General => General Discussion => Topic started by: ausiwaz on October 19, 2012, 06:30:56 PM

Title: Rated shackles in Queensland
Post by: ausiwaz on October 19, 2012, 06:30:56 PM
I have heard that Queenslands finest are booking people for not having rated shackles on the safety chains when towing a Kamper of more than 1.5 tonnes any body have a comment?
 ???
Title: Re: Rated shackles in Queensland
Post by: D4D on October 19, 2012, 06:32:51 PM
Why wouldn't you use rated shackles? I buy the small shackles from ARB and have a spare set in the centre console.
Post by: Symon on October 19, 2012, 06:58:21 PM
Sounds like a damn good idea to me.  Those Tonka toy ones wont do anything for you.

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk 2

Post by: D4D on October 19, 2012, 07:00:56 PM
and don't get me started on the morons who use karabiners...
Post by: Diesel Power on October 20, 2012, 12:02:08 AM
Sounds like a damn good idea to me.  Those Tonka toy ones wont do anything for you.

Sent from my GT-I9305T using Tapatalk 2
Hello Symon, nice to hear you are  still around.
Angus.
Post by: GeeTee on October 20, 2012, 08:23:23 AM
I have heard that Queenslands finest are booking people for not having rated shackles on the safety chains when towing a Kamper of more than 1.5 tonnes any body have a comment?
 ???

On one hand that sounds like a fair cop to me. Safety chains are a critical safety device

On the other hand, is there a Qld motor traffic regulation that is being breached? Or is this another urban myth
Post by: KingBilly on October 20, 2012, 03:56:35 PM
I reckon it's an urban myth.  Whilst I agree it is a serious safety issue, coppers are too busy to be booking somebody with an unrated shackle.  Doubt they would even know it's offence code.  Now a Qld Transport Department Inspector is a different beast altogether.
Post by: dazzler on October 20, 2012, 04:13:19 PM
This would be a mate of a mate of a bloke down the road who was a smart ass.......

I remember a cop mate booking a bloke for having different luminescent headlights  - someone got under his skin  ;D
Post by: KingBilly on October 20, 2012, 04:18:59 PM
Gee, glad this thread hasn't gone the way that the same subject was discussed on another forum.  Posters quoting all these different standards, getting auto club opinions, trailer manufacturer's opinions.  Just got soooo confusing.
Post by: Tom on October 20, 2012, 04:25:07 PM
I use to drive heavy recovery and local towing.
our Trucks got inspected twice a year.
I never saw the experts glance at the shackles ,so how would the local on the street be able to tell?
Just my thought.
Titch
Post by: Symon on October 20, 2012, 06:21:16 PM
Gee, glad this thread hasn't gone the way that the same subject was discussed on another forum.  Posters quoting all these different standards, getting auto club opinions, trailer manufacturer's opinions.  Just got soooo confusing.

Funny how I guessed which forum that would have been.  I had a read of their thread, and some people really need to wake up to themselves.  I think the link below makes it pretty clear -

http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/~/media/Safety/Vehicle%20standards%20and%20modifications/Loads%20and%20towing/Safe%20towing/Safe_towing_guide.pdf (http://www.tmr.qld.gov.au/~/media/Safety/Vehicle%20standards%20and%20modifications/Loads%20and%20towing/Safe%20towing/Safe_towing_guide.pdf)

Hello Symon, nice to hear you are  still around.
Angus.

Missing me already? Awww... shucks  :-[
Post by: duggie on October 20, 2012, 06:49:36 PM
Question? Who can guarantee that the chain that is attached the the RATED shackle and this in turn attached to a Rated draw bar is rated chain?

Food for thought.
Post by: dazzler on October 20, 2012, 09:27:33 PM
Question? Who can guarantee that the chain that is attached the the RATED shackle and this in turn attached to a Rated draw bar is rated chain?

Food for thought.

The new stuff has a rating stamped on every fourth (isn) link.  But the old stuff ??????
Post by: 99disco on October 20, 2012, 10:50:47 PM
The thing that has always gotten me is that it might be rated chain but any joe blogs could have welded it on.

Shane
Post by: Bongo on October 21, 2012, 12:20:24 AM
I had a brand new Kimberley over the pits in Darwin for a compliance check and roadworthy. They only thing they pinged me for was not having rated shackles. What should they be rated at I innocently asked. I don't know was the reply!!!!! Check the web page!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 21, 2012, 05:48:50 AM
On the link from the Govt., i noted the following.....

"When reversing, it is advisable to have someone outside the vehicle giving directions"

I love it when a 70 something wife, bellows to her 70 something, hard of hearing husband, to stop, when the caravan is about 6 inches from a steel bollard.
He yells out.... "What? Speak up woman, for Christ sake" and then the corner of the van hits the bollard.

