General => General Discussion => Topic started by: krisandkev on November 27, 2012, 07:49:41 AM
In the Fraser Coast Chronicle today.
RARE and dramatic footage of a dingo attacking a swamp wallaby in the surf on Fraser Island has been captured by a ranger-guide hosting a tour.
Fraser Explorer Tours ranger-guide Hayden Webber was taking tourists on a Cool Dingo bus tour last week when he shot the amazing video of the dingo capturing and killing the wallaby in small waves near the shore at Seventy-Five Mile Beach.
"It's just nature folks," he told the tour group as they watched the wallaby struggle and try to jump away from the dingo.
"I know it's not very nice to see folks but that is just life, it's just nature."
This in the Youtube link. poor little wallaby. :'( But I suppose it goes to show what a single dingo can do, but then again I suppose any similar sized dog could do the same.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjB4V_sRwHc (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mjB4V_sRwHc)
WOW.. You don't see that everyday... Sounds like a few ladies on the bus were a bit horrified..
Do you think he might need some pepper to even out the salt on his meal??
I have not been to Fraser in ages, but I would be pretty anxious going there with my kids when they are little. It is great that dingoes are there and doing their thing, but it would definitely make me nervous for my young kids.
Sounds like a few ladies on the bus were a bit horrified..
yea just what the kids needed to see..
I can see the lawsuit now "I can't sleep at night - he should have driven off"
oh great just what ya need to see we were there 3 weeks ago and a dingo tryed to get into a tent when a baby crying in there
what should they do with these wild dogs ???????????????
leave them alone.
oh great just what ya need to see we were there 3 weeks ago and a dingo tryed to get into a tent when a baby crying in there
what should they do with these wild dogs ???????????????
I understand your concern, but, don't forget they were there before us. Stop the dam idiots that have and still feed them. There are a lot of camp grounds around this country where dingoes are a danger and the one main reason why. People have feed them and the dingoes have lost their natural fear of man.
We love Fraser Island because of its beauty, diversity and being a little untamed. Remember the waters that surround it are more dangerous. And more people have been killed over there in motor vehicle incidents then any other type of incident. The snakes over there scare me more then the dingoes! I have been chased by one of them! Yes, you have to be prepared and watch your children, which is what you were doing.
Kevin
Yes, you have to be prepared and watch your children
Exactly...the same as people should watch their kids when they're at the local shopping centre/park/anywhere ;)
leave them alone.
X2 on that
X2 on that
x eleventy
X2 on that
X 3.
(http://i1167.photobucket.com/albums/q628/jaycamrie/Fraseroct2012017.jpg)
gees Jay, he looks like a fat bastard
Compared to most of the mainland ones, this blokes a porker, havent seen a lean Dingo on Fraser yet.
As others have said.. Leave them alone
Compared to most of the mainland ones, this blokes a porker, havent seen a lean Dingo on Fraser yet.
You would be too if you ate a whole swamp wallaby on your own.
Is he yawning or burping?
Sounds like a few ladies on the bus were a bit horrified..
These ladies probably think the meat they cook originates from the Woolies/Coles fridges. Cows only eat grass and produce milk you know, and chickens only lay eggs.
in our close to 2 weeks on Fraser we saw ONE... ONE MISERABLE FU**ING DINGO. and 1 goanna twice.. I think it was remote controlled to keep the tourists happy
I reckon they are fiction for tourists, like Koalas are for Jap tourists.
Leave the one Dingo alone.
(http://i1167.photobucket.com/albums/q628/jaycamrie/Fraseroct2012240.jpg)
(http://i1167.photobucket.com/albums/q628/jaycamrie/Fraseroct2012014.jpg)
cardboard cutouts... keeps tourists happy :D
x eleventy
had to look twice....guess who found the Speewa dictionary :cup:
Have to strongly agree, its their place not ours. Visitors know they live there so adapt, be alert to the possibilities or stay in their own homes not the dingos home.
Image a world with all the so called wrong animals, all so called dangers removed...etc etc. We'd be living in a flat (no higher then 1m) baron land of crap!!!!
Is that a turtle that the dingo is eating?
yeah mate looked like it was dead for awhile, we seen a few dingo,s every day they where on the beach they looked rather relaxed and not fussed with all the traffic
I remember seeing this in a documentary
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2010-11-03/woman-who-fed-fraser-island-dingoes-fined-40k/2323304 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2010-11-03/woman-who-fed-fraser-island-dingoes-fined-40k/2323304)http://www.fido.org.au/moonbi/backgrounders/06%20Dingo%20Backgrounder.pdf (http://www.fido.org.au/moonbi/backgrounders/06%20Dingo%20Backgrounder.pdf)
Also i remember that the NP shot a heaplooks like it was 30 out of 100 on the island .Interesting reading on this link
In the many years we have been going to Fraser we have never had any problems with the dingo's, when we camp north of Eli we have on many occasions had regular visits from a dingo, would come and stick his nose in to say hi, and then walk on up the track, when we were in our tent (pre camper days) he would stick his nose right in the tent, never had a problem, as we always locked our food in the car etc.
We have on most trips had more of a problem with backpackers partying all night and having no consideration for anyone else, and people using our toilet without asking us (backpackers were the worst)
I say leave the poor animals alone, watch your kids, and enjoy one of natures wonderlands :D