General => General Discussion => Topic started by: jetcrew on September 01, 2013, 06:29:37 PM
Hi swag crew,
I have done my research and decided on an oztent for our Simmo trip.
Now I can't find a store with the 2 and 3 set up so I can compare and have had 2 stores give me opposite info.
I am 185cm wife is 170cm and son is well 7 yo
Will the rv 2 be big enough for the 3 of us. We use self inflating mattresses. X3
I don't want to buy the 2 and then relies I should have gone the three but also don't want bigger than we need as weight is everything.
Anyone been through this or offer any real world feedback.
Thanks .
Jet :D
I have the same question, based on their web site I am leaning towards the RV-3
The OZTENT RV-3 is bigger (2.4m wide), but it packs to the same length in the bag as the RV-2 (2m).
Have looked at the Oztents at different times and each tie I step into one I know why we have never got one. I am 182 and there is no head room. I like to walk into a tent and still be able to stand up while I do what ever. Oztents may have a good fit print but no head room
I have the same question, based on their web site I am leaning towards the RV-3
The OZTENT RV-3 is bigger (2.4m wide), but it packs to the same length in the bag as the RV-2 (2m).
Good pickup mate, wonder hw it folds different ?
Jet ;D
Hinge placement is different...
How about this one matey ??
http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Coleman-Instant-Up-Touring-Tent-4-Person.aspx?pid=291385#Cross (http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Coleman-Instant-Up-Touring-Tent-4-Person.aspx?pid=291385#Cross)
Even the good old tourer tent
http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Oztrail-Tourer-9-Plus-Tent-6-Person.aspx?pid=224120&menuFrom=571575#Cross (http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Oztrail-Tourer-9-Plus-Tent-6-Person.aspx?pid=224120&menuFrom=571575#Cross)
I've got an RV4 and it's a struggle to fit 3 mattresses in..
how much are these OZTents.??
have u looked into the minut tent, the type with a centre pole in the middle or the bigger type??
real easy to install and fold up flat as.
Carry on...
Hi Jet
How wide are your 3 self inflating mattress's side by side? as that might answer your question as to what size would be best. We use 3 swags in our rv5 and they are just a comfortable fit, the swags are 840 mm wide and the rv5 is 2.6 wide so unless your mattress's are very narrow I would be going for the rv3 at least. My rv5 fits into a 2m long bag.
I am not much different in height from you at just over 186 cm and while the head room is limited it doesn't become a big issue as the inside of the tent is used just for sleeping quarters so there is not a lot of walking around in it, all meals are had outside under the tent awning which has ample head room.
We use two rv5's joined together for the 6 of us, we also throw down a bit of shade cloth on the ground first before setting up the tent.
enjoy the simmo
How do you go handling the packed up OZ tent. I look at the the packed length and weight and can't think how I am going to manage that onto the 2.1/2.2m roof of the cruiser and there no way it will fit inside.
Go the RV3, since the difference in packed size and weight is nothing.
Also worth looking at the JETTENT made by OZTENT. It is a similar design to the Black Wolf with more internal space and height.
Either way OZTENT make a great product.
How do you go handling the packed up OZ tent. I look at the the packed length and weight and can't think how I am going to manage that onto the 2.1/2.2m roof of the cruiser and there no way it will fit inside.
My dad how's mid 60's has a RV5 and carries his on the roof of his Disco 2. He has 2 rhino racks with a ladder roller on the one at the back and gets it on no worries.
Even the good old tourer tent
http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Oztrail-Tourer-9-Plus-Tent-6-Person.aspx?pid=224120&menuFrom=571575#Cross (http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Oztrail-Tourer-9-Plus-Tent-6-Person.aspx?pid=224120&menuFrom=571575#Cross)
I have one of these mate and it has served us very well, packed up[size and the fact in bad weather it makes entering in and out hard as the door slopes away from the entrance have made me consider a different tent for touring duties. this tent will still go on trips just not the stop start touring where i will not erect a tarp.
These are great though, mine is 10yrs old and still works as new no issues. Fits in a roof top bag perfect and the single pole makes for alot of ease in set up. Just the wet weather side of things IE the front section.
