General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Nomad on April 07, 2013, 07:47:59 PM
Couple of questions for all for all of those who use these if I may.
I am looking at awning for the (new) Prado and am leaning towards something like a 2metre long by 2.5 metre out awning, maybe like the Austrack ones.
I am not a big fan of the 2.5metre long ones because of how far they hang out the front of the vehicle.
Anyway:
1. Do you use yours alot, i.e. if you stop for a picnic lunch or stop and go for a fish for an hour or so do you bother to roll it out? Or do you just roll it out if your somewhere for a day /night?
2. I have seen some with the side support poles and some without. To me the side supports look like they are worth having to stop the material straining the upright poles, but do you really need them or are they something else that may just break?
3. Unless they are custom made the material seems to range from crap to 13oz ripstop canvas. Anything particular you would steer clea off.
4. Are there any brands that I should steer clear off, and like wise any I should seriously consider?
5. And lastly would you bother to buy another one?
Cheers Nomad.
I'm waiting for the funds for a foxwing, support poles depend on the weather
We've got an ARB awning, and although we don't use it a lot, I still think it was money well spent. Just make sure you peg it down / secure it somehow, regardless of the weather. It does not take much wind to pick it up and blow is over the roof causing damage to the awning / vehicle.
Don't think we have ever got it out for a road side stop, but we do use it on Stockton beach and we went to Fraser it got a good work out.
Mine is Ironman, 2m along vehicle and 2.5m out for the same reason you stated.
1. Mainly used for beach days, and kids sports events where we can park with a view of the event. But what it's really good for is packing down to depart - as soon as the CT (or tent) is dropped, there goes your shade, and on a hot morning it gets painful as there is generally still a lot to be done before you're ready to roll. Having the awning is great for that... you can pull up for a break under the awning.
2. I like them as they tension the shade nicely. Yes, risk of breakage but so far so good. Rather than two guy ropes for windy days, I have a single guy rope between the top of each pole that goes to a single peg between the poles; easy to peg down and works fine.
3. Mine is pretty good - light canvas, nice tan colour.
4. I asked 3 or 4 people about their awnings when I saw them being used, two of them were on their third awning which they reckoned was the best so far - both of them had settled on Ironman as their third/best awning.
5. Yep, in fact I bought a rear one a year after I got the Ironman (but went Tiger11 for that as it was cheap at the time).
Have got the 2.5m long oztrail. Yeah i'd definitely buy it again. With 3 cross bars on my 150 i had it so the front bit extends about 75cm in front of the bracket. No probs with only that amount swinging in the breeze.
I use it for lunch stops or if parked for a while e.g. Hanging out down the beach. Makes such a difference to how comfortable you are. The good amount of shade provided really does give you some space to kick back whilst not roasting in the beating sun.
Regretted not getting it mounted to my new pioneer tray before easter as we could have used it to keep the rain off us a bit better. The 3x3m gazebo wasnt quite big enough.
Side support poles do help keep everything from flapping about.
The material it's made of I would rate as ok. Could be tougher but havent had any probs and it didnt cost me the earth.
We've got an ARB awning, and although we don't use it a lot, I still think it was money well spent.
x2 although if I did it again I'd buy a Supapeg
http://www.supapeg.com.au/product_info.php?cPath=26_50&products_id=165 (http://www.supapeg.com.au/product_info.php?cPath=26_50&products_id=165)
What's this about a 'new' Prado?
I've used my ARB awning more in the rain and overnight than in the sun, love it. I wish my awning was longer, to provide more coverage. It woudl be a little awkward, but I'd live with it.
On the recommendation of the forum I put my neighbour onto the Supapeg awning (http://www.supapeg.com.au/product_info.php?cPath=26_52_56&products_id=158) and he is stoked. He had an ARB awning previously, reckons the Supapeg unit might be better.
Snap D4D.
We have an Ironman 2m x 2.5m. We think it is great and use it often from short stops to overnighters with the swags underneath.
We plan to use it for overnight quick stops when we don't want to put up the annex on the camper - ie park the car close enough to use the awning over the slide out kitchen of the camper.
The advice to always rope and peg it down is very timely - freak gust of wind got ours and snapped one of the side support bars. Ordered a new one and fitted it easily though and replacement cost only $20.
Funnily enough, son reckoned we were stupid to get one, however when he borrows our car he seems to use the awning lots - on the beach, etc. He got caught in a bushfire on Fraser with flames right up to the side of the car and the (rolled up) awning came through OK. It was then very useful when stranded waiting for the barge in the heat - photos prove the shade was very popular.
One of the best things we have bought.
I know of a few people with the Oztrail one and they all seem very happy with it. I think that's the way I'll go shortly.
http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/4wd/item/OZtrail-RV-Shade-Awning.aspx (http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/4wd/item/OZtrail-RV-Shade-Awning.aspx)
I also have a mate who absolutely swears by his Foxwing. I'm tempted to get it, but it looks a bit more time consuming to set up so not sure if I'd got that way for fear of not using it at all instead of very little!
http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/4wd/item/OZTENT-Foxwing-LH-Passenger-Side.aspx (http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/4wd/item/OZTENT-Foxwing-LH-Passenger-Side.aspx)
I have an arb one which I think looks good and really wanted but don't really use that much I went away for 6 days at easter up teewah beach with 2 other mates that have awnings and not one was used at all. My BIL has an ironman one which I think is 2.5 by 2.5 and that extra .5 really makes a difference when set up side by side on the beach.
:cheers:I love my Supapeg awning!
We ordered a Foxwing when they first came out, and have never regretted it. Love the fact it shades the side and the rear of the vehicle. When we got it, we also had and used an Oztent and connected them together, along with the side panels. Depending on your camp site layout, the tent can be positioned on the best of any of the 4 edges of the Foxwing.
We did a whole 3 week trip in Tassie (plus getting there and back) in the wettest month of the wettest year in a decade and were very comfortable and impressed with the whole setup. The Foxwing is very easy to set up and pack away - just a minute or two to fold out, and a few more to peg out, or alternatively in a light breeze just tie the middle strut to the tow hitch.
Apparently right hand side Foxwings are cheaper, which may be an option for some.
We have a 2.5mx2.0m tigerz11 side awning and a 1.4mx2.0m Powerful4x4 rear awning. We use the side one most for overnight stops and the rear awning too if we're staying longer. No problems with either but they are both about to be replaced by a Clevershade. (http://www.clevershade.com)
The self supporting design allows fast setup which suits our needs better. We'll be touring with a boat in tow so will still be using the tailgate of the cruiser as the kitchen when camped. Swag out the side and a covered kitchen is all I need....for now.
I have a supawing......top end of spend and takes a little longer to set up but I reckon it's the ducks guts. Mainly use it on the beach when set up all day. Like the fox wing it raps around the back of the car as well
-What's this about a 'new' Prado?
Well the current one is just about due to be changed over..................
The new Altitude is due out in May, so with the kids, having all the extra toys will be worth it.
We have been doing some long drives in the last year or so out to Blackall and upto Gladstone so the k's are racking up.
I drove a 200 for a few days but it is just too big.
No sign of a V6 TD PRado unfortunatley yet.
So a new Altitude. Lift kit etc etc is on the way..............probably a June delivery.
Keep your awning opinions coming guys.
Cheers Nomad.
Had mine custom made 8 years ago, have used it maybe 4 times in that time. Wouldn't buy another one, while this one is still good I'll still carry it, but couldn't justify the cost of a new one for a use every 18 months or so.
Just my 2c.
ARB for us, used not often but when you need it the wife and kids are happy. Great when we are doing a swag trip to keep the morning snow off the swag. If i was to replace the one I have it would be with the same
Ironman 2.0 long x 2.5 out. Only chose it because it came in a black case that matches my black roofrack.
friends have an ARB, and it's good too.
I think they are all good, and the more you use one, the more you will like it.
Anyone seen a decent awning for a dual cab without tradie bars in the back?
Mines a Rydge Ryder from Super Cheap Auto and I'am defiantly happy with it...
Would you mount it to the canopy? I have seen shorter awning mounted to roof racks on the cab of a few dual cab utes.
we have a Roo System's 2mt awning mounted straight to the roof bars on my Colorado, not attached to the canopy at all......extends out to 2.5mt and we've used it most times we've been out since buying it
It seems to be the same as Tigerz, Powerful 4x4, Ironman etc etc
When I save up some more $$$ we will probably get a supapeg one the 2m by 3m as I think 2m is enough along side of dual cab this will go on roof bars of cab only not the canopy we are getting we have Dmax.
Nomad hope you find one that suits your needs our plans when we get one would be for day trips or as extra shade beside camper.
We have a foxwing & use it a bit for overnighters when we don't put either awning on. We have the gull wing doors on the canopy that give us enough cover for lunch stops etc.
(http://i710.photobucket.com/albums/ww110/HEM19X/DSC_0005-1.jpg)
Send BradandPeta a PM. Brad has an awning on his dual cab ranger with aero bars or similar.
Good to know, bussoboy. I have a tray back. We're joining the local 4wd club and their more difficult outings aren't CT friendly. Wife and I like the idea of throwing an awning out over the swag and camp kitchen. I just won't end up with much roof length for mounting one up, and probably only 2 roof bars to attach to. Leaning towards getting a 2.5m if I can do it sensibly. I'm tempted by the supawing which would cover the tray, too, but the $$$ are probably out of the question. Stupid question - can the awnings be mounted to the roof bars anywhere along the awning, or do the roof bars need to be in particular places to match the awning mount points?
i have a Gunyah awning on my vehicle, one of the best quality made awnings IMHO, which doesn't help you any as My Gunyah closed up his shop a few years back. i use the awning quite a bit.... pretty much every time we go to the beach, when camping without the family i roll it out and throw the swag underneath to keep the dew off, and even use it at work to have lunch under if we are on a new jobsite with no shade about. i've been meaning to get an extension made up for a few years now to go in the sail track that is on the front of the awning and get more shade area, one day i'll get around to doing it...lol
I have a wanderer awning from BCF, few years old now and lookalike they've upgraded it from the one I have.
But we love it. Wife can put it up on her own, I can take it down on my own without getting frustrated, and for the priçe, was more than happy.
Weveused it loads and with a bit of modifying, we've adapted it to our van quite smartly if it do say so.
Probably one of the vest additions we've added, that worth carrying, for the times we don't use it,it takes up hardly any space.
Privacy and shelter, all for under a reasonable and fair price.
X5 on the iron man.
X3 on the make sure you peg it down. A huge gust of wind flipped it on to the roof of the car. Amazing nothing broke and could just bend it back
X 9 on the use. Although I have recently installed it so it can be taken off easily when not camping. i am sure it has an impact on fuel consumption hence it lives in garage when not in use.
I've got a 2.5 long by 2 out Ironman on my Pathy. Absolutely love it. I've also mounted 2 led strips in the rail of it so it makes a superb shelter day or night :)
i am sure it has an impact on fuel consumption hence it lives in garage when not in use.
Does an awning make that much difference?
really, is it of that noticeable?
I haven't noticed any difference with mine, how much are we talking about.?
a half a litre hundred ks isnt noticeable on my old bus......
How much does a fiama add to the economy.?
We are very happy with our Foxwing also
strongest awning i saw was from the Hanibal Safari guys. it can canterlever out without legs and even the storm that got and was blowing annxes over at the penrith show it stayed put, as with everything unique and good it cost that of 3 to 4 oztrail/BCF etc awnings.
Wouldnt be impossible to make something yourself its strong point was the two tubular arms that swung out first to support the material.
Good to know, bussoboy. I have a tray back. We're joining the local 4wd club and their more difficult outings aren't CT friendly. Wife and I like the idea of throwing an awning out over the swag and camp kitchen. I just won't end up with much roof length for mounting one up, and probably only 2 roof bars to attach to. Leaning towards getting a 2.5m if I can do it sensibly. I'm tempted by the supawing which would cover the tray, too, but the $$$ are probably out of the question. Stupid question - can the awnings be mounted to the roof bars anywhere along the awning, or do the roof bars need to be in particular places to match the awning mount points?
As far as I know they can be mounted anywhere along the awning rail within reason.
I have mine mounted to the front 2 bars, and it is off centre so the front does not hang to far over the front.
(http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a281/safetyman_1/photo3.jpg)
(http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a281/safetyman_1/photo2.jpg)