General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Adrian_connor on September 22, 2013, 08:57:46 AM
hey all
would love to hear about your stradie trips.
We go there a couple times every year. love the place so peaceful
Yep.............small piece of paradise on our door step :cheers: , we too love the place. :cup:
John K
Looking forward to this thread!
Probably organise a trip over there in the new year!
I havent been to straddie for a few years, but I have camped there many a time and love the place. I hope to get back there again soon, as I have never taken the family.
My fave camp use to be behind the dunes on Flinders beach. There was a composting toilet and nothing else. Who needs a bath after a dip in the surf ?? Plus u used to be able to take dogs.
Cheers Chippy :D
Absolutly, I try to get there a couple of times a year.
It is a really nice spot :cup: we were over there a few months back.. But no camping for us we lived it up in a nice hotel ;D
Need to get back over there with camper and spend a good week.. :cheers:
Whats the average cost to get there, I see it says car and trailer by mtr...
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f6/North_Stradbroke_Island_01.jpg)
Whats the average cost to get there, I see it says car and trailer by mtr...
(http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/f/f6/North_Stradbroke_Island_01.jpg)
Cars are $149 and trailers are $28 a meter, quit often mid week you can take a trailer for free my mum & dad just went over for a couple of weeks in there van and got it over and back for free. http://www.bigredcat.com.au/pages/timetable.php#prices (http://www.bigredcat.com.au/pages/timetable.php#prices)
The $149 is return, is the $28 a metre return as well?
Yep.....I havent had the CT over there as yet as we usualy take the boat and stay in a house at Amity that has a jetty (like this one) so we can still have a fish if its to windy to get the boat out.
But I reckon its time just me and the wife went over and took the CT and the tinny.
Captive audience... I thought there maybe more than 1 ferry that was competitive.
There are two companies that run ferries over to the island this is the other one, http://www.stradbrokeferries.com.au/ (http://www.stradbrokeferries.com.au/) they both leave from the same spot at Cleveland and are the very similar priced.
Are you allowed to have fires ??
Permits are also required???
http://www.straddiecamping.com.au/4wds.php (http://www.straddiecamping.com.au/4wds.php)
No.....
No.....
I didnt think so .... I remember we never could have one.
I recall reading somewhere recently it was possible to but a ferry and 4wd pass from Cleveland... Of course I cant find the link now ... ???
I didnt think so .... I remember we never could have one.
I recall reading somewhere recently it was possible to but a ferry and 4wd pass from Cleveland... Of course I cant find the link now ... ???
Yep you can get it all at there ramp but in silly season you will need to book the barge in advance, it gets crazy over there during school holidays etc.
But in saying that if this is the only time you can go it is still well worth it I can avoid the silly seasons now the kids are older, you can also get the 4WD permit form any of the camp grounds on the island and at $40 for the year it is still reasonably priced.
There are two companies that run ferries over to the island this is the other one, http://www.stradbrokeferries.com.au/ (http://www.stradbrokeferries.com.au/) they both leave from the same spot at Cleveland and are the very similar priced.
Both ferry companies are owned by the same mob these days hence the price has risen about $30 return this year
I head over daily for my job, been doing so for 8 years, bit spoilt and forget how great a place it is
I get over there every august for a week fishing with the mates. Camping down near the Pin.
Also 4,5 6 times a year with the family. Stay at a mates house at Amity which is behind Axl's jetty.
These photos are from 5 weeks ago. camp 14. As you can see we did have a campfire.
Probably going over next weekend for 4 days.
Rod
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/P8170457_zps962f22d7.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/P8170457_zps962f22d7.jpg.html)
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/P8130388_zps4400c292.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/P8130388_zps4400c292.jpg.html)
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/P8140387_zps326c69be.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/P8140387_zps326c69be.jpg.html)
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/P8170471_zps84501156.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/P8170471_zps84501156.jpg.html)
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/IMAG0455_zps7d94c0b3.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/IMAG0455_zps7d94c0b3.jpg.html)
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/P8160440_zpsf0544e1a.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/P8160440_zpsf0544e1a.jpg.html)
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/IMAG0443_zps37ecfa5f.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/IMAG0443_zps37ecfa5f.jpg.html)
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/P8140380_zpsa2c6cce6.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/P8140380_zpsa2c6cce6.jpg.html)
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/IMAG0435_zps57e2ebde.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/IMAG0435_zps57e2ebde.jpg.html)
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/P8130377_zps50bc09db.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/P8130377_zps50bc09db.jpg.html)
(http://i906.photobucket.com/albums/ac263/johnnofishing/straddie%202013/P8180482_zpse01c2e29.jpg) (http://s906.photobucket.com/user/johnnofishing/media/straddie%202013/P8180482_zpse01c2e29.jpg.html)
I get over there every august for a week fishing with the mates. Camping down near the Pin.
