General => General Discussion => Topic started by: chester ver2.0 on July 22, 2013, 02:56:19 PM

Title: How do you know when you are in the county
Post by: chester ver2.0 on July 22, 2013, 02:56:19 PM
Country people are just different to us city slikers thank god and they way they do some things is funny as; so for the city slickers i thought i would post up an example of how do you know when you are in the country

Kulgura road house border for SA and NT my father was with me and asked for a Cuppachino at the road house well the bloke behind the counter made him a flat coffee in a styrafoam cup then shook the milk 3 times to make it bubble poured it in and handed it over. The look on dads face was priceless

So what other pearls of wisdom have you encountered once you get out of the big smoke
Title: Re: How do you know when you are in the county
Post by: Tjupurula on July 22, 2013, 03:00:03 PM
Would it be too cheeky to say that I open the front door, and I know I am in the "country", although most people would say I am in the middle of nowhere.
Post by: Spada on July 22, 2013, 04:27:32 PM
you know your in the country when the shop has the bread in the freezer, and the milk is on the shelf.
Post by: 02-SR5 on July 22, 2013, 04:49:56 PM
When you drop the kids off in a muddy 4wd with a bull bar and nobody gives you a hard time about pedestrian safety and the environment.

When you wake up in the mornings and smell bull poo from the back paddock.

When every body in the street is running their wood heaters during the winter.

No Spiro and his cousin Gino in VL's.

When there are no traffic lights or toll roads on the way to work.

When you have a dirt drive way with pot holes.

I am loving this tree change.
Post by: Tim - Stratford on July 22, 2013, 05:59:07 PM
More potholes than bitumen on the way to work - at least it is only a 7 minute drive  ;D
Post by: fishfinder on July 22, 2013, 06:28:01 PM
when you walk in a pub and every one stops and stairs at you
Post by: muzza01 on July 22, 2013, 06:32:19 PM
When you get the one fingered wave from each vehicle as they drive past.

That happened to me and the Mrs in Launceston in the early 90's ???
Post by: Tjupurula on July 22, 2013, 06:34:56 PM

That happened to me a lot, in Darwin, a city.
Post by: berlitza on July 22, 2013, 06:35:59 PM
When ya walk down the street and a stranger will say "g'day"
Post by: noel_w on July 22, 2013, 06:39:31 PM
When the counter lunch is too big to put on one plate
Post by: scarps on July 22, 2013, 06:43:37 PM
When the local burger shop has a faded paint sign out the front. (no golden arch's)

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk 2
Post by: Symon on July 22, 2013, 06:47:12 PM
When you help the publican change the keg.

When you go for a game of golf, and the greens are just engine oil sprayed on the ground.

When everyone puts their beer bottle top back on after each sip.

You have a single digit phone number.

You only get TV reception when it rains.

Kids don't bother with shoes.
Post by: Bird on July 22, 2013, 06:51:07 PM
when ya alternator dies, battery dies on a 45 degree day and the only house in sight the owner, mixes up cordial and ice cubes for ya kid, then drives you 30klms to next town to get a new battery to get you to civilization, then refuses to let you pay for the tank of fuel they just got...

I still left $50 on the seat when she got out at home.
Post by: Brumbypt on July 22, 2013, 06:52:31 PM
When there is more than 3 cars in front of you at an intersection, there must be something wrong ahead..
Post by: ozbogwam on July 22, 2013, 06:53:53 PM
You bang your elbow on the window and your knee on the handbrake

Oh wait the country :D
5 minutes means a whole different thing

The coffee is so hot yet somehow doesn't set the take away cup on fire

Directions are, um, vague when you don't know where Dicko lives or which paddock Thommo rolled the EH

Post by: D4D on July 22, 2013, 06:54:15 PM
When you get the polite one finger salute when you drive by
Post by: Symon on July 22, 2013, 06:57:08 PM
when ya alternator dies, battery dies on a 45 degree day and the only house in sight the owner, mixes up cordial and ice cubes for ya kid, then drives you 30klms to next town to get a new battery to get you to civilization, then refuses to let you pay for the tank of fuel they just got...

I still left $50 on the seat when she got out at home.

Yep.  Broke down up the Cape, the truck went back to Cairns on a towtruck.  A local from Coen gave my Dad and I a lift, along with my trailer in tow, all the way back to Cairns.

We tried to pay for his fuel, then tried to go halves, offered a carton, then a six pack - all refused.  Dave from Coen, if you are reading this, you are an 'effing legend.
Post by: Tjupurula on July 22, 2013, 06:57:27 PM
My goodness, and people wonder why I would never live in a town.  The fact that you mob notice all these differences tells me that MySwag has a lot of city slickers on board.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on July 22, 2013, 07:18:02 PM

You know you are in the country when ...

You can't hear your neighbour farting on the loo ...
You can't hear you neighbours fighting ... and what it's about ...
You can't hear a car engine ...
You can hear birds ... lots of birds ...
You have to school the kids by CB ...
The CWA caters for the local footy game ... and the whole town turns up ...
Everyone walks and talks slowly ... and they all wear brimmed hats and jeans ...
There is a horse tied up outside the pub ... there are dogs inside the pub ...
You have to ask the Publican where you can sit ...
You don't have to lock your house or car ...

Post by: 02-SR5 on July 22, 2013, 07:47:12 PM
When you duck into the local servo to get fuel, pay the bills, new blades for the ride on, pick up your mail, feed for the stock, a new pair of pants and pick up Chinese for dinner, then drive the 60km back home again.
Post by: deepop on July 22, 2013, 07:52:04 PM
My goodness, and people wonder why I would never live in a town.  The fact that you mob notice all these differences tells me that MySwag has a lot of city slickers on board.
Yeah TJ.   I'm one of them and all you see here are the reasons I love to get out into your world for a break.
Post by: Bird on July 22, 2013, 07:55:49 PM
Yep.  Broke down up the Cape, the truck went back to Cairns on a towtruck.  A local from Coen gave my Dad and I a lift, along with my trailer in tow, all the way back to Cairns.

We tried to pay for his fuel, then tried to go halves, offered a carton, then a six pack - all refused.  Dave from Coen, if you are reading this, you are an 'effing legend.
Post by: crackacoldie on July 22, 2013, 08:05:18 PM
Ya know your in the country, when the pollies tell ya about this great new digital TV, more channels etc. then when they turn off the analogue, ya left with no TV at all!
Post by: Pirate_Pete on July 22, 2013, 08:31:35 PM
When one of these guys lands in the tree outside you bedroom

(http://i233.photobucket.com/albums/ee312/Polyboatowner/41745f66450f3173bc8b70c3766adfac_zps879ca58a.jpg)

A Juvenile White Bellied Sea Eagle.
Post by: Brumbypt on July 22, 2013, 08:42:27 PM
When kangaroos, or wombats, or koalas graiis on ya lawn or in ya trees..

The bloody first 2 wreck ya fences too and eat ya crops.. Bloody pesty native animals...

And the first time ya hear a koala scream ya think its a wild pig attacking ya dog..

Hey
Post by: Brumbypt on July 24, 2013, 04:55:05 PM
Most ppl have above have described the outback, not the country..

Country ppl are different to outback locals...

Tapa Tapa talk is not as good as using safari.
Post by: oldmate on July 24, 2013, 05:18:18 PM
When your standing at the pea trough in the pub with 2 other blokes, and one says to his mate,

"Yeah cobber tell me bout it, you should see the bull horns I just fitted to me combine, bloody brilliant I tell ya"
Post by: Tjupurula on July 24, 2013, 05:50:16 PM
Most ppl have above have described the outback, not the country..

Country ppl are different to outback locals...

Hi Pete
The obvious question, wat are outback locals like ?
Post by: Mrs smith on July 24, 2013, 06:13:14 PM
From my experience, you know your in the country when.
The locals say more by not saying anything at all.
Post by: scarps on July 24, 2013, 07:12:59 PM

From my experience, you know your in the country when.
The locals say more by not saying anything at all.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk 2
Post by: Brumbypt on July 24, 2013, 07:48:48 PM
Hi Pete
The obvious question, wat are outback locals like ?

They are just different.. Long story

Post by: jnik on July 24, 2013, 08:11:48 PM
You know you are in the country when ...

You don't have to lock your house or car ...

When I was a kid our neighbours went to England for 3 months ... didn't lock their door, 'cause it didn't have a lock!
Post by: TheTaylors on July 24, 2013, 08:25:03 PM
When your power goes out with a strong gust of wind

When you don't have mobile coverage or internet access

When you come from work after a storm and hubby (Mr TheTaylors) is out with a neighbour, both with chainsaws chopping up the huge tree that came down blocking the road and our drive....

You can hear a car coming from kilometres away.

No town water or sewerage

The local sporting club is the social life of the town....

