General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Garfish on June 04, 2013, 06:18:58 AM
Hi All, am off to the game tomorrow in Sydney in the maroon crusade crowd southern end, any one else going
What sort of game are they playing ? Pleae don't think I am ignorant, I just don't know.
Rugby League state of origin match between Qld and NSW.
What sort of game are they playing ? Pleae don't think I am ignorant, I just don't know.
What game are they playing OMG where have you been.......
No seriously its Rugby Leauge Tjupurula, State of Origin is a series of matches that has been played each year since 1980 which is played between QLD and NSW to help selectors pick the Australian rugby leauge side.
Three matches are played each year with the team that wins the majority of these three matches winning the series and fielding the majority of the Aussie side. This series has spawned some fierce (but healthy) rivalry between QLD and NSW since its conception.
BTW QLD have one for the last 7 years in a row and by the time this series is over it will be 8.
Here is a link to Wiki that will explain it better, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/State_of_Origin_series (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/State_of_Origin_series)
Enjoy the match Garfish.......
QUEENSLANDER
What game are they playing OMG where have you been.......
No seriously its Rugby Leauge Tjupurula, State of Origin is a series of matches that has been played each year since 1980 which is played between QLD and NSW to help selectors pick the Australian rugby leauge side.
Three matches are played each year with the team that wins the majority of these three matches winning the series and fielding the majority of the Aussie side. This series has spawned some fierce (but healthy) rivalry between QLD and NSW since its conception.
BTW QLD have one for the last 7 years in a row and by the time this series is over it will be 8.
Here is a link to Wiki that will explain it better, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/State_of_Origin_series (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/State_of_Origin_series)
Enjoy the match Garfish.......
QUEENSLANDER
I have been in hospital, and now back here at home in the desert. I do not own or watch a television, so I am sometimes quite out of knowledge to what is happening on the cities. Sorry for that.
I'm severely battling with the idea of returning to work today (more than usual too) I'll be on bloody nightshift, am shattered to say the least!
I know I'm asking for it, but here it goes,
"CARN THE BLUES"
I have been in hospital, and now back here at home in the desert. I do not own or watch a television, so I am sometimes quite out of knowledge to what is happening on the cities. Sorry for that.
No need to apologise mate I hope you are feeling better, you'll have to see if you can stream the game on your computer.
Oh and dont forget to barrack for QLD :cup:.
QUEENSLANDER
I'm severely battling with the idea of returning to work today (more than usual too) I'll be on bloody nightshift, am shattered to say the least!
I too wil be on nightshift Barrabart, my shift starts a 20:00 right on kick off :'(. Me thinks ill come down a bit early to get the handover out of the way and I cant see myself turning up to the 20:30 toolbox meeting ;D.
QUEENSLANDER
No need to apologise mate I hope you are feeling better, you'll have to see if you can stream the game on your computer.
Oh and dont forget to barrack for QLD :cup:.
QUEENSLANDER
Hi Axl
I have no idea what or how to stream a game on the computer.
Go QUEEENSLAAAAND!
"CARN THE BLUES"
Good luck Rob C and other NSW peoples. This just could be your year to break the drought. I doubt it and i hope not but good luck anyways. ;D
Thanks Muzza
Either way should be entertaining games.
I will be in the Batchy Blues area with my 7yo son. Hopefully this will be his first year of seeing a Blues series victory.
Can't wait Rob. :cup:
I truly believe that NSW payed better than QLD last year but as you know the game is called by "points on the board" and not who plays the better 80 minutes of footy. Sometimes it all comes down to which way the football bounces and i think fortunately last year, the ball bounced better for QLD.
As you said, it certainly will be entertaining.
I will be in the Batchy Blues area with my 7yo son. Hopefully this will be his first year of seeing a Blues series victory.
Don't like ya chances, we've won about 43 years in a row now.
(http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/428783_490661264281935_1111828717_n.jpg)
i'm thinking NSW will put on a good show this year, hopefully not too good though...lol
3-0 to the mighty BLUES this year.. ;D ;D ;D :laugh:
Don't worry Tjupurula I'm from Tassie & can't see what all this fuss is about.
"CARN THE BLUES"
(http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-frc1/428783_490661264281935_1111828717_n.jpg)
i'm thinking NSW will put on a good show this year, hopefully not too good though...lol
Geez they were good times too...............
Can we have it like it used to be ?????
Come on Johnny, come back........PLEASE....
Being new to Australia... where can I learn the rules before tomorrow nights game?
Rules ....what rules ?
Go the Blues !!!
For those who haven't seen a game of origin footy, watch at least the first hand full of hit ups / tackles and you'll see what all the fuss is about. Definately some of the toughest footy on the planet !!!!!!! Cant wait. :cheers:
To say the least, it sure is.
Having worked in Pommy land for long time, they luv the Origin matches there for sure due to how much old fashion grunt and biff the game has, I know some who came to Aus to watch it at the Caldron (Lang Park).
Just wish Roy and HG were still doing the Call.
Is that dill sports betting horse race scandal fella gonna be on the box every 2 mins?
"CARN THE BLUES"
I'm with ya mate
Go the Mighty Maroons
"CARN THE BLUES"
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/thumbs%20up.gif)
Don't worry Tjupurula I'm from Tassie & can't see what all this fuss is about.
It's the atmosphere, the sound, the roaring crowd and of course, METHANOL !!
1992 State Of Origin Wild Bunch (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R5BhDUQdf1A#)
I don't see why people get excited about football though ;D
Shane.
Love the drag racing :cup: Makes the hairs stand up on your back..
Hey Footy Shorts Shane....
I was runner up to John Payne at the May 98 wild bunch meeting. :cheers:
JC do you still keep up with the drags, I used to crew on a super charged outlaw number sc/o 2012
The hearse.
Havnt been to a meet since the mid 90's, Willowbank and the Wild bunch was always a good day..What car did you run Jeepers ..
:police:
The last four posts are OFF TOPIC
Moderators please deal with this Rabble. 8)
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/roflmao.gif)
JC do you still keep up with the drags, I used to crew on a super charged outlaw number sc/o 2012
The hearse.
That would be Michael Kings Commodore hearse which ended up with the Greentree Funeral folks.
At least, i'm thinking that, its the only hearse i can remember ever running in Doorslammer or Outlaws.
I ran in Supercharged Outlaws when it first kicked off as Top Comp at Willowbank in a blown 34 Ford, 3 window coupe.
Haven't been to the drags in a while now, but i still keep an eye on it all.
The Winters kick off in a few days too.
Loser....... ;D ;D ;D
I got nothin.....
CYCLONE MAROON ABOUT TO HIT SYDENEY!!! Within the hour.
Havnt been to a meet since the mid 90's, Willowbank and the Wild bunch was always a good day..What car did you run Jeepers ..
Early 90's, a Datsun 1200 street car with a nitrous 302. 10:61 @ 130 mph. (My own car)
Mid 90's, a 1934 Ford coupe, 7:60 @ 174 mph. (Drove for another bloke)
Late 90's, 1937 Fiat Topilino, 7:43 @ 180 mph. (same owner as the Ford)
Anyway, we better get back on topic before Hairs tells on me to the mods. :D
QUEENSLANDER = :cup:
Should be a good one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
GO QUEENSLAND :cup: , like there gunna need words of encouragement
Get over yourselves ,,, Who Care ??? Get a life :-*
2 teams of nonecks punck=hing each other out
Spare Me :cheers:
Go the Mighty Maroons
X10
X1
Don't like it, don't read it. Pretty simple.......;-)
I think I see you. Are you wearing a blue wig? ;D
The Blues are the better side at the half. Well done NSW.
Sad that Gallen has to prove what a low life grub (and sook) he is though.
The Blues are the better side at the half. Well done NSW.
Sad that Gallen has to prove what a low life grub (and sook) he is though.
Agree, NSW better first half but why didn't Gallon get 10 in the bin......
Gallen is a grub........
Bring on the second half 8)
Lets remember its the best of 3 games. NSW occasionally do win a game...
Sent from Behind you...BOO
Thank glen for pointing that out.. ;D
Now I'll get to see NSW win two more.. ;D
Good win to the boys in the Blue corner. Lets see if they can back it up ;D
Lost >:( but still way better than watching my local aerial pinpong (afl )
Well done NSW, where the hungrier team and showed in the first half. Deserved the win but still think Gallen deserved 10mins in the bin....He's a grub through and through........
I totally agree with gallen, needed 10 in the bin..
why didn't Gallon get 10 in the bin......
Yep, It's got me stuffed. ???
And I'm a NSWelshman.
It's set a precedence.
Gallen definitely should have been sent for 10. If it was any other Nrl game he would have. My boy plays u9s and there are no send offs in this age group but the ref gave a boy 10 a few weeks ago for throwing a punch.
Either bring back the biff or be consistent...
Sent from Behind you...BOO
Glad I got to see it. Iam in Tokyo at present and couldn't find the game anywhere. Ended up watching it streaming through my iPhone during dinner and iPad afterwards. God bless hi speed Internet.
As always a few suss decisions, don't the refs care about forward passes now?. Agreed Gallon is a grub and didnt get what he deserved, but he made a valid point. Myles hit on Haynes was head down first and it's not the first time his used that Frankenstein forehead of his.
One things is for sure Blues may not of won many series lately but between Gallon tonight and the hit a few years ago on Price, NSW throw the better punches!
better punches?? miles didnt been flinch.
and yes he should have been sent for 10, it didn't win or lose the game. the blues just played better.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
and yes he should have been sent for 10, it didn't win or lose the game. the blues just played better.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
X3
Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk 2
Left jab head goes back, right hook head goes side ways and then Falls down forward into Gallen. All without miles lifting a finger in defence. Don't know what you think a flinch is?
Bang! Bang!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGv61fayADA&feature=youtube_gdata_player (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AGv61fayADA&feature=youtube_gdata_player)
JB
and true to form, Gallen has a whinge to the ref about what someone else did way back when ever......
That must be the first time I have seen the biased NSW commentators say one of theirs should be off.
I think there'll be plenty of biff next round.
Fair dinkum guys, They're all grubs.
Brett Tate last year eye gouged, blind side Bird and he's not angel either, and now a couple of minutes into the game he attacks the head of a player and slater congrats him.
But, qlders will defend this by saying 'Oh look over that at what gallen did'
http://youtu.be/3eHgTxm_k8o (http://youtu.be/3eHgTxm_k8o)
Did you know Wild Bunch is back? Sydney only at this point.
Anyhow, to keep this thread boring and about football.... http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30349.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=30349.0)
Shane.
and true to form, Gallen has a whinge to the ref about what someone else did way back when ever......
That must be the first time I have seen the biased NSW commentators say one of theirs should be off.
I think there'll be plenty of biff next round.
Congrats to NSW. They were the better side last night. :cheers:
I don't have any major problems with what Gallen did, it is State of Origin, Biff happens. Do the crime, do the time.
I do think using an excuse of what someone did to him in State of origin games in the past is a childish excuse for why he reacted. Seriously Gallen; grab a box of tissues and get over it. Either way he will get minimal punishment and I am quite confident the punishment wont be severe enough to stop him from playing the next State of origin game. :police:
All this crap about NRL being a professional sport with professional players is utter BS. While ever people try to make excuses to allow Gallon's behaviour, you are destroying the nature of the game. The game is Rugby League, not boxing. (of which if that is the best he has he is hopeless)
Make the game professional like other codes and eject the player throwing punches from the field immediately and let the judiciary place an appropriate penalty.
Hey Al,
I don't have a problem with what you're saying, you are right.
The problem where I see it is, is they face the judiciary and then take an early plea and get a lighter suspension or penalty.
So it can be manipulated, the out come that is.
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/confused.gif)
Tate didn't knock the ball on in first ten minutes of the game. Refs got it wrong and Blues scored from that set of six. Apart from that Blues played better on the night. Thurston was off his game though.
To be honest the whole Judiciary is a joke as well as the NRL board. How can the NRL be considered a National sport when they themselves maintain a NSW priority (NO not to win State of Origin), they want to maintain a NSW power base in the game, not freely distribute the game Nation wide.
The AFL and Rugby are doing a better job but Soccer is taking over big time and NRL will be the poorer cousin of the codes.
Tate didn't knock the ball on in first ten minutes of the game. Refs got it wrong
They got it right, the ball made contact with his hand. ;D
LOL, And the Touchie should go to Specsavers.
On the Line is OUT. :cheers:
It's was unlike Myles, to just stand there and let him land a couple.
???
The ref had full view of it too ???
(http://resources1.news.com.au/images/2013/06/05/1226658/107413-gallen.gif)
It's was unlike Myles, to just stand there and let him land a couple.
???
The ref had full view of too.
That's why the jab is used. If you look closely when Myles head comes back his eyes are closed. He didnt know that cross was coming.
Alfie got a good view too
All this crap about NRL being a professional sport with professional players is utter BS. While ever people try to make excuses to allow Gallon's behaviour, you are destroying the nature of the game. The game is Rugby League, not boxing. (of which if that is the best he has he is hopeless)
Make the game professional like other codes and eject the player throwing punches from the field immediately and let the judiciary place an appropriate penalty.
Rubbish. Fights have always been part of Rugby League... even in the 60/70's, so its nothing new and is the reason most people go to origin games.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0eH7-pkatTM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0eH7-pkatTM)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TecOGR_1hoU (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TecOGR_1hoU)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mzH1BQ2P-E (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6mzH1BQ2P-E)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIS2SP1TuIg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mIS2SP1TuIg)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVv4cZdW3YM (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HVv4cZdW3YM)
It should have knocked him out, but didn't - in fact miles' massive melon didn't even have a scratch. Gallen has fought semi professionally in the ring and has been trained by professional trainers at Kostya Tszyu's gym in sydney for over 5 years.
Elephant man Gallen is a grub, he's been done for eye gouging, attacking bandaged sections of opponents, twisting knees etc then cries to ref.
Not a good message to send to kids when on the other hand they have 'Just one punch' advertisements about the dangers of king hitting someone and he doesn't even get sent.
Origin II will have some payback now they know there are no repercussions to their actions.
Getting away from Origin but still with Gallen, I thought he was a grub for years but then he seemed to clean up his image and the media and legends of the game reported the same. I took the family to the EELS v Sharks match at Parramatta Stadium earlier this year and thought he was a grub again by his actions on the field.
However I loved his efforts in the game last night especially against Miles. >:D
It should have knocked him out, but didn't - in fact miles' massive melon didn't even have a scratch. Gallen has fought semi professionally in the ring and has been trained by professional trainers at Kostya Tszyu's gym in sydney for over 5 years.
Elephant man Gallen is a grub, he's been done for eye gouging, attacking bandaged sections of opponents, twisting knees etc then cries to ref.
Not a good message to send to kids when on the other hand they have 'Just one punch' advertisements about the dangers of king hitting someone and he doesn't even get sent.
Origin II will have some payback now they know there are no repercussions to their actions.
Thought he had to have had training from his stance and actions, this should have worked against him as well.
He may not of scratched Miles but it would of hurt, they always do. As above his eyes went out and if you look at the full footage near the end Miles is holding/rubbing his jaw. Or maybe he was thinking "should I sh1t here or in the Hotel foyer" there's many ways to be a "grub"
[/quote]
right or wrong that was nothing like a king hit.
Hes going to miss 1 match
Gallon takes early plea and get 2match ban
right or wrong that was nothing like a king hit.
A semi professional boxer hits you when your guard is down. What would you call it, a jab then king hit.
He may not of scratched Miles but it would of hurt, they always do. As above his eyes went out and if you look at the full footage near the end Miles is holding/rubbing his jaw. Or maybe he was thinking "should I sh1t here or in the Hotel foyer" there's many ways to be a "grub"
There sure is, like gallens previous for eye gouging, attacking the bandaged face of opponents etc etc. Now he's a hero for cheap shots and swinging arms.
It's simply called pay back
there's many ways to be a "grub"
lets see,
There has been a few accusations of gang rapes, Glassing s, Admitting they played while as high as a kite, Eye Gouging and Biting on the field over the years, The list goes on.
>:D
There sure is, like gallens previous for eye gouging,
And Brett Tate does this and it is as if it never happened, why's that ???
Oh BTW I'm not condoning what gallen did either.
Brent tate? He'd be hard pressed to punch the skin off a rice custard, with no training.
Gallen is virtually a semi-pro fighter having fought before in the ring. Big difference. If he was to punch someone, he could have at least bashed thaiday :D
thaiday :D
Mr Third man In (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/piss_myself_laughing.gif)
But eye gouging wasnt an allegation - he got suspended for eye gouging nathan cayless the game after coming back from being suspended for four weeks for raking players wounds
Mr Third man In (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/piss_myself_laughing.gif)
Yep, he needs a good belting.
Tate has never been pulled up for eye gouging either.
I still don't get how players think they can get away with this when there are soo many cameras on them these days.
Bit different when I was out side Prop and if the touchie didn't see it and the ref was on the other side of the scum to me, it didn't happen :angel:
Tate has never been pulled up for eye gouging either.
I still don't get how players think they can get away with this when there are soo many cameras on them these days.
Bit different when I was out side Prop and if the touchie didn't see it and the ref was on the other side of the scum to me, it didn't happen :angel:
Yep. I've done worse, and had worse done to me. But it was all in the spirit of the game!
Farkin'ell, am i missing something here, don't see what the shock horror of it all is........ It's State of Origin, punch on fellas i reckon!!!!! :cheers:
I hope Gallen plays next game, looking forward to a sportsman like good old fashion toe to toe square up! ;D
Love it!!
Unlucky QLD. Next round at home better bring the goods. Best of luck with your baby on the way Thurston. :cheers:
I can't believe Myles didn't get sent off for head butting Gallen's fist, not just once but twice. ;D ;D
When I played high school footy, we had to sneakily punch our own prop in the head during the scrum to fire him up as he was a pretty quiet fella.
It used to be funny hearing him winge " I get punched in the head during the scrum nearly every game, sometimes more than once er game"
Great game ..... go the blues .
I think we will loose game 2 but will win game 3 if we can keep the same side as they will step up quite a few gears .
I think the interesting thing with all this is that not ten minutes before the Gallen incident the origin king Wally Lewis during the ch9 commentry was calling on the Qld team to turn the biff on to unsettle the Blues and take control of the game,now post match Every body is whining but if it was Myles doing a simlar thing to Gallen then Qlders would be cheering and as Wally was promoting it would have been a master stroke.
As to it being the reason why the game is in some sort of demise as it is run from NSW by the NRL ,i think we maybe missing one important reason why kids are turning away and going to AFL or soccer in Sydney Western suburbs, it has a lot to do with the size of the kids running around from our Pacific Island Neighbours and dominating the smaller kids who in years gone by developed/grew later in their teens and became good footballers,but now they along with their parents who make decisions for these kids leave the sport to take up other codes. The larger kids then continue to play but loose their way as the reach their early 20s. It is an issue that both the Penrith and Parramatta football clubs along with the NRL are trying to address,with one option being considered is introducing a weight/size division rather than the now age grading system. Please don't take this as some sort of racist comment but rather a comment on a real problem with junior league.
This is a hot topic in a lot of areas at the moment...even my 12 year old nephew who was playing in a Riverina side in Sydney this week came across this issue. The reintroduction of weight instead of age teams needs to be looked at , and soon !
Sent from my GT-N8010 using Tapatalk 2
Isn't it strange..
NSW loses the fight, Qld are all wahhhhhhhhhhhh hes a grub, and been one for years blah blah blah and Qld people say suck it up
Qld loses the fight, NSW are all wahhhhhhhhhhhh hes a grub and been one for years blah blah blah and NSW people say suck it up
Im waiting for someone to say "I got ya last"..
All I can say is GO THE BLUES
Redrocker
By the color of you camper there Redrocker I believe you are secretly backing the Maroons. ;D
Was a great night. The 2nd game always has better atmosphere, better team won on the night, Qld needs some size.