General => General Discussion => Topic started by: griz066 on August 14, 2012, 02:19:59 PM
Anyone tried one of these on their Webber Q? and if so how does it perform
http://www.topnotchbbq.com.au/price-list.php (http://www.topnotchbbq.com.au/price-list.php)
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/180951177214?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649 (http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/180951177214?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649)
I looked at one a while ago but couldn't justify the money. I ended up with one of those thicker Teflon sheets, works a treat, just remember not to cut it to the exact shape of the grill, BBQ needs room to breath otherwise you will get a nasty shock when it finally lights. Not good when you have to put up with the singed hair smell for the night.. :cheers:
Renno
Interesting would last forever. Does not look like the plate has a lip around the edge though.
I thought the same but after thinking about it the plate will sit down in the BBQ like the grill so the outer shell of the BBQ will stop the snags from rolling off ;D :cheers:
Picked 1 up today at BBQ Galore $170.
I'm a flat BBQ plate man, I dont like black lines on my steak. ;D ;D :cheers:
Works awesome even heat no hot spots like regular stainless and super easy to clean. :cheers: :cheers:
We have also been looking at the Weber but have been told that their are a few problem, apparently they are now made in China and they are not getting hot enough. Our local Weber Specialist has stopped stocking them, we are now looking at the new Beefeater Bugg.
Will let you know what we decided.
Richard
They never get super hot, you have to cook with the lid down. Sounds like your local Weber specialist has never cooked with one...
Stainless is a crappy heat conductor. Stick with the cast iron.
I've never had any luck with it, except for frypans etc, but they've got multiple layers of copper etc. to help with the heat.
Done
Listen here sport >:( is it really necessary for you to make negative comments on every post I make. I was relating my own experience from using the plate which I found to be awesome, even heat no hot spots like regular stainless and super easy to clean. The weber guy didn't offer an opinion on them, he just told me how much and handed me my change that's all.
Umm I was referring to aquadux's post not yours...
We have also been looking at the Weber but have been told that their are a few problem, apparently they are now made in China and they are not getting hot enough. Our local Weber Specialist has stopped stocking them, we are now looking at the new Beefeater Bugg.
Will let you know what we decided.
Richard
Hi Richard, I too am now looking at the beefeater bugg.. I have a 6 burner beef eater at home and love it.. But I really want to be a part of the jayco/weber family on here!!! >:D
Stainless is a crappy heat conductor. Stick with the cast iron.......
Agree 100%. I've found SS useless on BBQ's. EVERYTHING sticks to it, and as FP says, it's a crappy heat conductor.
I had a SS plate and grill on my home BBQ, but have gone back to a mild steel plate and cast grill. MUCH better.....
Cast is good until you forget to take it out when you pressure wash the bbq, they don't last too long after that :-[
Looks like I made griz's ignore list too...
Topnotch™ barbeque plates are manufactured from a special grade of heat transferring stainless steel. It is the composition of the material which gives the Topnotch™ Stainless Steel Hot Plates the special ability to transfer and retain heat as well as being corrosion resistant. Topnotch™ Barbeque Plates are paint & chemical free, and extremely durable.
Past problems associated with the use of Stainless Steel, like poor heat transfer and food sticking have been overcome through intense research and development of the material used to produce the Topnotch™ range of Products.
I didn't have trouble with my steak sticking to the plate. Very impressed indeed.
That's bad news to hear that Weber Q's are being made in China. I have had one on the wish list for ages. I even checked them out again last weekend at BBQs Galore Richmond and felt that the lid seemed thinner and less stable than I remember. Can any original Weber Q owners confirm country of manufacture?
After working in the BBQ industry for near on 10 years my personal preference for even heat, sizzle and taste is a good quality cast iron plate. I have been using a top notch stainless steel plate for 2 years and can confirm the meat does not stick, almost as good as cast iron for heat transfer and great to clean. For me it is a good compromise.
:cheers: Macca.
Just wondering how long does the plate take to heat up. I love my webber with the grill as I think nothing cooks meat better. that does look interesting
On the packaging they quote 12 min. so that is what I tried and it was awesome.