Also 4,5 6 times a year with the family. Stay at a mates house at Amity which is behind Axl's jetty.These photos are from 5 weeks ago. camp 14. As you can see we did have a campfire.
Probably going over next weekend for 4 days.
Rod
You must know the same bloke I do hainess, its a top spot :cheers:.
Only small cooking fires. But if the fire is small and you have a camp oven around the area they don't mind.
We normally camp at site 5 to 7. Quite a few times a year. Just normally camp threes but have done the upgrade to a camper trailer We have a house at finders near the exit in the family but we prefer to camp. Going at Xmas for 3 weeKs. Woohoo
You must know the same bloke I do hainess, its a top spot :cheers:.
Sorry mate.
The house behind the house with the jetty.
If that's the jetty of the house alongside the "resort"?
Looks like it.
Rod
Sorry mate.
The house behind the house with the jetty.
If that's the jetty of the house alongside the "resort"?
Looks like it.
Rod
Ahhhhh I see you mean the white one that I see when I drive into my mates place ;D, yeah mate that is the jetty of the house alongside the resort.
We love the place too. We go over 2 or 3 times a year, staying down Main beach. Yes you can have fires on Main beach and Flinders (I think). Can also have dogs. Permit required for 4wd on the beach - but you don't need a 4wd to enjoy straddie - there's plenty to see with a normal car.
We're heading there in about 10 days time.
(http://scwalker.smugmug.com/photos/i-SwZDgPR/0/L/i-SwZDgPR-L.jpg)
We rate Straddie as good as maybe better than Fraser because all the family can come along
Straddie is cool, I live just opposite it but sadly don't get out there enough. It's $$ to take the camper there for just a weekend. These guy's tried to drive there and save on fery fees.
(http://abcnews.go.com/images/International/gty_tourists_stuck_gps_2_nt_120316_wblog.jpg)
Link to the story - http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headlines/2012/03/gps-tracking-disaster-japanese-tourists-drive-straight-into-the-pacific/ (http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headlines/2012/03/gps-tracking-disaster-japanese-tourists-drive-straight-into-the-pacific/)
Quite funny :-)
Straddie is cool, I live just opposite it but sadly don't get out there enough. It's $$ to take the camper there for just a weekend. These guy's tried to drive there and save on fery fees.
(http://abcnews.go.com/images/International/gty_tourists_stuck_gps_2_nt_120316_wblog.jpg)
Link to the story - http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headlines/2012/03/gps-tracking-disaster-japanese-tourists-drive-straight-into-the-pacific/ (http://abcnews.go.com/blogs/headlines/2012/03/gps-tracking-disaster-japanese-tourists-drive-straight-into-the-pacific/)
Quite funny :-)
Hahah yes I remember this well. Silly Asians.
I live close to the bay areas also normally take a Friday off and head over Thursday arvo after work.
Also you can hire campers there think it Might work out cheaper but there's nothing like your own C/T
Ordering my myswag stickers this week hopefully see some people over there.
I haven't camped at Straddie since I was about 10. Have just booked to go over and camp at Flinders with the wife and little ones on the October long weekend. Any suggestions for places to visit??
Brown lake, the gorge walk around point lookout, jumpinpin (south end of island).
Jumpinpin is a great place however it is a big drive. 3 hrs return I think may be longer. Also tides along main beach lately have been wild in the sense there's not a lot of room between high tide and the large sand dunes. Vertauly none. Have heard of a few people been caught out. Just be sure to study the local tides.
Can anyone recommend which is the best area to camp at Flinders ( I believe there is 12 areas). Will be with wife and 2 little girls under 3 so walking distance to toilet would be preferable?
