General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Patt31 on March 16, 2013, 06:30:26 PM

Title: using generators at campsite
Post by: Patt31 on March 16, 2013, 06:30:26 PM
I have a question to pose. When camping what is classed as a decent time to fire up your generator in the morning?

The reason i ask is that we were awoken at 7.30 am this morning by dueling generators. the grey nomads in their caravans didn't know what a 12 volt tv was and had to run their gennies to watch their morning news. bugger the fellow campers, if your not awake you are now. we are still working on qld time so it was 6.30am for us.

oh and they didn't turn their gennies off until after 10 pm either.

Pat
Title: Re: using generators at campsite
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 16, 2013, 06:40:11 PM
A bit unfair as far as I am concerned, now where did that generator ninja go which used to frequent the forum

Post by: Black Diamond on March 16, 2013, 06:43:43 PM
NNNNNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!
That would have been about the time to fire up the chainsaw for a blap :cheers:
Post by: camlisa on March 16, 2013, 06:45:56 PM
Yep that sounds about right. We have experienced this as well. I don't know about a correct time, all I know is to show respect to fellow campers.
Post by: MR MAC GU on March 16, 2013, 06:48:26 PM
I'm not shy, I would have politely walked over, not said anything and turned it off.

I'm sure they would get the hint.

Sent from Behind you...BOO
Post by: GUEY on March 16, 2013, 06:50:44 PM
Where are you camping. 7.30 in the morning seems the norm. 10 at night is not good.
Post by: MR MAC GU on March 16, 2013, 07:22:30 PM
Everywhere has different rules but general etiquette would be mid to late morning and early to late after noon in my opinion.

Sent from Behind you...BOO
Post by: TOPNDR on March 16, 2013, 07:33:23 PM
I'm sad to say that I've not come across too many generator users who can spell etiquette, let alone display it.  Wherever possible, if we see a generator we move on and find somewhere more isolated.

To answer the question though, I'd say after 9 am, off by 5 pm.
Post by: scarps on March 16, 2013, 07:59:17 PM
I say each to their own, but if I'm patient with their generator noise, I expect them to be likewise with my music.

Vivaldi 4 seasons at 6am in the morning.

I never have it up too loud, it doesn't need to be:-)

Post by: Bird on March 16, 2013, 08:01:25 PM
I have a question to pose. When camping what is classed as a decent time to fire up your generator in the morning?

The reason i ask is that we were awoken at 7.30 am this morning by dueling generators. the grey nomads in their caravans didn't know what a 12 volt tv was and had to run their gennies to watch their morning news. bugger the fellow campers, if your not awake you are now. we are still working on qld time so it was 6.30am for us.

oh and they didn't turn their gennies off until after 10 pm either.

Pat
were all their tyres flat?? if not you let the team down not the tyres :)
Post by: krisandkev on March 16, 2013, 08:05:03 PM
If you need to run a generator just to watch TV that badly, then stay home.  >:(  We have come across lots of people in vans who will pick a spot to camp with the only thought is that they can get TV reception!   Crazy!
We love our TV at home, but never take one when travelling and do not miss it.   8)
Kevin
Post by: BernieShelly on March 16, 2013, 08:09:33 PM
Hi every 1 we use a generator when we camp we go as a groop and try and be away from others and put the genni in a spot that muffles the sound we start it up around 9 - 10 am and depending where the kids are sleeping turn it off around 9is . Every 1 to them self !
Post by: scarps on March 16, 2013, 08:15:11 PM
If you need to run a generator just to watch TV that badly, then stay home.  >:(  We have come across lots of people in vans who will pick a spot to camp with the only thought is that they can get TV reception!   Crazy!
We love our TV at home, but never take one when travelling and do not miss it.   8)
Kevin
agree

Post by: Kangaron on March 16, 2013, 08:30:35 PM
Just pick a spot to camp, get on the roofrack with a set of bino's.
If you can see another human, keep looking.

If you need to camp near showers and dunnies etc, gennies are a part of life.

We stay at the odd CP and everytime we swear "never again"
Post by: 2010banditsa on March 16, 2013, 09:35:32 PM
Just pick a spot to camp, get on the roofrack with a set of bino's.
If you can see another human, keep looking.

If you need to camp near showers and dunnies etc, gennies are a part of life.

We stay at the odd CP and everytime we swear "never again"

AMEN!!!
Post by: dazzler on March 16, 2013, 10:01:40 PM
Ahhhh Generators.  The badge that tells the world you are the most important person in the world.   :cup:
Post by: Ropes on March 17, 2013, 12:36:11 AM
Personally I rate gennerator runners up there with people that start vehicles up at sparrow fart and rev the bejesus out of them to warm them up, then hammer past campsites covering them in dust.

With the cost of solar setups these days being so much less than one genny, I see very little need for them.

Do I have one? Yes.
Have I ever used it? No.

To answer the original question,  yes it is too early and too late to be running a generator.

I run the 3 strike rule,
Strike 1. I politely open the owners eyes to the fact that they are not the only people in the area and ask them to be more considerate.
Strike 2. I lose my politeness.
Strike 3. The generator starts to malfunction. Normally stopping at inconvenient times and becoming more and more difficult to restart each time it needs to be stopped, until they get the message.
Post by: GUEY on March 17, 2013, 05:55:39 AM
Personally I rate gennerator runners up there with people that start vehicles up at sparrow fart and rev the bejesus out of them to warm them up, then hammer past campsites covering them in dust.

Ahh that would be the people that don't have the energy to walk the 50mtrs to the toilet but can somehow manage to stay awake till 3am partying.
Or those with children that can't walk that far but then they can run around the campsite all day long in and out of everyone elses sites being pains in the arse.
Post by: 2010banditsa on March 17, 2013, 10:49:30 AM
gee, i must just be lucky, but i never seem to need to camp near anyone else and consequently have no problems with any of these things... hang on a sec, does that make me one of those annoying buggers?
Post by: scarps on March 17, 2013, 11:01:27 AM
gee, i must just be lucky, but i never seem to need to camp near anyone else and consequently have no problems with any of these things... hang on a sec, does that make me one of those annoying buggers?
so are you saying there's a strategy to owning a genne? Noone else will want to camp near you.....
Post by: jetcrew on March 17, 2013, 11:14:49 AM
It just seems to be getting worse out there doesn't, it. With so many people living in seq where we are each camping trip seems to be coming a little less enjoyable with our society adopting the I am king stuff everyone else .

I have a Jenny and if i do have to use it ( not often )my first point of call is the neighbours and ask if its ok and do they have anything they would like to charge as I reckon if they have to share the noise they should share the spoils. ;D

It,s not they Jenny's that are bad it's the owners lack of consideration.

Jet ;D ;D
Post by: Ropes on March 17, 2013, 11:32:45 AM
Yep, consideration is the key here.

I forgot to mention, I am actually more tolerant than one in our group, when he vanishes into the darkness to get a new beverage, silence usually precedes his return. 8)
Post by: TOPNDR on March 17, 2013, 11:33:50 AM
I have a Jenny and if i do have to use it ( not often )my first point of call is the neighbours and ask if its ok and do they have anything they would like to charge as I reckon if they have to share the noise they should share the spoils. ;D

It,s not they Jenny's that are bad it's the owners lack of consideration.

Jet ;D ;D

That's an enlightened approach jetcrew and I suspect there's rarely any knock-backs.
Post by: jetcrew on March 17, 2013, 12:49:38 PM
That's an enlightened approach jetcrew and I suspect there's rarely any knock-backs.

Your so right mate

It is so funny how your approach can change any situation, I have been met with many positive responses from other campers who have actually been happy as their kids needed something or rather charged up..

And some people who have said oh I just got the baby to sleep or my partner is just having a kip or do mind waiting X time and I just work with it .

Who would have a thought generator could make you friends  ;D :D

Like I said I rarely even take  one and use one even less but for anyone who has camped with an inconsiderate user once is def enough..

All this geny talk ..the boss will kill me lol  ;D

Jet :cheers:
Post by: WeLDIN on March 17, 2013, 02:35:52 PM
I had a run in with a grey nomad last weekend at Theresa ck dam that got pretty heated, he thought it was very inconsiderate us to switch his generator off at 10 pm after it had been running since 6:30 am, >:D hes lucky I didn't put my chainsaw through it, after I copped an earful about touching his stuff..... Generators are fine by me between 9-5, outside of that is just rediculous, and I won't put up with it!

.......... My blood is still boiling, another beautiful spot ruined by grey nomads!

Cheers AJ
Post by: Graza71 on March 17, 2013, 03:13:13 PM
We camped a couple of Easters back with our friends down south of Perth. Long story short, we didn't get away as early as we'd hoped to so the first area we wanted to camp was choc-a-bloc so we had to camp in amongst a whole bunch of other people at another area (the down-side to long weekends when you don't want to travel too far...). There was one mob there who ran an old clunker of genny that was about a 5kVA jobby (the old ones they use on building sites) to run their setup of 3 or 4 x 500w halogen lights (yep, you coulda played a game of night cricket without too much trouble...). Thankfully they didn't run it all day, but it did come on about dusk and stayed on until about 9 - 9:30. When they finally turned it off, it was quite humorous to hear the cheers from all around the campsite. Not sure if they got the hint but you could kinda tell they weren't the most popular campers there...
Post by: barnray on March 17, 2013, 03:37:34 PM
One Day you will be a GREY Nomad and suffer from the intollerant juniors. Mate some people have medical needs for a genny. I do but I do use concideration when using it, I am entitalled to use it 24/7 in national parks etc because I have sleep apnea and also need to keep a fridge at 8 deg and below for insulin and before all get on the bandwagon I am also a camper so be fair and Tollerant. Barnray
Post by: GeoffA on March 17, 2013, 04:00:05 PM
One Day you will be a GREY Nomad and suffer from the intollerant juniors. Mate some people have medical needs for a genny. I do but I do use concideration when using it, I am entitalled to use it 24/7 in national parks etc because I have sleep apnea and also need to keep a fridge at 8 deg and below for insulin and before all get on the bandwagon I am also a camper so be fair and Tollerant. Barnray

Tolerance and consideration go hand in hand.

I can't see why a generator would need to run 24/7. Surely a decent solar/battery/inverter setup could be arranged to minimize generator use, and restrict it to daylight hours.

Post by: Marschy on March 17, 2013, 04:12:49 PM
Sorry Barnray, a medical condition does not give you 'entitlement' to running a generator 24/7 in National Parks.
Post by: Darren253 on March 17, 2013, 04:15:59 PM

Surly you could get by with generator for day use, battery and inverter overnight? How many amps do you need? I have 220amp/hrs of battery in my setup and this will run my fridge and 240v requirements for 5-7 days without charge.
Post by: dazzler on March 17, 2013, 05:19:19 PM

As long as you get a good night sleep.  Thats the important thing.
Post by: baz1 on March 17, 2013, 05:20:38 PM
Re : Grey nomads watching TV while camping.

I think that's the difference between 'campers' and 'grey nomads.' Campers are camping to get away from it all and spend time with the family / whatever, usually for a week or so, and so are not interested in watching TV and the like, grey nomads are long term travellers moving around the country who want to have all the comforts of home to hand. Cant't say I blame them, if I was away for twelve months I would probably want my home comforts and be able to watch TV from time to time.

Personally I find generators a pain in the arse, you go to some beautiful spot in FNQ to relax and take in the scenery and its spoiled by machine noise. We had some guy in a caravan last year running a generator near to us at Bramston Beach Council campsite, it was an old generator, we tolerated the noise because we didn't have much choice, but the fumes were blowing into our tents and where we were sitting and gassing us, it was quite bad. When we approached the owner of the generator he said we were the ones with the problem so why should he move the generator? He eventually moved it, but like someone said a little consideration goes a long way. Another time at Bramston Beach another grey nomad was running his generator next to us, not the end of the world but not exactly conducive to relaxing camping either, but fair play to the guy he asked us if it was okay which we appreciated and so we wore the noise for the morning.

I have not had any problems with grey nomads but I have to say up here in FNQ during the winter months they do seem to take over the campsites here, I think there can be a bit of a clash of cultures as 'camping' and 'grey nomading' are two completely different concepts with different modus operandi but we have to inhabit the same campsites on occasion.
Post by: swoffer on March 17, 2013, 06:27:16 PM
God , I cant believe the amount of whining about gens here , you can hardly hear modern gennies for heavens sake .

Harden up a bit campers . ;D
Post by: KingBilly on March 17, 2013, 06:55:57 PM
God , I cant believe the amount of whining about gens here , you can hardly hear modern gennies for heavens sake .

It's not the modern ones which are the problem.  And on the night air, something happening a kilometre away sounds like it is just outside your tent.

People just need to be considerate.  Nothing more, nothing less.

Post by: krisandkev on March 17, 2013, 07:04:47 PM
.......... My blood is still boiling, another beautiful spot ruined by grey nomads!
Cheers AJ

Hey AJ, he sounds like an inconsiderate DH, but don’t label all grey nomads like that.  :angel:  We have had a lot of younger campers ruin a nice peaceful spot, in fact lot of young ones, not just grey nomads!  How about we just call them all 'inconsiderate campers'.  But I hope you were sure that person was not running a generator for medical reasons before you shut it off.

Generators have their place, but we all need to be considerate of others, but the way society is going, things are only going to get worse.
Kevin
Post by: discoteddy on March 17, 2013, 07:05:44 PM

X 2! Live and let live.

Disco teddy
Post by: Patt31 on March 17, 2013, 07:14:49 PM
were all their tyres flat?? if not you let the team down not the tyres :)
i let the team down no deflated tyres but i should have fired up the metallica. we were camped just north of dubbo we have a gennie ourselves but never use it before 9am.
Post by: D4D on March 17, 2013, 07:16:07 PM
I don't mind your gennie, if you don't mind my chainsaw :)
Post by: Canaussie on March 17, 2013, 07:16:20 PM
A bit unfair as far as I am concerned, now where did that generator ninja go which used to frequent the forum

Yes I pulled a little generator ninja last weekend and oh boy what a drama that created!! I turned off to gensets and just coped abuse. I turned one off at 830 bu I was unfamiliar with the rules till 930pm and he other I turned off and 1130. The one I turned off at 1130 remained off till he started at 630am site rules say 730 then he left for whole day. The one I turned off first, well he came up and asked if I turned it off and I said I did the. Coped abuse. Well he complained to mngt and all his mates and wow. The second fellow came and abused me and our family at dinner time with 4 children under 5. Said touch my generator again and ill be sorry, well I don't respond well to threats and so the conversation went down hill, with my mate getting in on it to. Now I know that I should have asked them to turn it down first, and I will next time! But geez do these ppl have no courtesy and 12v battery systems.

What is the point of camping if ya can't enjo the piece and quiet of the outdoors!! Well I wished I still worked for a generator company and cart around a 800kva cummins qst30 to him all day!!;-)

Billy

Sent from Billy's iPhone using Tapatalk
Post by: Canaussie on March 17, 2013, 07:17:18 PM
I had a run in with a grey nomad last weekend at Theresa ck dam that got pretty heated, he thought it was very inconsiderate us to switch his generator off at 10 pm after it had been running since 6:30 am, >:D hes lucky I didn't put my chainsaw through it, after I copped an earful about touching his stuff..... Generators are fine by me between 9-5, outside of that is just rediculous, and I won't put up with it!

Cheers AJ

I had your back while I was hidin in the camper! Lol

Sent from Billy's iPhone using Tapatalk
Post by: D4D on March 17, 2013, 07:19:23 PM
Whilst we're at it what about the snorers and people who cough up a lung whilst they're asleep...
Post by: Black Diamond on March 17, 2013, 07:21:54 PM
I don't mind your gennie, if you don't mind my chainsaw :)
Yes! That's what I reckon :cheers:
Post by: GS on March 17, 2013, 07:25:55 PM
That's Ok! These are signs representing a full life, fulfilled, no care for cholesterol or excessive consumption.

A life well lived...........hang the consequences!
Post by: BernieShelly on March 17, 2013, 07:28:11 PM
My gennie runs through the day to run out fridges mine and friends have had holidays cut short because batteries have gone down or have packed it in the wife and i wont take that chance again as i have said above when i run ours i try and have it away from other campers usually no one aroud us as we camp in a group anything from 2 to 8 familys
Post by: BigJules on March 17, 2013, 07:28:27 PM
I reckon 0900-1700HRS is fine if one needs to run the genset, but outside of these hours could certainly aggravate others. From time to time one might need to stray, but just to watch telly is not on.
Post by: Patt31 on March 17, 2013, 07:36:48 PM
we don't mind gennies just the inconsiderate people who run them at inconvenient times. we are on our 12 month trip around oz but have not needed to use the gennie ourselves as we have a12 volt solar set up and 3 battery system. needs to have no senior awhile before we have to break it out.

for Christmas bought hubby 12volt tv, he has only pulled it out once so far in 5 weeks, so many things to see and do.

we also have no problems with grey nomads, some are very friendly and considerate.

tonight we are camped near the river near Wellington, ahhhh no gennie tonight
Post by: briann532 on March 17, 2013, 07:41:15 PM
So after reading this thread, one could consider the problem has nothing to do with the generator, but the person running it.................. :police:

O.K. my little rant.....
Who got there first?
Where were you - NP CP, SF, property etc?

Circumstance and situation have a lot to do with it and since I wasn't there, I don't know.
But in response to the original post, assuming all situations as expected and the owner of the offending stinkpot was just being inconsiderate, I believe you have a right to ask him to be considerate.
But if it turns pearshaped, be prepared to act or suffer the consequences.

I've had good response and bad responses.
I'm sure everyone has, but sometimes you just have to analyse the situation and take whatever action you feel appropriate.
If they persist, then perhaps your tourettes may have a bad bout while you enjoy an early morning coffee outside their window.................. ;D

Post by: Andrew_C on March 17, 2013, 07:54:01 PM
I rocked up at a campsite a few weeks ago in an area that is designated no generators, some less experienced campers had a yammy 2kva running a proper 240 volt house fridge and a bunnings portable air conditioner in their tent.
Admittedly it was friggen hot, and nobody else around.
I told them if I got any complaints, they would have to turn it off.

In the sites I manage, that's usually how I work it, no complaints and off by dark. Any complaints and one warning, then tell your story walking.

I have just come from a weekend at big river, nobody anywhere near us, I ran the little  Honda for an hour to charge up the stupid coleman hot water unit, these things are designed to go flat half way through a shower.
Post by: Toy pradopetty on March 17, 2013, 07:54:05 PM
Totally agree about the time thing regarding generators. I do have to ask though - those of you who turn other people's generators off- are you approaching the owners first and asking them to turn them off with no response or just turning them off without any correspondence with the owners at all ? I do have a Honda 20 and won't use it once it gets dark. Start up time would be anytime usually after 8 and I normally run an extension lead to behind a tree where it really muffles the noise so I don't intrude on others weekend. Being considerate is definitely the key.  Will I need a flame suit now ?

Frank
Post by: edz on March 17, 2013, 08:08:42 PM
WARNING ADULTS ONLY  Would this Tourrettes be kinder what your thinking off ...     Tourettes Karaoke R.E.M's 'Losing my religion' (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kj_F9yRpx_M#)
WARNING ADULTS ONLY
Post by: McGirr on March 17, 2013, 08:22:16 PM
Forget generators , try camping next to someone who snores their head off  ;D

Do you knock on their tent door and say shut up  ;D

Post by: GeoffA on March 17, 2013, 08:29:07 PM

......why get up???.........just yell......... ;D ;D

Sounds like you've camped near Black Diamond...........
Post by: scarps on March 17, 2013, 08:35:43 PM

good point

Post by: MarkGU on March 17, 2013, 08:38:58 PM

ever camped next to Hairs & Bullfrog?  8)

crank up the gennie for peace and quiet  ;D
Post by: GeeTee on March 17, 2013, 08:56:31 PM
I too have had many a beautiful sunrise and sunset destroyed by gennies (even the silent Honda ones  ::)), sometimes by people doing something as mundane, routine and as easy as boiling a cup of tea!

If you need to charge batteries... sure, I get that, but do it between 11am and 1pm when most outdoorsy people are bushwalking or surfing or swimming, and there is less chance of disturbing anyone else.

If you absolutely, hand-on-heart, cross-my-fingers, pray-to-god NEED to run a gennie any longer, you need to reconsider your hardware and/or the advice you have "researched".

Or maybe a holiday house would be more suitable.

Post by: olddigger on March 18, 2013, 12:41:03 AM
There's a persistent tune running though my head. I think it's from The Sound of Music:

"A spoonful of sugar slows the generator down
"In the must delightful way . . ." >:D
Post by: xcvator on March 18, 2013, 08:30:22 AM
Well I have a "genie" as a back up in an emergency situation should my battery pack (200 amph) ever fail. I carry a letter from my medical specialist that states I MUST access to a power supply, so if I was running my "gennie" and somebody came over and turned it off  I can assure you that person would not be walking away  >:( >:( >:(

Post by: RebsWA on March 18, 2013, 08:51:24 AM
Oh, another generator bashing thread thread. How nice >:(
Post by: jetcrew on March 18, 2013, 08:56:35 AM
Well I have a "genie" as a back up in an emergency situation should my battery pack (200 amph) ever fail. I carry a letter from my medical specialist that states I MUST access to a power supply, so if I was running my "gennie" and somebody came over and turned it off  I can assure you that person would not be walking away  >:( >:( >:(

With all due respect why go somewhere without power. If it is that important Letter or no letter I have seen people removed from camp sites for constant use of generators plenty of power at home I remember the ranger saying. With decent charger you would still only need a few hrs a day to recharge. ;D ;D

Not a geny bashing thread I love mine. But seriously no one needs to run one. 12-18 hrs a day or they have a real issue with power usage and prob should stick to powered sites.

Jet ;D
Post by: Bird on March 18, 2013, 09:10:23 AM
Im loving it too
Post by: GeeTee on March 18, 2013, 09:11:03 AM

yes these discussions do come up with disappointing regularity, here and elsewhere

Unfortunately there are many "campers" who don't understand or respect the peace and tranquility of the Aussie bush
Post by: xcvator on March 18, 2013, 10:20:44 AM
This is becoming an interesting thread if you read between the lines. Things i have learnt so far.

1/ you must be over 30 or you're a yahoo and you stay up all night having a party (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-finger007.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

2/ you must be under 50 or you're a grey nomad and automatically run generators,etc. at inconsiderate times. (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-sad006.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

3/ you must have perfect 100%  health or you must stay at home and vegetate, heaven forbid you go out into the "bush" (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-sad055.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

4/ other people must not take anything with them that makes a sound louder than a pin dropping on carpet, but it's ok for you to have a chain saw (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-whacky084.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

5/ there is a disappointingly high number of "jacks" here (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-rolleyes005.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

6/ I think this is about to happen (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-whacky086.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

:cheers: Keith
Post by: GeeTee on March 18, 2013, 10:31:12 AM
Not sure about your 'reading between the lines' xcavator but most of this thread is filled with people discussing having thier morning and evenings' peace and quiet needlessly disrupted by generators

In response to the OP - again - I've seen signs in campgrounds to the effect of: "gennies only between 11am and 2pm"
I've also seen other signs that say "No Generators"

The people/authorities who manage and maintain these sites obviously regard these signs necessary...maybe that's due to constant complaints from campers!
Post by: Bird on March 18, 2013, 10:32:54 AM
Quote from: GeeTee
Not sure about your 'reading between the lines' xcavator but most of this thread is filled with people discussing having thier morning and evenings' peace and quiet needlessly disrupted by generators
x eleventy.

the original post was about running a genny to watch TV at 7 in the morning.. ****ing not required.
Post by: DannyG on March 18, 2013, 11:06:34 AM
Im not wanting to bash generator users as I have used one myself in the past (respectfully) but I had to laugh recently when we stayed at a caravan park near the city.

We stayed in the non powered camping area because they didnt really have designated sites so it was a nice big grassy area that is away from the general caravan park that we could set up our huge tent with room to spare.

Non powered site $30, powered site $35 a night. The powered sites where huge and would have accommodated us easily.

At around 9:30pm a group came back to 'camp' to their caravan in the non powered camping area and fired up his generator! I couldn't believe it. I think they were only powering lights while they cooked tea because about an hour or so later when he turned it off the lights went out.

It wasnt exactly one of those moments where you need peace and tranquility as we were up and playing games anyway so there was no need for any conflict but I am sure the next morning I heard the people camping next to them ask him if he wanted to borrow $5 to move to a powered site! LOL There were plenty of powered sites available.
Post by: McGirr on March 18, 2013, 12:23:57 PM

We all like to get away camping and some like camping remotely, others enjoy camping in caravan parks etc

We all require power and will carry either solar panels or a generator or both. There will always be people that show no respect for others and make alot of noise, run generators, have loud parties etc.

Post by: jeb1900 on March 18, 2013, 03:26:56 PM
I heard the people camping next to them ask him if he wanted to borrow $5 to move to a powered site! LOL There were plenty of powered sites available.

That's gold mate!  At least there is always a laugh to be had when camping!   :cheers: :cup:
Post by: Diver on March 18, 2013, 03:37:06 PM
That's gold mate!  At least there is always a laugh to be had when camping!   :cheers: :cup:

And they probably used $5 worth of fuel in the genny as well.

Post by: chester ver2.0 on March 18, 2013, 04:03:51 PM
Generator on at 6 and not off till 10 to keep all the bulk meat frozen
Gotta get on the road a 6 before wind comes up so up at 5 banging around
Even through it is a 200 series cruiser the a modern car it still needs to be warmed up for an hour at 5am
Generator on 24/7 so the aircon can run in Darwing due to the buildup
Falling asleep with the TV blaring cause the cant hear it
Telling the park owner it is a standard van then turning up with a converted coach bus and taking up your spot and ours (the park owner was so embarresed that we had booked and they didnt he let us set up in our own backyard)
Showering at 7 with all of us others trying to get to work when you have all day to shower

Sorry i know it sounds selfish but i thought retirement was freedom. I find the Grey Nomads the most routine driven and inflexible campers out there, maybe they dont know how to just go with it. It is pretty bad when i have to get a park manager involved when a nomad realised i was in his spot cause he set up in mine first and then realised he had done himself out of being 1 spot closer to the water (not water front just 1 spot closer) he was then demanding that we both pack up and swap spots and only after i refused and we argued i found out they were only there for 1 night

I am generalising and stereotyping i know as we met some loveley retirees on the road
Post by: Bird on March 18, 2013, 04:19:25 PM
Quote from: chester ver2.0
It is pretty bad when i have to get a park manager involved when a nomad realised i was in his spot cause he set up in mine first and then realised he had done himself out of being 1 spot closer to the water (not water front just 1 spot closer) he was then demanding that we both pack up and swap spots and only after i refused and we argued i found out they were only there for 1 night
I'd have had a boner for sure laughing at him.
Post by: Barry G on March 18, 2013, 04:37:57 PM
Sorry i know it sounds selfish but i thought retirement was freedom. I find the Grey Nomads the most routine driven and inflexible campers out there, maybe they dont know how to just go with it. It is pretty bad when i have to get a park manager involved when a nomad realised i was in his spot cause he set up in mine first and then realised he had done himself out of being 1 spot closer to the water (not water front just 1 spot closer) he was then demanding that we both pack up and swap spots and only after i refused and we argued i found out they were only there for 1 night

I am generalising and stereotyping i know as we met some loveley retirees on the road

Well, I'm probably closer to retirement than the average on the forum, and can assure you that I won't be relying on gennies.
I will be on the road with the minimum possible consistent with basic comfort, so we can set up / pack up as frequently as the mood takes us.  And get away from those with noisy gennies.

I might be 57 this year, but I'm still a light weight camper / bushwalker / cycle tourist at heart!  ;D

We aren't all into 4.00 Happy Hour and bet by 7.30pm!   >:D
Post by: discoteddy on March 18, 2013, 05:09:01 PM
This is becoming an interesting thread if you read between the lines. Things i have learnt so far.

1/ you must be over 30 or you're a yahoo and you stay up all night having a party (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-finger007.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

2/ you must be under 50 or you're a grey nomad and automatically run generators,etc. at inconsiderate times. (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-sad006.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

3/ you must have perfect 100%  health or you must stay at home and vegetate, heaven forbid you go out into the "bush" (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-sad055.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

4/ other people must not take anything with them that makes a sound louder than a pin dropping on carpet, but it's ok for you to have a chain saw (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-whacky084.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

5/ there is a disappointingly high number of "jacks" here (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-rolleyes005.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

6/ I think this is about to happen (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-whacky086.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)

:cheers: Keith

:cup: best reply of the topic so far I recon. Whilst I agree with the contents of the original topic, the timing described would drive most people nuts! There appears to be a total lack of empathy for the position of others , generally like minded swaggers. Of more concern are the number of people threatening malicious and criminal damage to the property of others. Mmmmm makes me wonder if we would all be so brave without the anonymity of the keyboard ??? The evil genie user catches you damaging his genie/tyres and at best the police are called, at worst you, your wife or kids get a visit in the night, worth it I don't think so.

Disco teddy.
Post by: Swannie on March 18, 2013, 05:12:58 PM
Geez, this thread makes we want to go out and get a gennie  >:D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 18, 2013, 05:34:46 PM
I'm gunna go and take the muffler off mine.
Post by: kylarama on March 18, 2013, 05:38:08 PM
This thread has inspired me to drag this old girl out from the shed and take camping.

(http://i689.photobucket.com/albums/vv260/kylarama/2011-04-02231345.jpg)

I need it to run my ghetto blaster so I can listen to my favorite Dennis Leary song. >:D >:D >:D

I was amused many years ago by a fellow camper on the Murray River who took great pride in telling us how he threatened to toss a retired couples genset in the river cause than ran it a bit late one evening.
He was telling us this story while sitting of the bow of his skiboat.  A 19ft Hallet, with a rear mount 400 chev and straight through over transom pipes!  The very same boat could be seen every morning around 7:30am doing mach 1 downstream.
Given the size of this tattoo clad nethanderal I felt it was best not to point that out to him.
Post by: Barry G on March 18, 2013, 05:52:57 PM
Just sad that there seem to be fewer and fewer places where it is possible to 'get away from it all'.

Symptomatic of nowhere being 'off the beaten track' i.e. anyone can now get anywhere, so more and more do.

With:
every dog and its (wo)man can get virtually everywhere with the kitchen sink and a genie to power the kitchen TV!  :'(

The unfortunate result is that peace and quiet is now so much harder to find.
Post by: scarps on March 18, 2013, 06:00:00 PM
This thread has inspired me to drag this old girl out from the shed and take camping.

(http://i689.photobucket.com/albums/vv260/kylarama/2011-04-02231345.jpg)

I need it to run my ghetto blaster so I can listen to my favorite Dennis Leary song. >:D >:D >:D

I was amused many years ago by a fellow camper on the Murray River who took great pride in telling us how he threatened to toss a retired couples genset in the river cause than ran it a bit late one evening.
He was telling us this story while sitting of the bow of his skiboat.  A 19ft Hallet, with a rear mount 400 chev and straight through over transom pipes!  The very same boat could be seen every morning around 7:30am doing mach 1 downstream.
Given the size of this tattoo clad nethanderal I felt it was best not to point that out to him.
He was just charging his batteries:-)

Post by: Teabag on March 18, 2013, 06:20:26 PM
To be honest, I don't worry too much about what others do. If I want peace and quiet, then I go bush where nobody else will be. If you are in a designated camp ground where there will be others then you have to expect noise, it's a nature of the beast. To me, it sound like many are intolerate and if we took the time to communicate we would be in a far better place. Generators, chainsaws, loud exhausts, music, loud talking and what ever else is just life and understand there are others in the world entitled to their choice and it's not all about you. Communication and consideration with a little respect and tolerance goes a long way........:-)
Post by: krisandkev on March 18, 2013, 06:41:56 PM
To be honest, I don't worry too much about what others do. If I want peace and quiet, then I go bush where nobody else will be. If you are in a designated camp ground where there will be others then you have to expect noise, it's a nature of the beast. To me, it sound like many are intolerate and if we took the time to communicate we would be in a far better place. Generators, chainsaws, loud exhausts, music, loud talking and what ever else is just life and understand there are others in the world entitled to their choice and it's not all about you. Communication and consideration with a little respect and tolerance goes a long way........:-)

Well said.   :cup:     I have seen what happens when campers take matters into their own hands. Someone ends up in hospital and someone ends up in court.     Kevin
Post by: BernieShelly on March 18, 2013, 06:57:14 PM
I like camping and i (we) enjoy our self i hate sower and whingy things fist in best dressed dont like it bad luck move on or go in the bush further ! just saying

Post by: GS on March 18, 2013, 06:58:46 PM
Camp next to me with a noisy 6 and 8 year old and you would wish you had parked next to a grey nomad with a generator....

:-)
Post by: Kalebjarrod on March 18, 2013, 08:13:13 PM
I went camping with a mate who borrowed a 6kva diesel generator from work to run his engal cause it no longer ran on 12 volt only working on 240volt

He ran it from 5-6 ish till 10-11 ish at night

Sounded like a midget in a 44 gallon drum trying to break his way out with a lump hammer

Bad weekend...........  NEVER AGAIN
Post by: Graza71 on March 18, 2013, 09:36:29 PM
Camp next to me with a noisy 6 and 8 year old and you would wish you had parked next to a grey nomad with a generator....

:-)

Hahaha gold!!

I reckon I'm in the same boat. My 5 and 8 year olds are quiet at night but they're up at the crack of dawn EVERY day. Sometimes I wish I could camp away from THEM!!  ;D
Post by: sonny on March 18, 2013, 09:53:58 PM

I too agree.  I'm not a grey nomad - yet - but wish I was.  I don't have a genny - and don't want one.  However, I'm sure I've done things in the past which have annoyed other campers.  Whether it be snoring - which I deny but husband insists that I do;  the annoying cough when I end up with the flu sometimes when camping;  or years ago when we had a baby that SCREAMED all night (yes very loudly) when he got an ear infection - bet that really annoyed the other campers around us.   Not something that I would wish on anybody (least of all the poor baby).  Oh and I almost forgot - Zippers !!  Sure they annoy the neighbours during the night too.  Nobody's perfect - and I'm sorry for all the other campers I have inconvenienced over the years, but they have inconvenienced me at times too.  Has it ruined our camping trip - no - Live and let live.  Yes it is really annoying when people blatantly flout the rules - but the agro and retaliation is just not worth it.  We just move on.
Post by: RebsWA on March 18, 2013, 11:01:00 PM

:cup: A sensible and balanced and mature response.  :cup:
              Something for all to think about. 
Post by: xcvator on March 19, 2013, 07:39:40 AM
:cup: A sensible and balanced and mature response.  :cup:
              Something for all to think about. 
Spoil sport, there's no fun in that  :laugh: :laugh:
Post by: gregw56 on March 19, 2013, 08:03:05 AM
I have a gennie and use it when i need to.Although Iam making the move to solar. I always try to camp well away from anyone else.So I don't have to listen to feral kids or family fights , loud music or mamma going of about camping is not for me. When I get a nice spot why do they want to camp next to me. The gennie is one of the first things set up,whether i use it or not if they look like getting to close
I fire it up. Last trip to the murray i had a nice spot not another camp in sight and the feral family want camp right next to me. I control my dog yet they can't control their kids. time for a bigger genset iam thinking
Post by: scarps on March 19, 2013, 09:11:47 AM
In these days of environmentally friendly thinking, I have a solar set up, but guarantee that the sun doesn't shine when you need it to.  Instead of looking an a gennie, I thought maybe a wind turbine or hydroelectric turbine might be the go.  One thing I can be sure of, if the sun isn't shining, it will be blowing a gale or p#ssng down with rain.  Go Green:-)

Post by: GeeTee on March 19, 2013, 09:22:58 AM
There is a very efficient, high-output and (unless you have a noisy exhaust) relatively quiet generator under the bonnet of each and every tow vehicle. It's getting a little off-topic but why so many newbies "think" they "need" the extra weight, expense and fuelling requirements of a portable generator is, for me, one of the great mysteries of the universe!

Like indy trailer suspension and enormous swags, gennies are another triumph of marketing over common sense ;)

(GT ducks for cover...)

Post by: DannyG on March 19, 2013, 10:15:55 AM

Like indy trailer suspension and enormous swags, gennies are another triumph of marketing over common sense ;)

Opinions are great, we all have one!

Indy suspension because it is better, enormous swags because some people like the extra room, genies because some people want 240v. Yep none of them are necessary but like opinions, everyone is entitled to do their own thing  ;D
Post by: KingBilly on March 19, 2013, 10:21:14 AM
Opinions are great, we all have one!

Indy suspension because it is better, enormous swags because some people like the extra room, genies because some people want 240v. Yep none of them are necessary but like opinions, everyone is entitled to do their own thing  ;D

Yes everyone is entitled to do their own thing (within the law and normal society expectations) but people still need to be considerate of others.  If more people considered the impact of their actions on others, the world would be a far better place and we wouldn't be having this conversation in the first place.  That is my opinion  :angel:

Post by: DannyG on March 19, 2013, 10:30:02 AM
Yes everyone is entitled to do their own thing (within the law and normal society expectations) but people still need to be considerate of others.  If more people considered the impact of their actions on others, the world would be a far better place and we wouldn't be having this conversation in the first place.  That is my opinion  :angel:

Couldnt agree more :)

Just on the topic of gennies, I used to have one of those $99 GMC 2 stoke versions (recently sold it at a garage sale for $50! go figure) that had done a lot of work. Towards the end it ran like a pig, it would miss, pop, fart, backfire and was nice and loud. I only used it when up the bush with no else around but I cant help but wonder what the new owner is going to use it for..........he did mention camping :)
Post by: GeoffA on March 19, 2013, 11:33:13 AM
.......but I cant help but wonder what the new owner is going to use it for..........he did mention camping :)

Probably still in Tassie, so that's OK...... ;D
Post by: krisandkev on March 19, 2013, 11:36:45 AM
There is a very efficient, high-output and (unless you have a noisy exhaust) relatively quiet generator under the bonnet of each and every tow vehicle. It's getting a little off-topic but why so many newbies "think" they "need" the extra weight, expense and fuelling requirements of a portable generator is, for me, one of the great mysteries of the universe!

OK, I'll bite   >:D    Noooooooooooooooooooo.  We have had that happen to us when camped in a nice quite spot the bloke besides us starts his car early in the morning to charge his batteries.....    Also not good for the engine.  Kevin
Post by: RebsWA on March 19, 2013, 11:42:48 AM
(GT ducks for cover...)

I'm no newby and my diesel makes more noise at idle than my little lightweight, fuel efficient, about as noisy as a mouse fart!ng, honda genny. :-*
Post by: GeeTee on March 19, 2013, 12:50:29 PM
OK, I'll bite   >:D    Noooooooooooooooooooo.  We have had that happen to us when camped in a nice quite spot the bloke besides us starts his car early in the morning to charge his batteries.....    Also not good for the engine.  Kevin

Yes of course some engines - like some gennies - are noisier than others! (and around we go!)
But for some campers using the vehicle to charge is a better 'solution' than a genny - yet it is something they've never thought of or realised

Sure there may have been problems in the past, but there's no worries with idling any modern engine for a few hours 
Post by: scarps on March 19, 2013, 04:04:22 PM
bump

Time to connect the solar panel. Think this thread might be running out of power?

Post by: Jeepers Creepers on March 19, 2013, 04:33:55 PM
bump

Time to connect the solar panel. Think this thread might be running out of power?

Nah mate, everyone's just refuelling the gennies up.....

Ripstarts at 50 paces in 10, 9, 8, 7, 6........
Post by: Spada on March 19, 2013, 04:37:30 PM

I used to have one of those $99 GMC 2 stoke versions that had done a lot of work. Towards the end it ran like a pig, it would miss, pop, fart, backfire and was nice and loud.

Check the fuel tank for sugar........................
Post by: Teabag on March 19, 2013, 04:57:24 PM
Yes of course some engines - like some gennies - are noisier than others! (and around we go!)
But for some campers using the vehicle to charge is a better 'solution' than a genny - yet it is something they've never thought of or realised

Sure there may have been problems in the past, but there's no worries with idling any modern engine for a few hours 

Idling a diesel for long periods is not good for them, easy way to quickly Glaze them up.......Hence, I try to avoid idling for long periods......
Post by: scarps on March 19, 2013, 06:57:27 PM
It's all Aldi's fault.  They've got a gennie on special next week.

http://aldi.com.au/au/html/offers/2827_26092.htm

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 19, 2013, 07:02:42 PM

It was doomed before it started due to the controversial nature of a noise that most people can't ignore (those that aren't using one that is).

Go Solar ... It's quiet and efficient.

Post by: Mallory Black on March 19, 2013, 07:21:25 PM
Well we're going to Elanda Point and if it;s like other easters there a wind turbine would un the whole place!
Post by: heath74 on March 19, 2013, 07:23:07 PM
Don't use a Genny personally, don't need one. I've camped with people with genys plenty of times and the vast majority of users have been more than considerate.

Can only think of a couple of occasions where I've been annoyed, once when a bloke wanted to run his geny at 5 pm just as the boss and I sat down for a beer. Another bloke wanted to run it after 9 pm.

FIL manages to run his sleep apnea machine of a battery, most of us keep our fridges cold with battery and solar, theres probably less and less need these days for a geny.
Post by: DannyG on March 19, 2013, 10:48:24 PM
Probably still in Tassie, so that's OK...... ;D

Probably camping near me one day knowing my experience with karma!
Post by: DannyG on March 19, 2013, 10:50:25 PM
Check the fuel tank for sugar........................

LOL Never really ran it where anyone could hear it so I dont think that caused it run bad ;) Besides those sorts of things only happen behind keyboards rarely in reality!
Post by: KingBilly on March 20, 2013, 07:57:06 AM
Besides those sorts of things only happen behind keyboards rarely in reality!

You got that right  :cup:

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 20, 2013, 08:05:58 AM
those sorts of things only happen behind keyboards rarely in reality!

It's happened at least once in my experience.    >:D

Post by: edz on March 20, 2013, 10:03:27 AM
In the couple of times Ive tested the O'l sugar in the fuel tank theory " It failed " To do what legend says it does !!
Running  a wrecking yard and this topic came up in conversation one day, so we got a cup full of sugar and put it in a 5 liter tin with a fuel line out of the base straight to the carburettor on a Falcon 6 cyl ... Ran the tin dry "  NOTHING  " .
There was a sickly burnt sweet sort of smell around but the engine ticked over nicely, let it sit overnight and it fired up straight away the next day " Bugger " .
Sooo 4 kg's of suger went into the tin this time, swirled and dissolved as best as we could as the engine ran, it drank the tin dry and again it started  up next day ...
Even a two stroke engine kept running after a couple of doses .

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 20, 2013, 10:19:40 AM

In my experience, it takes 2kg (or was it 4kg??) of raw sugar poured directly in the petrol tank - no stirring required. 

Then simply leave the (not so alleged) criminal owner to drive it as normal.  The engine sounds fine for a few days, but then starts to sound rather ill, then just gives up the ghost completely after about a fortnight.  Keep in mind, I do believe the owner of said vehicle to keep it in a poorly maintained condition.  And I did feel sorry for the vehicle itself ... it did nothing to warrant this horrid treatment.

Perhpas we should submit this one to MythBusters ... I believe it's Confirmed.

Post by: Red Dog 4x4 on March 20, 2013, 10:40:39 AM
Sorry but Mythbusters have tested it already, the sugar made it run better.... These are the Myths from that epasode -

A car engine will be destroyed when liquid drain cleaner is put into the fuel tank.

busted

The engine still ran.

A car engine will be destroyed when bleach is put into the fuel tank.

plausible

The engine soon died out but wasn’t ruined from the experience. The following morning, the inside of the gas tank was covered in rust.

A car engine will be destroyed when sugar is put into the fuel tank.

busted

The engine ran even better than without the sugar.

Adding mothballs to the fuel tank of a car will increase its horsepower.

plausible

The engine still started, but it soon started spluttering. When Jamie pressed the accelerator, the engine sounded more powerful.

When a car radiator is bone dry, cola can be used as a substitute for coolant.

plausible

The car ran with cola in the radiator, but it may cause damage.

When there is a leak in a car radiator, cracking an egg into the radiator will plug the hole.

plausible

The engine was started after the contents of an egg were poured in, and the leak stopped.

A piece of metal can destroy a car engine when it falls in the carburetor.

busted

A penny dropped in could be heard rattling, but the engine still ran.

Adding bleach to the oil of a car can destroy the engine.

confirmed

The engine started but it soon started smoking, and very quickly overheated. The engine was so hot, that the undercarriage started burning and Adam fried an egg on the tailpipe. The engine was ultimately ruined.
Post by: edz on March 20, 2013, 10:45:01 AM
AAHHHH there may be the problem, We used standard white refined sugar, I'd be interested to see the Myth Busters do this one too.
 Kitt, you are right though over time it would have to gum up the valve gear and  cylinders ... thinking about it further, our  two day trial with refined sugar would never have done it .The use of raw sugar would have been better because of the mollasses  coating he sugar crystals..
Post by: cruisindub on March 20, 2013, 01:17:31 PM
Bleach to the oil of a car....!

Hmm, noted.   >:D

(My scumbag neighbors have just seen my big cheesy grin.) 

Ha ha ha...(evil laugh)  >:D
Post by: kylarama on March 20, 2013, 06:23:58 PM
Bleach to the oil of a car....!

Hmm, noted.   >:D

(My scumbag neighbors have just seen my big cheesy grin.) 

Ha ha ha...(evil laugh)  >:D

Valve grind paste added to the oil allegedly works well.
Like the shampoo commercial.  "it won't happen overnight, but it WILL happen"
Post by: BernieShelly on March 20, 2013, 09:09:26 PM
A CRICKET BAT OVER THE KNUCKLES WOULD DO GOOD ( DONT MESS WITH MY GENNIE )

Post by: nbd73 on March 20, 2013, 09:25:52 PM
Time to close this thread.
Post by: Teabag on March 20, 2013, 10:07:58 PM
Back on track or another thread will be closed.
Post by: Desert lover on March 21, 2013, 08:58:18 AM
I'm back on track! 
We tend to use the off the side of the track type campsites whenever we can - and we do indeed like our own company and being away from other campers who hopefully also like the peace and quiet.   We have just purchased a gennie but I can assure you all that, if there are other campers around,  it will be only run for a short time if required to boost the battery levels, not at times when it is obvious others are relaxing with drinks... or trying to sleep.
I hate it when gennies are plugged in and the noise permeates everything around the area.  I hate it worse when caravaners wander in (about 4 pm), park about 50 metres away (when there is hundreds of acres available) and then wander over to introduce themselves and tell us they will be running the generator for a couple of hours  (it got turned off about 11 pm..... go figure!)
Post by: ozmoose on July 02, 2014, 05:55:19 PM
Experienced my first group of completely inconsiderate campers this week. I popped away for a quick trip up on the Murray with the kids.

Pulled up to a nice spot and set up (Quicks Beach). Within a couple of hours five grey nomad warriors pulled up. No problem, they were respectful with where they set up and attempted to provide us with privacy by having their backs to us, if you know what I mean...

Only to hear at 7pm the whir of a symphony of genies...... Two or three were the quite Honda type or similar and whilst a little annoying it wasn't too bad but then their tight arse mate ripped into his Aldi special that idles at 20,000 RPM'S!!!!

They went for about 2-3 hours and were all off by 10pm.  I ground about three mm off my teeth but put up with it, the first night....Next morning they started at 7.30 again. I felt a new twitch developing in my left eye.

The second night right on cue, 7.30pm and screaming... I walked over to politely ask if they were absolutely necessary...They replied that they were necessary for heating their ELECTRIC BLANKETS!!!!!!! I lost my poo and (nearly) politely insisted they turn them off as I didn't drive five hours to listen to generators. To their credit they turned them off but only after letting me know that I should harden up!

Thanks for letting me vent on the forum, I feel cleansed already. I will say that it still didn't ruin a brilliant little trip but a reminder for all out there to be considerate of others. For what its worth I have read through this thread and there are a number of opinions on generator use at camp sites. IMHO running them during the day between say 9-5 would be more considerate than early morning or in the evening when the camp ambience is at its prime.....

The Moose

Post by: firefox on July 02, 2014, 06:26:04 PM
always won't turn my gennie on before 9am, and definitely won't have it running after 5 unless medical emergency which has never happened.

I have often reversed my car in their direction and left my diesel smoking.. Seems sometimes to get the picture (only had to do that once..) the guy came over and asked why i was running my car, i said charging my batteries and drowning out the load gennie. (promptly within about 2 minutes his gennie was turned off.)

The reason why the grey nomads run their gennies late at night is more for heating their hot water. It's amazing the amount of them scared to run their hot waters on gas (as that is needed for the fridge)
Post by: MDS69 on July 02, 2014, 07:34:00 PM
I liked the bit about being told to harden up by a bunch of dills using electric blankets.
Pot...... kettle......... black.
Post by: muzza01 on July 02, 2014, 07:44:50 PM
I liked the bit about being told to harden up by a bunch of dills using electric blankets.
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 02, 2014, 07:57:17 PM
We (well my wife) are guilty in using a geni at 0400 in the morning as she was freezing cold. Cut along story short there were 5 people in swags on the next campsite, that got in late that night. When they got out in the morning, they began to get coffee underway. Before they could light their gas stove I walked over to them with 5 fresh cappuccinos.

They were so happy after telling them my daughter got our doona as she was cold, which left my wife freezing so I had to put the electric heater on.
Post by: lyn4680 on July 02, 2014, 08:08:17 PM
Argh generators... Seems like everything else it takes a few inconsiderate people ruin it for us all. 

I have no problem with them running in the arvo to top up batteries or for medical reasons but do you seriously need to have em going all day and half the night?!?  Next time I'm just gunna nick the spark plugs.

Great, now I need a drink to calm down.

Oh but Bullant, if you're supplying coffees you can run it any time you need...

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk

Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 02, 2014, 08:47:03 PM

Great, now I need a drink to calm down.

Oh but Bullant, if you're supplying coffees you can run it any time you need...

Only use the geni to arc up the capo machine (to grind the coffee etc.) , warm the tent for the family before bed and lighting for cooking. :-)
Post by: feisty on July 02, 2014, 09:03:34 PM
Carried a honda genie for a year but was too embarrassed to use it. After putting up with other generator users realised that if I needed a genie I was doing it wrong without respecting others as I would hope they would respect me.  Those who free camp in the one spot for three months abusing the privilege whilst annoying the crap out of all and sundry shoud go and......... find another place.
Post by: lyn4680 on July 02, 2014, 09:23:03 PM

Post by: Big Damo on July 03, 2014, 07:37:55 PM

no one plans to snore at night but starting up a genny is a conscious decision
Damo
Post by: oldmate on July 03, 2014, 07:56:18 PM

:cup: x :cup:
Post by: Big Damo on July 03, 2014, 07:58:35 PM
We (well my wife) are guilty in using a geni at 0400 in the morning as she was freezing cold. Cut along story short there were 5 people in swags on the next campsite, that got in late that night. When they got out in the morning, they began to get coffee underway. Before they could light their gas stove I walked over to them with 5 fresh cappuccinos.

They were so happy after telling them my daughter got our doona as she was cold, which left my wife freezing so I had to put the electric heater on.
Should be standard policy for anybody starting up a generator early in the morning to provide café quality coffee for all those putting up with the noise
Damo
Post by: steppenwolf on July 03, 2014, 09:54:25 PM
Sorry Barnray, a medical condition does not give you 'entitlement' to running a generator 24/7 in National Parks.
Spot on mate. A medical condition - this is a grey-haired person with sleep apnoea and diabetes  talking here - means you are entitles to one thing first. It's this - you're entitled to spend your camping $$$ on enough solar panels and batteries to fix your needs. After that, maybe time to wind the personal entitlement meter back a bit. After all, we all come equipped with one, no need to think we're unique there.
Post by: feisty on July 03, 2014, 09:59:36 PM
Spot on mate. A medical condition - this is a grey-haired person with sleep apnoea and diabetes  talking here - means you are entitles to one thing first. It's this - you're entitled to spend your camping $$$ on enough solar panels and batteries to fix your needs. After that, maybe time to wind the personal entitlement meter back a bit. After all, we all come equipped with one, no need to think we're unique there.
Hear hear. Well said.
Post by: Coiled on July 04, 2014, 02:12:25 PM
I have used Genie's over the years when we have camped well away from others and for an annual boys trip that no one would want to be within cooee of anyway noting that we clean up properly before leaving.

I recently inherited/borrowed my fathers redundant Yamaha and have rarely used it mostly because I generally don't need to and I find it embarrassing.

I have however started to use it as we have had a couple of trips lately where running the diesel heater and the inverter to power my fathers sleep apnea machine in his nearby tent along with lights and fridge/freezer and combined with rain and very overcast conditions has seen the battery levels get very low after a couple days despite 150 useable amps and 320w of solar. In these situations I have tried to wait until other campers have set off for the day or keep it limited to use between 9-4 and only for a max of 4 hours to charge up to 100%. I also try to direct the exhaust away from others even if it means it is facing directly at us.

I think my above approach above is reasonable and I certainly like the suggestion of asking others first or offering a charge if they need it.
Post by: SteveandViv on July 04, 2014, 02:43:22 PM
I found it handy to need to tune the chainsaw early one morning after having to put up with a bunch of Genny using folk (All Night) while out the back of Lithgow (newnes). Mind you, once some one decided we all needed to listen to them playing bagpipes at 6am -  >:(
Post by: MDS69 on July 04, 2014, 03:53:47 PM
I don't have one but there is nothing wrong with using generators if you are respectful of others ie don't run them all day and definitely after 5.00pm.
It appears everyone here who admits to using one are respectful.
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 04, 2014, 04:42:30 PM
I think I would prefer to sit next to an eu30is than a drunken mob of "Caring Understanding Ninety Types" shouting tequila  :cheers: all night?

Hang on, they say you must love yourself before someone can love you? So I retract my last comment lol  ;D TEQUILA

Post by: Ynot on July 04, 2014, 07:28:41 PM
If you sneak over and switch them off make sure you put the switch back into the run position after it stops.
If you are lucky you get them checking fuel and if you do it a few times the jackpot is when they pull the spark plug out!

Post by: Snapman007 on July 04, 2014, 08:13:40 PM

I don't think he meant that he runs his 24/7 when he's camping. I understood it "as I'm ALLOWED to use it 24/7 but use consideration."
I hope I'm wright or maybe my ship sailed early. :cheers:
Post by: grafy82 on July 04, 2014, 09:42:36 PM
Well he can't cause Mr Abbott said the age of entitlement is over  ;D
Post by: barnray on July 04, 2014, 10:22:10 PM
I don't think he meant that he runs his 24/7 when he's camping. I understood it "as I'm ALLOWED to use it 24/7 but use consideration."
I hope I'm wright or maybe my ship sailed early. :cheers:
I am allowed to use 24/7 and I do use consideration, I also have solar (160watts) and 240watts of battery and a car alternator and all jokes aside I could run the car and not be penalised. But the sun hides behind clouds and it rains and batteries go flat so when all else fail;s I will use a geny (eu20) and if you turn it off !!!!!!!!! watch out. B
Post by: grafy82 on July 04, 2014, 10:52:38 PM
I am allowed to use 24/7 and I do use consideration, I also have solar (160watts) and 240watts of battery and a car alternator and all jokes aside I could run the car and not be penalised. But the sun hides behind clouds and it rains and batteries go flat so when all else fail;s I will use a geny (eu20) and if you turn it off !!!!!!!!! watch out. B

Settle down champ. No need for threats. No one on here would want to cause you harm or discomfort when you have legitimate medical issues. If someone asked you to turn it off, I'm sure you could explain your situation in a civilised manner and they would be fine with that.
  Ain't it funny how we're all 10'2" and built like Arnold behind our keyboards.
Post by: The punter on July 04, 2014, 11:20:35 PM

So everyone else just has to suck it up huh?
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 05, 2014, 06:58:56 AM

I am allowed to use 24/7

I would just turn my music up that loud and start my chainsaw every 30min while shouting tequila every 5min, all night long that you would either turn it off or move on. And if it was after the 6/7 tequila I recon you would move on :) :D
Post by: deepop on July 05, 2014, 07:44:51 AM
Consideration is the key!

By the way, who's making me espresso's in the morning?
Post by: Malcolm Tugless on July 05, 2014, 09:24:49 AM
We must camp in the right places, I've never had an issue with excessive running of generators. Most people tend to run then for a couple of hours in the afternoon, and tend to be quite conscious of positioning them so as not to annoy the natives.

Most of our camping is coastal national parks, so maybe that why.
Post by: Bullant4x4 on July 05, 2014, 09:50:04 AM
It's illegal to use a geni in a National Park.
Post by: The punter on July 05, 2014, 10:58:25 AM
I think if you have a medical condition that means there could be an scenario where you need to run one 24/7 then you should either find a place which does not have other campers or use caravan parks with 240V. Claiming entitlement because you are crook is just selfish and inconsiderate.
Post by: dazzler on July 05, 2014, 11:07:48 AM
I think if you have a medical condition that means there could be an scenario where you need to run one 24/7 then you should either find a place which does not have other campers or use caravan parks with 240V. Claiming entitlement because you are crook is just selfish and inconsiderate.

Bingo!

Part of the entitlement generation I am afraid.  The funny thing is many of the entitlement generation delight in slagging off young people as selfish..

Someone mentioned national parks earlier.  Now I remember why I love them so much.  No gens and no dogs and no chain saws.  Just camping.
Post by: Bird on July 05, 2014, 11:13:58 AM
Quote from: The punter
x eleventybillionteen.
Post by: feisty on July 05, 2014, 11:23:42 AM
x eleventybillionteen.
I'll see your eleventybillionteen and raise you twenty eleven brazillion.

Just because you can do something does not make it right.....
Post by: Ynot on July 05, 2014, 12:51:59 PM
Brazillion? There's a pun there that i might leave alone.

Post by: scubasteve on July 05, 2014, 12:53:00 PM

Only been to 2 N/P in Qld ,and both time's people ran genset's, not happy Jan. >:(
Post by: feisty on July 05, 2014, 01:05:55 PM
Brazillion? There's a pun there that i might leave alone.

It's the old joke.
George w Bush is told by his advisors that overnight there have been casualties in Iraq.  2 US advisors and two brazillian soldiers. He looks down at the ground in shock for 30 seconds and then says... so how many is a brazillion?

Any back on topic.

Campers hate generators because.....
Post by: SteveandViv on July 10, 2014, 01:06:42 AM

Settle down champ. No need for threats. No one on here would want to cause you harm or discomfort when you have legitimate medical issues. If someone asked you to turn it off, I'm sure you could explain your situation in a civilised manner and they would be fine with that.
  Ain't it funny how we're all 10'2" and built like Arnold behind our keyboards.

Isn't it. All a bit pathetic really,  >:D
Post by: duggie on July 10, 2014, 07:39:31 AM

There are some National Parks in Queensland that are Generator friendly. But the generator must meet the minimal DB noise level.

cheers duggie

PS I do take my Honda Generator camping , but It depends where I am going and for how long.