So it was keep this tent and spend 1K on a wing awning or use the 1K to get a tent that provides some front shelter.
Jet ;D ;D
Still love the Southern Cross Ultimate Trekker for the family ... although probably going to sell it with full annexe
(http://img.exploroz.com/Uploads/Classifieds/14229_1__TN800x600.jpg)
But for quick overnighter me and 1 or 2 kids I got the Wolf 300.. I wanted a 240, but this came up on ebay for cheaper than the turbo 300!
(http://blackwolf.com.au/admin/uploads/product_images/big/BW13_TurboPlus_1.jpg)
We have a Freedom Family Tourer which is great and we will use that, HOWEVER if I could justify it a Jet Tent or Wolf Turbo lite FS300 @ $649 would be my choice. http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/tents/Blackwolf-Turbo-Tents.aspx (http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/tents/Blackwolf-Turbo-Tents.aspx)
They look like the next evolution even if they are not quite so tough.
Still love the Southern Cross Ultimate Trekker for the family ... although probably going to sell it with full annexe
(http://img.exploroz.com/Uploads/Classifieds/14229_1__TN800x600.jpg)
But for quick overnighter me and 1 or 2 kids I got the Wolf 300.. I wanted a 240, but this came up on ebay for cheaper than the turbo 300!
(http://blackwolf.com.au/admin/uploads/product_images/big/BW13_TurboPlus_1.jpg)
I have a freedom tent, similar style to the top photo here..
although I started with a second hand smaller version, actually it belonged to a bus tour company first then a mate had it, then i had it for a couple of years then I sold it to a mate in the 4wd club who put more windows in it i think.. so they last for years, thats why I bought another one similar.
good strong stitching, with thick canvas and good thick floor.
Carry on...
Also worth looking at the JETTENT made by OZTENT..........
Now, you'd just HAVE to get one of them, wouldn't you??....... ;D ;D
We handle our two tents in this, they slide in the pocket on the bottom right corner of the trailer that way they can be first out and last in in the packing routine. The 5 swags webber and chairs go in the top section and all the other camping necessities go in along side the tents
Touring tents are great but they take up too much room on the roof rack. This is why I am looking to swap to an Oztent from a touring tent.
I'll be watching this thread with interest as I'm also now contemplating a quick set up tent for the Simmo trip. I was originally thinking of getting a large double swag as swmbo isn't keen on one for herself, but as space will be very limited I think the tent option will be well worth looking at. After one night away on the weekend towing the camper and still using some of the rear of the Prado I figured I'll be needing to do some serious space and weight saving.
Holy crap!
Just looked at the price of these things. Think I'll be looking for something a touch cheaper for the amount of time we'll be using it
Any of the quick setup/packup tents need a roofrack. Getting them up there is a real bitch.
Same as the Touring tents. Same as double or >sized swags
Getting them up there is a real bitch.
That's why I am getting a flat deck rather than a roof rack with rails.
I was looking at 2 double swags from 4wdsupacenter but after seeing a few pictures of them packed up,there goes most of my roof rack space. So i guess now we"ll be looking into quick and easy tents again.
That's why I am getting a flat deck rather than a roof rack with rails.
Even without dude, they suck. Its the weight of them...
Feel free to borrow my Blackwolf for a weekend if you like. I fawkin love it... but packing it back in the bag is a mangina.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCorN0TvGm8 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JCorN0TvGm8)
I'd love to take this chick camping for a day and get her to show me why she does it so ****in easy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=He8umsLcwXQ (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=He8umsLcwXQ)
We have a Jet tent, but it takes up a lot of space and is heavy. I also had a leg collapse on me in the middle of the night (it was very windy).
For our upcoming desert trip we are taking the camper and the Coleman Coastline 6. We will have 3 adults in there for several nights.
http://www.kangarootentcity.com.au/welcome/page24.php#Coleman_Dome_Tents (http://www.kangarootentcity.com.au/welcome/page24.php#Coleman_Dome_Tents)
Weighs 12kgs, takes up less space than a camping chair. Sure, it is slower to put up, but in backyard trials it has done well. Dad and I put it up, unpacked stretcher, mattress, put out sleeping bag, tested lying in bed, got mum to try the bed, then undid it all and packed up, and the elapsed time was about an hour. For the saving in weight and space, I think I can cope with the extra setup time.
