down and see. They said "nah we are trying to make it look less interesting so we can go home, were over it. As you would be" LOL
Post by: oldmate on October 25, 2013, 05:35:03 PM
Nope just the news crews are bored and are moving on. There is 6 CFA units in my street as we speak. Yesterday sky news was on the lawn, when I said the units were just dowsing a log and they are welcome to go down and see. They said "nah we are trying to make it look less interesting so we can go home, were over it. As you would be" LOL

X2.

There is still plenty of work for firies. Spoke to my father today, he and my other brother have just made  the trek up to he mountains to relieve some very tired firefighters. They are helping out the Shipley rfs which is stationed at the old mt Victoria rfs station. Jim crowther (the captain of Shipley) and my father have been friends for over 36 years.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-10-21/shipley-rfs-captain-jim-crowther-joins-abc-news-breakfast/5034548
Post by: Bird on November 01, 2014, 04:35:50 PM
Doesn't sound good so early in the season....

A home has been destroyed by a bushfire raging out of control in the Blue Mountains.

The Rural Fire Service issued an emergency warning for the fire in Katoomba after strong winds caused the fire to break containment lines, threatening homes in Cliff Drive, Brougham Street, Essendene Road and Moss Street.

The RFS said in a statement: "It appears one home has been destroyed by the fire in Cliff Drive. Additional firefighters have been sent to the fire."

"People in the area around Cliff Drive, Brougham Street, Essendene Road and Moss Street should monitor the situation. Seek shelter if the fire impacts on your property. Be aware of burning embers which may be blown from the fire."

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/environment/bushfire-emergency-in-blue-mountains-as-sydney-experiences-hottest-day-since-january-20141101-11fgob.html#ixzz3HnQbHUSn (http://www.smh.com.au/environment/bushfire-emergency-in-blue-mountains-as-sydney-experiences-hottest-day-since-january-20141101-11fgob.html#ixzz3HnQbHUSn)
Post by: oldmate on November 01, 2014, 05:18:26 PM
Doesn't sound good so early in the season....

Nup.. not good. has flaired up again this arvo. My Brother and Son are both in katoomba at present.

I'm keeing an ear on it on an app.
Post by: Bird on November 01, 2014, 05:19:19 PM

Nup.. not good. has flaired up again this arvo. My Brother and Son are both in katoomba at present.

I'm keeing an ear on it on an app.
hope they are safe
when the wind blows thru there, it really blasts...
Post by: oldmate on November 01, 2014, 05:21:10 PM
hope they are safe
when the wind blows thru there, it really blasts...

yes it does. espeacially out on narrowneck and cliff drive area.
Post by: oldmate on November 01, 2014, 05:22:14 PM
there just talking now about organising relieve crews. its going to be a long night there
Post by: Bird on November 01, 2014, 05:52:13 PM
http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/live-blue-mountains-bushfire-emergency-threatens-homes-20141101-3je96.html (http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/live-blue-mountains-bushfire-emergency-threatens-homes-20141101-3je96.html)
live updates
Two properties now confirmed destroyed in fire at Cliff Drive, Katoomba. Crews still working to protect other homes. #NSWRFS #nswfires
:'( :'( :'(
Post by: Bird on November 01, 2014, 06:01:22 PM
http://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/fire-information/fires-near-me (http://www.rfs.nsw.gov.au/fire-information/fires-near-me)
Looking at this - mother nature is a strange woman.. storm damage in parts of Sydney and fires around others...

Plenty of hazard reductions planned this weekend, I bet they get the sword.... the one at Woronora rd Como would be hideous to run in hot weather nd wind
Post by: alnjan on November 01, 2014, 06:21:44 PM
Eventually the pendulum will be allowed to swing back and fire hazard reductions will be done regularly.  This will have to include and involve homeowners being educated on what is needed too. 
Post by: oldmate on November 01, 2014, 06:37:13 PM
Eventually the pendulum will be allowed to swing back and fire hazard reductions will be done regularly.  This will have to include and involve homeowners being educated on what is needed too.

That has been a ongoing battle for ever, and will continue to be.

just listening to the radio and it seems my young bloke is getting a crew change soon. :cup:
Post by: Bird on November 01, 2014, 07:36:58 PM
Quote from: oldmate
That has been a ongoing battle for ever, and will continue to be.
agree...
Post by: achjimmy on November 01, 2014, 08:31:58 PM
I was on cliff drive this afternoon watching the son play cricket. About 2 kms for the fire, There a photo on the smh page. The conditions were crazy, it blew like mad then it rained, then looked like storm!  They had no chance, by 4pm Elvis and other choppers were working hard. On the way home crews from Narrelan and elsewhere were screaming up there and half of Sydney's police force with the angry lights on. I would say they are going to push hard tonight tomorrow because they can't manage it once it takes hold in the valleys.

Good luck to all the crews, stay safe again you prove your mighty worth to our community.

Post by: oldmate on November 01, 2014, 08:43:38 PM
Elvis was up there this morning also, my bro put vid on his face book as it dumped a load right in front of them. 

Elvis does an awesome job. All those choppers and their pilots are just as big of herbs as the blokes on the ground.. Save a lot of leg work
Post by: oldmate on November 05, 2014, 08:35:35 PM
http://insidetheinferno.com.au (http://insidetheinferno.com.au)

On sbs now. Qld time 8:30
Post by: Pog on November 05, 2014, 09:02:53 PM
I have little (no) sympathy for people who build or buy a house in the bush, and then don't make the effort to keep their place clean & safe.

I feel sorry for those who have made the effort, but the fires are so severe, that nothing can stop them, and they end up loosing the lot.
Post by: Bird on November 14, 2014, 02:05:48 PM
good luck.

An out-of-control fire is burning in bushland near a school in the Blue Mountains.
Sydneysiders are getting some relief from the blast of early-season heat as sea breezes start to cool off coastal suburbs.

Inland centres continue to swelter, with Penrith and Richmond topping 40 degrees and Bankstown near 39 degrees.

The NSW Rural Fire Service said the blaze is burning in a difficult to reach area between Greens Road and Florabella Street in Warrimoo.

An Aircrane has been deployed to the area.

Firefighters are at Warrimoo Public School as a precaution, but said students and staff are safe

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/bushfire-at-warrimoo-in-blue-mountains-20141114-3kcmc.html#ixzz3J0paMLxY (http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/bushfire-at-warrimoo-in-blue-mountains-20141114-3kcmc.html#ixzz3J0paMLxY)

Bourke, in the state's north-west, has reached 45.8 degrees a short time ago. That heat beats the previous hottest November day of 45.6 degrees - a tally first reached in 1888 and then repeated in 1898, 1919 and 1936, according to Bureau of Meteorology data going back to 1871

Post by: Bird on November 14, 2014, 03:14:37 PM
An emergency warning, the highest level of bushfire alert, has been issued for an out-of-control blaze burning in the Blue Mountains.

NSW RFS Deputy Commissioner Rob Rogers says the fire is inaccessible and will only be extinguished by a change in weather conditions or by back burning.
Firefighters aren't able to start back burning yet because of current weather conditions, he said.

http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/live-bushfires-burn-at-warrimoo-and-blaxland-in-the-blue-mountains-20141114-3kcwq.html (http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/live-bushfires-burn-at-warrimoo-and-blaxland-in-the-blue-mountains-20141114-3kcwq.html)

JUST IN: Blaxland Public School is currently being evacuated. It's the second school to be affected by the Warrimoo blaze