General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Alan Loy on June 14, 2013, 09:33:51 AM
I need to buy an "occasional use" chain saw in the next week or so. I'm in Melbourne if that matters.
Are there any good deals around on a decent brand?
If not what's the best of the cheapies?
What sort of work will you be doing? Is it just for camping?
I've got to clean up some trees around the place, after that camping.
I picked up a stihl MS180 with a 16" blade for occasional use.
It's not a true cheapie, but sometimes these days you get what you pay for, plus it's an ideal size for the 4WD/Camper while still having a slightly longer blade.
Pays to ring around a few dealers to see what specials they have especially for end of financial year.
I picked mine up 2 yo in June, and they did another $100 off the already special price as it was floor stock and they were reducing stock down.
I need to buy an "occasional use" chain saw in the next week or so. I'm in Melbourne if that matters.
Are there any good deals around on a decent brand?
If not what's the best of the cheapies?
I don't know if it counts Alan, but my son bought me one at a second hand place, where people sell their unwanted stuff. I think he paid about $150-00 for it but it is a little Husqvarna.
Several threads on buying from USA like tyres saving 100's...
not sure how it will go now with the $$, but certainly worth considering.
Stick with Husky or Stihl
www.arbormaster.com.au/ (http://www.arbormaster.com.au/)? always has plenty to look at.
I just got a little MS 170 stihl. $299 at stihl dealer
As others have said a Little Stihl Ms170 is a great little saw and good for occasional use. The boys down at Ace Saws in Braeside (Stihl dealer) are great give them a call 9580 7346.
Firstly you need to tell us what sized branches you have to cut and cleanup at home etc.
I think it would be better to buy a good secondhand medium sized saw, rather than a baby chainsaw..
Sorry i have 2, one of them i call baby saw.. New they retail for 299.. Husky.. And a big 365 with 20 inch bar for firewood ing and 4wd..
I bought baby saw off a friend who needs to keep his saws new and reliable. As he trims trees for work..
So it only cost me $100. I had to fix a few things but now it starts and runs well..
So my suggestion is a really good second hand husky or stihl. 16 or 18 inch bar, as when u are offroad bigger is better if you can find somewhere to pack it.. You can always stow it with the bar off like i did while travelling around aust..
But tell me what sized logs and branches you have..
I don't think that I have anything bigger than 100 mm to cut. Budget is a real issue so even if something larger is better in the long run the price may be prohibitive
Is the MS 170 likely to last better than 3 cheapies? I understand that it may give me a lot less trouble.
I just got a little MS 170 stihl. $299 at stihl dealer
Yup this is the deal to go for, keep in mind the PPE will cost you about the same as the saw.
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/ms170sp.jpg)
That looks like a great deal but I already have a hand me down case.
Any thoughts on these HUSQVARNA 236 CHAINSAW @ $249
That is a good deal also, these guys are good to deal with http://www.newagearbor.com.au/shop/prod1199.htm (http://www.newagearbor.com.au/shop/prod1199.htm)
Just got back to camp this minute.
Love my Husky 236e
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/06/14/junamave.jpg)
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
And yes
That is the sun out in the Dunolly state forest
Is the "e" version of the 236 much different?
E version has the quick chain thingy, I'd prefer the non E
Yup this is the deal to go for, keep in mind the PPE will cost you about the same as the saw.
(http://blkmav.com/myswag/ms170sp.jpg)
Isnt the cap all the PPE you need?????? ;D
That looks like a great deal but I already have a hand me down case.
Any thoughts on these HUSQVARNA 236 CHAINSAW @ $249
Yes thats the one i call baby saw...
Thats a great price..
Keep in mind that i heard a rumour that the smaller husky is made in china, only a rumour so go buy that one and put it into your hand me down case..
Get a deal on face and ear and head protection..
I use one of of the husky helmets, with face ear protection.. Very handy.. Its saved me several times.
Also with the smaller saw u can sharpen the chain free hand with a file, you don't need fancy chain sharpeners nor do u need to take off the chain..learn how at pickup of ya saw.
I have 2 Sthils, a 390 farmboss for big stuff and an old 08s because i like vintage saws. Recently i got one of thse e cheapo Bunnings Ozito's for $90. I am impressed by it. Nice light weight, cuts and runs well. I use it for clearing dirtbike tracks and might throw it in the 4x4 for camping.
The $299 Stihl mini boss is a great buy, $100 under usual retail. Ok, it's a 12 inch bar, but will do a lot of what you want to do.
For $500 you could get a husky 465 with a 20 inch bar from tree stuff, landed within 10 days by FedEx from the states. A close on $900 saw here.
Have always used Stihl or jonsoreds, which are now a rebranded husky. Great saws, 10 years plus of work with Mace is a big ask.
All that said, brought a Talon with a 12 inch bar at the Glenorchy market last Saturday, and cut a 6by4 trailer load of small firewood up in Deliverance country above New Norfolk on Monday. It will do the job until I bring the Jonsoreds over.
Bar length is the big question. I prefer to use the mini boss as its light and easy to use. If you want a good all round saw go for an 18 inch bar which excludes the mini boss. One you go past 18 inch, they become tiresome to use after 15 minutes work for us old codgers!
Haha...cap turned backwards is good for stopping saw dust heading down the back of you neck ;D
I have a stihl with a 12" bar... chopped down a tree in back yard with a close to 30 inch trunk. No problem Usually have to make three cuts anyway. Good and compact for camping trails and home use. 2 stroke.
Cons...
Can't adjust chain oil flow. Plastic felling spike. fiddly choke start with no manual purge for carby.
Overall...
I love it. Great light arbor saw for many applications. Picked it up 2 years ago for $250 but the case would have been nice. Comes with spare chain and tool kit.
Happy shopping.
I think most of you need to do a chain sawing course..
A chainsaw is the most dangerous tool.
A little bit of safety gear is a must.
Never not use steel caps these days.
Chainsawing helmet is a must when i go help me mate..
But if u guys wanna get hurt, just make sure ya film it and put it on u tube
We are all well educated. There Are a few interesting threads floating around about PPE :)
I don't wish to offend anyone but...
Unfortunately these days some seem to think experience doesn't count for much. I'll read how to do it... :o
best to learn the easy way and get a pro to show you the first time.
Extra ramble...
A set of synthetic chapps are the go these days. They break on impact clogging the saw and stopping the rotating parts almost instantly compared to traditional leather gear which still provides some protection.
A Full face shields is also a good start. A helmet can accommodate you with head protection while holding both your hearing protection and face shield all together.
Don't turn your day out/in into a horror movie.
Chris
Yes they are a few threads on PPE floating around here, I also find drop starting the easiest method :)
Drop start aaaahhhhhrrrrr. :police:
Having said that so do i hahahha.. ;D
But try putting the handle between your legs push the left hand handle down till your arm is locked and then pull start the saw.
Its a little safer than drop starting..
Only do the above two methods if you are really confident andexperienced and the saw has been warmed up.
Otherwise place the saw on the ground with chain lock on and the chain clear of stones etc if yu are starting on un even ground. Place your right foot in the rear handle, push down with your left armand then pull start ..
It takes practice, so practice with the switch off, and get comfortable with a good safe starting method..
I guess you missed the :)
Yes they are a few threads on PPE floating around here, I also find drop starting the easiest method :)
You told me this was the best way d4d...
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/06/15/8azy3ydu.jpg)
Thanks guys, I bought the Husky
Make sure your ambulance subscription is paid up :)
Thanks guys, I bought the Husky
Congrats.. Just becareful putting the chain break on.
Photo??
What else did ubuy with it
Just took my Husky in for service as its been hibernating for a few years ... and was shocked to see brand new ones for $249.
I was told by the salesmen that to compete with the market they have had to drop their prices...the downside is now make them in China... :'( buyer beware... ???
:'( buyer beware... ???
Why? They are made to a standard.
I'm no expert on chainsaws or importing for that matter , just repeating what the subject matter expert stated. However it stands to reason that if you have to cut costs to stay competitive (which is understandable )something's going to be different....
Anyone got one of these... New-Baumr-AG (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/NEW-Baumr-AG-62cc-Commercial-Chainsaw-e-Start-20-Bar-Petrol-Chain-Saw-Pruning-/130925391837?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item1e7bc2efdd)
There are some very average reviews of the Baumr AG on the web. If it was me, I'd keep looking.
That is interesting.
Mate of mine has 3 of them (various sizes) that get used & abused constantly on his farm. They just keep going. He has 3000 acres of mostly cyprus which he is using to renovate his house. He is cutting the trees with the chainsaw and then milling it on site with a portable mill.
His thoughts are that he can buy 3 of them for the price of a Stihl but as yet has not had to.
Might just be lucky.
After a quick look there seems to be just as much good feedback as bad so there you go.
Disclaimer: no affiliation etc. etc. blah blah
Yup bought one on ebay,a stihil knock off ! Had 5 pepercorn trees to cut down after the dse poisened them ,done that and about 6 to 10 ton of wood before the pull start Shit, thirty bucks for a new starter or 150 for a new saw, I,ll go the saw and have a spare bar,motor carby ect, good thing but leaks a bit of oil ,,bar oil if let sitting,so I just make sure I empty it if its left sitting, cutting down the peppercorns woulda cost me a grand to get done , nuff said :cheers: :cheers:
Had it for about 18 months now, Cost me 128 bucks, cut down two trees for a mate, he gave me a few beers. ;D
Cleaned up another mates backyard, 3x 8x6 caged trailer loads to the waste transfer.
A few more beers there for payment ;D
Also cut up a heap of fire wood, Fysh is happy now and that is Priceless ;D
Owes me nothing now :cup:
It does leak oil if you let it sit, oh well just have to judge how much to put in it.
Yup bought one on ebay,a stihil knock off ! Had 5 pepercorn trees to cut down after the dse poisened them ,done that and about 6 to 10 ton of wood before the pull start ****, thirty bucks for a new starter or 150 for a new saw, I,ll go the saw and have a spare bar,motor carby ect, good thing but leaks a bit of oil ,,bar oil if let sitting,so I just make sure I empty it if its left sitting, cutting down the peppercorns woulda cost me a grand to get done , nuff said :cheers: :cheers:
Had it for about 18 months now, Cost me 128 bucks, cut down two trees for a mate, he gave me a few beers. ;D
Cleaned up another mates backyard, 3x 8x6 caged trailer loads to the waste transfer.
A few more beers there for payment ;D
Also cut up a heap of fire wood, Fysh is happy now and that is Priceless ;D
Owes me nothing now :cup:
It does leak oil if you let it sit, oh well just have to judge how much to put in it.
Geez guys lol, I only want to cut wood for the occasional campfire or clear the odd tree off a track...do you think one would do the job. ::) ;D
I run a Stihl 090 after years battling with a Homelite. I like it but it needs a service. Last time it was used was between Bourke and Tibboburra somewhere.
I have to reiterate safety! These are the most dangerous tools you can ever lay hands on! I used one almost every day in 1980 and almost cut my kneecap off in the first week. I did not notice until I cut a few more trees. Lucky it was just a flesh wound. There were also a few close shaves. Sun glinting off the blade heading for my head after kick back, getting flattened by a tree over my legs with the saw outstretched in front of me etc.
I really don't like using them but still do. I reckon you put your life in your own hands every time you pick one up. Always put it on the ground with a foot and a hand on it to start. Never walk round with it running and held in one hand. Watch some safety videos, get someone like me to teach the basic safety things or leave them alone! I have never hurt myself with one since that first week in 980....
Ive had one of these Ozitos for years now for gardening jobs and camping, and have not had a problem with it. For $99 they are the Ducks nuts. :cheers:
I leave my Fire wood duties to my Stihl Farmboss 390 and Woodboss 250
http://www.bunnings.com.au/products_product_ozito-petrol-chainsaw-254cc-305mm-pcs305_P3380608.aspx?search=chaisaw&searchType=any&searchSubType=products (http://www.bunnings.com.au/products_product_ozito-petrol-chainsaw-254cc-305mm-pcs305_P3380608.aspx?search=chaisaw&searchType=any&searchSubType=products)