General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Chippy76 on March 07, 2013, 07:53:35 PM
Hey Swaggers !
I am looking at replacing the cr*ppy headunit in my 03 Nissan patrol with a CD/DVD double din unit. I have been browsing the web and there seems to be a huge number of them out there (both brand name and cheap chinese units) What I'm after is recommendations from people as to units they have, or have used. And indeed ones to stay away from. As I live in the country , the opportunity to go and look at them first hand is very limited, so any advice is gratefully appreciatted.
My only "wants" are
-it must have some sort of GPS/sat nav (Im not really fussy what gps system it runs)
-it must be compatable (or even come with) an externally mounted reverse camera
-it must be able to connect to the iphone (either bluetooth or by cable)
I look forward to your replies ...
Cheers Chippy :D
I wish I could help with this Chippy but I would like to see the replies as we might be in the same situation soon as I would like reverse camera one the canopy is here and think the other things you mention would be great too bluetooth and gps
Ok this could be a fun one. ;D
Firstly let me start with saying that nearly all source units that are double din with a screen these days are reverse camera compatible.
Fairly easy to check.
Allot of people have done quite well with units from China/Taiwan and some have had rotten luck. Just a quick note on these, although you may see a couple of different ones on ebay that LOOK identical yet are vastly different in price, let me just say that they are usually not the same internally.
I am normally one to say stick to the brand names, but again it can be a bit of pot luck. Most brand names have set deals with mapping companies and can be a pain to upgrade to off road mapping. Not impossible but it can be annoying.
Out of all my installs I would say that I have had the least amount of problems with pioneer. The down side to pioneer is that to get a navigation compatible unit here they cost a heap of coin.
As to fitting a unit into a Patrol, It is very easy to do. The cover that surrounds the radio usually has two screws then pulls out with clips around the side. The only thing to look out for when installing a unit is that you will have to run a new earth as they are chassie earthed factory.
If you look at my build thread it shows my install in my 08 patrol, that could give you some ideas if needed.
I would say to stay away from Phillips, as I have had nothing but problems with the navigation software in them.
If you want any more help with it feel free to send me a PM and I can run through it all if you want in regards to options that are due to come out or where to buy from if you want. Also if you want to install it yourself I can send through detailed install instructions for you.
Evo
I run the dig options unit that are on eBay. Been in probably for two years and was easy to install and has all the gear you are after. The latest addition is also coming with tyre monitoring
It's been a long time since I've used an after market tuner. Though I did have a great experience with Pioneer head units, they are tough and have a really strong tuner.
I understand your desire to have the ability for the reverse camera. Although, in my opinion you're better off not having your GPS built into the head unit of your car.
GPS are so cheap to buy separate these days, and are making big technology advances I think you'll gain more, and save heaps by buying a separate one for the wind shield too.
http://www.pioneer.com.au/au/products/25/page.html (http://www.pioneer.com.au/au/products/25/page.html)
I run the dig options unit that are on eBay. Been in probably for two years and was easy to install and has all the gear you are after. The latest addition is also coming with tyre monitoring
I have also only heard good things about these units. The complaints I have heard of have been rectified quickly and all were happy. I haven't run these myself but the couple that I have installed I was impressed with.
Evo
I have ordered a Chinese unit. I will post something when it arrives and is installed.
I have a Sony explode which works well. Doesn't do nav though. I run hema on iPad for that.
Got mine from supercheap for just under $350.
I am relatively happy with my Polaris unit. The nav is pretty good and there is capacity for Oziexplorer. It has a reverse camera and iPod connectivity.
The only issue I have is with the Bluetooth. When you connect it is great, but the connection struggles a bit.
JB
I agree with Jeb's opinion that GPS on a head unit is not the best way to go. Chippy if you are on Patrol4x4.com, have a look for the tablet-oriented GPS topic that Ray! wrote up not long ago, it is a goldmine of information.
As for the head unit, I'm in the market too and I've narrowed my search down to one unit at the moment and am now comparing it against competitors.
I don't want double-DIN as I want a screen that the co-driver can easily watch (along with the kids in the back who will have 9" headrest monitors), and the single-DIN flip-out screens seem best for that given the location of the head unit. This also frees up dash space for either a storage compartment - handy in a travelling vehicle - or a DIN UHF, and seeing as my current UHF is a GME 3220 with limited functionality and only 40 channels, the UHF is probably going to get the nod.
The unit is the Kenwood KVT-series, there's a few different models available. Worth a look. It supports GPS too.
(http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7144/6843910161_f030cfcfc9_z.jpg)
i have a VMS 7inch unit in my 03 Patrol
Thanks for the replies. Firstly I do want in dash navigation, as I already have a uniden GPS unit on the windshield tho it will soon be getting the flick to fit pillar pods. I do like pioneer units and all my past vehicles have had them. As for the single din units that is what I have now and I'm not a fan. I intend to relocate the UHF taking up the lower din space soon. Fitting should be no prob as I have fitted plenty of audio systems before. And I have already wired under the dash for the new unit.
Once again thanks for the info.
Cheers chippy ????
Thanks for the replies. Firstly I do want in dash navigation, as I already have a uniden GPS unit on the windshield tho it will soon be getting the flick to fit pillar pods. I do like pioneer units and all my past vehicles have had them. As for the single din units that is what I have now and I'm not a fan. I intend to relocate the UHF taking up the lower din space soon. Fitting should be no prob as I have fitted plenty of audio systems before. And I have already wired under the dash for the new unit.
Once again thanks for the info.
Cheers chippy ????
I'll be going pioneer as soon as the cash flows again. Too many other mods first. And Evolution will be doing the install ;D
fuji
Any time mate, just let me know. Looking forward to pulling apart your nice new shiny tug. >:D
Evo
Whats your budget??
$200 or $4000?
Whats your budget??
Im thinking around the $400 - 600 ish mark...
Cheers CHippy :D
Any time mate, just let me know. Looking forward to pulling apart your nice new shiny tug. >:D
Evo
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!
I've just removed a double din Chinese one from my 03 patrol if your interested. Has onroad mapping using iGo8 and offroad with OziExplorer. Bluetooth works fine for calls and music streaming, plays DVDs and CDs, radio, etc... Pm me if your interested or want a good price.
That's enough spruking though, the Chinese ones are fine to use, they are all made over there these days, just varying levels of quality control. Just need to keep an eye on CPU speed, I have seen some running and you would think the processors are from last century!
We will be going with a Digoptions unit when I get a job.
We have an Eclipse unit which is good with Bluetooth, hopeless with GPS and almost no radio reception. This iwll be going into LB's daily driver primarily for the Bluetooth phone. The radio works OK whilst n the city but the GPS would get reception maybe 1/10th of the time. It constantly tells you "GPS Reception Lost"
Yeah from what I've read DigOptions units are good, I was originally going to get one until I got the one I'm now selling off eBay, cheaper that a DigOptions unit. GPS reception is actually awesome, antenna is cable tied under dash and I've never not gas reception, radio reception was good once I realised how to wire up the two factory aerials to a single plug. But it just goes to show the variation in Chinese units.
Good luck with your purchase !!
I am looking at the orion AVR 6.1 unit.
Looks very good and has it all. It s a bit over your budget at $999
I am looking at the orion AVR 6.1 unit.
Looks very good and has it all. It s a bit over your budget at $999
At that price I'll buy a pioneer unit ...
Cheers chippy ????
try this one on mate, this is the one I pm'd you about.
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/AppRadio/AppRadio+2+%28SPH-DA100%29 (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/AppRadio/AppRadio+2+%28SPH-DA100%29)
Evo
I've had the digoptions unit in my Patrol for about 18 months and for everything you want it does the job.There are no doubt better units around, but for the price and after sales backup I don't think you can go wrong. Issues were and still are a bit is the sun on the screen makes it hard to see at times. I solved this by taking a bit more out of the facia and swivelling up and around a bit more. If you go for one of these specify the infrared camera for night use as the standard cameras are hopeless at night. I have just upgraded the factory speakers to Alpines and it is loud enough to drown the diesel and tyre noise.
try this one on mate, this is the one I pm'd you about.
http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/AppRadio/AppRadio+2+%28SPH-DA100%29 (http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/PUSA/Car/AppRadio/AppRadio+2+%28SPH-DA100%29)
Evo
Nice!!!!
Some reviews are saying that it will only work with Apple, not Android.
I had a Polaris in my 07 for about 3 months was the biggest waist of money to date, slow and underpowered, horrible sound quality and just an all round piece of Shit.
Shane
Nice!!!!
Some reviews are saying that it will only work with Apple, not Android.
There are two units designed by Pioneer. There is the appradio 1 which will only work with ipod/iphone.
The appradio 2 works flawlessly with android powered phones. It it a bit sensitive to which version of android is being used in the phone. But because android can be upgraded it is a moot point.
The unit will work with other stand alone apps on your phone depending on how it works, such as some off road mapping on android work with out the need for a separate app.
Evo
So will it use OruxMaps from the Android phone to show on the display?
It looks great.
Now to see it in real.
Good question, one i think i should be able to answer in a few weeks.
I have a couple coming from the states so I will be fitting one in mine to play around and see what it can really do.
Im expecting it to be very similar to the appradio 1 but a bit smoother in operation.
But im going to hazzard a guess and say it will.
Evo
I am watching this space.
While looking and searching the web for this radio, a virus has entered my work pc. Now I need a new pc.
ok, that can't be a good omen for you.....
As they haven't been released in Aus yet their aren't any Aus reviews.
The bloke in the states who I get them off is running one in his F truck and he loves it.
Evo
Evo
I do like the look of that one. How much are they worth (assuming they need to be imprted ...)
I use an iphone 5 so compatability isnt an issue ...
I'll have to check the invoice to get the exact cost, but around 4-500 I think.
They are on back order at them moment, but expected to have new ones in stock by the time mine arrive here :cup:
( I think I got the last ones >:D )
Evo
at that price I would be interested ...
All good mate. Just let me know. Its cheap for you ismash users though, the android kit is another $80.
I'm quite excited actually, completely new toy to muck around with. ;D
Evo
When will it arrive?
So I can count the days to before we are being informed how it all goes. :-)
Hopefully around 14 days, quite a large order so i have gst and everything to pay when it arrives. >:(
Will be keeping everyone informed when it arrives though, its interesting as to what pioneer australias price is going to be, i have heard rumours that its expected to be around the 800......
Evo
That is a lot more.
Do you get the full warranty when you buy overseas?
I mean can you go to Pioneer in Australia and have it fixed if it broke?
From what I saw was that the US model has Pandora which doesn't work here. Are there other differences?
If you go in dash get one that is set back a bit. I updated the prado to an in dash GPS system it is no good when the sun is behind you as i cant see the screen with the light, at least with the TOM TOM i could just change the angle of the screen a bit
Also if you get a professional install you must specify that you dont want the handbrake interlock connected or you will have to stop and apply the handbrake every time you want to fiddle with the GPS
Ihave recently installed a digoptions unit in my 98 patrol,installation was easy with the plug and play adaptors that came with it.
Just tell them the year model or as i did email a photo of rear of the existing radio and they send you the appropriate cables.
All up a half day job which included running cables for reverse camera to rear of vehicle and mounting camera and positioning gps receiver .
Ended up with it looking like a factory install,very happy with the outcome.
The unit has dvd,cd,ipod,usb,gps,reverse camera(which came with the unit),bluetooth and of course radio.
All up $500 which included antenna cable adaptor.
That is a lot more.
Do you get the full warranty when you buy overseas?
I mean can you go to Pioneer in Australia and have it fixed if it broke?
From what I saw was that the US model has Pandora which doesn't work here. Are there other differences?
The reason for this is because it is illegal in any state to have video playing whilst the vehicle is moving.
Not connecting the handbrake cut off can be a bit more involved than just wiring it to an earth as some require a pulse signal or constant voltage.
I highly recommend staying within legal guidlines when it comes to this stuff as it can carry heavy fines.
Evo
Pioneer australia does not cover overseas models in the warranty. This is why overseas models do not end in xx50.
The place i have an account with is great with after sales service and warranty. I have had to use it a couple of times and both times new parts were sent out as soon as I had filled out the paperwork. Unfortunately for some items i have to purchase from overseas America in particular due to a couple of reasons. The first being it has not been released here yet or just flat out isnt sold here. Because we have such a small market for this stuff we miss out on a few high end brands and quite allot of the more advanced systems.
Also if you get a professional install you must specify that you dont want the handbrake interlock connected or you will have to stop and apply the handbrake every time you want to fiddle with the GPS
Is there a head unit that nissan fits that has the features you are after? The TI model maybe?
If so you may be able to pick one up second hand from someone that is upgrading. Keeps it factory, saves some $$.
After some more reading on the US review sites, they are not realy convinced it is a great unit for Androids.
Too much money for the kit and too much fiddling to get it working.
I had a Polaris in my 07 for about 3 months was the biggest waist of money to date, slow and underpowered, horrible sound quality and just an all round piece of ****.
Shane
yup, can't argue with that.
mine takes forever to turn on, bluetooth is less than useless, not all my "I" products work on it - will replace the damn thing as soon as i can afford to do so..
I have seen the demo one the pioneer rep has and it worked very well with android.
I am always a bit weary of reviews from the states as americans can be very lazy at times with this sort of stuff.
In saying that, it will be interesting to have a proper play around with one.
I have checked my invoice and for one unit with the android connection pack it was $580 plus shipping. That is still very cheap for what it can do... ( provided it works)
Evo
that's US or AUD?
US, i havent checked the bank statement yet, still over $1 US at the moment so should be a bit less,
Whoops also realized I wrote 580, was actually 480. Sorry
Hi evo. What do you think of the alpine INA-W900E double din unit. We were looking at getting one for our Navara with a reverse camera as well.
Great to see other options on this thread too. Gives me more food for thought!!
Andrew.
Hi evo. What do you think of the alpine INA-W900E double din unit. We were looking at getting one for our Navara with a reverse camera as well.
Great to see other options on this thread too. Gives me more food for thought!!
Andrew.
Alpine are like seafood pizza, you either love them or hate them.
They are well made though, and very rarely have issues. The down sides to me are the navteq mapping and price. I personally find the navteq mapping very slow and fiddily to use.
On the upside they are cheap to get the new maps and they do update regularly.
To me the price is hard to justify, at give or take $2000 it is allot of money for a source unit.
Pioneer make one with similar features for about half the price.
As do kenwood, sony and eclipse. Most of the big players do.
I also find alpine units a little complicated to use, although they do generally provide much more adjustment compared to other brands.
In saying all that i have many years of playing with these things and have found that i rarely use them to their full potential unless I am setting it up for either sq or db comps.
For the average user I would say they are overkill but then again i would be surprised if you were disapointed with it.
Evo
Hi evo
Any updates yet?
Not as yet mate, the missed is due tomorrow so that side of life has been put on hold for a few weeks. The order is waiting in my mates work shop, just can't head down to melbourne until bubs is here. I think she would kill me if I missed the birth...... >:D
Evo
Well? Girl or boy?
Cmon Evo dont keep us in suspense ...
Dont know as yet. It is being as stubborn as its mum >:D
Evo
Y'now what you have to do mate!!! ;) lol
Go to the pub???? ;D >:D
Evo
hahah that might start the ball rolling Evo ... lol .....
I feel ur pain mate ..the waiting is the worst part. We had our little one 3 weeks ago, and Lis was 2 weeks over. Seemed to take forever! I hope it all goes well mate.
All is well in the medical sense. My sanity levels are dropping on a sliding scale the longer it takes.
Haha, actually it has been very cruisy so far, Chan has done very well not going too crazy and I have done well hiding in the shed ;D
Any day now hopefully, although nothing is screaming that its going to happen very soon.
Evo
Lis was induced at 42 but from then on it all happened VERY quickly. make sure u take a good book to the hospital, the only thing worse than waiting around at home is waiting at a hospital! lol
best of luck!
cheers chippy :D
No excuses mate.
We are waiting for your experience with the radio!!! :-)
Thanks guys, it will be good to finally have the bundle of joy on the outside
Lol
I know i know, I am planning a melbourne trip to pick it up about two weeks from now (all going to plan ;D )
Evo
Ok guys update time.
I have been dealing with pioneer a bit lately and am finally able to fill you all in.
Pioneer (aus) have finally released a true App radio. Which is Appradio 3. Pioneer have alsoinformed me that they do not plan on releasing any of the stand alone app radios in aus.
So what does all this mean?
This means that all the app radios in aus are mech+ (includes dusk drive) not mechless. It also means that App radio 3 is faster and smoother to opperate.
The base unit is the AVHX3500 which is on sale at autobarn in time for release at $550.
What this means for me is that the true AppRadio 2's that i have are redundant.
As mine owe me just under that and dont include the dvd its not feasible to keep them.
I have been fortunate to play around with the reps one and am very impressed.
So my app radios are going back. I will still keep the rest of the order (amps, speakers, facias and wiring)
My advice is to get the new app radio 3 from pioneer aus and enjoy. Fully capable with both apple (iphone 4-5) and android with the correct cable for your phone and allow you to do so much, browse the net, videos, music, nav, contacts, integrated phone and bluetooth.
Plus all your standard features, such as reverse camera amps etc etc.
If anyone is interested in this let me know and i will do what I can to help.
Hey Evo thanks for the update . Can you get them for a good price or I just as good getting one for autobarn ?
Cheers chippy ????
What's the differences between the AVHX3500 and say the AVIC-F40BT other then price.
You said the AVHX3500 is the base model, what will be the features on the higher grade App Radio's? Prices? Do they also have offroad maps like the AVIC-F40BT?
Hey Evo thanks for the update . Can you get them for a good price or I just as good getting one for autobarn ?
Cheers chippy ????
I can get a good price, but at the price autobarn have them at the moment it won't be much less.
The biggest reason is once they are off sale then my price is GREAT ;D
However if you need the extra accessories then yep I can help out allot.
Including fitting and such.
Evo
What's the differences between the AVHX3500 and say the AVIC-F40BT other then price.
You said the AVHX3500 is the base model, what will be the features on the higher grade App Radio's? Prices? Do they also have offroad maps like the AVIC-F40BT?
The AVIC-F40BT is NOT an appradio. It has the advanced app mode which is very similar. This allows you to use apple products but not android.
When it comes to anything apple related it is very hard to say what is coming out and what will work. Apple do not like people buying non genuine Apple accessories. Hence the reason for the new plugs on the iPhone 5
The mapping is all 3rd party in those and is based on a windows ce system.
The mapping on the 3500 is based on free or paid apps and I know for a fact that ozi are somewhere along the pipeworks for a proper "app" for off road mapping.
However google maps still works just like it does on your phone as well.
Being an app based system the room for expansion is much greater than a standalone unit.
The other major differences being that the AVIC units are pioneers flagship range.
High res screens,
More adjustment for sound EQ
Higher voltage preouts
Bigger screen,
Full mechanical screen
etc etc
Different systems in all honesty. On the plus side, for all you lucky buggers to have DAB the 3500 is DAB ready with the arial in the kit.
The other appradio retail is around the $880 and includes a full 7" screen and motorised face.
thats about it tbh.
Hope this helps.
CHeers
Evo
On further investigation it appears to use the updated app mode.
I will do some more research on monday when i speak to the rep and find out that the go is.
If they all can use android then the functionality will be very similar.
Evo
Just a quick update.
Main difference is all avic units are now running flash nav. So no more sd cards, nor room to change software.
All in house pioneer is navteq based nav.
All pioneer radios running "advanced app mode" will run apple products for app radio.
Whereas to run android the only one doing that is the AVH-X8550
Evo
Does this mean it will run mud maps via my iPhone ?
Cheers chippy
Unless it is a specific "app" not as yet.
An ozi explorer off road map is on the way though.
In saying that an email to them to ask if they are going to release one would be worth while.
Evo
I purchased the dig options unit for my Hilux a couple of months ago and I have been very happy with it. Support has been great as well.
I haven't tried the off road mapping yet, but as I have been working through the capability I have been very impressed. I just need to have the camper camera wired up (bought the camera from dig options as well) and I will be able to monitor behind the trailer either reversing or whilst travelling!! ;D