We love the place I was there Saturday we head over bout a dozen times even more every year the barge is $140 if you book online and you can't buy beach permits at the barge anymore out have to stop off at the ranger as you get off or at amity point addar rock or cylinder camp grounds also if you have a boat there's good camping at blaksleys we often chuck the swags in and go chase the muddies
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk - now Free (http://tapatalk.com/m?id=1)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/09/25/8u5epy5e.jpg)
I'm at Flinders atm. This is the current veiw :-)
Am here till pm this Sunday.
That is all :-D
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Can anyone recommend which is the best area to camp at Flinders ( I believe there is 12 areas). Will be with wife and 2 little girls under 3 so walking distance to toilet would be preferable?
Hey
Camp site 5-7 normally where we go. Close enough to the dunnies and don't get the smell. Also nice gutters on low tide for the young ones.
Hey
Camp site 5-7 normally where we go. Close enough to the dunnies and don't get the smell. Also nice gutters on low tide for the young ones.
Thanks. Cant wait to get over there
We have been camping down Main beach twice per year for the last 7 years and apart from twice during a total South East QLD fire ban, we have always had fires. Rangers pass camp daily while doing there patrols and they have never said anything about fires not being allowed.
I know your not allowed fires at Cylinder beach camp ground, but that is more of a caravan park set up.
who else is in love with stradbroke island.
Geez I wasn't but looking through this thread I am now.
Haha it's not hard to love this place.
Aside from camping over on the island, my wife takes groups of women over there about four times a year on ladies only retreats ( the bummer is she steals my cruiser for the weekend leaving me with her girl car ).
They feed the dolphin, eat at restaurants, do yoga on the beach and have a cooling wine watching the sun set.........................yep It's a magic place :cup:
Aside from camping over on the island, my wife takes groups of women over there about four times a year on ladies only retreats ( the bummer is she steals my cruiser for the weekend leaving me with her girl car ).
They feed the dolphin, eat at restaurants, do yoga on the beach and have a cooling wine watching the sun set.........................yep It's a magic place :cup:
Where can you feed the Dolphins??? My girls would love that!
Amity point jetty. Large jetty can't miss it. From about 4.30pm. Local store sells pillies
What he said ;D :cup:
You guys are awesome thanks so much...Can't wait to get over there :cheers:
They feed the dolphin
Don't the others get jealous?
http://youtu.be/DVQU0pv694Y
Don't the others get jealous?
http://youtu.be/DVQU0pv694Y
Haha didn't pic that up. I'd be jealous
I'm done for the week.
11.15am ferry tomorrow. ;D
Staying in the mates house at Amity.
Bye.
Rod
3 days and counting till I will be enjoying a cold beer on the beach at Flinders!!!!
Put simply, it's paradise on Brisbane's foot step. Heading back there in December.. can't wait.
Jk
it might be worth putting a link up to your wifes "girls only weekends"
Im sure there are a few camping tortured wives on here who would love to go! Lis is waiting for Fin to finish breast feeding and then she is dead keen!
Put simply, it's paradise on Brisbane's foot step. Heading back there in December.. can't wait.
that photo in yoru sig makes me want to cry.. I miss the sun
Anybody going to straddie this Xmas. We will be there for 3 weeks. :cheers:
We love Straddy too, if we can't make it over to Mainbeach with the camper we're off in the boat to Blakesleys in the boat for a night or two! :cheers:
Thanks everyone.
I have not been to the Islands for about 17 years. Gave it up due to all the stupid folk I witnessed in action, and was sick of helping them out.
Now, I am looking forward to getting back over there with the 5 of us, the kids would love it, especially this dolphin feeding business.
So, for a bloke who hasn't been there for ages and most likely to be going on our own, is the driving difficult to get to the beach side camp spots with CT in tow?
The Straddie Camping site listed here, is that containing everything I need to know for planing a trip as far as bookings and permits etc?
Thanks Swaggers.
I heart Straddie. Was just there on a photo/ surf trip!
You'll have to wait until January to see the pics, though!
Carlisle
Thanks everyone.
I have not been to the Islands for about 17 years. Gave it up due to all the stupid folk I witnessed in action, and was sick of helping them out.
Now, I am looking forward to getting back over there with the 5 of us, the kids would love it, especially this dolphin feeding business.
So, for a bloke who hasn't been there for ages and most likely to be going on our own, is the driving difficult to get to the beach side camp spots with CT in tow?
The Straddie Camping site listed here, is that containing everything I need to know for planing a trip as far as bookings and permits etc?
Thanks Swaggers.