I can let you know in a couple of weeks how this works out. ;D
After looking at the Blackwolf video I am no longer as keen to get one. How long do they really take to pack up?? My guess is that my Freedom Family Tourer would not be that much slower.
I made a shelf in the back of the Patrol so I can slide it in last. This works well and its not as high as a roof rack to lift the 23 kg of tent. This is the same weight as the Turbo 300 bit the Turbo lite is only 15kg
After looking at the Blackwolf video I am no longer as keen to get one. How long do they really take to pack up?? My guess is that my Freedom Family Tourer would not be that much slower.
I made a shelf in the back of the Patrol so I can slide it in last. This works well and its not as high as a roof rack to lift the 23 kg of tent. This is the same weight as the Turbo 300 bit the Turbo lite is only 15kg
Its the rolled up length of the Blackwolf.. It only just fits door to door on the back seat.
Timewise, they arent that bad... Just awkward - specially if you forget a step, which I do everytime.
our Southern Cross the first time - we took close to an hour before the bloke and his wife in the campsite next to us came over and helped as he had one too. They had the SC tent done in under 5mins.
Sorry Lost, I'm not understanding??? Why do you like the Blackwolf so much compared to the SC?
We have a Blackwolf Turbo 300 plus lite ... it's pretty good to pack up, maybe 5-10mins, and I can throw it on the roof rack myself ok. Would struggle with the canvas one perhaps.
The problem with most of the instant types tents is
a) the fly - can take 5 mins to sort it out and get it over the tent
b) pegging out the base and guy ropes ... of course it can be quick if you're sure you won't get any breeze in the night (famous last words)
The jet tents look good - no fly, awning is built onto the main tent (similar to oztents I guess) but expensive and heavy.
Sorry Lost, I'm not understanding??? Why do you like the Blackwolf so much compared to the SC?
Blackwolf is up in no time and no faffing around with poles except for 2 on the annexe on the door...
The annexe clips on with buckles, so thats instant... no ropes, pegs and ****.
Awesome when its raining.
Any of the quick erect tents are huge when packed up. thats how they work.
I was shopping for either Bwolf or the Oztent.. but both are stupid $$ new... mine came up at the right time.
Would I buy another instead of the canvas ultimate - yes. but the Ultimate has more room adn a massive awning that you can back a car under.
cheers :cheers:
The Wolf/Oztent is designed for regular moving I'd say in its design.
The SC is designed for base camping more than moving.
The Wolf/Oztent is designed for regular moving I'd say in its design.
The SC is designed for base camping more than moving.
Considering the old outback coach tour operators always had the TOURING Tent as their basis for their overnight camp for it's passengers, I would be more inclined to disagree with you on that one Lost.
Especially after helping a mate set up and pack up his Blackwolf tent.
http://www.gibbriverroad.net/taffy-abbotts.html (http://www.gibbriverroad.net/taffy-abbotts.html)
Back in the days before Glamping was thought of
(http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/4425/y5wh.jpg)
Gidday
I have a blackwolf turbo 240 and have found packing it is an acquired art. Need to do more camping! It is probably a job best done by two, but as I usually travel solo has to be done alone and it can be fiddly. Key is not to rush (hard I know if its raining).
When i was shopping I was leaning to an oztent but the packed length was an issue as I was camping out of a car at the time and then the blackwolf became available at a price too good to refuse.
Considering the old outback coach tour operators always had the TOURING Tent as their basis for their overnight camp for it's passengers, I would be more inclined to disagree with you on that one Lost.
Especially after helping a mate set up and pack up his Blackwolf tent.
9x9's are a different story to the Ultimate with the extra area at the back requiring more poles....
have you consider an awaning with sides?
i carry 2 x touring tents....just the basic square ones, two ensure there is no drought while touring :angel:
Those old style pyramid tents are great (1 pole 4 pegs) except for the pole in the middle, so their fine for two people but not a couple who like to sleep together >:D
The larger ones, family tourers/ultimates need at least 6 pegs and 2 poles but they can fit a double and 2 singles.
Those old style pyramid tents are great (1 pole 4 pegs) except for the pole in the middle, so their fine for two people but not a couple who like to sleep together >:D
The sidepole kits are worth every penny...
See Coleman has just released these
http://www.colemanaustralia.com.au/Gear/Tents-and-Shelters/Instant-Up/Instant-Traveller-6-Person.aspx# (http://www.colemanaustralia.com.au/Gear/Tents-and-Shelters/Instant-Up/Instant-Traveller-6-Person.aspx#)
The Bunker by Oztent.
We took ours for the maiden voyage over the last 4 days.
90 seconds to set up and 2 minutes to pull down, without reading the instructions firstly.
The Bunker comes in a bag that is only 25 x 25 x 104cm long.. yet the actual Bunker is quite large when it is opened. (inside measurements are 1900 cm x 75 cm)
Inside we have Roman deluxe moon mats that self inflate, and unlike 4x4 mats, roll up in a minute.
I don't recall seeing these before. How are they?
Oztent seem to have looked around and got ideas from Blackwolf for the Jet tent and Kamprite for the bunker http://store.kamprite.com/catalog/TentCots-orderby_0-p-1-c-249.html (http://store.kamprite.com/catalog/TentCots-orderby_0-p-1-c-249.html)
They have a good range now!
We looked at them all, nothing touched the quality of the Oztent Bunker, which was by far the most expensive as well.
more expensive than an RV3 ??? ??? Didnt think it possible.
Bunker or Jet Bunker
http://www.oztent.com/CatalogueRetrieve.aspx?ProductID=5268635&A=SearchResult&SearchID=6508278&ObjectID=5268635&ObjectType=27 (http://www.oztent.com/CatalogueRetrieve.aspx?ProductID=5268635&A=SearchResult&SearchID=6508278&ObjectID=5268635&ObjectType=27)
But look at the size when packed, ease of set up etc
worth every cent, to me.
I don't recall seeing these before. How are they?
Oztent seem to have looked around and got ideas from Blackwolf for the Jet tent and Kamprite for the bunker http://store.kamprite.com/catalog/TentCots-orderby_0-p-1-c-249.html (http://store.kamprite.com/catalog/TentCots-orderby_0-p-1-c-249.html)
They have a good range now!
Hi mate, have used the tent cot, not sure where your based but in Vic I felt the cold underneath the mattress a lot more than a swag, good to store your shoes and that under. Rays have a wild country brand on special at times for $150. If your using in mild to warm weather it would be ok
Spot on swannie, we figured as much so went prepared with a silver thermal blanket each to put under the Roman moon mat.
Was just above freezing where we were and worked well. Warm as toast.
Will be nice in summer when the fly comes off the Bunker.
Hundred bucks off RVs at Rays http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/edm/rays-rewards-ripper-deals-wk12.aspx?utm_source=edm&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Week+12+Ripper+Deals+2014 (http://www.raysoutdoors.com.au/edm/rays-rewards-ripper-deals-wk12.aspx?utm_source=edm&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Week+12+Ripper+Deals+2014)
I am looking at the RV3 for the kids room to use with our KK. I like the look of them. From a touring point of view I have found a swag much quicker and more efficient than a tent set up. Even for a trip like yours I would consider a swag in conjunction with your tent.
I spend about 50-100 nights per year camping for work and swags win hands down. The worst part I found touring with a tent (ours was the SC ultimate trekka) wasn't the ease of setting up the tent, but the bedding was a PITA. The time it took to unpack the sleeping bags, self inflating mattress, pillows, blankets etc from their individual bags and then wrestle with them again in the morning was a major negative for me.
I find the swag, made up with the pillow and sleeping bag up on the roof much easier to deal with even when used in conjunction with a tent. Just undoing the clips and throwing the swag down inside the tent saves heaps of set up and pack up time. Also the quality of the mattress is so much better than the self inflaters.
