General => General Discussion => Topic started by: rocket327s on March 23, 2013, 11:41:56 AM

Title: portable chemical toilets
Post by: rocket327s on March 23, 2013, 11:41:56 AM
Info please on your thoughts/opinions of this item.
Even using chemicals does the smell linger when stored during travel.
The difference between 10L & 20L only being the storage capacity..... still has to be flushed & new chemicals added after,say, 10 days?
Am looking for the best option prior to purchase.
Thanks for any feedback
Title: Re: portable chemical toilets
Post by: xcvator on March 23, 2013, 12:34:18 PM
I just use an equivalent to "nappysan"., about 2 tablespoons a day into the holding tank seems to work well, with no smell and cheap as.
cheers Keith
Post by: rocket327s on March 23, 2013, 01:06:29 PM
thanks xcavator.... does "nappy san" break it down like the chemical?
Post by: xcvator on March 23, 2013, 01:09:39 PM
thanks xcavator.... does "nappy san" break it down like the chemical?
Yep, just a brown liquid goes down the drain
Post by: rocket327s on March 23, 2013, 01:14:10 PM
thanks for your input, much appreciated
Post by: Basel on March 23, 2013, 01:24:20 PM
My Mrs won't go camping without the porta-potti. Its my job to empty it, but its a small price to pay for camping.  We limit it to number 1's though but sometimes the kids ignore that rule. So far have only used thetford chemicals and no smells, no issues. Its well designed so emptying it is easy, no mess, no splashes.

Post by: Ropes on March 23, 2013, 01:42:46 PM
20ltr vs 10ltr
Less emptying frequency
Higher seat height

I just use nappy san and give the bowl a spray of Mr Sheen to stop skid marks. 8)
Post by: rocket327s on March 23, 2013, 02:12:37 PM
thanks Basel & ropes .. all helpful
Post by: nbd73 on March 23, 2013, 02:29:58 PM
Depending on the number of adults & kids using it I would think 10 days to be at the outer limit. It would require all users to be depositing 'phantom' dumps into the toilet that require minimal to zero paper, and very minor/limited flushing. I have found for 4 adults and 2 kids that 2 days is a reasonable allowance before emptying, that way its not chockers (ever used one when that's the case? One of life's top 10 most unpleasant experiences IMO) . Apparently there is now a single product available that can be used in both the flushing and holding tank, and it is suitable for use with salt water. 
Post by: Sawed-Off on March 23, 2013, 02:50:25 PM
The Cairns 4WD Club requires members to take a portaloo on overnight trips. Checked out a few today. Rays has the Thetford 365 on special for ~$160. Think I'll grab that one, unless anyone says not to?
Post by: nbd73 on March 23, 2013, 03:10:45 PM
http://www.colemanaustralia.com.au/gear/accessories/personal-care/large-flush-toilet.aspx (http://www.colemanaustralia.com.au/gear/accessories/personal-care/large-flush-toilet.aspx)
Have a look at these, it's what I have and is ideal.  Having used other brands before I have found this one to be the most comfortable.  Does not have the 'flash' appearance or finish of others, but it's a toilet FFS.  At least check them out in comparison, I had a look back to back with others and could not justify twice the price.  Highly recommended.
Post by: Ropes on March 23, 2013, 03:16:37 PM
$160 ????

I'm fairly sure I only paid $40 for our 20ltr delivered to our door off evilbay.
Post by: Sawed-Off on March 23, 2013, 03:22:31 PM
$160 ????

I'm fairly sure I only paid $40 for our 20ltr delivered to our door off evilbay.

$40?! You can hardly buy a decent dunny seat at Bunnings for that!  Good deal! :cheers:
Post by: nbd73 on March 23, 2013, 03:26:11 PM
$40?! You can hardly buy a decent dunny seat at Bunnings for that!  Good deal! :cheers:
He was only "fairly sure" , and he did not say whether it was brand spanking new or used.  If new, then it was stolen at some point from someone, no question.
Post by: 03hilux on March 23, 2013, 03:41:31 PM
The Thetford 365 is a good product. My old man had one on his boats for over 25years. Apart from cleaning it, there was no other maintainence.
We,(the wife and I) bought one for our camping trips. It gets used, but more so at night to save staggering to a toilet block in the middle of the night. It also ensures no one has to get out of bed in the middle of the night to escort the kids to a toilet block.

Remember, Happy Wife Happy Life. And having your own toilet close by when camping will contribute to it.
Post by: rocket327s on March 23, 2013, 04:31:23 PM
thanks everyone ...........
have been surfing the net with regard to these,...... BCF has specials on at the moment, will look at the Thetford tomorrow. varying sizes & prices (obviously).
only two of us using it so no problem there with kids....
had a look at the Coleman & as you say,,,, a potty is a potty....& they are about $30 cheaper than the lowest priced Thetford
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 23, 2013, 06:48:06 PM
20ltr vs 10ltr
Less emptying frequency
Higher seat height

I just use nappy san and give the bowl a spray of Mr Sheen to stop skid marks. 8)

With the sides done in Mr.Sheen, a turd would take hours to come to a standstill. Little or big (as the case may be) buggers would be whizzing around like toy race cars.
Post by: KingBilly on March 23, 2013, 07:15:40 PM
Go for the 20l holding tank if for no other reason it makes the toilet about the same height as a domestic one.  We have the Thetford 365.

Post by: Robbo on March 23, 2013, 07:23:11 PM
Yep, the Thetford 365 is a great unit, it's what we use and have never had any problems with it plus spare parts are readily available for them if reqd. $160 sounds like a pretty sharp price for it also.
Title: Re: Re: portable chemical toilets
Post by: Ropes on March 23, 2013, 07:24:10 PM
He was only "fairly sure" , and he did not say whether it was brand spanking new or used.  If new, then it was stolen at some point from someone, no question.

It was brand new, here is a link to something similar.

20ltr Porta Loo  (http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=330892936578)
Post by: Bushman on March 23, 2013, 07:58:22 PM
I also you Nappisan (Home Branded) in the Panda's toilet 2 cap fulls mixing it with a bit of hot water helps get it going. A couple squirts of dish liquid or Eculyptus oil in the flush tank.

though do find the Nappisan doesn't like breaking down 3ply dunny paper to well.

Also use the Nappisan to clean the tank after each trip, couple of caps full and hot water, let it sit for a day or to and rinse, comes up a treat.
Post by: Chris-Vi on March 23, 2013, 08:07:08 PM
Another vote for home brand napisan. Works well and breaks everything down. Plenty of info online as to mixtures.  :cheers:
Post by: nbd73 on March 23, 2013, 08:15:38 PM

20ltr Porta Loo  (http://pages.ebay.com/link/?nav=item.view&id=330892936578)

I stand corrected, at least on one front. I would still doubt the origins of these (&many other) products at that price point, but I take my hat off and say well done, good buying. Looks ok.
Post by: rocket327s on March 24, 2013, 08:13:44 AM

20ltr Porta Loo

I actually saw those on ebay, only thing put me off slightly was...... the non splash emptying system on the Thetford, which kinda impressed me
Post by: DannyG on March 24, 2013, 08:30:05 AM
I havent read the entire thread so this has no doubt been mentioned but we like a high loo, not that we do number 2's in it unless the situation is desperate but the girls prefer the height.

Ours is a thetford 365, they are a quality loo. We also have one of those ebay 20ltr jobs here that we would sell cheap if anyone is interested but I am convinced it leaks when travelling, I also had a 10ltr ebay one that done the same thing........yep spent more on $hitters than most would but poor man pays twice and all that!
Post by: Andrew_C on March 24, 2013, 08:35:22 AM
As a ranger, the more people that use these things, the better it is for everybody.

It is only good, having less human excrement spread around a nice camping spot.

Also, had a cheapy from bigW, done about 15000 kms around the country and had a work out, I reckon it started leaking as well, only used for 1s until last weekend when it become a bit more used than expected, to the point of justifying a better one for an upcoming trip,

Got a dometic 10 litre from anaconda for $100 yesterday.

Post by: rocket327s on March 24, 2013, 01:59:12 PM
OK, so I ventured to Ray's Outdoors this morning & came away with a Thetford 365'

I looked at the cheaper ones (white & grey) but wasn't impressed with the quality opposed to the Thetford' & after reading a few have leaked, am happy i went for the quality v price.

NOW..... after reading your helpful posts I am gong to show my ignorance and ask ..why only use it for number 1's     ????
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 24, 2013, 03:13:32 PM
Yep, we crap in ours.

a crapper is a crapper is a crapper..... number 1's are for pussies.
Post by: kylarama on March 24, 2013, 03:14:05 PM

NOW..... after reading your helpful posts I am gong to show my ignorance and ask ..why only use it for number 1's     ????

First time you empty it after the family has given it a thrashing you'll understand.  Chemicals or napisan can only do so much...
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 24, 2013, 03:44:31 PM
The two of us gave ours a hiding for 6 days each time we used it and empty out time wasn't that bad.

Besides, 2,000,000 flies can't be wrong.

Just think of it as a big chocolate milkshake, only crunchie.  ;D
Post by: Sawed-Off on March 24, 2013, 05:00:25 PM
OK, so I ventured to Ray's Outdoors this morning & came away with a Thetford 365'

As did I. Wife is happy.  8)
Post by: Ropes on March 24, 2013, 06:12:53 PM
The two of us gave ours a hiding for 6 days each time we used it and empty out time wasn't that bad.

Besides, 2,000,000 flies can't be wrong.

Just think of it as a big chocolate milkshake, only crunchie.  ;D

And watch out for splashback when emptying. :o
Post by: rocket327s on March 24, 2013, 06:56:01 PM
negative splashback with Thetford was a factor in my purchase.. i HOPE it's right  !
Post by: Basel on March 24, 2013, 07:19:42 PM
No splash back with my Thetford as long as you push the air valve release.
Post by: Sawed-Off on March 24, 2013, 08:16:45 PM
With the money I saved on the Thetford, I was able to buy some PPE for when it's time to empty and clean it.

(http://www.draeger.com.au/media/50/01/18/50011829/D-18861-2010_1000__310x267.jpg)
Post by: LC on March 24, 2013, 08:33:16 PM
we have the dometic version - it gets used for everything, although the toilet paper does not do in it. It goes into a paper bag and then onto the fire at a suitable stage ie not when people are cooking, usually towards the end of the night when the fire is hot hot and and most people have gone to bed!

biomagic is our chemical of choice, same stuff in the bottom and top tanks. If the loo starts to get a bit wiffy just chuck a bit more chemical in. Biomagic is suitable for septic systems so you can empty the loo into drop toilets if need be without killing all the composting bugs. I usually seem to be the one that empties the toilet. Sure its not at the top of the list of things I like to do, but if the wife is happy then the rest of us are happy. Reality of it is that emptying the loo is not as bad as changing a two years olds nappy!
Post by: nbd73 on March 24, 2013, 09:00:58 PM
The instructions on these things recommend 1 ply paper, but has anyone tried to buy it ? Maybe on line/eBay, but in store its rarer than rocking horse dung. Good old BCF stocks 2 ply, but not 1. Strange considering they sell toilets that specify this grade.
Post by: Sawed-Off on March 25, 2013, 07:04:45 AM
The instructions on these things recommend 1 ply paper, but has anyone tried to buy it ? Maybe on line/eBay, but in store its rarer than rocking horse dung. Good old BCF stocks 2 ply, but not 1. Strange considering they sell toilets that specify this grade.

Rays has the Thetford stuff. $8 for 4 roll pack.
Post by: DannyG on March 25, 2013, 09:57:12 AM
They will all splash back if your emptying them into your loo at home!! Keep the spout down low near the water, press the home loo's flush button and then gently tip the porto loo into the water while its flushing!!

We use regular loo paper in ours never had an issue. No need for fancy loo paper or chemicals in our experience. Although for those that do number 2's maybe the chemicals are better, we just use homebrand napisan.

The reason we dont normally do number 2's is because we are nearly always near a loo of some sort when we camp. The porta potti sits in the camper for the girls to do wee's during the night to save the cold and or dark walk to the proper loo's.....makes it feel more like home.
Post by: LC on March 25, 2013, 11:15:17 AM
At home ours gets emptied down the sewage inspection riser in our front yard with the hose going to make sure its thoroughly washed out. I think the wikicamps app also has a list or dump points around the country.
Post by: rocket327s on March 25, 2013, 05:47:26 PM
While on the subject of loo's ......... I went to BCF today to purchase a popup ensuite..
$49 small ... got home & the daughter presented me with a Woolworths brochure advertising same for $38 ............. fools rush in  ....
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 25, 2013, 06:23:11 PM

You'll find that maybe a marine chandlery will have it, as they says its the best for a amrine crapper.

A couple of years ago, i used the boat loo (head) and blocked the friggin thing.
When the workshop sorted it out, so to speak, they printed on my invoice.....

"For future reference, a 3 inch turd will not fit down a 2 inch waste pipe." .... i was so proud....  :cup:

Oh, they charged my double the normal rate as well, as thats what they do with crap, which i might add, i was happy to pay.
Post by: Marschy on March 25, 2013, 06:25:34 PM
So are trying to say that one mans turd is another mans treasure?
Post by: xcvator on March 25, 2013, 06:34:49 PM
1 ply dunny paper, youv'e gota be joking, or have veeery short finger nails  >:D
Post by: Marschy on March 25, 2013, 06:42:40 PM
So you can't use wet wipes, damn.
Post by: LeighC on March 25, 2013, 10:09:50 PM
Well done Jeepers, firkin funny
Post by: jnik on March 25, 2013, 10:34:53 PM
[... 1 ply ...] Rays has the Thetford stuff. $8 for 4 roll pack.

What is this? Nouveau Cuisine - the more you pay the less you get?
Post by: Sawed-Off on March 26, 2013, 08:04:59 PM
What is this? Nouveau Cuisine - the more you pay the less you get?

Hehe, yeah, way too much for something you can poke a finger through..

I was on the Rays site last night looking at Maxtrax and for some reason it was offering me that paper for $6.
Post by: rocket327s on March 27, 2013, 04:17:42 PM
I bought a pack of 4 from Rays.. $6.32 after discount
Post by: Bird on March 27, 2013, 06:32:17 PM
1 ply dunny paper, youv'e gota be joking, or have veeery short finger nails  >:D
like the old Brocky Bridgestone ad - Need something with COMFORT AND GRIP.

1 ply - not a ****in chance!
Post by: Marcus73 on March 27, 2013, 06:40:14 PM
Grip??
I don't know about you but personally I'd rather it just glide across the surface. ;)
Post by: Bird on March 27, 2013, 06:41:20 PM
Quote from: Marcus73
Grip??
I don't know about you but personally I'd rather it just glide across the surface. ;)

... not with a portable Shitter, you'd fill it with one good AGB.
Post by: Marcus73 on March 27, 2013, 06:43:04 PM
Ok I think I can work out the B but not sure on the AG
Post by: LC on March 27, 2013, 07:05:01 PM
Ok I think I can work out the B but not sure on the AG

After Grog
Post by: Marcus73 on March 27, 2013, 07:05:49 PM
Post by: DaveR on March 28, 2013, 06:43:16 AM
We are using a traditional potti, flash 1, has a cover, then Dad (me) gets to sort it out.
Now obviously this can be easily improved.
We went into a camping shop yesterday to grab 3 x camp stretchers and sleeping bags for munchkins, and I wanted to ask about them with the intension of learning what is best, but found that speaking with the retired McCrappers staff member was useless.

So this morning a quick search finds me this, thanks swaggers.
I shall make the trip down to a better camp shop today to have a look.

From what I have read here, can I safely assume that the Coleman will do the job nicely and with out splashing hassles when emptying and the Thetford does it all a little better hence the $ value being more.

Question
How secure are these when in transit, I read that some of you empty at home, so is the journey with out incident so to say. Even on bad off road trips?

Post by: jeb1900 on March 28, 2013, 08:26:06 AM
Mine has travelled full on several occasions without incident.  I do however still delegate it to the roof for fear of any potential leak!

When I'm driving with it on the roof, I feel a little like I'm playing Mario Kart and have an Oil Slick power up that I can drop at any time!  ;D
Post by: prodigyrf on March 28, 2013, 10:55:47 AM
I take it these are the typical cheap 20L jobs-
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/350747350711?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/350747350711?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649)
Presumably the zipper carrybag option is easier to pack without scratching things and perhaps the bag is extra waterproof security in case of a leak, not that it ever should.
Anyone had experience of these as it looks like we'll have to carry one to comply with some of the entry rules nowadays.
Post by: DannyG on March 28, 2013, 03:09:43 PM
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/350747350711?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/350747350711?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649)
Presumably the zipper carrybag option is easier to pack without scratching things and perhaps the bag is extra waterproof security in case of a leak, not that it ever should.
Anyone had experience of these as it looks like we'll have to carry one to comply with some of the entry rules nowadays.

Yep that's the exact one I have here that leaks, I've also had the 10 ltr it leaked as well. This is why I bought a thetford as soon as one came up at the right price.
In the cheap toilets defence I am not sure if the leak was from the top fresh water tank or the bottom tank..........I am sure the water on the camper floor was yellow though..............
Post by: KevL on March 28, 2013, 05:34:24 PM
I have a thetford. A 365 I think.
It leaks a bit on corrugated roads. It travels in the front box of the camper and often has 10mm or more of water in the bowl after traveling on a rough road. It's clean water so it finds it's way though the bellows somehow.
Other than that, good unit. I use generic napisan.
It gets used predominately for No 2's and I don't find it smells much at all.
I never camp without it now, SWMBO won't let us.
Post by: Yoda42 on March 28, 2013, 06:01:02 PM
We have a Thetford and got a weatherproof custom bag made for it out of the same material as boat canopies. Modified the jerry holders on the front of the trailer to fit it, and have not had any issues to date, and we've taken it over some rough stuff.
Post by: DaveR on March 28, 2013, 06:08:35 PM
Modified the jerry holders on the front of the trailer to fit it,

I like that idea, I may have to steal it for the mods to our CT, I hope you wont mind.....
Post by: Yoda42 on March 28, 2013, 06:12:10 PM
Sharing is caring ;D
Post by: Yoda42 on March 28, 2013, 07:40:41 PM
Here's a pic, there is a pocket for the green and blue bottles and there is still room for 2 jerrys. We don't bother locking it, if some one wants it, I guess that would make us pissed off and crapped out!
Post by: LC on March 28, 2013, 09:16:52 PM
Ours travels in a bag similar to Yoda42's bag, but in the front gullwing box of the KK. We have never had any leaks either and I actually think that any agitation of the waste tank by corrugations etc helps to break down any solids. We've had the loo in the back of the Prado a few times in its bag and never had any odour or any other issues etc etc.
Post by: rocket327s on March 30, 2013, 02:01:27 PM
Further research into where one can purchase 1 ply paper .......

Woolworths    approx  $1.40/roll
IGA                  special      .98c/roll   
Coles                                                can't remember the exact price but similar to Rays Outdoors
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 30, 2013, 03:21:54 PM
Further research into where one can purchase 1 ply paper .......

Woolworths    approx  $1.40/roll
IGA                  special      .98c/roll   
Coles                                                can't remember the exact price but similar to Rays Outdoors

Look at the bright side with one ply paper, you'll stop biting your fingernails real quick.
Post by: DaveR on March 31, 2013, 01:37:08 PM
Hi Folks
I just went out and got one.
The intension was to go to Go Camping to pick up a coleman poiti as per this link.
http://www.gocamping.com.au/go-camping-products/general/toilets/coleman-large-flush-portable-toilet (http://www.gocamping.com.au/go-camping-products/general/toilets/coleman-large-flush-portable-toilet)
But my 1st thought with it was that the handels are going to be troublesome when wanting to pack into a tight space as per my intended mods to CT, basicaly, an inch is lost on either side due to the radious of these handels.
Also the main material seemed a bit light weight.
I was offered the Thetford 165 at $190,
BCF have these on special now for $135 for a short time.
http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Thetford-Qube-165-Porta-Potti-15L.aspx?pid=325616&menuFrom=20901#Cross (http://www.bcf.com.au/online-store/products/Thetford-Qube-165-Porta-Potti-15L.aspx?pid=325616&menuFrom=20901#Cross)
There is no prise for guessing where I went........
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 31, 2013, 02:54:20 PM

Ted Bullpit goes camping.....

You're not using the port-a-potti, i just Mr. Sheened the bowl.
Post by: xcvator on March 31, 2013, 03:02:09 PM
Ted Bullpit goes camping.....

You're not using the port-a-potti, i just Mr. Sheened the bowl.
You could use  "armourall " for the bowl too, just don't get it on the seat or god knows where you'll finish up  :angel:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 31, 2013, 04:23:55 PM
One good fart and yor off to places unknown....
Post by: pattyann on April 01, 2013, 04:50:43 PM
No need to buy special toilet paper - just do this test on the T P you use at home - Quiton Gold is our home choice and breaks down well in our P P.....

http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=eDLXXRVe2pc&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DeDLXXRVe2pc (http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=eDLXXRVe2pc&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DeDLXXRVe2pc)
Post by: KingBilly on April 02, 2013, 09:38:39 AM
Got a Thetford 365 at end of last month.  Used it for the first time at Easter and the flush pump didn't work.  No stores open on Good Friday so drained the top tank and peered inside.  The bottom of the pump wasn't connected to anything.  Could see a hose flapping around loose.  Couldn't see any way to get inside so just had to make do for the weekend.  Now have to lump it back to BCF and get a replacement.

Post by: jeb1900 on April 02, 2013, 09:50:33 AM
Just finished using BioMagic over the long weekend.  Great stuff, it's excellent how you're able to dump it into pit toilets!! It's far better than using pit toilets, and where we were camping a heck of a lot easier than digging a deep enough hole.  It'll be in my camping kit whenever we're going to national parks from now on.

Way I looked at it over the weekend was that it makes the missus happy, as well as more enjoyable for all camping (myself included).  Using the portable toilet is far more enjoyable than any pit toilet, or public toilet for that matter. 

Using BioMagic, having the flexibility of emptying it where ever you can find a toilet is excellent. 

BTW - I use and have so far enjoyed the Dometic Sanipottie 976, the pressurised top tank is very flash:  http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/hygiene/item/Dometic-SaniPottie-976-Chemical-Toilet.aspx (http://www.tentworld.com.au/products/hygiene/item/Dometic-SaniPottie-976-Chemical-Toilet.aspx)
Post by: prodigyrf on April 05, 2013, 11:21:27 AM
No need to buy special toilet paper - just do this test on the T P you use at home - Quiton Gold is our home choice and breaks down well in our P P.....

Just tried that shake test on Kleenex Cottonelle TP and Kleenex boxed tissues at home and they certainly didn't mush up. That doesn't exactly gel with Kleenex statement about Cottonelle being biodegrad and safe to use in any toilet-
http://www.kleenex-cottonelle.com.au/toilet-paper/biodegradable-toilet-paper/ (http://www.kleenex-cottonelle.com.au/toilet-paper/biodegradable-toilet-paper/)
Assume they're right but that doesn't mean it's ideal for portapots with only a few days between emptys. How does that Quiton Gold go in the shake test by comparison and is the shake test the be all and end all?
Post by: prodigyrf on April 05, 2013, 11:36:02 AM
Some of us like the 'Gripple Effect'  ;D
http://www.kleenex-cottonelle.com.au/toilet-paper/the-gripple-effect/ (http://www.kleenex-cottonelle.com.au/toilet-paper/the-gripple-effect/)
but it does bring back dark memories of a generation with skiddy jocks growing up with that shiny crinkle cut 'C of A' issue dunny rolls in schools and public toilets.

God that was evil stuff but no doubt theftproof and perhaps a leftover from the war because they could use it to patch submarine hulls or the like  >:D
Post by: prodigyrf on April 05, 2013, 11:52:01 AM
Raise any silly question on the net and there'll be an authoritative, definitive answer somewhere-
http://www.davidicke.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-56183.html (http://www.davidicke.com/forum/archive/index.php/t-56183.html)

Post by: KingBilly on April 05, 2013, 02:36:08 PM
Gee prodigyrf, you talk to yourself a lot  ;D

Kb
Post by: Buccan80 on April 05, 2013, 02:55:28 PM

We have the same as this without carry bag that I bought from Aldi a couple of years ago and have had no issues with it at all. Just got back from 5 days of beach camping on Teewah beach 5 adults and 3 kids usuing it for all and no probs at all. I use the Thetford sachets,easy just drop one in no need to measure and when emptying everything was broken down and only smelt of the chemical. Wives were very impressed ;D
Post by: pattyann on April 05, 2013, 05:54:24 PM
The Quilton Gold (not Quiton Gold my typo mistake) easily passed the shake test when I did it - just a couple of shakes and it's mush
Post by: prodigyrf on April 05, 2013, 07:28:13 PM
Gee prodigyrf, you talk to yourself a lot  ;D

Kb

I'm the only one who listens to me anyway but back down to serious business.

Took up that Quilton tip and they only had Quilton 'Marine' and 'Ecoply' at the super so I tried both and they certainly mushed up instantly so Quilton seems to be the go for 3 ply afficionados. I also tried some horrid brown looking 'Naturale' 2 ply brand and it certainly mushed up but Quilton 3 ply is my bottom line now. (I'll drop to Princess Powderpuff that 'Naturale' is what all the glitterati use to remove their makeup hopefully saving the good stuff )

The only other tip I'd have reading those Quilton packs is the Marine variety states it's 'Elemental chlorine free' which might make it better for portapots. So any advances out there on Quilton 3ply brands for the successful mush test?

Post by: grizzly on April 05, 2013, 08:26:14 PM
I was given a porta pottie by my sister last year as she had no further use for it,I dont remember what brand even, used it for a week at The Gorge and emptyed it twice, not the best experience but no worse than a Hybrid loo thats had chemicals dumped in it. Top marks to the Bio magic users :cup: I finally got this product for our Parks Hybrid toilets and with the right mixture they dont stink now, It may not be cheap but I am happy to use it so I can dig a hole  or dump it into any system safely, and Our loo goes with us on our camps now for all the good excuses above. :cheers: :cup: 8)
Grizzly ;D
Post by: Sawed-Off on April 06, 2013, 09:32:59 AM
I just did the shake test on Sorbent long roll stuff. It disintegrated in a just a few shakes. I guess it's good to "go". I'm pretty sure we started using it many years ago because it was safe for septic tanks, back when we had one. :cheers:
Post by: prodigyrf on April 07, 2013, 08:45:43 PM
The links you find googling biodegradable toilet paper and portable toilet, etc-
http://www.cleanwaste.com/demo/go-anywhere-toilet (http://www.cleanwaste.com/demo/go-anywhere-toilet)

Reading those labels I swear those bog roll merchants have a hard time keeping a straight face. As you were folks, by buying that Quilton I've managed to save the worlds forests and reverse climate change for us all before lunchtime.

The puzzler was that biodegradable Kleenex Cottonelle. although you had to go to their website to discover that, unlike the blurb all over the wrapping from those Quilton brands, etc. So I thought hang about, they'll all be suitable for our sewerage system knowing the Gummint so I thought what happens to that unmushable Cottonelle after say an hour in plain water. Bingo! Shake it after an hour in water and it's just like the Quilton so pretty much any 3 ply you like folks.

Edit: Almost forgot. That's not true with those boxed Kleenex tissues you wipe your snoz on so I wouldn't drop them in the portapot. They're obviously made of sterner stuff and into the fire or bin for them.

Post by: rocket327s on April 08, 2013, 01:38:25 PM
OK  seems I can't open the video for the test.
I am assuming one fills the tank & puts selected paper in with generic napisan (in my case), shake & wait for it to break down, correct?
Post by: LC on April 08, 2013, 04:58:41 PM
OK  seems I can't open the video for the test.
I am assuming one fills the tank & puts selected paper in with generic napisan (in my case), shake & wait for it to break down, correct?

Not quite - the video just has two or three sheets in a glass jar with some water. Give it a good shake and see of the toilet paper disintegrates. If it does your good to go, if it does not you might have unpleasant blockage in your porta loo to sort out!
Post by: rocket327s on April 08, 2013, 05:00:36 PM
aaahhh thanks for that, much appreciated,,,,, will now do the test