General => General Discussion => Topic started by: wholehog on May 29, 2013, 06:06:25 PM

Title: opinions on different oilskin coats
Post by: wholehog on May 29, 2013, 06:06:25 PM
Time has come to replace the ol'faithful drizabone....
Looking around i see there are tons of different brands available..
Drizabone,Burke & Wills,Kakadu,Aussie Coat Company,Aussie Outback Wear, etc ,etc etc,
What are peoples experiences with these and any other brands available...as far a price ,fit ,some come fur lined etc etc
Title: Re: opinions on different oilskin coats
Post by: weso on May 29, 2013, 06:11:19 PM
tried and true Drizabone
Post by: Hairs on May 29, 2013, 06:14:55 PM
Time has come to replace the ol'faithful drizabone....
Geez, how ya wear it out  ???
Ours(Fysh & myself) are 20+ years old and still going strong.
regularly oiled  ;D
Post by: KingBilly on May 29, 2013, 06:29:10 PM
Yeah, agree with Hairs.  Mine is still going strong after, let me think, 25 plus years.  Buy another Drizabone  :cup:

Post by: Tjupurula on May 29, 2013, 06:31:38 PM
Hi Guys
I have two driza bones, a full length and a vest jacket.  I have no knowledge of the "oiling" so can someone please put me in the picture.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on May 29, 2013, 06:44:55 PM
I think from memory my long one now about 3/4 (got it early teens) is a mountain mac brand not certain would have to look and it does need re-oiling. I have a shorter one say waist length that is an RM Williams one it is fantastic if you want to be able to move a bit more and has a good amount of pockets if needed I picked that one up on sale for $100 which for the brand is not bad.  I would still love a vest and think if $$$ permits to getting one would get one with the removable sheepskin liner. 

As far as oiling it goes I have purchased the tin of oil which says it can do this type of material this particular one is called oilskin reproofer made by drizabone but there would be others on the market as well. 
Post by: Woodsie on May 29, 2013, 06:59:51 PM
Love my 3/4 driza bone :cup:
Post by: gowalkabout on May 29, 2013, 07:33:22 PM
As I deal in the Burke & wills stuff I will tell you the reason I chose to sell there products. it was all down to a call I made to them and the fact the owner was there to answer my questions and the fact that their after sales service would have to be among some of the best I have ever come across. Their products are australian made (they do have a new small range made in png) and their quality control is fantastic. I'm sure some other brands are just as good and this is only my experience.
Post by: markg66 on May 29, 2013, 07:38:26 PM
Drizabone for me 10+ years on this one, let the last one stay wet in a bag that was forgotten after unpacking.
Post by: WilSurf on May 29, 2013, 07:44:53 PM
Where is the best place to buy one in Perth?
Post by: D4D on May 29, 2013, 07:47:36 PM
Gore-Tex is the go :)
Post by: Hairs on May 29, 2013, 07:52:48 PM
Hi Guys
I have no knowledge of the "oiling" so can someone please put me in the picture.

How to care for your Driza-bone Jacket  (http://www.countrysmart.com.au/?p=182)
I used(which I have run out of and can't remember the darn name of  :-[ ) an oil that needed to be rubbed into the fabric, came in a tin.
Hope this is of some help to you.
Post by: Woodsie on May 29, 2013, 08:14:06 PM
Where is the best place to buy one in Perth?

http://www.europasaddlery.com/L175/oilskins/ (http://www.europasaddlery.com/L175/oilskins/)
http://www.horseland.com.au/horse-riding/clothing-jodhpurs-riding-clothes/horse-riding-clothing-horse-riding-jackets-vests-casual-tops-belts-hats-jeans-scarves-socks-sleepwear-underwear/where/limit/all.html (http://www.horseland.com.au/horse-riding/clothing-jodhpurs-riding-clothes/horse-riding-clothing-horse-riding-jackets-vests-casual-tops-belts-hats-jeans-scarves-socks-sleepwear-underwear/where/limit/all.html)
Post by: MrCruza on May 29, 2013, 08:15:09 PM
Gore-Tex is the go :)

x2  :)
Title: opinions on different oilskin coats
Post by: Socks on May 29, 2013, 08:23:44 PM
How to care for your Driza-bone Jacket  (http://www.countrysmart.com.au/?p=182)
I used(which I have run out of and can't remember the darn name of  :-[ ) an oil that needed to be rubbed into the fabric, came in a tin.
Hope this is of some help to you.

I bought thus on the weekend. I'm guessing it may be the product you're talking about

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/05/29/syzytuhu.jpg)
Post by: Hairs on May 29, 2013, 09:06:27 PM
G'day Socks,
Something similar, we also used it on horse saddles and other leather bits.
Post by: carinya on May 29, 2013, 09:08:07 PM
Claybourn coats are as good as Driza bones, if not better for the few I have seen.  Thyat being said there are probably some good alternatives that are lighter and easier to care for if you are not on a horse all day.  That's what they were made for with long flaps, leg straps and butterfly in the behind to fit over a saddle.  Good luck.
Post by: muzza01 on May 29, 2013, 09:38:55 PM
Was it called dubbin?

Post by: Nick74 on May 29, 2013, 09:48:52 PM
If you are after a cheapie Aussie Disposals have them on sale now for $49................google it!
Post by: bussoboy on May 29, 2013, 09:53:24 PM
both the better 1/2 and myself have just bought Bendigo oil skins, mines full length and her's is just a regular jacket, love the fact they aren't as heavy as my old Burke & Wills 3/4 length

but come a cold winters night i'll be wearing the manky, stained and smelly old B&W providing it's not raining
Post by: noel_w on May 29, 2013, 10:06:38 PM
Rode my old bikes for many years wearing a Barbour jacket until it was just about worn out. Slipped down the road a couple of times with no major issues. After I moved in with SWMBO it was not allowed into the house and was labelled "that dirty stinking thing". Lucky I loved her enough and I bought another one though it was a Belstaff for the next one.
Post biking days saw me with a 3/4 Drizabone I bought from the 2nds outlet at the factory in Beenleigh many moons ago. It was a second as it was dark blue and they didn't sell well so lucky me got it for a song.
Still in perfect condition. Best thing I ever bought I reckon.
Post by: Bird on May 30, 2013, 11:23:57 AM
My dryasabone is probably still in top condition, 6 odd years old, some vagin.... stole mine from my camp years ago.

I'll get round to replacing it one day

PS. prices on dryasabone website are **** loads more than many of their stockists.

http://www.pacemakercoats.com.au/ (http://www.pacemakercoats.com.au/)
these dont look bad
Post by: wholehog on May 30, 2013, 04:45:29 PM
Tossing up between another drizabone, a 3/4..the old one(full length) got a lot of use in the old "bikin" days.....
The other option that i like is these http://www.aussieoutbackwear.com.au (http://www.aussieoutbackwear.com.au) look pretty good on there web site anyway..
Post by: Ay-J on May 30, 2013, 09:59:18 PM
i picked up a full length drizabone at the sydney show drizabone shop for $99 , it was a discontinued model..... bargin!!!
Post by: sschmez on June 01, 2013, 06:58:34 PM
I bought my Drizabone at "Gippsland and Northern" stock agents (if anyone remembers that name)
in Leongatha when I was 16yo. Was too big for me then and must've shrunk (not) coz it's almost too small for me now. 28 yo, in need of re-oiling and still warm and dry.
Get the right stuff  (http://www.drizabone.com.au/store/category/oilskin-care/) from Drizabone for reoiling or get them to do it (http://www.drizabone.com.au/faq/)

Stevo
Post by: GUEY on June 01, 2013, 07:35:56 PM
How warm are these coats and what's the go with the smell. Been wanting to get one for years but my missus reckons they stink.
Post by: Bird on June 02, 2013, 10:02:30 AM
How warm are these coats and what's the go with the smell. Been wanting to get one for years but my missus reckons they stink.
Theres barely any smell to them at all unless you've been riding a sweaty horse or left it wet in the shed.
Post by: Jason B on June 02, 2013, 10:20:20 AM

Mate they do stink. Mine is a full length drizabone and it has an odour to it. I haven't used mine much and it is always hung up on a hook. It just has a musty oily smell to it. My missus says the same thing and it has had it from new.

She has a Thomas Cook one that doesn't smell as much.

As others have stated gore tex it the go if you want to be completely waterproof without the weight of the drizabone. I have two gore tex jackets and invariably grab these over the oil skin every time. My mountain designs one allows a  polartec jacket to zip into it. Much warmer also.

Post by: Bird on June 02, 2013, 12:34:18 PM
glad you asked? LMAO
Post by: Tjupurula on June 02, 2013, 12:42:36 PM
Theres barely any smell to them at all unless you've been riding a sweaty horse or left it wet in the shed.

I have ridden many horses during musters and the like Lost, and it has never affected the Driza Bone that much, and believe me, the horses have been sweating sometimes.  Cattle in the yards, when in with them do mke it smell, but that was because the cattle applied some of their "polish" on me.
Post by: Nay-DMAX on June 02, 2013, 01:11:21 PM

I guess warmth wise it depends on what the inside of them is but I think they are good with wind and rain.  I think they smell ok and I have ridden horses in mine.  I have always store mine rolled up as I have heard it is better for keeping the oil good longer.
Post by: Bird on May 10, 2016, 11:09:49 PM
So what brands are people buyin these days???

Whats good quality at not drizabone prices :D

Also like the look of these
(http://thumbs4.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/pict/171788071803_1.jpg)
http://www.aussieoutbackwear.com.au/product/8H05 (http://www.aussieoutbackwear.com.au/product/8H05)
Post by: Hoyks on May 11, 2016, 09:46:22 AM
I have 2 full length coats. One a Drizabone that I got when I was 16 to go to Ag-Quip...It always rains at Ag-Quip. The other is a Mountain Mac by Windsor Riding Apparel that I inherited from my Dad after he sold the farm.

So, one is 30 years old and the other around 20, but they both still work fine when it rains (doesn't rain enough here  :-[ ), they have been re-coated once in that time. They are an oilskin coat, so are greasy and for that reason I wouldn't get a a jacket or a vest. If I had one of those I'd be tempted to wear it in the vehicle and leave greasy marks on the cloth seats.

Do they smell? Yes, it is a musty sort of smell, I don't find it unpleasant by any stretch. Even when they have been hung up for weeks in a well ventilated space, they still smell a bit musty. Dads was always folded up in a plastic bag in the farm ute, it didn't smell up the cab as the bag seemed to contain it well enough.

Are they warm? Yes, sort of. They are wind proof and some come with a thick liner, some with wool liners. Mine are cotton, so not too bulky.
Get one that is over sized though, this way you can wear something warm under it and rely on the outer shell to keep the wind out, so you need a bit of room for layers and to still be able to move. I prefer to get one that is longer in the arms too, that way if you have a jumper with long sleeves the coat arms are still longer and it stops the cuffs getting wet and it wicking up your arms.

For re-waterproofing your gear, there are tins of stuff you can buy. I used the genuine Drizabone stuff as my coat started leaking like a sieve after wearing it on a hike where it rained for 4 days straight. 1/2 a tin was enough to do a heavy coating to the whole thing. There are other products available now that are basically the same.
For a better price, avoid the camping stores and go to a rural supplies store or a saddlery, but sometimes it isn't worth the running around.

(http://store.drizabone.com.au/assets/alt_10/DBGD-T-N-A.jpg)
Post by: Bird on May 11, 2016, 12:34:36 PM
I have 2 full length coats. One a Drizabone that I got when I was 16 to go to Ag-Quip...It always rains at Ag-Quip. The other is a Mountain Mac by Windsor Riding Apparel that I inherited from my Dad after he sold the farm.

So, one is 30 years old and the other around 20, but they both still work fine when it rains (doesn't rain enough here  :-[ ), they have been re-coated once in that time. They are an oilskin coat, so are greasy and for that reason I wouldn't get a a jacket or a vest. If I had one of those I'd be tempted to wear it in the vehicle and leave greasy marks on the cloth seats.

Do they smell? Yes, it is a musty sort of smell, I don't find it unpleasant by any stretch. Even when they have been hung up for weeks in a well ventilated space, they still smell a bit musty. Dads was always folded up in a plastic bag in the farm ute, it didn't smell up the cab as the bag seemed to contain it well enough.

Are they warm? Yes, sort of. They are wind proof and some come with a thick liner, some with wool liners. Mine are cotton, so not too bulky.
Get one that is over sized though, this way you can wear something warm under it and rely on the outer shell to keep the wind out, so you need a bit of room for layers and to still be able to move. I prefer to get one that is longer in the arms too, that way if you have a jumper with long sleeves the coat arms are still longer and it stops the cuffs getting wet and it wicking up your arms.

For re-waterproofing your gear, there are tins of stuff you can buy. I used the genuine Drizabone stuff as my coat started leaking like a sieve after wearing it on a hike where it rained for 4 days straight. 1/2 a tin was enough to do a heavy coating to the whole thing. There are other products available now that are basically the same.
For a better price, avoid the camping stores and go to a rural supplies store or a saddlery, but sometimes it isn't worth the running around.

(http://store.drizabone.com.au/assets/alt_10/DBGD-T-N-A.jpg)
Great info  :cup:
Post by: Bird on May 11, 2016, 06:53:13 PM
Quote from: The Almighty
Also like the look of these
(http://thumbs4.ebaystatic.com/d/l225/pict/171788071803_1.jpg)

Well bought one today at the BP servo on eastlink $25 :D  its almost too hot in this weather.. Will be ****in awesome for Knockwood... :D :D :D :D
Post by: Alan Loy on May 11, 2016, 07:49:53 PM
Given your new avatar have you "stopped the negative vibes, man" ??
Post by: Bird on May 11, 2016, 07:51:32 PM
Given your new avatar have you "stopped the negative vibes, man" ??
:cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: Classic movie!!!
(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/90/9b/55/909b5599394a390796e07c0fab54092f.jpg)

(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/df/da/0e/dfda0ef83785e0b764152dc7a6ce2ab9.jpg)

(https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/736x/07/5d/31/075d314d8cf08d784c4113c6bc3b6c68.jpg)