General => General Discussion => Topic started by: UIZ733 on May 13, 2013, 01:01:42 PM
Anybody attempted to make something like these?
http://www.snowpeak.com/grills/fire-places/pack-and-carry-l-fire-place-st-032.html (http://www.snowpeak.com/grills/fire-places/pack-and-carry-l-fire-place-st-032.html)
Don't drifter make one similar.
yep thats the brand drifter sell....... http://www.drifta.com.au/SnowPeak.php (http://www.drifta.com.au/SnowPeak.php)
It's gold plated though. ;D
Just buy the snowpeak one, worth the money in my opinion. I am really happy with ours as it breathes well, packs nice and flat, solid construction and doesn't weigh a tonne.
Xcvator makes a tidy looking unit........his portable fireplace isnt too bad either >:D ;D ;D
Have a look at his thread : http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=26064.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=26064.0)
Xcvator makes a tidy looking unit........his portable fireplace isnt too bad either >:D ;D ;D
Have a look at his thread : http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=26064.0 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=26064.0)
Yeah his is great. Will be my project for this weekend I think.
Sheesh ... You're right about being gold plated ???
Usually we just use an old fruit picking bin, or a few of the boys use an old car tyre rim.
Although I must admit I got the boys at work to knock me up a frame and grill for a half 44 drum BBQ all out of stainless steel :-[ (it helps when you work in a food industry)
Still waiting for mine lol
Ask xcavator he made his own and it works a treat... Mandrake
Has anyone bought one of these
http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com.au/viewitem?itemId=181143200246
They look ok for the price
Has anyone bought one of these
http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com.au/viewitem?itemId=181143200246 (http://item.mobileweb.ebay.com.au/viewitem?itemId=181143200246)
They look ok for the price
You sure thats not being made by xcavator????
Evo
No idea but I was looking at getting one. Can't afford the snow peak ones
After seeing xcavators unit I had a lash at designing one myself - I can't work with metal yet - only just got my first grinder !! LOL
But if anyone wants to have a go here is the google sketchup file pic ... It all lays flat inside the ash pan at the bottom .
Mandrake
(http://www.mandrakessolar.com.au/Myswag Photos/ScreenShot148.jpg)
(http://i587.photobucket.com/albums/ss315/lux77_photos/null_zps35c64e3f.jpg)
Made mine this morning :)
Mine arrived the other day - a late Fathers Day gift from the kids as Drifta was waiting for a shipment to arrive. Anyway, some pics ...
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1006983/myswag/20130925_105736_PerfectlyClear_0005.jpg)
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1006983/myswag/20130925_110056_PerfectlyClear_0004.jpg)
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1006983/myswag/20130925_110226_PerfectlyClear_0003.jpg)
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1006983/myswag/20130925_110325_PerfectlyClear_0002.jpg)
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1006983/myswag/20130925_110350_PerfectlyClear_0001.jpg)
wow they look awesome. i use a 30 dollar brazier from bunnings. it leaves ashes everywhere and cant fold up. i like the style of these snowpeak\drifta ones. will have to sell the second kidney though.
Quick question. Looking at getting the snowpeak and just wondering if it's essential to get the base plate?
I wouldn't say it is essential, just a nice to have.
Intending on cutting up a beer keg this week to take with us over Easter....any suggestions on design of a relatively simple leg set up to keep it off the ground? Only basic metal work skills!
We are heading to a campsite in Bright and although they have fire drums to rent, can't guarantee they have enough to go round and can't pre book until you get there, hence the back up plan to bring our own. Not sure if they will insist on a plate underneath to catch embers?
Anyone with photos of something similar?
One method of beer keg fires is to cut the bottom off where its straight .
then weld 3 angle iron legs up , cut a few slots in the top off the keg
after removing the spear. Then the top becomes the bottom of your fire drum.
It slips into the 3 legs and sits just above the base that is now your ash pan.
the 3 angle iron legs might need a small weld or a bit of round bar welded at
a set height so it sits nice.. I have built a few like this for mates ..Its hard to explain
with out any pics ..
I'll try and get you one today if I can..
Sounds interesting - I had thought of cutting length ways so will hold off to check out your design.
I have one of these - Hasn't been used yet ...
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/07/y9ema2yd.jpg)
(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/14/04/07/hamunepa.jpg)
Mandrake
That one looks flash mate, what is it?
Just got a Frontier Stove Great bit of kit, no smoke in the eyes :D
Looks like this,
(https://midimax.co.uk/image/cache/data/Frontier%20Stove/Frontier-Stove-8-650x650.jpg)
All folds up and the flue sections fint in the stove,
(http://jk-uk-cdn.justkampers.com/media/catalog/product/cache/12/image/600x/5efe8a34d5bcaff3d2fb65b505e2a616/J/1/J19507-2_2.jpg)
(Not my pics)
That one looks flash mate, what is it?
Can't tell you now as its dropped off my e-bay archive list .. Portable BBQ / fire pit - about $30 from memory ..
I'll use it up at knockwood for the first time ....
Mandrake
Bargain also. Nice
Ok back after visiting the first one of these upright ones I built..
I had already cut this keg as a crab boiler when I was asked to make
a drum burner that didn't drop ash .. so this is the result ..
(http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a26/fnqbunyip/ba6fcd3e53b9babdf2b6844afca5df9b_zps087d4157.jpg) (http://s8.photobucket.com/user/fnqbunyip/media/ba6fcd3e53b9babdf2b6844afca5df9b_zps087d4157.jpg.html)
(http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a26/fnqbunyip/7c033c7560620f409338cd0365f629fd_zps810afc53.jpg) (http://s8.photobucket.com/user/fnqbunyip/media/7c033c7560620f409338cd0365f629fd_zps810afc53.jpg.html)
the later versions are cut off at the bottom of a keg to act as the ash pan ,as this makes the center hole for the spear an inlet for more air and an ash out let so air can flow..
I cut thin disk cuts with the angle grinder radiating out from the center...
they burn well and you can slid a cast bbq plate on to cook as well..
Thanks for the photo - an interesting idea on how to cut up the keg.
Mate at work cut a similar vessel up length ways so now have both ways to consider. Can see the merits of both.
Your suggestion is probably quicker and easier and should pack in the back of the ute better. The other suggestion in reality makes 2 so if one gets stolen or damaged, would enable me to replace it.
Off work today so provided SWMBO gives me some tinkering time, will get the grinder out and do something.
Cheers, Paul