General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Hairs on January 03, 2013, 01:26:48 PM
Do we really need them?
I notice more and more people are fitting reverse cameras to their vehicles, not just 4wd's but the bitumen babies are fitting them as well.
Are we just becoming lazy the older we get or are we just embracing new technology and therefore it becomes a must have piece of kit or are we just keeping up with the Jones?
I read with horror when a story comes around that a child has been run over while playing in the driveway and I realize( having three of our own) that they can move quickly like a thief in the night without you knowing and be behind the vehicle in a flash, Or is it we forget to look in our mirrors? I also take a look around the vehicle before hopping in to give a once over to make sure there isn't any toys, scooters or bikes that have been left laying near. Our kids have also had it drummed into them to Not Go near a car when it is running, unless they have been told to get in it. Even tho they are older now, I DO NOT Move the vehicle unless I am 100% sure of where they are, either in the car with me or well away from it.
Following drivers along a road or highway it is obvious that many drivers don't look in their mirrors, you can see they are startled to find you there even tho you have been following them for awhile, so maybe this is a factor. Also some vehicles have a shocking view out the back, the VT Commodore comes to mind, I cant believe Holden even supply a revision mirror, it's as useless as them jingly things that give milk being on a Bull. Fysh's Astra is another one, I can see more behind my cruiser than it.
So I'm wondering what Swaggers thoughts are about reverse cameras? BTW, not that I'm thinking about getting one, as cheap as they are I don't feel I need one.
Do we really need them?
I have driven the Prado with and without a reverse camera and my answer is absolutely 100% you need them. I don't use it as the only reversing aid as I use my mirrors primarily then the reverse sensors. It enables me to ensure I am not going to hit anything and can assist getting into tight car parks. IIRC they are about to be a mandatory ADR requirement on new cars just like ESC was made mandatory a year or so ago.
Agree. Would struggle to cope without. Imagine life without your mobile phone or PC/laptop with Internet. Same deal, they are brilliant. Especially for those of us with lard arsed lumps like the LC200
I've got a hilux and I do much the same as you, drum into my little clan not to move around cars that are turned on. They do have their advantages, like helping when connecting up the trailer because the misso just doesn't understand hand signals!! We always check to make sure that there isn't any kids around when we move, but there is that chance that a little one may just not be seen!! So for the piece of mind I'm looking at getting one.
If something did happen, the person that is driving is the one at fault, not the child!! If it happened to me, hitting a child, I would be devastated as any person would be.
Having tried one on a work car, l reckon if we lived in the city and had to reverse parallel park a lot, l'd have one.
It certainly made parking easier. Same for attaching the CT.
Re mirrors, l reckon a lot of people don't have them adjusted properly. The internal one is for looking out the back. In general driving, the side mirrors are for viewing what is in the lanes beside you, not the side of you car. Mine are adjusted to see the vehicle behind when it is just about to pass by the rear end of mine.
There not called marriage savers for nothing, it makes hitching up so much easier and the safety aspect is worth it.
Trevor ;D
G'day D4D,
If they are to be a mandatory ADR requirement on new cars, does that indicate that news cars are getting worse for seeing whats behind?
Hi nbd73,
Mobile Phones LOL, I'm not one of those that have to check it 1000x a minute. Yeah I know some must for work purposes, But not this little duck ;D
Hey Strvy,
Yeah agree, It would be shattering, Hope I never have to go through that, hence I am so wary when kids are around vehicles.
I think I just recently read somewhere Mace, how many drivers that Don't check their mirror alignments when they first get into a different vehicle, let alone their own vehicles was very high.
I've learned over the 30 years of driving to use my mirrors, My father made sure I could parallel park using them, without having to look over my shoulder. Something i will have to teach my kids as they one by one go for their licenses.
A couple of months ago I had to reverse down a pretty steep hill track, we were blocked by a tree and there was nowhere to turn around. I didn't even think about, jumped in and off we went no big deal. I usually can't see out the back of the cruiser anyway with all the gear in it, so it's like second nature to me.
I helped out at our local Rodeo with parking last Saturday afternoon, It was obvious that a lot of people struggle to judge distances behind them. Some would pull up 3 meters short of the vehicle behind them, they still wouldn't believe you that they had heaps of room to go. To some it wasn't a problem, they swung it in like a pro.
I guess too, I've worked around machinery, forklifts, trucks and the like for years so it becomes just part of it.
Hey Trevor ,
At Dubbo Zoo in 2011, I watched as a couple came in with a 24ft van, she had a hand held uhf, and she still gave him the wrong directions, poor buggar was about to give her an ear full. then noticed half a dozen of us sitting back having a beer watching >:D
The Jeep just fits in the garage so I use the camera to gauge when to stop before I hit the wall (have about 5cm to play with).
Also having to hook up the caravan on my own they make life easy, The last hook up was the first that I have not hopped out to check my progress, I can now align it without getting out of the car (hopefully not famous last words).
The next stage is to add another camera to the back of the van. Yesterday I had to reverse back a bit in a service station and it is a worry when you cannot see anything directly behind you.
Who has what in reversing cameras.
I retrofitted a newer Toyota head unit and camera into my Prado as I wanted the OE look. The looms are all the same in the Prado so it was plug and play. I think the head unit I fitted came out of a new Hilux. Did the later model 100 series have a factory reverse cam?
(http://blkmav.com/prado/reversecam.jpg)
(http://blkmav.com/prado/headunit.jpg)
I want to get a VMS unit that is both a GPS n reverse camera, but pricy tho.
Hairs, u've started a good informative thread I think!!
I have never felt the need for one.
But
Have always wanted one.
Having an older Prado, Digg appears the next best option.
Having a cassette player apparently is not cool.
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
We have a 2004 Jeep, i'm just happy to have reverse gear.
Its in having a $4,000 trans rebuild as we speak, we had reverse and 2nd gear when it pooped itself.
We have a 2004 Jeep, i'm just happy to have reverse gear.
I guess 'it's a Jeep thing' :)
Yeah great question Mark,
With so many different devices to choose from and there would be just as many features that they come with, I guess it would be mind boggling for someone that has decided to purchase one.
Hey Kangaron,
We lashed out the other day a bought a dock so the daughter can plug her Ipod or Phone into and listen to 'Her music" through the FM radio. I'm slowly catching up to the 20th century, now don't rush me man ;D
D4D, I use to play SEGA Rally split screen on a 14" telly with mates, so I might have half a chance of doing some damage with a screen that small ;D
we hired a rental moving truck the other day and it had a reversing camera high on the back, and the screen was in the central mirror.
The mirror is otherwise useless of course with a body on the back.
I had not used one before, and tried various positioning moves in reverse.
I found the perspective took some getting used to, but it could save backing into a wall.
Why they used a small screen in a central mirror is a bit of a mystery, an el-cheapo chinese 7" screen would have been better for my eye sight.
If you need reading glasses the small screens start to get difficult to see the detail.
I think they are a great aid. You get into trouble trying to use them solely for backing. Mirrors are the go, the reversing cam is to allow you to see behind you. I have fitted one to the van.
Mirrors are the go, the reversing cam is to allow you to see behind you.
I was thinking this.
To reverse anything, you need to have depth of field, do these give that or as you say they only let you see whats behind you.
Is the viewing quality that good it allows to judge the distance pretty accurately?
achjimmy 100% correct.
Maybe having driven trucks for all those years may have blurred my judgement
I think its sad people cant drive without 230984230948 aids... :(
what do these people do when all their "aids" **** themselves? Panic? Curl up into a ball?
My job has me driving lots of different vehicles both with and without cameras fitted. In my opinion I think the best style of reversing camera system is one that has the screen in the rear view mirror either integral to the mirror itself or fitted in front of or beside of the OEM mirror. My reason is that it is an area you would normally look. Having the screen in the centre of the dash is out of the way and distracting. Like I said just my opinion. I have been driving trucks for the last 20 years (the big red ones with red and blue flashing lights). Like most truck drivers, reversing with mirrors is second nature as looking over your shoulder is not an option. My Navara is always full of crap in the back also ruling out rear vision without using the side mirrors. I find the camera just a another good tool to assist reversing, not a single piece of equipment that I solely rely on.
The one I have is the ARB system. I have a main camera mounted up on the roof rack which is activated by selecting reverse, a second camera that is mounted close to the tow hitch for lining up the boat or camper and a third mounted on the back of my camper.this is activated by selecting reverse and replaces the first one mentioned above. The only gripe I have is that the screen is just a little small. I also turn the camera on the back of the camper on while driving in traffic as it gives me an actual rear view normally blocked by the big bastard jayco eagle outback!
Personally, I think it is a must in any 4wd, Station Wagon, Van or any car for that matter. Any tool that can assist in preventing the unthinkable (reverse over a child) has to be good. I pup one in mine and would rate it as one of the best mods I have ever done. Make shopping centre car parking a breeze, hitching a trailer easy with no wife interface required and the safety aspects speak for themselves.....IMO they should be a compulsory fit to new cars......:-)
never used them but the work vehicle has reversing buzzers and they s### me I have mirrors to tell me I am close to something I dont need to be beeped at when reversing out my drive telling me I am about to approach a road --- but as mentioned before why do they make vehicles with so many blind spots now ???
I only installed one for hooking up the camper......and anything that stops the manic arm waving bad direction giving wife is gotta be a good thing !! ;D
On the odd occasion when hitching up we video call eachother .
My phone in the cradle and she near the hitch
Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2
I drive heavy vehicles for work and i would have to agree they are a must although none of our vehicles have them fitted but its company policy that we can not reverse these without a spotter.
I had an el cheapo fitted to our old GQ which we recently sold. But since owning the GU i will defiantly be fitting 1 to the car and also 1 to the rear of the camper.
Just need to find a nice head unit to replace the factory unit (open for ideas)
By the way the GU is an 05 model
Maverick, do u need the GPS function as well? VMS do a good one with a portable GPS and camera set up. Or I was in Jaycar yesterday and they have a $300 jobby.
Just an idea.
I bought mine out of Hong Kong on ebay for $70.00, complete, and free delivery, works great and has the line markings so you can better judge the distances. Its a colour screen (5 inch, but also is available in 7 inch) and the camera is made to fit into the position you take one of the numberplate lights out of. It is supplied with both hard wired connection or wireless and I connected up with wireless and its working perfect.
Wouldnt be without it :D
Just need to find a nice head unit to replace the factory unit (open for ideas)
By the way the GU is an 05 model
http://www.digoptions.com/SearchResults.asp?Cat=1861 (http://www.digoptions.com/SearchResults.asp?Cat=1861)
We have one on the Patrol, fantastic - regardless of your mirrors, I can not see immediately behind the vehicle. Also good for hooking up the Cub.
I bought mine out of Hong Kong on ebay for $70.00, complete, and free delivery, works great and has the line markings so you can better judge the distances. Its a colour screen (5 inch, but also is available in 7 inch) and the camera is made to fit into the position you take one of the numberplate lights out of. It is supplied with both hard wired connection or wireless and I connected up with wireless and its working perfect.
I've got the same as Trevor but hard wired mine to a screen I also bought from China. About $40- all up and some time to install and is still working a treat over 2 years down the track. Always use my mirrors but a great back up and a nice bit of insurance doing Kinder and school drop offs and pick ups. And isn't it easier hitching up the camper!
StrvnMrvn, A GPS function would be nice and handy in the future.
Does anyone have a link to the vms system
Maverick, here is where im looking
http://www.gpsoz.com.au/vms/vms_touring.htm (http://www.gpsoz.com.au/vms/vms_touring.htm)
That VMS unit doesn't look like an in dash unit. You could fit a late model Hilux head unit with cam/navif you wanted.
I didn't want nav as my phone (Nokia Lumia 800) does a good enough job for the times I need it in the burbs. I have an eBay special GPS for when I am in the bush but I plan to upgrade to a Hema HN6.
Here's a link to the different OE Toyota head units.
2011 Audio Systems (http://www.scribd.com/doc/67060670/2011-Audio-Systems#)
Might get Evolution to pick up a Pioneer and camera and I will try out the new Nexus 7 when I can afford it for nav.
That VMS unit doesn't look like an in dash unit. You could fit a late model Hilux head unit with cam/navif you wanted.
I didn't want nav as my phone (Nokia Lumia 800) does a good enough job for the times I need it in the burbs. I have an eBay special GPS for when I am in the bush but I plan to upgrade to a Hema HN6.
Here's a link to the different OE Toyota head units.
2011 Audio Systems (http://www.scribd.com/doc/67060670/2011-Audio-Systems#)
I don't want in dash kit, I want to be able to take it out and use the GPS in the misso's car.
Very interesting topic. Got me to do a bit of reading.
What sort of video lens would people suggest. CCD, IR, Night Vision.
Cheers, Marschy
Very interesting topic. Got me to do a bit of reading.
What sort of video lens would people suggest. CCD, IR, Night Vision.
Cheers, Marschy
I understand night vision and IR, but what is CCD?
Closed Circuit Digital
Actually 'charge coupled device'
I am looking to fit one in our campervan. Cant see anything out the back window and the extra thick tint on there would make it impossible even if it was clear.
Hought might have some issues with a wireless unit.
I should look into fitting a wired unit, but if a wireless unit was working good, that would save me some headache.
Do you have a link?
I don't want in dash kit, I want to be able to take it out and use the GPS in the misso's car.
units such as the Hema hn5i (and i assume the newer hn6) have the ability to hook a reverse camera up to them if your after a removable GPS also.
Gday Trevor. I'm keen on getting a wireless one, but have heard they can be unreliable. You're obviously happy with yours.
What is the name or brand of it?
Thanks. Neil
How well do the rear view mirror screens hold up in high temperatures. Hopped in my car today and I reckon it was over 60 degrees in there. With the mirror screens sitting for the most part in direct sunlight they must cop a beating with high temperatures. Is the enclosure made of similar plastic to the plastic on original mirrors?
My mirror one seems fine, it's been through really hot days and really cold days and still works a treat.
Gday Trevor. I'm keen on getting a wireless one, but have heard they can be unreliable. You're obviously happy with yours.
What is the name or brand of it?
Thanks. Neil
There was no name on the unit I got but the dealer was very helpful, I told him what I wanted and he gave me some options with full kits and different size screens in colour and B/W. Here is his link to the camera I bought from his ebay shop http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SONY-CCD-CAR-REAR-VIEW-REVERSE-CAMERA-TOYOTA-Land-Cruiser-LC100-120-4500-4700-/160949273599?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item25795303ff#ht_9092wt_906 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SONY-CCD-CAR-REAR-VIEW-REVERSE-CAMERA-TOYOTA-Land-Cruiser-LC100-120-4500-4700-/160949273599?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item25795303ff#ht_9092wt_906)
He has a lot more than whats shown in the ebay store, if your interested.
Thanks Trevor...I'll check it out.
Personally, I think it is a must in any 4wd, Station Wagon, Van or any car for that matter. Any tool that can assist in preventing the unthinkable (reverse over a child) has to be good. I pup one in mine and would rate it as one of the best mods I have ever done. Make shopping centre car parking a breeze, hitching a trailer easy with no wife interface required and the safety aspects speak for themselves.....IMO they should be a compulsory fit to new cars......:-)
I 100% agree with this post. I dont think its a lazy thing to have one but some people will only use the camera to reverse. I think any device fitted to a car to help prevent potential deadly accident is a good thing but should still be used in conjunction with your mirrors whilst still reversing and not relying 100% on the camera. Look at it like a 4th mirror i reckon.
When i was driving a car carrier i had to reverse alot of cars on the trailer in very close proximitey( 4 fingers space between cars) and they saved alot of pain having to get in and out of the car to check how close you were and really saved me money from accidentally hitting a car behind me. Just about all the higher spec cars from all the models had reversing cameras factory fitted.
I would love to get one that is integrated into the dash. Replace the 2din steroe in the 80 with a system to do navigation, radio, reversing etc... I would also like to get a front facing camera.
When our kids were young I refused to take the LandCruiser anywhere near the school as the number of times I have seen near misses with small kids walking between cars and waiting to cross the road. The driver of the 4wd that the kids is standing infront of cannot see there is a small child infront of their car as their heads do not come up over the bonnet.
I preferred to walk to 3 minutes from an adjoining street and keep my Cruiser well away from the kids.
getting back to it I would have a reverse camera on the camper and low mount on the car, and a forward facing camera as well.
I am planning to replace my current 7" Hong Kong GPS with one that incorporates a reversing camera, mainly for hitching up the trailer. Cost less than $100.
i have a Polaris GPS with reversing camera (plus ability to add a camera on the back of the trialer later)......i find it a pain in the arse for hooking up as i never had any problems before and would do it all with my mirrors in one go, now i have the camera it take 2 or 3 goes at it before getting it right.
love it for an aid at backing up the trailer or parking, but i dont rely on just the camera
I picked up one of these back in 2011, did the big trip, still works a treat - + wireless reverse camera great for hooking up camper.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-7-GPS-Car-Navigation-System-Bluetooth-Wireless-reverse-Camera-free-updates-/280934032022?pt=AU_Electronics_GPS (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-7-GPS-Car-Navigation-System-Bluetooth-Wireless-reverse-Camera-free-updates-/280934032022?pt=AU_Electronics_GPS)
Don't always have it set up as dont need it for day to day. Couldn't see the need to fork out around a grand for brand snobbery, esp when it uses the same platform & mapping software. It can run off road maps concurrently, but I haven't loaded ozi on it yet...
Let me know if you want to check it out, can sort something out if need be.
Nutto
I'm interested in the wireless camera: has anyone used one of these, and are there any pointers as to where to mount the transmitter to ensure good reception? Can the transmitter be outside the car (e.g. behind the plastic bumper) or does it need to be inside?
I'm looking for a 2 din head unit with GPS and reversing camera on ebay. There are so many to choose from it is very confusing. Does anyone have any experience or recommendations?
I have had one of these http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DIG-Options-GPS-Toyota-Car-Player-Navigation-Prado-120-Hiace-Hilux-DVD-Radio-/280970731808?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item416b292120 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/DIG-Options-GPS-Toyota-Car-Player-Navigation-Prado-120-Hiace-Hilux-DVD-Radio-/280970731808?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item416b292120) for the last 18months. Didn't get it from that seller, but essentially it is the same unit. I have heard good things about that seller, especially regarding after sales service. Purchased it through a NewHilux group buy through a company called ASure in China. They used to be on ebay and had an online site. Not sure if they still exist. My reverse camera was different, but has worked flawlessly, and can easily be replaced for around $40.
This is my unit installed in the hilux
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/35263-2/100_7044.JPG)
I don't use the CD player, as all my music is on the SD card, so I cannot speak for the quality of that bit. The street navigator (iGo 8 ) works really well, and is the same program on my 5inch VMS unit I purchased in 2009. Oziexplorer is great for offroad trips. Having the reverse camera connected automatically to the reverse wire is great, as this car is the shopping trolley, and essential on my rig as I have no vision out the back.
No my unit cannot be connected to a tyre monitor system, as others can. There is no 'shuffle' or random play when playing songs (my fix is to have a usb plugged in also with the music random on it). The unit cuts off the first second of a song- no idea why, but for the price I can live with it, and it's only annoying when listening to Pink Floyd and each song flows onto the next!!! Radio reception was a little worse, so I had to pull the antenna out some more. I can connect a set of rear screens if I choose when the kids get older.
There are other threads on this topic, so do a search!
Goodluck :cheers: Kris
Hi Kris, I've been in touch with that seller and will be going into the city to have a look at the unit as soon as they get back from holiday next week. Good to know your happy with yours and thanks for the feedback.
When installing the reverse camera, I wired through an ON-ON switch. This allows the camera to come on automatically when reverse is selected, or manually which is great when on the road and people sit up your arse that you can't see.
Well I have two cameras in my truck, one under the tray which looks down on the towball - this is a godsend when hitching up the trailer. If you get one of these fitted, you'll wonder how you ever did without it.
(http://symon.id.au/symon/pics/IMG_5281.JPG)
The second is up high at the rear of the tray. Since I have toolboxes in the tray as well as usually loaded up with other crap, it is impossible to see anything out of the rear view mirror. So this is where this guy comes in handy.
(http://symon.id.au/symon/pics/IMG_5282.JPG)
Both cameras feed into a clip on unit on the rear view mirror.
(http://symon.id.au/symon/pics/IMG_5283.JPG)
Every vehicle I own has at least one camera. I'm sorry if I upset a few people but to say we are getting lazy and that mirrors are just as good quite frankly are wrong.
These things should be mandatory.
I want a similar set up to you Symon. One camera for hitching up (in dash), one to see out the back (I won't have a rear window on my canopy) and one on the back of the camper.
When installing the reverse camera, I wired through an ON-ON switch. This allows the camera to come on automatically when reverse is selected, or manually which is great when on the road and people sit up your arse that you can't see.
I'm interested in doing this myself. How do you wire it up so that when you turn the camera on when not in reverse, the reverse lights on your your vehicle don't come on?
Cheers, Marschy
I have mine wired with an in cab 3 position switch (on-off-on). This way I can turn on anytime I wish or I can switch it to come on with reverse (this is where it sits 95% of the time) or middle position is completely off. It is also wired to my rear light (Kaymar telescopic light) which also comes on in same configuration. Thus, giving me a flood light lighting up the rear at night....Works a treat.....
Not a wrong thing as far as I'm concerned. Being in the highway patrol the worst bingle that you can come across is one from a collision involving reversing over their own kids. Not pleasant. Every car should be equipped with one. i dread it.
I'm interested in doing this myself. How do you wire it up so that when you turn the camera on when not in reverse, the reverse lights on your your vehicle don't come on?
Cheers, Marschy
This is how mine's wired:
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/43643-2/pic1.jpg)
Being an On-On switch, it gets its power from the reverse wire activated when reverse is selected, or direct from the battery. There is never power in both settings at one.
Does this make sense?
Kris
Got it, thanks heaps.
Wish the parents' Captiva had a reverse camera fitted, I feel like I'm looking through a series of pinholes when I drive it. The rear view mirror blocks almost all of the left hand side of the windscreen and for what it visible in it they may as well not put it there at all, I have to duck to actually see anything coming from the left side of the vehicle. The sides are almost as bad and forget about seeing anything behind you, no matter how you twist, turn and position the mirrors. The only good thing is the side mirrors are nice and large with a good range of vision, but it still leaves you with nearly impossible blind spots to deal with in the back.
If I slouch down a lot I can see a fair bit better but it is still bad and it is really bad for the back. I avoid driving it when I can, but they both had eye tests done today and wanted a driver for afterwards and insisted on their car. I don't know how it passed any kind of safety testing, I jump in and I'm instantly struck by how much of the vehicle I can see vs outside. All the airbags are well and good but they bulk up the pillars that much they make it difficult to see out of the vehicle, which I'd think is more dangerous :S
Just bringing up on old thread.
I am looking for a reverse camera, either wireless or not that is simple to install. I ma not sure if they do a camera that suits a 100 series.
Any new models on the market.
Mark check out ebay, there are gazillions out there now and they are all pretty cheap.
I recently purchased 2 CCD reverse camera's from aliexpress. One for my son's Ranger, one for the Territory.
These are to replace the camera's that we had installed at mates rates when we bought our vehicles thru my wife who works at a Ford dealership.
After having one of these on my FG XR6, I can highly recommend them. The grid lines are very useful, but can be disabled if you don't like them. If you look at the comparison pictures between CCD and CMOS camera pictures on this link, the difference is quite significant, better with CCD, not as sharp with CMOS.
CM-210 CCD Universal Parking Camera (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Universal-Reversing-Car-Camera-Night-vision-HD-CCD-waterproof-car-reversing-Parking-backup-camera/689225467.html)
Don't bother with these type, they fog up on cold mornings, and no option of grid lines.
170'' wide viewing angle12V Night Vision Car Rear View Camera Reverse Backup (http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-Shipping-170-wide-viewing-angle12V-Night-Vision-Car-Rear-View-Camera-Reverse-Backup/986024090.html)
And having had one of each of the above camera's I can say without a doubt, the first one is better in low light.
Mark check out ebay, there are gazillions out there now and they are all pretty cheap.
Thats the problem to bloody many. Pick me one mate you know what I am like at connecting things.
I only installed one for hooking up the camper......and anything that stops the manic arm waving bad direction giving wife is gotta be a good thing !! ;D
I hear you brother ;D ;D ;D
The Dmax turned up with one of these and i thought it was a wank till the first time i put it in R now i love it
(http://i421.photobucket.com/albums/pp294/fox260276/IMG_0231_zpsecb43e4d.jpg) (http://s421.photobucket.com/user/fox260276/media/IMG_0231_zpsecb43e4d.jpg.html)
Thats the problem to bloody many. Pick me one mate you know what I am like at connecting things.
Same here Mark.
I bought a head unit which can handle 3 cameras. Now to choose a model for the rear first.
My understanding is the CCD has the best quality?
Same here Mark.
I bought a head unit which can handle 3 cameras. Now to choose a model for the rear first.
My understanding is the CCD has the best quality?
That's my understanding too. CCD Camera's in OZ are bloody expensive tho, even on ebay. I can highly recommend the link I gave to the CCD camera in my post above, read the feedback, I am 'Mark S'. I've now bought 3 from the same supplier who specializes in aftermarket camera's, replacement in-dash displays and generally specialises in this area.
Hey guys,
It is possible to purchase a reverse camera specifically for allot of certain vehicles. The 100 series cruiser just happens to be one of them.
http://aerpro.com/chart/TOYOTA%20Landcruiser%2099_06.pdf (http://aerpro.com/chart/TOYOTA%20Landcruiser%2099_06.pdf)
Anyone who stocks Aerpro can get these in for you.
Evo
Ive got mine hooked up to the video input on the Navman, works a treat but Navman video pin out is non standard which is something to watch out for.
The camera lets me hook up the CT stress free which is a major bonus, its really handy for parking and making sure no one is behind when backing up.
I'd love to get one up front to keep an eye on wheel placement when 4wd'ing (just a thought - It'd probably get ripped off by a tree or something).
We did have a wireless camera but it would pick up too much interference every now and then which was really annoying so I got a cheap hard wire camera off ebay.
Stu
Marchy, is it the first link or the second?
What angle is best for hooking up the trailer?
This looks similar
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SONY-CCD-CAR-REAR-VIEW-REVERSE-CAMERA-TOYOTA-Land-Cruiser-LC100-120-4500-4700/160949273599?rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D163%26meid%3D696444427021183117%26pid%3D100005%26prg%3D1088%26rk%3D2%26rkt%3D4%26sd%3D260746685626%26 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/SONY-CCD-CAR-REAR-VIEW-REVERSE-CAMERA-TOYOTA-Land-Cruiser-LC100-120-4500-4700/160949273599?rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.m1851&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D163%26meid%3D696444427021183117%26pid%3D100005%26prg%3D1088%26rk%3D2%26rkt%3D4%26sd%3D260746685626%26)
Doesn't work with a rear wheel carrier.
Marchy, is it the first link or the second?
What angle is best for hooking up the trailer?
First link. The camera has a preset angle that gives a birds eye view of the hitch and still gives good visibility behind the vehicle.
Hairs, Reversing camera is required for my set up as there is no rear view through the cabin. Actually have 2 with the other over the tow bar which is great for hooking up.
Well I have two cameras in my truck, one under the tray which looks down on the towball - this is a godsend when hitching up the trailer. If you get one of these fitted, you'll wonder how you ever did without it.
(http://symon.id.au/symon/pics/IMG_5281.JPG)
Hi Symon,
Where did you get this one from?
Do all cameras have these distance lines?
Anyone knows if this will do?
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/AU-1-4-SHARP-CCD-Waterproof-18-IR-D-N-Car-Reversing-Backup-Car-Rear-Camera-/251191511546?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3a7c2e49fa#ht_5669wt_1399 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/AU-1-4-SHARP-CCD-Waterproof-18-IR-D-N-Car-Reversing-Backup-Car-Rear-Camera-/251191511546?pt=AU_Car_Parts_Accessories&hash=item3a7c2e49fa#ht_5669wt_1399)
The specs would suggest its a CMOS camera not CCD. CCD is typically 520 TV lines. CMOS is typically 420.
After a bit of reading I also found that it was highly recommended to get a camera with a large voltage range, though not sure why off the top of my head.
No, but some that do, allow them to be disabled if not required.
Yes I'm the same as HM19X but my BT50 IS 2008 mod
Thinking of a media unit swap out as it may be more cost effective to get upgraded GPS maps / reverse cam ability etc?
Intergrated?
I think the 2008 media unit can be swapped out with care?
Hi Symon,
Where did you get this one from?
Sorry mate, only just saw your post.
I got that one from WoW before they closed down, but I'm sure you can get them from ebay or Autobarn etc. It doesn't have the distance lines, which to me is just great. I've had one that had the lines and it was bloody annoying.
Is it a CCD or CMOS system?
I got the reverse camera and tested it.
It works!
But why or why are the supplying the wiring loom with those very ultra thin wires?
How do I connect these to a normal wire?