General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Brumbypt on July 21, 2013, 08:45:41 PM
Share your stories about helping others out, especially in the past week..
Most of us have customers and helping them out and charging them, then that doesnt count unless you go above and beond. This thread is more interested to hear if you have helped someone out for free or bartering.
Like fixed their car or built something for them or repaired a trailer..
Etc etc
All wee i have finally been set loose on my mates rigs.
Hand brake mod,
Fuel door mod
Generally getting it close to a road worthy condition
Painted his offroad trailer, see pic
On his other 80, cleaned up and painted a second hand tjm rear bar, adapted and fabricated his old kaymar swing arm to fit the other side, so now he has a twin wheel carrier. Or jerry and wheel, depending what he wants to put there..
More to come as lots of work to do still..
I do not know if it counts, but when I was about to get on the bus in Derby, there was a senior citizen having trouble dragging her bags to the bus. I took the bags and gave them to the driver, then followed her up the stairs on the bus to make sure she did not fall back. It surprised me that others did not offer to help her, some young teenagers were actually laughing at her struggling until I frowned at them. That was last Monday evening. I mst admit this same lady was in hospital at the same time as me, and we had shared a cuppa or two in the garden area.
I guess that is not in the right category, as most people would have done the same anyway.
I gave a pretty Lycra clad girl a lift home after she had a flat tyre..... does that count? 8)
I spent 2 hours Thursday night unpacking and unbolting the 2 large toolboxes of my ute, so my wife's boss could use it on the weekend. I have spent another 3 hours bolting and packing all my gear back in them this arvo ready for work in the morning. All good though, got a 6 pack of jimmy cans. A bit more than 1 an hour
wasn't me doing the helping but a mate helping me out. went round to his place today and he worked on my 4wd for several hours doing some work i wanted done, this mate does the same thing for many members in our 4wd club and happily does it free of charge. he also is going to fix my computer for us soon (new hard drive etc), when it's all done i'll be buying a nice bottle of scotch for him to say thanks, that's for sure.
Got a mate a load of pine offcuts for his wood heater. His wife like to re-create the tropics in the lounge room so therefore goes through a bit of wood! The pine is great for getting the fire going (or roaring!). Come to think about it, SWMBO is the same! ;D
Yeah the pine in Wodonga was s#%t for sure. LOL
Thanks in advance to (andrew) lino 6 for collecting my roofrack this week to take to Wodonga. Thanks in advance to (nick) evolution for wiring up my truck, installing my cree light bars , ciggy plugs and Pioneer head unit. And having his mate weld some plates onto the roofrack :cheers:
Blimey Wayne, it looks like there is going to be a mini MySwag convention at your place soon.
I guess that is not in the right category, as most people would have done the same anyway.
Counts in my book as not as many people as you think would help out these days. Everyone sort of sticks to themselves in the cities.
I would like to think I would help out in these circumstances.
Tested and tagged a chippy mate's tools this week. Been doing it every 3 months for a year now, got a few years worth left.
He supplied materials and built an awesome cubby house for my girls.
Wired a bunch of lights and powerpoints at another mates house last weekend.
This weekend he helped rip out a door, install a new window and wall.
Bartering works well in my book.
Installed window locks, deadlock, washing machine and some hooks for my mum.
She made a friggin awesome dinner.
Geez that woman can cook...
Didn't make much money this week but got heaps done to make the missus happy haha!
I do not know if it counts,
Sure does, you helped someone out , :cup:
And to everyone else as well :cup: :cup: :cup:
And I'm giving a mate a lift to theaiport this morning, because he owns a valiant I have had to give a few lifts,,,
Helped fellow members The Goodwins move house.
Gave their young bloke a lift to Soccer Saturday morning so they could move some gear, other members The Parkies helped with Babysitting their two little ones so they could pack.
After soccer we used Horse floats, car trailers, box trailers and packed boxes into the rear of our 4wd's.
Sunday I built a wire fence to keep their dogs in their new yard while they cleaned their old place. Fysh babysat the two little ones all day for them.
