General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Renno on October 16, 2012, 05:57:27 AM
The last couple of spots I have been to have allowed a fire as long as it was off the ground, like in a brazier. I have one but it is a punish to fit in the trailer, I also just bought a cheap fire pit however it is round and again difficult to fit, it also takes a lot of wood to get a coal base going, which it needs as it looses head quickly.
These flat pack fire trough (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/FLAT-PACK-15-SEC-ASSEMBLY-FIRE-PIT-CAMPFIRE-BBQ-CAMPING-CARAVAN-ABOVE-GROUND-/171104844446?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_15&hash=item27d6a4ba9e) are on ebay and look like it might suit my needs.
Has anybody used one or seen one in.
l have my invention the PDFP Pre Dug Fire Pit , just tell me the size you need . When you have finished using it as a fire pit roll it up & stuff it into the CT , Please be careful when storing the PDFP , if it falls off the CT it will become a pot hole on the trach somewhere .
As the PDFP can be taken with you there will be no damage to the camp site , send much $$$ to me & l will rush deliver your PDFP :cheers:
The last couple of spots I have been to have allowed a fire as long as it was off the ground, like in a brazier. I have one but it is a punish to fit in the trailer, I also just bought a cheap fire pit however it is round and again difficult to fit, it also takes a lot of wood to get a coal base going, which it needs as it looses head quickly.
These flat pack fire trough (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/180994269882?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649) are on ebay and look like it might suit my needs.
Has anybody used one or seen one in.
Renno
Hello Renno,
I use a brazier that I purchased from Bunnings, and your right they take up heaps of room. In the past I have taken a 20kg bag of charcoal, and a charcoal chimney to kickstart the coals. But the charcoal also takes up a lot of room.
If it flatpacks, I reckon you'll be on a winner. Easy to store, put in a bag, there seems to be quite a few positive attributes and few negatives IMO.
Cheers, Marschy
Hey Renno,
I just bought one, I'll let you know how effective they are once I receive it and I've given it a shakedown.
Cheers, Marschy.
The ex-mistake bought me a Ozpig (http://www.ozpig.com.au/) which I used at Fraser with some good success... but cant help feel a 44 on legs would be much warmer :)
I've had 44 gallon and 20 litres drums on legs and they only last about a year or 2 before rusting out when left out in the weather, particularly the 20's. This sucker is 3mm plate, should last a long time. The appeal for me is flatpacking for storing/transporting in the toolbox
A 20 litre drum on legs give out bucket load of heat, but can't be flat-packed (for obvious reasons). The dimensions are 60cm long x 20cm high by 30cm wide, not much smaller than a 20 litre drum.
I've had 44 gallon and 20 litres drums on legs and they only last about a year or 2 before rusting out when left out in the weather, particularly the 20's.
thats always been the stopping point on them for me :(
Will be interested to see how you find it.
Here is what I use, I usually just strap it to the top of the loaded trailer with a couple of the rubber mats underneath to protect the Tarp and trailer contents.
I can replace the 44 when it rusts out, mine sits outside and usually lasts around 5 years. A new barrel is less than $20 cut and no sharp edges.
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/41676-2/firebarrel.JPG)
The legs are tubing from an old trampoline
I know Drifta are selling a range of these flat pack fireplaces as well, had a quick look at their site and cannot see them there, but we had a chat to Luke about them at the Penrith show.
Here is what I use, I usually just strap it to the top of the loaded trailer with a couple of the rubber mats underneath to protect the Tarp and trailer contents.
I can replace the 44 when it rusts out, mine sits outside and usually lasts around 5 years. A new barrel is less than $20 cut and no sharp edges.
The legs are tubing from an old trampoline
I know Drifta are selling a range of these flat pack fireplaces as well, had a quick look at their site and cannot see them there, but we had a chat to Luke about them at the Penrith show.
This is the guy: http://www.drifta.com.au/SnowPeak.php (http://www.drifta.com.au/SnowPeak.php)
Drifta sell the snowpeak firepit. There is another thread on myswag with some reports. however, it is about twice the price of the ebay job Snowpeak is about $250 from memory, whilst the ebay link is $99 + 27.50 postage.
I have 1/3 of a 50l keg cut lengthways with 4 legs that slip in, straps to the front of the toolbox on the drawbar
Cheers Matt
Drifta sell the snowpeak firepit. There is another thread on myswag with some reports. however, it is about twice the price of the ebay job Snowpeak is about $250 from memory, whilst the ebay link is $99 + 27.50 postage.
$99.00 plus $30.95 postage, I just bought one.
maybe just me, but I see them as fawkin expensive... just going on what I see in the pics
I'll wait for the report when it arrives.
posted pics before but here's the ozhog, the flue and legs are removable and fit inside, the whole lot packs into a ply box for travel.
(http://i410.photobucket.com/albums/pp188/dave_1966/hogrocket.jpg)
(http://i410.photobucket.com/albums/pp188/dave_1966/hogrocket2.jpg)
(http://i410.photobucket.com/albums/pp188/dave_1966/hog22.jpg)
(http://i410.photobucket.com/albums/pp188/dave_1966/hog21.jpg)
I had the same problem, after getting a cheap brazier from Big W, but found a way to mount it against the tool boxes on the drawbar. Hasn't fallen off yet!
Lets us know how you go with it Marschy. Might go and buy some steel and get my neighbour to practice using his new plasma cutter. :cheers:
Thanks for the replies, Hadn't even thought of mounting the brazier to the outside of the trailer, Still keen to see how the flat pack goes...
Renno
posted pics before but here's the ozhog, the flue and legs are removable and fit inside, the whole lot packs into a ply box for travel.
I still have 1/2 a chubby from lookin at that..
15mins and my steak would be nicely well done.
What sort of rocket fuel are you using Lost?
Got the flat pack fire place in the mail yesterday. Well made, good size. About as long as the 20 litre drum fireplaces I already have, just a bit narrower. It will do the job well I'm sure.
These were advertised by a local steel place the other day. Havent seen one close up but I may be going out that way next week if anyone is interested.
http://easysteelsolutions.com.au/products/fire/easy-burn-bush (http://easysteelsolutions.com.au/products/fire/easy-burn-bush)
Shell A racing fuel me thinks! ;D
I still have 1/2 a chubby from lookin at that..
15mins and my steak would be nicely well done.
Thanks mate (I think ;D )
the CO goes well on it, I've also got another 1/2 keg that sits nicely on the top for shower water etc.
Tommo
can you weld beer kegs?
Got the flat pack fire place in the mail yesterday. Well made, good size. About as long as the 20 litre drum fireplaces I already have, just a bit narrower. It will do the job well I'm sure.
So have you tried it out yet Marschy, or is it still virg... er, pristine ? and don't forget :worthles:
can you weld beer kegs?
Is that a generic question ? as in can beer kegs be welded ?
A/ yes
or a specific question ? as in can I weld beer kegs ?
A/ No not to save my life
I can recommend the snowpeak one. We've had it for a while now and love the heat it throws out plus how flat and easy to transport it is. Standard bag is basic as per Luke's comments on his site so grab the canvas one if you need a bag that will last.
(http://pic80.picturetrail.com/VOL2138/10477042/24184549/404375891.jpg)
Pic taken in a rare moment when no one was devouring the cheese & bikkies/wine or warming their toes by the fire ;D
There are cheaper options out there for sure. I really like how flat it packs so the ebay one could also be a good choice if you are on a tight budget.
Hi Marshy,
Can you provide any feedback on the flat pack pit please. Interested in your thoughts, I like the simplicity of it, not sure if it could be made lighter though.
John & Heather
Hello Johnmm,
Have only fired up the new fire place once and was very pleased with it. If you are inclined to make your own, I wouldn't go thinner than 3mm, I reckon it would start warping.
Cheers, Marschy
Thanks Marschy
Hello Peoples,
Here is my above ground fire place, 200 litre (44 gallon) drum sliced longways, one half has a scollop out of it for the other half to sit into, venting cut into the base and away you go.
Works a treat and all the coals/ashes drop straight down without having worry about getting burnt feet.
(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/chainsaw/006.jpg)
The two halves side by side
(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/chainsaw/007.jpg)
Fire place ready for action
(http://i1259.photobucket.com/albums/ii547/dug59/chainsaw/010.jpg)
Fired up with no where to go
Cheers duggie
This little jobby is on ebay for $120. It's not very big though.
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-Stainless-Steel-Portable-Outdoor-Cart-Fire-Pit-BBQ-Grill-Camping-/300884336688?pt=AU_Outdoor_Heaters&hash=item460e1aa030&_uhb=1 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/New-Stainless-Steel-Portable-Outdoor-Cart-Fire-Pit-BBQ-Grill-Camping-/300884336688?pt=AU_Outdoor_Heaters&hash=item460e1aa030&_uhb=1)
can you weld beer kegs?
Beer kegs can be welded yes and u can use normal steel mig wire etc.
I was told its better to use stainless steel mig wire. So it doesn't rust..
Dunno if thats true but thats what i was told.
Still procrastinating over this, but I see Hillbilly Camping Gear (http://www.campingwithhillbilly.com/firedish.php) have done one.
Renno :cheers:
We got ours from eBay as well, from a bloke down the road in Langwarrin, $80 and
travels on the spare wheel.
can you weld beer kegs?
sure can....just stainless bro!!
The ones these days aren't................
A much lighter cheaper alloy.
Can still be welded though, but takes a mig and some care.
Originally from an alternate camping stove site and could be adapted to a bigger size. If interested templates are supplied. Making the coke can fuel stoves shown on the site can be a bit of fun too.
http://zenstoves.net/ (http://zenstoves.net/)
(http://i273.photobucket.com/albums/jj235/Titfish_2008/NomadsStovePic.jpg) (http://s273.photobucket.com/user/Titfish_2008/media/NomadsStovePic.jpg.html)
Different Flat Pack Fire Trough (http://www.4bqfirepit.com/#!purchase/c1zlp) made in Qld. Listed on Ebay (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/4BQ-Flat-pack-BBQ-Fire-Pit/181192530120?_trksid=p2047675.m1850&_trkparms=aid%3D222002%26algo%3DSIC.FIT%26ao%3D1%26asc%3D11%26meid%3D624400632475540596%26pid%3D100011%26prg%3D1005%26rk%3D1%26rkt%3D5%26sd%3D181184985959%26) as well.
Here's mine, thanks to the fitters at work.
3mm mild steel. Google "flat pack fire pit" in images and you'll find plans for it.
Works really well, but you've got to get it really hot before placing any hardwood in it. Once you have just keep "topping" up with some pine before the next bit of hardwood.
Also, use "smaller" blocks of hardwood, if you buy the type in the bag from a servo, best to split them before use
Cheers, Scott
We just bought one of these http://www.polarisinnovations.com/firepit.htm. A bit pricey but I saved on delivery as the company is in Brisbane, so Aussie made. These fire pits are fantastic and very easy to store. It's a great size (when set-up), folds flat (and is surprisingly small when flat packed), comes with a bag and I also bought the rack that sits on the top to put your frypan, billy etc on. Hubby has to lift it because although it says it's 17kg it feels like it weighs a tonne LOL.
Is that a generic question ? as in can beer kegs be welded ?
A/ yes
or a specific question ? as in can I weld beer kegs ?
A/ No not to save my life
A very interesting question!
To avoid confusion in the future - or even within this post itself - the question would have been more appropriately worded as:-
(Name - if directed to a specific person) can you weld beer kegs?
OR
Can anyone here weld beer kegs?
as opposed to:-
Does anyone know if beer kegs can be welded?
(I apologise for the randomness of this post - I'm currently doing a proof reading TAFE course and I'm SUPPOSED to be doing my first assignment; all about the statistics of rhubarb consumption - and so I am doing everything BUT work on my assignment! oh well! back to it i guess Sigh......)
Jan
xxxx
yes beer kegs can be welded, depending what the keg is made out of though..
if its stainless steel then use stainless steel wire in ya mig ffor a better result..
We use a modified gas bottle. Great for cooking stews with the tri-pod, uses stuff all wood but still throws off enough heat to keep the family warm on cold nights. No mess left and easy to dispose of the ash the next morning.
(http://gallery.myswag.org/gallery/d/46964-2/2013-04-25+16_37_29.jpg)
Yes, beer kegs can be welded ;D
Another variant with a spit on ebay (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Flat-Pack-Spit-BBQ-Fire-Pit-Cyprus-Grill-Charcoal-Wood-Fired-4wd-camping-4x4-/251381617741?pt=AU_Outdoor_Living_BBQs_Cookware&hash=item3a8783144d), like the idea. From Ezyspit (http://www.ezyspit.com/) in Vic.
Hey all, I had the same problem and the solution was the Ezyspit. www.ezyspit.com (http://www.ezyspit.com) Packs flat and takes up very little room and can use it as a BBQ as well.
(http://www.ezyspit.com/uploads/9/6/2/1/9621664/7562152_orig.jpg)
Still procrastinating over this, but I see Hillbilly Camping Gear (http://www.campingwithhillbilly.com/firedish.php) have done one.
We just bought one from Hillbilly Camping at the Bendigo show. They were demonstrating them there, and we liked the fact they have a lid so you can shut them down at night. We also bought a cook stand and grill plate and will add to it as we go. We haven't had a chance to use it yet, but probably be experimenting in the garden before the next trip.
and another flatpack option
http://www.bennettsteel.com.au/products/easy-burn (http://www.bennettsteel.com.au/products/easy-burn)
standard is $99 and customised is $150ish.
Don't suppose anyone has the photos... I've been googling and found a few on the wayback machine but not all....
EDIT: Found another site that renames them :) Not all, but most >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D >:D
http://www.aussiecampovenforum.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1373686150 (http://www.aussiecampovenforum.com/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1373686150)