We normally go camping there twice per year and you pick the right track it’s easy. We have been taking our camper to the Main Beach camping area for the last 5 years and in this time only once we couldn’t get up into the camping area unaided due to the sand erosion.
In saying that you may have to take a easy track and drive the ‘Camping tracks on top of the dunes’ to an appropriate spot to set up camp, then seeing you no longer have the trailer attached and your 4WD is unloaded, you can then use some the steeper tracks to access camp from the beach.
Thanks everyone.
Thanks Swaggers.
Yes the http://www.straddiecamping.com.au/ site is all you need, aside from your ferry booking.
You'll need to get a camping permit and a beach driving permit - if you intend to drive on the beach.
As Beachman says, the main beach camping zones are usually ok with camper. You may have to use one of the easier exits but there are 15 in total so you have a fair bit of choice. From exit 9 to 12 is a long stretch of good sites.
Sweeeeeeettttttt
Thanks for that.
Could be on next weekend, better half has been on to me about camping where she can hear the waves. So this is it.
How much do I appreciate Myswag, more than I can type out here, that is for sure.,
Thanks again.
back sat. 2 weeks on flinders bloody brilliant .bowls club point lookout pub. plenty of dart only .12 kg fillets and plenty of :cheers:
We just got back today spent a week at flinders. Might have saw you there mate. What's your setup.
hi there adrian. thinking we might have had a yarn about the lifestyle, your maiden voyage! give you a couple of tips on the, not the dart! met you coming on to flinders as we were leaving saturday. black triton d cab lifestyle podium! was that you ? or am i just dribbling.
Haha yeh mate that's me. You missed a cracker storm Saturday night. Can't wait to get back there.
We have, for years, rented holiday places at Amity. Love the place. Now that we have the Swan, we'll be taking it over there. We don't have the Outback version, so won't be attempting beach camping or the like. Sticking to terra firma I guess.
adrian how did the new camper hold up,should have seasoned the canvas :cheers:
kevin even if you have not got the outback version flinders is fairly easy at low tide,maybe washouts on the beach with heavy rain but from adder side pretty safe!
Really? My family would love that! Thank you, I will check it out!
Me!
Booked for 4 days at Flinders in mid December. Wahoo!
How accessible are the camp sites when it is not low tide? Will be towing a camper trailer.
Me!
Booked for 4 days at Flinders in mid December. Wahoo!
How accessible are the camp sites when it is not low tide? Will be towing a camper trailer.
Mate just drop your tyres abit and time it right. It is fairly easy. We left on high tide last week and got out but it was a fairly wild ride. Also if you do get stuck there are always plenty of people around willing to help around that time of year.
We are heading over for almost a month in December.
Getting close to Christmas holidays now. Who's heading to straddie?
Here now on Flinders Beach. Awesome. 2nd shot is from the window of the Camper. (http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/12/15/asusuqe7.jpg)(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/12/15/y8amahy5.jpg)
Having traveled to most places in the Asia Pacific I'd say it's a toss up between Moreton and Straddie. Both are fantastic
Peter & Jo :cheers:
Those photos are just cruel...........
Looks great. Very busy over there? Got some friends heading there tomorrow.
Surprisingly quiet Adrian. Camp site is less than half full I would say. Not unhappy about that either!
What's Flidners like at Easter?
I know it's probaly busy but also keen to know if there's any problems with mozzies/sandflies
We've always done Easter on the Ocean beach and never a problem there but we look like having some people coming with us that are not too good at beach driving so might go for Flinders
What's Flidners like at Easter?
I know it's probaly busy but also keen to know if there's any problems with mozzies/sandflies
We've always done Easter on the Ocean beach and never a problem there but we look like having some people coming with us that are not too good at beach driving so might go for Flinders
Camping at Easter is very busy. Bugs are fine just a coil at night keeps then away. However camping at flinders is beach driving to get into calm grounds. Also can be tricky at times.
think we might do that, the water and Ice runs from the surf beach camping zone are a drag
bugger.
Authorities have estimated 60 per cent of North Stradbroke Island has been destroyed by a bushfire sparked by lightning a week ago.
But with no lives or property lost, firefighters battling the blaze in potentially catastrophic heat have won widespread praise.
Thick smoke continues to blanket the area, as well as the Sunshine Coast, South Burnett and Southern Moreton Bay Island.
Read more: http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/fire-torches-60-per-cent-of-stradbroke-but-no-lives-lost-20140105-30bhq.html (http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/fire-torches-60-per-cent-of-stradbroke-but-no-lives-lost-20140105-30bhq.html)
We were among the 1000 people ordered to leave main beach camping on New Year’s day. Have to give credit to the Rangers & SES and they did their best to get us off the island with minimum fuss.
out of curiosity...how'd that work with the barges, did you just need to line up at the ramp and wait for one to get you off the island?
with the back burning they are continuing to do- I would be saying more like 80% of the island burnt now.
sitting here at the northern end of the island, wind has picked up and the smoke is thick.
plenty of infrastructure damaged- but crews (power and fireies) are doing a great job
well that's settled
definitely going over for Easter and spend my holiday dollars on Straddie.
Anyone else feeling the same?
out of curiosity...how'd that work with the barges, did you just need to line up at the ramp and wait for one to get you off the island?
We were told late in the afternoon on New Year’s Eve that we need to be off Main Beach camping area by 4pm on New Year ’s Day. We were also told to ring the barge and book a time which we did and we were given a 4.30pm barge home.
Seeing the exit off the beaches were already soft and chewed up and also unsure if Middle road was open, we left camp early as we were expecting Dunwich to be a dogs breakfast. Turns out everything went well and got into Dunwich about 1pm. Mind you going up middle road there were small fires just meters from both sides of the road, but felt safe due to the number for fire brigade & SES cars around. We signed ourselves out at the community hall and it was then the SES told us the barges aren’t honouring booking and first in first serve, so only had to wait about 30 minutes and then on a barge home.
I think it worked well because all available barges were working and seeing everyone had bookings, all campers staggered their arrival time into Dunwich.
(http://publicgallery.stevenbowden.com/albums/album30/IMG_0547_1.sized.jpg)
my office at around 1pm
expecting a late strong wind change- but also thunderstorm warning- hopefully the rain will extinguish what is left and cool the conditions
thought you would be out fighting the fires
(http://publicgallery.stevenbowden.com/albums/album30/IMG_0547_1.sized.jpg)
my office at around 1pm
expecting a late strong wind change- but also thunderstorm warning- hopefully the rain will extinguish what is left and cool the conditions
but also thunderstorm warning- hopefully the rain will extinguish what is left and cool the conditions
There's a very large band of rain extending from the Sunshine Coast down to the Gold Coast now. Hopefully it does what Straddie needs.
It's pretty vocal, you should hear it soon :D
Shane.
One the boat home
Fire and smoke one way
Lightning thunder the other
Will be interesting when they collide
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/06/hasa3ary.jpg)(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/06/pu2ypaze.jpg)(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/01/06/qebu7u7e.jpg)
it was then the SES told us the barges aren’t honouring booking and first in first serve, so only had to wait about 30 minutes and then on a barge home.
thought it might have been first in first served...how lucky for you it was only a 30 minute wait 8)
looks like a scene from the Lord of the Rings LOL
with the back burning they are continuing to do- I would be saying more like 80% of the island burnt now.
sitting here at the northern end of the island, wind has picked up and the smoke is thick.
plenty of infrastructure damaged- but crews (power and fireies) are doing a great job
That's not good... hope they get it sorted as soon as possible.
Did the rain this afternoon put out the fires? It looked very heavy over Straddie on the BOM radar. My place copped a hiding, I live across the bay at Lota and the storms were heading to Straddie after they crossed us.
Has anyone been over there in the last couple of weeks? Just wondering what the conditions are like after the bush fires.. :cheers:
We're thinking about heading over on the 16th feb and camping at flinders for about 4 nights..
Any info would be great :cheers:
And how about the Beech at flinders, is it washed away?
How best to find this out?
Wife wants to go this weekend, must do what she says I guess........ ;D
Has anyone been over there in the last couple of weeks? Just wondering what the conditions are like after the bush fires.. :cheers:
We're thinking about heading over on the 16th feb and camping at flinders for about 4 nights..
Any info would be great :cheers:
hopefully Selwyn (4wd26) will be along to answer, he is on Straddie daily being he works on the island
I'll ask the locals at work tomorrow
but from the sounds of things they are still been able to launch their boats from the beach so should be allright
Flinders beach and north of the East Coast road was unaffected by the fires- it was mainly off limit areas that were burnt and brown lake/ blue lake and the beachfront campsites on main beach
I'm wondering about the recent high tides and storm surge that made its way down from FNQ. Has this limited beach driving?
nah- we had big tides but no surge
will check in regard to the campground accesses on main beach but the flinders beach side never gets damaged
I am going over for a boys trip to do a surf comp in the next couple of weeks. It has been organised to support the locals. So I reckon get over there.
will check in regard to the campground accesses on main beach but the flinders beach side never gets damaged
Cheers mate..
We're still tossing up with a few others spots to go yet.. So many places to go and not a enough time >:(
Cheers mate..
We're still tossing up with a few others spots to go yet.. So many places to go and not a enough time >:(
just checked my inbox for the invite...obviously you're waiting until you have a final destination before you send it ;) ;D ;D
LOL ;D ;D ;D
PM sent
Straddie is an awesome place!!! If it wasn't so expensive to get the 4bee and camper over I would be there more often.
We will hopefully be doing a week trip to Flinders or Main beach from 22nd April (just after peak season so half price - but ANZAC PH on Friday 25th so short week)
For those who haven't been before here is my must see/do list for Straddie:
1) Swim @ the keyholes - freshwater and good fun drive in
2) Fishing at/day trip to Jumpinpin
3) Swim @ brown lake
4) Beer @ the pub
5) Feed Dolphins at Amity
6) North Gorge Walk
7) Round of Golf
Not being alarmist but didn't Flinders Beach flood in the storms in early 2013?
It is a great spot....wish I was heading back soon....sigh.
Stradbroke ferries are doing their midyear deals again.
Camper trailers,caravans, trailers with camping gear travel free.
Monday to Thursday only. Early May to late August.
Excluding school hols.
Check their website.
Rod.
We will hopefully be doing a week trip to Flinders or Main beach from 22nd April (just after peak season so half price - but ANZAC PH on Friday 25th so short week)
For those who haven't been before here is my must see/do list for Straddie:
1) Swim @ the keyholes - freshwater and good fun drive in
Half price in April? As per Rod's comment I see they are doing free camper trailers from May to August but is there a different deal for April?
Also I've never really bothered mucking about at the keyholes except for many years ago ... is there a swimming hole there or did you mean take your 4wd for a swim? :)
Well there ya go, swimming at the keyholes KEYHOLES NORTH STRADBROKE Ella my DOGs first swim in fresh water lake - funny (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBWXCN5gyH0#ws)
I'll have to check it out.
Well there ya go, swimming at the keyholes KEYHOLES NORTH STRADBROKE Ella my DOGs first swim in fresh water lake - funny (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kBWXCN5gyH0#ws)
I'll have to check it out.
no idea where the fires went through, but when we drove the track from Dunwich end to get to the keyholes last year, it had heaps of water holes to drive through and plenty of overgrown trees for bush pin stripping, so if you value your paint work (which didn't bother us) i'd advoid it.
HERE'S CLOUTY DRIVING THROUGH ONE OF THE MANY WATERHOLES WE ENCOUNTERED ALONG THE TRACK.....all had nice firm bases to them
(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/tn_IMG_7195_zps9155448f.jpg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/tn_IMG_7195_zps9155448f.jpg.html)
Half price in April? As per Rod's comment I see they are doing free camper trailers from May to August but is there a different deal for April?
Also I've never really bothered mucking about at the keyholes except for many years ago ... is there a swimming hole there or did you mean take your 4wd for a swim? :)
Half price from 22nd refers to camping rates through Straddie camping. Peak season prices are approx. double that of off peak.
Keyholes is the best freshwater swimming spot on the island - not many people go there
no idea where the fires went through, but when we drove the track from Dunwich end to get to the keyholes last year, it had heaps of water holes to drive through and plenty of overgrown trees for bush pin stripping, so if you value your paint work (which didn't bother us) i'd advoid it.
HERE'S CLOUTY DRIVING THROUGH ONE OF THE MANY WATERHOLES WE ENCOUNTERED ALONG THE TRACK.....all had nice firm bases to them
(http://i281.photobucket.com/albums/kk237/qld-bundy-drinker/tn_IMG_7195_zps9155448f.jpg) (http://s281.photobucket.com/user/qld-bundy-drinker/media/tn_IMG_7195_zps9155448f.jpg.html)
Dunwich entrance has lots of wash outs as pictured, there is an easier and quicker way in from the beach
but not as much fun ;) ;D ;D
EDIT...probably should mention that the vehicle Clouty is driving there is his previous 80 series, not the one he's selling now. Reckon he would have had tears rolling down his cheeks if he'd taken the one he's now selling through that track....lol
but not as much fun ;) ;D ;D
EDIT...probably should mention that the vehicle Clouty is driving there is his previous 80 series, not the one he's selling now. Reckon he would have had tears rolling down his cheeks if he'd taken the one he's now selling through that track....lol
Lol
I forgot about that photo.. What Rumpig said that is NOT the 4wd that I've got for sale..
Fires went right through from behive road south. Keyholes, tripod track are all ok, but sections are very burnt but will recover.
Me I am now in love ... Sitting at flinders with a cold beer in hand ,
Top spot :cup:
Jet ;D
Me I am now in love ... Sitting at flinders with a cold beer in hand ,
Top spot :cup:
Jet ;D
No photo to upload? At least share the scene (please)with the jealous minions following enviously!! ;D ;D
I can't work out how to off iPhone :-[
tapatalk makes it real easy :cheers:
you have been blest with awesome weather, some good fish on the bite as well offshore
I've never been, and it looks like I've been missing out. Definitely need to remedy that one of these days.
Hey there swaggers
We're heading over (FINALLY) this weekend for 4 nights this weekend, staying at Flinders. It is Me, Better Half, 8 yr old and 5 yr twins
Some questions if I may.
1. Looking at this map.
https://maps.google.com.au/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=217951472158741232134.0004e23c82523892a6673&ie=UTF8&t=h&z=14&source=embed&dg=feature (https://maps.google.com.au/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=217951472158741232134.0004e23c82523892a6673&ie=UTF8&t=h&z=14&source=embed&dg=feature)
Are the sites 4,5 & 6 still the best as far as the toilet access goes?
2. Trying to reduce weight, is there some where to fill up the Gerry Can for shower water near by? Even if it is a drive to type thing in our daily travels.
3. I see that a fire should be OK, can fire wood be bought on the island?
4. Is it worth taking some Kayaks?
Thanks swaggers.
DaveR
We were there just last weekend.
1. Yes 3-6 and also 7 are great spots with 7 beening a little more private. Wish we stayed at 7 but we stayed at 3
2. Fill up at Adder Rock caravan Park. The tap is on the left right at the boom gate. The is a attached hose already on.
3. Yes, we had fires. bring on wood or there is a guy who sells it on the way up from Dunich.
4. Don't know about Kayaks.
Bonus, a shark washed up on the beach!
Shark:
Thanks for that.
All sorted then.
depends on how mobile you want to be with the kayaks
Flinders "most" times will be ok straight off the beach for kayaking
or take the kayaks to brown lake, not a bad way to finish off the camping trip anyway, get to clean up the kayaks in fresh water
good kayaking in the Bay (Dunwich to Amity) :cheers:
the rest of the advice is spot on, not far up the beach to Adder rock to get water
I'm looking forward to 10 days over there covering easter and anzac day. We'll be down Main beach.
I thought there was a fire ban in place. Has it been lifted with the recent rain?
Yes, good to go for COOKING fires, wink wink, nudge nudge.......
Hi swaggers
We did the drive along the back of the key holes, from the Causeway to the north.
NOT recommended if you like your paint work, and that is from either direction.
Here is a short video of the Troopy along the muddy puddles. Watch for the pipes if you chose to skirt the outsides of the ponds, they are broken and there are some that stick up but are below the water surface.
https://www.flickr.com/photos/93625766@N06/13747411083/ (https://www.flickr.com/photos/93625766@N06/13747411083/)
We stayed at Track 8 on Flinders Beach as shown in the Straddie Camping link here:
https://maps.google.com.au/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=217951472158741232134.0004e23c82523892a6673&ie=UTF8&t=h&z=14&source=embed&dg=feature (https://maps.google.com.au/maps/ms?msa=0&msid=217951472158741232134.0004e23c82523892a6673&ie=UTF8&t=h&z=14&source=embed&dg=feature)
Position 8 is flood prone, 7 is has some good high spots. Both have a back road to the main access track which can be used at all tides. It has 2 short deep creek crossings. If you look at the map, you can see the track I mention.
Tracks 3, 5 and 7 are where the toilets are.
There is a ban on driving at high tides, be real nice if folk obeyed it!!!!!! A - holes :police: