General => General Discussion => Topic started by: bad mudder on October 08, 2013, 11:43:49 PM
Hi everyone.
I’ve just joined your forum as I’m in the market for a Camper trailer. I’ve done extensive travel around Oz in a swag and OzTent but now with 3 kids it’s time for a bit of luxury. My 3 children are all under 7 years of age but I’m hoping to have this CT for a while so must think about space and sleeping arrangements for everyone in the future as they grow.
So what to get? I’m looking for some input from everyone so have your say. I think I’ve narrowed it down (but you can persuade me otherwise).
Firstly, what do I need?
1. Must sleep 5. 2 Adults, 3 kids (that’s a no brainer)
2. Quick and easy to set up (for overnighters and my ever-increasing laziness)
3. Cost of around 30-35k.
4. Must be able to take corrugated roads and mild off-road situations (this is the factor that makes my decision the hardest).
I like the Jayco Dove Outback (this is the wife’s choice). Jayco Swan’s are just a bit too big (although is better suited to a family of 5 than the Dove). However, I don’t think the Jayco’s will hold up to outback conditions (prove me wrong). Forward Folding CT’s like the Modcon, Blu Water, Southern Cross and the Mirage could be the way to go. By the way if you haven’t seen the Mirage Oasis, which is new to the market in the last 3 months, check it out it’s awesome!! I don’t particularly like soft floor campers but the Cameron CT is very simple to fold out.
So, what would you go for?? Open to other suggestions too.
Thanks,
BM.
Hi BM,
I cannot make comment on anything here but the Cameron. We've only had ours for about 8 weeks (second hand) and had it out on 4 occasions so far. Like you we have 3 rugrats under 10 and wanted something that could be setup in minutes for that overnighter but also big enough if setting up camp for a week or more.
The concept with kids room extension I can setup on my own with inflatable mattress on the ground for the kids in approx 6-7 mins. And this gets quicker when and if the wife or eldest choose to help!
The trailer is built strong with old school solid axles and leaf Springs and the overall finish is very good (I believe they 2 pack the new ones rather than powder coat). These can and will go anywhere from what I have been told by other Cameron owners.
Good luck with the decision.
Shane.
Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk 4
BM I now you mentioned that soft floors aren't your cup of tea but I can recommend Trackabout, bought a SV Extenda and very happy with it so far, only 2 months old. Only have done one trip so far but the space and setup is great. Relatively quick for the main tent and annex, still working n the order of things. Would recommend you have a look. I understand they bringing out a rear fold one but don't know the details or timing..
The other type we were looking at was the Explorer range in Sydney .... Happy hunting
Cheers Stu
Mate we have a jayco type camper, I think value for money you can't beat them, with a proper kitchen including fridge as well as proper beds for the family they can't be beaten. You do read and see people towing the outback jaycos along the gibb and that sort of thing but not sure how well they'd put up with it over a period of time.
But as a suggestion have you looked at the camprite? You'll get a fairly me one in you budget and they are a solid off road unit with bedding for up to 6.
I have no doubt that soft floor campers have their place, but I can see setting up stretchers or the like for the kids every night getting old very quickly if you were to do a few over nighters in a row. Plus having to store the bedding somewhere while traveling.
Just my thoughts mate, good luck with the decision.
Shane
bm, welcome to the forum.
We have a Modcon Elysium and even though they are a great Ct, I am not sure that they would be suited to a family of 5, Kerry was making a "Quattro" at one stage that had 2 single bunks but even this would be of little use with 3 kids once they get a bit older.
The Mirage certainly looks smick & states 6 berth sleeping [not sure where based on what I have seen however] but as Stu said, maybe a soft floor may better suit.
Good luck with the search.
Bad mudder,
The campers you have listed are all completely different. I recommend that you go to the shows etc to narrow it down even further.
I agree with HEM19X and agree that a Modcon would not be suitable for a family of 5. If you are going to set tents/extra rooms up you may as well go for a soft floor. I seriously looked at the Modcon myself and decided it did not suit a family of 4. I have had a Jayco Eagle and went back to a soft floor Trackabout due to a number of reasons. The Jayco's have their place and people do travel around Australia in them, some on Outback roads. After my experience, I wouldnt. But that's just me and my opinion. I cannot comment on the other trailers you have listed as I have no experience with them.
Dave.
My parents have a forward fold camper that we borrowed for a quick overnight we a few months back.
It certainly has a quick setup, though it would only beat our 12ft softfloor setup by a maximum of 5 minutes. The winner was the packup, not as fiddly as the softfloor (no zippers)
We didn't use the awning or kitchen for our stay, it was purely a place to sleep.
On this occasion we took our eldest daughter, so we setup the dining area as a bed area. It was awful, there was simply no room for manouvering or to store our stuff (of which we only had enough for an overnighter for three people) it felt crowded and uncofortable. As an occassional setup, using the dining as a bed would be okay but if I had to do it permantly.... Just no.