They are out of reach of the flood waters now, three floods in two months earlier in the year had become a little too much for them. Lifting their stuff and the all the mud left behind from the waters.
And they have bought their first home too, so they are off the rental roundabout. ;D
And thanks to D4D on several occasions on wiring the truck and lending stuff.
Just got back from a trip to Winderabandi Point on Ningaloo Station where I managed to get bogged on the way in - twice in about half an hour!
A nice bloke next door named Roger gave me a hand getting out which really helped the holiday get off to a good start instead of me being on the shovel after dark worrying about the incoming tide.
I reckon about every second or third person coming in over the time we were there got bogged, so I payed Rogers favour forward and gave a few of them a hand getting out (and convincing them not to be embarrassed as every second person does it).
By the way, a lot of them getting bogged were Land Cruisers so I'm pretty happy that my bunky old Rodeo got us where we needed to go just the same as the $100k LandCruisers!
Got my neighbor's bullocks in on Saturday morning and drafted 6 out too put on the truck later that arvo , they are currently standing in the yards at the local show , before going to sale tomorrow ,lol
Hope he's happy with my selection. He gets home this arvo ...
Searching for a lost colleague in the Blue Mountains. Back out there tomorrow.
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-07-22/still-hope-for-man-missing-in-blue-mountains/4834468?section=nsw (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-07-22/still-hope-for-man-missing-in-blue-mountains/4834468?section=nsw)
Anyone in the Blue Mountains area - please do share with your network that Gary Tweddle is missing in the Leura area... if anyone heard or saw anything in the early hours of last Tuesday - please call Crime Stoppers urgently on 1800 333 000. Or of course stay vigilant for Gary if bushwalking in the area. Thanks.
- Finners
Does wiping my kids butt count. Poor bugger cant do anything at the moment while his right hand is in plaster. I am sure by the time the 6 weeks are over he will be a leftie
I don't kniw, but helping me download phot's into a thread definitely counts.
I'm always helping the RSPCA by sharing the Lost Dogs posts for my area. Haven't found one yet however. I rescue, raise and rehome feral kittens as we find them at work.
Did some more work on my mates rear bar. Wired up the lights and trailer plug..
Then fitted the spare to the new left hand wheel swing to notice that the other is is too close to be able to fit another spare.. Looks like i will be on the angle grinder again tomorrow.. Then the welder..
Sent a small
care spare package to Fuji ;D
Sent a small care spare package to Fuji ;D
And I recieved them at work today. Many thanks to Ranger Tim for sharing his things with me. ;D
Thanks for your payment, real tea is just better than the tea bag stuff! :cheers:
Gave another fJ owner my nudge bar, rep,aced by the current ARB bar
Thanks for your payment, real tea is just better than the tea bag stuff! :cheers:
I betta let your SWMBO know.
Hey woman! Fix the man up with some real tea! ;D
I betta let your SWMBO know.
Hey woman! Fix the man up with some real tea! ;D
He drinks coffee here you know from the pod machine we were chatting about haha. If he wants real tea I can get some there is a tea pot in the cupboard I am sure. Thanks for making him one today. :cheers:
No probs, anytime. ;D
Sharpened my mates chainsaw for him. Might not count, I sharpened it so I could use it. Now it needs sharpening again!
I helped one of my neighbours last weekend by buying him a nice carton of beer. Okay to be honest the carton was as to thank him for spending 1 hour on his chainsaw cutting down one of my trees.
Got my neighbor's bullocks in on Saturday morning and drafted 6 out too put on the truck later that arvo , they are currently standing in the yards at the local show , before going to sale tomorrow ,lol
Hope he's happy with my selection. He gets home this arvo ...
He got 1 first @ the local show , so was happy with that , but the prices @ the sale yesterday were not to good at all ..
Detailed the inside only of my mates 80 thats here, bloody stank, dunno how he could stand driving it around, and his nurse wife also drive it to work too, dunno.. I hated driving it even with my dirtiest clothes on..
Well its all clean now, wonder how long it will stay that way when he gets it back.
Going to remove his winch tomorrow, dont have permission but why carry around a heavy winch that doesnt work.. Never has either since he has had the cruiser..
Tapa talk is worse than safari.
You might wonder why, why spend weeks on someone elses rigs and trailers..
Well its keeping me working, motivated and its helped my self asteem.
Not to mention its made them happy every time they come here and see their things changed and looking great. Not to mention working easily and properly..
Not to mention that changing parts like brakes on my rig happens once every 5- 10 years. So if i can change brake shoes etc on other ppls rigs then i can keep remember ing how i do it, so when i do mine next i don't stuff it up.
Anyway thats tomorrows job, changing brake shoes and pads. And making sure his handbrake works properly.. His wife and family love how they other rig can now park on their hill at home safely.
Also have the sway arm bushes to replace, but thats easy as..
And to work out why the drivers side window regulator sounds like an army dragging Egypt's pyramids in the door when the window goes up and down..
Then i get the other rig back, redo the handbrake mod on the drivers side properly and what ever else they think i should do.. And rewire the trailer plug, to a round 7.
Then clean up and paint their 20ft box trailer.. Yes 20ft..
Should look like new when painted.
Tapa Tapa talker
Tracked down an electrical problem in my neighbours caravan.
All sorted now.
He is happy once again...
Learning to be a cattle dog.
I had nothing to do so decide to take some tools out to a mate that needed to build a set of hurdles for his table top. When I arrived he had the gear loaded and was heading out to fix a fence on his boundary, so of course climb up and we'll go for a drive on the tractor with Biscuit the daschund for support.
We fixed the fence but needed to move the cattle (calves) to the next paddock to new feed.
Now to some that don't know, calves have the brains of flea's they don't know that you are taking them to more feed, it's their paddock so we are gunna stay. This is where the cattle dog (biscuit) is no help at all Soooo. New Dog Barnray
2 of the calves decide to try and run forward and around Me away from the gate they needed to go thru, Bugger (here you need to get in front and wave your arms and make yourself look big).
1 step to get in front at a run= 90mm tear in the Achilles Tendon :'( :'( :'(
Ouch!!!!!
Changed one side of the hand brake shoes, not an easy job any day.. Started adjusting them up ready to put the hub on, they wouldnt tighten up, i meani they wouldnt grip on the hub.. So got the shoes i took out and placed them against the shoes yet to go into the other side.. And the darn new ones are too small. He bought the wrong shoes, or was sold the wrong shoes.
Hours i spent just on one side, boy a hoist would be nice, be able to get the wheel up to an easy to see height..
So then i called him and pulled out the side i had done, fitted the caliper etc, left he old shoes out..
Then changed the sway bar front bushes..
But then discovered there was a bolt missing in the front control arm.. No wonder its a little loose on the road..
Tapa Tapa talker
I sent a friendly text message to a workmate of mine, didn't get the usual smart arse reply so I credited $10 to her phone (telstra creditMe2U thing). It was pay day so she would have been waiting for the pay to go in and she had to call centerlink the week before, so I imagine the waiting times would have gobbled all her credit up, and turns out I was right. Oh well at least she wasn't just ignoring me, ha ha.
Nice to be able to help someone out a bit without being asked.
I believe that sometimes the little things can count more than the big things too.
I sent a friendly text message to a workmate of mine, didn't get the usual smart arse reply so I credited $10 to her phone (telstra creditMe2U thing). It was pay day so she would have been waiting for the pay to go in and she had to call centerlink the week before, so I imagine the waiting times would have gobbled all her credit up, and turns out I was right. Oh well at least she wasn't just ignoring me, ha ha.
Nice to be able to help someone out a bit without being asked.
I believe that sometimes the little things can count more than the big things too.
So true pay it forward now hopefully she will get the opportunity to help someone hers might not be a credit on a phone it might be helping someone to their car etc.
Instead of eating lunch, I work "the block" which takes me about 25mins at a healthy gait (that gives me 5 mins to pee and make another coffee).
As I was heading around corner # 3 I noticed a truckie with a tool box door down and dragging on the road. Waved him down, pointed out the issue and assisted him up a gutter (around a car) and yelled out when it came free, and helped him get all the gravel out of the joint before shutting the latch on my side.
