General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Trackabout Off Road Campers on January 21, 2013, 10:34:10 AM

Title: Who's going where?
Post by: Trackabout Off Road Campers on January 21, 2013, 10:34:10 AM
G'day all, with Australia day nearly here already just wondering where everyone is heading over the weekend  :cheers:
Post by: britts on January 21, 2013, 11:17:39 AM
Unfortunately looks like a flyer to Coffs to see the inlaws as the old bugger looks like he's trying to throw the towel in.
Title: Re: Who's going where?
Post by: alnjan on January 21, 2013, 12:25:43 PM
get to go to work
Post by: Trackabout Off Road Campers on January 21, 2013, 12:27:00 PM
This thread is off to a "flying" start..
Post by: Bunyip on January 21, 2013, 12:29:48 PM
We will be heading up Gloucester way with one of our kids, and her friend.

The older boys will be staying at home as they are too cool to camp.

Heading off Friday morning, getting back Monday night, should be a great weekend.

Post by: DannyG on January 21, 2013, 12:37:20 PM

LOL we will be at some nice Tassie location having a barby and enjoying a drink :)
Post by: cm4x4nut on January 21, 2013, 12:41:57 PM
Kilkivan Bush Camp  for Saturday and Sunday nights, might even try for Friday, and then onto Springbrook Host Farm for a day run on Sunday
Post by: bushbandit on January 21, 2013, 01:02:16 PM
Home at Salamander Bay, wife working till 1 so ill set up a Bbq just down from home and wait for her and then we will have a couple drinks and contemplate our trip to Tassie in a few weeks.
Post by: bussoboy on January 21, 2013, 03:17:23 PM
if my disc rotors are replaced in time i'm heading to eith Bendethera, or maybe back out to Newnes depending on the final $ outlay for the repairs
Post by: KingBilly on January 21, 2013, 03:17:59 PM
Gordon Country out Goomburra way is the plan but the weather forecast is not looking crash hot.  May reconsider later in the week.

Post by: brickiematt on January 21, 2013, 03:24:11 PM
5 days at Anglesea for us. Didn't get our usual camping fix over Xmas, so really looking forward to this.

Have a great Australia Day everyone  :cup:
 :cheers:  :cheers:
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 21, 2013, 03:31:46 PM

I'm off to a CTA meet at a scout camp on one of the days for a day visit only ... and the other days I'll probably spend doing chores and a bit of gardening.  Of course there will be drinking and relaxing in there as well.

Post by: Bill on January 21, 2013, 03:40:13 PM
I will be going to work.
Post by: Matto on January 21, 2013, 03:56:39 PM
:) Let me bring it down some more then.

We have planned to go to Malanda Falls, but with the potential threat of two cyclones by the end of the week, we'll probably just stay home. Won't be a problem, just a bit more rainfall than is optimal with a 1yr old confined in a CT. Which is a real shame, since I was itching to get out.

Post by: Trackabout Off Road Campers on January 21, 2013, 03:59:13 PM
Gordon Country out Goomburra way is the plan but the weather forecast is not looking crash hot.  May reconsider later in the week.

See you there KingBilly!!  :cheers:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 21, 2013, 04:15:09 PM
Fraser Island by boat if the weather is kind to us.

Forecast says 20 - 40 mm of rain on the sunday, so based on that, it should be great weather.  :cheers:
Post by: gunna on January 21, 2013, 04:25:43 PM
could end up @ 1 of three places , Buckland Valley  , Geehi  or Tom Grogan
Just hav'nt made up my mind yet  lol
Post by: oldmate on January 21, 2013, 04:39:46 PM
Off down urbanville way on Friday morning
Post by: Smoko on January 21, 2013, 05:47:37 PM
Might go to Yandilla

Smoko
Post by: wmarsb on January 21, 2013, 06:17:26 PM
canungra or christmas creek (weather pending)  bad weather carport with esky (the true australian way)
Post by: evolution on January 21, 2013, 06:32:35 PM
Got the old man coming up, So cousins, kids, Pregnant SWMBO, a tinnie and the jet boat down at lake hume for the day.
Should be a good day, hopefully the old man can catch us some lunch  ;D

Evo
Post by: sonny on January 21, 2013, 06:39:38 PM
Cityview 4WD Park Bromelton (near Beaudesert) to watch "Rumble on the Rocks" competition - http://www.cityview4wd.com/rumble-on-the-rocks.html (http://www.cityview4wd.com/rumble-on-the-rocks.html)
Post by: Nay-DMAX on January 21, 2013, 06:44:32 PM
Hopefully we can get a spot somewhere near wher we usually go on the Murray, was up there last weekend only 2 other campsites.   ;D
Post by: Blueroo on January 21, 2013, 06:47:41 PM
Finally going to Girraween Nat Park.  :D
Hopefully the weather gods will smile on us.
Stue
Post by: gutters on January 21, 2013, 06:56:00 PM
Might go to Yandilla

Smoko

If you do make it out to Yandilla  come and say hello we are heading up on Friday evening.
Post by: macca on January 21, 2013, 07:06:48 PM
Water skiing at Bundalong for four days, along with the other ten million boats, still a great weekend tho
macca
Post by: Smoko on January 21, 2013, 07:10:14 PM
Hi Cavan

Will do it will be good to catch again back where we first meet just depends on work might see you and your family there

Smoko
Post by: gutters on January 21, 2013, 07:21:04 PM
Sounds good mate, we will be camping out in the paddock somewhere along the creek if you do make it out.
Post by: broncos11 on January 21, 2013, 07:32:50 PM
Same as every weekend. Fishing and surfing around Kingscliff with a big BBQ planned at the creek!!!
I love my life

Post by: Kalebjarrod on January 21, 2013, 07:59:48 PM
Gonna bust it up to gordan country, hopefully there's some water left in the creek
Post by: POD on January 21, 2013, 08:03:05 PM
Warrnambool.

Sprint cars.

Oh yeaaaaaahhhhh......
Post by: BrindiCruiser on January 21, 2013, 08:12:31 PM
Potato point, sth NSW coast.
Post by: hotboostgt on January 21, 2013, 09:45:08 PM
Kenilworth homestead weather permitting sat/sun nights
Post by: V8100 on January 21, 2013, 10:10:43 PM
if my disc rotors are replaced in time i'm heading to eith Bendethera, or maybe back out to Newnes depending on the final $ outlay for the repairs
Will be at newnes over creek if you see a white d22 navara and a jayco swan  pop in for a beer
Cheers  eddy
Post by: HerGU on January 21, 2013, 10:12:17 PM
In two weeks time we are going.....everywhere around Australia!

Then we can sing along to,"i've been everywhere, man.........i've been everywhere, man" ;D
Post by: Bunyip on January 21, 2013, 11:16:45 PM
We will be heading up Gloucester way with one of our kids, and her friend.

The older boys will be staying at home as they are too cool to camp.

Heading off Friday morning, getting back Monday night, should be a great weekend.

Trip just got a whole lot better, no longer having to stress about what is happening at work. Made redundant today, been waiting for something to happen since April last year, been sitting in limbo.

Post by: LeighC on January 21, 2013, 11:26:56 PM
Too hot for camping up here at the moment.  Got a Tropical Low / low category cyclone skimming past by Wednesday.

Going to help a mate move house .. as thats heaps cooler in 40 degree, high humidity weather ???

I'll be keeping my fluids up
Post by: fishfinder on January 22, 2013, 05:25:41 AM
doing the birthday thing for my soon to be 10 year old daughter, might take her to the pub for a couple
Post by: sol on January 22, 2013, 05:48:44 AM
We are hoping to get to School Point at Tinaroo  :cup:

Post by: ewwreckers on January 22, 2013, 07:51:33 AM
We're starting to head back south after a month of heading north, think we'll be in Nelson Bay at in laws by the weekend (and ready for a break from the kids lol)
Post by: morcon on January 22, 2013, 08:09:59 AM
Clarence River Gorge - 4 nights. Can't wait - no mobile phone reception.
Post by: hargs on January 22, 2013, 08:18:07 AM
Going to the Goobra with family, camping at the Thomas Boyd Track Head ............if we can get a spot. Not far from home as sister-in-law has to go in to work.

The Blowering Dam will be packed.....so want to avoid it ..........
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 22, 2013, 12:11:00 PM
Sounds good mate, we will be camping out in the paddock somewhere along the creek if you do make it out.

Was there just before Xmas and unless they've had rain (not likely) there is no water in the paddock creek.  Fenced camp ground has the only water access other than the front driveway.

Post by: GGV8Cruza on January 22, 2013, 12:38:12 PM
Heading down to the farm at Inverloch, camper in tow

Post by: bussoboy on January 22, 2013, 01:20:53 PM
Will be at newnes over creek if you see a white d22 navara and a jayco swan  pop in for a beer
Cheers  eddy

yup it's looking more like Newnes at this stage............... we plan on one of those little over the river spots that can only take a couple of campers at a time rather than the main camp ground - but we will have to either tow the 2wd Rodeo over that will be with us or leave it over @ the pub and ferry all their stuffacross with the Colorado

but I'm sure we'll drop in for a coldy
Post by: BigJules on January 22, 2013, 02:50:53 PM
We've tried to find a spot to chuck up a tent in Port Stephens with no success. Have an invite to go to a pool party with a bunch of single mums. I'd be the only bloke apparently, so my missus is not as keen anymore  :angel:.
Post by: Blue Bravo on January 22, 2013, 03:06:50 PM
As its a long weekend we will stay at home and leave the camping spots to the workers. On Tuesday we are going to Myall River when all the kids are back at school.should be lovely and peaceful.
Post by: schmik on January 22, 2013, 03:07:37 PM
Off to hawks nest but without the camper... unless I get an invite to go to the party with Jules?
Post by: Trackabout Off Road Campers on January 22, 2013, 03:09:08 PM
They always wreck everything Jules  :police:
Post by: gutters on January 22, 2013, 04:18:05 PM
Was there just before Xmas and unless they've had rain (not likely) there is no water in the paddock creek.  Fenced camp ground has the only water access other than the front driveway.

Thanks for the heads up Kit_e we were hoping to have a less crowded camp spot...  On our last visit the creek looked really nice done that way, but it has been really dry and we have had bugger all rain since Xmas. Might have to see how many Dave has booked in that weekend and see if we can get a spot in the fenced campground..
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 22, 2013, 04:47:42 PM
Thanks for the heads up Kit_e we were hoping to have a less crowded camp spot...  On our last visit the creek looked really nice done that way, but it has been really dry and we have had bugger all rain since Xmas. Might have to see how many Dave has booked in that weekend and see if we can get a spot in the fenced campground..

There is a VERY nice swimming hole about a 20 min walk up stream.  Pics on the blog is your interested in the fairly easy walk and short rock hop.  Or even better still ... here is the link   (https://www.facebook.com/ColemanAustralia/app_418207568251803?app_data=6622) to the comp I've entered the pic in ... please vote while you are there as I have a LONG way to go to beat the current leader.

Post by: DarWen on January 22, 2013, 05:39:41 PM
Fishing at Leslie dam outside off Warwick, head up Saturday morning SWMBO works until midnight friday.
Post by: V8100 on January 22, 2013, 05:47:05 PM
yup it's looking more like Newnes at this stage............... we plan on one of those little over the river spots that can only take a couple of campers at a time rather than the main camp ground - but we will have to either tow the 2wd Rodeo over that will be with us or leave it over @ the pub and ferry all their stuffacross with the Colorado

but I'm sure we'll drop in for a coldy

Sounds good mate we will either be in main camp area or site just before it on left.

Eddy
Post by: BigJules on January 22, 2013, 07:09:12 PM
Fishing at Leslie dam outside off Warwick, head up Saturday morning SWMBO works until midnight friday.

If you find a pair of blue shorts, they're mine. Lost 'em one evening about 30 years on a board behind my mates dads boat, came up starkers. :-[
Post by: hainess on January 22, 2013, 07:47:01 PM
Well,,,,
Looking at the extended forecast, Hopefully I'll be sitting on the verandah for 2 days watching the money fall out of the sky.
Dry as a nuns n****.

Boating? Ha. HaHa. Bwhaaaa.
Look at the forecast.
Somehow I think the council will be wasting money on the boom gate into Wello point.
Not enough takers.

Rod
Post by: Vk3bq on January 22, 2013, 09:07:57 PM
How busy would somewhere like ulupna island (murray near echuca / cobram ) be over Australia Day weekend?  We are undecided. Not big on crowds. But suspect we won't have a choice on that matter :))
Post by: Barrabart on January 23, 2013, 01:58:58 AM
I'll be in the New Ireland Province of PNG............. oh the frikkkken joy of it all!!  :cheers:
Post by: cancan on January 23, 2013, 06:31:14 AM
We will be at the races at Caloundra on Saturday otherwise at home painting bedrooms.
Post by: Kelpies on January 23, 2013, 08:54:32 AM
Heading to Wellington for a Yard dog trial in the beer garden of the pub. Should be interesting if the sheep jump out of the yard there straight in the river. :cup:
Post by: bussoboy on January 23, 2013, 11:58:22 AM
Heading to Wellington for a Yard dog trial in the beer garden of the pub. Should be interesting if the sheep jump out of the yard there straight in the river. :cup:

my nephew is right into the whole sheep dog trail thing............. even represented WA a year or so ago??
Post by: Kevs GU on January 23, 2013, 05:58:23 PM
Off to Kurnell Aus day then to Wee Jasper for 2 to3 days hopefully never been there hope its ok. :cheers:
Post by: Nay-DMAX on January 23, 2013, 07:00:48 PM
How busy would somewhere like ulupna island (murray near echuca / cobram ) be over Australia Day weekend?  We are undecided. Not big on crowds. But suspect we won't have a choice on that matter :))

Probably packed unless you can get there Thurs or early Fri, we dont go to Ulupna but camp near Cobram and always struggle for a spot on Aus day weekend.  If its not a big drive for you then can only try.  :)
Post by: Vk3bq on January 23, 2013, 09:14:51 PM
:(. Stuck at work until at least mid Friday :(
Post by: Nay-DMAX on January 23, 2013, 09:23:09 PM
:(. Stuck at work until at least mid Friday :(

Same for me finish after 5 BF looking to go up earlier which means we have 2 cars there then but one is work car and means we might get a spot
Post by: Nomad on January 23, 2013, 09:34:35 PM
Came back early from Surfing trip to drive to Blackall for a funeral.......12hours of power starting at 4am tomorrow.......... :'(
Post by: Rumpig on January 23, 2013, 10:05:22 PM
Gonna bust it up to gordan country, hopefully there's some water left in the creek
if weather predictions are right you just might get your wish, though might be more water then you hope for  ;D ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 24, 2013, 05:24:04 AM
There is a VERY nice swimming hole about a 20 min walk up stream.  Pics on the blog is your interested in the fairly easy walk and short rock hop.

Going by the forecast, you may not need to do that walk to get to the swimming hole.

The swimming hole will be coming to you...
Post by: Black-Pig on January 24, 2013, 05:42:05 AM
For me it will be. Arriving in Melbourne at silly oclock then wait for a Jetstar flight to Tassie. Will be nice not to have to wear a jumper though... will be able to do some :4x4:
Post by: gutters on January 24, 2013, 06:12:44 AM
Going by the forecast, you may not need to do that walk to get to the swimming hole.

The swimming hole will be coming to you...

Yep looks like we will have some much needed rain this weekend, just watched the cyclone chaser youtube clip that Kit_e posted - some very interesting scenarios to keep an eye on.
Post by: Kalebjarrod on January 24, 2013, 02:47:40 PM
if weather predictions are right you just might get your wish, though might be more water then you hope for  ;D ;D

Ummmmmmm, rethinking camping this weekend

Might watch my dams fill up instead, money money money
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 24, 2013, 04:24:13 PM
I bet a lot are rethinking this week-end by now.

I've had to take boating off the menu for the long week-end.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 24, 2013, 04:37:19 PM

I think this kind of weather is THE BEST time to go camping as 75% of people have given it a miss completely and those campgrounds will be looking a bit bare   :cup:

However, I'll still be at home gardening and drinking (as mentioned before) as this is not our usual weekend. 

Bring on that rain I say!!

Post by: crykies on January 24, 2013, 05:10:12 PM
Fraser island tomorrow morning lol fishing and camping. Yep we are going to get wet very wet butabit of rain never gets in the way of a good time. I will the mrs n kids at bome and go with my brother. Better take alot of bundy to keep warm. Sandy cape for 3 nights.

I have 2nd guessed goi g but my brother is very keen. I do t think he knows what we are in for.

Call us crazy !!! Lol
Post by: Kalebjarrod on January 24, 2013, 05:36:31 PM
Fraser island tomorrow morning lol fishing and camping. Yep we are going to get wet very wet butabit of rain never gets in the way of a good time. I will the mrs n kids at bome and go with my brother. Better take alot of bundy to keep warm. Sandy cape for 3 nights.

I have 2nd guessed goi g but my brother is very keen. I do t think he knows what we are in for.

Call us crazy !!! Lol

Ok

Your crazy
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on January 24, 2013, 05:38:47 PM
Mate, go to weatherzone and put in Fraser Island ya crazy bastard, gunna be very wet and windy and wild.
(reminds me a girl i once knew)  ;D  >:D

I'd be giving it the big raspberry if it was me, but the upside is, the sand at Inskip should be a snip now.
Post by: Kalebjarrod on January 24, 2013, 06:31:57 PM
Ummmmmm

I'd suggest no
Post by: BigJules on January 24, 2013, 07:09:20 PM
We're off to Bonnie Hills for a few days, can't wait.

The coastal forecast is not looking great but who cares if you're away.
Post by: GS on January 24, 2013, 07:23:40 PM
I think camping in Seq will be a challenge this weekend.

We are rethinking Brunswick Heads, three days under wet canvas...........mmmmmmm.....
Post by: Rumpig on January 24, 2013, 08:46:28 PM
Mate, go to weatherzone and put in Fraser Island ya crazy bastard, gunna be very wet and windy and wild.
(reminds me a girl i once knew)  ;D  >:D

I'd be giving it the big raspberry if it was me, but the upside is, the sand at Inskip should be a snip now.
rain is one thing, but the wind predictions if they are correct will be what makes beach camping hard to enjoy this weekend.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 24, 2013, 08:47:56 PM
three days under wet canvas...........

Is better than three days at home!

Post by: crykies on January 24, 2013, 09:20:43 PM
Well i spoke with my brother and convinced him its not a good idea. Logged onto qpws and cannceled and got a credit. Yep to wet even for us. Double island has had 85 mm since 9 am and will only vet worse.  Bright side is with the big wet the fire ban at inskip will be lifted and i am 4 weeks away from a 3 week stay there. 

Home with the mrs and 4 kids it is for me and by the looks of it indoors as well. 

Boooo booooo is all i have to say. Everytime we plan something is pisses out of the sky it seems.

Chris. 
Post by: KingBilly on January 25, 2013, 06:27:09 AM
We've decided not to go to Gordon Country.  Bummer  :'(  A lot of black soil which isn't much fun when it's wet.

Post by: bussoboy on January 25, 2013, 06:40:04 AM
yup our weekend away has been cancelled, but we will do a day trip up into Barrington over the weekend

the rest of it will be spent sorting out my shed
Post by: oldmate on January 25, 2013, 06:47:35 AM
Yep paddy's flat is off for us now.
Post by: Blueroo on January 25, 2013, 12:28:46 PM
Yep we bailed out of going to Girraween.
stu
Post by: Trackabout Off Road Campers on January 25, 2013, 02:19:56 PM
.....An yep, Gordon Country, we'll see you at Easter.. Maybe.. And everyone it's not because our tents leak  :cheers:
Post by: Kalebjarrod on January 25, 2013, 02:39:11 PM
.....An yep, Gordon Country, we'll see you at Easter.. Maybe.. And everyone it's not because our tents leak  :cheers:

Haha sure sure
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on January 25, 2013, 03:12:56 PM

So which of you is dropping by my place for a spot of mowing then?  Since you all now have nothing to do that is.   ;D

Post by: GUEY on January 25, 2013, 03:40:55 PM
No where now. Have to stay home and look after our now one footed lorry.
Stupid expensive bloody bird. >:(

(http://i1256.photobucket.com/albums/ii491/guey12/20130122_174533_4-1.jpg)
Post by: evolution on January 25, 2013, 04:38:00 PM
I don't know if this helps anyone, but Albury Wodonga is getting the bum end of the rain yet again........
only 12-30mm predicted over the long weekend????

http://www.weatherzone.com.au/vic/north-east/wodonga (http://www.weatherzone.com.au/vic/north-east/wodonga)

Might be a good spot for some free camping by the dam?

Evo
Post by: Trackabout Off Road Campers on January 25, 2013, 04:45:04 PM

So which of you is dropping by my place for a spot of mowing then?  Since you all now have nothing to do that is.   ;D

Kit_e.. Pick me!! Just as long as you leave the keys to the fridge  :cheers: Also providing I can start the mower with all this rain.. Don't think I could  ???
Post by: Bunyip on January 29, 2013, 10:04:56 AM
Had a great long long weekend at Cundle Flat Farm. The guys there are so nice, the campground is beautiful and $10 of firewood will last for several nights.

Yeah it was a little wet  Saturday night, Sunday and Monday but all good. The kids figured they would already be wet if they were in the river so what the hell.

Post by: Clouty on January 29, 2013, 07:54:34 PM
Yep paddy's flat is off for us now.
Paddy's flat would be about 20 metres under water :'(...
Glad you didn't go...