General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Ricey on April 16, 2013, 12:07:30 AM

Title: Just returned home from picking up the Ultimate
Post by: Ricey on April 16, 2013, 12:07:30 AM
As the subject says we just signed for a brand new Elite Gold. ;D
Pickup in Early July. :'(
They are changing the name to the Xplor.
So we are getting the Xplor with all the fruit at the gold price. ;D
Now the waiting begins and the sale of the old camper.
Yes I know :worthles:
Title: Re: Well Bugger me!!!!!!! just signed for an Ultimate
Post by: firecracker on April 16, 2013, 02:36:33 AM
^^^^^^^ :worthles:^^^^^^^
Post by: sol on April 16, 2013, 05:23:08 AM
Congrats Ricey ;D top unit.
Look forward to the pics when you get it.

Post by: oldmate on April 16, 2013, 05:38:20 AM
Nice work. Welcome to the ulti family. What is the differences with the new xplor to the gold?
Post by: kiva on April 16, 2013, 05:46:11 AM
Well done! Ultimate make a great camper. When you pick it up, the factory tour is also very interesting.
Post by: fuji on April 16, 2013, 06:40:40 AM
EXECELLENT,!!
Post by: Sicilianmama on April 16, 2013, 07:55:56 AM
Very exciting! Congrats!
Title: Well Bugger me!!!!!!! just signed for an Ultimate
Post by: BigJules on April 16, 2013, 08:06:58 AM
Flash
Post by: db on April 16, 2013, 08:15:49 AM
congratulations,  you won't know yourselves. 
Post by: Ricey on April 16, 2013, 08:06:29 PM
We were told that there is no Silver or Gold you just option the Xplor up to what you want.
We were originally going to get a Silver but when you add the options up you get to the gold price very quickly.
There are some styling lines added.
Below is what they sent us that it will look like.
We may have to spend a week in the snow when we pick it up gee life is tough.
Post by: oldmate on April 16, 2013, 09:32:22 PM
Very cool mate. I think that is a better move for them rather than the gold/silver thing.
Post by: briann532 on April 16, 2013, 09:52:35 PM
Congrats

(pass on the buggering though if thats OK)

What an awesome machine.
Have travelled with a few over the years. They just keep getting better.

July's just around the corner...............hang in tight.

Post by: noel_w on April 17, 2013, 08:53:33 AM
Looks good, congrats.

Post by: oldmate on April 17, 2013, 09:36:47 PM
Make sure you get fitted sheets from the factory on pick up, if the bed is still the same style. And I would get the emp underlay if it is not included.
Post by: kiva on April 17, 2013, 09:41:11 PM
I agree, get the sheets and the EMP bed underlay to prevent condensation under the mattress. The EMP stuff works so well I've added it under the mattress of our camper.
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1006983/myswag/Exodus/20130418_194230_PerfectlyClear_0001.jpg)
Post by: Wortho on April 18, 2013, 08:32:18 AM
Congrats on the new camper. We have an Ulti Elite, we love it but the Wife didn't like the standard foam bed so we ended up with a custom made inner spring mattress, well two of them actually that zip together. Some owners are happy with the standard foam but quite a few on the Ulti forum have gone to inner spring. Its nice to have a bed in the camper as good as the one at home  ;D
Post by: Ricey on April 18, 2013, 07:04:48 PM
We are getting the EMP underlay.
Will get the fitted sheets when we pick it up.
See how the foam mattress goes to start with and then decide on which way to go from there.
The registration is a bit of a muck around but we will probably just register it in NSW and then sort it out when we get home.
I would be interested to hear what the changes are from the Elite to the Explor they are being very closed oboist what will be changed.

Post by: madmax on April 19, 2013, 12:45:56 PM
We are getting the EMP underlay.
Will get the fitted sheets when we pick it up.
See how the foam mattress goes to start with and then decide on which way to go from there.
The registration is a bit of a muck around but we will probably just register it in NSW and then sort it out when we get home.
[SNIP]

Hi Ricey

When we picked ours up we added the EMP & sheets.  Foam mattress is OK for us also.

Now to registration.  We travelled on the temporary NSW rego permit  and when registering in SA were bollocked because that rego is only for the shortest route home and we should not have then driven to the inspection point without obtaining another temporary rego permit.  :(

I agree with your thoughts, get the NSW rego and transfer when it is about to expire.

Great units, you will love it.
Post by: Marschy on April 19, 2013, 12:58:31 PM
Now to registration.  We travelled on the temporary NSW rego permit  and when registering in SA were bollocked because that rego is only for the shortest route home and we should not have then driven to the inspection point without obtaining another temporary rego permit.

Hello madmax, did you deviate from the course outlined on the temporary permit? If the course outlined on the temporary permit specified the place of inspection, I wouldn't have thought there would be a problem.

Cheers, Marschy.
Post by: madmax on April 19, 2013, 07:41:39 PM
Hello madmax, did you deviate from the course outlined on the temporary permit? If the course outlined on the temporary permit specified the place of inspection, I wouldn't have thought there would be a problem.

Cheers, Marschy.

The problem was that I did drive straight home with no deviation but the powers be insist that any trailers from outside of SA are physically inspected.  So hook up the camper and drive down to Lonsdale.  Permit is still ok by dates but not to drive from hone to inspection apparently.

Post by: oldmate on April 19, 2013, 10:29:05 PM
That's is the stupidest thing I have heard.

We got travel permit from nsw which gave us 7days to get it home. Which we almost used and got home on Saturday night (Monday pick up). I then hooked the trailer on and drove to rego office no questions asked. They just took measurements, checked compliance plate, checked fire extinguisher and I was gone with new plates in about 20min. This was Qld though not Sa
Post by: Wortho on April 20, 2013, 09:50:23 AM
The new colour scheme looks nice but can't see any other obvious changes from the pic over the older model. I guess that means they are struggling to find things to improve on which is not necessarily a bad thing, especially if you own an older model  ;D
Post by: oldmate on April 20, 2013, 10:16:13 AM
Yep I agree with those comments.
Post by: cruisindub on April 20, 2013, 02:02:24 PM
If it ain't broken, don't fix it?
Title: Deposit paid and the waiting begins just signed for an Ultimate
Post by: Ricey on May 04, 2013, 10:49:15 PM
Well the bank looks empty and we now have to wait until July to pick up the Xplor. :'(
Seems like a good time to say farewell to the old girl and see what she will make on eBay. Camper that is.
Post by: Rural on May 04, 2013, 11:04:56 PM
Congratulations on the purchase.

I seen the new Xplor at the recent supershow at rosehill racecourse in Sydney.  It sounds like a good idea that ultimate are simplifiying the model range.

Its obviously a good product and design as they largely stay with the same concept but they seem to be evolving the product.  I liked the outside kitchen attachment they now have and they also have some good electrical options. 

If i had the money this trailer would be in my top few.

Congrats again.
Post by: oldmate on May 05, 2013, 02:19:14 PM
Well the bank looks empty and we now have to wait until July to pick up the Xplor. :'(
Seems like a good time to say farewell to the old girl and see what she will make on eBay. Camper that is.

Congrats. The time will go by quicker than you think. Enjoy your day on handover also.
Title: Re: Just signed for an Ultimate
Post by: Ricey on May 07, 2013, 12:02:41 AM
Thought I would share the photos of the External Cook setup.
From what I understand it can be fitted to any Ultimate.
Post by: oldmate on May 07, 2013, 06:36:07 AM
Yeah there is a bit of talk on he ultimate forum about that lol

My comment was, it really is hardly a "kitchen", more a table that attaches to the side of the trailer, then you can put your stove, and tub on it.. Like the table I currently have, but can move anywhere I need it.  I reckon you will get wet when cooking on it I I decides to rain 1/2 way through.
All the items of that kitchen still have to be individually packed up and stored in the boot, do they not?
Post by: GeoffA on May 07, 2013, 06:52:01 AM
All the items of that kitchen still have to be individually packed up and stored in the boot, do they not?

Yeah, it looks like a lot of mucking around to me, and I don't believe it really addresses the issue.

This is the main negative for us with the Ultimate........no easy access to cooking and fridge during roadside stops........may not be important for others.

Still, they're a great unit, and I can see why they're popular.

Congrats on your purchase. :cup:
Post by: oldmate on May 08, 2013, 12:32:19 PM

This is the main negative for us with the Ultimate........no easy access to cooking and fridge during roadside stops........may not be important for others.

I have a butane burner with some cooking gear in the side compartment to overcome this, and just use the fold down table on the back door of the car.
Title: Re: Just returned home from picking up the Ultimate
Post by: Ricey on July 12, 2013, 07:49:15 AM
Just picked up the Ultimate returned home to pack and register it then off to The Head Of The Bight, Maralinga and beyond.
Yes will post photos when I can. :cheers:
Post by: GraemeL on July 12, 2013, 09:21:38 AM
Nice one  ;D Congrats and happy travels.
Post by: BigJules on July 12, 2013, 02:06:49 PM
Nice one Brian.

Happy with the winch too I hope.
Post by: JCAT on July 12, 2013, 06:03:50 PM
Congratulations, enjoy it.

Post by: JCOJ on July 12, 2013, 06:15:20 PM
Congrats - what an awesome camper!!

Look forward to seeing the pics when you can.
Post by: oldmate on July 12, 2013, 08:19:55 PM
Good stuff buddy. Look forward to your thoughts.
Post by: Ricey on July 12, 2013, 09:10:00 PM
They are an awesome bit of gear.
My eldest son rushes to put it up so I am left with a beer in hand and the camper set up in quick time.
We are packing for our trip so we are amazed with the storage.
Bigjules
I haven't even looked at the winch as yet good job for tomorrow.
Post by: Trex_s4m1 on July 12, 2013, 10:32:17 PM
nice rig mate. enjoy your travels and times away.  :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on July 12, 2013, 10:50:45 PM
They are an awesome bit of gear.
We are packing for our trip so we are amazed with the storage.

Couldn't say it better myself. Storage is great also
Post by: Talawana5 on July 13, 2013, 11:06:44 AM
Congratulations and happy but. Safe travelling.