One happy truckie (I think). Hope he didn't lose too many tie downs on his trip out of the Industrial Estate with the door down.
It is not who I have helped.
A lot of members of the MySwag family have helped me to approach my Elders, and explain good reasons to stay on this wonderfukl site, and hopefully share a little of our culture and knowledge.
THANKYOU MYSWAG FAMILY FOR THE HELP
We winched a fellow my swagger up the exit of Dulcie Creek on the OTT. Everyone helps everyone out here. Meet some awesome people on the road. We also told a guy his spare wheel was hanging from his 4wd which he had to then refit.
140k service on the old mans troopy replace timing belt, fit new swivel hub kit
helped my neighbour fix our boundary fence on the weekend - even drank his beer. If his wife had not have asked me if I could take down the tree in my back yard I would not have had to help him. ;D
Still working on me mates stuff..
Rewired the trailer and fitted new plug and tail lights.. Soldered all joins..
All worked first time..
Worked out what the nasty scraping noise is and lubricated it...
Actually didnt work it out, just put grease and 7 everywhere till the noise went away..
Tapa Tapa talker
Just drove my mates brand new BT50 home from Cairns for him , lol he's still catching up in his old hilux .. Nice drive but I don't like Autos ...
Finished yay
Changed the handbrake shoes on his 80..
Looks like a prick of a job, but each spring has its place, but had lots and lots of trouble, anything i write here cant tell u how much trouble i had. It was one of those centre spring hold on plate things.
U have to hold the pin at the back hold the shoe, push the plate thing on against the strong little spring, its only a small hole and turn it, a quarter of a turn and it l ocks in there..
Tried for 2 hours last night, ended up swearing at it too much so shut up shop and walked away.
This morning tried again with saw fingers for about 15 mins, decided to check to see if the pin actually goes in the hole and it didnt easily, so then i took off the other side, or front of that side, and eventually got that one in the back so then the difficult one went in too.
Then had trouble fitting the new pads..
Just got it done and the owner came along. So made him fit the wheel..
Finsihed off a few things and he drove away..
Now to catch up on my jobs and finish trailer No . 2
Tapa Tapa talker
Charged him 14 loads of fire wood.. Bit much ohh well
Naturally he complained and now looks like i did 3 weeks work for nothing.
Tapa talker
Young mum of 3 having a hard time at the moment.
So while my son took her to a concert in sydney over the weekend, I installed a stereo I had laying around, in her car, and replaced the rocker cover - sorry, cam cover - to stop a major oil leak she had.
helped my neighbour fix our boundary fence on the weekend - even drank his beer. If his wife had not have asked me if I could take down the tree in my back yard I would not have had to help him. ;D
PMSL Fishfinder ;D
For a mate of mine OS serving the nation I turned this...
(http://i1308.photobucket.com/albums/s612/wombat97/021_zpsef122478.jpg) (http://s1308.photobucket.com/user/wombat97/media/021_zpsef122478.jpg.html)
into this.............
(http://i1308.photobucket.com/albums/s612/wombat97/031_zps3fbddd9b.jpg) (http://s1308.photobucket.com/user/wombat97/media/031_zps3fbddd9b.jpg.html)
Inside was also feral but I didn't take any before pics. Just an after
(http://i1308.photobucket.com/albums/s612/wombat97/032_zps4b933fff.jpg) (http://s1308.photobucket.com/user/wombat97/media/032_zps4b933fff.jpg.html)
Well done.
At first glance I thought it just looked like a concrete slab. I thought, wow, he's bought him a car?
But great to be able to help out a mate. Likewise, good to have mates to help you out.
At first glance I thought it just looked like a concrete slab. I thought, wow, he's bought him a car?
X2 ;D
My neighbour came over on Saturday morning to borrow few tools as he was fitting a lift kit to his Jeep (yes he bought a Jeep), so I loaded him up & help him carry them back over & left him to it.
