General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Vk3bq on May 24, 2013, 06:50:22 PM
Name the last 5 things (not food stuff/food or drink) that you purchased that were made in Australia. Go!
Holden commodore
Kimberley kamper
Nathan Box trailer
Titan Carport
Absco garden shed
Sent from Behind you...BOO
I can only name one.
My wife, and i think ill be paying her off for a while. ;D ;D ;D
Hills hoist cloths line
Victa law mower
Bonds undies
Acubra hats
Dryza bone jackets
Hills hoist cloths line
Victa law mower
Bonds undies
Acubra hats
Dryza bone jackets
Bonds are made overseas now
Sent from Behind you...BOO
Superior campers camper (Western Aus)
hand made baby clothes
Various tools for the workshop
snowboard
Rear drawers for the patrol
wow that was actually harder than I thought......
Evo
Now go back and check the labels to see where they are made, i think you will all be supprised
BHG
Trackabout Camper Trailer
Drifta DPOR Package
Drizabone 3/4 Jacket (thats now very proudly owned by a PNG Highland man.)
Bedourie Camp Oven.
Locally made Scrapbook/Craft frames.
Yep it's not easy, and thats a shame................
I actually had to check, that's what concerned me.
Evo
xxxx gold, bundy rum, Beenleigh rum, My home bru bourbon, and that vb Shit.
Autosafe cargo barrier
Outback drawers
Aarons Outdoors cubby house
McMillan air compressor
Bailey ladder
Spear
Boomerang
Nulla Nulla
Coolamon (Carrying dish)
Woomera (Spear thrower)
Oh, hang on, didn't buy the, but they were made here, by me.
Spear
Boomerang
Nulla Nulla
Coolamon (Carrying dish)
Woomera (Spear thrower)
Would love to see some photos mate, I worked with a couple of guys who were based over in the Pilbara and they were getting some amazing distance and accuracy using a woomera.
Evo
Now go back and check the labels to see where they are made, i think you will all be supprised
BHG
Sorry BHG, no labels, but they were definitely made here, from Mulga trees and rosewood.
Spear
Boomerang
Nulla Nulla
Coolamon (Carrying dish)
Woomera (Spear thrower)
:cup: :cup: he wins
It's very hard.
Bailey ladder. Blundstone boots (Tassie ones) my outback camper trailer (in seaford), my Codan Hf radio (in Adelaide) and my fridge. Electrolux. Made in orange NSW. But it's hard!!
Spear
Boomerang
Nulla Nulla
Coolamon (Carrying dish)
Woomera (Spear thrower)
You win..... :cup:
Spear
Boomerang
Nulla Nulla
Coolamon (Carrying dish)
Woomera (Spear thrower)
now go back and see what tools you used to make them..lol.
It's almost imposible in this day and age to avoid imports....
AS a friend said to me the other day.....Australia is just a big Quary and wharehouse these days.... and the sad thing is ..it's true
BHG
All Saints Cab Save and Durif
Joker the Cocker Spaniel
RM Williams boots
All of our 76 roses
All of my sister's free range eggs that we get.
now go back and see what tools you used to make them..lol.
It's almost imposible in this day and age to avoid imports....
AS a friend said to me the other day.....Australia is just a big Quary and wharehouse these days.... and the sad thing is ..it's true
BHG
We use sharpened shale, which we sharpen on rocks. Items used for ceremonial reasons have to be made properly.
Goodness, we are ignorant desert blacks not supporting Australian Import Export.
(not food stuff/food or drink)
That would be a struggle in it's own.
Anyone tried to buy Australian made toothpaste?
I had to do the shopping the other day and master 16 and a good laugh at my frustration trying to find some.
Chinese, South African, New Zealand, Thailand, English...... no Australian made, in a fairly large Safeway.
Peter
Pavlova
Russell Crowe
Pharlap
Split Ends
....oh, wait a minute.... :)
We use sharpened shale, which we sharpen on rocks. Items used for ceremonial reasons have to be made properly.
Goodness, we are ignorant desert blacks not supporting Australian Import Export.
I was waiting for you to add the last 20 generations....
Anyone tried to buy Australian made toothpaste?
I had to do the shopping the other day and master 16 and a good laugh at my frustration trying to find some.
Chinese, South African, New Zealand, Thailand, English...... no Australian made, in a fairly large Safeway.
Peter
cedal toothpaste is made here
I had to do the shopping the other day.
Welcome to my world.
I've been doing this for over 8 years now(I'm the ugliest house Bitch you will ever lay eyes on :) ), trying to buy Aussie produced/made/grown and it's a struggle if not impossible at times.
Our local Woolworths and Coles have come up with every excuse not to carry this magazine, AUSBUY (http://www.ausbuy.com.au/) WHY? Hmmm
What I find disturbing is, a car manufacturer decides to close their doors in a few years time, yet Primary producers, manufactures and good businesses have been closing their doors for years and the knock on effect from this has had far more reaching implications over a longer term, but this is news worthy because we have an election in a couple of months.
I'll jump off my Soap box,
So something might be
made assembled in Australia. How much of its content (parts/materials) is Australian made/sourced?
Welcome to my world.
I've been doing this for over 8 years now(I'm the ugliest house Bitch you will ever lay eyes on :) ), trying to buy Aussie produced/made/grown and it's a struggle if not impossible at times.
Our local Woolworths and Coles have come up with every excuse not to carry this magazine, AUSBUY (http://www.ausbuy.com.au/) WHY? Hmmm
What I find disturbing is, a car manufacturer decides to close their doors in a few years time, yet Primary producers, manufactures and good businesses have been closing their doors for years and the knock on effect from this has had far more reaching implications over a longer term, but this is news worthy because we have an election in a couple of months.
I'll jump off my Soap box,
X2 mate.
Pavlova
Russell Crowe
Pharlap
Split Ends
Nicole Kidman
Mel Gibson
Want me to keep going lol
:D
Customline CT
Drifta kitchen
EvaKool fridge
Bedroom furniture
House
Bedroom furniture
Aussie built for Aussie conditions hey mate ;D ;D
Solid silky oak - nice and sturdy for a workbench :D
Evakool fridge
Alley fishing reel
Lifestyle camper
Entertainment centre
Kitchen table
Solid silky oak - nice and sturdy for a workbench :D
Nothing like a good solid workbench ;D
Pavlova
Russell Crowe
Pharlap
Split Ends
Isn't Russell imported from NZ?
The whole list is from NZ...
Hills hoists nw made in China.
New Zealand.
Oh. My bad. You said "made in". Not "owned by".
Sorry team!
VB
LITTLE CREATURES
COOPERS
CASCADE
BOAGS
bugger no food or drink my dumb
Customline CT
Drifta kitchen
EvaKool fridge
Bedroom furniture
House
depends which evakool fridge you are talking about as like ths rest , some are made in china with the evakool sticker on them
I believe Pharlap also came from NZ
Bert
Mel Gibson and Nicole Kidman were both born in the US not OZ.
So something might be made assembled in Australia. How much of its content (parts/materials) is Australian made/sourced?
Would depend, if a car is made overseas using Australian iron ore and other products mined in Australia is it Australian sourced materials I've worked in manufacturing since finishing my studies, 1st company closed Aussie plants and transferred capacity to brazil am now in food manufacturing and at least cant see this moving os for a while, it probably will happen at some stage
I believe Pharlap also came from NZ
Bert
Yeah that's right. But if you look at who posted it ( kiwi pride) he was having a stab a us aussie's claiming kiwis as Aussies. ;D. :cheers:
Mel Gibson and Nicole Kidman were both born in the US not OZ.
So I jut added these to his list of people Aussie claims as there own.
Yes muzza your right. They were both born in the US. Hawaii for Kidman. Not sure on mel.
Me
My wooden toys
My Thirst
My Hunger
Beautiful Australia :cup:
I have.
Kitchen fridge, 13 yrs old
Washing machine, same age
Trailblaza, 22 yrs old
A few woodworking machines, not sure of age.
That is the trouble with our kit we make, it lasts, no profit in making it.
It is so hard to buy assie made in the Supermarket for sure, we struggle to find it.
We live with ABC 2 on for the kids, I noticed that even the Aussie kids shows are from Singapore, Bananas in Payjamas, Milly and Molly both good Aussie kid shows with Aussie Voices, but the tricky bits are all done OS.
What have we got left?
Even fruit canneries are closing.
depends which evakool fridge you are talking about as like ths rest , some are made in china with the evakool sticker on them
Nah, got the white fibreglass one ;D
me my wife anad my three daughters - but nit this lap top as it can nut spal
Just look here http://www.australianmade.com.au/ (http://www.australianmade.com.au/)
Good link, we should support these guys http://www.wildernesswear.com.au/ (http://www.wildernesswear.com.au/)
http://www.australianmade.com.au/licensees/wilderness-wear-australia-pty-ltd (http://www.australianmade.com.au/licensees/wilderness-wear-australia-pty-ltd)
These are worth a watch
Where the bloody hell are you - New Zealand (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxgQ27RDDWk#)
Mitre 10 classroom ad (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2lohDTZ7eg#ws)
Funny New Zealand Ad (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28pbk_cQx-w#)
Funny mate :)
Ford Falcon
Dunlop Tyres
Carlton Beer
Bundy Rum
TV Cabinet (Au Made)
Bundy Rum
Champion and Bronzewing Shotty Ammo
Canvas Gumboot Bag (Infront)
2nd hand Jayco Eagle
Tooheys Old
Hopefully some new things to add after the camping show tomorrow ;D
These are worth a watch
Where the bloody hell are you - New Zealand (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UxgQ27RDDWk#)
Mitre 10 classroom ad (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2lohDTZ7eg#ws)
Funny New Zealand Ad (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=28pbk_cQx-w#)
Classics!
Ford Falcon
Dunlop Tyres
Carlton Beer
Bundy Rum
TV Cabinet (Au Made)
Count Dunlop Tyres out :police:
2008 - South Pacific Tyres ceased manufacturing in Australia to focus on their marketing, wholesaling and retailing operations.
Count food and drink out as mentioned in a earlier post
You only have 2 items
I know of two.
Vista RV Crossover
MySwag Forum :D
Count Dunlop Tyres out :police:
2008 - South Pacific Tyres ceased manufacturing in Australia to focus on their marketing, wholesaling and retailing operations.
Count food and drink out as mentioned in a earlier post
You only have 2 items
Did,nt know Dunlop had gone and soon Ford will be gone too. Sure is hard to fine anything of mass production still happening here in Australia. What worries me is when our third world suppliers realise that we are relying on them entirely they may then increase their pricing knowing that there is nothing we can do about it.
We all need to look at the big picture and see how the current supply and purchase of all this cheap imported product has or will in the near future affected our own jobs and livelyhood and then make an extra effort to support Aussie Made, even if it does cost a few extra dollars it will be worth it.
Lifestyle CT
GOE lift rods(Disco4)
Bedroom suite ;-)
Wife's Jewellery( I should of known shed cost me lol)
My kids made here( even though I'm a Canuck)
Just thought I'd throw this in here.
http://www.onlyoz.com.au/index.php?main_page=page&id=8 (http://www.onlyoz.com.au/index.php?main_page=page&id=8)
If you live in Brisbane.... Australian made Grocery store located at Enoggera on the Northside
The sirens we sell to Land Rover for Army ambulances are made in Australia from local and imported parts (no electronic component manufacture here) We used to build the boards here but you can justify $300 for local assembly when you can import the same part from China for $30 and have it done 100 times quicker. If we could sell 1000 sirens at a time (instead of the 10-25 every couple of years) the whole thing would be made in China. As it is Land Rover tell us our design is far more reliable than the locally built model sold by the previous owner, not that the Army repair anything, when one breaks they just put a new one in...why spend $100 on a repair when you can buy a new one for $500???
tom waterhouse
TAB
Tatts
centrebet
oooops, sorry, services not things
the hydraulic and industrial hose i sell is made in wodonga same as the fittings the only aussie maed hose and fittings and its the best on the market but also the most expensive :cheers:
lately I bought:
some concrete
soil
Ferguson's KO66 rustproofing......
oh crap that's just 3
tom waterhouse
TAB
Tatts
centrebet
oooops, sorry, services not things
Hahaha. To much NRL for you. :cup:
Narva wiring
GT Campers water tank :)
Motospray (I think) 2-pak paint
ummm...
yes it is difficult... I can't get Aussie-made tyres any more. However, I am a habitual 'can turner' in supermarkets
Hahaha. To much NRL for you. :cup:
Sad but true these days!
Both my kids are Australian made.....
Does that count????
Just kidding.
I do the grocery shopping in our house and I do find it difficult sometimes to support Aus.
I have found though that Aldi do well and their meat and produce has some good quality local stuff.
It is getting harder and harder to get Aussie made, but can I claim my caravan was Aussie made and a significantly large purchase so I figure that's a help to the economy.
I also support our local pub at the farm on a regular basis so that's my other contribution.
As a tradie, I reckon the best thing you can do to support local is to use local. We use the money we earn to buy local beer, spend at our local shops, use local services ourselves, and also sponsor a heck of a lot of kids soccer shirts, bike club trophy's, netball uniforms etc etc.
Support a local business and you are doing more for the economy in one transaction that our government does in a year. (another thread I know, but I wouldn't go there!)
Now my five things recently bought:
1: Retreat caravan
2: Water filter
3: Stone guard
4: A moderate amount of local wine (O.K. a shedload, but I'm not an alcohol. They need a drink - I already have one!)
5: $28,000 of Prysmian cable
Great thread too.....
Bread from my local baker. $3.50
5'11" "biscuit" from my local board shaper, lucky last because the blanks are all about to be made offshore, foam blanks are polluting and our govt doesn't want them made here anymore. $750
XXXX Gold $35
About 40 signs made from alubond from my local signwriter. $7500
All those guys live in my neighbourhood.
My 2 Trackabouts - 1 for sale
Drifta kitchen
Dick Smiths Strawberry Jam
Washing Basket - Sadly struggling now
My kids - See comment above
My English staffy
Sad when I struggle to name 5 off the top of my head
Too easy
1-House (although still in partnership with the bank)
2-Trackabout CT (as above)
3-Swmbo x1 (although based on OP Reg, still paying for so not entirely purchased)
4-Sons x2 (best as I can figure timing. Although youngest son speaks fluent Japanese so not sure. So if not will substitute the Doog)
5-Driveway Pavers, concrete paths, grass&garden (all paid for and made locally)
Enmach water tank
Airtec snorkel
Redarc TowPro and SBI
Mountain Trail camper
fyrlyt spotties