General => General Discussion => Topic started by: speewa158 on October 07, 2013, 08:26:07 PM

Title: Melb Cup Weekend
Post by: speewa158 on October 07, 2013, 08:26:07 PM
Melb Cup Weekend  Mitchells Crossing via Nagambie Vic
The weekend may/will/ could be busy at Mitchels but could be a real cracker . Pack you CT, food , kids , SWOMBO , swimmers ,fishing lines ,mobs of GROG , fire wood & be there . l really have no idea how many will be at the camp site when we get there , but it will be fun . Any body that came last time will remember the fun & games & that was in the middle of winter . 
Any newbies that havnt been to a catchup will be most welcome , those that know catchups will be there ofcourse  .
No need to reply just be there .
lf you need direction ask or its Camps5 259 Major Creek Reserve . Follow the trail of CTs coming from all directions to be part of it  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:                        :cheers:
Title: Re: Melb Cup Weekend
Post by: Nay-DMAX on October 07, 2013, 08:28:47 PM
As this is in the general classifieds are you selling cup weekend????? If so I hope it is a good price I will have to check the roster see if I am on that weekend at work might even be able to do a day trip if we aren't cutting hay
Post by: speewa158 on October 07, 2013, 08:33:02 PM
Posted it in the wrong department , trying to move it to General .     Unless you want to buy a really great weekend , going cheap  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on October 07, 2013, 08:35:39 PM
Moved to General Thanks GG  ;D :cheers:
Post by: Nay-DMAX on October 07, 2013, 08:37:31 PM
Posted it in the wrong department , trying to move it to General .     Unless you want to buy a really great weekend , going cheap  :cheers:

Post by: speewa158 on October 07, 2013, 08:39:07 PM
So are you in  ??? 8)
Post by: Brett B on October 07, 2013, 08:41:02 PM
Sounds good  :cheers:
Post by: Nay-DMAX on October 07, 2013, 08:50:31 PM
So are you in  ??? 8)

Have to check roster but might be able to do a day trip.
Post by: speewa158 on October 07, 2013, 09:06:03 PM
Have to check roster but might be able to do a day trip.

Day Trip  ??? ??? ??? ???                Oh OK  :cheers:
Post by: lino6 on October 07, 2013, 09:10:14 PM
Think you can get locked up for taking "day trips". So might get in the DMax and travel up for a day. We will have to leave the kids at home and usually get in trouble for leaving a 9 year old to look after a nearly 1 year old for more than 24 hours.
Post by: speewa158 on October 07, 2013, 09:12:57 PM
lino6      ???  What could possibly go wrong   ??? , & if you stayed the night  ??? ??? ???
Post by: lino6 on October 07, 2013, 09:17:50 PM
lino6      ???  What could possibly go wrong   ??? , & if you stayed the night  ??? ??? ???

Being national park you can't take our "kids" there.  ;D
Post by: evolution on October 08, 2013, 12:12:27 PM
Being national park you can't take our "kids" there.  ;D

Mate, they are probably better behaved "kids" than most around where I live!!!!

Evo
Post by: lino6 on October 08, 2013, 12:16:10 PM
Mate, they are probably better behaved "kids" than most around where I live!!!!

Plus you can put chokers on these kids and people don't pay any attention!!
Post by: evolution on October 08, 2013, 12:27:09 PM
Plus you can put chokers on these kids and people don't pay any attention!!

yep, although thats changing I think. I have noticed more young children wearing leashes, so maybe chokers and zap collars are next?

Evo
Post by: D4D on October 08, 2013, 12:35:07 PM
I have noticed more young children wearing leashes

I thought leashes were a bit hard-core/old fashioned until my son did a runner in the shopping centre. Never leave home without the doggy backpack aka leash now :cup:
Post by: evolution on October 08, 2013, 12:39:54 PM
I thought leashes were a bit hard-core/old fashioned until my son did a runner in the shopping centre. Never leave home without the doggy backpack aka leash now :cup:

Haha yeah, We do have one for our 2 1/2 yo. only used it for the zoo, god he is quick!

Evo
Post by: lino6 on October 08, 2013, 01:29:01 PM
Its a pity that kids (including our kids) don't have one of those shut down cord things like on a jet ski so when the take of the cord comes out and they shut down.  ;D

Though if it was that easy the cord would never get put back in  ;D ;D

Anyways, back to cup weekend, will look at getting there for at least a day.
Post by: Bird on October 08, 2013, 01:50:09 PM
Heading to Beachport for the Robe/Carpenters Rocks gig...

Hope the tides are good :(
Post by: jnik on October 08, 2013, 07:27:13 PM
Sounds like a plan, assuming caravans are welcome ... ?

Recently upgraded from our Chinese hardfloor to an Expanda ... Luxury!

Its a pity that kids (including our kids) don't have one of those shut down cord things like on a jet ski so when the take of the cord comes out and they shut down.  ;D

I'll have two for our kids, please!

Will there be many kids there (ours are 6 & 2)?
Post by: speewa158 on October 08, 2013, 07:36:54 PM
jnik
 Vans are welcome & kids there is a bridge to cross with a load limit & its a bit narrow but its doable . Others  have  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on October 10, 2013, 07:18:26 PM
We're in....... ;D ;D
Post by: GeoffA on October 25, 2013, 09:59:59 PM
All quiet on the Mitchell's Crossing front......what's happening with this?
Post by: GanG on October 25, 2013, 10:25:00 PM
Good spot that, camped there a few times years ago.

we are off to Khancoban for the 4 days :)
Post by: GeoffA on October 27, 2013, 06:33:07 AM
All quiet on the Mitchell's Crossing front......what's happening with this?

Anyone....... ??? ???
Post by: speewa158 on October 27, 2013, 06:37:23 AM
Been busy at work ,,, the grass is going berzzzerk . Melb Cup Weekend is the go  :cheers:
Post by: Brett B on October 27, 2013, 10:16:15 AM
Im thinking of heading up on Saturday
Post by: GeoffA on October 27, 2013, 10:55:20 AM
We'll be there Friday arvo or evening......
Post by: Brett B on October 27, 2013, 11:09:59 AM
See how l go have to pick up my son from Kooweerup Friday arvo
Post by: speewa158 on October 31, 2013, 06:24:47 PM
Any Swaggers coming to Mitchel's for the weekend  please be aware that there are 3 camp sites .
 Yes 3   No 1 is before you cross the bridge , Don't Fret its a good bridge just looks dodgy  :cup:
            No 2 is on the right about 75m from the bridge
            No 3  is about 500m after the bridge also on the Right .l Go the No 3 site over the back
 Look for the Long Drops as they will be a beacon to home in on .  At present l will be aiming to be in camp at or about 3pm on Friday .
Saturday . Recovery ,open top kayak races on Mitchel's Creek . Fishing , yabby catching , & ,  :cheers:
Sunday  . recovery , Black Caviar tour with a bit of Low range work out . if required  :cup: then      :cheers:
Monday  . Go home or stay as is your want
Tuesday . that's you problem go home  or stay as the weather will be really good
1 other the thing  , The BBFW rule dose apply    (   Bring Bloody Fire Wood     )
Here's Looking At you  :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on October 31, 2013, 06:32:49 PM
1 other the thing  , The BBFW rule dose apply    (   Bring Bloody Fire Wood     )

I suppose you want us take our rubbish home as well....... ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on October 31, 2013, 07:26:53 PM
I suppose you want us take our rubbish home as well....... ;D ;D

Geeezzzz lf you bring rubbish as in full cans of VB , after you have drunk them they are not toxic waste , .... You can handle them & take them home you know

??? :'( :-* >:D :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on November 01, 2013, 07:31:58 PM
Just threw a couple of a swags In the 4by so I might pick the kids up after work and be there for the Saturday night cocktail party :cheers:
Look forward to it :cheers:

Post by: GeoffA on November 02, 2013, 06:24:13 AM
Just threw a couple of a swags In the 4by so I might pick the kids up after work and be there for the Saturday night cocktail party :cheers:
Look forward to it :cheers:

:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Jamie says work faster....... ;D ;D
Post by: Brett B on November 02, 2013, 07:17:43 AM
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:

Jamie says work faster....... ;D ;D

Just trying to get the young blokes out of bed
They have been up all night playing XBOX
See ya in a few hours
Post by: D4D on November 02, 2013, 07:20:08 AM
Hmm an hour drive to catch up with some swaggers, I could be tempted...
Post by: Swannie on November 02, 2013, 08:21:34 AM
Get up there D4D. If I had not had commitments at Anglesea. Would have been there
Post by: D4D on November 02, 2013, 08:28:30 AM
Might drop in this arvo
Post by: D4D on November 02, 2013, 03:51:37 PM
Just back from a flying visit, they are set for a big night of camp oven cooking and a few quiet beverages

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/mc1.jpg)
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/mc2.jpg)
Post by: gordo350 on November 02, 2013, 07:43:38 PM
Went for a quiet drive in the country today. Headed to some land in Mitchellton that we might be intererested in to buy but really didnt like the look of the neighbors. Must have been 20 camper trailers parked on the river. They looked friendly enough but all the same I wasnt keen on stopping ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on November 02, 2013, 09:00:29 PM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/02/adaqagut.jpg)
Big day for Geoff :) time for bed. Night is young the bundy has just some out after several beers :cheers:

Bd
Post by: GeoffA on November 03, 2013, 05:43:32 AM
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/02/adaqagut.jpg)
Big day for Geoff :) time for bed..........

The conversation was scintillating....... :P :P
Post by: D4D on November 03, 2013, 05:50:47 AM
Good to see speewa changed into his safety sandals :)

Hope the weather is holding up there, rain and drizzle here this morning :(
Post by: GeoffA on November 03, 2013, 05:58:05 AM
Still OK here. A bit of patchy cloud, with the sun trying its' best to break through.
Post by: Barry G on November 03, 2013, 06:26:55 AM
Have fun folks!
Unfortunately I'm forced to have my public holiday for the bl**dy Geebung Cup (last Wednesday) so no long weekend for me.
By next year Im hoping to have that changed.
Post by: Swannie on November 03, 2013, 07:11:30 AM
Looking pumped up there mate. It is tuff listening to speewas dribble all day  ;D

Post by: xcvator on November 03, 2013, 11:29:33 AM
Looking pumped up there mate. It is tuff listening to speewas dribble all day  ;D

But it is good quality dribble  :-*
Post by: Black Diamond on November 03, 2013, 06:55:36 PM
Twas a great night last night lads, thanks for the memories ;D
We had a bloke pop in who has a habit of turning up to Myswag get togethers around midnight, drinks all our grog and vanishes ;D

Was great to catch up with some good mates again :cheers:
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/03/y8y9yhug.jpg)

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/03/unuzyny3.jpg)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/03/e9eravas.jpg)
AND EVEN BLACK CAVIAR MADE AN APPEARANCE (http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/03/zyga6ajy.jpg)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/11/03/jy7a5u4u.jpg)
Post by: Brett B on November 04, 2013, 02:26:59 PM
Back home safe and sound from another swagger bush party
My young blokes had a ball and want to know when the next one is on
Its always good to catch up with great friends  :cup:
Johnnys mate turns up out of the blue tries to scare the crap out of the young blokes and they just laugh at him  ;D
Knocks off the grog and then he's gone again
Top Week End Guys
Brett B
Post by: GeoffA on November 04, 2013, 03:02:02 PM
We're home and all tucked away again.

Thanks to Speewa for organising another great weekend. :cup: :cup:

Thanks also to all those that attended, and those that popped in for a visit.
Fine company, one and all.....

Post by: speewa158 on November 04, 2013, 04:38:30 PM
To all that turned up determined to have a great time & lots of fun going with the flow & Geoff , thanks for turning up to make it a great time going with the flow & Geoff .  With the constant flow of Swagger , D4D , Mandrake & Narda , Hutchie & Wendy Black Diamond wizzed in on a hit & run mission taking pics to prove the appearance they made    ,  even a small spiny back lizard was the talk of camp  . Little lizard strolled in to say hi then stayed  to have its pic taken .
Brett B had  lads wiped up a damper that couldn't have been beaten served with jam to taste . They can come back .
Sat night was passed with a really top[ roast dinner & veg from the camp ovens of mstree & Kay  followed be  " Sticke Date Pudding , custard & Cream " .  To all those that have had such a feed ,,,,,,suffer in you jocks   . lf you missed it ,,,,,,tuff '
Our drive included Kerwins Bridge , Black Caviar  , Elloura  Resort on Lake Nagambie  . Wood Knoks Horse Studs Brass horses ,
 the Oldest red wine grapes in the world at Tabilk Winery  then home for  a well earned rest &  :cheers:. The young blokes cleared out to paddle the open top kyacks up Mitchels creek .
We had a ball , made plans to tour in the future  , & created memory's that will endure .    :cup: :cup: :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on November 04, 2013, 04:41:53 PM
You forgot the scones....... ;D ;D
Post by: D4D on November 04, 2013, 04:44:27 PM
and the business cards...
Post by: GeoffA on November 04, 2013, 04:45:30 PM
and the business cards...

;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on November 04, 2013, 05:17:49 PM
You forgot the scones....... ;D ;D

Lemonade Scones     long story ,    but we don't talk about that   do we  ,,,. :cheers:
D4D  as you have no lawn can you send the card back  ;D ;D :cheers:
Post by: GeoffA on November 04, 2013, 06:01:14 PM
Lemonade Scones     long story.......

Laughternoon tea........ :cup: :cup:
Post by: Brett B on November 04, 2013, 06:04:54 PM

x2  ;D  :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on November 04, 2013, 06:41:06 PM

YRHTBT

( You really Had To Be There   )                                                                           :angel:      :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on November 04, 2013, 06:48:59 PM

YRHTBT

( You really Had To Be There   )                                                                           :angel:      :cheers:
please elaborate ;D
Post by: speewa158 on November 04, 2013, 06:57:48 PM
please elaborate ;D

Was it the S$%^ we hung on you after you left ,    or the damper that Bretts boys knocked up for us at 10 AM    , or the fun we had with the really UGLY Bloke that rocked into camp   . Couldn't make a mask that Ugly could you  ???
 Narrrrrrr it was the whole Gig    . Thanks for turning up   . Next time send the Wife & Kids ,     better looking  ;D ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on November 04, 2013, 07:38:53 PM
. Next time send the Wife & Kids ,     better looking  ;D ;D
good idea, I need someone to do the dishes  8)
Post by: Mandrake on November 05, 2013, 07:02:01 AM
Must remember to bring a camper next time ... LOL ..

Would have loved to stay over but ... Penguin doesn't arrive until 14/12 at 10.30 am !!

Great company and a great spot !!!

Do you want my business card back too - I have pebbles not grass !!

Post by: speewa158 on November 05, 2013, 07:20:47 AM
Did l mention the Silly Old Bugger that turned up , then discover he had no CT . Had to send him home  :cheers:.
Post by: Brett B on November 05, 2013, 08:19:34 AM
And we found a missing spark plug socket  ;D
Post by: GeoffA on November 05, 2013, 08:22:45 AM
And we found a missing spark plug socket  ;D

Not missing......he was keeping it handy for the next plug change......... ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on November 05, 2013, 08:25:35 AM
YES!!! :cup: do you how long I've been looking for that ;D

I can't believe it stayed there after several full on trips. Must've been wedged in there nicely :cheers:
Post by: Brett B on November 05, 2013, 08:28:29 AM
If we tried to put it back in the same spot it probably would not stay there
Post by: speewa158 on November 05, 2013, 03:41:29 PM
BD when are you going to pay the handsome finders fee you promised . We reckon you drive like a GIRL anyway if you couldn't louse a socket in 7 trips . Or you didn't really go at all . An Off Road trip is not parking the Cruser in the lawn to wash it you know  ::)     :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on November 05, 2013, 03:59:08 PM
BD when are you going to pay the handsome finders fee you promised . We reckon you drive like a GIRL anyway if you couldn't louse a socket in 7 trips . Or you didn't really go at all . An Off Road trip is not parking the Cruser in the lawn to wash it you know  ::)     :cheers:
Sorry mate, I forgot you don't have a real 4wd unless you have self adjusting spotlights like yourself ;D
The 80 is no match for a pajero.......... Not ;D
Post by: xcvator on November 05, 2013, 04:04:19 PM
His off road is jacking the car up at work and turning the wheels  ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on November 05, 2013, 04:25:23 PM

No he really gets out there just gently  :cheers:
Post by: Brumbypt on November 05, 2013, 04:40:44 PM
What is the Point of picnicking in the car park at fleminton?? some ppl said they have been doing it for years.

You go so close but then stop at the carpark??

I dont see why..

Peter,
iPad with IOS 7.0.3 using Tapatalk HD
Post by: speewa158 on November 05, 2013, 04:47:33 PM
they might be shy  8)
Post by: Black Diamond on November 05, 2013, 04:48:33 PM
;D Maybe I need to come down Somerville way so you can show me  :-*  how's that dicky thumb goin ;D :cheers:
Post by: xcvator on November 05, 2013, 06:29:39 PM
;D Maybe I need to come down Somerville way so you can show me  :-*  how's that dicky thumb goin ;D :cheers:

(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-gen078.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: speewa158 on November 05, 2013, 06:34:11 PM
Don't be hard on xcvator , hes too old to travel & warn out  :'(                      :cheers: