General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Mace on March 15, 2013, 03:19:41 PM

Title: Moving South, lm here.
Post by: Mace on March 15, 2013, 03:19:41 PM
Looking at changing jobs and location at the moment, exciting times. Into the costs negotiation stage.

What I cannot believe is how flaming costly it is to move over Bass Straight.  50m3 = $7500.

And, when doing one of the quotes, I forgot to put the 6ft Wooden dining table on.  When I asked for a revision, the cost went up $320.  Fair dinkum, If it hadnt been in the family for 80 years, i'd take it out into the back yard and put it in the fire pit, along with the 6 chairs that go with it!

So, stay tuned southerners, the Myswag member count down there mite be increasing by 2 (dont kno about the IQ count tho)  8)

Title: Re: Moving South is Expensive!
Post by: Bird on March 15, 2013, 03:22:30 PM
going to be a bitch to arrange the next Tolmie weekend From Tassie aint it? ;)
Post by: Bunyip on March 15, 2013, 03:24:03 PM
Noooo, I did not get to go on a Mace led High Country trip.

Promise you will come back to organise another trip, pleeeeeeeeeeease.

Post by: Mace on March 15, 2013, 03:34:26 PM
Quote:

Post by: gronk on March 15, 2013, 03:41:51 PM
Pretty unusual to see someone actually moving TO Tassie....normally the other way round..

I think it's the only place in the world where the population hasn't increased in the last 50 yrs !!   ;D
Post by: Mace on March 15, 2013, 03:47:22 PM
Pretty unusual to see someone actually moving TO Tassie....normally the other way round..

It is a very good job!

Some of the extended family have gone south over the last few years, and both of us have family that passed thru there many years ago  8)

We have thought about moving down for a few years, love the place.  Just had to wait for the right job to come up.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on March 15, 2013, 03:50:34 PM

Don't forget to pack your snow shoes / fire boots / swimmers / raincoat / wind protection gear ... and that's just for Thursday the 29th!

Post by: Swannie on March 15, 2013, 03:52:29 PM
Hi Al, yep everything freighted into Tassie is very expensive. I freight Glass into Perth cheaper from the eastern states.

I'm over there all the time I love Tassie

swannie

Post by: noel_w on March 15, 2013, 03:54:12 PM
So, stay tuned southerners, the Myswag member count down there mite be increasing by 2 (dont kno about the IQ count tho)  8)

So does tassies HEAD count go up my 4?  :laugh:

Congrats mate, enjoy the cold whilst there. Us Qlders don't know what the cold is like.
Post by: Mace on March 15, 2013, 04:00:18 PM

So does tassies HEAD count go up my 4?  :laugh:

Having lived in the backwoods of North  East Vic for many years, I still have the scar on the back of my neck from the "other".

Don't forget to pack your snow shoes / fire boots / swimmers / raincoat / wind protection gear ... and that's just for Thursday the 29th!

Spent a great time in Hobart a week or so ago, the Derwent was like a sheet of swannies glass for the entire 3 days.

We will be taking our Sorels however, when/if everything falls into place.
Post by: Mandrake on March 15, 2013, 04:01:22 PM
Mace

Might be cheaper to hire a 40' container and ship it yourself ...

I might be able to help with that through my old freight forwarding network ...

Checked with my mate the freight manager and he thinks 8K for 50m3 to Tas is cheap !!!

So can't help anymore ... Steve
Title: Moving South is Expensive!
Post by: dazzler on March 15, 2013, 04:29:09 PM
When we moved back I bought an 8x 5 box trailer and a hilux t/top. The trailer goes on the tray on the trip out and gets filled up and towed on the way back. Book a share cabin on the boat.

Sold the hilux after. This was the cheapest way I found. Garage sale furniture that is not heirloom and buy new stuff down here.
Post by: gowalkabout on March 15, 2013, 05:54:18 PM
When we moved down here from Canberra about 8 years ago Grace removals were the best priced by a looong way. Other than that try Chris bell removals and ask about using them as a back load, they gave me a quote a few years back to get a 20' boat and a trailer from QLD to Hobart of only $700

Post by: Jenko67 on March 15, 2013, 06:04:09 PM
Hey Mace, is it better to sell everything and just start again down there? Other than your camper and vehicle, clothing etc??? The problem is selling your stuff on the main land.

Just a thought..

Scott
Post by: Mace on March 15, 2013, 06:14:11 PM
Grace removals were the best priced by a looong way. Other than that try Chris bell removals and ask about using them as a back load,
Thanx, will follow up.

Checked with my mate the freight manager and he thinks 8K for 50m3 to Tas is cheap !!!
So can't help anymore ... Steve

Thanx for even contacting him Steve.

Sell Garage sale furniture that is not heirloom and buy new stuff down here.

Hey Mace, is it better to sell everything and just start again down there? Other than your camper and vehicle, clothing etc??? The problem is selling your stuff on the main land.

We have rapidly reached that conclusion.  I reckon a few "free givaway" Garage Sales are the go.  If its not important, its not going!  The CT will not be in that category. The rest can go to Saint Vinnies.

Post by: BrettnJules on March 15, 2013, 06:47:57 PM
Oh no ....more migrants, >:( sometimes if you can find a trucking contractor coming down this way part empty, they will do it cheaper, there a few that live down here and work their trucks on the mainland, and bring their trucks home periodically .
Any way welcome and I encourage more mainlanders to come on down, the last influx doubled home prices overnight , must be that cycle again soon hopefully :cheers:
Post by: dazzler on March 15, 2013, 06:49:55 PM
I worked out roughly what it cost per m2 of space to ship.  That made deciding REEEEAAAAAL easy!  LOL.

If you are heading down Hobart way we have an acre if you need somewhere to park stuff for a bit. 
Post by: DannyG on March 15, 2013, 06:56:32 PM
It will be good to have you down here mate. Sing out if there is anything I can help you with locally, we have a huge back yard if need a place to set up the camper for a while

And before dazzler and Tas130 brain wash you......the northern end of the state is the best :) Oh and watch out for BrettnJules and Marcus73................

And just one other thing, the stick was huge....................ask fishfinder he was too scared to even approach it........
Post by: Mrs smith on March 15, 2013, 07:15:06 PM

And before dazzler and Tas130 brain wash you......the northern end of the state is the best :) Oh and watch out for BrettnJules and Marcus73................

One of my mates grew up on the northern end of the isle and he reckons
"Hobart's not really part of tas". lol

Good luck with it Al.
Post by: fishfinder on March 15, 2013, 07:19:42 PM
18 months back i got freight company to load all we had in a sea container from Perth W.A. to the north coast of Tasmania as DannyG mentioned the better side, and had change from $5000 - surely freight has not increased that much. But steer clear of drivers in Patrols with out warning they will throw their vehicles in reverse if they spot a tooth pick blocking their way. And dont go to mad selling everything as their was alot we could have fitted in the container which we sold and wished we had not.
Post by: TasJK on March 15, 2013, 07:42:08 PM
We had all our stuff moved from Rockhampton to Hobart for about $5k. About the same sized load too!
But, regardless, welcome to Hobart! If your moving to this part of the state give us a yell!
Post by: austastar on March 15, 2013, 08:04:54 PM
  some years ago I was looking for an old ute, and phoned about one that was advertised with Vic registration, and I was curious as to why the Vic plates as he was obviously a local farmer.
He has horses, and the cheapest way for him to get a load of barrels of molasses to Tasmania is to fly to Melbourne, buy a clunker ute, load it with barrels and return home on the Spirit and then sell the ute at the higher local prices.

A similar move by a friend from South Australia, moving to Tas, was to buy an old moving truck, load it up for the Empress (as it was then) and do his own move.
He sold that truck here at a cost which covered its purchase and fare/fuel for the trip.

Might be worth while checking out if it will work for you.

p.s. You will love it here, promise.
Post by: Mace on March 15, 2013, 09:05:03 PM
thanx for all the tips and hospitable greetings.! 

The third quote came in this evening, $4700!  That sounds a lot better, almost unbelievable considering some of the info given previously, although I was a bit more realistic on the inventory, and got it to just under 40m3.

Now looking at storing some stuff here for later return trips, a pretty smart idea.

I'm very lucky as  the role offered to me is in the Building Management Division of the largest Educational provider down there, so, although its based in Sandy Bay, I'll be required to visit campuses in the North regularly.  So, no north/south divide for this little black duck.

Now, better check out Boatsales.com

Post by: Swannie on March 15, 2013, 09:17:08 PM
Well done al.

Post by: Black Diamond on March 16, 2013, 08:39:18 AM
Don't forget to get a map of Tassie before you go  8) ........ Somebody had to say it ;D
Title: Re: Re: Moving South is Expensive!
Post by: Marschy on March 16, 2013, 08:42:34 AM
Don't forget to get a map of Tassie before you go  8) ........ Somebody had to say it ;D

Mace, once you get your map of Tassie, please post some pics of it up for all to see :-)
Post by: UIZ733 on March 16, 2013, 08:58:57 AM
Don't forget to get a map of Tassie before you go  8)
Due to the ever increasing popularity of new fangled electronic navigation devices, I have heard it is hard to find one these days  8).
Post by: fishfinder on March 16, 2013, 09:12:06 AM
Due to the ever increasing popularity of new fangled electronic navigation devices, I have heard it is hard to find one these days  8).
and they're all touch and play these days :)
Post by: POD on March 16, 2013, 09:23:29 AM
and they're all touch and play these days :)

Some of them you can even pinch and rub with your thumb and index finger and it makes them expand and contract.
Post by: BrettnJules on March 16, 2013, 10:18:26 AM
No you don't need a map to find your way around down here , if you just remember there is one road that takes you from the top to the "bottom"', with plenty to see and do in between, and so long as you remember there has been a few bush fires down here and we are a tad bare and dry at the moment , but nothing a good sprinkle wouldn't fix... >:D

P.s damn greens are trying to lock all our forests up at the moment, and can be blamed for a lot of overgrowth ;D
Post by: TasJK on March 16, 2013, 11:54:14 AM
Dry? Think that dry spell just broke! Damn, will have to mow the lawn again!
Post by: Marcus73 on March 19, 2013, 12:19:19 PM
largest Educational provider down there,

Centerlink??
Post by: fishfinder on March 19, 2013, 06:01:12 PM
Centerlink??
un educated educational provider
Post by: Mace on March 20, 2013, 01:42:33 PM
Jobs done,

Offer Accepted, Resignation letter sent.

No turning back now!

Am I allowed to drink Boags in Hobart?  Ive been buying the 30 can blocks here since we were over last september. 8)

Post by: VKPrado on March 20, 2013, 01:57:03 PM
Jobs done,

Offer Accepted, Resignation letter sent.

No turning back now!

Am I allowed to drink Boags in Hobart?  Ive been buying the 30 can blocks here since we were over last september. 8)

Is there any other type of beer made in Tasmania?  ;D
Most likely cheaper to buy where you are as it always seems dearer here where it is made than in other states?????
Post by: BigJules on March 20, 2013, 01:57:35 PM
Strewth. Can you manage the financial commitment of coming back to the mainland to organise and run the high country trips?  :laugh:

Best of luck Al, in the new town and the new job.
Post by: Bunyip on March 20, 2013, 06:44:58 PM
Congrats on the new job. Good luck with the move.

Remember you will have to organise another high country trip in about a year (well a year after I get a job).  ;D

Post by: xcvator on March 20, 2013, 08:40:56 PM
Congratulations Al, :cup:, we could  work out a fly/camp trip sometime, plenty of room in my camper, but bring your own bed , coz I'm not like BD  :angel:

cheers Keith

ps can I have your trailer back ?

pps. on second thoughts.............nah
Post by: Swannie on March 21, 2013, 06:18:17 AM
Well done Al. Good luck.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 21, 2013, 06:56:10 AM
Well done Mace, good luck with the move. When do you leave for the quiet Island?

HH
Post by: Marcus73 on March 21, 2013, 07:29:33 AM
Well done. Look forward to meeting you at some stage.
Post by: Mace on March 21, 2013, 09:00:13 AM
Well done Mace, good luck with the move. When do you leave for the quiet Island?

First working day April 15.  SHMBO and cargo scheduled for 4-6 weeks later. I have a shed to clean out between now and when I go.  Many trips to the tip and St Vinnies to come, and quite a few bottles of home brew to consume as well.  :cheers:
Post by: Kris on March 21, 2013, 10:46:29 AM
Goodluck Mace.  Big climate change!!

:cheers: Kris
Post by: gowalkabout on March 21, 2013, 02:40:45 PM
Congrats on the change. Yell out if you need a hand with anything I'm sure any of us swaggers down here would be happy to help.
Ps. Nobody drinks that boags stuff they all drink xxxx  ;D
Title: Re: Moving South is sending me round the bend!
Post by: Mace on April 09, 2013, 06:35:39 PM
if you need a hand with anything I'm sure any of us swaggers down here would be happy to help.

Freakin heck, im overit.  Not enuff hours inthe day.
Cant pack and view myswag a tthe same tinme, suffeing from sppewa speak aqnd myswag deprivatiuon.
Have renewed the side fence, put in a new toilet, put down new lino in the laundry, and pianted the front bedroom. all since sunday!

im Booked into the ferry on friday, stioll eleventy trips to the recycling centre and st vinnies to go. SHMBO still here 4 foru weeks to pak the remaInder.

Then, hac ve tix to kangaroos v swans at blundstone arena on the saturdfay arvo.   
i will turn up to work on monday absolutely screwed!

Title: Re: Moving South is sendin me insane!
Post by: fuji on April 09, 2013, 06:58:59 PM
Now who's going to pick up at the train station when we buy our next car????
Post by: gazq on April 09, 2013, 07:21:57 PM
Welcome to Tassie and to UTAS!  If you are based in Sand Bay you will likely end up in my building with the rest of Corporate Services.  I'll shout you a coffee sometime.

-gazq
Post by: Black Diamond on April 09, 2013, 08:34:14 PM
Alan NNNNNNNOOOOOOOOOOO where are you going!
Oh well we will have to drink more next time we catch up. Good luck on your new venture mate :cheers:
If you need a map of Tassie, ill try and sort one out for you. ;D

Title: Re: Moving South is sending me round the bend!
Post by: Bird on April 09, 2013, 08:37:13 PM
Freakin heck, im overit.  Not enuff hours inthe day.
Cant pack and view myswag a tthe same tinme, suffeing from sppewa speak aqnd myswag deprivatiuon.
Have renewed the side fence, put in a new toilet, put down new lino in the laundry, and pianted the front bedroom. all since sunday!
Do you need to store some Shit for a week or 2?
I can head up to your joint on Saturday with the 8x5 and bring some home here in the shed for a few weeks.

I say few weeks, I have my oldest mate (40 odd yrs) who has 1/2 my fukin shed with his Shit stored in it - for 2 years now....
Post by: GanG on April 09, 2013, 10:09:17 PM
Looks like we will have to cross paths later Al, I missed this thread till today, good luck with the new job mate :)
Post by: Mace on April 10, 2013, 05:11:30 PM
Now who's going to pick up at the train station when we buy our next car????

Dont worry, I still have contacts!

If you are based in Sand Bay you will likely end up in my building with the rest of Corporate Services.  I'll shout you a coffee sometime.

I think Im up on the second floor with the rest of the Building Services crew.  Look forward to catching up.  I find the idea of being able to walk out of the end of the office onto hard ground interesting, not to say that the campus is steep or anything!

Do you need to store some **** for a week or 2?

Thanx for the offer.  Ive seen your shed and I reckon that I would bring more redbacks than your mate ever had.
What doesnt fit in the move will be repatriated locally, either to the tip, or to the farmhouse up in Tolmie.

Looks like we will have to cross paths later Al, I missed this thread till today, good luck with the new job mate :)

The 270 will travel later, different place, different target.  Will miss the sambar, not that Ive done a lot in the last few years. Keep in touch if you're over that way.  :cheers:

If you need a map of Tassie, ill try and sort one out for you. ;D

Looks like our joint trip to the national meet wont happen pal.  Think we will be a non starter now.  We'll catch up sometime no doubt. 

I have a 3D map of tassie on order to hang on the wall once we get there, the relief is outstanding!

Post by: Black Diamond on April 10, 2013, 07:25:13 PM
What a bummer Al, I might pop down for a visit one day. I've never been to the Apple isle :cheers:

John
Post by: Bunyip on April 10, 2013, 07:39:15 PM
When you say driving you insane, weren't you already there moving South in the first place?  >:D

Love the apple isle, would love to move there myself but work is sooo limited. Maybe once the kids are all out of the house.

Post by: Bird on April 10, 2013, 08:12:33 PM
Quote from: Black Diamond
What a bummer Al, I might pop down for a visit one day. I've never been to the Apple isle :cheers:
Blokes trip!
Post by: Black Diamond on April 10, 2013, 09:23:41 PM
Blokes trip!
Yes! I'm in for that mate :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Swannie on April 10, 2013, 10:58:00 PM
Al, I fly in and out of tassie every couple of weeks. If you need something brought over or back that can go on a plane just ask

Title: Re: Moving South, lm here.
Post by: Mace on April 15, 2013, 07:56:36 PM
Than pal. Will keep in mind.

Arrived last Saturday, first day at work today. Haven't found Gaza yet, he works in the same building by the sound of it.

Great so far, drove from the ferry straight to blundstone arena to watch the swans/kangas match. Fantastic ground.

Dealt with the rush ten minutes to work pretty well. Not often that you can drive thru the city centre in that time.

Another 4 weeks of batching until shmbo arrives. Need to find a home that isn't built on a cliff sometime soon.

Post by: gazq on April 15, 2013, 08:05:00 PM
Than pal. Will keep in mind.

Arrived last Saturday, first day at work today. Haven't found Gaza yet, he works in the same building by the sound of it.

Need to find a home that isn't built on a cliff sometime soon.

Office 222 I'm the guy with beard and the yankee flag hanging behind him.   ;D

Let me know if you need a heads up on some of the burbs.  When we moved to Tassie my wife and I had no idea what was good or notorious for the wrong reasons. 
Title: Moving South is sendin me insane!
Post by: Marcus73 on April 15, 2013, 08:07:57 PM

Dealt with the rush ten minutes to work pretty well. Not often that you can drive thru the city centre in that time.

Another 4 weeks of batching until shmbo arrives. Need to find a home that isn't built on a cliff sometime soon.

Welcome to Tas.
Isn't the traffic horrific?
I remember being told how bad peak " hour " can be when I first moved here. What a joke that was. Mind you I did have to wait for 2 light changes the other day, it was absolute chaos ;)
If you're looking for a place on flat land..... Bwahahaha... good luck!
One last thing... Enjoy the southerly breeze down there ;)
Post by: Mace on April 15, 2013, 08:27:09 PM
Office 222 I'm the guy with beard and the yankee flag hanging behind him.   ;D

Let me know if you need a heads up on some of the burbs.  When we moved to Tassie my wife and I had no idea what was good or notorious for the wrong reasons.

Cheers, will investigate soon.

Have already realized that Brighton in taz doesn't have the same credos at Brighton in Vic. Want something reasonable, looking at a nice Villa in west moonah tmoz, need to check if the ct can be stored. Would like to go south, but $$$ limited atm.

If you're looking for a place on flat land..... Bwahahaha... good luck!
One last thing... Enjoy the southerly breeze down there ;)

I know, we are in the roaring 40s, resigned to that. 

Post by: Bunyip on April 15, 2013, 08:48:22 PM
I am sooooooo jealous.

Would love to move to Tassie, employment is the only issue.

Post by: Marcus73 on April 15, 2013, 09:07:55 PM
I am sooooooo jealous.

Would love to move to Tassie, employment is the only issue.

We did it about 7yrs ago now with absolutely no regrets. Love the place. The lack of employment available is a big issue here atm, although its the same in most places so I'm led to believe. If you're seriously keen give it a crack and you never know. Swmbo got her job before she even got here, so you never know unless you try it. I'm self employed so I had to give me a job :)
Post by: Bunyip on April 15, 2013, 09:34:42 PM
Yeah, pretty tough getting a job in Sydney at the moment as well, I know heaps of IT guys moving all around the country to get jobs.

Problem for me is that it is a darn big commitment (cost wise) and I would have to sell up in Sydney which means I probably wouldn't be able to get back into Sydney if it didn't work out.

We are seriously considering our options at the moment. Just a little risk averse.

Post by: Marcus73 on April 15, 2013, 09:48:15 PM
Yeah, pretty tough getting a job in Sydney at the moment as well, I know heaps of IT guys moving all around the country to get jobs.

Problem for me is that it is a darn big commitment (cost wise) and I would have to sell up in Sydney which means I probably wouldn't be able to get back into Sydney if it didn't work out.

We are seriously considering our options at the moment. Just a little risk averse.

When we came here we rented out our house in Adelaide for 2yrs until we were certain that we were staying here. While its obviously not the cheapest thing to do.... You only live once!!
Sorry to hijack your thread Mace
Post by: GanG on April 15, 2013, 11:55:24 PM
The 270 will travel later, different place, different target.  Will miss the sambar, not that Ive done a lot in the last few years. Keep in touch if you're over that way.  :cheers:

Mate be careful what you offer :laugh: I am planning to get to Tassie with the new camper maybe later this year or early next!

Let me know if you need somebody to pop past the farm at Tolmie and make sure the deer arent getting too tame, and eating your rose gardens etc :laugh:
Post by: gowalkabout on April 16, 2013, 06:58:41 AM
Welcome to the little smoke  ;D hope your enjoying it. As said before call out if you want any advice or help with anything.
Post by: fishfinder on April 16, 2013, 08:25:31 AM
welcome, it wont take long to find a place and settle and it also wont take long to realize that you moved to the wrong side of the island as people are a little strange south of Launceston, you dont need to be told that as you have probably worked that out after driving further south.
Post by: speedhump on April 16, 2013, 08:30:40 AM

Welcome to Tassie. I hope everything goes well for you & your family in this lovely part of Australia
Speedhump
Post by: kiva on April 16, 2013, 02:28:09 PM
Enjoy UTAS; I did my undergrad there at Sandy Bay in the mid-90's, as did my wife. I lived at Christ College (up on the hill) for a few years. Fun times.