General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bunyip on May 12, 2013, 10:08:45 PM

Title: Change of Career
Post by: Bunyip on May 12, 2013, 10:08:45 PM
OK, so we have decided to move to Orange, LB has an interview for a job that sounds just like her.

Now I need to decide what to do with myself, sort of over the whole IT thing and this is the perfect opportunity to reset and start from the beginning again.

I am thinking of an electrical apprenticeship. There is a large mine out of Orange which offers apprenticeships every year.

My question is this. Is there a Tafe or other short course that may provide me with an advantage in the application process? Also woul dbe good to have a taste of it before I commit, whilst I am confident I would find it interesting (yes I realise 1st years learn how to clean and get lunches) it owuld be good to get a better idea of wha tto expect.

Title: Re: Change of Career
Post by: Nay-DMAX on May 12, 2013, 10:20:39 PM
Congrats I did see your other post on the move how exciting (possibly daunting).  I don't know about your questions regarding electrical stuff have you done a google search on tafe or something?  A career change can be great though I worked mostly in childcare for 14 years then 15months ago made a change and working in banking now really enjoying the change and never thought it is something I would be doing.  All the best with the move and hope that you find a job that you love.
Post by: Bunyip on May 12, 2013, 11:05:49 PM
Tafe has a heap of courses, and I can google and get a whole heap of info.

I am hoping an Electrician will tell me what would be best.

It is sort of like IT, there is a whole heap of courses and a newbie wouldn't make heads nor tales out of it unless someone in the industry asked the right questions so that the right answer can be given.

Post by: sonny on May 13, 2013, 06:02:46 AM
Not sure about NSW, but some TAFEs in Qld do an Electrical Pre-Voc (equal to a Cert 1, i think), that runs for 1 semester i think.  They are pretty hard to get in to (waiting list).   Also have a look at what sort of incentives an employer can get for hiring an adult apprentice as that can be a good "carrot" for some employers.  Good luck with the change in career. 
Post by: MDS69 on May 13, 2013, 07:09:50 AM
In NSW through TAFE you can complete a pre-apprenticeship course which from memory basically crams all of the first year theory into one block of approx. 6 weeks full time. When you start your apprenticeship with the employer you will start on first year wages and still have 4 years of practical but will enrol in 2nd theory.

I guess the pre-apprenticeship shows the employer you are keen for a career in that trade.
Post by: Bunyip on May 13, 2013, 07:59:18 AM
Thanks MDS,

Exactely what i was after. I will ring TAFE and find out when they run it.

Post by: muzza01 on May 13, 2013, 08:28:06 AM
Not sure about NSW, but some TAFEs in Qld do an Electrical Pre-Voc (equal to a Cert 1, i think), that runs for 1 semester i think.  They are pretty hard to get in to (waiting list).   Also have a look at what sort of incentives an employer can get for hiring an adult apprentice as that can be a good "carrot" for some employers.  Good luck with the change in career.
I enrolled my son in TAFE QLD to complete his cert 3 (i think) in elec engineering.  The course went for around 5 months in AC and DC, prac and theory.  Lots of exams that were pretty hard at times.  I think the cost was around $1000 with around $200 in books.  As Sonny said, it is pretty hard to get in. 
On the day that TAFE open for enrollments for this course, I arrived 1.5 hours before opening to get to the front of the line.  There were two people already there lined up waiting.  The Course usually is sold out in the first hour.

Anyway, by completing this course, it impressed his employer enough for him to take my son on as an apprentice Electrician.  good luck Bunyip.
Post by: weeds on May 13, 2013, 08:44:04 AM
i have sat in on the apprentice interviews at my work........due to the numbers of applicants we only consider those that have either completed a CERT 1, 2 or 3 or currenlty studying.
Post by: yumpet on May 13, 2013, 10:04:49 AM
Hey man being that I work at the mine your referring too and I'm a sparky and I live in orange I can offer a little insight, a course won't help you much except asking you look keen, the do an accelerated course (basically 2 years of Tafe not 3). Be aware if you do get a start you will be moved around every 6 months to a different section of the mine, mill, underground ridgeway, underground Cadia east. There is a tafe with electrical course in orange aswell
Post by: berlitza on May 13, 2013, 01:38:29 PM
Good luck Bunyip, I did something similar a few years ago from being a chef to I.T, being 36 at the time it took a little time to get employed after i had finished the course and the money sucked big time for a while but i really did make the correct decision  in career changes, stick with it and don't give up....
Post by: MIC78C on May 13, 2013, 01:49:42 PM
Hey man being that I work at the mine your referring too and I'm a sparky and I live in orange I can offer a little insight, a course won't help you much except asking you look keen, the do an accelerated course (basically 2 years of Tafe not 3). Be aware if you do get a start you will be moved around every 6 months to a different section of the mine, mill, underground ridgeway, underground Cadia east. There is a tafe with electrical course in orange aswell

Are you with PHE?
Post by: Muckinhell on May 13, 2013, 06:12:25 PM
I did the pre vocational in Qld in 2008 while on long service leave and annual leave from my then employment.The course helped in getting a apprenticeship and also in seeing if i was up to the math that was involved, wich becuase i was interested, wasnt an issue in the end. I have now completed my capstone and am just awaiting to be signed off as a tradesman.

the course i did went for 19 weeks with easter week off and we had to complete 180 work place hours as part of the course. the tafe week was mon to thurs with fri being work experience plus there was couple weeks in there just for work experience. I was offered an apprenticeship at the place i did my placement, and to wich we had to find ourselves as well during the course. I didnt takje that apprenticeship as i was living away from my partner at the time and we wernt that keen on living at the sunny coast on my reduced income as we had a good deal going on accomodation from the inlaws wich is why i was able to take on an apprenticeship at 34.

which ever way you go it will be worth it.good luck.
Post by: Bunyip on May 13, 2013, 09:56:28 PM
Hi Muckinhell,

Congrats on finishing.

I will ring the TAFE tomorrow and discuss it with them, I like the idea of getting an indication of what it would be like prior to commiting.

Post by: yumpet on May 13, 2013, 10:04:56 PM
Are you with PHE?

Nah mate JT
Post by: envee on May 14, 2013, 03:51:12 AM
Nah mate JT

How are Shane and Big Nick treating you?
Post by: Jason B on May 14, 2013, 08:49:17 AM
I will keep an eye out for you in the local papers Mate. If I see any positions that may be of interest I will email them to you.

Post by: Bunyip on May 14, 2013, 09:51:25 AM
Thanks Jas,

Post by: yumpet on May 15, 2013, 09:18:41 PM
Yeah they treating us ok envee, you work for
JT or just know the guys?
Post by: envee on May 15, 2013, 10:52:03 PM
Used to work for them over here in WA. Good guys to work for.

Sorry about the thread hi jack Bunyip.  8)
Title: Change of Career
Post by: JU5T1N on May 16, 2013, 12:44:23 AM
Career change....what are they?
Manual laborer, forklift driver all to fund Graphic Design course only to crush finger under gas bottle on forklift....new direction was needed....stayed with that company (TNT) done a few courses along the way ended up in management after 13•5yrs including coordinated the 2000 Olympic Sydney City deliveries after that got sick of office. Brought a truck to be my office for 11yrs. This week trying my hand at a whole new direction, was a pay cut but could potentially make up for that in other ways.
Good luck Bunyip
Post by: Bird on August 13, 2015, 04:54:01 PM
http://www.bsale.com.au/businesses/for_sale/62223/cranbourne-vic-4-wheel-drive-accessories-maintenance-business-for-sale (http://www.bsale.com.au/businesses/for_sale/62223/cranbourne-vic-4-wheel-drive-accessories-maintenance-business-for-sale)

Heres one for someone...
I believe its Everything 4wd
Post by: Swannie on August 13, 2015, 05:42:10 PM
http://www.bsale.com.au/businesses/for_sale/62223/cranbourne-vic-4-wheel-drive-accessories-maintenance-business-for-sale (http://www.bsale.com.au/businesses/for_sale/62223/cranbourne-vic-4-wheel-drive-accessories-maintenance-business-for-sale)

Heres one for someone...

If it was just a little closer.....
Post by: speewa158 on August 15, 2015, 08:10:24 AM
When you kick open the door of  " Change of Career " its a step that will create many doubts . So do it anyway , back yourself . You will wonder why it wasn't done earlier                    :cup:                             :cheers:
Post by: D4D on August 15, 2015, 08:36:31 AM
Heres one for someone...

Didn't they just move to a brand new location?
Post by: Jacko on August 15, 2015, 11:50:20 AM
Didn't they just move to a brand new location?
I think they have been in the current spot on the hwy for a couple of years now, I went to the opening but can't remember exactly when it was
Post by: slydar on August 15, 2015, 07:05:46 PM
 konda expecting one myself soon - in I.T at the moment and reluctant to leave it but mrs wants to head north while she can still enjoy her grandchildren and there "aint much call' for data comms engineers around coffs harbour - I am a spark by trade but that was years ago and the national corporation I work for interview locals for jobs every now and then and the applicants are always reluctant to give their bosses as referees in case theyre caught out going for a better job and get the flick and end up with nothing
Post by: Hawk2014 on August 15, 2015, 07:22:32 PM
Turning 44 on Monday. Been in Carpentry for 15 years now and seriously thinking of joining the ADF.
Have two little ones 3&5. Missus says she will back me in my choice of career. Looking for the future of the family.
Post by: champin on August 16, 2015, 11:28:05 AM
Thinking of a change myself. Don't think the back will hold out another 10 yrs. Bouncing with oh&s or training and accessment.
Post by: lino6 on August 16, 2015, 02:20:45 PM
Thinking of a change myself. Don't think the back will hold out another 10 yrs. Bouncing with oh&s or training and accessment.

I do both OH&S and training/assessing in my job. Both are rewarding in their own ways. Need to have a thick skin for OHS which I do. The training is probably the harder one at time because of the age difference between me and the guys I find myself training, but if you are talking facts and not opinions (in both jobs really) it is easy enough to get through. Shoot me a PM if you want any info.

Post by: champin on August 16, 2015, 04:15:46 PM
Thaks Lino. Pm sent
Post by: alnjan on August 16, 2015, 06:28:32 PM

After much thought, soul searching and talks with the bride, after 33yrs, I have retired due to degenerative arthritis in the lower back.  It is not when I wanted to go but is the right time for me to go.  Just have to wait for the final out come to see what I am entitled to.
Post by: slydar on August 17, 2015, 09:12:25 PM
a bit sad to read that but youre in the right area to kick back - hope it works out for you. looking at semi-retiring up that way (my bride wants to, used to live up that way and has three sons up there). not sure what a 56-yr old will be good for around there when the time comes though...
Post by: gronk on August 17, 2015, 10:22:29 PM
not sure what a 56-yr old will be good for around there when the time comes though...

If you have enough to retire on......plenty to do......play golf, go camping, gardening, drink beer, go surfing, etc, etc !!
Post by: slydar on August 18, 2015, 01:22:14 PM
that was the plan - shame about the super (hmm, reminds me of the 'work for the dole' thread...)
Post by: gronk on August 18, 2015, 01:57:52 PM
that was the plan - shame about the super (hmm, reminds me of the 'work for the dole' thread...)

Same for me......if I can survive till approx. 60 to 65, then I think super will be OK, but at 56, just a few yrs too early..
Post by: champin on August 18, 2015, 04:03:13 PM
At 53 I'm not ready to give it away yet. Got a bit of the lower back arthy ritus too. Plus scare tissue from a previous torn muscle. Just have to find somewhere to redirect my talents in a less physical way.
Post by: carinya on August 18, 2015, 04:25:10 PM
Sounds familiar.  I have been driving forks and doing other stuff in the same place for 17 years.  Hadn't planned on it being that long but things don't always work out I suppose.  We are in the same boat, don't really want to leave the area, but a big carrot should help change that. Just about ready to get a hobby block out of town and the health bills butted in.  Currently doing course on OHS, then Assessment.  Maybe the rods in my back won't be under stress walking about with a clipboard and a concerned look.  Good luck to you all, it is a tougher job market out there these days. 
Post by: champin on August 18, 2015, 04:41:06 PM
Tough yes but TAE seems to be an increasing market.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on August 18, 2015, 05:49:03 PM
Maybe Hird should be reading this thread.
Post by: speewa158 on August 18, 2015, 07:32:22 PM
lv hird that if you not taking drugs  , then nothing can go wrong goWRONggOINGwRONGOR NOtAstheCASEMaYBE  :cheers:
Post by: Bird on September 10, 2015, 03:12:51 PM
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/camper-trailer-hire-business-/281788935053?hash=item419bedeb8d (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/camper-trailer-hire-business-/281788935053?hash=item419bedeb8d)
Post by: HKB Electronics on September 10, 2015, 03:37:13 PM
Younger co worker of mine, technical guru left a large Telco a couple of years back,
got sick of the pressure etc. He of all things got involved in a handiman franchise.

Got sick of the franchise, went and got himself a chippies qualifications and now runs his
own handiman business. Going to get his builders license next and work up from there.

So form state of the art IP switching technologies to chippie, certainly a career change there
though I don't know if there would be less pressure running your own building co:( 
Post by: slydar on September 10, 2015, 07:02:13 PM
not sure if I'd want to be in the building trade, have a stepson in the roof tiling game and boy isn't thats a mugs game (as is most of the cottage industry) - he has been doing it for close on to twenty five years with a break of about six years after his mum parted ways with her then husband (he worked for him) and the few years he came down from the coast to earn some cash he would come home of an afternoon totally stuffed and aching head to toe only coming out for dinner then back to bed to be up at five six days a week (weather dependent) - not for me, way past all that so its probably a night packer at woollies for me
Post by: Bird on November 11, 2015, 09:14:27 AM
Interesting

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261989046952/ (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261989046952/)
Post by: gronk on November 11, 2015, 09:22:28 AM
Interesting

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261989046952/ (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/261989046952/)

Yep, all sounds legit......velly good spelling....he has $790,000 in turnover....or was that $79,000 ??

I was going to buy, but not sure if paypal would let that size transaction go thru ??   8)
Post by: Bird on September 12, 2016, 10:18:53 AM
http://www.parkaustralia.com.au/index.php/property-details?pid=303 (http://www.parkaustralia.com.au/index.php/property-details?pid=303)

Description Beachport Caravan Park is 390km south east of Adelaide, overlooking the north shore of Rivoli Bay, the jetty and the fishing fleet.  The park occupies a prime site of 2.06 hectares (5.8 acres) on the road leading into the town, just a 4 minute stroll along the foreshore to the main street and all facilities.
 Guests have a broad choice of accommodation:a 4br ensuite Cottage, 4 x super quality Apartments (one with wheel chair access), 2 x Ensuite Cabins have been recently renovated, 5 x Standard Cabins along with 107 powered sites and 4 un-powered sites. 16 Annuals.

The large amenities block has been fully renovated.  Access is by a coded lock system.  Facilities are adequate to cope in busy times.  The park is connected to town water and the town STEDS system.

This is a perfectly presented park with nothing further to spend on capital infrastructure. The opportunity awaits for further development and growth. 

The easily maintained grounds are spacious with typical coastal vegetation and shady trees. All sites are grassed. Other facilities include a small playground.

The solid brick residence offers 3 spacious bedrooms, an open plan kitchen/dining/living area, bathroom, separate WC, a laundry and private back yard.  Reception is accessed directly from the residence.  Since September 2013, the park has operated the RMS booking system.

Price $1,200,000
Status 
Website https:www.beachportcaravanpark.com.au
Post by: speewa158 on September 14, 2016, 07:00:56 AM
Bird  Are we checking behind the pillows on the couch for all your small change   ???
Then we can have a SA Swaggers base camp , nonstopppppppppp Parrrrty  :cheers:
Post by: glenm64 on September 14, 2016, 12:46:10 PM
Or are you proposing a Swagger group buy?
Got your eye on the resident manager/ Swagger party booking co ordinator job?

Post by: DrewXT on September 14, 2016, 02:02:51 PM
http://www.parkaustralia.com.au/index.php/property-details?pid=303 (http://www.parkaustralia.com.au/index.php/property-details?pid=303)

Description Beachport Caravan Park is 390km south east of Adelaide, overlooking the north shore of Rivoli Bay, the jetty and the fishing fleet.  The park occupies a prime site of 2.06 hectares (5.8 acres) on the road leading into the town, just a 4 minute stroll along the foreshore to the main street and all facilities.
 Guests have a broad choice of accommodation:a 4br ensuite Cottage, 4 x super quality Apartments (one with wheel chair access), 2 x Ensuite Cabins have been recently renovated, 5 x Standard Cabins along with 107 powered sites and 4 un-powered sites. 16 Annuals.

The large amenities block has been fully renovated.  Access is by a coded lock system.  Facilities are adequate to cope in busy times.  The park is connected to town water and the town STEDS system.

This is a perfectly presented park with nothing further to spend on capital infrastructure. The opportunity awaits for further development and growth. 

The easily maintained grounds are spacious with typical coastal vegetation and shady trees. All sites are grassed. Other facilities include a small playground.

The solid brick residence offers 3 spacious bedrooms, an open plan kitchen/dining/living area, bathroom, separate WC, a laundry and private back yard.  Reception is accessed directly from the residence.  Since September 2013, the park has operated the RMS booking system.

Price $1,200,000
Status 
Website https:www.beachportcaravanpark.com.au

That'd be an awesome gig....
Post by: Bird on September 14, 2016, 02:13:24 PM
That'd be an awesome gig....
That one or the one at Robe...
Although I'd like the one behind the pub at Beachport.
Post by: tryagain on September 15, 2016, 06:56:00 PM
You could become a mayor https://m.realestate.com.au/property-acreage+semi+rural-qld-monogorilby-120749941
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2017, 04:48:01 PM
The 'always forsale pub'.
https://www.realestate.com.au/property-lifestyle-vic-woods+point-7868138 (https://www.realestate.com.au/property-lifestyle-vic-woods+point-7868138)

not totally career... but

CARETAKER WANTED!!!
 Located approx. 2.5hours from Broome on the most amazing coastline...Fisherman's paradise!!
 Power & water supplied.
 This is not a paid position, looking for someone who is in need of a peaceful retreat!!
 Email - Candice@kimberleyquarries.com.au
 or
 Phone - 0429 176 986
https://www.facebook.com/kimberleyquarries/posts/1397073457050620 (https://www.facebook.com/kimberleyquarries/posts/1397073457050620)
Post by: Swannie on August 08, 2017, 05:31:44 PM
The 'always forsale pub'.
https://www.realestate.com.au/property-lifestyle-vic-woods+point-7868138[/
 (https://www.realestate.com.au/property-lifestyle-vic-woods+point-7868138)
Myswag group purchase?
Post by: Bird on August 08, 2017, 05:35:25 PM
Myswag group purchase?
I reckon that place has been up forsale for 5-10 yrs lOL
Post by: GeoffA on August 08, 2017, 06:36:07 PM
Myswag group purchase?

That would be a very dangerous venture Greg.

Can you imagine speewa behind the jump??.... ;D ;D
Post by: speewa158 on August 08, 2017, 07:48:45 PM
That would be a very dangerous venture Greg.

Can you imagine speewa behind the jump??.... ;D ;D

Yep I cans    ,,,,,, pUts YouR  $ where you think it a problem                     :cup:          :cheers:       :laugh:
Post by: Bird on February 22, 2018, 02:06:28 PM
Boy they spent some time cleaning up this joint!

https://www.realcommercial.com.au/property-hotel+leisure-vic-dargo-502716914 (https://www.realcommercial.com.au/property-hotel+leisure-vic-dargo-502716914)

Few pubs forsale in the Vic Bush
Woods Point - always forsale
Kevington - should be dozed. etc
Post by: Bunyip on February 22, 2018, 04:03:35 PM
What an old thread, if only the change worked out and I wasn't still stuck managing IT projects :(

At least I am doing it in a good company now which makes it somewhat more bearable