Sunday morning I jump the fence to see how he was going, Well I ended up under car helping him finish the back end but had to leave to it as I was going to the footy.
Got back from the footy and thought I'll see how he went with the front end, after few trips through the fence in the dark for a few more tools, 11:30 that night I crawl back through the fence with it all done except for the extended brake lines but enough him to get to work on Monday.
X3 I thought the second photo was going to be that you had built him an outdoor deck area or something haha.
Great job I am sure he will appreciate it.
My auto eleccy called and i had to take photos of documents for him on his ipad and email them off to someone for him..
Cool hey
Tapa talker
I'd like to thank Nick Evans (evolution) for installing all the electrical stuff on my truck. You're a top bloke Evo. He work relentlessly!!
Well done Evo
I'd like to thank Nick Evans (evolution) for installing all the electrical stuff on my truck. You're a top bloke Evo. He work relentlessly!!
That's OK mate, just glad it all got done (99% lol). Besides, for another Evo your pretty good company :cup:
Evo
I'd like to Thank the Mod squad and the swaggers who worked together, to put an end to the dodgy shenanigans that have recently come to light.
The mods do a thankless job and keep everything running smoothly, and myswaggers looking out for each other, well, Thanks !!
Pity that Andrew bloke didn't do much except playing with your balls(tennis balls that is) ;D ;D ;D ;D
I'd like to Thank the Mod squad and the swaggers who worked together, to put an end to the dodgy shenanigans that have recently come to light.
The mods do a thankless job and keep everything running smoothly, and myswaggers looking out for each other, well, Thanks !!
I second that!!!
X3 Pity that Andrew bloke didn't do much except playing with your balls(tennis balls that is) ;D ;D ;D ;D
Haha good one! Hope the other half doesn't read that or I might get some funny looks ;D
Evo
I'm hoping I've helped this week.
I sent a letter to the authorities letting them know how I feel about something that simply brings me to tears.
Calstead Collies - the Scotch Collie FACTORY FARM - and the horrific way the "breeder" ( I use that term ... so you don't know what I really think ) raised and treated their breeding stock.
Thankfully, the authorities have come to their senses, as today I've learned that 80 charges of animal cruelty have been bought against them. Dogs Vic still have them as a registered "breeder" which is alarming.
Having a Scotch Collie myself for many years (RIP Jack), I know first hand how wonderful these dogs are. Their gentle, loving, trusting nature ... and to think what the "breeder" has done to them ... it truly breaks my heart.
I'm hoping and praying that my words to both authority, council and Dogs Vic will stop this "breeder" from every owning another animal in their lifetime.
( No longer turning a blind eye to this kind of atrocity )
I kept a pair of
clowns blokes amused while they worked on a Landcruiser ;D
I do remember doing a little bit of work there, e.g. identifying a white powdery substance under the carpet of said Landcruiser :police:
And to Kit_e, :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Well done for standing up. These animal "breeders" need pulling back into humanity and I'm glad you have stood up for these dogs.
X3
Haha good one! Hope the other half doesn't read that or I might get some funny looks ;D
Evo
Funny how you think you'd get funny looks... I saw him playing with your balls!
I kept a pair of clowns blokes amused while they worked on a Landcruiser ;D
I do remember doing a little bit of work there, e.g. identifying a white powdery substance under the carpet of said Landcruiser :police:
And to Kit_e, :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Well done for standing up. These animal "breeders" need pulling back into humanity and I'm glad you have stood up for these dogs.
GOLD :cup:
I was just glad you tasted it and didn't snort it to identify it >:D
Evo
I kept a pair of clowns blokes amused while they worked on a Landcruiser ;D
HAHA mmmmm white powdery substance! Well I slaved away in the kitchen to feed you clowns :cup:
I'm hoping I've helped this week.
I sent a letter to the authorities letting them know how I feel about something that simply brings me to tears.
Calstead Collies - the Scotch Collie FACTORY FARM - and the horrific way the "breeder" ( I use that term ... so you don't know what I really think ) raised and treated their breeding stock.
Thankfully, the authorities have come to their senses, as today I've learned that 80 charges of animal cruelty have been bought against them. Dogs Vic still have them as a registered "breeder" which is alarming.
Having a Scotch Collie myself for many years (RIP Jack), I know first hand how wonderful these dogs are. Their gentle, loving, trusting nature ... and to think what the "breeder" has done to them ... it truly breaks my heart.
I'm hoping and praying that my words to both authority, council and Dogs Vic will stop this "breeder" from every owning another animal in their lifetime.
( No longer turning a blind eye to this kind of atrocity )
:cup: good on you kit_e
GOLD :cup:
I was just glad you tasted it and didn't snort it to identify it >:D
Evo
I was going to scrape it into a bowl just in case EvoWishesHeWasATurtle ran out of said substance again!!
BTW - EvoWishesHeWasATurtle is the worst name ever to have to type into a post so from this point on you will be known as EWHWAT ;D
I was going to scrape it into a bowl just in case EvoWishesHeWasATurtle ran out of said substance again!!
BTW - EvoWishesHeWasATurtle is the worst name ever to have to type into a post so from this point on you will be known as EWHWAT ;D
Hahaha it's ok I'll just go buy some that's not mixed.
At least Evo can say EWHWAT cos I can't! BTW blame him for being so obsessed! ;D
HAHA mmmmm white powdery substance! Well I slaved away in the kitchen to feed you clowns :cup:
And may I say it was very nice. Thank you.
Thanks oldmate & lino6!
You too can help ... Animals Australia ... the voice for animals. (http://www.animalsaustralia.org/)
It's pretty awful stuff they tell us about ... but if we all Take A Stand ... just think how good that would be ... and it's all about personal choices when shopping ... and knowing just where stuff comes from and how it's treated before you eat it or take it home as a pet.
Stozz has it right ... rehoming is the best way ... so get your pet from the RSPCA!
Kit_e - gets off her soap box.
(No longer turning a blind eye to this kind of atrocity)
Stozz has it right ... rehoming is the best way ... so get your pet from the RSPCA!
Our last dog came from a rescue in Sydney. We will never buy a dog from anywhere else, other than a rescue. I feel sorry for these dogs that people just dump at the vet because they don't want them anymore. I think if you get sick of an animal and dump it you should be banned from ever having another.
I found a sick Koala when I was going to check the surf late this afternoon. Drove him down to Australia Zoo. He was not a very happy boy. :'(
Hope he is ok.
Our last dog came from a rescue in Sydney. We will never buy a dog from anywhere else, other than a rescue. I feel sorry for these dogs that people just dump at the vet because they don't want them anymore. I think if you get sick of an animal and dump it you should be banned from ever having another.
The best place to look is on http://www.petrescue.com.au/ (http://www.petrescue.com.au/) - pretty much every animal rescue group in Australia lists their animals on here.
People often wonder why you have to "BUY" a pet from a rescue organisation. They often think it should be free. Let me explain.
Most rescue groups -
* are run entirely by volunteers,
* have a policy of de-sexing every animal that they rescue ($80 - $350 depending on weight of animal)
* vaccinate every animal ($20 - $100)
* micro-chip every animal ($30)
* provide any other veterinary care needed ($.....?)
* provide temporary shelter, home, food, love
* run a shelter / kennels / foster care network - and it costs money to do this.
So when you get a pet from an animal rescue group, they are in tip top shape and just needing loads of love and possibly some good training. The "adoption fee" helps the animal rescue group to keep doing what they do and saving animals.
In Australia, over 250,000 unwanted or surrendered pets are euthanized each year, despite the best efforts of rescue groups. So please DO NOT buy a pet from a pet store (which most likely came from one of those horrific puppy farms). Go only to a registered breeder or animal rescue group and please have your family pet de-sexed. Allowing them to have puppies or kittens is not necessary and is only adding to the problem.
Another great organisation, for those of you who like active dogs, is Australian Working Dog Rescue (AWDRI) http://www.workingdogrescue.com.au/ (http://www.workingdogrescue.com.au/) and they have a great Facebook page too - https://www.facebook.com/awdri.com.au?fref=ts (https://www.facebook.com/awdri.com.au?fref=ts)
If you cant have a dog or cat permanently, or you have room for another, consider fostering one of these animals while permanent homes are found for them. All rescue groups are desperate for foster carers. In this way you can "help out a [four-legged] mate"
Back on topic.
I helped out a neighbour today. There is a very large family living over the road from us.
This week is the annual 'bring out your dead' junk / waste / rubbish collection.
Every household is allowed a max of 2 cubic metres.
The family over the road had about 10 cubic metres of junk on their front verge. :o
The rubbish truck people said NO. :police:
So I went over the road and helped the young lady (who was home alone) to "re-distribute" their ten cubic metres of junk to each of the neighbouring properties so that 5 houses each had two cubic metres. 8)
When the rubbish truck came back down our street, they took the lot as it complied with the limits. :angel:
Ok, so to be clear my good deed is actually a public service rather than me helping out a Mate and I'm not doing it because I a good bloke, more because I hate scammers.
About 3 months ago I stumbled across a 2010 Jayco Outback Hawk listed for $12k on Gumtree, my spidey sense was tingling but I just had to enquire and straight away confirmed it was a scam. I immediately reported it as a scam and it was subsequently removed but pretty much everyday since they mod the ad a little and re-list each day around 8pm waiting for next sucker. At about 8.15 I open the link to a saved search which once again reveals the scam is active, I report it, they remove it again. I keep thinking they're going to get sick of having the ad removed each day but so far they're not being diturbed but I'm a stubborn a**.
surley with a purchase like a camper, the buyer usually goes and inspects it before handing over the cash..
never trust anyone with big purchases like this and hand over 100% of the money till u have seen it. and done all ya checks..
Carry on...
surley with a purchase like a camper, the buyer usually goes and inspects it before handing over the cash..
This particular scam is the one about the soldier who's deploying for Iraq and the camper is stored at the Darwin Army base so they try to get you to buy sight unseen or at least pay a deposit. I can only assume that the fact they keep re-listing the ad they've had some success.
Another bit of public service as opposed to helping out a mate -
At work this morning (about 6am) escorting an oversize load down the Princes Highway. Get the load (only 5m wide, but 150t on a 10 axle dolly/low loader combination) to move over to the shoulder to let some traffic overtake up the fast lane. Get a call on the UHF from another truck heading in the opposite direction - "Copy in the oversize? Watch out for the bloke walking up the shoulder towards you just past the next overpass". "Thanks Mate". Block the fast lane. Clear the traffic. Bring the oversize back out of the shoulder. Go past the pedestrian. Move the oversize back to the shoulder. Get the traffic overtaking again.........
Pedestrian looked to be about 80 odd years old, dressed up in his best brown tweed hat, jacket and pants, out for a stroll along the freeway......with no lighting, no foot path, no cross roads for about 5km.......
In the next town we pull the oversize up for the driver's mandatory rest break and I ring the local cop shop to advise them about the pedestrian and that they might have to have a little chat to him about his choice of walking tracks.
"That's where the old coot has got to! We've been looking for him for hours. Thanks bud. We'll send someone to go and nab him"
Peter
I want to put a shout out to a great mate of mine who has helped me out with the following;
Drove me to pickup our Customline Camper Trailer in his car
Gave me a 100ah AGM battery and battery box (still going strong)
Fitted 2 x 12v power outlets to bed surrounds
Supplied the marine carpet for bed surrounds
Made a "back saver" for my trailer as I'm pulling an off road trailer behind a family sedan and was doing my back everytime I needed to hitch and unhitch, not mention the arguments with SWMBO !
Gives me his Camper Trailer Australia mag when his finished with it
And I'm sure I've missed plenty other things !
PhilW your one in a lifetime mate !
Cheers, Scott
I like threads like these.
Last Saturday my 4 1/2 year Old Son and I went to the local hardware store to get 2 x nuts, bolts and washers. As we were leaving one of the staff was pulling one of those plant trolleys an elderly couple had bought, so my Son decided to help by pushing. The Staff Member loved it and the Elderly couple loved it. They got to their car - a VU Commodore Sedan. (I should add it's a V8 SS and the Old Bloke was pushing 80 odd. Young at heart. Love it) I could see they were going to have trouble fitting it in, so I offered to take it in my Patrol. It was met with "Oh but we live on the other side of town". "No problems at all" I reply. The "other side of town" is only 5km's away. Anywho......loaded it in the Patrol and my Son pipes up with, "It's great to help people isn't it Daa?". "Yes it is my Boy. Yes it is". And he started it.
The highlight of my day knowing my young Son is wise beyond his short 4 years. And we got to meet a lovely couple, Peter and Bev, who have lived in this town their whole lives and have been married for 65 years.
Out for a bike ride with not so little image #1 when we noticed a more mature lady sitting in a car with a flat tyre. Stopped to inform her of such a flat. She said she knew and her husband was in search of a telephone to ring the RACV to change it. We chatted for a while, while her husband returned. He had no luck trying to find a phone. We offered to change it for them. so that is what we did. When we let the jack down the spare was almost as flat as the other one. We used my phone to call the RACV and then left. If I was in my Tug I would have had the compressor on board but we were on the bikes.
Another time about Christmas time I was in the local coffee place when the young girl was ordering. She handed over the credit card only to be told there is a minimum transaction and that she did not reach it. So she ummed and ared over what else she could buy. I said don't get something you don't want and I will pay for your coffee. She was surprised and tried to knock me back. I said it was $3.80. It was not going to make me broke. Merry Christmas were my last words to her.
It is the little things we can do for others that will make their day.
Crispy,
Pulled into the servo a couple of weeks back behind a guy filling a 2wd mid 80's hilux. He finished fueling up, went & paid, came back & started to crank it but it wouldn't fire. He comes to me & told me he'd run out of fuel as he rolled into the servo & it might take a bit to get it going. I replied telling him I wasn't in a hurry. He returns to the Lux & keeps cranking. Reluctantly it fires but not running right, not even close. He manages to half drive it away from the bowser & into a park. I filled my truck & paid for the fuel. I pull in to the park beside the Lux. At this stage he's tipping raw fuel down the carb to get it to fire. I give him a hand to choke the carb to get it to fire, but when I lift my hand it was wet with fuel, really wet. I grabbed some tools out the back of the cruiser & checked the flow from the fuel pump,all good. Battery at this time decided it had enough of cranking & was flat. Pull the cruiser over & hook up thge jumper leads.
Thinking of my wet hand, I thought that maybe it had too much fuel already & that it was really flooded. Sure neough I dropped the sight glass off the side of the carb & a heap of fuel came out. I gave the float of bit of an wriggle & put it all back together. Kicked it in the guts & after a few cranks she's fires into life. Gave it a couple of big revs to clear itself & she was ticking like a swiss watch. As I'm packing the tools & leads away, old mate was insisting on dropping a carton to my place but I wouldn't have any of it. I'm a big believer in swings & roundabouts. I just told him to help the next bloke out he sees in trouble & we'll be square. Shook hands & went our seperate ways. My good deed was done.
What comes around goes around.
Cheers, Mike.
Thanks oldmate & lino6!
You too can help ... Animals Australia ... the voice for animals. (http://www.animalsaustralia.org/)
It's pretty awful stuff they tell us about ... but if we all Take A Stand ... just think how good that would be ... and it's all about personal choices when shopping ... and knowing just where stuff comes from and how it's treated before you eat it or take it home as a pet.
Thanks kit_e. my wife and her sisters already do a lot do support animals australia. :cheers:
Big thanks to Brett B for dropping over and giving the 6x4 trailer a fresh coat of paint :cup:
;D anytime
You will have to bring your new RC car and the little bloke up here
Old girl across the road & her nearly blind hubby bout a caravan . Can't back it into the driveway , or unhook it . Wondered over to set up a check list of things to do , to unhook /set up then deset hook up . The page has been typed up & laminated .
Took the rig for its maiden voyage , all went well . That makes me very happy :cheers: