General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Bird on October 14, 2012, 10:08:47 AM

Title: Cut my Throat or not?
Post by: Bird on October 14, 2012, 10:08:47 AM
So I'm sick of payin $10 for 4 disposable razors that I use once...

(https://www.shaving-shack.com/skin1/images/straight-razor-terminology.jpg)

Talkin with a mate of mine, he has just got a Cut Throat from USA... He is still alive 3 weeks later, few cuts, but no jugular so far. Just hope he doesnt sneeze or cough or think of Joolia Dullard while shaving, she'd be all over in seconds, as you'd start throwing pepper in ya own face..

You can get cutthroats for as little as $15.00!

So, who has one?
What are they like to use - are they easy to get used to, and to physically use??
Stropping the blade (sharpening part with the strop) - is it easy as it looks?
Shaving cream, does it matter what sort you use? Just ya normal Gillette spray on stuff?

http://www.shaving-shack.com/how-to-use-a-straight-cut-throat-razor.html (http://www.shaving-shack.com/how-to-use-a-straight-cut-throat-razor.html)
http://www.blokeystuff.com.au/CutThroat.php (http://www.blokeystuff.com.au/CutThroat.php)
http://www.knivesaustralia.com.au/cutthroat_razors.html (http://www.knivesaustralia.com.au/cutthroat_razors.html)

Title: Re: Cut my Throat or not?
Post by: GUEY on October 14, 2012, 10:25:12 AM
why bother shaving in the first place. i use an electric trimmer that takes it back to stubble every couple of weeks and thats it.
Post by: RWS on October 14, 2012, 10:31:37 AM
The model with the scar on his chin doesn't instil much confidence. ;D

(https://www.shaving-shack.com/skin1/images/straight-razor-demo3.jpg)
Post by: sablesoft on October 14, 2012, 10:35:34 AM

Last time I shaved was back in June 1971, the barber charges a extra $5 for a beard trim with a haircut, maybe 5 times a year, so It costs me approx $25 a year for beard trims, don't see any reason to waste time and money shaving every day.

Ray
Post by: Symon on October 14, 2012, 11:15:34 AM
why bother shaving in the first place. i use an electric trimmer that takes it back to stubble every couple of weeks and thats it.

If I don't shave every two days I have people chasing me thinking I'm a yowie.

Some workplaces have a 'clean shaven' policy, so you may not get a choice.

Some wives also have a similar policy.
Post by: jclures on October 14, 2012, 11:16:25 AM
You could try one of these with you normal blades.

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/RAZORPIT-Razor-Blade-Sharpener-/130780750217?pt=AU_HairRemoval&hash=item1e7323e189 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/RAZORPIT-Razor-Blade-Sharpener-/130780750217?pt=AU_HairRemoval&hash=item1e7323e189)

I know it sounds like snake oil but I am still using the blade I took on the myswag cape trip, and I shave every night.

Although I think using a soft water also helps.
Post by: dungee on October 14, 2012, 11:21:00 AM
These are popular in Glasgow, I don't think they shave with them though...
Post by: GUEY on October 14, 2012, 11:30:21 AM

Some workplaces have a 'clean shaven' policy, so you may not get a choice.

Some wives also have a similar policy.

I hope the wives are referring to themselves...
Post by: Tom on October 14, 2012, 11:41:00 AM
Try waxing ;D
Post by: theflyingbadger on October 14, 2012, 11:55:28 AM
get yourself on here (http://badgerandblade.com/) for people with a scary razor obsession :D
Post by: dazzler on October 14, 2012, 01:16:47 PM
I use the gillette mach 3 razors and shave every second day.  Use that razor blade cleaner thing I posted about a while ago after every shave.  I get at least two weeks out of each razor and pushing closer to 4weeks.

I also only use proraso products

http://www.mensbiz.com.au/shop-by-brand/proraso.html?gclid=CITu5LfF_7ICFWRKpgodY3YAJw (http://www.mensbiz.com.au/shop-by-brand/proraso.html?gclid=CITu5LfF_7ICFWRKpgodY3YAJw)

Cant remember the last time I had a rash and for wog skin thats not too bad.....
Post by: D4D on October 14, 2012, 01:19:32 PM
One word 'Braun'
Post by: Kalebjarrod on October 14, 2012, 01:55:36 PM
Veet
Post by: Hairs on October 14, 2012, 04:10:46 PM

Yep, Same here. Shaving gives me the worst rash. I've tried all manner of methods.
Fysh loves me the way I am,  ;D

Like this Symon?
(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/Yowie-002.gif)

Try waxing ;D

(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/shocked.gif)

I have a set of Cut Throat razors and a stone of my Grand Fathers, they have the finest blade on them. Just dragging your finger across them makes a ting sound.
I'd hate to use them, I would come off second best and look worse than Norman Gunston.
Post by: BigJules on October 14, 2012, 07:13:46 PM
I've got a heavy beard and when in corporate life I shave every day. The chaps in my family favoured the Philishave, and I used one for many years but worked out that I was still paying too much to shave.

I now use Gillette Sensor 3 (in an 8 pack for ~<$10). I find I can shave for 5 or 6 days with each blade. They don't travel well in my old army shave kit bag though.
Post by: Bird on October 14, 2012, 09:54:59 PM
Surprised nobody uses one on here :(

Will still give it a go.. ****in over disposables.
Post by: carinya on October 14, 2012, 09:58:52 PM
You have got to be joking.  You can shave without a mirror with a Gillette.  I think they even outlawed the use of straight razors in barber shops.  After some woman nearly skinned the back of my neck when I was in high school, I think this was way overdue.
Post by: MarkVS on October 14, 2012, 10:22:46 PM
Get red hair......its not as 'rugged'..........my gillette triple blade razor last months

MarkVS
Post by: theflyingbadger on October 14, 2012, 10:56:48 PM
Surprised nobody uses one on here :(

i use a safety razor when i'm not being a beardy (which I have been for the past 18 months)

Get red hair......its not as 'rugged'..........my gillette triple blade razor last months

sorry, but i'd rather buy the blades :o ;)
Post by: Burnsy on October 14, 2012, 11:19:22 PM
get yourself on here (http://badgerandblade.com/) for people with a scary razor obsession :D

Seriously, it is just shaving, not camping, is it really worth writing on the internet about?

I agree with lost though, razors get expensive.
Post by: bunyip on October 14, 2012, 11:27:04 PM
I shave whenever I go into the office, and a blade WOULD last me around a month or more, except someone uses the razor to shave their legs or whatever. Goes blunt in a week  >:(

Post by: Squalo on October 15, 2012, 12:43:57 AM
Hey Bruce I used to work with a couple of Columbian guys who shaved their heads with those things!

I'm sort of curious though, now that you've brought it up - I went for the beard about 12 years ago, would have been not long after I saw you last, but shave the neckline.

Dazzler mentioned Proraso, seriously do yourself a favour and chuck the Gillette shaving cream in the bin - it's just soap and water. A can of Proraso isn't cheap, I think I paid twenty bucks, but the bloke at the Shaver Shop reckoned I'd get a year out of it (it's a big can, the size of a big can of spraypaint) and so far I reckon he's probably right.

I also bought a top shelf Panasonic electric shaver (better technology in them than any other electric shaver), but I'm still coming to terms with it... actually, I think I just like a blade shave. I do my bonce with the blade too, when I can be bothered, and when it's not too hot - hot days with a shaved head are no fun when you sweat like I do :) A No.1 comb on the clippers is good though, leaves enough hair to wick the sweat away.

Post by: jeeps on October 15, 2012, 02:02:53 AM
No matter what I use, cheap or expensive razors, hot or cold water, different shaving cream, I always cut up my neck and bleed out. I had been using those very expensive razors, you know, 4 for $19 or something to try and minimize the cuts.

Anyway, for fathers day this year my wife picked up a Remington rotary electric shaver for half price. I wasn't keen but gave it a go. What do you know, a very close shave and no cuts! I have been using it every day or two and it gets 3-4 weeks per charge! I haven't had a cut in 2 months and haven't looked back!

Post by: fuji on October 15, 2012, 05:12:03 AM
I've got a heavy beard and when in corporate life I shave every day. The chaps in my family favoured the Philishave, and I used one for many years but worked out that I was still paying too much to shave.

I now use Gillette Sensor 3 (in an 8 pack for ~<$10). I find I can shave for 5 or 6 days with each blade. They don't travel well in my old army shave kit bag though.

Yep I agree, but I might buy one of those sharpener thingys :cheers:
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 15, 2012, 05:43:13 AM
I shave whenever I go into the office, and a blade WOULD last me around a month or more, except someone uses the razor to shave their legs or whatever. Goes blunt in a week  >:(

yeah, my wife uses my razor to shave her legs and whatever........ i don't mind though, i like a smoooooooooth whatever. >:D
Post by: Mr Ploppy on October 15, 2012, 06:23:21 AM

I do the same but do my whole head, excluding eyebrows although that would be an interesting look.
Post by: Xfigio on October 15, 2012, 07:38:27 AM
Phillishave,  Mine's on it's way out, ...after 14 years.  Far better economy than disposable..., and so much safer.
Post by: Matto on October 15, 2012, 11:39:47 AM
Lost,

You've got to be brave going all the way to a cutthroat. About 3yrs ago I got sick of buying Gillette shares, and asked for the following for my birthday :
* Double-edged razor with sample pack of blades (not this exact one, but same razor : http://www.theshaveshed.com.au/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=3_5&products_id=20&zenid=83ebf17b98da947ff1381031857b698f (http://www.theshaveshed.com.au/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=3_5&products_id=20&zenid=83ebf17b98da947ff1381031857b698f))
* Cheap Badger-hair brush (http://www.theshaveshed.com.au/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=7 (http://www.theshaveshed.com.au/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=7))
* Good shaving soap : http://www.theshaveshed.com.au/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=9&products_id=292 (http://www.theshaveshed.com.au/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=9&products_id=292)

Since then I've gone through maybe one of the sample packets of blades - I've still got another 4 or 5 packets left. I've used an entire cake of the soak, but bought another puck for $18 from the local ShaverShop. Blades are cheap as chips (they're just razor blades after all) and last quite well if you strop them on your arm before & after use. Biggest trick is learning how to shave with the DE razor, no pressure at all, keep the angle right, etc, and you won't cut yourself. I have fiendishly sensitive skin and if I can figure it out, anyone can. Decent aftershave is a godsend.

For me, it's very cheap once you buy a decent razor, and it's safer than a straight razor with less maintenance (IE, you don't need a leather stopping belt, etc). I've had a few different electric shavers, I never seem to be able to make them last. The last philishave I had I needed to put 3 new blades in, and that was basically the price of a whole new unit. Takes me longer to shave with an electric shaver than a quick wet-shave anyway.

The barber I go to uses wonderful plastic, disposable straight razors - if you want to experiment it might be worth buying a 100-pack of them to test out with first. They do a fantastic job and are super-sharp. It's certainly a good skill to have though, and means you'll never need to buy another razor again.

Good luck - post photos.
Post by: LJs GU on October 15, 2012, 11:47:16 AM
Shave while you're in the shower... hairs are softer and makes the blades last longer.
LJ
You do shower don't you?  ;D
Post by: Isuzumu on October 15, 2012, 11:58:20 AM
I use the gillette mach 3 razors and shave every second day.  Use that razor blade cleaner thing I posted about a while ago after every shave.  I get at least two weeks out of each razor and pushing closer to 4weeks.

I also only use proraso products

http://www.mensbiz.com.au/shop-by-brand/proraso.html?gclid=CITu5LfF_7ICFWRKpgodY3YAJw (http://www.mensbiz.com.au/shop-by-brand/proraso.html?gclid=CITu5LfF_7ICFWRKpgodY3YAJw)

Cant remember the last time I had a rash and for wog skin thats not too bad.....

The razor cleaner/sharpener thingy Dazzler is the best thing ever invented. I brought one after seeing your thread. I now use Aldi razors, cheapest around, give them a clean before using them even for the first time and every day after and get up to 4 weeks out of one razor. Bloody great thanks mate  :cup:
Post by: mystq on October 15, 2012, 11:01:48 PM
Yes do it >:D
Post by: Matto on October 16, 2012, 08:54:42 AM
Or this: THE BEARDS - If Your Dad Doesn't Have a Beard, You've Got Two Mums (Official Film Clip) (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RmFnarFSj_U#ws)

Cheers!
Post by: cruisindub on October 16, 2012, 05:43:00 PM
Refresh on the cleaner /sharpener thing again please.?

I also tried recently when I bought $120 phillishave rechargeable, figured it would pay for itself if I got a year put of it, any longer would be a bonus, buy a new one when blades wear out.
I couldn't get along with it. So for now,still with the expensive Mach 3 Gillette.

Usually a blade a week, sometimes less, so shaving is expensive. (Not more than a week out of one blade)

Recently told it takes a while to get used to a razor shave over blade and definitely not as clean or smooth after.

If I was rich andhad the money,I would get a proper barbers shave everyday. Hard stubble beard with an easily rashed neck makes shaving a nightamre daily occurrence.

Not sure I would be confident enough for a cut throat, but the the twin blade looks set up looks interestinyg.

Anything to save on cost of shaving ...........
Post by: Squalo on October 16, 2012, 11:54:08 PM
You can make blades last longer by drying them immediately after use - it's corrosion rather than cutting that prematurely blunts them.

Hit the blades with the missuses hair dryer :)
Post by: bussoboy on October 17, 2012, 12:15:19 PM
i'm nearly 46 years old and have hardly ever used a razor..........i was bought a Braun for my 16th birthday which lasted until i was about 22 when i bought myself a Philishave which was replaced with another Philishave about 5 years ago but having  goatie and ocassional full beard means the shavers have never had a big workout so last a long time

I wouldn't dream of using razors and i'm lucky my wife loves me no matter how feral i look
Post by: fuji on October 17, 2012, 07:44:42 PM
Refresh on the cleaner /sharpener thing again please.?

I also tried recently when I bought $120 phillishave rechargeable, figured it would pay for itself if I got a year put of it, any longer would be a bonus, buy a new one when blades wear out.
I couldn't get along with it. So for now,still with the expensive Mach 3 Gillette.

Usually a blade a week, sometimes less, so shaving is expensive. (Not more than a week out of one blade)

Recently told it takes a while to get used to a razor shave over blade and definitely not as clean or smooth after.

If I was rich andhad the money,I would get a proper barbers shave everyday. Hard stubble beard with an easily rashed neck makes shaving a nightamre daily occurrence.

Not sure I would be confident enough for a cut throat, but the the twin blade looks set up looks interestinyg.

Anything to save on cost of shaving ...........

I use a face wash before I shave and it does soften the whiskers. So give it a try. I use Clarins face wash and it lasts a while. IMO
Wayne
Post by: ap on October 18, 2012, 09:42:17 AM
I shave 5 times a week for work and electric razors just don't work for me.  I tend to try and avoid shaving on the weekends nut if we are going out I need to as come Sunday afternoon I'm a bit of a wooly monster.  I use one of the fancy five blade plus a precision cutting blade Fusions.  I agree the blades are stupidly expensive but I find that these last for ages, I easily get over a month out of each blade.

I find the key is go old school - wash the face with hot water to soften the beard, use a cheap shaving brush and shave stick (the $2 stuff) to lather up, shave with the grain of the hair, lather again and then shave against the grain.  Quick and easy and you get a really close shave.  The important thing is knowing the grain of the hair for the initial shave - downwards on the cheeks and upwards on the neck.  This can really help stop you cutting yourself up.

For those of you in Sydney who want to be a bit indulgent go visit Steve for a proper barber's cutthroat shave.  Its about $50 but it is the best experience, you feel great afterwards.

http://media.smh.com.au/executive-style/essential-male/a-perfect-shave-2840468.html (http://media.smh.com.au/executive-style/essential-male/a-perfect-shave-2840468.html)
Post by: jclures on October 18, 2012, 09:52:39 AM
I did read somewhere that the shaving creams today are part of the problem with shavers, using soap or a shaving stick is better for the blade. The argument was that the razor blade companies need to sell razor blades, so the manufacture creams that don't look after the blade but give you a good shave.
Post by: Barrabart on October 18, 2012, 11:50:47 AM
Most of us NQ blokes use a 4" grinder to smooth the face off.................... !!................ Yep hard bastards up this way!! ;D
Post by: fuji on October 18, 2012, 02:54:53 PM
I did read somewhere that the shaving creams today are part of the problem with shavers, using soap or a shaving stick is better for the blade. The argument was that the razor blade companies need to sell razor blades, so the manufacture creams that don't look after the blade but give you a good shave.

And soap is bad for your skin. Use a nice skin cleanser and then shave, IMO
Post by: Bird on March 12, 2014, 02:45:26 PM
still thinking
Post by: Matto on March 12, 2014, 03:34:37 PM
still thinking

Was only thinking of this the other day, and wondering if you actually went ahead with it.

What's holding you back? $40 for one of these - http://www.mensbiz.com.au/dovo-shavette-straight-razor-black.html (http://www.mensbiz.com.au/dovo-shavette-straight-razor-black.html) - may as well get one and try it out. I'm led to believe they're a good starter option. Go slow, read up and watch a bunch of youtube vids, and try it out one afternoon. Preferably a day where you don't have to go out in public tomorrow. Don't shave for a few days before hand. Commit to trying at least half a dozen times though - don't just do it once, get disheartened and give it away. It took me a couple of years to get my skills to a level I was happy with, but I'm a notoriously slow learner.

http://www.artofmanliness.com/2009/10/06/how-to-straight-razor-shave/ (http://www.artofmanliness.com/2009/10/06/how-to-straight-razor-shave/)

Me, I'd be scared witless of doing irreparable damage to myself. I have a thing about blood (can't even get a blood test, my brain just freaks out - it's all in my head).

DE shaving for me. Still loving it. Much quicker now than I was back in 2012. Have a new technique that means cuts and nicks are non-existant. New "after shave" (http://www.chemistwarehouse.com.au/product.asp?id=64602 (http://www.chemistwarehouse.com.au/product.asp?id=64602)) that's cheap and works a lot better than pretty much every other "sensitive skin" specialist product (trust me, I've tried 'em all regardless of price). Still have a box of blades left - a blade is lasting me about 3 weeks before it starts to blunt and I start nicking myself. If I change them proactively, all's good.

Good luck. I'm honestly interested to hear how you go with this.

Post by: Bird on March 12, 2014, 03:55:33 PM
Quote from: Matto
What's holding you back?
I'm not a morning person.. chances of fatal injury are quite high..

Actually was thinking about this thread again week or 2 back, as my disposable was as blunt as bubble wrap.
Might go the cleaner gig people were discussing, cant remember who, saw it mentioned on this page.. will re-read the thread.
Post by: Matto on March 12, 2014, 04:03:59 PM
I'm not a morning person.. chances of fatal injury are quite high..

Try it out one afternoon. When I was learning the other stuff, I'd shave the night before so I could take my time. First few times took almost an hour. Now I've got it down pat, it's 10 mins in the morning.

Fatal injury, well, no pain no gain / chicks dig scars. You can always practice with that Dovo handle, with the disposable blade removed. You'll just be scraping shaving cream, but it'll give you a feel for the weight of the handle and how to hold it.

Go on - you know you want to. If you didn't, you wouldn't have come back to this thread.

Post by: Bird on March 12, 2014, 04:10:08 PM
Fatal injury, well, no pain no gain / chicks dig scars.

I already got that sussed
(http://www.gqpatrol.com/injuries/out_r_calf.jpg)
Post by: Matto on March 12, 2014, 04:12:59 PM
So unless you're REALLY unco, you're unlikely to do anything near as major as that with a piddly little razor blade.

Alternatively, if you do manage to out-do yourself, then bravo, I guess.

Post by: Bird on March 12, 2014, 04:15:39 PM
So unless you're REALLY unco, you're unlikely to do anything near as major as that with a piddly little razor blade.

Alternatively, if you do manage to out-do yourself, then bravo, I guess.

...small razors can do damage, don't sneeze
(http://www.gqpatrol.com/injuries/l_finger.jpg)
Post by: Swannie on March 12, 2014, 04:24:51 PM
Go the DE typre razor. Get onto www.mensbiz.com.au (http://www.mensbiz.com.au) and get a starter pack
Post by: Tractor88 on March 12, 2014, 05:35:26 PM
Hey Lost, as you said you are not a morning person take the advice given and use it every arvo. Just have a couple of beers to steady the hand and away ya go. Goorn mate get that cut throat and give her a burl. Bet you'll love it.   ;D

Post by: Trex_s4m1 on March 12, 2014, 05:51:36 PM
Go the DE typre razor. Get onto www.mensbiz.com.au (http://www.mensbiz.com.au) and get a starter pack

Exactly what I did. I now enjoy shaving. The disposable razors are so bad. Not worth the cuts and rash they cause.
DE blades equate to 5c and you get 4/5 good shaves (2 passes per 'shave')
Post by: Swannie on March 12, 2014, 06:42:26 PM
Exactly what I did. I now enjoy shaving. The disposable razors are so bad. Not worth the cuts and rash they cause.
DE blades equate to 5c and you get 4/5 good shaves (2 passes per 'shave')

Yep I'm using the feathers platinum blades.... They are sharp!!!
Post by: Pog on March 12, 2014, 07:13:44 PM
Veet

I'm not convinced with Veet. To be honest I haven't used it yet, but found some reviews online here:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-reviews/B000KKNQBK (http://www.amazon.co.uk/product-reviews/B000KKNQBK)

If you are game, give it a go, then let me know if its good to use.

Pog
Post by: Bird on March 12, 2014, 08:01:33 PM
Quote from: Pogasauras
I'm not convinced with Veet. To be honest I haven't used it yet, but found some reviews online here:
That's what hospitals use..
I had it used on me numerous times after my big accident for pre-operation.. . the Shit works.. you wipe off and the hair just goes.
Post by: Pog on March 12, 2014, 08:07:08 PM
Lost, read some of the reviews in the link.. They are amusing!
Post by: austastar on March 12, 2014, 08:20:30 PM
8<---------------------------------------------------------

The Man from Ironbark

It was the man from Ironbark who struck the Sydney town,
He wandered over street and park, he wandered up and down.
He loitered here, he loitered there, till he was like to drop,
Until at last in sheer despair he sought a barber's shop.
`'Ere! shave my beard and whiskers off, I'll be a man of mark,
I'll go and do the Sydney toff up home in Ironbark.'
The barber man was small and flash, as barbers mostly are,
He wore a strike-your-fancy sash, he smoked a huge cigar:
He was a humorist of note and keen at repartee,
He laid the odds and kept a `tote', whatever that may be,
And when he saw our friend arrive, he whispered
`Here's a lark! Just watch me catch him all alive, this man from Ironbark.'
There were some gilded youths that sat along the barber's wall,
Their eyes were dull, their heads were flat, they had no brains at all;
To them the barber passed the wink, his dexter eyelid shut,
`I'll make this bloomin' yokel think his bloomin' throat is cut.'
And as he soaped and rubbed it in he made a rude remark:
`I s'pose the flats is pretty green up there in Ironbark.'
A grunt was all reply he got; he shaved the bushman's chin,
Then made the water boiling hot and dipped the razor in.
He raised his hand, his brow grew black, he paused awhile to gloat,
Then slashed the red-hot razor-back across his victim's throat;
Upon the newly shaven skin it made a livid mark --
No doubt it fairly took him in -- the man from Ironbark.
He fetched a wild up-country yell might wake the dead to hear,
And though his throat, he knew full well, was cut from ear to ear,
He struggled gamely to his feet, and faced the murd'rous foe:
`You've done for me! you dog, I'm beat! one hit before I go!
I only wish I had a knife, you blessed murdering shark!
But you'll remember all your life, the man from Ironbark.'
He lifted up his hairy paw, with one tremendous clout
He landed on the barber's jaw, and knocked the barber out.
He set to work with tooth and nail, he made the place a wreck;
He grabbed the nearest gilded youth, and tried to break his neck.
And all the while his throat he held to save his vital spark,
And `Murder!  Bloody Murder!' yelled the man from Ironbark.
A peeler man who heard the din came in to see the show;
He tried to run the bushman in, but he refused to go.
And when at last the barber spoke, and said,
`'Twas all in fun -- 'Twas just a little harmless joke, a trifle overdone.'
`A joke!' he cried, `By George, that's fine; a lively sort of lark;
I'd like to catch that murdering swine some night in Ironbark.'
And now while round the shearing floor the list'ning shearers gape,
He tells the story o'er and o'er, and brags of his escape.
`Them barber chaps what keeps a tote, By George, I've had enough,
One tried to cut my bloomin' throat, but thank the Lord it's tough.'
And whether he's believed or no, there's one thing to remark,
That flowing beards are all the go way up in Ironbark.

8<----------------------------------------------------------

Post by: Moggy on March 12, 2014, 08:37:17 PM
Nothing conjures up images of times past like classic Aussie poetry.  :cup: :cup: :cup:

Thanks austastar, wouldn't have seen that since primary school. got any more?
 I always loved "Said Hanrahan" cant remember who wrote  but the main verse of some of those old poems just stick with you, sorta like a good dog.
I remember years ago i think they put out a complete works of 'Patterson, Lawson & Co' didnt they?
Post by: Barry G on March 12, 2014, 10:07:30 PM
Nothing conjures up images of times past like classic Aussie poetry.  :cup: :cup: :cup:

Thanks austastar, wouldn't have seen that since primary school. got any more?
 I always loved "Said Hanrahan" cant remember who wrote  but the main verse of some of those old poems just stick with you, sorta like a good dog.
I remember years ago i think they put out a complete works of 'Patterson, Lawson & Co' didnt they?

Another of Lawson's...
http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=q33S5iZw270 (http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=q33S5iZw270)
Post by: Bird on June 02, 2015, 12:59:13 PM
http://www.theshaveshed.com.au/ (http://www.theshaveshed.com.au/)
Closing Down Sale!
Save 20% Off Storewide!
Post by: Artie01 on June 02, 2015, 04:23:08 PM
Sadly, I live in corporate world, I do have a goatee, but shave the rest daily. Its taken a while, but your stubble actually needs training to use an electric. Weeks after Ive started, I get a close shave which lasts all day, and it only takes a few minutes.

Was give the thing (VS for Men Videl Sassoon) as a gift and only now starting to use it, the first week took ages to get it smooth, but now its a breeze, don't think Ill ever go back to a blade...

All the usual attachments which I use most of, being pretty hairy to start with, but as I get older, hairs 'agrowin' in unusual places!!!  ;D
Post by: Steffo1 on June 02, 2015, 04:49:48 PM
http://www.theshaveshed.com.au/ (http://www.theshaveshed.com.au/)
Closing Down Sale!
Save 20% Off Storewide!

If you get one have a practice by taking some foam or cream off an inflated balloon or two, or three, or four.
Post by: gronk on June 02, 2015, 06:53:24 PM
Been using Bic disposable razors for years....shave every day, and get approx 2 to 3 weeks out of each one, and at $5 for a 10 pack,( or 30 weeks for $5 ...or $10 per year ) it can't be called expensive at all !!

My old man used to use cut throats years ago and I still remember him coming out looking like Norman Gunstan every morning with tissue paper stuck all over his face..
Post by: terravista on June 04, 2015, 10:00:50 AM
I have an average daily growth and after trying electric shavers a few times was never satisfied with the results.
Many years ago Schick twin blades were the ducks guts.
These have developed to multi blades which I personally find work well.
For the last few years I have been using the 5 blade replaceable head units, and shaving from cup of water around the morning campfire when touring get around 3 to 5 days before needing to change.
When in more permanent accommodation I normally shave while still in the shower following a good wash, and the hot water combined with the steam softens the bristles nicely, then using conditioner as lubricant, my replaceable 5 blade heads last over 3 weeks, but a good rinse and proper air drying helps.
I tried a straight razor once, and although I did not bleed to death, I was light headed enough to almost go and buy a Jeep.
Like many things preparation rules.
Post by: Swannie on June 04, 2015, 05:24:57 PM
Can't be a de razor, feathers blades and some wool fat soap

Post by: dazzler on June 06, 2015, 10:19:41 AM
Those feather blades are bloody sharp. Amazing the difference in sharpness between blades. I bought a mixed lot off eBay and feather are still the best. If starting out these are a good option as Big Ben and other brands are less sharp and more forgiving.

I now use cut throat on the weekend and at night when time rich and a double sided safety razor when time poor.

Never going back to $$$$ disposables.

Post by: Nifty1 on June 06, 2015, 04:15:07 PM
When I was young and tough I used to bang the whiskers in with a hammer and chew them off inside.....
Post by: Black Diamond on June 06, 2015, 04:22:50 PM
still thinking
Do us all a favour and slice your throat ya Mug :P

:-* :-* :-*
Title: Cut my Throat or not?
Post by: scarpsD40 on June 06, 2015, 04:54:21 PM
Do us all a favour and slice your throat ya Mug :P

:-* :-* :-*
he'll still have keyboard fingers;D

Once upon a time there use to be a saying that the pen is mightier than the sword. But in reality that only made sense if you could stick the pen in your assailants throat faster than they could chop your hands off with their sword.

These days, one could say the keyboard is mightier than the sword, but as we've discovered lately, an Admin is mightier than a keyboard;D
Post by: markg66 on June 06, 2015, 05:52:59 PM
@ the Grosvenor on George

MEN'S HOT SHAVE (Face or Back Of Neck) with Cut-Throat Razor = Neck $10 Face $25
Our topless girl will lather your face in the best shaving foam & remove all of your facial or neck hair with a cut-throat razor, you will then have a hot towel placed over the shaven area to calm the skin & an after shave balm applied.
or
BEARD TRIM = From $10
Why not go all out!
THE BARBER BABES WORKS (Our MOST Popular Option) = $60
Modern style hair cut, neck & face shave with cut-throat razor. Then our gorgeous topless hairdresser will stand over you whilst you relax in our top of the range leather massage chair. She will give you a relaxing scalp massage whilst shampooing your hair with high-end products, she will also tidy up your eyebrows. Your hair will then be blow dried & styled using top of the range products, a sprit of cologne & a breath mint & you will walk out feeling FABULOUS!
http://www.thegrosvenorongeorge.com.au/barber-babes-topless-hairdresser.html (http://www.thegrosvenorongeorge.com.au/barber-babes-topless-hairdresser.html)
Post by: Barry G on July 09, 2015, 02:23:57 PM

MEN'S HOT SHAVE (Face or Back Of Neck) with Cut-Throat Razor = Neck $10 Face $25
Our topless girl will lather your face in the best shaving foam & remove all of your facial or neck hair with a cut-throat razor, you will then have a hot towel placed over the shaven area to calm the skin & an after shave balm applied.
or
BEARD TRIM = From $10
Why not go all out!
Modern style hair cut, neck & face shave with cut-throat razor. Then our gorgeous topless hairdresser will stand over you whilst you relax in our top of the range leather massage chair. She will give you a relaxing scalp massage whilst shampooing your hair with high-end products, she will also tidy up your eyebrows. Your hair will then be blow dried & styled using top of the range products, a sprit of cologne & a breath mint & you will walk out feeling FABULOUS!
http://www.thegrosvenorongeorge.com.au/barber-babes-topless-hairdresser.html (http://www.thegrosvenorongeorge.com.au/barber-babes-topless-hairdresser.html)

LOL, whenever we are in Brisie I tease the squeeze, who is a banana bender, that I want to go to the GROS-ven-or Hotel.  It is a standing joke between us.
Post by: Black Diamond on July 09, 2015, 02:26:25 PM

or
BEARD TRIM = From $10
Why not go all out!
What a great concept  :cup:
Post by: Kangaron on July 09, 2015, 03:59:24 PM
I already got that sussed
(http://www.gqpatrol.com/injuries/out_r_calf.jpg)

Well stop shaving your legs.
Post by: Garfish on July 10, 2015, 07:05:08 PM
I've moved up the evolutionary tree and can get away with shaving Monday mornings and the occasional thurs if I'm having a hairy week... 
Post by: graham on July 10, 2015, 07:33:30 PM

or
BEARD TRIM = From $10
Why not go all out!

YEP ,YEP ,YEP  where am I going for a trim and how long can I camp there , hopefully the pay is reasonable  .i cannot afford too much
Post by: Big Damo on July 10, 2015, 08:45:04 PM
15 years with a beard
Love it
last razor still hanging around somewhere never know when I may need it
Damo
Post by: Bird on July 11, 2015, 12:41:21 AM
Quote from: Kangaron
Well stop shaving your legs.
that's what happens when you have hickups.
Post by: Coiled on July 13, 2015, 06:32:03 PM
Converting from phillishave and the latest from Gillette, I have been using the DE Razor with Feather blades and a Proraso shave cream. After about a month I have to say I am convinced. The shave is close, the irritation absent and when you do nic yourself you certainly don't feel it and think the damage is less with only one blade going past.
Post by: Swannie on July 13, 2015, 06:33:09 PM
Get some of the Mitchells Wool fat soap with a good brush, adds even abetter shave with the Feathers blades

Post by: Coiled on July 14, 2015, 09:54:08 PM
I went for an Edwin Jagger DE89 and a Super Badger brush. Just need to keep improving technique now and experiment with some shave creams (not soap)
Post by: Bird on August 30, 2016, 03:48:39 PM
Quote from: Swannie

Well I never got the balls up to get a cut throat... Al still has his one from all them years ago...

So taking Swannies thoughts, and looked up the kit....
http://www.mensbiz.com.au/mens-biz-standard-wetshaving-kit.html (http://www.mensbiz.com.au/mens-biz-standard-wetshaving-kit.html)

Just about to hit 'do it' on this starter pack gig, then thought, dual blade razors like Bic's etc are like ripping hair out with plyers... Wouldn't a single blade be worse???
Post by: johnnydrama on August 30, 2016, 04:29:28 PM

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Post by: Swannie on August 30, 2016, 05:12:45 PM
Well I never got the balls up to get a cut throat... Al still has his one from all them years ago...

http://www.mensbiz.com.au/mens-biz-standard-wetshaving-kit.html (http://www.mensbiz.com.au/mens-biz-standard-wetshaving-kit.html)

Just about to hit 'do it' on this starter pack gig, then thought, dual blade razors like Bic's etc are like ripping hair out with plyers... Wouldn't a single blade be worse???

No mate, all in the prep, as long as you have  a nice lather up with the soap she's right bud.
Post by: peterkb on August 30, 2016, 05:35:59 PM
Electric Beard trimmer/number 2 clipper. Electric (foil type NOT philishave) for those bits that shouldn't be beardy like neck. Haven't used a blade in 30 years. And I never shave when away camping. I have a wife who loves beards and hate me even trimming it for my nasty corporate job.

Actually, will show my son this thread ... He's trying to grow his first hipster beard as an 18yo and this thread answers more questions that I ever could.

Well done guys.

Post by: Joff on August 30, 2016, 06:18:46 PM
In reply to the original question - yes, absolutely  >:D
Post by: Coiled on August 30, 2016, 07:04:36 PM

Not at all. A good lather is important but just don't apply too much pressure and just do short strokes. Youtube is your friend when it comes to learning techniques. The Merkur in the standard pack above is very similar to mine and are considered to be about the best 'beginner' shavers as they are a very mild cut as opposed to the more 'aggresive' options available. Get the technique right, something I have been focusing on recently and I have gone from almost a guaranteed nic per shave to none.  My wife is about to start using a DE for the legs as they work really well for that too and are building a following of women because of less irritation and nics.
Post by: Swannie on August 30, 2016, 07:23:48 PM
I find the Mitchell's wool fat soap nice to lather with a good badger brush for beginners