General => General Discussion => Topic started by: welchygq on December 02, 2012, 06:30:03 PM

Title: Detailed Map of Australia Sticker
Post by: welchygq on December 02, 2012, 06:30:03 PM
Detailed Map of Australia Sticker - anyone know where i can get one? internet prefered as we dont have access to much here.

Would like a larger type one to mark where we have been on our trip around.

I would like to stick this to our camper - so maybe about a foot square?

Welchy
Title: Re: Detailed Map of Australia Sticker
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 02, 2012, 06:32:53 PM

Define "detailed" ... you can google images of Australia in varying degrees and buy "sticker" stuff from any craft store.  If you use a high tech photocopier (ie one at work perhaps) they won't fade as quickly as your home printer.  Alternately, take your google image file to a retail printer dude and go from there.

http://www.zazzle.com.au/cr/design/pt-zazzle_sticker/?customize_it=true&pd=217075548165208678&qty=1&get_started_dialog=false (http://www.zazzle.com.au/cr/design/pt-zazzle_sticker/?customize_it=true&pd=217075548165208678&qty=1&get_started_dialog=false)

http://www.coolartvinyl.com.au/australia-wall-decal-sticker-p-249.html (http://www.coolartvinyl.com.au/australia-wall-decal-sticker-p-249.html)

Post by: D4D on December 02, 2012, 06:34:36 PM
Pretty sure Hema do one, we bought their big map of AU laminated and stuck it to some coreflute.
Post by: ewwreckers on December 02, 2012, 06:37:43 PM
We're going to create our own for our new place.  We want to get one painted on a sheet of steel so all our magnets can go on it.  If you get onto a printing place, they should be able to organise something to the dimensions you want.
Post by: welchygq on December 02, 2012, 09:07:55 PM
Cheers for the suggestions - unfortunatly as i said in the original post we dont have access to much here.  And the people we do arent exactly all that willing to do some "different".

I thought about trying to ring a printer in perth, but its hard to explain and know that they understood what i am saying.

Might have to try this if no  one knows of an internet link.

Cheers for the suggestions guys.

Welchy
Post by: welchygq on December 02, 2012, 09:10:24 PM
Define "detailed" ... you can google images of Australia in varying degrees and buy "sticker" stuff from any craft store.  If you use a high tech photocopier (ie one at work perhaps) they won't fade as quickly as your home printer.  Alternately, take your google image file to a retail printer dude and go from there.

http://www.zazzle.com.au/cr/design/pt-zazzle_sticker/?customize_it=true&pd=217075548165208678&qty=1&get_started_dialog=false (http://www.zazzle.com.au/cr/design/pt-zazzle_sticker/?customize_it=true&pd=217075548165208678&qty=1&get_started_dialog=false)

The first one is similar - but more detailed then that would be good. - thanks for the link
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 02, 2012, 09:19:55 PM
No worries.  So more detailed than this?

Check here:  https://www.google.com.au/search?num=10&hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1366&bih=651&q=australia+maps+with+cities&oq=australia+maps&gs_l=img.1.1.0l3j0i5l2j0i5i10j0i5l4.1125.3253.0.8678.14.13.0.1.1.2.252.1828.5j4j4.13.0.crnk_timediscountb..0.0...1ac.1.gWKwy6Ez9nM (https://www.google.com.au/search?num=10&hl=en&site=imghp&tbm=isch&source=hp&biw=1366&bih=651&q=australia+maps+with+cities&oq=australia+maps&gs_l=img.1.1.0l3j0i5l2j0i5i10j0i5l4.1125.3253.0.8678.14.13.0.1.1.2.252.1828.5j4j4.13.0.crnk_timediscountb..0.0...1ac.1.gWKwy6Ez9nM)

(http://www.zazzle.com.au/rlv/isapi/designall.dll?action-realview&pdt=zazzle_sticker&pending=true&id=F194B444-B148-4F37-8D97-0B28543358C4&rvtype=product&view=front_horz&max_dim=1024&bg=dddddd&square_it=true&draw_relative_size=true&rev=13544470165559820_front_horz_0&size=1.5&style=round_sticker&drawareaboundingbox=true&dv=3)
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 02, 2012, 09:25:49 PM

What about this one?

(http://www.vidiani.com/maps/maps_of_australia_and_oceania/maps_of_australia/large_physical_map_of_australia_with_roads_and_cities_for_free.jpg)
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 02, 2012, 09:29:28 PM

Or this one?  http://www.vidiani.com/maps/maps_of_australia_and_oceania/maps_of_australia/large_dcetailed_relief_and_administrative_map_of_australia_with_roads_and_cities_for_free.jpg (http://www.vidiani.com/maps/maps_of_australia_and_oceania/maps_of_australia/large_dcetailed_relief_and_administrative_map_of_australia_with_roads_and_cities_for_free.jpg)

CTRL + mousey scroll button to enlarge or make smaller.  Right click:  Save As.

Post by: D4D on December 02, 2012, 09:29:43 PM
This is the Hema map

(http://i.ebayimg.com/00/s/MzUwWDQwMA==/$T2eC16FHJIkE9qU3iLVjBP-7I5djZQ~~60_12.JPG)
Post by: Bird on December 02, 2012, 09:47:35 PM
what exact size do you want?
Post by: welchygq on December 02, 2012, 09:50:32 PM
about a foot square mate - 300 x 300 ish. is that exact?  ;D
Post by: ozbogwam on December 03, 2012, 06:58:40 AM
Not hard to do, just ring a signwriter and tell them what you want. You can buy a detailed digital map from any number of stock libraries like istock, shutterstock etc or just google search and get the biggest best quality one you can find.
Post by: MADCOW on December 03, 2012, 08:07:18 AM
sorry Can't help you locate the type of map your after but I have one of these hagning on the wall at home. Black Background with white detail. We mark where we have been with a bright colour paint pen and it sure brings some comments!

http://www.maptag.com.au/ (http://www.maptag.com.au/)
Post by: jag001 on December 03, 2012, 08:38:51 AM
http://www.thewallstickercompany.com.au/ they do maps (as seen on the Block 2012)
Post by: GeeTee on December 03, 2012, 09:01:06 AM
Not much detail but Contact (vinyl book covering stuff) and scissors is what I used 
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 03, 2012, 12:07:48 PM

LOL!  Can't forget Tassie!

(http://maptag.com.au/Designmuseum2.jpg)
Post by: MADCOW on December 03, 2012, 12:19:08 PM

LOL!  Can't forget Tassie!

(http://maptag.com.au/Designmuseum2.jpg)

They have some pretty cool stuff eh?