Imagine building a cubby house under you dining table, now live in it! That's how it felt and that was only a few short (or long) hours.
It's perfect for my parents needs, two people traveling and enjoying the sights, but in my opinion is a far from ideal family setup.
Hi BM,
I have used 2 types of camper... a soft floor which we borrowed a LONG time ago and our jayco.
The softfloor we borrowed was good, but the setup was not quick, probably at least double the time as our Jayco takes.. In saying that, others may be able to offer wisdom on better softfloors.
We love our Jayco, we have taken it all sorts of places, nothing that I would call extreme, but through lots of corrogated roads on stations in our north west, and have got it some lovely bush pinstriping. The jaycos are not as tough as some of the other campers out there, but I dont think they get as much credit as they deserve.
They are wide (2200mm) so a fold out will get you more places, however for us the comfort inside won over that.
We have the dove, but have a look at the Eagle. Our friends that we travel with have just upgraded to an Eagle, they travel with their Great Dane and have found that its much better in the Eagle to be able to leave one of the couches as a bed (for the Dane) as you would have to for one of your kids.
In the Dove you either have a table or a bed at any one time, the eagle allows you to have both at the same time.
I think you should be looking at Jayco.
It depends on what your definition of *quick* set up is too. The tent on our trailer inc unzipping the cover is 5 mins. Wind down 2 legs 1-2 mins.. but Im never in a race.
If you wanna cheat, if the trailer is unhooked from car, feet down, cover off the tent section, the tent section alone (12ft) is up in <1 minute. There is or was a vid on the manufacturer website.
G'day bad mudder,
Welcome aboard.
We too have three kids.
We had a trailer tent before our current Jayco.
Soft floor was light to tow, but setup time was a PITA and lengthy. Eg, setting up a set of double bunks, getting the kitchen out and set up. With the sidewalls detached it really felt like you were out doors.
The Swan is heavier(More fuel to tow), store a heap more gear(This adds to the weight), Kitchen inside, on-board 90lt fridge with 11lt freezer and can be set up in 10 odd minutes from unhitch. No double bunks to setup(although the girls have a tent now and use the double bunks again :-[ ).
Now that the kids are older, they each have their job to do, which makes setting up heaps quicker than it did when they were younger some 5 years ago. This may make it feel like it doesn't take as long.
It would be interesting to see how long it would take to set up our previous camper if the kids were the age that they are now. ???
Even with smaller kids, I reckon a Jayco would still be the go, after the kids leave the nest I reckon we'll go back to a soft floor.
Just my two bobs worth, happy camper hunting ;D
I say we have a competition at the next National Gathering, 'who can set their camper up the quickest' :)
HAHA it comes down to A) how many times have you done it (we all get our systems down pat) and B) how long are you staying.
I have never timed my Jayco setup, but we do a lot of trips where we travel into the night on the first night (after work) so that our young daughter goes to sleep. We generally setup the Jayco at about 11pm and its a very basic setup, just to sleep for the night. (no awning, usually no bed flies) I think i can do that by myself in about 5 minutes (but it could be 10.. I have never timed it)
Hi everyone. Thanks for your input.
But as a suggestion have you looked at the camprite? You'll get a fairly me one in you budget and they are a solid off road unit with bedding for up to 6.
Shane
Hi Shane. I would buy a Camprite tomorrow if they were better priced. Even ones a few years old are nearing 40k. May end up looking for an older one. Thanks.
BM I now you mentioned that soft floors aren't your cup of tea but I can recommend Trackabout..
Cheers Stu
Hi Stu. Have looked at the Trackabout and I do like them. They're off road ability looks great. Could be another possibility. BM.
I recommend that you go to the shows etc to narrow it down even further.
I have had a Jayco Eagle and went back to a soft floor Trackabout due to a number of reasons.
Dave.
Hi Dave. I will be going to the next show in November to have a look. What are the reasons you went back to the soft floor Trackabout?
My parents have a forward fold camper that we borrowed for a quick overnight we a few months back.
On this occasion we took our eldest daughter, so we setup the dining area as a bed area. It was awful, there was simply no room for manouvering or to store our stuff
Hi Lori. Thanks for the insight. I thought setting up the bed on the dining table looked simple but didn't really think about the space it took away. Cheers, BM.
Even with smaller kids, I reckon a Jayco would still be the go, after the kids leave the nest I reckon we'll go back to a soft floor.
Yeah, I think that might be the way to go while the kids are young. I could always downsize later and get the kids to sleep in swags when they're older. It worked for me for the last 20 years!
I say we have a competition at the next National Gathering, 'who can set their camper up the quickest' :)
Ha Ha. It's not such a bad idea though. Really, I bet people are curious to know what Ct's set up quicker than others without the sales pitch. :cup:
It seems many of the soft floors these days are getting easier to set up. I just think about my mates with their cheapish soft floor CT's that have a million poles to set up, bunks and roll out mattresses to set up.
A good condition Jayco can be bought second hand for 20k. That leaves me with plenty of money for mods. What have people done to their Jayco's to make them more durable to Outback conditions?? (that could be another thread right there - maybe I'll do a search). The question is do you buy a Jayco for 20-25k and mod it or bite the bullet and spend 35k on a Softflloor CT that is purpose built for the ruff stuff. ???????????
What have people done to their Jayco's to make them more durable to Outback conditions??
Upgraded to a Goldstream ;D
I'd love to have bought your old thing, how long until you upgrade to one?
In my opinion, stay away from the Jaco if your going to be driving corrugated roadways, will have nothing but trouble.
I have a Central Coast Camper trailer (NSW). It is Australian made (quality A1), it is very roomy but a soft floor. It will also be a lot less than your & 30k
'shakey'
In my opinion, stay away from the Jaco if your going to be driving corrugated roadways, will have nothing but trouble.
(http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_10kDa8zs7zs/Swa8D35fmxI/AAAAAAAADvY/CnkkpgBUDYg/s1600/smilely+popcorn.gif)
I have a Central Coast Camper trailer (NSW). It is Australian made (quality A1), it is very roomy but a soft floor. It will also be a lot less than your & 30k
'shakey'
Have to strongly disagree with you here Shakey. We have had our Jayco for a while now and we havent really looked somewhere and gone 'nope.. not with the Jayco' except some very narrow tracks or some extremely gnarly stuff I wouldn't want to tow anything through.
Would i do 100kmh down a corrogated road with the Jayco? NO.. but i probably wouldn't if i wasn't towing at all. Comes down to adjusting your speed to the situation.
The only thing I have had happen on a corrogated station track with the Jayco is that the bolt on wheel carrier that I added (because the previous owner cut the factory one off) came loose. That was more about me possibly having too many beers while fitting it and not doing the bolts up enough (after I tightened it it was fine...)
D4D that really is uncalled for :'(
I have a goldstream and it still sufferes the same problem as a Jayco yes it is a little bit tougher but the dust ingress is what brings you undone.
I have sealed it down as hard as it will go taped around door and vents but it still leaks dust
Handles fine on the corrugations the weight and width will get to you on the really hard stuff
But when i am set up i love the comfort so happy to wipe a little dust out
I have a goldstream and it still sufferes the same problem as a Jayco yes it is a little bit tougher but the dust ingress is what brings you undone.
I have sealed it down as hard as it will go taped around door and vents but it still leaks dust
Handles fine on the corrugations the weight and width will get to you on the really hard stuff
But when i am set up i love the comfort so happy to wipe a little dust out
Have to agree. We have had a small amount of dust, nothing that really bothers us and generally its on the floor inside the door where you walk it in anyways.
I have only ever had the jayco & at this point haven't taken it offroad due to the tow vehicle more than anything else. I have a 11,9 & 2.5 year old ( 2 in one bed & the little one on the fold down table in the swan. I use a safety bar across it so she doesn't fall out. Last year we spent over 70 nights in it and it works great form a set up and pack up point of view and accommodates all the family which for me was important.
Why don't you hire a jayco and give it a shakedown?
This is a good idea.... Most of the hire companies probably dont want you taking it offroad though (insurance, dirt etc)
Also look at hiring a softfloor... The best way to make this decision is by testing with your family.
I have only ever had the jayco & at this point haven't taken it offroad due to the tow vehicle more than anything else.
Never under estimate where your car will go.. Vince did the high country and Blue Rag in his wifes X5... No damage... :)
+1 Get out there!!
You guys have clearly never driven a front wheel drive Kluger. Believe me I have tried to take it on dirt and it just doesn't get any front traction anywhere near a little hump!!
You're not driving fast enough, use some momentum :)
We until recently had a 2011 Jayco Hawk OB.
It was set up fairly well for dirt road travel and had been improved greatly over the standard Hawk with stone guard, and all off the under floor pipes and electrical wires covered with either thick rubber or aluminium plate. I made some aluminium propellor plate dust covers for the fridge & door vents that worked a treat in dusty conditions.
We purchased the Jayco when our kids were only 2 1/2 yo and 6 months old, it was great as the kids spent a fair amount of time inside at that age. They like spending more time outside or under the awning as they have gotten a bit older.
A few things that I didn't like were cooking in the same room as you sleep(hardly used the cooker in side), having to crawl across SWMBO to get out of bed, those bloody bed flys really give me the $hits rolling them up and the size of the roll out awning was not that big compared to a traditional type of camper.
All in all the Jayco was ok,
But if I had my time again I'd probably not bother.
:cheers: Glenn
One of the things that I like about our tent based camper (rather than the wind up style like Jaycos) is they are great for roadside lunch stops. I only opened the camper because I needed to get chairs out (rather than get the ones out of the car) but otherwise its just swing the tailgate kitchen open, access the fridge in the big drawer, hook up the cooker and away you go ...
(http://www.dionm.net/photos/2013_Sept_Girraween/P1000596.jpg)
(http://www.dionm.net/photos/2013_Sept_Girraween/P1000598.jpg)
If you're travelling a lot, that kind of convenience is worth considering I'd think?
To be honest, I do like the new fold forward campers - I think they're the best type as it solves some of the issues with being down on the ground. The only drama is the total lack of "inside room" when you're using them as a family setup (although the Mirage with its "push out" bed may alleviate that).
^^^Ha Ha Dion your boy's face is gold. Did he just find the world's biggest fly in his potato salad??
;D Nah he had a tooth that was wobbling loose (he's 6 years old) and eating was causing problems.
He whacked himself in the face in the car about an hour earlier and dislodged it.
One of the things that I like about our tent based camper (rather than the wind up style like Jaycos) is they are great for roadside lunch stops. I only opened the camper because I needed to get chairs out (rather than get the ones out of the car) but otherwise its just swing the tailgate kitchen open, access the fridge in the big drawer, hook up the cooker and away you go ...
If you're travelling a lot, that kind of convenience is worth considering I'd think?
To be honest, I do like the new fold forward campers - I think they're the best type as it solves some of the issues with being down on the ground. The only drama is the total lack of "inside room" when you're using them as a family setup (although the Mirage with its "push out" bed may alleviate that).
It's actually quite easy to do similar in the jayco, you only need undo 4 roof clips, wind roof up 1 inch to be able to open door and depending on what model just reach into fridge. Then if you have an outside slide out bbq just pull it out and start cooking. Or alternatively you can keep a similar style bbq in te
He Jaycos front boot with a little fold out table and cook the same. We have done this on occasions with minimal effort and time.
Hey swannie,
We don't have to even get the winder out, once the front door side clip is popped, push up a tad and the door will open without catching on the roof. ;D
Hey swannie,
We don't have to even get the winder out, once the front door side clip is popped, push up a tad and the door will open without catching on the roof. ;D
Actually I lied, I make the kids wind it why I'm grabbing a refreshing ale ;D
A few things that I didn't like were cooking in the same room as you sleep(hardly used the cooker in side), having to crawl across SWMBO to get out of bed.
:cheers: Glenn
I have discovered the simplest fix for this and it works a treat.
The wife sleeps on the queen bed with our youngest and the two dogs.
The eldest sleeps on table bed.
And I get the double bed all to myself. Can't ask for more than that.
Actually I lied, I make the kids wind it why I'm grabbing a refreshing ale ;D
Just bought a 2nd hand 2009 Cameron last month, for a few reasons.
Very easy to put up
Very well made
I have three small kids (eldest is 11), it has an easily erected pull out second room for them
I live in Townsville, and it was for sale very close by.
We have tested it already, it will suit us for a few years
Pedro
When I was in Darwin last year a family rocked up in a Britz rental 76 series Cruiser and hire Jayco (Model?) pop top. They had been through Litchfield and Kakadu with no issues to report.
With regard to comments about cooking in the same room as you sleep, wondering why this gets mentioned quite often as a factor when deciding on style of CT to buy? From my point of view one of the main considerations for our family when choosing our GS was almost the opposite. I grew up tent camping and the thing that drove me and my parents mad was insects at meal time, especially at night. Moths in your stew is not fun, daytime in summer means flies and lots of them. We clean up after every meal, leave the roof vent and plastic windows open whilst cooking. So, that's another take on that angle. I would not necessarily rule out wind up style CT's based on the kitchen, inside may actually suit you (everyone's different, that's what makes the world an interesting place). Personally we have a 4.5yr old & a 2yr old and whilst we love the GS another thing to think about is a soft floor gives you a much larger in door enclosed area for the kids to play/be contained. With Jayco etc you have to put up an annexe to achieve similar, and you still don't get a floor. Anyways, a couple of other things to consider. IMHO weight is the biggest consideration, wind up CT 's & top end hard floors can be 1200kg+ unladen, meaning 1500-2000kg loaded depending on model and axle rating. Think about your tow vehicle and where you will be going. Good luck.
Over the years we have had a cavalier camper, then a coromal camper and now a Jayco Swan OB.. we have loved them all and at the moment we are considering going for (dare I say it) a pop top caravan....the reasons being ease of setup and access to the van on the move, plus I am getting old....
Oh no.... You will cop it even more mate than being a Jayco owner:)
Have taken my 2011 Jayco off dove over the great central road, the old Ghan track, merapi loop road, into Palm valley, across the Gawler ranges, Cape arid, Oonadatta track, Mt Dare, Dalhousie springs and plenty of other places
Damage list
1 screw from door fell out, screwed back in
Rewired electric brakes. Replaced wheel bearings last week as a precaution only, cracked 2 roof cnr moulds cost to replace and fix this was the massive sum off $600 .
Read my blog bully great central road trip and beyond for more.
We had 2 Camprites t18? With us. They were hired and fell apart brakes, electrics, beds, kitchens all suffered damage
Four words when towing anything " drive to the conditions" at one stage I was doing 30 k/ph on the old Ghan track for about 2 hours due to the road conditions.
Have taken my 2011 Jayco off dove over the great central road, the old Ghan track, merapi loop road, into Palm valley, across the Gawler ranges, Cape arid, Oonadatta track, Mt Dare, Dalhousie springs and plenty of other places
Damage list
1 screw from door fell out, screwed back in
Rewired electric brakes. Replaced wheel bearings last week as a precaution only, cracked 2 roof cnr moulds cost to replace and fix this was the massive sum off $600 .
Read my blog bully great central road trip and beyond for more.
We had 2 Camprites t18? With us. They were hired and fell apart brakes, electrics, beds, kitchens all suffered damage
Four words when towing anything " drive to the conditions" at one stage I was doing 30 k/ph on the old Ghan track for about 2 hours due to the road conditions.
I've been to all those places too Bully and know how rough they can be. The old Ghan shook my '88 cruiser to pieces. Good to hear a Jayco Outback made it through fairly unscathed. I am surprised about the Camprites though. I thought they were pretty tough Campers.
The Camprites must have been rooted through years of abuse.
They are a premium Australian made camper that is designed for offroad travel.
IMO the Jayco is ok for remote dirt road travel (Gibb River Rd, Tanami etc), but you do run he risk of being caught out on extremely bad corrugated roads if they have not seen a grader for a while.
The first time we travelled the GRR it was extremely corrugated and would put most trailers/vehicles to the test( definitely not Jayco friendly). The second time it was like a highway from start to finish.
Well the Jayco handled the place we travelled with ease, I was expecting more damage but was very happy with the Dove.
The Camprites had been serviced before the trip by the hire company., they look tough but didn't live up to there hype. I wouldn't touch one after seeing what happened.
The GCR was very badly corrugated after Warberton to the Lasseters cave area, the only grader we past was before Giles breakaway just out of Laverton.
I wouldn't mind a new Jayco Outback that had this done to it.
http://vehiclecomponents.com.au/servicing/retrofit-suspensions/straight-axle-to-coil-suspension-retro-fit
Goldstream offer VC suspension as a factory fit option. But its not cheap ($2400 from memory) and there are those on here that will argue till the cows come home that its not worth it and actually detrimental to a trailer. But either way, the suspension is only 1 aspect, the main reason a lot of people will not recommend a wind up is the style of construction for internal fixtures. There is a reason they are affordable, check out the prices of true off road caravans such as spinifex, kedron or bushtracker to get an idea of what it costs to build something that will withstand corrugations over an extended period of time. Not to mention the inherent weight gain that comes with it.
Hi BM,
Have you made a decision as yet? If so, what did you go with and why?
Cheers Smarty
Sent from my GT-N8020 using Tapatalk 4
Hi Smarty.
No I haven't decided as yet. I'm going to the 4wd & Camping show in a few weeks to have a closer look at some. I think I'm going to hire a few different types as well and try them out to see which best suits my needs.
BM.
Hi team,
We're also looking at a second hand Jayco Dove OB (personally I wanted to build an off road trailer but ...) anyway, it seems that Jayco owners are shunned by more hard core CT owners.
Is this like how we shun BMW "adventure bike riders" who never go off road?
Are Jayco owner allowed to share a beer around a camp fire with others or are they confined to their own camp fire?
This is a whole new world for me!
(http://people.aapt.net.au/~groovin/desert_ride/d1001.JPG)
Local hire place has a Jayco Hawk, I think we'll give that a spin first.
With regard to comments about cooking in the same room as you sleep, wondering why this gets mentioned quite often as a factor when deciding on style of CT to buy? From my point of view one of the main considerations for our family when choosing our GS was almost the opposite. I grew up tent camping and the thing that drove me and my parents mad was insects at meal time, especially at night. Moths in your stew is not fun, daytime in summer means flies and lots of them. We clean up after every meal, leave the roof vent and plastic windows open whilst cooking. So, that's another take on that angle. I would not necessarily rule out wind up style CT's based on the kitchen, inside may actually suit you (everyone's different, that's what makes the world an interesting place). Personally we have a 4.5yr old & a 2yr old and whilst we love the GS another thing to think about is a soft floor gives you a much larger in door enclosed area for the kids to play/be contained. With Jayco etc you have to put up an annexe to achieve similar, and you still don't get a floor. Anyways, a couple of other things to consider. IMHO weight is the biggest consideration, wind up CT 's & top end hard floors can be 1200kg+ unladen, meaning 1500-2000kg loaded depending on model and axle rating. Think about your tow vehicle and where you will be going. Good luck.
Totally agree we love cooking inside with the GS in crappy weather and as we have the oven there is nothing like the smell of roast in the camper at wilpena pound in the dead of winter absolutly pissingdown whilst sitting on your club lounge working through a bottle of red if you are really worried you could put a fan in the roof hatch area like in the toilet of a caravan
Probably bacon and sausages are the only things i prefer to cook on the barbie outside
Actually considering i am looking at buying a 16 foot ensuite caravan atm maybe take me with a grain of salt as working in the mines in the pilbra has made me soft ;D
But seriously we lived in our goldstream windup for 5 months and loved it
Couldn't agree more. It great being ale to cook inside in bad weather. One of the reasons we chose the ultimate. The other reason is for something else you mentioned. The Tare is only 700kg on our model. As said good luck there is plenty to choose from.
"I like the Jayco Dove Outback (this is the wife’s choice)."
.............(end of story)
Damn you 'chester' now I'm looking at the Goldstreams, this is doing my head in!
Yep you will be shunned and yes no one will drink beer with you. >:D
Damn you 'chester' now I'm looking at the Goldstreams, this is doing my head in!
We did the same thing origionally looked at soft floor then hard floor almost bought hard floor and then realised we were in jayco territory proce wise. Went and looked at jayco and were impressed with layout style. The went and looked at Goldstream were really impressed with quality and bought a Storm RL with the bushpack and a few other extras
Go look at Jayco and then Goldstream in the same day and the difference in build becomes readily apparent
1 thing about any Jayco you may buy is to sicaflex the joints on the inside, that is all of them. Use the preparation solution to ensure good adhesion and use the good marine grade sicaflex. This will stop the dust and moisture finding its way in. Take your time with this task, and you shall be re-warded with little CLEANING.
We looked at the Hawk, with the 3 x kids, we seen it as good set up with the kitchen at the Parents bed end, and I was going to build a removable bunk bed above the side couch.
But the difficulty for the wife to load the kitchen and fridge with out me being there was the turn off. She would have had to move it out on the front of the drive, then wind it up and slid out the beds. All of which she is not able to do.
We got a 2nd hand Modcon and have been most happy for it, this has coped a real flogging with the wind and stood up to it thanks to my Knack for finding Dud places to park the CT, they are built very well, especially the canvas work.
Have fun with the choice.
Forget the Outback version as you have kids and you're not going too far off the beaten track now and what's more your water won't last more than about 4 days with frugal sponge baths, etc and with a 90L fridge and 5 mouths to feed you won't want to be away from the shops too long anyway.
Our 2003 road Dove and Suzuki SX4 did close to 15000km up the NW of WA and we've been on plenty of corrugated and dirt tracks Jayco wouldn't exactly approve of. You'll need to bracket the cupboard shelves for corrugated roads-
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29589.msg461924#msg461924 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=29589.msg461924#msg461924)
but as for sealing Jaycos there's the door and fridge venting and open flyscreens when you're camped so campers aren't dustproof anymore than home is with the windows open. Like all caras pay attention to seam sealing for water egress and don't assume factory production lines have got it all 100% all the time.
The Dove layout gives you the best bench space with table/lounge near the door so kids come in and sit down there without disturbing cookie. Now the table will seat 4 so that's the 2 littleys near the wall, the eldest alongside at the back and cookie alongside the other littley closest the kitchen and dad perhaps with a lap stable table on the lounge. With 3 kids that's one sex or 2 so same 2 go on the double, mum and dad on the queen and eldest on the table dropdown so get the plugin bedlights so mum and dad can have the light on in bed (get 48 LED 5050 panels all round instead of the hot globes) with the curtains drawn. They're like 3 separate rooms and you need a big heavy van to duplicate that layout.
Now you want a Fiamma awning with alum director chairs with side tables and perhaps a table for outside and I'd hold off on the annexe and see how you go without one (perhaps tee up a hot price with dealer should you want to add one on the far side later) So many annexes are like new in the bag as you're not likely to set it up unless staying for a few days, although they are handy with kids on wet days.
Don't worry about the fridge not opposite the door as flicking the roof catches and winding the roof up just enough to allow the door to clear allows the kids access and they love to jump in the cubby to get tucker and gear out for lunch, etc (you'll have to have a roster to avoid sibling rivalry)
Why Jayco windups? Just look around you on the road and in the parks and remember fuel won't get any cheaper and it's wind resistance on our big flat continent that affects that the most. I reckon ULP would be around $2.40/L at William Creek at present and we paid $2.09 up the NW before the latest rise.
Go look at Jayco and then Goldstream in the same day and the difference in build becomes readily apparent
Sorry but I'm gonna disagree with this. Maybe the difference in fit out is obvious (personally think the GS decor, fabric etc is far superior in APPEARANCE) but what defines build quality? Have had several "quality issues", the worst by far was a leaking roof that developed about 12 months ago and despite amateur attempts by yours truly to fix, had to pay a caravan repairer to re silicone/seal the entire roof just prior to Xmas at the not so cheap out of warranty sum of $1300. The repairer said in 20 years of business the 2 most notorious brands for this fault are avan & goldstream. And the best? Yep, Jayco, especially with regards to progress in build methods and warranty claims.
OK each to their own the main differences i found were furniture wood quality, hinges, thickness of ply under each bed, internal bracing inside cubards, quality of canvas, quality of bed flys, axle size and thickness of chassis were all superior on the Goldstream to the Jayco
OK each to their own the main differences i found were furniture wood quality, hinges, thicknessty of ply under each bed, internal bracing inside cubards, quality of canvas, quality of bed flys, axle size and thickness of chassis were all superior on the Goldstream to the Jayco
I agree wholeheartedly that the overall quality and finishes are better on a GS. For me personally I couldn't justify the extra $14k it was going to cost me to have a goldy. The other one for me was the total length of the GS is longer than the Jayco which meant I couldn't get it in the garage. Also the bed flies are easily upgradable which I did.
Ultimately value, quality & price is always debatable. But now having my jayco for nearly 2 years and having a family of 5 sleep in it for close to 200 nights I'm happy with what you pay for in a Jayco.
Exactly swannie there is no right or wrong one it is what works for each person at the time
Things will always change example i am currently looking at a 16 foot rear ensuite caravan as we want to hit the road again this time for a year and we would like some more comfort. So far by my reasearch i will probably go away from goldstream as from my looking i think that New Age have now surpassed them with their more modern designs and features as standard that Goldstream still call options
OK each to their own the main differences i found were furniture wood quality, hinges, thicknessty of ply under each bed, internal bracing inside cubards, quality of canvas, quality of bed flys, axle size and thickness of chassis were all superior on the Goldstream to the Jayco
I agree wholeheartedly that the overall quality and finishes are better on a GS. For me personally I couldn't justify the extra $14k it was going to cost me to have a goldy. The other one for me was the total length of the GS is longer than the Jayco which meant I couldn't get it in the garage. Also the bed flies are easily upgradable which I did.
Ultimately value, quality & price is always debatable. But now having my jayco for nearly 2 years and having a family of 5 sleep in it for close to 200 nights I'm happy with what you pay for in a Jayco.
That sums it up for us perfectly x10000.
Thanks to 'Bad Mudder' for starting this thread and all who put in their views.
We ended up buying a 2009 Jayco Dove OB.
The kids and I stayed in a park on the way home after the buying the thing. Once I paid the money nobody talked to us at all. Must be true about Jayco owners getting shunned. Which is fine, 'cause I hate everybody anyway.
I suppose I'll have to get a bit more active on here instead of lurking...
Hi team,
Are Jayco owner allowed to share a beer around a camp fire with others or are they confined to their own camp fire?
This is a whole new world for me!
You'll get used to all the aspirational CT owners hanging around wistfully, so just be patient and not too condescending with them as they're still learning what it's all about 8)
Yes it's funny that it's always the blokes that come around for a look through the setup but with the excuse that " oh my wife really wants one".
You can see the look in their eyes and you know it's them that want one.
Yes it's funny that it's always the blokes that come around for a look through the setup but with the excuse that " oh my wife really wants one".
You can see the look in their eyes and you know it's them that want one.
I was like this before we bought our 2011 Hawk OB.
We soon realised that this style of camper wasn't for us ???
I was like this before we bought our 2011 Hawk OB.
We soon realised that this style of camper wasn't for us ???
That's why they make Doves for discerning Jayco afficionados :cup:
Mind you it's all relative as I've been escorting newbie bil around as he looks for a modest pop-top as he's thinking of selling his boat and catching the grey nomad bug from us. There's some very interesting crap out there and he's slowly upping the budget with globetrotting exec sis in mind no doubt.
With our Dove and Suzi Sx4 and our trip from Adel up the NW of WA, we were definitely the poor country cousins, although many vanners were permanent grey nomads and I couldn't help noticing the popularity of Jayco Sterlings with the new Prados, etc towing them. So when we were looking in the local Jayco yard I called bil over to a 23' Sterling to see what the popularity was all about. Ensuite, aircon, leather seats and lounge, etc, etc and sitting inside we both agreed neither missus shall ever step foot in one if we know what's best for our wallets.
Mind you it's all relative as I've been escorting newbie bil around as he looks for a modest pop-top as he's thinking of selling his boat and catching the grey nomad bug from us. There's some very interesting crap out there and he's slowly upping the budget with globetrotting exec sis in mind no doubt.
With our Dove and Suzi Sx4 and our trip from Adel up the NW of WA, we were definitely the poor country cousins, although many vanners were permanent grey nomads and I couldn't help noticing the popularity of Jayco Sterlings with the new Prados, etc towing them. So when we were looking in the local Jayco yard I called bil over to a 23' Sterling to see what the popularity was all about. Ensuite, aircon, leather seats and lounge, etc, etc and sitting inside we both agreed neither missus shall ever step foot in one if we know what's best for our wallets.
I made that mistake last week and before I could distract the wife she was in the door and it was love at first look.......she is however happy with the Swan until the kids get older or we decide to do a full Lap. I pointed out the pool she wants at home is cheaper than the Caravan so either way I'm buggered $ wise.
Dave, we were all buggered the minute we uttered the single man's nightmare words "I do" so don't feel too bad. If it's any consolation a caravan will require less $ in upkeep than a pool. Whatever you do NEVER let her get a quote for heating (or get in a heated pool) or be prepared to watch further thousands migrate from your bank account.....
Whatever you do NEVER let her get a quote for heating (or get in a heated pool) or be prepared to watch further thousands migrate from your bank account.....
I built my own solar pool heating for well under a grand, turned it on the other day and jumped in to sit on the step where the water nozzle is and burned my back.
So there are options, don't have to spend $6,500 on heating, that leaves more for a Camper that suits your needs. ;D
I pointed out the pool she wants at home is cheaper than the Caravan so either way I'm buggered $ wise.
Go the Pool Dave. You don't need a caravan you have the camper. Your kids will love you for it and so will your friends.........
Ok. Time for an update. Whilst the purchase of a new CT has temporarily been put on hold the search continues. Thanks to everyone for your contributions to this thread - except for you topender for that reference to a pool - now my wife wants one of them too.
I went to the Perth 4x4 show and had a good look around. I had some strange idea in my head that a forward folding hard floor CT like the Mirage/Modcon could squeeze us in but they are way too small.
It was a 36 degree day the day I went to the show (which is not overly hot for Perth) but it did put in perspective the heat inside most CT's. I would say that almost all were unbearable. I'm 6'4 so my head is always up near the canvas roof so I tend to notice it. The best soft floor camper I saw (by a mile) was the Trackabout. With it's extremely high roof it was actually quite cool inside. It was very spacious, extremely well built and I was impressed. It's the sort of camper that would suit me - but not necessarily suit the wife. I tried to chat to the owner but there was literally a cue of people waiting for him. The only downside was the price. At around $34 000 you're getting into (and even passing) Jayco Outback territory price wise . I guess you have to pay a bit more for a quality product.
Of course I checked out the Jayco display. A little disappointed because the model I was really interested in was the Dove and that's the only one they didn't have! Sure, bring along your Penguins and Swifts but no Dove - c'mon! Value for money the Jaycos are very appealing and would be very comfortable but in the back of mind would always be, will it survive the Outback - not in its stock form. I'd have to make a few mods, but nothing major.
No Cameron CTs to look at unfortunately but the Camprite caught my eye. Locally built (always handy) and stacked with features and a great layout I could have bought it there and then........if I won the lotto!! $55 000!! Who are they kidding?? The colour of it was Gold, I didn't know it was real gold!
So I guess I've narrowed it down (at least until someone suggests something else) - Trackabout or Jayco Outback.
BM.
I know you have a limited budget, but have you seen the Adventure Offroad Campers?
We have their Grand Tourer Elite and yes it is pricey but very well designed and built.
http://www.adventurecampers.com.au/ (http://www.adventurecampers.com.au/)
You might be able to pick one up second hand. It is a soft floor but is different to to others out there.
They are extremely quick and easy to setup and pack away. have a bigger than king size bed and bucket loads of storage, the left hand side is all kitchen at waist height.
We have a spare room that attaches to the main tent, but the son prefers an Oztent. Maybe that could be an option for the kids, they are easy to setup and pack away.
I know you have a limited budget, but have you seen the Adventure Offroad Campers?
We have their Grand Tourer Elite and yes it is pricey but very well designed and built.
http://www.adventurecampers.com.au/ (http://www.adventurecampers.com.au/)
You might be able to pick one up second hand. It is a soft floor but is different to to others out there.
They are extremely quick and easy to setup and pack away. have a bigger than king size bed and bucket loads of storage, the left hand side is all kitchen at waist height.
We have a spare room that attaches to the main tent, but the son prefers an Oztent. Maybe that could be an option for the kids, they are easy to setup and pack away.
Yeah I've seen the Adventure Camper. I love the kitchen set-up on it. It is pricey though and is probably out of our range. I was looking at a second hand one but they were still asking too much.
From what I have seen, they tend to hold their value very well.
but it did put in perspective the heat inside most CT's. I would say that almost all were unbearable.
Solar blanket + DIY tropical roof (silver tarp and pool noodles) fixes that