That's bad news to hear that Weber Q's are being made in China. I have had one on the wish list for ages. I even checked them out again last weekend at BBQs Galore Richmond and felt that the lid seemed thinner and less stable than I remember. Can any original Weber Q owners confirm country of manufacture?
After working in the BBQ industry for near on 10 years my personal preference for even heat, sizzle and taste is a good quality cast iron plate. I have been using a top notch stainless steel plate for 2 years and can confirm the meat does not stick, almost as good as cast iron for heat transfer and great to clean. For me it is a good compromise.
:cheers: Macca.
I'll have a look tonight- not sure what/ where I'll find any reference to country of manufacture though.
any ideas
We have recently bought a Q and I had a look for details of manufacture, on the Q it's self I couldn't see much but on the box it states "designed and manufactured in the USA".
Topnotch™ barbeque plates are manufactured from a special grade of heat transferring stainless steel. It is the composition of the material which gives the Topnotch™ Stainless Steel Hot Plates the special ability to transfer and retain heat as well as being corrosion resistant. Topnotch™ Barbeque Plates are paint & chemical free, and extremely durable.
Past problems associated with the use of Stainless Steel, like poor heat transfer and food sticking have been overcome through intense research and development of the material used to produce the Topnotch™ range of Products.
I didn't have trouble with my steak sticking to the plate. Very impressed indeed.
Steak shouldn't stick to any plate and the only reason it does is people try to turn it to quick before the caramelize has occurred on the cooked surface. Stainless is a poor conductor and always will be. That's why stainless pan have copper bottoms to help with the transfer of heat. Spent 17 years using them in the kitchen. Aluminium is the best and used the most but in the olden days (gawd) and was the plate of choice on almost all restaurant hot plates (easy to clean up with pineapple juice (Acid) as well through the chemical reaction, after you scrub them with grease cleaner ( :o )
Anyway I think as long as your happy then great. It does help to understand the rhetoric around it though I think.
A bit of a thread dig, but.........
I was using a Topnotch™ SS barbeque plate and SS grill on my 4 burner at home. Cost plenty..........everything stuck.........useless.........
IMO, mild steel is the ONLY way to go.........
Why not use the webber designed cast iron plate?
We find that works well?
$170 for a hot plate :o
I thought the genuine Weber one was pricey.
Removed the wire handles, deburred the ends with a grinder and I got one of those $20 cast iron plates for a 2 burner camp stove to fit a baby Q.
(http://i689.photobucket.com/albums/vv260/kylarama/20130112_131935-1.jpg)
$170 for a hot plate :o
I thought the genuine Weber one was pricey.
Removed the wire handles, deburred the ends with a grinder and I got one of those $20 cast iron plates for a 2 burner camp stove to fit a baby Q.
(http://i689.photobucket.com/albums/vv260/kylarama/20130112_131935-1.jpg)
Yep, I agree.......excellent work....... :cup: :cup:
A bit of a thread dig, but.........
I was using a Topnotch™ SS barbeque plate and SS grill on my 4 burner at home. Cost plenty..........everything stuck.........useless.........
IMO, mild steel is the ONLY way to go.........
Just leave them there a little longer and they will be ready to turn as soon as you can move them. You maybe had the heat too high as well. I have used this hot plate a lot now and it is AWESOME to say the least. Cast & mild steel are crap. IMO
Topnotch plates are not straight stainless they are a composite material.
Just leave them there a little longer and they will be ready to turn as soon as you can move them. You maybe had the heat too high as well. I have used this hot plate a lot now and it is AWESOME to say the least. Cast & mild steel are crap. IMO
Topnotch plates are not straight stainless they are a composite material.
I've tried Topnotch plates. My FIL still uses one........I used it a couple of weeks ago. They display all the traits that they are supposed to resolve.....poor heat retention/distribution, sticking food etc.
My Topnotch plate and SS grill now live in the cupboard under the BBQ.
I'll stay with mild steel, thanks..... :cup: :cup: :cup:
I've tried Topnotch plates. My FIL still uses one........I used it a couple of weeks ago. They display all the traits that they are supposed to resolve.....poor heat retention/distribution, sticking food etc.
My Topnotch plate and SS grill now live in the cupboard under the BBQ.
I'll stay with mild steel, thanks..... :cup: :cup: :cup:
Each to his own just don't bag it cos' you have no idea how to use it :cheers:
Just giving my impression of the Topnotch product.......sorry if it doesn't suit you.
They're not cheap. I paid good money for it, and I'll call it as I see it........
So, they need a "special technique" to stop food sticking?? ::)..........none needed with mild steel........
Getting a bit defensive about our shiny hot plate, aren't we??...... ;D ;D
Just giving my impression of the Topnotch product.......sorry if it doesn't suit you.
They're not cheap. I paid good money for it, and I'll call it as I see it........
So, they need a "special technique" to stop food sticking?? ::)..........none needed with mild steel........
Getting a bit defensive about our shiny hot plate, aren't we??...... ;D ;D
Not at all just can't stand to think of good steak being ruined when there is no reason for it. Pre heat the Webber for 10-15 min then reduce heat to low slap those steaks on and if you cant move em dont touch em. When they move flip and repeat = perfect medium cooked steaks. :cheers:
... = perfect medium cooked steaks. :cheers:
Dude medium is crucifying a steak, it needs to moo when you cut it!
Just buy a beefeater BUGG, then all will be perfect ;D
Did someone leave the door open........??......... ;D ;D
Yep..........
Agree on the overcooking of your steak....I like my steak served with a faint pulse...
Yep..........
its gotta be well done. not chasing and beating it to death with a stick 8)
its gotta be well done.........
......shoe leather......... ;D
Agree on the overcooking of your steak....I like my steak served with a faint pulse...
I see I am waisting my time trying to educate you pair. Continue to chase your beef around the paddock with 2 pieces of bread in hand if you want. I will continue to eat perfectly cooked steak. :cheers:
Agree, to quote 'the cowboy way' (a great movie) whack off it's horns, wipe its nasty a$$ and slap it on a plate!
On a serious side (apart from hotplate) how does everyone find the webbers mainly the baby q or other brands
......shoe leather......... ;D
hey Geoff.........yeah but i have ALL my teeth ;D
I will continue to eat perfectly cooked steak. :cheers:
Not if you ask a chef.
Thats cause most chefs are lazy gits. If your a chef and can't cook a very well done steak thats still juicy on the inside..... find another job!!!!!
It actually depends on the cut and quality of the meat. Sure murder a Coles bargain rump well done, but don't cook a King Island eye fillet anything other than rare or medium rare.
It is each to their own. Me, I'll eat it after its been through an incinerator. I'm not a fussy eater.
(http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-laughing021.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
....seems you're just as fussy as those that prefer their steak a bit bloody........ ;D ;D
Not if you ask a chef.
Oh! You mean like that 1/2 cooked crap they serve up on tv with blood running out of it, that $h1t will make you crook.
....seems you're just as fussy as those that prefer their steak a bit bloody........ ;D ;D
I haven't said that I don't like it bloody have I. :angel:
No, you haven't......... :cup:
Thats cause most chefs are lazy gits. If your a chef and can't cook a very well done steak thats still juicy on the inside..... find another job!!!!!
I agree with that. Being a Sous Chef ( way back when) I usually had the job of Grill and Sauces, that a Sous Chefs job. I only ever had 3 steaks sent back and you can cook a good well done steak, no matter what you all think.
I reckon your all thinking of the steak that your mates throw on the BBQ during the NRL grand final as being well done - it's not. A well done steak is just not bleeding, it's also not burnt. The time between rare and well done is minutes, not tens of minutes like you tend to see.
Medium Rare... anything more is over cooked!
Only poor food handling can make you sick 8)
Medium Rare... anything more is over cooked!
Only poor food handling can make you sick 8)
What like having your veges or salad swimming in a pool of blood on your plate from an under cooked steak. Y U K !!!!!
Wow. We are all different in the way we eat food. So relieved. Insert sarcastic smiley here.
Rare medium rare welldone incinerated if your supplying the meat and beer i will be there and only complain if the beer runs out ;D ;D
What like having your veges or salad swimming in a pool of blood on your plate from an under cooked steak. Y U K !!!!!
I hate that too. If you rest your steak after cooking prior to plateing up, or any type of meat for that matter, it won't happen.
Each to there own. I'll eat a well done steak if someone is nice enough to cook me dinner and I'll cook a well done steak if someone requests one. :cheers: