General => General Discussion => Topic started by: achjimmy on June 27, 2013, 11:41:04 AM

Title: I wonder why Aussie business's can't get ahead. FED Govt. use BMW.
Post by: achjimmy on June 27, 2013, 11:41:04 AM
Spotted this last night  as The PM went to Parliment house and came back as Ms Gillard.

The security vehicle tailing her and now the recycled  PM in the shot below is a Beemer. These used to be Aussie cars. Prevoiusly an Adventra. Why not Teritorys?
Title: Re: I wonder why Aussie business's can't get ahead. FED Govt. use BMW.
Post by: cruisindub on June 27, 2013, 11:48:41 AM
Because only commoners and country folk drive holdens or fords.

They are above that status dont you know.

(insert sarcastic emoticon here)
Post by: GeeTee on June 27, 2013, 12:23:25 PM
BMW can provide what is know as 'personal protection pack' cars (armoured) so that is why some of the Comm. fleet are 'foreign' cars

By the way, that...

AUSSIE-MADE HOLDEN

...Kevin is riding in is armoured, too ;)

Post by: MDS69 on June 27, 2013, 12:43:54 PM

By the way, that...

AUSSIE-MADE HOLDEN

...Kevin is riding in is armoured, too ;)

and several years old too as it is too expensive to update them all the time.
Post by: dazzler on June 27, 2013, 02:18:43 PM
They use the BMW for a number of reasons.

1. They need an SUV so they can see past the PM's car easily.
2. They need a vehicle that can out accelerate the PM's Statesman.
3. It needs to be able to handle well particularly rapid changes of direction.

Until recently they used the Territory Turbo as it could do this.  They don't make the Turbo Territory anymore.  There is nothing else built here that could possibly meet what is needed.

Also, if lightly armoured they still must meet ADR's including air bag deployment (WHS).  I have heard this was difficult and costly to achieve from an R and D perspective here in oz.

BMW are very active in the personal armoured vehicle area and build a quality product (probably without competition).  A few years back I was having a play in a 750 series light armoured at a track in Canberra.  A non armoured SS Commodore could not catch it around the track and this thing weighed in at 3 tonne.

I would put my nuts in a vice and bet that if it is a light armoured vehicle then it would have been half the price of building one here.

Post by: Barry G on June 27, 2013, 02:38:39 PM

Until recently they used the Territory Turbo as it could do this.  They don't make the Turbo Territory anymore.  There is nothing else built here that could possibly meet what is needed.

Also, if lightly armoured they still must meet ADR's including air bag deployment (WHS).  I have heard this was difficult and costly to achieve from an R and D perspective here in oz.

BMW are very active in the personal armoured vehicle area and build a quality product (probably without competition).  A few years back I was having a play in a 750 series light armoured at a track in Canberra.  A non armoured SS Commodore could not catch it around the track and this thing weighed in at 3 tonne.

I would put my nuts in a vice and bet that if it is a light armoured vehicle then it would have been half the price of building one here.

Damn you for using facts to debunk public prejudice!   >:D
Post by: berlitza on June 27, 2013, 03:12:23 PM
the feds here have been using the x5 in oz for security stuff for a few years now, i guess its still cheaper than doing what they do in the states that usually cost milllions for one car but then again give it time i'm sure it will happen here soon enough, most things usually do
Post by: dazzler on June 27, 2013, 05:06:58 PM
Damn you for using facts to debunk public prejudice!   >:D

:cheers:   ;D
Post by: achjimmy on June 27, 2013, 05:25:45 PM

thanks mate, sad its considered better than to skill up and do it ourselves?

interesting question though, Howard deemed that we cant own guns for personal protection or property protection? yet the pollies are happy to have armed security guards protect them and banks there money!
Post by: dazzler on June 27, 2013, 05:35:43 PM
thanks mate, sad its considered better than to skill up and do it ourselves?

Spot on.  It saddens me that we dont develop our nation more.  We really are clever and industrious people.
Post by: GGV8Cruza on June 27, 2013, 05:53:59 PM
Off topic comments removed as not to get another one locked up, try and keep it on topic guys and girls

Post by: GeeTee on June 27, 2013, 06:17:41 PM
Spot on.  It saddens me that we dont develop our nation more.  We really are clever and industrious people.

We used to be...

Hopefully The Man Of The Moment will act on the big hint he dropped in his speech last night about manufacturing
Post by: achjimmy on June 27, 2013, 06:46:38 PM
We used to be...

Hopefully The Man Of The Moment will act on the big hint he dropped in his speech last night about manufacturing

Yeah in 2006/7 ford had the CD391 platform (focus) manufacturing line coming to Australia, shortly afterwards it was diverted to Thailand??? Don’t know what happen but have an idea, anyway that was the turning point for Ford, after that tooling (hand) was being sourced second-hand from other world plants and it was to where we are now.

During the GFC the transmission factory at Albury went into receivership, it was developing a FWD 6speed and was promised funding from SsangYong which went west with their receivership, even though DSi had good orders from others (Mahindra, Geely etc). The govt didn't offer a cent, even with pleading from the Auto manufacturers union.  It was sold to the Chinese manufacture Geely. They have since triplicated the plant in China.

DSI at Albury was the one of only two independent Auto transmission factories in the WORLD. Now it is one of 6 with the knowledge equally shared with the Chinese!!!!
Guess what business wont continue forever in Albury?

What people miss is not just the tier 1 & 2 suppliers jobs etc but the toolmakers and all the skills being lost along the way! Some subsidy in manufacturing  is essential for national skills. We wont have any toolmakers or machinist left to make anything eventually no matter how cleaver we are at designing it
Title: Re: Re: I wonder why Aussie business's can't get ahead. FED Govt. use BMW.
Post by: koshari on June 27, 2013, 06:56:30 PM
We really are clever and industrious people.

Most nations sre vlever and infustrious.

Post by: koshari on June 27, 2013, 06:59:30 PM
Evcept for me because i cant spell on this phone

GT-N7000

Post by: Tim - Stratford on June 27, 2013, 07:16:23 PM

For the times when you don't need to out accelerate/manoeuvre a Statesman...... ;D

Dillon Aero - SUV Mounted M134 Minigun (Security Service SUV) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nHHj8IavEjk#)

Post by: dazzler on June 27, 2013, 07:44:52 PM
Gold!
Post by: achjimmy on June 27, 2013, 07:50:50 PM
Yeah I remember that on he episode of Myth busters "shooting fish in a barrel"
Post by: Bird on June 27, 2013, 07:55:54 PM
Quote from: GeeTee

Any discussions on manufacturing are all piss and wind.  I don't know how they can revive it with current wages and conditions.. Like "would you work Sunday for us Fred, you'll be on $150/hr with penalties"...

I cannot see anything changing until people are willing to accept a 65+% pay cut for the next decade - manufacturing in this country is history as are 100s of other business... The infrastructure has gone. The skills and experience have gone. We would need to start from day dot. Who is going to invest that many trillion $? cause it will have to be all or nothing.

Our car industry is way too far gone (had gone 10yrs ago) due to Gov not charging tariffs to save it. Cause we don't want to offend some other country.. With that go 1000's of other jobs from small companies that supply them.. Then again I heard Ford got wiriring harness' from one of the island countries (Samoa, Fiji or something similar), they aren't even made here.

I cannot understand how it is cheaper for a company to buy 50 hectares of say Oranges from USA, pay all associated costs with that, then freight to the docks, into the hold of a ship, to another country, unloaded, freighted to a warehouse, boxed up, freighted back to the docks, then shipped to AU, then shipped to warehouse in AU, then freighted to stores - and its still 50-70% cheaper than buying from a farmer 40klms from the warehouse.(http://surfguitar101.com/media/smiley/images/icon_wtf.gif)(http://surfguitar101.com/media/smiley/images/icon_wtf.gif)(http://surfguitar101.com/media/smiley/images/icon_wtf.gif)

My old man was complaining tonight about his Lemon Juice - it came from Brazil! (http://surfguitar101.com/media/smiley/images/icon_wtf.gif) My Lemon tree (that got run down wif a bobcat) in the backyard I never watered or fed grew dozens of the things a year...

The killers are Coles and Woolworths on food.

But all these arguments have been done here 219034230942039430948 times before.

YMMV
Post by: Garfish on June 27, 2013, 10:38:19 PM
That shouldn't be too difficult
Post by: dazzler on June 28, 2013, 07:39:49 AM
That shouldn't be too difficult

That meets condition 1 as well.  That gets harder.   ;D
Post by: speewa158 on June 29, 2013, 08:27:10 AM
For the times when you don't need to out accelerate/manoeuvre a Statesman...... ;D

Dillon Aero - SUV Mounted M134 Minigun (Security Service SUV) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nHHj8IavEjk#)

Tim That should slow speeding drivers if that's your new company Banger ( so to speak  ) . How many times a week would you have to wash it , Gloss black is a dirt magnet  :cup:
Post by: kylarama on June 29, 2013, 08:48:01 AM

and can you imagine the uproar about tax payers $$$'s being wasted if the govenment chose to support local and tipped $$$'s into having Ford build a custom Territory with a turbo, trick suspension and armor plating...
Post by: thommo19 on June 29, 2013, 09:33:03 AM
Well said Lost .
Jeff 
Post by: GeeTee on June 29, 2013, 10:51:36 AM
Under The Gee Tee Labour and Industry Plan, tariffs would be re-introduced to put the price of subsidised/cheap imports back up - everything from lemon juice to traffic light poles to railway carriages - to once again create jobs here.

Now how can I get a job in the gummint?!

Post by: Bird on June 29, 2013, 05:16:10 PM
Quote from: GeeTee
Under The Gee Tee Labour and Industry Plan, tariffs would be re-introduced to put the price of subsidised/cheap imports back up - everything from lemon juice to traffic light poles to railway carriages - to once again create jobs here.
Now how can I get a job in the gummint?!
Honestly I don't think it would go 1% far enough to reviving this country.

Another big issue is any company investing here in our new economy and era - even if people did take their 80% pay cut for 10 years, would know that after that time, fukwit unions would just strike and demand more and more and we would be right back where we are now within days.

What will be left once the mining crashes and goes away?
Post by: Mace on June 29, 2013, 07:10:25 PM

The other 80% by GDP of our economy.  Yes, it will be an issue in the future, so time to start structural realignment now. Working smarter, more efficiently, and in high value output areas. Time to stop the "good ideas" and smart workers moving offshore, not putting up barricades to cheap imports via tariffs and taxes.
Post by: speewa158 on June 29, 2013, 07:24:09 PM
Why do we need to protect our Pollys                            not worth the bullet                        >:D
Post by: Barry G on June 30, 2013, 02:52:12 PM
Honestly I don't think it would go 1% far enough to reviving this country.

Another big issue is any company investing here in our new economy and era - even if people did take their 80% pay cut for 10 years, would know that after that time, fukwit unions would just strike and demand more and more and we would be right back where we are now within days.

So the 65% pay cut you were touting as the 'solution' a few posts back is now 80%.
Lets just all imagine average wages dropping from approx $65,000 per year to $14,000 per year ... what would be the impact of such huge wage cuts be on the economy? I canjust imagine banks making similar reductions in the outstanding level of loans and required repayments - NOT!!!!
Post by: Terry W4 on June 30, 2013, 06:55:35 PM
Spotted this last night  as The PM went to Parliment house and came back as Ms Gillard.

The security vehicle tailing her and now the recycled  PM in the shot below is a Beemer. These used to be Aussie cars. Prevoiusly an Adventra. Why not Teritorys?

Hands up how many MySwaggers are towing their CTs with Fords or Holdens - thought so.
Post by: Barry G on June 30, 2013, 09:13:13 PM
Hands up how many MySwaggers are towing their CTs with Fords or Holdens - thought so.
2000 Holden Monterey.   ;D
Post by: kylarama on June 30, 2013, 09:15:26 PM

Probably more on here using X5's as a tow car...
Post by: Barry G on June 30, 2013, 09:17:54 PM
Probably more on here using X5's as a tow car...
LOL, sad but possibly true.
Title: Re: Re: I wonder why Aussie business's can't get ahead. FED Govt. use BMW.
Post by: Marschy on June 30, 2013, 09:23:35 PM

FG XR6 is my tug
Post by: Snow on June 30, 2013, 09:58:10 PM
2001 Holden Rodeo.

OK, ok, its an Izuzu, but its got a Holden badge on it.  ;D
Post by: Tim - Stratford on June 30, 2013, 09:58:30 PM
Why do we need to protect our Pollys                            not worth the bullet                        >:D

I thought it was to protect the Protective detail... >:D
Post by: cruisindub on July 01, 2013, 12:10:13 AM

1999 Ford Courier ute.      Not flash and not fast. Not even bullet proof.  But I love it, ..............besides. Its all we can afford.
Post by: speewa158 on July 01, 2013, 07:30:27 AM
Its not what you got its where it gets you that counts . Hook up , Hook in & Hook em Down     :cheers:
Post by: #jonesy on July 01, 2013, 08:34:17 AM
I tow with a Ford.......Ranger built in Thailand
Post by: MDS69 on July 01, 2013, 08:41:46 AM

When was the last Australian built by Holden or Ford 4WD last available - thought so.
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2013, 10:55:54 AM
Quote from: B&B
So the 65% pay cut you were touting as the 'solution' a few posts back is now 80%.
Lets just all imagine average wages dropping from approx $65,000 per year to $14,000 per year ... what would be the impact of such huge wage cuts be on the economy? I canjust imagine banks making similar reductions in the outstanding level of loans and required repayments - NOT!!!!
I said 65% before, and then said 80% as in even if they took 80% over 65% it wouldnt help.

Aussies would never go for it, as they can't see beyond smoko today and the need for a new 100inch TV every 2 years..

If your not competitive in the market place you lose - that is Australia at the moment and the last decade.. Why do you think everything is pissing off to countries that pay $1.00 a week? over our $50-200/hour? Its not cause they like have soup bowl haircuts.

Banks wont give a **** - noting they are one of the biggest "send everything overseas" business out there, Chinese will buy everything that doesnt move - oh thats right they have been for 10 years.
Post by: Barry G on July 01, 2013, 11:08:19 AM
I said 65% before, and then said 80% as in even if they took 80% over 65% it wouldnt help.

Aussies would never go for it, as they can't see beyond smoko today and the need for a new 100inch TV every 2 years..

If your not competitive in the market place you lose - that is Australia at the moment and the last decade.. Why do you think everything is pissing off to countries that pay $1.00 a week? over our $50-200/hour? Its not cause they like have soup bowl haircuts.

Banks wont give a **** - noting they are one of the biggest "send everything overseas" business out there, Chinese will buy everything that doesnt move - oh thats right they have been for 10 years.
That has always been the case with Australia in the world 'marketplace' - which is why we had tarriffs. A combination of a small home market and large freight distances would always make competitiveness difficult, even if all other factors were 'equal', and they will never be unless Australians are prepared to join a race to the bottom on low wages with China / India / Bangladesh, etc.
I agree that the community wouldn't stand for it, primarily because the economy would grind to a halt with a 70 - 80% reduction in income levels. 
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2013, 11:37:26 AM
That has always been the case with Australia in the world 'marketplace' - which is why we had tarriffs. A combination of a small home market and large freight distances would always make competitiveness difficult, even if all other factors were 'equal', and they will never be unless Australians are prepared to join a race to the bottom on low wages with China / India / Bangladesh, etc.
Then expect in 15-20 years to be a wasteland. Its going to be hard one way or the other.

I agree that the community wouldn't stand for it, primarily because the economy would grind to a halt with a 70 - 80% reduction in income levels.
Maybe when there are no jobs here apart from data entry jobs for websites for our chinese overlords people will think "Shit maybe we should have"... hindsight is stunning.. I'm more worried about what will happen when my kids attempt to get work here.. they stand **** all hope. They will just keep going with good old labours 457 visas
Post by: Barry G on July 01, 2013, 11:58:05 AM
Then expect in 15-20 years to be a wasteland. Its going to be hard one way or the other.
Maybe when there are no jobs here apart from data entry jobs for websites for our chinese overlords people will think "**** maybe we should have"... hindsight is stunning.. I'm more worried about what will happen when my kids attempt to get work here.. they stand **** all hope. They will just keep going with good old labours 457 visas
Surely you can't see our kids working for Bangladeshi-like wages as a solution?
There are a number of things I think in hindsight should not have been done.
Among the more recent was the Free Trade Agreement signed with the US by Howard and Costello just prior to the 2004 election. Among other things it sold out our primary industries, while allowing the S to continue to protect theirs.  Also greatly extended the length of copywrite protection, to the benefit of the US.
Many would have seen the 'Button Car Plan' under Hawke as the beginning of the end, however most on here wouldn't be able to afford to drive their Jap 4x4s without it.
Similarly, in relation to de-regulation of the Au$, much of what we purchase and also much of the wage income of many in the mining industry, to cite just one example, would not have eventuated had the Au$ not been floated.
The 'solution' to the extent that there is one, is to extend the concept of fair value wages.  If for no other reason, if the percentage of workers receiving fair wages in secure jobs continues to reduce so will the markets for goods and services, irrespective of the price.
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2013, 12:44:36 PM
Surely you can't see our kids working for Bangladeshi-like wages as a solution?
honestly I can see them really struggling to be working at all - in AU that is. Sorry but business are closing faster than a hookers legs when you say you have no cash. Or just leaving our shores and relocating. And honestly it makes good business sense. Telstra, Banks, insurance companies, Helpdesks, IT jobs, all outsourced.

The unemployment figures released by the Gov are fiction, or at best "seasonally adjusted"... Its like the debt figures given pre-election, all of a sudden they are brilliant, until after the election when they are "oh Shit, we cant afford all those promises".. But everyone knows that.

There surely wont be the amount of high payed jobs there are now.
Post by: Marcus73 on July 01, 2013, 12:53:23 PM
As mentioned we've priced ourselves out of the market greatly due to this mindset of we all deserve the best of everything. I totally agree that the penalty rates are way over the top causing many businesses not to achieve their full potential. Whilst this might be completely wrong, I personally think that one way to help overcome this would be rather than double time etc, make any overtime/ weekend rates tax exempt, therefore making it easier for businesses and giving employees extra also. While yes the government miss out on some tax dollars, they will pick up extra GST etc. I know of many businesses that don't open their doors on weekends due to high running costs.
Just my thoughts

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2013, 12:59:14 PM
Quote from: Marcus73
As mentioned we've priced ourselves out of the market greatly due to this mindset of we all deserve the best of everything. I totally agree that the penalty rates are way over the top causing many businesses not to achieve their full potential. Whilst this might be completely wrong, I personally think that one way to help overcome this would be rather than double time etc, make any overtime/ weekend rates tax exempt, therefore making it easier for businesses and giving employees extra also. While yes the government miss out on some tax dollars, they will pick up extra GST etc. I know of many businesses that don't open their doors on weekends due to high running costs.
Just my thoughts

Also when you can import an item (Air locker) made at Kilsyth (20klms from here) from the USA and save close to 50% something is wrong. People are importing car tyres! Saving **** loads on what they can get them from here. (EG: Muz saving $800 on his BFG Muddys).. nobody at work buys clothes from here anymore, all imported.. shoes from USA - better than 50% off.
Post by: Barry G on July 01, 2013, 01:04:04 PM
Also when you can import an item (Air locker) made at Kilsyth (20klms from here) from the USA and save close to 50% something is wrong. People are importing car tyres! Saving **** loads on what they can get them from here. (EG: Muz saving $800 on his BFG Muddys).. nobody at work buys clothes from here anymore, all imported.. shoes from USA - better than 50% off.
Clearly not an issue in relation to cost of manufacture in this instance, would be interested to know why.
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2013, 02:03:32 PM
Clearly not an issue in relation to cost of manufacture in this instance, would be interested to know why.

Our major stores dont even buy our own produce..Every week farmers are dozing in 100's of acres of produce they cant sell... then when these arsehole scrote companies lie, get massive killer fines of a few bux to teach them a lesson and make sure they never do it again.

http://www.theage.com.au/business/coles-fined-for-helping-australia-grow-with-fruit-from-the-us-and-france-20130701-2p6my.html (http://www.theage.com.au/business/coles-fined-for-helping-australia-grow-with-fruit-from-the-us-and-france-20130701-2p6my.html)
Post by: Swannie on July 01, 2013, 03:23:28 PM
I just started buying produce from aussie farmers direct.. The best fruit I have had in years.

Post by: Bird on July 01, 2013, 03:45:58 PM
Quote from: swannie
I just started buying produce from aussie farmers direct.. The best fruit I have had in years.
on our way home from Blackstump's place, we came across many 'stalls' on the ssidfe of the road, and in servos. same as you found, really good produce
With Coles/Woolies telling farmers to phuq off, Im surprised that the Farmers Federation hasnt stepped and supported having these markets regularly.
I mean something has to be better $$ wise than dozing it into the ground isnt it?
Post by: Swannie on July 01, 2013, 04:10:21 PM
on our way home from Blackstump's place, we came across many 'stalls' on the ssidfe of the road, and in servos. same as you found, really good produce
With Coles/Woolies telling farmers to phuq off, Im surprised that the Farmers Federation hasnt stepped and supported having these markets regularly.
I mean something has to be better $$ wise than dozing it into the ground isnt it?

Yep, I don't have the time for the markets but this seemed a happy medium. I was skeptical at first around cost, but after a few weeks our shopping bills appear similar, not only the fruit, but milk and bread is fresh too.  The biggest benefit is the kids are eating it flat out which before they wouldn't touch it as much. The convenience is great open the front door at 6am on a thursday and its theer fresh
Post by: Bird on July 01, 2013, 04:16:59 PM
Yep, I don't have the time for the markets but this seemed a happy medium. I was skeptical at first around cost, but after a few weeks our shopping bills appear similar, not only the fruit, but milk and bread is fresh too.  The biggest benefit is the kids are eating it flat out which before they wouldn't touch it as much. The convenience is great open the front door at 6am on a thursday and its theer fresh
I have no issue paying good money for good stuff, I just hate paying good much for Shit thats been frozen in a warehouse for 18 months
Post by: Marcus73 on July 01, 2013, 07:36:12 PM
That Aussie Farmers Direct sounds great. Can't wait until Tassie gets it too...... In about 10years no doubt :(

Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!
Post by: johnyd on July 02, 2013, 11:03:36 PM

My nearest rural city (Dubbo) has markets every weekend.  The stuff is often priced similarly to store bought, but I'm much happier paying a farmer that money direct than them getting bugger all and Coles/Woolworths pocketing the difference. 
Post by: Bird on July 03, 2013, 10:05:16 AM
Quote from: johnyd
My nearest rural city (Dubbo) has markets every weekend.  The stuff is often priced similarly to store bought, but I'm much happier paying a farmer that money direct than them getting bugger all and Coles/Woolworths pocketing the difference.
Agree totally.. Although that would be the only bonus of living around Dubbo ;)
Post by: rescue1 on July 04, 2013, 10:12:59 PM
On the subject of armoured vehicles the company the did my suspension modifications [Australian Ultimate Suspension] has a division that builds and export components for specialist armoured vehicleshttps://www.facebook.com/ArmouredVehicleDivision (https://www.facebook.com/ArmouredVehicleDivision)

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-prn1/p480x480/946754_126211300910205_289405376_n.jpg)
Post by: Bird on September 03, 2013, 04:43:22 PM
Just reading this...
Look at the monthly wage... Thats why we will NEVER be competitive again.

Lenovo CEO to share $3 million of bonus with workers

The average annual wage of urban workers at private companies last year was 28,752 yuan ($A5223), the National Bureau of Statistics said in May.
That's equal to about $A436 a month.

Yet the CEO earned
Yang was paid $US14.6 million ($A16.3 million) last year, including a bonus of $US4.2 million ($A4.7 million) and long-term incentive awards of $US8.9 million

http://www.theage.com.au/it-pro/business-it/lenovo-ceo-to-share-3-million-of-bonus-with-workers-20130902-hv1nk.html (http://www.theage.com.au/it-pro/business-it/lenovo-ceo-to-share-3-million-of-bonus-with-workers-20130902-hv1nk.html)
Post by: Black-Pig on September 03, 2013, 05:04:57 PM
Looks like Hockey wont drink local either.
That's a Corona in his hand in this news clip...
http://au.gwn7.yahoo.com/w1/news/a/-/local/18758018/damage-control-for-the-coalition-video/ (http://au.gwn7.yahoo.com/w1/news/a/-/local/18758018/damage-control-for-the-coalition-video/)