General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Mandrake on September 11, 2012, 03:31:55 PM
This months CamperTrailer Australia has an article about crossing the Simpson with 2 trailers ....WTF !!
I thought trailers were verboten on the Simpson Crossings tracks ??? Am I wrong ??
I would have thought a national mag would do the right thing ??? So am I wrong ?
Maybe highly unrecommended in certain circles but, no it's not forbidden - yet....
Everyones mate MR4X4 has done it. As GeeTee says highly recommended you don't from the authorities but not forbidden.
At the risk of starting a war IMO an overloaded tug with high tyre pressures is just as bad if not worse than towing a CT with correct tyre pressures.
God I can see this turning into a Shit fight or is that just exploreoz :cup:
Hi guys, not real sure what all the fuss is about in regards to the Simpson with campers. We went across last year with our camper, no challenges anywhere. Comments made early are on the money - correct tyre pressures and its not to difficult. We came across a guy in a Prado with over 40psi in his tyres and he was wondering why he was having so much trouble!!!!, yet we where just cruising along. Told him to drop them to 20 PSI, and he had no challenges after that. Cheers
I have just done the crossing and ran into 4 lots of people towing camper trailers. None appeared to be having issues. Being so close to the Birdsville Races, the French Line was quite cut up. I think it would have been difficult in some spots, but not impossible.
I ran into a bunch heading west - east on the french line a few years ago. (2009 I think)
We were heading east - west at the time.
Unitl we got to them the tracks were very soft but fairly undamaged.
After we went past them they were incredibly badly cut up and pretty unpleasant to drive on.
They were all towing Kimberley Kampers from memory....about 6 or 7 of them..
Some like me with all my kids have no choice but to take a trailer as I just don't have the room :-)
..........I would have thought a national mag would do the right thing..........
The did Steve. They let their tyres down.......... ;D
Mrs T & I did it in mid 2008, west to east. Tyre pressures 28psi on the Rig Rd and Knolls Track (as recommended by the helpful folk at Mt Dare Roadhouse), and 15 psi along the French Line. We had no issues, didn't chew the track, as confirmed by a chap following us along the French Line, who commented on how easily we were travelling, and how little we were disturbing the track.
Steve. We did an article for 4Wd action on that and some one even wrote in to show their disgust that we had towed. Like the other said it is not that hard. We ran the MT MTZ at 14 psi for the entire trip and there was one tough , have three goes hill on the WAA line. We cam across a family that had rolled their tray on in that trip, two broken ankles of motor bike riders and they reckoned we were going to struggle. The action mob then did a lot of research and the official word was campers are allowed but recommended for HD Campers only and those with enough sense to be there. This family we came across had no Sat or Epirb and had been there since 11 am the day before we got there.
Anyway I think it's fine if you know how to drive and reverse down sand dunes ;D
Here are some pics
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert110mag.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert21mag-1.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert34mag-1.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert39mag-1.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert14mag.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert21mag.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert25mag.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert29mag.jpg)
What about those of us who live out here and need to tow trailers along these easements as thoroughfares ??
There are more and more rules that are just cotton wool for the naive and/or stupid. OH&S and over legislation is interfering with natural evolutionary processes.
Enter and accept own risk should be legislated !!
To each their own.....based on experience and ability of course.
You could probably cross it in a Kombi if you were careful and prepared enough. I would imagine it would be possible to tow a camper trailer across the Simpson if you really wanted to and were prepared to drive to the conditions.
It just wouldn't be recommended by the parks authority.
You could probably cross it in a Kombi if you were careful and prepared enough.
probably old Holdens/Fords/Val's etc too...
people would have before 4wd's became popular...
Here are some pics
How did he end up there??
I dont even see any tyre tracks leading to it.
it's mentioned the poor buggers were there since the day before so the evening breeze would have covered thier tracks
I've seen similar situations at Stockton etc
for the novice I would say very easy.
We did a crossing west -east in 2009 when the dust storm hit.
If you got further than 100 mts behind the car in front you their tyre tracks would be gone.
Cresting some dunes meant the 1st car had to stop, someone had to get out and check for the correct route.
Made for a very interesting day.
ahh the memories.
5 in my family so the camper trailer is necessary, we crossed the Simpson June this year Birdsville to Mount Dare on the French line towing our trailer, tyres at 13psi and we crawled across no problem what so ever, we caused no damage to the track compared to others we had met or passed who were running high tyre pressures diff lockers and massive run ups, one tool was bragging of doing most of it it 2wd.
It is the remoteness that makes the Simpson trek difficult not the driving.
I agree with this comment. I have not crossed the Simpson with a trailer (have a few times without) but a trailer should not make the crossing any more difficult if speed and tire pressure is correct. I have towed trailers on Googs track (similar to Simpson but shorter) with no issues.
However, if the authorities are actively discouraging the use of trailers and we want to keep the tracks open then the answer is self evident.
Just my 2 cents worth.
However, if the authorities are actively discouraging the use of trailers and we want to keep the tracks open then the answer is self evident.
Agreed 100%, & this is the only reason we are NOT taking our camper next week when we cross.
For every one person that does it right, there are probably 50 that dont & cause 5x the damage.
Agreed 100%, & this is the only reason we are NOT taking our camper next week when we cross.
For every one person that does it right, there are probably 50 that dont & cause 5x the damage.
I reckon you could reverse that theory, it's always the 1 that does the wrong thing out of the 50 that causes tracks to be closed ???
Sadly it aint that way in Victoria.
I like this debate because before I had kids I was against trailers on 4wd tracks. Now with 3 kids and wife and all the gear, the trailer makes sense and for us is essential.
The Simpson is sand, not a highway that is in need of constant repair funded by taxpayers, besides a good wind will cover tracks.
Ban the trailers sure but who is going to educate the vehicles going across overloaded with over inflated tyres (which is what does the damage)
I guess the next target would be no underpowered vehicles.... For the lack of a torquey engine, the trade off is more momentum which increases the chance of lifting wheels and dropping whilst spinning causing track damage.....Where does it end??
We own 4WD's to use on 4Wd tracks!!
Found this a good read too!
http://www.adventurecampers.com.au/stories/trailers_and_simpson_desert.htm (http://www.adventurecampers.com.au/stories/trailers_and_simpson_desert.htm)
Has anyone read the article in CTA yet?
They literally just came over the dune which is to the right in the pic in a strait line to where they ended up. As you can see we could easily get around that as I had to de-hitch to winch them up. I just don't know how and neither did they. We found the tracks went every with us each night as well but it was a bit windy and cold that night as I have a pic of the fire we build and it's blowing about. We came over the dune to this women madly waving her arms and then we saw the trayon. They were all OK but could not get into the trayon t get bedding etc. They made a little camp at the front of the car and waited. They ended p travelling out with us.
one tool was bragging of doing most of it it 2wd.
it's some of these knobs who make it even harder for others in 4wd on the dunes
some of the flats and claypans, no worries in 2wd
Dave, the dude from the Mt Dare hotel, was interviewed by Carlisle on his 4wd Touring show. Dave recommended 4wd and said that he wouldn't tow a trailer out there.
Having read so many trip reports of folks who've done it with a camper I wouldn't hesitate to take a well built and prepared camper acorss there.
I am planning a trip along the French Line in Sept 2013 with camper.
Reading here "authorities" are discouraging it - which ones? Where is this reported?
We are planning taking a camper (kids).
In all honesty I am sincerely trying to work out what is hard about going through any desert or remote area. I have nigtmares driving in towns, but never in remote areas. Low tyre pressure and chug along casually, never a problem. Another advantage, the slower we go, the more chance of spotting some tucker along the way.
yep different to the city in that aspect every hundred meters there would be some kind of deep fried tucker to be found with neon lights flashing so it cant be missed
Agree....
Just to finish the story, Dave from Mt Dare also agrees wholeheartedly with me that towing a CT with properly deflated tyres was no issue, while charging dunes in a Fourbie with 40psi is an issue.
We came across a group last year that had the gall to insult our trailer towing group for scalloping dunes. They all had stock standard 120 Prados with 50psi in the tyres. I actually measures one while they were parked at Poeppels Corner. We listened to them attacking, and re-attacking each dune.
My 2 cents...
Carlisle
yep different to the city in that aspect every hundred meters there would be some kind of deep fried tucker to be found with neon lights flashing so it cant be missed
Probably a little more different for me, as I have NEVER lived in a town or city.
Steve. We did an article for 4Wd action on that and some one even wrote in to show their disgust that we had towed. Like the other said it is not that hard. We ran the MT MTZ at 14 psi for the entire trip and there was one tough , have three goes hill on the WAA line. We cam across a family that had rolled their tray on in that trip, two broken ankles of motor bike riders and they reckoned we were going to struggle. The action mob then did a lot of research and the official word was campers are allowed but recommended for HD Campers only and those with enough sense to be there. This family we came across had no Sat or Epirb and had been there since 11 am the day before we got there.
Anyway I think it's fine if you know how to drive and reverse down sand dunes ;D
Here are some pics
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert110mag.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert21mag-1.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert34mag-1.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert39mag-1.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert14mag.jpg)
(http://i207.photobucket.com/albums/bb36/Steveandviv/SimpsonDesert21mag.jpg)
Steve and Viv
Was just looking at the pics you posted, do you realise there is one with a kid having a dump in the background? WTF
Or am I seeing things?
I am planning a trip along the French Line in Sept 2013 with camper.
Reading here "authorities" are discouraging it - which ones? Where is this reported?
We are planning taking a camper (kids).
You may have trouble finding actual 'reports' but if you speak to some staffers in these areas you might get the hint they tire of having all-the-gear-and-no-idea city slickers bring their catalogue trucks out to remote areas and getting into trouble, or doing the wrong thing. Buying a nearly three-quarters-off-road trailer and a $49.99 recovery strap doesn't prepare a beginner for a remote area trek in challenging conditions but if you are trained/experienced, have bush/basic mechanic skills, current First Aid, comms gear, decent experience with your rig with prior treks in similar terrain and some common sense, you should be OK.
Pack tight, pack light and with a good tent and a 'minimalist' approach to equipment/junk you may not need the trailer!
Hope this helps
Steve and Viv
Was just looking at the pics you posted, do you realise there is one with a kid having a dump in the background? WTF
Or am I seeing things?
Is this like 'where's Wally"?
So who else went looking for the kid in the background? ;D
Everyones mate MR4X4 has done it. As GeeTee says highly recommended you don't from the authorities but not forbidden.
At the risk of starting a war IMO an overloaded tug with high tyre pressures is just as bad if not worse than towing a CT with correct tyre pressures.
God I can see this turning into a **** fight or is that just exploreoz :cup:
5 days after I posted this I left for a 4 week trip which included a Simpson Desert crossing with CT. Obviously I knew at the time I was going to do this but it is a habit that I don't post on public forums that I am going to be away from home for 4 weeks until after the event.
Anyway we had no issues with nothing like adjusting tyre pressures to overcome an obstacle.
http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=25803.msg399247#msg399247 (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?topic=25803.msg399247#msg399247)
National Parks say on their website in the Desert Parks Bulletin that they 'strongly discourage' trailers crossing the Simpson Desert. This isn't a ban, yet, though many take it to mean so.
I love this forum because everyone can hold a civilised discussion whether for or against trailers, unlike another forum that damns you to hell for even mentioning the 'T' word.
Plans for our Simpson Desert trip changed last week, from a West to East crossing, to an East to West crossing so that we could attend the John Williamson concert on top of Big Red.
We are experienced 4wders travelling in a convoy of three vehicles, two of which will be towing full offroad camper trailers(a Kimberley and a Mountain Trail), with all the recovery gear, and we have experienced all kinds of recovery scenarios including on sand(good old Stockton) plus one is a diesel mechanic and my hubby is a pretty good boy scout as well. We've got a sat phone and epirb and will be allowing 5-6 days to cross, and although I'm pretty sure we'll be reversing down a fair number of dunes, I think we'll have less of an impact than an overloaded 4wd with tyres on 40psi. Our main concern will probably be heading against the main flow of traffic and having to face the steeper faces of the dunes, but I'm really looking forward to the adventure and am hoping that Mother Nature is still putting on a bit of a show after all of that rain :cup:
We all travel differently whether by need or choice, and some of us have very different and strong opinions on towing through the desert, but I could never see Myswag stooping to the level of the slanging matches on exploroz :o :-X
National Parks say on their website in the Desert Parks Bulletin that they 'strongly discourage' trailers crossing the Simpson Desert. This isn't a ban, yet, though many take it to mean so.
I love this forum because everyone can hold a civilised discussion whether for or against trailers, unlike another forum that damns you to hell for even mentioning the 'T' word.
Plans for our Simpson Desert trip changed last week, from a West to East crossing, to an East to West crossing so that we could attend the John Williamson concert on top of Big Red.
We are experienced 4wders travelling in a convoy of three vehicles, two of which will be towing full offroad camper trailers(a Kimberley and a Mountain Trail), with all the recovery gear, and we have experienced all kinds of recovery scenarios including on sand(good old Stockton) plus one is a diesel mechanic and my hubby is a pretty good boy scout as well. We've got a sat phone and epirb and will be allowing 5-6 days to cross, and although I'm pretty sure we'll be reversing down a fair number of dunes, I think we'll have less of an impact than an overloaded 4wd with tyres on 40psi. Our main concern will probably be heading against the main flow of traffic and having to face the steeper faces of the dunes, but I'm really looking forward to the adventure and am hoping that Mother Nature is still putting on a bit of a show after all of that rain :cup:
if the eastern side of the dunes is slow going for you could always hang a left and cross via the rig rd
i swore and cursed guys towing camper trailer when i was out there esp the tossers that stopped me on knolls track and got fair into my ribs telling me that i wasn't following the rules of the desert.......
but i now own a camper trailer so all good and could be very well towing it across the simpson next year................................solo, oh no
Thanks weeds, will keep the Rig Rd in mind :)
Is this like 'where's Wally"?
So who else went looking for the kid in the background? ;D
Ha Ha.... I think it's funny. No offence meant to anyone. Just don;t tell Dan (My Youngest)
i posted a similar pic years ago a another forum and copped a roasting for it..........he was distant in the pic and i thought it looked funny + he was either side on or had his back to us
No offence taken here mate.... Its not "Wheres Wally" Its "Wheres Dan" next time you post pics! ;-)
Much as I'd like to do a Simpson trip one day, this thread does little to encourage me. Whilst on the one hand there is plenty of general support to the notion of "just get out there and experience Australia" this is largely countered by the advice to the effect that "inexperienced city slickers have no business out there". Then there are the many mentions of abuse from other travellers on both sides of the trailers/no trailers argument, which I think is a real shame.
I'd be the first to admit I'm not what many swaggers would consider an experienced 4WD'er and camper. I take my family out as often as we are able. I am cautious and well aware of my own limitations as well as the limitations of my vehicle and equipment, but at the same time don't want to be too constrained. Each trip should offer new challenges that serve to improve my skills and confidence.
Eventually the day will come when I reckon I'm ready for a desert trip. I'll have all the gear, my 4WD and trailer will be setup properly and I'll do all the research I can to ensure a safe and enjoyable journey, but one thing I won't have is dessert experience.. not the first time at least. I'll probably make mistakes and when I do I sure hope that other travellers (or locals) that may happen by are civil enough to set me straight without resorting to abuse.
Much as I'd like to do a Simpson trip one day, this thread does little to encourage me. Whilst on the one hand there is plenty of general support to the notion of "just get out there and experience Australia" this is largely countered by the advice to the effect that "inexperienced city slickers have no business out there". Then there are the many mentions of abuse from other travellers on both sides of the trailers/no trailers argument, which I think is a real shame.
I'd be the first to admit I'm not what many swaggers would consider an experienced 4WD'er and camper. I take my family out as often as we are able. I am cautious and well aware of my own limitations as well as the limitations of my vehicle and equipment, but at the same time don't want to be too constrained. Each trip should offer new challenges that serve to improve my skills and confidence.
Eventually the day will come when I reckon I'm ready for a desert trip. I'll have all the gear, my 4WD and trailer will be setup properly and I'll do all the research I can to ensure a safe and enjoyable journey, but one thing I won't have is dessert experience.. not the first time at least. I'll probably make mistakes and when I do I sure hope that other travellers (or locals) that may happen by are civil enough to set me straight without resorting to abuse.
mate that sounds likea great approach.......just don't take too long to get around to it :)
i decided to do the simpson than started my research and started second guessing my decision....in the end it was a walk in the park
what really pissed me off was the guy that thought it was his right to give me a dressing down about whats right and wrong in the desert........if only he had taken a breath and joined a discussion instead i just selected first gear and drove off mid sentence, hopefully down the track he would have realise he was way over the top...nah i doubt it
Now the problem with getting experience and ready for a desert trip is you need to drive in the desert. We did Fraser Island in 2011 and the Simpson Desert in 2012 thinking the sand driving of Fraser would prepare us but IMO they were totally different. I don't want to sound blasé but the hard part about the Simpson Desert is it is remote. If you are still apprehensive do a tag along.
With our Simpson trip I was confident (not cocky) I could handle most situations should they arise. The other family we travelled with hadn't done desert driving either but had done Fraser 3 times. I consider myself and the other male from the other family to be fairly level headed and rational people with plenty of common sense.
My spin on things when people say be well prepared and have a reliable vehicle is not because it is a dangerous place (well it can be with sub zero overnight temps and extreme heat during the day depending on the time of the year) is because it will cost you a shed load of money to be retrieved if you have a mechanical failure.
Not that you want to be a burden on other travellers but there are people out there to assist you if you require it. I believe the naysayers are a minority and you would be very unlucky to cop abuse from one.
It's awesome once you get out there, don't be discouraged.
But don't bite off more than you can chew, either, when enthusiasm overtakes sensibility! Minimise your chance for 'mistakes' by doing a 4WD course or two and doing a few shorter treks first. This will build your experience and skills
Don't be that person who needs to call for help to change a flat tyre
Hope this helps
It's awesome once you get out there, don't be discouraged.
Don't be that person who needs to call for help to change a flat tyre
Hope this helps
Thanks for the encouragement GeeTEE. I meant I might seem inexperienced compared to many swaggers, e.g. the ones who've already been on Simpson trips, Cape York, etc. I think anyone troubled by the likes of a flat tyre really ought not to be 4WDing at all, let alone crossing the Simmo.
I guess my point would be that the more experienced campers shouldn't be too hard on those "giving it a go". Taking your family out to the great aussie wilderness is something to be commended and not everyone who sets out will be a seasoned veteran. We all have to start somewhere.
The first time I set out on a 4WDing camp with my two oldest taking the western approach to Bendethera, it was quite a step up in difficulty but well worth it. Just taking time, care and with thought and planning we had a great few days. The family has never looked back and we do a few days bush camping every chance we get.
anyway.. I'm getting off topic. :D
We headed out to Birdsville in August 2009 (2 Jeep Cherokees, 1 Grand Cherokee and 1 Prado) all towing CTs with the intention of doing the Simpson crossing E-W, but after heading (without trailers) over several dunes west of Big Red we made a consensus decision that the chances of getting into trouble were too great (and one of the party had recently had head surgery and still had balance problems which the rocking over the dunes aggrevated) so we went north and round to Uluru via the Donohue and the Plenty.
The Simpson crossing is still in our minds, but when we do it we will take a tent rather than the camper trailer. And we are all ( well 75% are) experienced 4wders. We made sure we had extra spare tyres and sufficient fuel and water, together with all the recovery gear (shovels, hi-lifts, MaxTraks, winches), HF radio, sand flags, etc.
Like my pics show, there were others that should not have been out there. The roll over we saved had no means of helping themselves. We had a few saying we shouldn't do it but that was from a concern point of view, they didn't know how well prepared we were and people are like that. When we came upon the roll over they had been there since the day before and needed help. I found most people out there are the same. Please don;t take even 10 comment off a forum as the general feeling as it is not like that.
Go ot there and enjoy it. It is one of the best things you can do to cook a snag on a BBQ in the middle of the desert with a billion stars shining just for you.
yep get out there and enjoy it...
but I think you SteveandViv are a shining example of doing the training, practice and preparation before you go
... I'll probably make mistakes and when I do I sure hope that other travellers (or locals) that may happen by are civil enough to set me straight without resorting to abuse.
Brucer, it's interesting that you have that take "on things" from these fora. My experience of camping across the country is that 99% of folk are really nice, and only 1% are wallies. Which I suspect is a smaller percentage than one would find in normal home/work life.
In all the time I've been travelling I've only met two groups I'd prefer no to meet again. 1 was a group of doctors back in '97 who had a SatPhone and a stickup wife, who's method of saying, a la Kath & Kim "look at me" was to set up the briefcase bount SatPhone on a public path at Drysdale homestead to call home, then round on anyone who walked past the antenna interrupting her prescious signal!
The other were two blokes at Birdsville in '08 who wandered the caravan park criticising every one's rigs.
The reality is that these people don't matter and can easily be ignored, or told to take a hike. We've thoroughly enjoyed the company of all other travellers we've met along the way and very few have ever offered criticism.
Brucer, it's interesting that you have that take "on things" from these fora.
I've not experienced it myself either TOPNDR which is why it struck me as odd to see it mentioned several times in relation to travelling across the Simpson. It does appear that this track, or dessert tracks in general attract more than their fair share of loud mouths expressing their unwanted opinions about other travellers' methods. Even more concerning when there is no real consensus about what constitutes the "proper way". It is very clear to me from reading these forums (and simple reasoning) that a CT rig setup and driven appropriately does no more damage than any other sort of vehicle, yet drivers are apparently very likely to cop abuse from self appointed custodians of the dessert who think they know better.
One wonders are there any swaggers reading who've crossed the Simpson with a trailer who didn't experience this?
Brucer, anything that weighs 1000kg (or some of the stupid ones, 1500kg) being towed over a dune with no drive of its own will do 'damage' Every time.
Yes, there are smartarses everywhere... but there are also plenty of experienced sensible travellers who are trekking within the bounds of their experience, equipment and vehicle capacity that soon tire of assisting others that...well... aren't
I've helped a bloke change CT tyre/wheel on Sydney to Newcastle freeway. When asked during light conversion where he was heading to, it was Cape York. Yet he couldn't change a tyre. In my best school teacher voice I suggested he'd have to skill-up before he got there in case it happened again.
His response was 'Yeah I think I'll be right, mate'.
Unbelievable.
Seen others with NRMA doing the same.
Do the training, get the experience and sneak up on the big trips with plenty of smaller ones first.
Hope this helps
A related topic: It mentions 16 searches in one year
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-06-21/authorities-issue-warning-to-travellers-in-remote-areas/4772840 (http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-06-21/authorities-issue-warning-to-travellers-in-remote-areas/4772840)
One wonders are there any swaggers reading who've crossed the Simpson with a trailer who didn't experience this?
We crossed The Simpson solo last year with our camper and we mainly had other travellers say that we would struggle further on, but never agro.
I took everything much slower whilst in the desert with the trailer, I used the builders principle "measure twice cut once".
Tyres were at 13psi and we drove out of the desert with no mechanical problems and I recall saying to my wife that wasn't hard at all.....But!
In saying this It was later on the same trip I sheared all the wheel studs off the trailer passing through a massive cattle station in the Northern Territory.
This was a cold sharp snap back to reality of the word "Remoteness" and Its things like this that can make an easy 4wd trip very hard.
With wife and three kids in the middle of nowhere It tested me physically and Mentally and through perseverance and persistence we were mobile the following day.
But through all of that It makes a great story when telling people and Ironically added to the whole adventure!
Easy and hard four wheeling is one thing but being remote adds a whole new dimension trailer or no trailer.
My 2 cents
We crossed The Simpson solo last year with our camper and we mainly had other travellers say that we would struggle further on, but never agro.
I took everything much slower whilst in the desert with the trailer, I used the builders principle "measure twice cut once".
Tyres were at 13psi and we drove out of the desert with no mechanical problems and I recall saying to my wife that wasn't hard at all.....But!
In saying this It was later on the same trip I sheared all the wheel studs off the trailer passing through a massive cattle station in the Northern Territory.
This was a cold sharp snap back to reality of the word "Remoteness" and Its things like this that can make an easy 4wd trip very hard.
With wife and three kids in the middle of nowhere It tested me physically and Mentally and through perseverance and persistence we were mobile the following day.
But through all of that It makes a great story when telling people and Ironically added to the whole adventure!
Easy and hard four wheeling is one thing but being remote adds a whole new dimension trailer or no trailer.
My 2 cents
Yeah sitting beside a trailer in the middle of nowhere sounds like fun..... Not. Even towing the boat to Adeliade via sealed roads I ended up carrying a spring, shackle bolt, bearings and complete hub with bearings and wheel nuts.
I can't see from your photo clearly but did you wheel studs shear or nuts pull through the rims? Latter used to be common on 4 wheel trailers with Holden/ford steel rims.
Yeah sitting beside a trailer in the middle of nowhere sounds like fun..... Not. Even towing the boat to Adeliade via sealed roads I ended up carrying a spring, shackle bolt, bearings and complete hub with bearings and wheel nuts.
I can't see from your photo clearly but did you wheel studs shear or nuts pull through the rims? Latter used to be common on 4 wheel trailers with Holden/ford steel rims.
Cant say It was fun "at the time" but was all part of the adventure!
All studs sheered off except one which pulled through the rim (loose wheel nuts).
Toyota hub stud pattern on the trailer however different studs to the cruiser!
Had everything else but Studs for the trailer. Had a hell of a time getting the hub off cause linings were smashed to bits and the stub was bent.
When I finally got it off I stole 2 studs from the other hub + two bolts from a recovery hook.
So hardly sat beside a trailer in the middle of nowhere?
Brucer, anything that weighs 1000kg (or some of the stupid ones, 1500kg) being towed over a dune with no drive of its own will do 'damage' Every time.
GeeTee,
Why?
I've only done the Simpson once, with a 3 litre patrol towing a KK (> 1000 kg). When we stopped and looked back on any of the sand hills we'd traversed, there was no sign of damage. A fellow who followed us for some distance actually commented on how surprised he was that we weren't chopping up the track.
The tyres, all 6, were at 15 psi, there was no wheel spinning, hopping, bogging or anything else like that, so I don't understand how the simple act of being towed over a sand hill causes this damage "every time"?
Good that you were at 15psi, that's perfect on sand with 10 as a 'get out of jail free' option.
Maybe I should have used the word 'affect' rather than 'damage': anytime a tyre rolls over terrain there is an effect.
And six will - or has the potential to - have a 50 percent greater effect more than four. Every time. And I'm sure you will agree that a tow tug's four are working much harder when towing...
Hope that's clear!