Then its on and for the next 20 minutes you've got the best entertainment you'll ever get.

OK, back to the rated shackles now......
Post by: GeeTee on October 21, 2012, 02:01:47 PM
This would be a mate of a mate of a bloke down the road who was a smart ass.......

I remember a cop mate booking a bloke for having different luminescent headlights  - someone got under his skin  ;D

yes, it's a very good idea to pass the Attitude Test when speaking with the lads in blue 
Post by: Crisp Image on October 21, 2012, 02:13:06 PM
Rated for what? Lifting or towing ? They are 2 different things.
Take a look at a hand winch. One rating for lifting and one for pulling.
If you agree not lifting off the ground the ratings are different.
Worth thinking about.
Crisp image
Post by: dav on October 21, 2012, 04:29:43 PM
If you use a rated chain and then weld it  the metal in the chain would not meet the same SWL as it did before. SWL means safe working load. Hammer locks should be used to attach the chain to the drawbar.
Sent by iPhone while on the crapper.
Post by: dazzler on October 21, 2012, 05:30:47 PM
If you use a rated chain and then weld it  the metal in the chain would not meet the same SWL as it did before. SWL means safe working load. Hammer locks should be used to attach the chain to the drawbar.

Got a pic Dav?

The only ones I can find have a shackle thing on each side.   :cheers:
Post by: dav on October 21, 2012, 06:04:08 PM
Here is another name for a hammer lock is Connector Link. (http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/10/21/vegy5ese.jpg) also here is some different types of chain (http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/10/21/ahe4edub.jpg)(http://img.tapatalk.com/d/12/10/21/9u5a8ahe.jpg)
Post by: Willow Girl on December 05, 2012, 09:23:06 PM
So where can U buy rated d shackles from? Tried supercheap today but they don't have any. Any ideas guys (or girls :angel:)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 05, 2012, 09:25:25 PM
So where can U buy rated d shackles from? Tried supercheap today but they don't have any. Any ideas guys (or girls :angel:)

Got mine from ARB, were not over the top in price either

Post by: Willow Girl on December 05, 2012, 09:32:59 PM
Bugger, we don't have an arb store here in Maryborough and we need one tomorrow before we head out, will keep "doin the google"
Post by: GGV8Cruza on December 05, 2012, 09:42:37 PM
Not sure of the area, but any of the rigging places should have something

http://www.yellowpages.com.au/search/listings?region=australia&showAllLocations=false&headingCode=35785&includeSurroundingSuburbs=false&bookId=25&referredBy=YOL&locationArea=r&areaId=1075&surroundingSuburbsModifiedByUser=false&pageNumber=1&showAllCandidates=false&locationText=Maryborough+Region+QLD&tmPageNumber=1&searchMode=type&selectedViewMode=list&sortBy=mostInfo&sessionId=33DAD9BEB1F8A5CA84744A998DB631DB.11&stateId=4&clue=Hoisting+%26+Rigging+Equipment+Electric&context=businessTypeSearch&serviceAreaModifiedByUser=false&locationClue=maryborough+region+qld&lruPageNumber=1&serviceArea=false&adPs=3851003 (http://www.yellowpages.com.au/search/listings?region=australia&showAllLocations=false&headingCode=35785&includeSurroundingSuburbs=false&bookId=25&referredBy=YOL&locationArea=r&areaId=1075&surroundingSuburbsModifiedByUser=false&pageNumber=1&showAllCandidates=false&locationText=Maryborough+Region+QLD&tmPageNumber=1&searchMode=type&selectedViewMode=list&sortBy=mostInfo&sessionId=33DAD9BEB1F8A5CA84744A998DB631DB.11&stateId=4&clue=Hoisting+%26+Rigging+Equipment+Electric&context=businessTypeSearch&serviceAreaModifiedByUser=false&locationClue=maryborough+region+qld&lruPageNumber=1&serviceArea=false&adPs=3851003)

Post by: Crisp Image on December 05, 2012, 09:50:38 PM
You could try the bearing supplies in town. Our local inns carry some lifting equipment such as slings and shackles.
Crispy
Post by: Willow Girl on December 05, 2012, 10:28:25 PM
Thanks guys, I will check those places out tomorrow, Thanks ;D ;D ;D
Post by: grafy82 on December 05, 2012, 11:59:45 PM

You actually can't use hammerlocks to attach the chain to the draw bar. The rules state it must be welded, but as you said, most alloy grade lifting chains are not meant to be welded or the rating will be significantly reduced. Interesting as to how you are supposed to weld a steel chain to a alloy drawbar if that's what your trailers made of.
    I think supercheap only sells shackles as small as 3.2t but they will be too big to fit through your chain. You need the smaller 1.5t or possibly 2t and I got mine from the local Bullivants specialist. I think I have now seen them at bunnings too if you have one close by.

Wes