General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Wunderlust on January 01, 2013, 12:04:02 AM
A rant.. Are Bunnings staff generally bad or do I just get the wrong person every time, in the last few vistis the following:
1. Replacement washing line required. Told by their staff 'we only sell by the metre', two Minutes later I find it as I know from previous visits it exists in packs.
2. Today needed bitumen repair sealant. I had seen it previously in the local Bunnings store and as I went to another store, thought I'd ask at trade for the location (it was previously in trade), their response after describing the product in detail was a negative never heard of the stuff (or understood what it was for) and they don't stock it. Two minutes later I was able to find it in TRADE. Silly me for thinking they would know what they stock.
God knows what and how many items folks look for and the staff just don't know. Bunnings management are missing a trick here. Good news for masters!
HNY
Tim
standard issue for bunnings.
thats the price we all pay for demanding cheap prices.. nobody there has a clue anymore. :(
Personally I find the staff at Bunnings (Narellan) very knowledgeable and helpful. Never had a problem.
'shakey'
Cheap prices? ??? Not cheap at my local Bunnings....
We have found that customer service and product knowledge from the staff at our Cairns store leave a lot to be desired.
But customer service and product knowledge from the staff at our Smithfield store is outstanding.
Mind you since Masters opened down the street from the Cairns store the staff have improved a little.
Its just a job for the majority of them. At the pay rates they receive you could hardly expect to find experienced tradesmen, or even cluey handymen, working there. They don't want to know and can't imagine them reading stock listings or even looking at the products as they restock the shelves.
Sorry, but this is the norm and isn't going to change, and applies to more than just bunnings. What about super cheap? They are all kids getting $ while studying etc. Are they really going to know the answer to anything technical beyond the location of mobile phone charging kits?
I was just saying to my wife that Bunnings must have sent there staff to customer service school as the last few times I've been there the service is awesome. Well thats in Joondalup W.A anyway... :cheers:
I love Bunnings, when I die my wife will scatter my ashes there but don't expect service :)
I have always had excellent service at Bummings when we lived on the Sunshine Coast.
The staff would always have a smile and ask what i wanted, then proceeded to supply exactly what i'd requested.
Upon paying, i was always wished a nice day, as i wandered off with my sausage in a bit of bread. hmmmm, sausie sanger.
Not to sure about the hardware side of it, i only went for the snags and stale bread out the front. ;D
I love Bunnings, when I die my wife will scatter my ashes there but don't expect service :)
I am not sure if you are serious or not?
I hate Bunnings. I do go there when I have to, only because they have forced local smaller stores out of business. We do have a small hardware just up the road which is a family run business and their service is brilliant. But they do not stock all hardware items, that is when I am forced to go to Bunnings. I have noticed at our Bunnings that once staff would come up to you and ask if you need assistance, that has not happened for some time now. In fact I have had to search the store to find someone.
Price wise, it depends. Like Supercheap, they are not cheap on some items. But then again, the other day Repco had 25% off for RACQ members so I went there and bought a 10 litre plastic fuel container for $17. A few days later I was a Bunnings and there was the same fuel container for $11....... I had already used the one I bought so I could not take it back, but could not believe the difference.
Kevin
I am not sure if you are serious or not?
It was a little tongue in cheek :)
We have a new Bunnos that opened about 2 weeks ago, it has a huge number of lines that you don't see anywhere else (see my spacecase post). That said if I actually need to ask a question I will go to the local Mitre10.
I'm a chippy and a few of us refer to bunnings staff as cockroaches as they tend to scurry away as soon as they see you in a high vis shirt.
I love it when you ask one of them for information about a product and they start reading the back of the item out to you! Thanks for reading that for me I couldn't have done that without you!
Generally they are polite and as helpful as they can be with limited knowledge. Except for the girl at the checkout one time I was in a major hurry and she tells me to chillax! Could've strangled her!
Sent from my GT-I9300T using Tapatalk 2
Fortunately for me a fair number of the guys that work in the trade area at bunnings here are ex-tradies or have been there long enough to remember where everything is. However I have noticed that the range at our local store is diminishing to only a few brands and not always the quality brands either. For quick fix jobs I go to Bunnings, for the times where I want a good finish I go to our local Home hardware.
I'm a chippy and a few of us refer to bunnings staff as cockroaches as they tend to scurry away as soon as they see you in a high vis shirt.
I love it when you ask one of them for information about a product and they start reading the back of the item out to you! Thanks for reading that for me I couldn't have done that without you!
Generally they are polite and as helpful as they can be with limited knowledge. Except for the girl at the checkout one time I was in a major hurry and she tells me to chillax! Could've strangled her!
LMAO... you been to my local store then..
they have there good points. but not many. if i have an idea in my head and need a certain piece of something, i can wonder down the isle's and will always find something to do the job.
But if you ask one of the staff a question it's like Turbojohn said,,, they run away.
the Mrs wanted new tap's for the bathroom, so of we go down to the local,,, looking at all the taps trying to decide what she wanted. along comes one of the staff, she ask's the question's. he has the answers.! now i'm thinking this guy has brains...
plumbing section, plumbing questions = correct answers.?? how does this work.?
so got talking to him... turned out he done his time as a "Chippy" lmao. but at least he knew what he was talking about.
My Mrs said to me, "see i told you they had Plumbers that work in that section.!. i gave up..
BHG
But then again, the other day Repco had 25% off for RACQ members so I went there and bought a 10 litre plastic fuel container for $17. A few days later I was a Bunnings and there was the same fuel container for $11....... I had already used the one I bought so I could not take it back, but could not believe the difference.
Easy ... buy the Bunnings one and return it to Repco!
BHG probably do mate
Do you expect the pimply kid stacking shelves at Coles to be a chef and help you with your recipes? Why should Bunnings be any different?
LOL......
So true.
The kid at Coles doesn't have a nametag with plumbing, timber or whatever expert on it.>:D
So I don't expect him to be;)
At our bunnings theres a few older fellas in the store who are ex tradies retired who know there stuff the rest just simply fill the void. there prices are cheaper then the mitre 10 they replaced but living in a small country town its really the only store we have that has everything and is open 7 days. Theres is a smaller hardware store but not open weekends when i need them.
I am mostly happy with bunnings as I or the BF usually know what it is we are after there and can find it ourselves. However I was extremely unhappy when we were looking for a particular product this past 2 weeks that is not stocked in our local store they said it is a promotional item and they dont get to order them. So we were going to another town anyway but they didnt have them so I phoned our next closest 1 hour away described the whole product and told the YOUNG guy on the phone what it was called he said yep we have them here. Great so we think ok we will go there the next day have some breaky in town and get the product. Drive the hour have breaky go there and nope they never seen them and looked up the product code I googled on my phone and their store was not issued any. Now the 2 people on that day were good offered to get one sent from another store even though they cant physically order them they can transfer them from another store. Our local store did not offer this. They also asked who i spoke to the day before and what time I had rang I could not give them a name but did give time and they knew who it was. Now these 2 staff apologised and looked up a list of what stores were carrying the product. So some good and some bad.
Commonly held belief that all customer service staff have had extensive training in either service or product....they rarely do. I worked @ BBC Hardware(taken over by Bunnungs since) for 8 or 9 years and the only training rec'd was when they changed the cash register to a computer terminal. That said, trade counter staff usually had some experience or had done some time on the counter before being left on their own unless severely short staffed. I started as the receiving clerk so I had to check every item into the store and usually put it away too so over time at least I knew what everything was and where it lived...from packets of thumbtacks to packs of timber!!. By default, being situated in the yard and next to the trade desk, I invariably spent plenty of time serving customers on the trade counter and covering breaks there. Generally casuals worked minimum 3 days and at least 16 hours a week but most did closer to 35hrs a week with 7 day trading. I was doing 5 days in receiving(8-4) then front counter till 5pm close and another day on the front counter for sundays for a few months...boss had to cut my hours back as I was earning too much with penalties.
I occasionally see an old familiar face at my local bunnings. These old school guys and gals really know their stuff but they seem to be more and more surrounded by shelf stacker's that only do a shift or two per week. Turnover of stacker's is high so they never really develop the knowledge. I've noticed how the trade section has become smaller and smaller. Harder to buy loose or bulk items now, everything in plastic packets.
Bunnings in Geraldton is awesome. Very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, etc. Hey wunderlust, did you go and show the staff the packaged clothes line, and the bitumen patching stuff after you found them? We're not ranting after failing to possibly fix the problem, are we?
I avoid the place most of the time. They never cease to find ways to disappoint me when I go there. To add insult to injury, I now discover they discriminate against common rural outdoor pursuits such as rodeos and shooting. Fortunately, Cairns has alternatives, such as Masters and Cairns Hardware.
standard issue for bunnings.
thats the price we all pay for demanding cheap prices.. nobody there has a clue anymore. :(
Wise words. When they first opened in canberra they had specialists everywhere that seriously knew their stuff. Plumbers, joiners, sparkies. Then, once the competition was screwed and closed down they were replaced with mongo's and now we get crap chinese stuff served by mongo's.
That explains why I go on about buying cheap crap from Aldi and such. It just perpetuates the curse.
Our grandpas would be rolling in their graves.
Big thumbs up for the mob at Bunnings in Darwin.
Very friendly and helpful.
If the young staff can't help you they redirect you to someone who can.
It's not always one-sided.... I work in retail.... Many customers leave their own brains at home when they shop... Asking the most ridiculous questions....
My mother fits this category. I refuse to shop with her these days, even when she tries to bribe me by suggesting a gift for me instead of the grand kids. The embarrassment is not worth it.
Bunnings in Geraldton is awesome. Very friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, etc. Hey wunderlust, did you go and show the staff the packaged clothes line, and the bitumen patching stuff after you found them? We're not ranting after failing to possibly fix the problem, are we?
I did actually - my main gripe is not because they don't have the experience or knowledge but the fact they didn't know where the stuff was in their own department!
Personally I find the staff at Bunnings (Narellan) very knowledgeable and helpful. Never had a problem.
'shakey'
I've found Narellan Bunnnings really good. But with Master around the corner they can't afford to be slack.
I did actually - my main gripe is not because they don't have the experience or knowledge but the fact they didn't know where the stuff was in their own department!
Fair enough. I only asked 'cause i don't like people who go around complaining about stuff, but when asked if they've done anything to fix the problem they sorta look around or inspect their fingernails or change the subject etc.etc.
I hate dirty fingernails >:( :angel:
But i love Master's. Be glad when they build one close to me.... :cup:
BHG
I went to Bunnings Kings meadows about 12 months back and the service and negative attitude was atrocious the staff was actually walking the opposite direction when I ask for help - I dont expect them to know the product but I think they should be able to tell if they have items in stock if you point the item out in the catalogue. Then I went there again early last month wondered around the store whilst the wife ( yes I did not want to get told no again ) asked a staff member if they had an advertised item in stock and this person could not be more helpful we waited for about 45 minutes in which we did not mind as we could see that they were determined to find what we where after when they finally found what we wanted after closing off a section to bring in a fork truck with about six staff on the job I totally changed my opinion on them.
Last weekend I went to another hardware store and asked the young store attendant if he could point me in the direction of the chlorine in return he said to follow him and he will grab it off the shelf so off he raced grabbed this bottle off the shelf with a big grin on his face handing me the bottle I smiled and said thank you as I needed a new bottle of canvas sealer.
it's good to see Bunnings ran most real hardware stores out of business and these days stock hardly any actual building products a lot of tradesman need. we regularly drop in to get stuff like 125mm X 12mm bolts or even bulk packs of batten screws.....time and time again they aren't in stock or only have small packs of batten screws there ::) ::) i mentioned how i was sick of it happening to a staff member working in one of the stores just before xmas, and he made comment of the useless lady working in the office who does the ordering these days instead of him who used to do it. that's just 2 products i have mentioned, there's heaps of other stuff we have tried to get over the last 12 months that's not on the shelf when it's supposed to be there.
for craft and other crap it's probably ok to visit, but for a real hardware store that supplies the building trade they are rubbish IMHO.
Have had 50/50 good and poor experience with team green box over the years but Big Praise for the Bunnings team at Craigieburn just north of Melbourne. Enjoy going there just for their team service.
Also been to 3 of the new Masters stores and while they're fresh and new have to say they staff are also new and were unable to help me on 3 out 5 occasions. Doubtful I will will go back there.
Was killing time in a Bunnings store the other day while waiting for teh good wife to complete one of her appointments. Was just killing time and wandering around.
Stopped in the Tool section and began looking at the Ryobi One+ cordless range. Out of my price and was just killing time. Picked up the battery circular saw and thought it looks pretty good.
Had a bunnings kid come up next to me and genuinely ask,
"Is that a hacksaw?"
In Disbelief I said
"circular Saw" and proceeded to promptly put it back, thinking he was letting me know they are watching me if I was doing anything dodgy.
He then said,
" I dont know much about tools and stuff"
Yep, He was running the tool shop. His name badge confirmed it.....
I shook my head in disbelief...... surely they cant be that bad..???
Mind you, I do have a good good plumber guy in the plumbing section of our local. Ex plumber from UK, retired and happy to work a couple days a week. Knows his stuff and acknowledges some difference between materials etc between UK and here. I go and search him out when I need something a biut tricky. The rest, I wont waste my time with.
Theres on woman there who also really knows her stuff. Done loads of time on the trade desk. Its amusing how many guys refuse to be served by her, asking for a bloke. She knows her stuff, always happy and smily and always give me a good discount.
Mind you, I do have a good good plumber guy in the plumbing section of our local. Ex plumber from UK, retired and happy to work a couple days a week. Knows his stuff and acknowledges some difference between materials etc between UK and here. I go and search him out when I need something a biut tricky. The rest, I wont waste my time with.
when it comes to plumbing supplies i go to a speciality plumbing supply shop like Reece, Tradelink, etc etc...a much better range at a better price with staff who know what they are on about. atleast Bunnings haven't killed off plumbing supply stores 8) 8)
My Local tradelink store are the most ignorant, arrogant and sh1t dont stink people working there, cant budge a smile, a greeting, or even an acknowledgement. Throw stuff at you from across the counter. Pig headed and arrogant.
I'll happily pay more elsewhere( well, not really, but you get my drift) than bless them with purchase.
The Reece store isnt much better. Having gone through all this with the kitchen, toilet, laundry and bathroom renos, i'd rather got to bunnings than support the locl guy, if there customer service and poor attitude is anything to go by.
Perhaps, as Im not a 'tradie', they talk to you like dirt.
My Local tradelink store are the most ignorant, arrogant and sh1t dont stink people working there, cant budge a smile, a greeting, or even an acknowledgement. Throw stuff at you from across the counter. Pig headed and arrogant.
I'll happily pay more elsewhere( well, not really, but you get my drift) than bless them with purchase.
The Reece store isnt much better. Having gone through all this with the kitchen, toilet, laundry and bathroom renos, i'd rather got to bunnings than support the locl guy, if there customer service and poor attitude is anything to go by.
there's plenty of other plumbing supply stores about other then those 2 i have named, i only mentioned them as most people have probably heard the names before. i doubt the staff at those stores treat you like that because you aren't a tradie, my guess is they are just wankers full stop. i'm a chippy who knows bugger all about plumbing fittings, yet my local guys always help when me out when i start talking about thingamajigs and whatsamacallits ;D ;D
Middys has the same attitude
(http://thisweconfess.files.wordpress.com/2012/04/hit-the-nail-on-the-head.jpg)
X3 My feeling is, if there's no account this is the norm.
I was at our local Bunnings getting a few power points ( Sunday and elect wholesaler closed).
The guy in the elect section was explaining to a customer how to break into a power circuit and wire up a new powerpoint.
When I questioned him whether he was qualified and did he know that it was a offence to instruct a unlicenced person on how to do electrical work he just replied that they sold the stuff and all he was doing was telling the customer how to use it.
Ive noticed now that they sell power tool test tags. now anyone can get new tags and just fill in details from the last one that was tested by a sparky.
I was at our local Bunnings getting a few power points ( Sunday and elect wholesaler closed).
The guy in the elect section was explaining to a customer how to break into a power circuit and wire up a new powerpoint.
When I questioned him whether he was qualified and did he know that it was a offence to instruct a unlicenced person on how to do electrical work he just replied that they sold the stuff and all he was doing was telling the customer how to use it.
Ive noticed now that they sell power tool test tags. now anyone can get new tags and just fill in details from the last one that was tested by a sparky.
I'm sure the customer could have just googled it anyway and watched the video...
This one has been going on since day dot in the industry. Any Joe average can walk into a Middys or L&H and buy a pack of tags.
Went hunting for bird mesh this morning. Local small hardware had one 10m metre roll left for $21, I needed 20 metres, so I went to a rural supplier store up the road and they also had only one roll left for $16. Thought I would try Bunnings. They only had 5 metre rolls and they wanted $35.70 for a roll! What the!!!! >:( Kevin
Living in the country we dont have Bunnings, only recently got Stratco.
Do you believe that the local Mitre 10's shut at 12 on Sat and don't open till Monday morning >:(
However we have a small local Hardware shop which is part of the Trifty Link group, the couple who own the store run the store 7 days a week even the odd Sun morning where Pete is looking worse for wear ;D
The other day I went coz I had blown up my mower, standing out the front looking at new ones and find one looking abit sun faded. Ask pete what the go is and he says that it is a 2stroke and nobody wants 2 strokes, he has been pushing this mower in and out of the front door for 3 years ;D
Give me a deal I said, we go back to the computer and he gives me a price $30 cheaper than what he paid for it 3years prior, thats customer service, and I could list may more examples :laugh:
Yes they are more expensive than the big boys, but you can guess who gets my money :cup:
This one has been going on since day dot in the industry. Any Joe average can walk into a Middys or L&H and buy a pack of tags.
Anyone can go sit the test to tag as-well, just another union/government effort to create
bullsh!t jobs while pushing the price of conducting work in this country up. Just like red
cards and white cards, what an educational excursion that experience was.
At work the other day, grabbed the new electric kettle to make a coffee, couldn't find the cord ??? ??? Concientious ol' safety ociffer had the cord down at the local sparky's shed gettin' tested! WTF ??? ??? Rant over. [On here at least ;D]
Don't like them, then don't shop there!!! If everyone did that, they'd soon change.
Going there and whinging about them won't change a thing.
I don't like Coles, so I don't shop there and give them my $$.
Seems simple to me....,
I'm with rumpig.
Get your timber from the timber yard, why cause it is generally a straighter,better grade timber
Get your nut and bolts from the local fastener place
Your plumbing from the local plumbing supplies
Electrical from elec supplies , anyway you guys get the drift. Remember Bunnings and masters really only get the products that John west rejects!!
Yes I am a tradie, yes I do use Bunnings for some things( convenience), but have trade accounts with all the little guys.
Get your timber from the timber yard, why cause it is generally a straighter,better grade timber
was down at Bunnings one day grabbing some timber, my mate was throwing the bent and twisted lenghts to the side when the guy working there said, "you can't do that".
my mate said "are the bent and twisted ones any cheaper?", to which the guy replied "No".
my mate said "i'll do as i bloody well like then"....lol
Yeah. Their timber is pretty Shite.
I can beat everyone. I was renovating the toilet a few years back & was a little concerned about asbestos. I asked one of the blokes in Bunnings if there was a way to test for it & he said not to worry about it as it takes twenty years to kill you :-S .... I'm kinda hoping to live well past sixty.
Went to the Mill Park Bunnies today looking for a cover for an outdoor umbrella. The guy in the outdoor furniture section said they didn't stock them. Thought I'd have a look anyway, and found one! Went back to the staff member and politely told him that they do have them. Should have seen the the look I got, it was like I'd questioned his parentage!
I find if you know exactly what you want, or have a pretty good idea, then Bunnies is ok. But if you want advice or something a bit unusual then you need to go to a specialist place.
Big Tread
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
At least Bunnings will refund/replace stuff no questions asked. If its obvious the product was bought from them (eg unique brand etc) then you don't even need a receipt.
And they would certainly want to. Last time I bought a tin of paint I asked for woodland grey. When I got home and opened it to my disgust I was staring at ocean blue. How the f??k can they muck it up that bad. Took it straight back the next day and a different dude was at the counter. He promptly mixed the correct colour and showed me prior to banging the lid on. His comment was that the other guy cannot have read the computer instructions. Why are they working there? Better suited to sweeping leaves for the local council.
At least Bunnings will refund/replace stuff no questions asked. If its obvious the product was bought from them (eg unique brand etc) then you don't even need a receipt.
And they would certainly want to. Last time I bought a tin of paint I asked for woodland grey. When I got home and opened it to my disgust I was staring at ocean blue. How the f??k can they muck it up that bad. Took it straight back the next day and a different dude was at the counter. He promptly mixed the correct colour and showed me prior to banging the lid on. His comment was that the other guy cannot have read the computer instructions. Why are they working there? Better suited to sweeping leaves for the local council.
I bought 10L of satin concrete paint and started painting my driveway. Only got 10L as I wanted to see how much I could paint.
Went to another Bunnings on my work travels to pick up another 2x 10L tins (already used the first one completely). The guy there said satin can not be used on driveways, must use gloss. >:( >:( >:(
So I take my EMPTY 10L satin tin to the other Bunnings, tell them that they supplied the wrong paint. Supervisor agreed and gave me a new 10L replacement tin!
Not many places would do that!!!!!
The refund policy at Bunnies is good. Many a time have I bought more than what I needed just to make sure I didn't run out in the middle of a job and then returned any unused bits and pieces - heaps better than having to stop part way through a job to make an emergency dash to the hardware.
Big Tread
Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk
Yeah. Have to agree, even without the reciept, had no problems taking anything back,just get store credit, bound to spend it again there anyway. Like big tread, I tend to also by from justiin case and can take back no problems.
Sometimes they have good bargains, did I mention the 2 x kincrome space cases I picked up one time..........???????
But yeah, don't ask for advice from there, who knows what you will get told.....
was down at Bunnings one day grabbing some timber, my mate was throwing the bent and twisted lenghts to the side when the guy working there said, "you can't do that".
my mate said "are the bent and twisted ones any cheaper?", to which the guy replied "No".
my mate said "i'll do as i bloody well like then"....lol
Lol. I don't think I have seen a straight bit of timber in Bunnings lol, you certainly aren't framing a house out of it that's for sure
I can beat everyone. I was renovating the toilet a few years back & was a little concerned about asbestos. I asked one of the blokes in Bunnings if there was a way to test for it & he said not to worry about it as it takes twenty years to kill you :-S .... I'm kinda hoping to live well past sixty.
Hahahaha. That's gold. What a legend
I bought 10L of satin concrete paint and started painting my driveway. Only got 10L as I wanted to see how much I could paint.
Went to another Bunnings on my work travels to pick up another 2x 10L tins (already used the first one completely). The guy there said satin can not be used on driveways, must use gloss. >:( >:( >:(
So I take my EMPTY 10L satin tin to the other Bunnings, tell them that they supplied the wrong paint. Supervisor agreed and gave me a new 10L replacement tin!
Not many places would do that!!!!!
Not many speciality paint shops would of stuffed it in the first place??? Stuff like that is ok when you are " just mucking around DIY at home,". But when you are making a living out of it, time is money and to me I just saw 2hrs go down the drain
Jees guys... stop baggin' them! You know we all love 'em. That's why we keep goin' back!! :D :D
yep, spent two hours in there again today.
I probably know that store better than some staff there. Still didnt get any discount either........
Just remember people it's call Bunnings Warehouse, not Bunnings Timber & Hardware.
Although I'm in the trade and deal with specialty building suppliers all week that smash Bunnings for advice, service and price, I am still partial to a weekend Bunnings/Masters stroll.
Hubby and I practically live at Bunnings.... well there's always something to fix on an old Queenslander. :'( Thing is we're learnt not to bother asking if something is in stock or where it can be found. I had the same issue with the umbrella cover, asked if stocked, "no we don't have those". I knew they had them in the past, because I'd bought one previously. Yep found it myself. :cup:
Happened to drop into the Bunnings near Bald Hills last week on our way to Brendale. I swear I could not find one staff member as I wanted some slides/feet for the base of the Tucker Box hubby is building for me.
Once again had to find what we needed ourselves. Never have that problem at Masters.
I go to Masters and Bunnings that often that the staff could ask me where things are.
I go to Bunnings that often that I probably own the store by now. :cheers:
Don't like them, then don't shop there!!! If everyone did that, they'd soon change.
Going there and whinging about them won't change a thing.
I don't like Coles, so I don't shop there and give them my $$.
Seems simple to me..
... and how's your theory about "if everyone did that they'd soon change" going with everyone shopping elsewhere apart from Coles which has been the subject of more threads than 'what fridge should I get'?
They are multi $tupid $ companies. 1000 people let alone a few dozen going elsewhere wouldn't even tickle their bottom line.
We dont have masters but in my old job I wore red polo shirt for work if I went to bunnings after work people always asked me where stuff was, my reply was usually I dont work here but its in aisle ......... My partner wears high vis shirts for work always gets asked where stuff is in there.
No choice but to go to them here as Mitre10 shut,Thrifty Link shut,Home Hardware shut ,Sandy point Hardware shut.Next lot of hardwares are 40ks away and Masters are moving into that area.
i find the more i go there the more i get to know where things are and they do have the range.Staff are pless except for a couple and i asked one girl i know who has been there from opening "How come the staff changes so much ?" she said there is a lot of personality clashes and people leave.
Our Stafford Bunnings is Ok, and yes you need to go through some of their timber before a decent piece turns up. What they don't seem to realise is that there are more older homes in the area than new, but they seem to stock stuff that fits houses built less than 20 years ago. stoooopid..
We tend to rely on our True Value at Newmarket, they are only a small place but pretty good, and also keen campers so they also stock some interesting camping gear, they also have a pretty good coffee shop our back.
And Paddo hardware, like an alladins cave and smells like it too
Lets face it if there was completion things would be different.
Old skool hardware store?
I love those. Could spend hours in them.
Stubley Bro's in Hurstbridge. Was great for old hose and irrigation fittings, not to mention the brand new tools in boxes so sun faded you had to open them to see what it was. Place was sold to a bit of an alternative hippie dude (good bloke), turned the place into a stock n feed with a crystal shop in the front, but still kept all of the old hardware stock out the back. Dirt cheap and a good rumage session. Sadly it burnt down a few months back.
Faram Bro's in Port Melbourne. I lived in Port for a year and Faram Bro's was an institution. Walking inside was like steping back into 1950 complete with 1950's style service. Nails sold by the pound and linsead putty by the pound too, wrapped up in wax paper then newspaper and this was 2001. Everyday at midday the front door was locked and the wives would walk up the street from their houses with a prepared hot lunch for them men, peer through the window and they were all sitting around the counter eating.
There was a doco on the ABC last year that I missed call 'Last of the Indepenents' and it centered around the stores last week of business.
(http://www.deakin.edu.au/research/stories/images/1331774427-faram-ext-pic-copy.jpg)
There is still a great one in business on Sydney Rd Brunswick. Greeks, but can't remember the name. A goldmine for anyone renovating an old home. I resurrected all the old early 1900's mortice locks in the inlaws rental by sifting though boxes their. A good laugh too.
, but they seem to stock stuff that fits houses built less than 20 years ago. stoooopid..
thats funny, they only seem to stock that all the staff "Have one at home" themselves
yet can never show you how one works.
Went to Bunnings today to price up some runners for my kitchen draws, pot draws and cutlery draws.
Standard runners, cheap and simple were $11. (unknown brand) :-[
Double extension runners, were $22. (Bunnings Kaboodle Brand) :-[
Checked my local Laminex group store, ......
Wait for it....
Standard Runners, $2.30. (didnt bother checking brand) ???
Double extension runners, ball bearing type, 'Hafele' brand, ......$7.30 !!! ;D ;D ;D
Needless to say, I pushed the boat out and bought upgraded draw runners. Wife was super happy. 8) So was my wallet. ;D
Pays to shop around.
Bunnings not always the cheapest...!!!!!
Regardless, was still there 3 times today. >:D >:D Damn Renovations....!!!!! >:D >:D
they have some great gear in there, and some stuff is surprisingly well priced also. i saved a fortune buying my heritage light switches and power points from there vrs buying them at an electrical wholesaler, i was very surprised at the price differance.
I wish you'd all stop swearing at me. That B word is known to us as "The Place We Don't Speak Of" or "Hell in a Hardware" or "The Faeces Hole" ... I used to work in one and vowed never to step foot back in one. I have had to rather begrudgingly, but then realised exactly why I quit and got the Flock Outta There.
Give me a Dog-a-log or a big metric 10mm any day.
In my experience it depends on the management of each Bunnings as to the attitude of the staff working there to a large degree.
My son's best mate works at one Bunnings, they treat the staff reasonably well and the staff respond in kind to the customers and actually give a damn.
My BIL works at a different Bunnings where the staff are treated not so well. BIL does his best but it is difficult to keep motivated in that environment.
My mother did a horticultural course when she retired and got a part timme job at Bunnings (a third Bunnings). She was treated very badly (in my opinion) and would work at least 30 to 60 minutes after rostered finishing time to make sure the plants were organised and watered. The extra time was not paid time and my father often ended up going in to give her a hand. Whilst she was on breaks, or shopping after work customers would come up and ask her a question and she would drop what she was doing to give them a hand. She would start an hour early and ask to leave a little early to get to the grandkids performance/award ceremony etc and was told no way.
In the end she had the chance to go overseas for 8 weeks and asked for leave without pay. Was told she would have to resign and re-apply when she returned. She resigned but did not do the second part.
It really depends on the store, and the person.
It's funny how we remember the bad experiences but tend to push the good experiences to the back of our minds. I guess I should mention that I ordered a sheet of aqua-panel for the ceiling in this reno. After being contacted on two separate occasions that my order was ready to pick up, only to discover on each occasion that it had not arrived, I was a little peeved & had a word with the manager. After about three weeks my order finally did arrive, but instead of matt finish, like I ordered, I got gloss. Again I was peeved & had another word with the manager. He told me to keep the sheet, refunded my money ($150) & ordered me the correct sheet at no cost (another $150 worth). I decided to use the gloss on the toilet ceiling after all & put the matt sheet toward the bathroom reno. Although they did stuff me around you can't fault their effort to put things right.
--
Richard.