The deb ball is run through the school....

There is a deb ball!!

Tractor Pulls.... ahh memories of the Quambatook tractor pull!!

Rodeos, camp drafts etc etc

Gotta love the country!!!
Post by: Mr TheTaylors on July 24, 2013, 08:28:27 PM
When your mail doesn't get delivered by a postman and you have to have a post box.

When a tree drops in your front yard and everyone's over with a chain saw to get their share of firewood.

Post by: Pirate_Pete on July 24, 2013, 08:35:48 PM
When your mail doesn't get delivered by a postman and you have to have a post box.

When a tree drops in your front yard and everyone's over with a chain saw to get their share of firewood.

We get a postman Tuesday & Friday but if its bigger than a letter we have to go to the post office. . . Does that count as country?????
Post by: Tjupurula on July 24, 2013, 08:48:22 PM

We get a mail bag dropped in every Wednesday by the weekly mail plane run, though sometimes the letters are 4 or 5 weeks old.  I wonder where that rates in this conversation.
Post by: Ynot on July 24, 2013, 08:53:07 PM
When you pull in for fuel and they ask which way you going,

Quilpie... Good oh I got a compressor here for Dave's freezer, just drop it off at the pub there, he'll be needing it soon if it doesn't cool down soon, maybe a bit of rain would help, though don't give it much hope, hasn't rained for months and we will be carting water again soon. Mates got a truck sitting around doing nothing, might see if we can put a tank on the back of that, could make a quid... Best get on with it, can't let you buggers hold me up all day!

Post by: speewa158 on July 25, 2013, 03:45:11 PM
When you sit outside with a fire burning on the back veranda having a Beer after work & all you can hear are gentle bleets of distant sheep .
The Only Hardwear shop in town closes between 12.30 pm & 1.30pm  for lunch .
When you get Bagged by the local Copper on Friday Arvo ,  on the way home & you can tell him " Your 1 1/2 hours to early "
When you can't remember where the house keys are & your 2 hours away on a trip  .
When you only have to drive 5 mins to warm the truck then its time to speed up to 100Km as your out of town .
It takes 4.5 Mins to drive to work unless you have somebody what wants to cross the road .
3 sips of coffie & its time to get out of the truck as your at work . ( Gots to slow down a bit . )
When you walk in the Pub 2 Pots of VB arrive with out asking . ( been there before )
Car Rego is cheaper .
 The news paper is delivered at 1.30am .
 The only time you can see the air is if it foggy or the fire place is smoky .
Your pets can eat what ever you run over on the way home . ( Onya Skippy )
                                                                                                                 :cup:                   :cheers:
Post by: McGirr on July 25, 2013, 04:09:39 PM

When you hit a cow.

Post by: Kangaron on July 25, 2013, 04:13:57 PM
When you can leave your money on the bar all night and the beers keep coming, till you tip the pot.
Post by: Tjupurula on July 25, 2013, 06:35:08 PM
When you hit a cow.

Do horses and / or camels count ?
Post by: speewa158 on July 25, 2013, 07:57:32 PM
Do horses and / or camels count ?
Only if your a panel beater   ,   or you sell  Bull/Camel / Horse Bars     ,   take your pick  8)
Post by: Tjupurula on July 25, 2013, 08:00:22 PM
Only if your a panel beater   ,   or you sell  Bull/Camel / Horse Bars     ,   take your pick  8)

Have a few more drinks Speewa, you're not making sense yet 8)
Post by: speewa158 on July 25, 2013, 08:18:09 PM
TJ  If you panel beat rigs & they hit a horse / camel / bull  it's bent . Them its You Bendem / Webeatem . What ever you hit  .  ;D
Post by: schmik on July 25, 2013, 09:04:34 PM
When the kids start arguing about which movie to watch next..... Takes a whole movie at 110kph to get far enough away from sydney.

And then that sinister laugh kicks in as I cut the power to the DVD players.
Post by: GU Rich on July 25, 2013, 10:09:11 PM
When you wake up and see snow on the mountains from your front verandah  ;D

Post by: Marcus73 on July 25, 2013, 10:18:03 PM

Or you could just be from Tasmania :)

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!
Post by: Tjupurula on July 25, 2013, 10:45:42 PM

If I ever see that I am getting away from the desert,..... 8) 8)
Post by: Tjupurula on July 26, 2013, 07:06:27 AM
Yesterday afternoon we definitely knew we were not in the city.  The grandkids were playing with their new IPad, Napanangk and I walked in and asked who wanted to go out and get some lukiti (witchety grubs)....the IPAD was left on the bed, and the kids were on the trayback almost before I had finished asking them,  We were out for about 3 hours and got almost half a bucket of lukiti, as well as two mundun (black head python, a very successful day.
Got home, some damper, hot tea, lukiti and mundun, and all were content for a nights rest.
Post by: BernieS on July 26, 2013, 11:45:31 AM
When complete strangers stop, have a chat, crack a joke and pat your dog.

When you can't hear your neighbour's kid...s slamming the dunny seat all day long. (Thank god they've gone)
When you can't hear your neighbour's dog barking 8 hours a day even tho the neighbour is at home. (that's two thank god they've gone) I do however feel sorry for their new neighbours.
Post by: MattNQ on July 26, 2013, 12:34:06 PM
The number of fat white aerials on the mandatory bundy rum stickered ute is a sign of a young man’s social status
Driving at night is like driving through a zoo with all the fences down
The only heavy metal you can hear is the ancient D3 dozer they use to do the driveway & fencelines.
Since Country Target moved in, every kid in town wears the same clothes.
You wake up to the sound of the local dogs chasing the local wild horses around your accommodation...more than once
The airport terminal is a small tin shed that some bloke unlocks 10 minutes before the plane lands
Forget the waitress bringing out a dessert tray to browse - the pub's desert menu is tinned fuit & homebrand vanilla icecream.
There is a camel tied up outside your donger behind the pub.
You offer a total stranger a lift for a 6 hour drive back south to The Isa ...and agree to play his one and only Slim Dusty cassette.
You can't answer most of the questions when filling out your work vehicle accident report ...eg.what is the nearest cross street   ???,
Flies can be counted as part of your protein intake.

You are not dodging spandex-clad Tour-de-france wannabee cyclists on $10k bikes that are too special to use the  bike lane like every other rider, rocketing along to their next Latte stop.

And the best part....there is not a Prius to be seen!
Post by: Pipeliner on July 26, 2013, 12:56:27 PM
You take your prim Welsh mother-in-law into the pub for a refreshing drink and they give her a stubby in a polystyrene cooler.  Then a local comes in wearing a brand new Akubra which is promptly whipped off his head, stomped on, kicked around the floor, has beer poured over it, and is finally handed back to him with the comment 'Now it looks like a hat!'.

The look on MIL's face was priceless!  Suffice to say that was the one and only time they came out to visit.
Post by: Brumbypt on July 26, 2013, 05:33:00 PM
When u go to your auto eleccy to work on ya winch all day, you do most of the work while he supervises and makes fun of you, you use his tools and bits, you also help other customers that come in, answer his phone and stack firewood etc for the wife. Move his car and trailer out of the way so the customer we could put his car  there..

We then stole a part of my customers car (mates car really that i still have and am still working on) ( car aerial mount) and fitted it to the auto elleccys car for his new uhf radio..

And after all that, i got the winch working with its new switch..

And he didnt charge me..

Now thats country customer service..

Now tomorrow i will need to find a few muscles and put the winch back on the bull bar????
Post by: bobnrob on July 26, 2013, 07:20:40 PM
The number of fat white aerials on the mandatory bundy rum stickered ute is a sign of a young man’s social status

None living 'round here, but I do see a few in western sydney, and heaps up & down the main drag of goulburn  lol
Post by: Brumbypt on July 27, 2013, 05:43:19 AM
When all houses have water tanks, and not only that, the water tanks have gutters to also collect their own water..

Post by: Garfish on July 27, 2013, 06:11:40 AM
When I was a kid our neighbours went to England for 3 months ... didn't lock their door, 'cause it didn't have a lock!
We got a lock on our door when I was 18,  it was unfair it meant I had to take a key with me and ty and use a lock when coming home early in the morning, none of my brothers and sisters had to, just being picked on cos I'm the you get,

You know your in the country when everyone sees happier

And the water in the water tanks can be used or something other than toilets and washing machines..
To conserve water you go stand under the bore.
 You get looked at if you are wearing a matching clothes
Post by: Tjupurula on July 27, 2013, 07:05:57 AM
When you are sitting on your sons front porch, and because of medication (my excuse and I am sticking to it) quite loudly pass wind.  Then the neighbour, some 30 metres away, calls out "Chuck a plug in it".  Sound carries in the bush on a quiet night obviously.