General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Marcus73 on June 09, 2013, 04:25:11 PM
Hi people's,
I'm trying to work out the best way to get from Sydney ( preferably near airport ) to Orange. Hopefully if all goes according to plan I'll need to make a trip there to pick up a vehicle, but can only seem to get there either late at night or with a very early departure. I'm hoping to be able to be in Orange early - mid arvo. Does anyone know what different bus companies etc do trip there?
Marcus
Sent from the machine that goes..... Bing!
You can catch the train at the airport that will take you into the city, from there NFI.
Marcus, from the Sydney Airport, get the train to Sydney Central. Catch a country train from Central, which will take you out through Parramatta, Penrith, Springwood, Katoomba and stopping at Lithgow. Then catch a bus to Orange. Or check the times for the XPT train leaving Sydney Central to Dubbo, which will stop at Orange.
http://www.countrylink.info/timetables (http://www.countrylink.info/timetables)
Marcus, from the Sydney Airport, get the train to Sydney Central. Catch a country train from Central, which will take you out through Parramatta, Penrith, Springwood, Katoomba and stopping at Lithgow. Then catch a bus to Orange. Or check the times for the XPT train leaving Sydney Central to Dubbo, which will stop at Orange.
http://www.countrylink.info/timetables (http://www.countrylink.info/timetables)
I the city rail train continues onto Bathurst now but only a few times. So then a bus to Orange. An 8am airport train get you to Bathurst by midday then it's an hour plus to orange. Can they pick you up?
Best bet would be to fly into Sydney the night before and stay at the luxurious Formule 1 hotel.
The other option is price hiring a car with a drop off in orange, I hired a Hetrz car the other day. 8am Airport to 8 am at Penrith was $84.
Just checked Hertz, $270 for a day (24hrs)
You can catch the train at the airport that will take you into the city, from there NFI.
Cheers D4D your extremely helpful :)
Thanks guys. Yep I've pretty much gone through those options, but was probably hoping for a little too much. I was hoping to get to Orange from Tas within around half to 3 quarters of a day, so that I'd only need 1 nights accomodation but it looks like I may need 2. As for the guy coming to pick me up I reckon that might be pushing it slightly. Maybe if It was an hours drive yes but not that far. Then again who knows
Cheers D4D your extremely helpful :)
(http://blkmav.com/stuff/satisfaction.jpg)
could fly only 40mins and about $168 http://travel.webjet.com.au/webjettsa/Content/Flight/NewFlightResults/FlightResults.aspx (http://travel.webjet.com.au/webjettsa/Content/Flight/NewFlightResults/FlightResults.aspx)
Marcus., any idea of when you were thinking of doing the trip. As i or maybe someone else maybe tempted to offer a lift if was available when you are thinking. I am 1.5hr from airport by train [any where from 1hr to 3hrs by car with Sydney traffic] and 2hrs to Orange by car from home .
Russ
could fly only 40mins and about $168 http://travel.webjet.com.au/webjettsa/Content/Flight/NewFlightResults/FlightResults.aspx (http://travel.webjet.com.au/webjettsa/Content/Flight/NewFlightResults/FlightResults.aspx)
I'm thinking that this may be a good option. I've just got to get my head around the whole flying in a plane with propellors. I'm bad enough in a jet! ;D
Marcus., any idea of when you were thinking of doing the trip. As i or maybe someone else maybe tempted to offer a lift if was available when you are thinking. I am 1.5hr from airport by train [any where from 1hr to 3hrs by car with Sydney traffic] and 2hrs to Orange by car from home .
Russ
Thanks for the offer and I'll certainly keep that in mind. :cheers:
This company does buses.
http://www.austwidecoaches.com.au/#
The times are a bit ordinary though so I can understand if it doesn't suit.
This company fly into the airport at orange if you want to fly it.
http://www.brindabellaairlines.com.au/
Rex Airlines fly in as well.
Can I ask what you have bought?
This company does buses.
http://www.austwidecoaches.com.au/#
The times are a bit ordinary though so I can understand if it doesn't suit.
This company fly into the airport at orange if you want to fly it.
http://www.brindabellaairlines.com.au/
Rex Airlines fly in as well.
Can I ask what you have bought?
Haven't actually bought anything yet, but I'm looking at a Prado that's there and just doing some forward planning. I'm hoping to do the trip with as little time off work as possible, as the more time off the more the car costs. I'm self employed so the boss is a right prick ;)
Cheers for the info. Flying looks like it could be a winner due to the times they arrive. Still just gotta get my head around this small plane thing :)
1HDT I have replied to your pm but I'm not sure it's gone through to you. If not, thanks and I'll see how it goes.
Prado hey, giving the Rodeo the flick? :)
Yeah it's looking that way. I figured with the last couple of outings and given there's a couple of Nissans, I'd better get something to drag ya's out ;)
Oh dear I can't wait until that comes back to haunt you :P
there is hope for you yet -
If you fly, just remember.....
If the engine coughs and the prop stops, the plane drops. ;D
Ring nagel brothers transport in orange and ask them if there is a truck u can catch a lift with from Sydney
1HDT I have replied to your pm but I'm not sure it's gone through to you. If not, thanks and I'll see how it goes.
Got it. All good.
Mate if you can get dropped of at one of the train stations along the gwh west of linden and are prepared to stuff around a bit with me i can prob get you to bathurst for free. I drive into syd daily from cowra and then back out to at least blayney in my truck. U would have to work around my times though as they vary everyday but usually have a rough idea of where and what time i'll b the night before. If you can work with me i can help if not train and bus ur only option. Also b prepared to duck or jump in bunk cos not supposed to have passengers so will need to hide if another company truck passes. Can only do it weekdays as well.
Marcus ,what model Prado are you looking at,as i am about to list my 120s 1KZ up for sale as i have got a new BT50 on order and will need it sold.
Besides that you should be fine ;D
Mate if you can get dropped of at one of the train stations along the gwh west of linden and are prepared to stuff around a bit with me i can prob get you to bathurst for free. I drive into syd daily from cowra and then back out to at least blayney in my truck. U would have to work around my times though as they vary everyday but usually have a rough idea of where and what time i'll b the night before. If you can work with me i can help if not train and bus ur only option. Also b prepared to duck or jump in bunk cos not supposed to have passengers so will need to hide if another company truck passes. Can only do it weekdays as well.
Thanks for the offer BLKWDW, much appreciated. I think I'll end up flying to Sydney and then to Orange as the times all seem to fit the schedule I'll have.
Marcus
Marcus ,what model Prado are you looking at,as i am about to list my 120s 1KZ up for sale as i have got a new BT50 on order and will need it sold.
I'm looking for a 2006 -2008 more than likely V6 although I'm still not entirely sure. By all means pm me the details of yours because ya never know.
Marcus
Besides that you should be fine ;D
Yeah cheers. It didn't help the first time I did a search on one of the types of planes I'd have to go on and the first picture that came up, were of a crashed one. Yay.... That helped ;)
Thanks for that Jeepers. Next time I'm in your neck of the woods I must remember to burn your house down!
You're a great help ***hole!! :):)
You'll be right thoses turbo props are okay, take it from someone who almost lives in a plane at times.