General => General Discussion => Topic started by: jagfromaus on May 14, 2013, 07:43:36 PM
Whats everyone using when doing a week stay to air and dry their washing out? Looked at those mini rotary clothesline things and they appear to be flimsy and bulky crap? What about the plat pack airer type ones that lever out both sides? At least i could fit towels on them type but again quite bulky grrrrrr
Rope. ;D
Rope. ;D
Wife likes her http://ezyline.com.au/ (http://ezyline.com.au/) Otherwise just a few pegs on the awning ropes. Neither take up any space :D
I'm another for rope, takes up bugger all space and you have have it strung any way you want.
We use one like this http://www.bunnings.com.au/products_product_ltw-28-rail-stainless-steel-clothes-airer_P4510224.aspx (http://www.bunnings.com.au/products_product_ltw-28-rail-stainless-steel-clothes-airer_P4510224.aspx) its light and folds flat.
For longer trips we use the white plastic clothes airer that folds flat think it was about $6 and sits flat on top of the other things in trailer
We just usually string a rope between a couple of the CT's or just put up another pole off one of the corners of the awning.
If you are staying somewhere for a week, use the awning ropes ... except for your smalls, which you can hang on some laundry type rope inside.
x 4 for rope. It folds up small, it's light weight, has a dual purpose, is cheap.
Sadly I have to admit, we use one of the camping ones you buy from the camping shops that looks like a mini hills hoist. :-[
Yeah I know, but we have 2 kids who love getting dirty and those lines are quick convenient and you can't believe how much you can fit on them.
We have ours so the outside hangs low ( sort of upside down if you like) we find it doesn't blow over this way.
Yes they are moderately flimsy, but our last one lasted over 3 years of pretty constant use.
Just replaced it last christmas - $50 at BBQ's galore.
Hi, I actually bought one of those flat pack airer types that fold out, for this 6 month trip, only thing the only place the fold out bits had to rest against was the end of our kitchen on our AORC camper.....and it was a pain to pack....it got left at home for the housesitters....rope always works.....the mini hills hoist would take up too much room for us I think. Kris
Wife likes her http://ezyline.com.au/ (http://ezyline.com.au/) Otherwise just a few pegs on the awning ropes. Neither take up any space :D
I've just bought one of these as well.
Sadly I have to admit, we use one of the camping ones you buy from the camping shops that looks like a mini hills hoist. :-[
Yeah I know, but we have 2 kids who love getting dirty and those lines are quick convenient and you can't believe how much you can fit on them.
We have ours so the outside hangs low ( sort of upside down if you like) we find it doesn't blow over this way.
Yes they are moderately flimsy, but our last one lasted over 3 years of pretty constant use.
Just replaced it last christmas - $50 at BBQ's galore.
We have one too. Have had it for 3 years now without problems and we use it at home as an airer too. Great tip about putting it upside down!
get some light rope twice as long as you need, put it up double, but put plenty of twists in it before you tie it off.
Now you can peg stuff up with out using pegs!
I string some 5mm cord between the roof stays under my Cub Escape Annex, It gives me approx 6Mtr of under cover clothes line.
Ray
$7 white folding flat airer from Bunnings and rope for towels
We are with King Billy. Easy line. My wife got given ours for free at the local fair. Works a treat between the awning poles. I wouldn't hang a large coat off it. I will give the large coat a try on the long weekend coming up and report back.
Graham
:D
The other thing we have is a couple of the plastic hangers that have the pegs attached they hook over awning spreaders and can fit a fair bit on them. Always have a bag with pegs to hang stuff on awning ropes also
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/05/14/yqaju9eg.jpg)
Trailer bunge net .
JB
For towels etc, we drape them over the bullbar / UHF aerial (ours is the solid fibreglass type). Smaller items get pegged to the cargo barrier. If we really need to, we string up some rope, which we always keep in the 4WD along with some clothes pegs.
We also have one of those collapsable "Hills Hoist" things but we've only taken it away once. It works well enough, however we find it a bit bulky and it needs pegging down or the wind tips it over, so it stays at home where it actually gets used all the time.
Generally rope for us, sometimes things even just get thrown over the nearest branch.
Liking both the 'twisted rope' idea and also the cargo net. Might try that next time.
Dee.
X 3. Easy to string up a line and they don't blow over.
x3
and two trees ;D
x3
and two trees ;D
x4 except when you are at One Tree Hill.
Hoist type from K Mart. I think about $20. Forget about the strap it comes with to peg it to the ground, (who on earth designs these things) and put a tent peg over each of the three legs. Never had an issue with it blowing over since. Holds tonnes of washing including towels... buy some fibrelight travel towels from Anaconda, these come in three sizes from memory, dry really quickly and take up hardly any room packing wise.
http://camping.anaconda.com.au/search?w=Towels (http://camping.anaconda.com.au/search?w=Towels) are on special at present.
We have one like this
http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Wanderer-Folding-Campsite-Clothesline.aspx?pid=167287#Cross (http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Wanderer-Folding-Campsite-Clothesline.aspx?pid=167287#Cross)
We used to use it heaps when our kids were toddlers, now we just use some rope between the nearest trees.
The clothesline is sitting in my shed and is free to a good home if anyone wants it...
http://www.anaconda.com.au/Product/Camp-and-Hike/Outdoor-Furniture/Clothes-Line#90025393 (http://www.anaconda.com.au/Product/Camp-and-Hike/Outdoor-Furniture/Clothes-Line#90025393)
Been using one of these at home for the past 5 months since my hills hoist got destroyed in a storm. one day I will get around to fixing it.
Another vote for the rope here ;D
This was us out at coober pedy 2 x kids 2 x adults after 2 weeks :cup:
Lol gowalkabout lucky not to many whites on the line or theyd all be red
I'd forget it was tied to the car and drive off.....
I have 10m of para cord(strong thin rope it's ment to be able to hold 250kgs got it off a mate in the army but eBay sells it) with a loop about a metre back from he end an a cheap carrbeiner clip on the end. Loop around a tree clip on and then walk out to the next tree and tie it to that one also works as a good thing to take ourself out on as I have many times but the beers may have made forgot it was there
We always use a rope tied along the side of the camper but not sure if this will be possible with the new camper. I was wondering what the mini hills hoist style clothes lines are like to use on sand, especially when it is windy. I know they are a little bulky to carry. We always stay on the eastern beach on Fraser Island so there is usually a bit of wind to contend with.
Hubby doesn't like the idea of carrying it due to size and weight but I thought the mini hills hoist style clothes line would be more suitable for me to use.
We always use a rope tied along the side of the camper but not sure if this will be possible with the new camper. I was wondering what the mini hills hoist style clothes lines are like to use on sand, especially when it is windy. I know they are a little bulky to carry. We always stay on the eastern beach on Fraser Island so there is usually a bit of wind to contend with.
Hubby doesn't like the idea of carrying it due to size and weight but I thought the mini hills hoist style clothes line would be more suitable for me to use.
Guess it depends on your camper we find the flat white one from bunnings packs easily enough on top of everything in the trailer part. We just take some pegs to keep the clothes on, not sure if it would blow away but since on sand could put a bag of sand tied on bottom.
We use either paracord strung up on whatever is available or if just a few small things that twisted elastic stuff. Don't need pegs. You can do the same with rope as someone already mentioned.
The paracord you can tighten til you can play a tune on it.
We have the same as Nay-DMAX. Don't take it on the weekend trips tho, seems like everything in the trailer gets caught up in it. We also have one of these from ikea http://m.ikea.com/au/en/catalog/products/art/60189664/ Cheap as chips (was on sale for about$2) and great for 'unmentionables'.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
We have the same as Nay-DMAX. Don't take it on the weekend trips tho, seems like everything in the trailer gets caught up in it. We also have one of these from ikea http://m.ikea.com/au/en/catalog/products/art/60189664/ (http://m.ikea.com/au/en/catalog/products/art/60189664/) Cheap as chips (was on sale for about$2) and great for 'unmentionables'.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk
We have a couple of those ones too just from cheap shop and just hang them under awning we use bigger clothes horse one on longer trips
For towels etc, we drape them over the bullbar / UHF aerial (ours is the solid fibreglass type). Smaller items get pegged to the cargo barrier. If we really need to, we string up some rope, which we always keep in the 4WD along with some clothes pegs.
We also have one of those collapsable "Hills Hoist" things but we've only taken it away once. It works well enough, however we find it a bit bulky and it needs pegging down or the wind tips it over, so it stays at home where it actually gets used all the time.
We use one these as well. Use it the time at home out in the weather here in Darwin. Folded up doesn't take up that much room
We, I mean swmbo, uses one of those flat folding ones from bgs, has heaps of room, folds flat on the bed, in good weather it can be used outside, or inside overnight when it's cold or wet. The diesel heater makes a great dryer/airer for us oap's :cup: :cup: :cup: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
The best clothesline is called the Old Small Mazda Sedan type. You know - the 323.
But ya got to say it with an Irish accent Steppen..... Tree too tree....
We use the mini hills hoist type which you can get from Aldi on occasion on special. Co-incidentally they are on special at Rays Outdoors this month, I think around $29.00 save $20.00.
I just bought one of these from BCF as they were on sale for $25. Haven't had the chance to use it yet but it folds nice and flat and appears to have heaps of line space.
I just use Telstra rope between 2 or more solid trees. Takes up no space, versatile and I find that if it has blown over, I have have bigger issues to worry about - i.e. campsite has had the Shit blown out of it and everything else is on the ground.
I take enough crap with me as it is - certainly don't need any more junk.
i just use cotton rope. Was given a big roll from a farmer i loaded from a few years ago. where i was on the road Id do my washing by wacking my clothes in a 20L bucket with my clothes water nd soap in it tied to the dolley pull. Wash them good then when I pulled up Id just string up the rope betweeb the trailers.
Works the same camping, tstring it up between trees.
We have used rope before but don't always have the trees to tie too, I found the clothes horse good when we did 2 weeks and were mostly in CP that time and good to put towels over after shower or swim, if we only going a couple of days usually just take enough clothes and wash them when we get home. We use one of the hanging ones with clips to hang tea towel dish cloth etc up or peg things on the guy ropes.
Last trip we done I had a tent pole at one end of the rope and the other end of the rope tied to a tent pole for the annex.
Sent from my Ring-a-ding-a-ling