Just my thoughts. I am biased as I usually sleep in my swag instead of the KK when we go away as a family.
Wish I never sold my rooftop tent.
I am looking at the RV3 for the kids room to use with our KK. I like the look of them. From a touring point of view I have found a swag much quicker and more efficient than a tent set up. Even for a trip like yours I would consider a swag in conjunction with your tent.
I spend about 50-100 nights per year camping for work and swags win hands down. The worst part I found touring with a tent (ours was the SC ultimate trekka) wasn't the ease of setting up the tent, but the bedding was a PITA. The time it took to unpack the sleeping bags, self inflating mattress, pillows, blankets etc from their individual bags and then wrestle with them again in the morning was a major negative for me.
I find the swag, made up with the pillow and sleeping bag up on the roof much easier to deal with even when used in conjunction with a tent. Just undoing the clips and throwing the swag down inside the tent saves heaps of set up and pack up time. Also the quality of the mattress is so much better than the self inflaters.
Just my thoughts. I am biased as I usually sleep in my swag instead of the KK when we go away as a family.
Some excellent points there mate :cup:
Fully agree we took longer to deflate and pack 4 bed matts and sleep bags than drop the tent on last years cape trip. Maybe 3 basic swags ready to roll as you say might be where the time saving really lies.
Hmmm you got me thinking now ;D
I have a basic swag no hoops or poles maybe 2 more of those
Jet ;D
Some excellent points there mate :cup:
Fully agree we took longer to deflate and pack 4 bed matts and sleep bags than drop the tent on last years cape trip. Maybe 3 basic swags ready to roll as you say might be where the time saving really lies.
Hmmm you got me thinking now ;D
I have a basic swag no hoops or poles maybe 2 more of those
Jet ;D
That would be my preferred option mate, just a basic swag that you can slide into, with a decent mattress, sleeping bag and pillow. Leave them made up and ready to go up top in a roof top bag. Used in conjunction with a Oztent or similar would be the quickest most comfortable set up in my opinion. If you want to Glamp just add a stretcher each to the set up. Stretchers are good because your clothes bags and boots etc can go underneath them inside the tent.
Swags don't really take up that much more room than all the other individual components for tent camping, they are just a bit harder to handle because of their individual size. For this reason I always run mine on the back of the roof rack in a SC canvas bag.
I'm thinking of having our bedding (including self inflaters) roll up like a swag. Then it would be erect tent, open stretcher and unroll bedding.
Anyone see any issues with that? I'm guessing the bedding would be bulky.
Starting to think a bedding roll could be a good idea too. :cheers:
Update.
Purchased the RV4, peak side panels , dlx front panel and fly today.
Tent world lawnton $1307 for the lot very vey happy ;D
They price matched BCF 25% off and they had lots of stock not a single qld BCF store could supply it all they had bits and pieces everywhere.
So big :cup: :cup: to tent world a good independent camp store.
I also grabbed 2 swags for $99 each as well ;D
We decided on the RV4 as the size and weight were identical to the rv3 and it has 400mm more room front to back so will fit a stretcher should the need ever arise.
Thanks for all the replies :D :D
Jet ;D
Edit - I meant size packed up is the same but bigger when set up by 400mm
Lol they are in the car in boxes still will take some pics when I set it up on Monday
Jet ;D ;D
I grabbed an rv 5 from BCF yesterday..
Wat sort of $$$$.....been thinking of getting one for awhile......pm me if ya like
Thanks Swanny
Wat sort of $$$$.....been thinking of getting one for awhile......pm me if ya like
Thanks Swanny
Jump on BCF website they have the disc prices on there mate.
cheers mate will do.
Update.
Purchased the RV4, peak side panels , dlx front panel and fly today.
Tent world lawnton $1307 for the lot very vey happy ;D
They price matched BCF 25% off and they had lots of stock not a single qld BCF store could supply it all they had bits and pieces everywhere.
So big :cup: :cup: to tent world a good independent camp store.
I also grabbed 2 swags for $99 each as well ;D
We decided on the RV4 as the size and weight were identical to the rv3 and it has 400mm more room front to back so will fit a stretcher should the need ever arise.
Thanks for all the replies :D :D
Jet ;D
Edit - I meant size packed up is the same but bigger when set up by 400mm
i picked up an RV4 yesterday from the Lawton BCF........there were others wanting all the accessories and BCF said they will order them in at the 25% off........just have to drop back and pick them up
where is tent world?
we were in the store for 2hrs comparing the blackwolf and the RV
we set the RV4 up and placed three self inflating matress's in.....the tent will be use by the kids.....its about the right size for them or two adults
i nearly went a second canvass touring tent.....in the end decided on an RV4 (kids) and double swag/touring tent (adults) for when we are not towing the CT....otherwise it will be camper trailer and RV4
Thanks Swanny
$850 for the RV4....the RV5 would have be around $100 more
Great thread. Just decided earlier this week on an RV4, It'll work in really well with our tray back ute and canopy. I have some of that slide rail on the side of the canopy, so I can zip the awning onto an adapter sheet that I can then slide through the slide rail, drop a side sheet down one side of the awning and bingo, instant home!
One question about the RV4 if anyone can answer. Are they big enough to put stretcher beds in going from front to back. I haven't seen an RV4 in the flesh, but from pics of them, they look wider rather than deeper.
Thnx.
The RV4 has a foot print of 2.4m x 2.4m. So a stretcher should fit in. Will depend how much the back wall slopes in to still give you room to fit a stretcher in there or not. Happened to be at a camping store yesterday and remembered your post. They had a RV3 set up, no RV4s. The RV3 has a foot print of 2.4m x 2m. They had a Oztent Stretcher set up in the RV3 and it just fitted length ways along the back wall. As the back wall slopes in so much this only left maybe 50-60cm from the stretcher to the front wall. As your stretchers are around the 2m mark I guess one may fit front to back in a RV4 but it is going to be a tight fit. Personally for me the one thing I don't like about the Oztent is at 180cm tall the highest part of the oztent is right at the front at 190cm. As soon as I step into the tent I already have no head room. For the money they are asking I at least like to be able to stand up in the tent and not have to pay for all the extra walls etc to have an area of a tent to stand in. I believe there are better tents on the market. But that is just me. I strongly recommend you have a look before you buy.
A poor shot of not much room in a RV3 with a stretcher along the back wall
(http://img543.imageshack.us/img543/4871/3squ.jpg)
Im trying to work out accomodation for a simpson trip as well, seeing as leaving the goldy home, and keen for something quick. Anyone had any good ideas since this post?
There's significant breaks in the sequence of those two video's Lost.
Might look easy. She was puffing a bit, rolling that tent up.
If there's a bit of wind, it might help with the tent fly.
Be a lot easier with a helper.
We were all set to get an Oztent a while back before we headed outback touring (lots of overnights stops) for the first time. Up til then we'd done mainly base camping with a huge Coleman 3 room and a 24' tarp. We decided after crawling over them at the camping show we couldn't all fit in an Oztent and I'm too tall to stand up in them.
I bought a used Oztrail Tourer 9 Plus for $200. It fitted the four of us..just.. and I could stand up in the middle of it. As someone else mentioned the angled front door was a nuisance in the rain. Otherwise, great tent and it flat-packed to a 90x90cm square that fitted into my roof rack bag easily.
We've since sold the Tourer 9 Plus and our big Coleman tent and have got an Oztrail Tourer Twin. Picked it up for $450 ish at a clearance centre last year. It's the perfect tent for us with room for 2 x queen beds easily and standing up room in the middle. The front awning/weather flap is huge and overlaps the door by a couple of feet each side and there are no issues with water ingress. The end windows can be left open in the rain and there's a back door for airflow with it's own little awning. It flatpacks to the same size, ie. 90x90cm and is barely any thicker or heavier. I can easily pack it up and put it up on the roof on my own while the girls faff about.
For our next trip out bush, we'll use this and a roof awning for a bit of cover for meals.
Justed picked up a jet tent by oztent love it sets up quickly plenty of room can stand up in it main reason I went the jettent hope this helps cheers Mark
Any reason why I shouldn't buy an RV4 today on this Ray's deal?
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/rv4deal.jpg)
I've got an RV5 and like it.
I am looking to get the extra fly, so if they're thrown in as part of the deal that's pretty sweet. The fly can stay on when packed up and gives you that extra layer protection from bird poo, sap etc.
It's just the packed size of the thing that's the drawback
The extra side panels are a good investment in my opinion too. Adds a bit to setup but not much if there's two of you. We got the peaked side panels
Thanks D4D for sharing the post,
I have just got home from local Rays with rv4 in the back of the ute.
Very happy camper.
Thanks again :D
Any reason why I shouldn't buy an RV4 today on this Ray's deal?
... and you're asking because ? ;D
The Packing up your BlackWolf Turbo tent link a page or so ago ! Whaaaa :'( My RV5 is down an packed in less than 1/2 the time with a 1/4 of the fuss. For overnighting we found it great ... but when you add the "fruit" setup/packup gets a whole lot longer.
Thanks D4D for sharing the post,
I have just got home from local Rays with rv4 in the back of the ute.
Very happy camper.
Thanks again :D
No probs, I got one too :cup:
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/rv4.jpg)
All I can say is WOW to the service from Oztent :cup:
I purchased the RV-4 from Rays on Saturday and emailed Oztent proof of purchase on Sunday for the 'free fly' offer. The fly was delivered at 10am this morning ;D
Yep, premium product and premium service. Always positive dealings. :cup:
What's everyone using under their Oztents?
I was planning to use an Oztrail Ultramesh tarp. The RV4 is 2.4x2.4, I can't decide whether to get the 2.4x2.4 or the 2.4x3.6 to have a little extra in front of the door.
I use the extra large one with my tent for that bit out front, really good for boots and crap before you go inside.
Get the larger one so that it extends under the front awning if you are using it. We've got the RV5 and have the larger floor saver mesh. It extends all the way from the back of the tent to the front edge of the awning
Hi mate,
I would definitely use the bigger one.
If you have room for it and its not that much more go for it.
Rod............
It's unanimous, I'll go the bigger one :cup:
Have a look at the oztent floor saver, we use the mesh version, it goes under the tent floor as well as the front room and has eyelets matching the tent base, so you use 1 peg for floor and tent. They make for a tidy set up. :cheers:
V8ute
Thanks V8ute, I looked at the Oztent version however I didn't think it was worth twice the price.
Finally setup the Oztent this morning. I am very happy with it and it does what it says on the box, 30 seconds and it is up. You do need to be careful of how you set it up, if you bend a pole you're not going to fix it in the bush easily. The Oztrail mesh tarp underneath works well, and at half the price of the Oztent version. Thumbs up to Camping Megastore for delivering it very quickly.
I did however find a couple of design issues:
- you can't connect the Velcro for the rope bag with the rope attached, it would have been better if the Velcro wasn't in the corner
- when the tent is pegged out it is very difficult to get to the centre window flap keeper, it would have been better with 2 keepers
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/rv4-1.jpg)
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/rv4-4.jpg)
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/rv4-2.jpg)
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/rv4-3.jpg)
I did however find a couple of design issues:
- you can't connect the Velcro for the rope bag with the rope attached, it would have been better if the Velcro wasn't in the corner
- when the tent is pegged out it is very difficult to get to the centre window flap keeper, it would have been better with 2 keepers
I've found that if you don't pull the guy rope fixing into the pocket and have the guy rope exet the pocket in the corner both Velcro tags can close. I only ever use the guy ropes if it is going to be really windy, other wise I just peg the four corners and the three ropes off the bottom of the rear window flap.
On my RV5 I've never need to use the rear flap centre keeper, the two outer ones hold it up fine.
Thanks Kelvo, I'll give that a try with the guy ropes.
I'm not happy with having to peg the rear of the tent every setup, I was hoping to not have to peg anything for quick overnighters. It would appear the RV3 would have been better suited to my purpose as the internal frame holds the rear taught rather than having to peg it, I didn't really need the extra internal space either.