General => General Discussion => Topic started by: CampAround on February 26, 2013, 07:42:52 PM
Looking at buying one of the new ARB Fridges. Wondering what your experiences are with yours.
How efficient and reliable has it been for you?
We have a little 35L unit for drinks. Very happy with it.
No problems at all, and it's pretty good on juice.
Should have got the 60L, though.
Bought June 2011. 47l model, 100% happy. Father in law bought the 40l Engel for not much more, but the ARB had the features that suited me:
1. Removable lid. 4b at the time had a very shallow cargo area and would not be able to open the Engel lid fully (side opening waeco would have, but for some reason was not interested)
2. Thermostatic temp control. Set the desired internal temp and the fridge cycles as necessary to maintain. Father in law's Engel requires adjusting as contents are removed or warm items placed.
3. Built in low voltage battery protection. Engel required external accessory for this.
4. 7l of the internal space is the shallow section above the compressor housing. Ideal for salads or items that you don't need super cold or don't want crisping up eg lettuce.
5. ARB after market service, reputation and build quality. Undeniable robustness and general appearance.
+ all the other propaganda/blurb is actually spot on for once with these fridges.
So, yes I am happy, and I don't work for them.
78L = awesome product + everything nbd73 said.
Hi CampAround,
I purchased a ARB 47L fridge for my Cub Escape back in October 2009, It has preformed perfectly for 2 years and 9 months, then one Sunday when I switched it on the temp reading showed 43 deg C !!! when it was low twenties here in Brisbane, I left it running for approx 1 hour and the temp as 28 deg C, and the thermometer I placed inside the fridge showed -7 deg C, I checked again about a half hour later and 35 deg C was shown in the display and inside it was -15 deg C, It did not look good.
Tuesday morning I took it down to UV4X4 at Enoggera (Brisbane) as it was still under warranty.
on Saturday I picked up a brand new in the box 47L ARB fridge as a replacement.
It turns out the thermistor (which is the temperature sensor) had gone bad.
In the first batch of the 47L fridges ARB made it was not possible to replace the thermistor.
This problem was rectified in the later batches and the thermistor is now a replaceable part.
The first batch of ARB 47L fridges had a duller yellow LED temperature display, later batches have a bright white LED temperature display.
If you are looking at buying a second hand ARB 47L fridge I would check the serial no with ARB to make sure it has the replaceable thermistor. If it has the bright white display I think it would OK.
I must say I was VERY pleased with the service from UV4X4 and ARB to get this issue resolved easily and quickly.
I am considering the smaller ARB fridge for the TUG (when I find the pennies).
Ray
I am running a 35 as a Freezer, and 60 as fridge. And I have never had a problem with them. Even tested the Low voltage cut out a day or so ago. They run of 2nd battery but good to know it works.
Great product.
Have a 47, good fridge, the only thing I would criticise is the merit/cigarette plug, cut it off and put something on that wont vibrate out, the proprietary engel plugs are far better.
Sablesoft good heads up as mine is one of the early ones and I've never heard of this.
For the op mine has been faultless to date.
Have a 47, good fridge, the only thing I would criticise is the merit/cigarette plug, cut it off and put something on that wont vibrate out, the proprietary engel plugs are far better.
Fair point, but I would look at the environment it is to be used in and whether it is secure. I only say this because I have never had a problem with this aspect, and it has had some bouncing and moving in the back of the car with loads of gear around it. Can see your reasoning, but if this path is followed remember you are limiting the number of places it can be connected, depending upon the type of connector attached.
..........unless a merit plug to cigarette lighter adaptor exists?.
Merit/ciggy combo plugs are available.......got 'em on a lot of my stuff
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/cigarette-merit-plug-LED-12v-caravan-dual-battery-system-Fridge-Accessory-/130686913893 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/cigarette-merit-plug-LED-12v-caravan-dual-battery-system-Fridge-Accessory-/130686913893)
http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=PP2094 (http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=PP2094)
Thanks for the input. Sounds all positive.
I'm looking at purchasing a new 60lt. Was prepared to pay for the engel until I finally got to see the arbs in the flesh on the weekend. I like the lid, storage inside, lock, controller being temperature rather then peer level. They are lighter than the Engels and $300 cheaper compared to the best price I have seen on the equivalent engel.
I am picking one up tomorrow. Cheers
Mate love my 47 ltr. Like the drain plug in it makes it very easy to wash out.
Oh yeah forgot about that. Another bonus.
Mate love my 47 ltr. Like the drain plug in it makes it very easy to wash out.
x2 should have included that in my original post.
Camparound, you won't be disappointed. Don't get me wrong, I like the engels still. It's just that for the features you get for the $ they are hard to justify. A member on here did a comprehensive test of a waeco v Engel a few months ago, purely looking at power consumption, and the Engel won hands down. From what I understand the ARB uses the same danfoss compressor as the waeco, though other factors such as insulation and elec controls come into play when determining ultimate power usage. Enjoy.
I have the 47 litre version and it has not missed a beat. The only issue I have is with the canvas cover and the velcro tape that B replaced the original tape and now three sides stick but the fourth just will not stick at all.
Not sure if the cover design has changed or not but thought I saw somewhere that there is now metal???? clips of something to hold the cover on.
I have the 47 litre version and it has not missed a beat. The only issue I have is with the canvas cover and the velcro tape that B replaced the original tape and now three sides stick but the fourth just will not stick at all.
Not sure if the cover design has changed or not but thought I saw somewhere that there is now metal???? clips of something to hold the cover on.
I have tried replacing the velcro twice. Have given up now.
We have an older 60L ARB fridge & never had any problems since we purchaesd it in 2006.
Well I know what fridge I will buy when it comes time. Thanks guys :D
John
We own a 47ltr fridge and its great we fitted insulation between the canvas cover and the fridge as a buffer from the heat when in the back of the 4wd, the only downside we found is the height which doesn't allow us to fit it in the camper trailer but otherwise its a great unit
. From what I understand the ARB uses the same danfoss compressor as the waeco,
That's because it's made by Waeco....for ARB..
Not that there's anything wrong with that ..
That's because it's made by Waeco....for ARB..
Not that there's anything wrong with that ..
Waeco make there own compressor now
I also believe Waeco make their own compressors. Apparently evakool use the a Sanford version made in chine, while ARB use the genuine made danios. Don't really know what to believe.
Anyway bought the fridge. Very happy with its design. Had some trouble getting the metal clips in place that hold on the cover. Will have another go tomorrow then hopefully give it a clean and test it out.
We took the 78l around Aus and it never missed a beat.
Experimented with a few Waecos in the early to mid 2000s and then bought an Engel about 18 months ago... should've bought one years ago.. the best fridge IMHO...
WE have a 60 litre ARB,the reason i bought it over any others was its low height to fit under hard cover on the ute.....
BUt after owning it for a few years now i have to say i am impressed.....
I am in the market for a smaller on to use for a drinks fridge when the whole tribe is along or a freezer if need be.......Really torn betwen the bushman and the ARB 35ltr
Oh yer..... i rekon the way the lid bends back and snaps out his awesome...... for those times when u have had a few to many and u overbalance and grab the open fridge lid :cup:
.... for those times when u have had a few to many and u overbalance and grab the open fridge lid :cup:
I dunno what you're talking about.............. ;D ;D
Got the cover on, fits nice and snug. It's been running on 240 for a few days. The temp display hasn't fluctuated more than 1 degree but I've only opened three or for times. It's very quiet.
I'll switch it over to the battery to see how long I get out of it.
I just bought an ARB 60 litre on the weekend. So far fantastic, but it does have an intermittent (on a few seconds, off a few seconds) buzzing (high frequency but low intensity) from the compressor area. It seems to be fairly regular, and independent on whether the fridge is cycled on or not. Has anyone else experienced this? Only been running it for less than 24 hours so far.
A.
Can't say I noticed that with mine, I'll go have a listen and let you know.
Is it running on 12 or 240?
240v. I found a reference on a Canadian forum where someone said they get the problem on mains (110v in their case), but not on 12v. I'll have to try it myself, but would also be interested to hear what you find.
Aaron.
I've had a listen out to the motor when it's in full swing and in low power state while on 240v. All I can hear is a clean hum. Nothing similar to what you have described.
I also believe Waeco make their own compressors. Apparently evakool use the a Sanford version made in chine, while ARB use the genuine made danios. Don't really know what to believe.
Anyway bought the fridge. Very happy with its design. Had some trouble getting the metal clips in place that hold on the cover. Will have another go tomorrow then hopefully give it a clean and test it out.
Hey camparound, could you post up some pics of the clips used and how it is attached. If they are all right I'll hit up ARB and have another go at the cover.
What are the prices on these fridges at the moment?
A bit of googling suggests the 78L one is $1599. Do ARB ever discount or haggle on their fridge prices?
What are the prices on these fridges at the moment?
A bit of googling suggests the 78L one is $1599. Do ARB ever discount or haggle on their fridge prices?
I have always done OK with haggling with ARB. When I got my 60L I got 10% off and the insulated cover thrown in.
Cant hurt to try to Barter... I always do!
The clips are a small 'L' shaped bracket that fit between the folds in the outter layer of the fridge lining. They were a bit tight to get in do I used a bit if silicon spray and now they feel pretty good. Bit the sort if thing you would want to he removing often though. Ill take a pic tonight if i remember.
ARB have a special on their fridges starting the 18th March. Buy a fridge and get an oil skin cover and $100 fuel voucher. Just read it in their latest magazine.
Hey camparound, could you post up some pics of the clips used and how it is attached. If they are all right I'll hit up ARB and have another go at the cover.
Hi mate, here are the photos:
(http://i1164.photobucket.com/albums/q579/acs987/CT/EE582839-A5A1-4CA6-A3BA-025F36DB05B5-3841-00000307D9DD4010_zps17c57712.jpg)
(http://i1164.photobucket.com/albums/q579/acs987/CT/2B700353-9E0F-4C8F-B98C-A15C4D61A6AC-3841-00000307D444409E_zpsee72bc81.jpg)
(http://i1164.photobucket.com/albums/q579/acs987/CT/C10B2B9D-0B9B-4D10-BD13-4EB47AA1487D-3841-00000307C8223AC8_zps72188997.jpg)
Hope this helps.
Thanks for that. Will go see them on my way home tomorrow and see what they can do for me.
It is a different cover to mine so I don't hold much hope.
If you buy one before the 31st you get a $100 piss voucher and a free cover
You get a $100 myer voucher and an oil skin cover. Is an oil skin cover just a fancy name for the normal cover?
Well first trip with the new fridge is complete and so far am very happy with the fridge. Ran on a 120ah battery from Thursday afternoon, being opened numerous times a time. Had a 120w solar panel connected all day on Friday and Saturday. Also ran three sets of LEDs at night and charged a mobile phone for two nights. Still running on battery now in the garage.
Fridge design is great. Fit heaps in and easy to access. Longevity is all I ned from it now.
Did you end up with the 60 litre?
Yep bought the sixty litre. Happy with the size.
Just a quick update; fridge is still running on the 120ah battery in the garage from last trip which we return home from on Sunday. I keep checking it thinking the battery will be dead but it just keeps running. Putting a multimeter on the battery today with a reading of 11.99 -12.00 volts.
Allowing for the cheap multi meter being a bit in accurate I'm still shocked at how much life I'm getting and how effective the fridge is. I have only opened it once and it's sits at between 3-4 deg.
Just stoked.
Which voltage level do you have the fridge set on? There are the three settings so this means the fridge will just cut out once the voltage drops low enough.
Hi vkprado,
I have it set on the lowest setting. I've been monitoring the battery level twice a day and the the volts drop by 0.2 per day.
The Biggest factor in why its lasting so long is because of the temp I've set it to. When I had it set to two deg and the power cut out on medium, the battery lasted four days under similar circumstances.
Ill probably turn it off tomorrow and recharge the battery just so I don't completely drain it. It will be at around 11.5 volts tomorrow which will be almost drained.
I would NEVER let my batterys go below 12.0 Volts, I do not want to take the chance of causing damage to the battery that may shorten its life !
Good practice is to keep the battery above 50% which is just below 12V.
Ray
Not something I plan on doing regularly. Just running a test so I know what my parameters are so when I'm monitoring our usage when out I'm not just speculating.
It's all well and good to say I will never do this or that but when you get caught short away from home I like to be well informed.
Turned it off this morning and measured the battery at 11.6v
Can I add another part to this thread, that is the plug , has anyone had trouble with the merit plug which come's with the fridge? mine quite loose and it keeps loosing contact and the fridge stops, I have tried a Narva merit plug in the socket and it's as tight as.
So the options are to replace the plug and all would be good, although the Narva plug isn't fused like the ARB one. BUT if i change the plug would I be voiding the warranty?
What have others done?
I cut up a perfectly good $60 Engle plug to run mine. The Engle is now strictly 240v fridge.
I thought the whole idea of a merit plug was that it would not lose contact?
That's what I thought to but I think that the design of the ARB plug is not very good, it seems that the part of the plug where the earth pins are is to small and there for it is not a snug fit in the merit socket. I kept blaming my wife for always turning the fridge off....found out other wise though lol.
I've not had a problem with the cig plug but found the 12 volt socket at the back of the fridge was loose and would come out.
Jammed a plastic wedge in to hold it tight and has been good for the last 3 and a bit years.
. I kept blaming my wife for always turning the fridge off.....
:-[
You will never live that down....
I read this with interest, as my Waeco CF50 which is approx 6 yrs old has just packed it in, while it still runs on 12 & 240 its freezing, set a 4 with the outside showing between 35 to 40 and it runs all the time, not cycling.
While it's possibly repairable (at what cost?) Repair agent has quoted $50 up front just to look at it/test to see what going on, so he can quote on it. while I can't really get a new one just yet, in the long run I maybe better off
Really like the look/features of the new ARB fridge, will be getting prices on the 47ltr at up comming Rosehill Show.
as for the plug my Waeco runs on a Engle/Waeco 12v lead, Waeco plug at fridge end an Engle at the power source as it has the screw in A-span plug.
I read this with interest, as my Waeco CF50 which is approx 6 yrs old has just packed it in, while it still runs on 12 & 240 its freezing, set a 4 with the outside showing between 35 to 40 and it runs all the time, not cycling.
While it's possibly repairable (at what cost?) Repair agent has quoted $50 up front just to look at it/test to see what going on, so he can quote on it. while I can't really get a new one just yet, in the long run I maybe better off
Really like the look/features of the new ARB fridge, will be getting prices on the 47ltr at up comming Rosehill Show.
as for the plug my Waeco runs on a Engle/Waeco 12v lead, Waeco plug at fridge end an Engle at the power source as it has the screw in A-span plug.
Hi there. Your thermister has failed. It is a few hours work and 4.99 for a new thermister. Buy two and put them both is and leave the wires curled up just in case.
PS. You haven't accidently turn it on the emergency setting ;D
I ended up buying a new lead for my fridge, cutting the Cig lighter end off and hard wiring it to the battery source. For 30 bucks this is how both my camper and car set up are. Separate looms, fused and not a Merritt or Cig socket to be seen.
Both my fridges have had the cig plug cut off. Now have Anderson plugs, and fused in separate boards. I also bought another cig lead so when I went in my mates boat or car I could plug it in.
Similar here. I use T pin plugs for everything so I bought another ARB lead & put on a T pin plug. I also cut both leads & rejoined them with Anderson plugs for versatility when using the fridge with other people's power supplies.
Had a fiddle with the ARB plug today, pulled it all apart then put it back together again then, when I pluged it back in and wobbled the plug around all seemed fine so maybe it was a bad connection with the internal fuse. Any way it's still a doggy fit and I don't trust it so I might get another lead and make up another one that's better
I have an older WAECO and had similar problems with mine but discovered the emergency switch near the plug had been turned on causing it to run flat out and freeze everything so maybe something to look at if your has the same?
We bought the 60 litre ARB fridge which as been a good thing so far so good!
Hi there. Your thermister has failed. It is a few hours work and 4.99 for a new thermister. Buy two and put them both is and leave the wires curled up just in case.
Thanks Steve, sounds pretty much what the repair bloke said when I rang, bet he charges more than 4.99 for Thermister, not to mention labour ::)
PS. You haven't accidently turn it on the emergency setting ;D
Nup, Thats the first thing I checked
Mines done the same. Thermister can be bought at Jaycar for less than $2. I am hopimg I have bought the right one and am testing it right now as I type.