General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Black Diamond on December 01, 2012, 10:06:33 PM

Title: Show us your Christmas Tree and Setup :)
Post by: Black Diamond on December 01, 2012, 10:06:33 PM
Swaggers, it's that time of the year, just set up the Xmas tree with the kids :)
The SWMBO bought a new one as the old one had done too many Kay's ;D but the new one she got was all modular and had to install every branch separately  >:( but several VB's later and it's all up and running and happy with the result, now hopefully Santa brings my 3 little girls some pressies. :cheers:
Bring on the Christmas spirit and have a good one :cheers:

BD (http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/12/01/sydegu8e.jpg)
Title: Re: Show us your Christmas Tree and Setup :)
Post by: Mace on December 01, 2012, 10:10:38 PM
Dang you BD.  >:(

We've just had the "12 days of Christmas" discussion here. Our neighbour was starting to put up his outside gear as we drove past tonight. The 'its time to get the Christmas lights out"  discussion followed.  I refuse  :angel: to put up the chrissie tree before Dec 13, much to the annoyance of others here!

Now you've put the pressure on.

8)
Post by: Black Diamond on December 01, 2012, 10:24:27 PM
Our neighbour was starting to put up his outside gear as we drove past tonight

8)
What are their surnames, the Griswolds? If it is RUN!!

(http://downtowntraveler.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/gal_christmasvacation.jpg)

Post by: gacoxd on December 01, 2012, 10:29:40 PM

We've just had the "12 days of Christmas" discussion here. Our neighbour was starting to put up his outside gear as we drove past tonight. The 'its time to get the Christmas lights out"  discussion followed.  I refuse  :angel: to put up the chrissie tree before Dec 13, much to the annoyance of others here!

8)

No 1 son was at me to enter the house in the Courier Mail lights comp.

Entries closed on the 23rd of November and judging finished yesterday!
Post by: MarkGU on December 01, 2012, 10:30:35 PM
and what would xmas be without the 12 days of xmas  8)

12 days of redneck christmas (TB7 version) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NHqCxU4SiC0#)
Post by: Mace on December 01, 2012, 10:32:49 PM
 ;D Ill get you 4 this BD.
Post by: Black Diamond on December 01, 2012, 10:36:47 PM
;D Ill get you 4 this BD.
Love it :cup: best movie ever made Alski :cheers:

Post by: Mace on December 01, 2012, 10:38:21 PM
and what would xmas be without the 12 days of xmas  8)

Sorry, caht typre. larfing 2 mush  ;D
Post by: Bird on December 01, 2012, 10:38:26 PM
bah humbug.
Post by: Daawl on December 01, 2012, 10:40:09 PM
In our house nothing Xmas goes up before the 1st Dec, yes it's outside the 12 days of Christmas but its a happy compromise. So in saying that the Christmas lights went up today between coats of paint for the six white boomers and the rusty Holden ute I am currently building with help from my eldest girls. SWMBO had already indicated that the tree is on tomorrow's list of things to do.
So should have a photo of said tree tomorrow night:)

Somehow sent from my iPhone using that Tapatalk thingy
Post by: Mace on December 01, 2012, 10:47:23 PM
Here's an older version of the Redneck 12 Days of Christmas.

Jeff Foxworthy Redneck 12 Days Of Christmas (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJOe3CXE-mA#)

Post by: Daawl on December 01, 2012, 10:52:12 PM
Here's an older version of the Redneck 12 Days of Christmas.

Jeff Foxworthy Redneck 12 Days Of Christmas (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VJOe3CXE-mA#)

Lmao, never seen that before.

Post by: Black Diamond on December 01, 2012, 11:22:31 PM
bah humbug.
Fire up bug fella, where's the spirit ;D
Post by: Bird on December 01, 2012, 11:24:17 PM
Quote from: Black Diamond
Fire up bug fella, where's the spirit ;D
drank it, and xmas is just about shops making billions these days. "specials"
Then again I dont believe in that god Shit either :D
Post by: griz066 on December 02, 2012, 06:30:02 AM
What are their surnames, the Griswolds? If it is RUN!!

(http://downtowntraveler.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/12/gal_christmasvacation.jpg)

Thats Me ;D Oh and BTW its Grizwalds ;D ;D :cheers:
Post by: oldmate on December 02, 2012, 07:03:14 AM

8)

Gee. They are lucky lol. I generally refuse to put it up before the 24th lol. But generally get out voted and have to suck it up hahahaha
Post by: DannyG on December 02, 2012, 08:12:09 AM
1st December is Xmas tree day at our house as well........its hard to do it any other way with a nagging young girl in the family!
Post by: sol on December 02, 2012, 08:31:41 AM
O yes those were the days ;D
The kids have all left home and I sorta miss it :'(

Post by: MarkGU on December 02, 2012, 11:53:58 AM
missus asked me to put a xmas tree up.............................

thats how the fight started  ???
Post by: Tim - Stratford on December 02, 2012, 01:24:50 PM
missus asked me to put a xmas tree up.............................

Smells like a xmas tree......no problem!  ;D
Post by: Daawl on December 02, 2012, 02:01:02 PM
Well the tree process has started to take a break from the heat.

Post by: Swannie on December 02, 2012, 03:33:21 PM
I love watching the kids set the tree up..the smiles make me so happy. It's a great time of year
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 02, 2012, 04:32:37 PM

Well here's mine.  I did have lights up outside, but about 3 years ago I got given a puppy and the rest, they say, is in pieces.

(http://1.bp.blogspot.com/--d5Myr7fm6w/ULr1cPkkWQI/AAAAAAAABnc/KzC5JVQXA8c/s640/XmasTree2012.jpg)
Post by: ewwreckers on December 02, 2012, 05:28:48 PM
I'll have to post a pic later....I think there is a tree underneath all the tinsel lol
Post by: JU5T1N on December 02, 2012, 05:31:12 PM
pressure???
It could be worse, you could be this guys neighbour!!!
http://youtu.be/8gOiMGUhw7c (http://youtu.be/8gOiMGUhw7c)
Post by: Black Diamond on December 02, 2012, 07:55:07 PM
I love watching the kids set the tree up..the smiles make me so happy. It's a great time of year
Spot on Greg that's what it's all about mate :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on December 02, 2012, 07:59:47 PM
pressure???
http://youtu.be/8gOiMGUhw7c (http://youtu.be/8gOiMGUhw7c)
:D that will keep you up at night, time to get the chainsaw out  :police:
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on December 02, 2012, 08:25:59 PM
pressure???

So, where is the Christmas carol in that?  What's the world coming to?

Post by: Daawl on December 02, 2012, 10:34:51 PM
Well here is the almost completed tree, the kids put that up while I was out working on the "Rusty Holden Ute", for out the front. :-)

Post by: fishfinder on December 03, 2012, 05:15:31 AM
our tree was up in November I think the wife gets more excited about christmas than the kids. No photo taken hopefully there is a camera wrapped up in one of the many pressies under the tree, oh yeah and I don't know how to load photos on myswag ( "don't know"sounds like words used in my fishing story - but that is off subject and a touchy subject )
Post by: Hairs on December 03, 2012, 12:13:38 PM
I've gone the extra mile this year with ours.
The kids will be sooo excited when they get home from school this afternoon.
I hope they don't think I've gone overboard this year.  ;D
Post by: Bunyip on December 03, 2012, 12:15:27 PM

That is great work Hairs, I think you have put in just enough for that, don't lsiten to the kids if they tell you otherwise.

Post by: Hairs on December 03, 2012, 12:19:52 PM
Cheers for those kind words Bunyip,
I do believe some people do get a little carried away with the amount of decorations they place on their tree, I think I've got the balance just right. And it's a Gum branch too, none of that pine tree rubbish on our land.
Post by: Smoko on December 03, 2012, 12:36:49 PM
Hairs it looks a bit top heavy could do with a bit of chain sawing ........don't want to fall on the kids

Smoko
Post by: Hairs on December 03, 2012, 12:38:41 PM
Hey Smoko,
I've got that covered, it is stuck to the floor with a big blob of Blutac.
She's not going anyway.
Post by: Redcherokee on December 03, 2012, 12:51:54 PM
The Dalek Tree. 

Not mine, but I wish it was....

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/75229_10151277461132074_1006904048_n.jpg)

Post by: Vk3bq on December 03, 2012, 01:13:45 PM
I say bah humbug. But my 2 little monsters had fun!! Only a small tree we don't really do the whole Xmas/Santa thing.

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/12/03/sydaryge.jpg)
Post by: Marschy on December 03, 2012, 01:39:10 PM
A lot of South Aussies roll out the Xmas tree on Pageant day, in early November, even at work.

I've told a girl here at work, "It's too early for Xmas, we had one only last year". Seriously though, it brightens up the office.

Having said that, very disappointed with my 25 yo son, he won't share his advent calendar with me. Freddo Frog one too!! May have to get one for myself....
Post by: Bird on December 03, 2012, 01:40:23 PM
The Dalek Tree. 

Not mine, but I wish it was....

(https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/75229_10151277461132074_1006904048_n.jpg)
How To Make A Dalek Christmas Tree (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fzmR34p743w#)

http://geek-news.mtv.com/2011/12/12/10-of-the-geekiest-christmas-trees/ (http://geek-news.mtv.com/2011/12/12/10-of-the-geekiest-christmas-trees/)
Post by: Black Diamond on December 03, 2012, 02:07:32 PM
Should fit plenty of presents under that canopy :cup:

;D BD
Post by: JU5T1N on December 03, 2012, 09:37:23 PM
Nail the presents to the roof????
Post by: MarkGU on December 03, 2012, 09:46:20 PM
Speewa lives in a house ????
Post by: fuji on December 04, 2012, 03:53:49 PM

8)

X20
Post by: JU5T1N on December 23, 2012, 08:41:21 PM
This guy has either got the spirit or suicidal.
This photo although not good due to phone and night is a from my brothers front yard (step of my camper).
The tree is across the road and up a hill. Around a 30meter climb to tree top then he tosses the lights out in each direction.
Kids are loving it.
Post by: D4D on December 24, 2012, 02:14:26 PM
Our tree has been up since December 1 however no presents under it yet as my boy likes to 'unwrap' everything.

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/ctree.jpg)
Post by: fuji on December 24, 2012, 02:38:43 PM
Here we go
Post by: Black Diamond on December 24, 2012, 09:33:10 PM
Our tree has been up since December 1 however no presents under it yet as my boy likes to 'unwrap' everything.

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/ctree.jpg)
:D gotta love that. My kids are the same. He will be a happy little fella tomorrow though :cheers:

Post by: Black Diamond on December 24, 2012, 09:34:30 PM
Here we go
hehe the look on her on face says "daddy there are not enough pressies under that tree" :D

Merry Xmas Wayneo :cheers:
Post by: Bird on December 24, 2012, 10:00:26 PM
This guy has either got the spirit or suicidal.
This photo although not good due to phone and night is a from my brothers front yard (step of my camper).
The tree is across the road and up a hill. Around a 30meter climb to tree top then he tosses the lights out in each direction.
Kids are loving it.
we went driving looking for the houses with lights and noticed this year, theres hardly any compared to years gone by.. must be the cost of everything taking its toll..
used to be whole streets, with houses you could go walk through to see massive setups.
Post by: JU5T1N on December 24, 2012, 11:10:23 PM
we went driving looking for the houses with lights and noticed this year, theres hardly any compared to years gone by.. must be the cost of everything taking its toll..
used to be whole streets, with houses you could go walk through to see massive setups.
I was telling my kids of the same and the shame they miss such festive displays.
Post by: speewa158 on December 25, 2012, 05:05:19 PM
Its fine from where l am laying  :cheers:
Post by: Black Diamond on December 25, 2012, 05:48:31 PM
Its fine from where l am laying  :cheers:
Get up you bum you can't handle your drink  ;D  >:D  :cheers:
Post by: xcvator on December 25, 2012, 05:53:49 PM
Get up you bum you can't handle your drink  ;D  >:D  :cheers:
Leave him alone, he's an old man  :angel:  :police:
Post by: speewa158 on December 25, 2012, 07:19:52 PM
& getting better   :cup:   :cheers:
Post by: shrek4 on December 25, 2012, 07:25:18 PM
This is ours before going to bed Christmas Eve.

Kids loved the day, the swing set out the back was a big hit.

(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/12/25/ne3u2y9y.jpg)
Post by: speewa158 on December 26, 2012, 04:37:49 AM
What in the big box against the wall . You can tell us now the kids have seen it  :cheers:
Post by: D4D on December 01, 2013, 02:14:34 PM
Wife and son put the Christmas tree up this morning, complete with new coloured lights and train...

(http://blkmav.com/myswag/2013tree.jpg)
Post by: brocky05fj on December 01, 2013, 06:51:11 PM
Our effort for 2013.
Kids love this time of the year, great to see them putting it together.
Once the hat goes on the top, no further additions are allowed.

(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/210813619/20131201_162556%20%28Medium%29%20%28Small%29.jpg)
(https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/210813619/20131201_162615%20%28Medium%29%20%28Small%29.jpg)

Post by: Garfish on December 01, 2013, 07:03:48 PM
Ours is up,    Managed to actually make it to dec 1 this year, 
Post by: achjimmy on December 01, 2013, 07:18:07 PM
Heres our advent calendar.

Post by: kiwi_camper on December 01, 2013, 10:28:29 PM
The kids love adding their decorations to the tree that we have collected each Christmas. Every year they go and have a photo with Santa then choose an ornament for the tree. I go all out at Christmas (regardless of whether we had kids or not) because that is what my mum was like. I love the family traditions that we pass on or start with our own families. 
Post by: kiwi_camper on December 01, 2013, 10:30:23 PM
Here is my Kiwiana Christmas Wreath.
Post by: KIMBOPRADO on December 01, 2013, 10:52:04 PM
We only got 1/2 way today..... Tree up,lights on but decorations still in the box ???

(http://s28.postimg.org/cd705oi1l/image.jpg) (http://postimg.org/image/cd705oi1l/)

New this year is the wife made an advent calendar to hang on the wall, 7 year old was to open day 1 and was awake 5:30am all excited, going to a long 24 days till Xmas - do it all for the kids as they say "they grow up quick" and then they teenagers/adults
Post by: speewa158 on December 02, 2013, 03:48:50 PM
Heres our advent calendar.

& some say l give it a    Nuge           ;D 8) 8) :cheers:
Post by: Rumpig on December 02, 2013, 06:53:17 PM
In our house nothing Xmas goes up before the 1st Dec,
at our place it's the 2nd of December at the earliest before any Xmas stuff is allowed to be put up.
Post by: knoath on December 04, 2013, 04:59:08 PM
Here's the knoath family tree!

(http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v733/knoath/IMG_6114_zpse05311e8.jpg)
Post by: edz on December 04, 2013, 07:26:17 PM
Puffin all smiles after setting up our chrissy  tree by herself ...
Post by: fuji on December 05, 2013, 07:57:38 PM
For all you humbugs out there. Hope it doesnt offend anyone.
Post by: Rumpig on December 05, 2013, 08:04:26 PM
For all you humbugs out there. Hope it doesnt offend anyone.
http://www.themorningbulletin.com.au/news/christmas-lights-banned-muslims-not-our-town/2101685/ (http://www.themorningbulletin.com.au/news/christmas-lights-banned-muslims-not-our-town/2101685/)
A TINY town in north Queensland with a population of less than 1500 is making headlines after a Facebook hoax accusing it of bowing to Christmas-light hating Muslims went viral.

The Cassowary Coast council - which includes the town of Cardwell between Cairns and Townsville - tackled the nonsense rumour head-on.

"A hoax statement has been posted on a Facebook page about Christmas lights in Cardwell. Council HAS NOT banned Christmas lights in the town," the council posted on its website.

The provocative claim appears to have been made on Facebook group "Meanwhile in Australia".

It has since been deleted but continues to be shared online.

The council is receiving no lobbying from any religious group wanting to ban Christmas lights, Cardwell has no mosque and if the town has an imam, they are not well known.

For those interested, the council is currently running a Christmas lights competition.
Post by: fuji on December 05, 2013, 08:32:34 PM
Well done Rumpig!
Post by: Garfish on December 07, 2013, 07:00:28 AM
Here's another advent calendar
Post by: Robbo on December 07, 2013, 09:36:52 AM
Ooops! There goes the tree. Oh well, at least the cats happy. ;D ;D
Post by: Snapman007 on November 30, 2014, 10:13:28 PM
Old thread dig;

(http://i1129.photobucket.com/albums/m501/snapman007/01574ad9dc5727072cd30033ea051b27_zps018f4364.jpg)

Pic taken at 8:45pm, no lights on in the house. Took the missus about 1 maybe 6 hours to set up.  9ft tall, takes up 2m x 2m of Bmx/scooter track, 1050 lights, totally fkn ridiculous, carnt even get a present under it unless it's a sheet of paper.
Merry Xmas everyone.
Post by: speewa158 on December 01, 2014, 05:57:26 AM
Christmass Lights ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Open the fridge ,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,Fax me through to New Years Eve     :cheers: