General => General Discussion => Topic started by: Jillsy on August 14, 2012, 01:53:34 AM

Title: Forum Performance Issues
Post by: Jillsy on August 14, 2012, 01:53:34 AM
Hey Swaggers,

We have done some maintenance to the forum and the database. Yes there has been some of the larger off topic threads removed but we will have to live with that.

Not sure if we have had a win yet but will know in the next day or so.

Thank you for your patience during this time.
Title: Re: Forum Performance Issues
Post by: speewa158 on August 14, 2012, 02:45:47 AM
Jiiisy The larger off topic stuff that wasdropped must have been about 250 of my posts  back to 5800 again . Such is life  :cheers: As long as we get our speed of post back its all good . Keep up the good work  :cheers:
Post by: cruisindub on August 14, 2012, 03:07:13 AM
My wife thought I was getting romantic when I went to bed early.

Was in a mood as a notice came up saying myswag would be offline for the rest of the night.
First early night I have had since ages........

On a serious note, not sure if its happening to anyone else or or if your aware of it, all posts now are reading 'new' unread posts and revert back to the original post.

Otherwise all is good.
Post by: baldheadedgit on August 14, 2012, 04:54:20 AM
All i worry about is being able to read the post's,, and at the moment (4.53AM) its all working good,,, ;D ;D

BHG
Post by: Signature035 on August 14, 2012, 06:13:24 AM
Thanks....   I have had issues for the passt 3 days or so accessiong some thrteads.... looks good now
Post by: Hairs on August 14, 2012, 06:23:05 AM
The Buffalo effect  ;D
Cheers Guys.
Post by: griz066 on August 14, 2012, 06:39:54 AM
Speed is awesome :cheers: but i have 7 pages of posts with new replies.........I could just be very popular i guess ;D ;D
Post by: Brett on August 14, 2012, 07:28:45 AM
On a serious note, not sure if its happening to anyone else or or if your aware of it, all posts now are reading 'new' unread posts and revert back to the original post.

Otherwise all is good.

This maybe from us emptying the topic log in the database. Over 1.5 million entries and 1/3 of the database total size.

On the index page you should be able to Mark All Topics Read. From then on any NEW icons will take you to the latest post.

Let me know if there is any other issues. I still have some more tweaking to do this afternoon.

Post by: Matto on August 14, 2012, 09:02:09 AM
Thanks very much for sorting this guys (and gals). I realise it's not your full time job, and that any time spent fixing things here eats into your personal time. It's much appreciated by me, and by all the other members as well I'm sure.

Cheers!
Post by: Tjupurula on August 14, 2012, 09:17:22 AM
What a relief, I thought I was having serious problems with my satellite dish again.  I am still slow, but that is normal on Activ8 Rural, whish is whom I go through for my internet.
It is now 1800 hours in WA, and it is taking me up to 5 minutes to get the forum open, if I do not get some kind of SMF Connection Failed message on the screen....What is happening ?
Post by: MDS69 on August 14, 2012, 10:21:07 AM
Jiiisy The larger off topic stuff that wasdropped must have been about 250 of my posts  back to 5800 again . Such is life  :cheers: As long as we get our speed of post back its all good . Keep up the good work  :cheers:

Good on ya speewa, take one for the team :cup:
Post by: cruisindub on August 14, 2012, 10:53:02 AM
Hope I don't sound thick by asking where the index page is?

Like Matto, appreciate the time required.
Post by: Bird on August 14, 2012, 11:11:06 AM
I say removing the post count thing from under peoples names may help to....
Post by: WilSurf on August 14, 2012, 11:38:19 AM
Get rid of the electrical forum, that will speed up everything.

(hiding now)
Post by: Bookleaf on August 14, 2012, 05:40:33 PM
At 1710 Adelaide time, found accessing the system slow to log in.
The slow to load all unread.
Looked at one thread from the last post first.  When I went to go back to page 1, got a time-out error.  Got again on an other thread. 
Ok now to red and post this.

Will mark all posts read and see if still exists later tonight.
Post by: rodw on August 14, 2012, 06:28:18 PM
Still seeing SMF errors during the day here. Getting very tiring.
Post by: nick_4x4 on August 14, 2012, 06:53:44 PM
Ive worked on smf for a few years now and notice the same issues you guys are having everywhere, mostly its the database size causing issues, try talking to your host about allowing a larger limit on the database connections to speed up loading times.

If you are getting 40-50 k views a day then that will kill any bandwidth you may have, google is horrible at bandwidth burning, there is a lot of options in the back end of the system for SMF for where google and other search engines can poke around in, setting limits on what forums they are allowed to see will slow down the amount of hits.

Worth a try is something  you may have already done, Optimise tables in the database, clear site cache and run any security updates.

Nick
Post by: sooty on August 14, 2012, 08:02:33 PM
Connection Problems
Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.
Post by: speewa158 on August 14, 2012, 08:45:10 PM
S   t   i   l   l       r    e    a    l    l    y         s     l     o       w

Post by: toeball on August 14, 2012, 08:57:40 PM
I say removing the post count thing from under peoples names may help to....

I don't understand the fascination with the post count .........

Am I a soft floor camper yet???

Should post whores be forced dress (in)appropriately in get togethers?
Post by: timneva on August 14, 2012, 09:01:13 PM
Ive worked on smf for a few years now and notice the same issues you guys are having everywhere, mostly its the database size causing issues, try talking to your host about allowing a larger limit on the database connections to speed up loading times.

If you are getting 40-50 k views a day then that will kill any bandwidth you may have, google is horrible at bandwidth burning, there is a lot of options in the back end of the system for SMF for where google and other search engines can poke around in, setting limits on what forums they are allowed to see will slow down the amount of hits.

Worth a try is something  you may have already done, Optimise tables in the database, clear site cache and run any security updates.

Nick

I'm still getting the error quite a bit and good suggestions I think Nick.
Given it seems to be intermittent, I'd guess its on the database server side too, possibly maxconnections but might also be worthwhile checking what the load averages of yours server are too as simply changing the maximum connections may cause it to consume further unnecessary resources on the server which can in turn lead to more instability. Agree with Nick that implementing any caching or db load reducing measures you can to have it run as efficiently as possible would help. Easier said than done :-)

Good luck guys and thanks for such a great site.

Tim
Post by: ozbogwam on August 14, 2012, 09:12:27 PM
All sorts of issues trying to login with Tapatalk, good luck trying to sort it all out
Post by: bobnrob on August 14, 2012, 09:46:18 PM
How's about everyone stay away till next Monday giving 'em time to get it fixed...

Slinking away now before a size 10 boot finds my head  (http://www.hepcnet.net/bbssmilies/bonk.gif)
Post by: fuji on August 14, 2012, 09:50:01 PM
Worse then ever
Post by: Tjupurula on August 14, 2012, 10:02:14 PM
How's about everyone stay away till next Monday giving 'em time to get it fixed...

Slinking away now before a size 10 boot finds my head  (http://www.hepcnet.net/bbssmilies/bonk.gif)

I am a size 15 boot Bob, and I confess a MySwag addict... >:D
Post by: SteveandViv on August 14, 2012, 10:19:57 PM
With a trace Route time of 410ms no wonder it is slow. I'd say the connection to their server is the issue or its ability to respond in time to the database queries. I think we will see it go off line any time now while it's looked at, maybe a rough process that's sucked the guts out of the server.
Post by: Bird on August 14, 2012, 10:51:02 PM
Quote from: toeball
I don't understand the fascination with the post count .........
x everything
Post by: Black Diamond on August 14, 2012, 11:18:30 PM
 Seems to be a bit temperamental, working fine one minute and impossible the next.
Post by: baldheadedgit on August 15, 2012, 04:20:44 AM
Seems to be a bit temperamental, working fine one minute and impossible the next.
Oh,,, you've met my Mrs i see.!   ;D ;D

BHG
Title: Re: Re: Forum Performance Issues
Post by: jwb on August 15, 2012, 04:46:26 AM
x everything
it would help imho

Sent from my GT-I9100T using Tapatalk 2
Post by: Brett on August 15, 2012, 05:16:46 AM
Just an update...

Our server is shared with other users and because we are using a lot of the servers resources so our account has been throttled so the other users don't get affected.

Now we have already done Database checks, repairs, optimizations and a fair bit of other stuff. Plus we are currently chasing a 3rd party with the right qualifications to look into our side of the server and database etc to see what more we can do to fix this issue. If that comes back all clear then we can approach our host for more resources.

Also FYI our account uses 26gb of server space and 250+gb of bandwidth each month and rising...

So basically bare with us through these growing pains.

Post by: Camping Grant on August 15, 2012, 06:13:34 AM
Thanks very much for sorting this guys (and gals). I realise it's not your full time job, and that any time spent fixing things here eats into your personal time. It's much appreciated by me, and by all the other members as well I'm sure.

Cheers!

I agree Matto...well done guys (and girls)
Post by: fuji on August 15, 2012, 07:12:33 AM
Working perfectly this morning. Couldn't ask for better. Here's hoping!!! :angel:
Post by: D4D on August 15, 2012, 07:13:52 AM
Working perfectly this morning. Couldn't ask for better. Here's hoping!!! :angel:

That's because of the low user count - 22 Guests, 38 Users
Post by: xcvator on August 15, 2012, 07:19:45 AM
Just a suggestion.
If this is a server problem, and I think it is, what about swaggers donating $1-00 each for an upgrade ? That should cover the cost of an Australian based dedicated server for a couple of years,
This is such a great forum I'm willing to make a donation, what about you ?   :cup:
Post by: speewa158 on August 15, 2012, 08:09:21 AM
1 good thing about the slowness is it seem to have sped up my reading of posts as they are able to be read  >:D
Post by: Tjupurula on August 15, 2012, 09:21:49 AM
Just a suggestion.
If this is a server problem, and I think it is, what about swaggers donating $1-00 each for an upgrade ? That should cover the cost of an Australian based dedicated server for a couple of years,
This is such a great forum I'm willing to make a donation, what about you ?   :cup:

Just let me know where to send the money.  I would be happy to pay a couple of dollars, I reckon even $5-00 would be a fair donation to keep help with the maintenance of such a wonderful site.
Post by: Hairs on August 15, 2012, 09:46:01 AM
Speewa,
Didn't all these issues start the same time you sold your business?
Hmmm, I'm starting to think it is more than just a coincidence.
Brett, have you looked into the logs to see when Speewa has been online and the connection error appears?  ;D
Maybe it's Speewa's spelling that is confusing the server  :angel:

Post by: Bird on August 15, 2012, 10:15:50 AM
Quote from: Brett
Also FYI our account uses 26gb of server space and 250+gb of bandwidth each month and rising...
Thats some serious traffic...

surely the Db isnt most of that size? Maybe scrap the hosting of photos, and get people to use Photobucket, or Flickr or similar...
Post by: fuji on August 15, 2012, 12:49:43 PM
That's because of the low user count - 22 Guests, 38 Users

You just deflated my balloon aaaawwwwww!
Post by: @fnq4now on August 15, 2012, 04:51:10 PM
Maybe we need a roster system so that there isn't too many users logged on at the same time.  From now on I'll only surf myswag while I'm awake :P
Post by: SteveandViv on August 15, 2012, 09:21:14 PM
Thats some serious traffic...

surely the Db isnt most of that size? Maybe scrap the hosting of photos, and get people to use Photobucket, or Flickr or similar...

I agree but it's not all that. I know you know your stuff Lost. The SQl data base also has a connection limit that I would say has become unstable. I wrote SQL code many years ago for AMX and the call logging system and one thing you always need to do is look for processes or logins that don't terminate correctly, I think this is the issue. I've been out of coding for ten years now so gonna sit back and look at the Pajero forum while the young experts fix it up.
Post by: JU5T1N on August 15, 2012, 09:38:13 PM
I am a size 15 boot Bob, and I confess a MySwag addict... >:D

(http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/starwars.gif)(http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/domokun.gif)(http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/spank.gif)
(http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/rofl.gif)

Post by: SteveandViv on August 15, 2012, 10:10:22 PM
(http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/starwars.gif)(http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/domokun.gif)(http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/spank.gif)
(http://www.skylinesaustralia.com/forums/public/style_emoticons/default/rofl.gif)

Wow, that's a ton of smilies
Post by: fuji on August 16, 2012, 05:55:22 AM
I got up early so I could read and write a few posts. Nice in front of the fire with a hit cuppa. ;D
Post by: krisandkev on August 16, 2012, 07:34:16 AM
Connection was playing up again yesterday afternoon and last night.  And with the usually garbage on TV at night and the good wife at work I was lost.  Maybe it is a good time for the Government to force Myswag to use plain packaging!!!    ;D
Kevin
Post by: sooty on August 19, 2012, 07:56:28 PM
I still seem to spend most of my time waiting for my computer waiting for Myswag  ???
More time for this I guess  :cheers:
Post by: speewa158 on August 19, 2012, 08:12:19 PM
Tjuparula , could you sink the size 15 into the server that should wake them up a bit  :cheers:
Geez you have a good grip on the world  :cheers:
Post by: UTE 701 on August 20, 2012, 05:58:32 PM
Still no joy for me ....

2 weeks of complete frustration .

Lucky I got my Fraser photos in just before it turned bad .

( so sorry to those that like to see my funnies .... just too hard to do )     :'( :'(
Post by: griz066 on August 20, 2012, 06:19:56 PM
Pages very slow to load for me on iPad and pc and Mac :(
Post by: LJs GU on August 20, 2012, 06:52:57 PM
Still no joy for me ....

2 weeks of complete frustration .

Lucky I got my Fraser photos in just before it turned bad .

( so sorry to those that like to see my funnies .... just too hard to do )     :'( :'(

You kidding me... you're the cause of it all!!  ;D
LJ
Post by: Black Diamond on August 20, 2012, 07:40:22 PM
(http://www.itcanbefixed.co.uk/ArtistSite2/userfiles/image/kick_computer.gif)
Post by: Bird on August 20, 2012, 08:18:45 PM
(http://www.theemailadmin.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/BrokenServer.jpg)
fixed
Post by: fuji on August 20, 2012, 08:36:50 PM

X1000 >:(
Post by: Ynot on August 20, 2012, 09:19:18 PM
It was working ok until the carbon tax kicked in a few weeks ago :D
Post by: fuji on August 20, 2012, 09:59:30 PM

X1000
Post by: Mace on August 20, 2012, 10:02:04 PM
Sad when Explore Oz is quicker.
Post by: speewa158 on August 21, 2012, 03:38:30 AM
Looking on the bright side . Couples are talking to each other , work is being done , & , & , " Its Not Good Enough .Com " :'(
Post by: Hairs on August 21, 2012, 06:09:59 AM
A Mod should be jumping on you soon  :police:
That's just cruel Mace.  :'(

:laugh:
Post by: jclures on August 21, 2012, 06:52:50 AM
My solution is to log on in the morning, not so much traffic. ;D
Post by: fuji on August 21, 2012, 07:03:19 AM

Oh yeah forgot about them, I have been on Camper trailers.org and Lcool and 4x4 earth? Very fast.
Only kidding BJ ;D
Post by: Bird on August 21, 2012, 10:27:23 AM
Quote from: Mace
Wow, that place is still going??

I think I've posted there once in about 5 yrs, and it got deleted cause I put

WTF in the message, apparently thats offensive.... Good to see the kiddy mods over there are still continuing to destroy the place.
Post by: Brett on August 22, 2012, 08:39:22 AM
Whining about the site performance is not going to make anything happen any quicker. It has improved compared to a near on two weeks ago. But it is not to our standard. Nothing is wrong with our software / database as it has been tripled checked. We have just out grown our hosting account.

What we are doing about it...

Our current host has not been very helpful so we are looking at a new host that can supply the service we need plus has room for us to grow.

We are talking to a new host now and if that works out then we will have a period of downtime for the transfer to the new host. But you will be given notice of this in advance.

Sorry for the issues but we are doing everything we can, it just takes time.
Post by: Tom on August 22, 2012, 08:48:00 AM
Appreciate that Brett, thank you.
Titch
Post by: SteveandViv on August 22, 2012, 09:03:44 AM
Yea, we know Brett. Good stuff. :cheers:
Post by: Ynot on August 22, 2012, 12:35:30 PM
Thanks for the update. Appreciate you have your hands full.
For what it is worth it think most of the banter is tounge in cheek and everyone supports the work you are doing.
Cheers :cheers:
Post by: UTE 701 on August 22, 2012, 04:41:02 PM
You kidding me... you're the cause of it all!!  ;D
LJ
Just so you know .... every single photo of mine posted on here is from photobucket .
I never even knew that My Swag hosts its own photos until I read it here .
So it wasn't me filling up the system .....  ;D
Post by: speewa158 on August 22, 2012, 04:54:02 PM
Thanks Brett for the update , all is cool . But about the thing you call " Down Time " , is that like going to bed early & or chatting to SWOMBO about daily enevts . Really it wont have to last long will it ,,,,,,,,,,, ???. Do the best you can , MySwag  Tragic  :cheers:
Post by: fuji on August 22, 2012, 06:49:59 PM
You're doing a great job, and we all appreciate it. Keep up the great work! :cheers:
Wayne
Post by: Camping Grant on August 22, 2012, 07:27:26 PM
Cheers Brett

I understand there are performance issues and to be honest it is all OK by me. I understand you and everyone else is working through the difficulties. I'm happy to hang in there and wait out whilst you all get the issues sorted.

You, and all the other mods etc do a great job with this website, and to be honest, I"m happy with periodic access, after all, it's not costing me a cent, other than a purchase of some merchanise once or twice.

So again, thanks for all you are doing to keep this great forum alive...you're one in a million buddy!!!

Kindest Regards
Camping Grant
Post by: Horizon on August 22, 2012, 10:46:12 PM
Cheers Brett

Good luck with the new home.

Skip
Post by: Hairs on August 23, 2012, 06:42:15 AM
Cheers for the update Brett.
is that like going to bed early & or chatting to SWOMBO about daily enevts :
Mate, We all have a our cross to bare.
Post by: bobnrob on August 23, 2012, 10:24:39 PM
Whining about the site performance is not going to make anything happen any quicker.

Gotta agree with ynot mate...everyone's just funnin'
Can understand if it's a bit hard for you to see that, must be frustrating trying to sort it all. But I reckon you'd be hard-pressed to find a member who's blaming you for it  ;)

But I do feel you should - not only remove the post, but remove Lost as well...he wrote WTF a bit further up!
Other sites wouldn't put up with such juvenile going on's

Lost  :P
Post by: Bird on August 24, 2012, 10:58:51 AM
Quote from: bobnrob
But I do feel you should - not only remove the post, but remove Lost as well...he wrote WTF a bit further up!
Other sites wouldn't put up with such juvenile going on's

Lost  :P

(http://images.cheezburger.com/completestore/2011/12/7/1ef1e3c1-6dfe-4a11-b324-decfef50da4d.jpg)
Post by: bunyip on August 27, 2012, 03:53:28 PM
Hi Brett,

Thanks for the update, I have been having performance issues with crazydomains and a couple of website I run, which seem to somewhat co-incide with some of the myswag performance issues.

crazydomains are blaming an upstream provider so maybe that could be a consideration.

As others have said more than happy to put in for an upgraded hosting account.

Post by: fuji on August 29, 2012, 06:30:20 PM
Dare I say the ole girl is running prettyyyy good.
Post by: Bookleaf on September 16, 2012, 09:58:18 PM
How are things going with the performance issues?
Must say this weekend has been a right PITA with "connection" messages.
My patience has got frustrated over the last few days, I must say.
( I am not grumpy - though it may sound like it -, just frustrated more than usual and wandering how things are progressing)
Post by: speewa158 on September 17, 2012, 04:37:00 AM
lts all better now  :cheers:
Post by: fuji on September 17, 2012, 05:53:21 AM
Not here, still have issues here. Status anyone?
Post by: biggles1024 on September 17, 2012, 06:36:15 AM
Yesterday, Sunday 16/9/2012 the forum was so bad for me, I gave up on two occassions. SMF errors again. This was both when trying to log in, open threads and also log out. 
Post by: Tom on September 17, 2012, 06:36:57 AM
Not here, still have issues here. Status anyone?

Very much hit and miss.
Surprised I can post a reply.
Titch
Post by: Bird on September 17, 2012, 10:47:35 AM
Quote from: biggles1024
Yesterday, Sunday 16/9/2012 the forum was so bad for me, I gave up on two occassions. SMF errors again. This was both when trying to log in, open threads and also log out.
same.... even worse while trying to search for info while 1/2 way thru a job :( :(

but as has been said, they are working on it, and when they get time, it will be sorted.

Post by: Mace on September 17, 2012, 10:57:43 AM
Was strange last night.

Had very little luck getting into anything on the PC (with a cable connection wia a router to the modem), but was able to browse and reply to most posts on the Tablet with a Wi-Fi connection to the router!!
Post by: UTE 701 on September 17, 2012, 03:34:58 PM
Still very poor here .

Certainly not blaming the Admin here ,
just peeved that with all the technology advancement these days that any provider can get it so wrong .....

I can't understand how anyone can post a photo ... I can't .

Missing out on POTM , and anything else I'm trying to put up for a laugh ... sorry to all my funny photo fans  :-[

( four attempts to post this ... )

Post by: brickiematt on September 17, 2012, 07:36:43 PM
Was strange last night.

Had very little luck getting into anything on the PC (with a cable connection wia a router to the modem), but was able to browse and reply to most posts on the Tablet with a Wi-Fi connection to the router!!

Other way round for me. PC seems ok (well, better than the laptop, which is really bad), but still hit and miss.
Post by: Jenko67 on September 17, 2012, 08:14:04 PM
Been having issues every day, even trying to post this. Have also had the issue with my password not being recognised, being logged out and having to log in all the time, not whinging just wonder if anyone else had the same issues..
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on September 17, 2012, 09:21:48 PM

I have issues reaching pages and give up.  I have trouble posting, but don't give up.  Lately, I'm just having troubles.  Might go play FB Bingo again and give this site a miss for another night.   :'(

Post by: Horizon on September 20, 2012, 11:26:23 PM
yep
Server issues here too.
 :'(
Skip
Post by: xcvator on September 21, 2012, 08:56:12 AM
Continually having all of the above, and have a look at the post count dropping every day, people will leave and not come back, pity
Post by: booga on September 21, 2012, 01:27:20 PM
I'm no nerd in these areas but I do run several VPS servers so have a little experience....

From a little research I've found the server is located in the US (Hostmonster) so assuming it's just web hosting and not a VPS, I've also found there is a bucket load of routing issues

Code: [Select]
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Ryan>tracert myswag.org

Tracing route to myswag.org [66.147.240.200]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  home.gateway.home.gateway [192.168.1.254]
  2    25 ms    25 ms    24 ms  lns20.bne4.internode.on.net [150.101.180.143]
  3    27 ms    30 ms    25 ms  te0-1-0.cor2.bne4.internode.on.net [150.101.180.
146]
  4   193 ms   194 ms   193 ms  gi1-0-4.cor1.bne1.internode.on.net [150.101.180.
234]
  5   217 ms   216 ms   216 ms  g2-0-0.bdr1.syd7.internode.on.net [203.16.212.13
]
  6   193 ms   193 ms   193 ms  po3-0-0.bdr1.sjc2.internode.on.net [203.16.213.1
58]
  7   199 ms   198 ms   200 ms  sl-st31-sj-.sprintlink.net [144.232.191.193]
  8   199 ms   198 ms   199 ms  sl-st30-sj-0-8-2-0.sprintlink.net [144.232.3.31]

9   220 ms   220 ms   220 ms  sl-tisca1-369951-0.sprintlink.net [144.228.111.2
2]
 10   201 ms   202 ms   209 ms  ge-3-0-0.lax22.ip4.tinet.net [89.149.185.218]
 11   205 ms   204 ms   205 ms  ace-data-centers-gw.ip4.tinet.net [173.241.129.4
6]
 12   216 ms   215 ms   223 ms  tg1-1.ar01.prov.acedc.net [199.58.196.37]
 13     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 14     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 15     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 16     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 17     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 18     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 19     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 20     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 21     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 22     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 23     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 24     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 25     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 26     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 27     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 28     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 29     *        *        *     Request timed out.
 30  port1.ar01.prov.bluehost.com [199.58.199.114]  reports: Destination net unr
eachable.

Trace complete.

C:\Users\Ryan>

Basically the host you are using is almost as cheap as they come, there resource sharing is so cramped you'd be lucky to be getting 0.001% not to mention the routing issue from tg1-1.ar01.prov.acedc.net [199.58.196.37] to the server itself.

Solution = Get a VPS, US based is OK makes things a little cheaper but ideally AUS based Servers are best, I can set you one up if you like for around $20 month, I'd even go as far as saying I'd be prepared to share a VPS with you (your own account separate from mine) that way you can be guaranteed a minimum of say 256mb of Ram just for your site instead of the 12mb your currently getting.

I don't mean to insult whoever owns the site but it is frustrating not being able to access it, and it is a simple fix really with the right resources at hand, I doubt I'm not alone in offering cash to improve the stability of what is in my opinion the best place for CT owners
Post by: bluejay on September 21, 2012, 07:10:59 PM
I have been away for three weeks on Fraser Island what a great time we had, before i left the site was slow to load on puter was hoping it would be quicker when i got back but it is way slower,i know the powers that be are doing all they can and i am not having a go at anyone about the site just saying what i am experiencing knowing nothing about servers or any thing in regards to the operation of running a site but the post above mine may be on to something.
Post by: GeoffA on September 22, 2012, 07:25:38 AM
.......flying this morning......hope it stays that way......... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: UTE 701 on September 22, 2012, 08:48:54 PM
Continually having all of the above, and have a look at the post count dropping every day, people will leave and not come back, pity

Exactly !
Can someone pm me when things have improved ,
Until then , thank you all and goodbye .....    :'(
Post by: DannyG on September 22, 2012, 09:03:22 PM
To me its like your favourite car when it is playing up, you know something like a miss off idle or a flat spot or something........its annoying but you love that car so much you just drive around it until you can fix it!!

Im sure 'they' will sort the forums issues out when they get the opportunity :)
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on September 23, 2012, 05:55:55 AM
If i'm having trouble opening a thread. i right click it and it will work most times, well, it does for me anyway.

Try it next time its struggling.
Post by: HEM19X on September 23, 2012, 06:20:39 AM
Seems to be worse in the times of high usage, so I usually try to access early in the mornings etc

p.s. Jeepers, all seems good this morning but you are having problems??? Very strange!

p.s. again [pps or pss??] The time stamp is also out an hour - currently shows 7:20 but EST is 6:20.
Post by: cm4x4nut on September 23, 2012, 06:23:35 AM
Seems to be worse in the times of high usage, so I usually try to access early in the mornings etc

ditto, good morning hem  ;D
Post by: HEM19X on September 23, 2012, 06:26:07 AM
Hi cam.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on September 23, 2012, 06:46:58 AM
No Hemi, all is good this morning, its faster than a teflon coated turd off a chrome plated shovel at the moment.

Was just saying, WHEN it plays up, i try the right click thing.  8)
Post by: austastar on September 23, 2012, 09:41:01 AM
its faster than a teflon coated turd off a chrome plated shovel at the moment.

          Page created in 30.866 seconds with 74 queries.

Guess it is a bit slower now because the load has increased.

Post by: GeoffA on September 23, 2012, 09:06:26 PM
.......flying this morning......hope it stays that way......... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Well, it was good while it lasted........... :'(
Post by: grafy82 on September 23, 2012, 11:43:17 PM
Exactly !
Until then , thank you all and goodbye .....    :'(

Come on guys, you can't be serious, can you? It will do some of us some good to be off the computers for a while. Even if it means a drop in post counts.
    Let's stop complaining about such a good forum that costs us nothing.

Wes
Post by: bobnrob on September 24, 2012, 06:40:06 AM
by UTE 701

Quote from: xcvator on 21 September 2012, 09:56:12

Exactly !
Until then , thank you all and goodbye .....  :'(

But if you're not here...how will you see your PM???  :P   ;D
Post by: UTE 701 on September 24, 2012, 06:13:15 PM
Come on guys, you can't be serious, can you? It will do some of us some good to be off the computers for a while. Even if it means a drop in post counts.    Let's stop complaining about such a good forum that costs us nothing.

You mean I should just continue to accept hitting the button at least a dozen times hoping I don't get " Connection Problems " for each topic I wish to read ( or reply to ) .. You are the one that can't be serious !
Anyway , I don't have any friends or life outside My Swag , in fact it probably saved me last year when I lost my job as well .
And the subject of " it doesn't cost us anything " ... well I think that has been covered plenty about how people want to contribute $$'s .

Um ... you get an email notification ....
Post by: ozbogwam on September 24, 2012, 06:37:50 PM
You mean I should just continue to accept hitting the button at least a dozen times hoping I don't get " Connection Problems " for each topic I wish to read ( or reply to ) .. You are the one that can't be serious !
Anyway , I don't have any friends or life outside My Swag , in fact it probably saved me last year when I lost my job as well .
And the subject of " it doesn't cost us anything " ... well I think that has been covered plenty about how people want to contribute $$'s .

Yeah why not? Or if it doesn't work the first just go and do something else. It's not the end of the world if the forum crashes.
Post by: bobnrob on September 24, 2012, 07:25:31 PM
by me

by UTE 701

I hate it when people use logic  :P
Post by: Hairs on September 24, 2012, 08:27:07 PM
Hi Guys,
I think, yep I do have a moment every now and then, and sometimes it can scare the crap out of those around me  ;D
MySwag is having some growing pains, we will all live through it  :D
Lets not turn on each other, sure we all have a different opinion on how things should be but, the world wont end.
Hey, do as we did this weekend, we went to somewhere new, a little further than we would usually go and I broke a few bits in the scrub, I stepped outside my comfort zone and it was great.
I will post up a trip report in a few days  ;D
One of my favorite quotes is,
Get outside every day, Miracles are waiting everywhere.
Post by: Camping Grant on September 24, 2012, 08:32:39 PM
Perhaps one to the mods could give us an update on where things are at at the moment?

Grant
Post by: Snow on September 24, 2012, 09:59:02 PM
We just have to have a bit of faith Brett will secure a favourable outcome for the forum. Until then patience and perseverance is the order of the day.

Heck I just had a divil of a time getting the Sept POTM voting post to post up....what an epic that was but!! it is up so get voting!!!
Post by: xcvator on September 24, 2012, 10:11:44 PM
We just have to have a bit of faith Brett will secure a favourable outcome for the forum. Until then patience and perseverance is the order of the day.

Heck I just had a divil of a time getting the Sept POTM voting post to post up....what an epic that was but!! it is up so get voting!!!
Problem is my name is Keith not Joab
Post by: nab on September 24, 2012, 10:37:18 PM
I find it quite ironic that of the 13 threads I opened up, the only one that worked was this thread...

Carry on  ;D :cheers:
Post by: xcvator on September 25, 2012, 10:16:55 PM
C'mon mods, this is now worse than my dialup of 10 years ago :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
There have been offers of financial help and technical help from lots of members, :cup: including me
but in return I have seen nothing so much as an acknowledgment these offers of help  ??? ??? ???
So at the risk of being banned from "myswag" I am now having an official   WHINGE about the forum performance, tonight it is pathetic at best.
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,
Please,FIX IT

grumpy, disillusioned Keith
Post by: booga on September 25, 2012, 11:03:57 PM
I have a VPS setup and waiting to accept the forum, should make it 30 times faster  just waiting on a go signal (anyone?) :angel:
Post by: Brett on September 26, 2012, 02:48:07 PM
Here is a quick update.

www.myswag.org (http://www.myswag.org) is moving to Australia! (http://myswag.org/forum/MGalleryItem.php?id=368)

Now with this news comes a substancial ongoing cost of over $2k per year. Now we have had many offers of cheaper (VPS) shared server options that have been very appreciated but with over 50GB hosted and 250GB in bandwidth no shared server is going to give us the room we need to grow compared to our very own dedicated server. But once again thank you for your offers.

In the past, we have covered costs via the sale of merchandise but we don't make anywhere near enough to cover the new server costs. So to take up on the offers for financial support we will have a paypal option up soon to help cover the new server or in the mean time you can email orders.at.myswag.org  (replace .at. with @) with the amount you wish to help out with and we will invoice you with payment details.

As for a migration date, we are looking towards the end of next week or early the week after if all goes to plan. But we will keep you posted.
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on September 26, 2012, 02:54:09 PM
Here is a quick update.

www.myswag.org (http://www.myswag.org) is moving to Australia! (http://myswag.org/forum/MGalleryItem.php?id=368)

Brett ... You Now Rock! 

Looking forward to contributing financially and emotionally again ...  ;D

Post by: Symon on September 26, 2012, 03:47:58 PM
$2k a year, over 10,000 members.

I'm pretty sure we can cover it people!
Post by: Hairs on September 26, 2012, 04:05:34 PM

X2 Agree  ;D
Post by: xcvator on September 26, 2012, 04:30:12 PM
wacko, beauty, great, super, you little ripper  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Frostd on September 26, 2012, 04:42:56 PM
Fantastic......great work Brett and everybody involved  8) 8)
Post by: Jillsy on September 26, 2012, 05:18:28 PM
Don't forget folks - the other way to support the Forum is to purchase Myswag.org Merchandise!

Click on the link in my signature to see what we have and how to order   :cup:
Post by: GeoffA on September 26, 2012, 06:09:58 PM
Hey Brett,

You have mail.......... ;D ;D

Geoff
Post by: D4D on September 26, 2012, 06:23:55 PM

I'm suggesting a ratio of 1 cent per post in your post count, that should well and truly cover it.
Post by: Brett on September 26, 2012, 06:38:02 PM
Ok we now have PayPal account setup. Please click on the button below and it will take you to PayPal. I have set it at 1 unit = $1.00, Please adjust the unit numbers as you see fit.

(http://myswag.org/forum/MGalleryItem.php?id=369) (https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=BA94SR8PZTZMQ)

Please also keep and eye on the Announcements Section -> Click Here (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=24628.0)
Post by: GeoffA on September 26, 2012, 06:56:03 PM
I'm suggesting a ratio of 1 cent per post in your post count, that should well and truly cover it.

I like your thinking there, D4D.

I've adopted a roughly similar approach.........well, sort of..... ;D ;D

Post by: McGirr on September 26, 2012, 07:22:18 PM

I have, like many others, donated to the on going growth of this forum. I will not post the amount but am happy to donate the amount sent. I used the PayPal account.

Many thanks for the on going work and effort you , Jill and everyone that has built this forum to the standard it is today.  :cup:

Post by: Hairs on September 26, 2012, 07:35:43 PM

I was also thinking this,
Jobs done.
Post by: TOPNDR on September 26, 2012, 07:56:01 PM
I'm quite happy to pay a nominal amount. I'd be loath to make it a cost per post, simply because it'd be too difficult to administrate.

I read several forums, as at this post there are about 120 people on MySwag but 5500 on another forum. MySwag is the only one that routinely gives a message like,

Connection Problems

Sorry, SMF was unable to connect to the database. This may be caused by the server being busy. Please try again later.
Post by: McGirr on September 26, 2012, 08:03:25 PM

I think the post count was just a suggestion. It boils down to what members would be happy to donate to assist in the ongoing costs of the forum.

In time these performance issue will be a thing of the past.

Post by: GeoffA on September 26, 2012, 08:09:04 PM
I'm quite happy to pay a nominal amount. I'd be loath to make it a cost per post, simply because it'd be too difficult to administrate.

I read several forums, as at this post there are about 120 people on MySwag but 5500 on another forum. MySwag is the only one that routinely gives a message like,

Connection Problems

There's nothing to administer, yet. At present, it's a 1-off, voluntary contribution.
If you were to follow the 1c/post formula it would be $4.74..........I'd call that a very nominal amount........
Post by: 73coupe on September 26, 2012, 08:25:10 PM
Having troubles donating, Paypal is saying it can not process this transaction at this time, would this be a problem with my account or Myswags account? Any ideas anyone?
Post by: Swannie on September 26, 2012, 08:31:23 PM
Having troubles donating, Paypal is saying it can not process this transaction at this time, would this be a problem with my account or Myswags account? Any ideas anyone?
Mate I'd say its the myswag server.. It was working earlier
Post by: GeoffA on September 26, 2012, 08:38:41 PM
It was working earlier

Post by: Hairs on September 26, 2012, 08:41:39 PM

You're probably not donating enough coin  (http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/confused.gif)

Seriously, I'd say that it would be Pay Pal, the account being flooded.

Post by: britts on September 26, 2012, 08:51:58 PM
I had no trouble just now ;D
Post by: Black Diamond on September 26, 2012, 09:07:38 PM
I think the post count was just a suggestion. It boils down to what members would be happy to donate to assist in the ongoing costs of the forum.

In time these performance issue will be a thing of the past.

Agree sooner or later it will be sorted and it will be a non issue  :cheers:
Post by: booga on September 26, 2012, 09:13:50 PM
Wow thats great news.

As I was one who offered a VPS I'm actually glad you went all out and gots da dedicated server, Aussie based as well.... server will be lightning fast really big step so congrats in order.

I'll be doin my bit by buying some stuffs and donating some coins.

PS: If you need a hand with anything BJ has my number  ;D
PSS: Do you mind letting me know who you got it through (the Server)
Post by: sschmez on September 26, 2012, 10:52:08 PM
Done,

Thanx
Post by: JU5T1N on September 26, 2012, 11:40:24 PM
Ok we now have PayPal account setup. Please click on the button below and it will take you to PayPal. I have set it at 1 unit = $1.00, Please adjust the unit numbers as you see fit.

(http://myswag.org/forum/MGalleryItem.php?id=369) (https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=BA94SR8PZTZMQ)

Please also keep and eye on the Announcements Section -> Click Here (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=24628.0)
So does this mean purchases can be made via PayPal now? or just donations?
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on September 26, 2012, 11:47:15 PM

Just donations Justin.  I've added a few dollars to the 'Aussie Server Trust' as I'm calling it.   ;D

Post by: fuji on September 27, 2012, 12:07:28 AM
I have just bought some merchandise and contributed a $10 into paypal.mso who wants a stubbie holder? Just PM me. I have 3 to give away
Wayne
Post by: fuji on September 27, 2012, 12:11:18 AM

X20
Post by: jclures on September 27, 2012, 06:20:56 AM
done :cheers:
Post by: JU5T1N on September 27, 2012, 07:00:30 AM

Just donations Justin.  I've added a few dollars to the 'Aussie Server Trust' as I'm calling it.   ;D

No worries, thought an updated  eBay price list to include their fee's might be a go. 2 birds 1 stone.
Getting to the bank for transfers is made harder when they only have little parking spots to fit the truck in, with my current work hours it's not easy. I've been trying now for around 4months will put my donation in tonight

Awesome news.....BTW are we going to tell ute???? LMAO

Sent to outer space and back via Tapatalk....now need a lay down
Post by: krisandkev on September 27, 2012, 07:09:39 AM
Done.  PayPal went through very quickly this morning. 

Now that we will be keeping everything in Australia, can we start using real aussie words.  I still don’t know what things like mean LMAO  and Tapatalk mean?    8)

Kevin
Post by: JU5T1N on September 27, 2012, 07:24:30 AM
Now that we will be keeping everything in Australia, can we start using real aussie words.  I still don’t know what things like mean LMAO  and Tapatalk mean?    8)

Kevin
That's LMAO not LMFO. Pretty sure the smilies no an AU item either....we'd have twist top, stubby, 750, keg or an empty carton

Sent to outer space and back via Tapatalk....now need a lay down
Post by: xcvator on September 27, 2012, 08:08:37 AM
Well I've put my money where my mouth is  :laugh: :laugh: :cheers:
Post by: 73coupe on September 27, 2012, 08:36:46 AM
It's taken about 15 goes but finally got through! :D
Post by: Matto on September 27, 2012, 09:54:44 AM
Done and done. The least we can do to support the site. Good luck with the migration - it's certainly going to be a big job.

Many thanks for the on going work and effort you , Jill and everyone that has built this forum to the standard it is today.  :cup:
+1. Not too many other places where the members would have been begging the administrators to accept donations - I think that shows how much people value the work that goes into keeping the lights on. If everyone throws in a couple of bucks, we'll be at the target in no time.

Cheers!
Post by: Jenko67 on September 27, 2012, 10:03:31 AM
Donation sent...

Jenko
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on September 27, 2012, 10:22:19 AM
Not too many other places where the members would have been begging the administrators to accept donations - I think that shows how much people value the work that goes into keeping the lights on. If everyone throws in a couple of bucks, we'll be at the target in no time.

Cheers!

So very Agreed Matto.  I haven't visited too many places (internet or not) where people beg someone to take their money ... okay ... except maybe Melbourne Cup Day.

What a Warm & Fuzzy bunch of people we all are!!  Well Done.   :-*  Where's the Group Hug Icon?

Post by: Hairs on September 27, 2012, 10:48:37 AM
What a Warm & Fuzzy bunch of people we all are!!  Well Done.   :-*  Where's the Group Hug Icon?

(http://www.hairfysh.com/images/Icons/Smileys/grouphugg.gif)
That feels better  ;D
Post by: DannyG on September 27, 2012, 10:49:26 AM
Did someone mention Aussie smilies?

(http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/smilies/thmyshout.gif) (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/smilies/thHappyasLarry.gif) (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/smilies/thAussieAnklebiter.gif) (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/smilies/321.gif) (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/smilies/320.gif) (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/smilies/319.gif) (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/smilies/318.gif) (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/smilies/317.gif) (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/smilies/316.gif) (http://i134.photobucket.com/albums/q86/DannyG13_photos/smilies/315.gif)

I am sure there is quite a influx of donations atm from the Myswag addicts that know whats been going on but I hope the little paypal icon up the top keeps them trickling in throughout the year/s.
Post by: BigJules on September 27, 2012, 10:54:38 AM
You're a great bunch of folks, no doubt.
Post by: Trex_s4m1 on September 27, 2012, 11:29:22 AM
ive chucked in and will buy some merch in the near future. thanks for the good site! :D
Post by: Tim - Stratford on September 27, 2012, 07:54:09 PM
Thrown a few dollars in - Kids won't mind going without food for a week  ;D
Post by: Brett on September 27, 2012, 10:45:30 PM
A big thanks goes to all of you who have given some coin to the New Aussie Server Fund. So far we have raised just over $900 which has been an awesome response in two days. Our Aussie Server will cost around $2500 for 12 months so we are well on our way to covering the costs.

It doesn't matter if you can afford $5 or $250 (both amounts have been sent), it all helps and we won't know what's hit us once we are up and running on the new Server.

Once we reach our target, the PayPal link will be removed.  You will be able to continue to support Myswag.org by purchasing merchandise (the profits of which all go to keeping Myswag.org up and running including purchasing more merchandise). 

The Myswag Spirit really is overwhelming...on behalf of Jill and myself you Guys and Gals are  :cup:
Post by: Brett on September 28, 2012, 06:14:52 AM
PSS: Do you mind letting me know who you got it through (the Server)

Digital Pacific will be our new host.  8)
Post by: Tom on September 28, 2012, 06:54:12 AM
Done. :angel:

Now a comment.
A blonk like me had to go looking for the paypal button.all I could find was a red cross.not easy folks.
Now the paypal thing has gone?
Titch
Post by: xcvator on September 28, 2012, 08:24:05 AM
Thanks for the update Brett, looking good  :cheers:
Post by: WaituiRob on September 28, 2012, 09:16:40 AM
Hi Brett,
    Only too happy to contribute to help you run this great forum. Like others, it has become a big part of my life the last three years. I`ve learnt heaps, met some nice Swaggers, feel like I know a lot more of them and followed Swaggers great trip reports to places I`ll never get to go. I hope you can continue running MySwag the way you want and wish you every success with it. :cup:

Cheers, Robyn
Title: Re: Forum Performance Issues - great news
Post by: BrindiCruiser on September 28, 2012, 09:41:32 AM
This is a positive development, and happy to help out.
Post by: richee on September 28, 2012, 09:42:54 AM
Once we reach our target, the PayPal link will be removed.  You will be able to continue to support Myswag.org by purchasing merchandise (the profits of which all go to keeping Myswag.org up and running including purchasing more merchandise). 

The Myswag Spirit really is overwhelming...on behalf of Jill and myself you Guys and Gals are  :cup:

Hi Brett

I would like to donate on a semi regular basis ( when the red wine bottle tells me too  ;D ) and would not like to see the paypal option removed.

It also gives new members a chance to donate.

Richard
Post by: 73coupe on September 28, 2012, 10:58:27 AM
Seems pretty quick this morning! :D
Post by: Swannie on September 28, 2012, 11:05:53 AM
Seems pretty quick this morning! :D
X2.. Can I have my money back!!  ;D
Post by: gacoxd on September 28, 2012, 11:48:51 AM
Donation made (after some buggerising around)

On reflection, it was a fraction of the amount of money I have saved as a direct result of the great advice and counsel I have received on MySwag.

Damo
Post by: Kangaron on September 29, 2012, 08:50:55 AM
Done,
well done all
Post by: BigJules on September 29, 2012, 02:18:53 PM
I haven't comfirmed it with Brett but we did talk about putting a cap on the account, so that once sufficient funds were raised the account would no longer accept donations.

Also, by purchasing merchandise you get a nice bit of gear and the profits go to running the forum.

The support of members is appreciated.
Post by: Foo on September 29, 2012, 04:12:19 PM
My load up speeds have been real slow over the last month. :'(

Post by: xcvator on September 29, 2012, 05:18:50 PM
So any news on when the big shift will be ?  8)
Post by: firefox on September 29, 2012, 05:50:19 PM
Planning on a move starting late next week. I'll keep everyone up to date, however it's a big move, with lots of data.
Post by: Crisp Image on September 30, 2012, 09:39:39 AM
Well I've put my money where my mouth is  :laugh: :laugh: :cheers:

Well that is a big spot to fill. I recon you could fund the server with that amount! ;D
I have done my bit now too.
Love this Forum
Crisp Image
Post by: Hairs on September 30, 2012, 12:57:10 PM
G'day jderry.au,
It's a big job 
Hope it all goes smooth.

Post by: biggles1024 on September 30, 2012, 01:05:38 PM
. Please ignore this post. One minute the PayPal had disappeared, but now it has returned...  ???

I'm off to use it. :)

Post by: Hairs on September 30, 2012, 01:17:37 PM
G'day biggles1024,
It comes and goes, a revolving banner thingy  ;D
Post by: biggles1024 on September 30, 2012, 01:41:47 PM
G'day biggles1024,
It comes and goes, a revolving banner thingy  ;D
And here I was thinking that it was me because I hadn't had my 'nanna nap' this afternoon.  ;D

Thanks, Hairs.  :cheers:
Post by: JU5T1N on September 30, 2012, 09:07:45 PM
No worries, thought an updated  eBay price list to include their fee's might be a go. 2 birds 1 stone.
Getting to the bank for transfers is made harder when they only have little parking spots to fit the truck in, with my current work hours it's not easy. I've been trying now for around 4months will put my donation in tonight

Awesome news.....BTW are we going to tell ute???? LMAO
Donation done, will still purchase when I get the chance :cheers:
Post by: brocky05fj on October 01, 2012, 09:01:04 AM
Donation complete, no hesitation in supporting this great site.
Ordered stickers as well. Keep up the good work and I hope the move goes well.
Cheers :cup:
Post by: Crisp Image on October 01, 2012, 09:05:30 AM
Can you please migrate this weekend? I am going to be busy and wont have time to get on the forum  :'( so I won't miss out on anything.  ;D
Crisp Image
Post by: sol on October 01, 2012, 09:14:46 AM
Jobs done ;D
Great idea guys and fantastic group of people here :cup:

:cheers: sol
Post by: bobnrob on October 01, 2012, 09:22:09 AM
Can you please migrate this weekend? I am going to be busy and wont have time to get on the forum  :'( so I won't miss out on anything.  ;D
Crisp Image

Running pretty good at the moment...obviously because you're to busy, & not on here slowing it down!  :P

More likely because a lot have been lucky enough to get out there for the long w/end = less visiting ;)
Post by: Sharky on October 01, 2012, 11:39:58 AM
Donation happily paid through PayPal.
 Anything to keep this great forum going.
Well done Brett!
Post by: Patt31 on October 02, 2012, 09:29:37 PM
Donation done through paypal :)

Just wanted to check to see if there were any issues with anyone joining myswag as hubby has been trying to join but keeps getting a message that he isnt allowed to join the forum. 

Unfortunately I introduced him to the forum and he is hooked like me now, must be all the nice friendly people here :)
Post by: GGV8Cruza on October 02, 2012, 09:48:47 PM
Donation done through paypal :)

Just wanted to check to see if there were any issues with anyone joining myswag as hubby has been trying to join but keeps getting a message that he isnt allowed to join the forum. 

Unfortunately I introduced him to the forum and he is hooked like me now, must be all the nice friendly people here :)

Email BigJules, he can check it out for you

bigjules@myswag.org

Post by: BigJules on October 03, 2012, 08:43:12 AM
Email BigJules, he can check it out for you

bigjules@myswag.org

I sure can. Got a request yesterday and replied, if that was your hubby.
Post by: xcvator on October 04, 2012, 08:05:53 PM
Is there any further news on the migration timing ? (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-matrix/matrix-smiley-007.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
I need a bit of notice to mentally prepare myself for the withdrawal symptoms (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys/smiley-excited002.gif) (http://www.freesmileys.org/smileys.php)
Post by: firefox on October 04, 2012, 08:20:56 PM
server is being setup in AU at the moment. We have a number of additional things like DNS etc to be done.
So the actual transition won't take place until next week. There is also alot of data to move. We've tested the way to do it, but it's alot. (photos)

I'll definitely give everyone 48-72 hours notice prior to doing anything, so we can all mentally prepare for the migration.

Post by: Trex_s4m1 on October 04, 2012, 08:54:15 PM
in the past forum moves i have moved content and a few essential images (banners smilies etc:)) then do the bulky things like images at a later date. that way the text side of the forum has minimal downtime.. it just looks ugly for a day.
either way if you guys need a hand hit me up  :cheers:
Post by: firefox on October 04, 2012, 08:58:30 PM
Thats sort of the plan, once we have a fully operating new server, i will start the move of the 25gb of Photos. (will take some time). The core Database, and others will only take about 3-4 hours to move around.
JD
Post by: Trex_s4m1 on October 04, 2012, 09:35:44 PM
alrighty ill keep my nose out :)  ;D
Post by: Brett on October 08, 2012, 10:18:45 PM
Just a quick update... Everything is moving quickly now!

So far we raised $1689 via PayPal plus some Merchandise Sales as well. This allowed us last week to order the new server and pay 6 mths Hosting for a start. Today we got access to our new home and from what Justin (Firefox) is tell me she is a beauty. Very much overkill which leaves plenty of room to grow!

Justin is currently setting up the server and doing some dummy runs before we complete the forum migration. We will experience some down time where you will have no access to the site for 12 to 24hrs. But Justin will go into this further and give notice once we are ready.

If all goes well this time next week we should be running on our new home. (No pressure Justin!  >:D)
Post by: Trex_s4m1 on October 08, 2012, 10:29:12 PM
gw guys :)  :cup: :cheers:
Post by: carinya on October 08, 2012, 10:37:05 PM
Donation completed on second attempt.   Thank you people for your efforts, love your work. ;D  ;D :cup: :cheers: :cup: ;D ;D
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on October 09, 2012, 12:43:12 PM

*Insert GROUP HUG icon here please!!!!!!!**   :cup:   :cup:   :cup:

Post by: JU5T1N on October 09, 2012, 08:17:52 PM
(http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRrlp0Sq9EvXH0TPneLHuugV-sz1_G2XUQDU_1PMvlYmCnkyKa4)
(http://www.millan.net/minimations/smileys/hapydancsmil.gif) (http://www.millan.net/minimations/smileys/winnersmiley.gif)
Post by: xcvator on October 10, 2012, 07:07:03 AM
Just a suggestion  ;D When the new server is up and running would it be possible to send out a bulk email to all members advising them of the fact.? There seems to have been a big drop off of posts by what were regular members.
Post by: KingBilly on October 10, 2012, 07:50:03 AM
Brett, Justin and others

I made a donation but far more importantly, please accept my thanks for all your efforts.  This is a great forum.

My two cents worth.  When I joined myswag, I made a merchandise purchase to contribute some funds, as I believe it was the right thing to do, but I really didn't need anything.  On other forums I participate in, they have a donation option.  Perhaps a donation option could be added as a sticky to the home page or something.  If nobody uses it, fine.  After all it would be a voluntary thing so no pressure on anybody.

Post by: TheOtherLeft on October 10, 2012, 11:50:19 AM
I'm not sure if it's related but when I use Firefox at home I get lots of connection problems that it becomes unbearable. However when I use Internet Explorer at work it's fine.
Post by: griz066 on October 10, 2012, 01:07:47 PM
Donation made with a  ;D
More than happy to donate to a fantastic site. :cheers:
Post by: firefox on October 10, 2012, 01:16:54 PM
Guys,
Just a heads up..
Pending a few current transfers running for me at the moment.. (Moving about 25GB via rsync) to the new server. It looks like we can switch ASAP.
Which i know everyone wants to do. So it looks like tonight is going to be the night.!

I'll keep everyone up to date, but don't be too suprised if we do the migration. The good news is i am hoping the migration shouldn't take too long.
DNS will take longer, but i will post more details when i switch.

In the mean time (write this down!).. THe new host will be at    http://wwwau.myswag.org (http://wwwau.myswag.org)  (you will be able to use this URL whilst we transfer the DNS...)
It will point to the IP   101.0.70.91 which is on our new host. I will be posting maintenance pages, updates etc during the transition.

Pending these large file transfers go through, i will do the migration this afternoon and tonight.

Please also note: if you use the gallery feature (you may not know what i am talking about, if you don't, then don't worry about this message)
The gallery is currently located under www.myswag.org/gallery (http://www.myswag.org/gallery)   on the new server this will change. The gallery is getting it's own DNS entry.. http://gallery.myswag.org (http://gallery.myswag.org) it will still have the same content. Just a new DNS entry.

Anyhow once i finish up what i am doing i'll post what the plans are for tonight if any..
JD
Post by: Hairs on October 10, 2012, 02:19:42 PM
Thanks for the update.
Hope it all goes smoothly.
Post by: firefox on October 10, 2012, 05:58:48 PM
going offline soon .....

migration tonight.. Just FYI...

Read..  http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=25468.0 (http://myswag.org/forum/index.php?topic=25468.0)
Post by: Offroad 4x4 Accessories on October 10, 2012, 08:13:17 PM
Yay new server. I'm first
Post by: 73coupe on October 10, 2012, 08:27:11 PM
Looking good  :cheers:
Post by: Offroad 4x4 Accessories on October 10, 2012, 08:31:18 PM
It's really fast when not many people are online
Post by: firefox on October 10, 2012, 08:31:37 PM
Just FYI....
DNS is playing havoc! So really if you have old DNS cache pointing to the server it will cause mess everywhere. This is going to take at least 12 hours for DNS to resolve cleanly. Which means i have to make some changes.

The good news is we are on the new server and running! And it seems very fast.

Please everyone just bare with me, whilst DNS and server updates go through overnight. This is a little tricky, but things will look like they are broken, please don't try to fix them, as i am aware of most issues.. (all DNS related  ???)

Post by: xcvator on October 10, 2012, 08:40:52 PM
Bl##dy great  :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: shrek4 on October 10, 2012, 08:54:07 PM
Yay! Well done guys. New server is a Porsche!

Post by: brickiematt on October 10, 2012, 09:23:04 PM
Wow, the old girl's flying along!!!! Just a question, if I go to www.au.myswag.org (http://www.au.myswag.org), I get an "Apache 2 test Page". Anyone else get this, and when the whole migration is complete, which web address will we use?
Great work all involved. Well done :cup: :cup: :cup:

Post by: JCOJ on October 10, 2012, 09:35:33 PM
Just use the normal address - worked for me.

Great to see the site up and running as it used to - top stuff!!
Post by: firefox on October 10, 2012, 09:45:43 PM
Yes you will see the apache 2 test page (fixing that at the moment..)

I've given up on the DNS rotation i was using. And going to wait until www.myswag.org (http://www.myswag.org) fixes for everyone. Some people will already have it fixed.. Others it will take overnight. The host in America was extremely painful and the forum relies on DNS heavily.

This is going to cause a few weird problems, but it will fix itself... With a little assistance from me..
JD
Post by: doogs01 on October 10, 2012, 09:58:07 PM
This is great guys! Well done! :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: firefox on October 10, 2012, 10:13:46 PM
Just a warning for everyone!!!!!!!!!!!

making some major changes.. (big one..) the URL/Forum is now just www.myswag.org (http://www.myswag.org) (there is no /forum required anymore).

Still Fixing lots of links and themes, and trying to get things organised on the new server.. Please feel free to use the forum, just be mindful of things changing around us...
JD
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on October 10, 2012, 10:40:21 PM

I reckon that should conclude the whinging and whining for a while.  Great job so far firefox ...

Post by: firefox on October 10, 2012, 11:08:58 PM
ok,
seems to be OK, going to post some do's /don'ts in the other thread... So people understand some of the changes.
Post by: Symon on October 11, 2012, 12:17:21 AM
Nice work mate, certainly looking good.
Post by: grafy82 on October 11, 2012, 01:50:07 AM
She's certainly a good thing now. Moving along very quickly. Thanks to Brett and the tech team for putting up with the whinging and getting it all happening again. :cheers:

Wes
Post by: Brett on October 11, 2012, 02:41:19 AM
Wow is this place quick now or what! 0.2s to load a page compared to over 12s with the old server. You got to be happy with that!  :cup:

There still some more work to do in the background and Justin is putting in some big hours for us while juggling meetings, clients and catching flights. So please be patience over the next few days while the fine tuning is done and the gallery being setup.

Post by: Hairs on October 11, 2012, 02:46:21 AM
You got to be happy with that!  :cup:
Certainly am Mate,  ;D

Post by: fuji on October 11, 2012, 03:21:10 AM
I wokes up real early to see the site up and running. YAY!!! WELL DONE TO JUSTIN AND HIS CREW. :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Wayne
Post by: Black Diamond on October 11, 2012, 03:43:26 AM
Wow is this place quick now or what! 0.2s to load a page compared to over 12s with the old server. You got to be happy with that!  :cup:

There still some more work to do in the background and Justin is putting in some big hours for us while juggling meetings, clients and catching flights. So please be patience over the next few days while the fine tuning is done and the gallery being setup.
Awesome work! :cup:
Post by: baldheadedgit on October 11, 2012, 03:56:54 AM
Awesome work to all those involved,,  excellent ... :cup:

BHG
Post by: brickiematt on October 11, 2012, 04:07:20 AM
Great job guys. Well done.  :cup:
Post by: GrahamFamily on October 11, 2012, 05:29:57 AM
Awesome job to everyone involved its loading nice and fast now. Just one thing how do we log into Tapatalk on iPhone now as it can't access it.

Great work on the migration to the new server lots of hours spent and it has paid off. Keep up the great work admin team.
Post by: fuji on October 11, 2012, 05:37:11 AM
Just a question, I find I have to log in every time where as the old system would leave me logged in until I logged out. Is this for security purposes?
Wayne
Post by: Tom on October 11, 2012, 05:48:50 AM
Not so hit and miss now,thanks folks.
Titch
Post by: D4D on October 11, 2012, 05:52:09 AM
If you're on a pc, from a cmd prompt run 'ipconfig /flushdns', however if you're reading this message you don't need to do it :)

With the removal of 'forum' from the URL any/all existing links in posts will have to be changed. This could be a lengthy/challenging process.
Post by: firefox on October 11, 2012, 08:21:02 AM
D4D,
yes you are correct, there is links etc that have to be fixed. It's going to be a little tricky, but if we clean up now, we're right for the future. It also ensures speed is not an issue. After digging into the code last night, i realised how much "rewriting" we were doing on the server with links. It would have easily slowed down the system. So i figured i was getting rid of anything like that, going to make the whole thing run as fast as possible. I can do some searches across the forum as well to remove links etc.. Which i will do this week.

Tapatalk. If there is a setting feature, i am betting that you need to remove the /forum from the URL.. I will need to load tapatalk and have a look at it.. I will do that today..

Yes most of the DNS is clearing now, so the site really should start humming along..

As we continue i will continue to post any updates or changes required.
JD
Post by: Matto on October 11, 2012, 08:39:32 AM
DNS is playing havoc!
So, business as normal then??  ;D ;D

Great work Justin - there's a huge amount of planning that goes into something like this, then a huge amount of stress when the actual migration happens. From what I can see here it was all handled very professionally and the results speak for themselves. Congrats to you and the rest of the team - a big job but a great result.

If you find yourself in Cairns, the beers are on me!

Cheers!
Post by: Bird on October 11, 2012, 08:42:43 AM
this place is like a rocket today... Its faster than a blank new forum Im setting up for a club..
not one missed send of message or opening forum..

Im scared...  :'(
Post by: Newsman on October 11, 2012, 08:49:51 AM
Amazing loading speed... congrats on a job well done!
Post by: Matto on October 11, 2012, 12:21:25 PM
Amazing loading speed...
+1 - this is loading much faster for me than our internal SharePoint sites (and you don't want to see the hardware that's running them!!!) 8) 8) >:(

Cheers!
Post by: BigJules on October 11, 2012, 01:03:33 PM
It's singing now! Makes the admin stuff easier too.
Post by: firefox on October 11, 2012, 01:30:31 PM
Hi Everyone,
So been working away behind the scenes.. If you think the forum is fast, it should actually get alot faster.. I've had lots of "admin" stuff behind the server going on... But it's good the speed issues have gone.

Looks like i've solved the Images upload problem.. So attachments should work.

Great news!!! The MySwag Gallery is ONLINE!!! you can access it via http://gallery.myswag.org/ (http://gallery.myswag.org/)
The gotcha, if you have hard coded links or references into the forum from the gallery, you are going to need to manually change the image reference from www.myswag.org/gallery/etc (http://www.myswag.org/gallery/etc) etc with gallery.myswag.org/gallery/etc etc

I'm sort of jumping around on planes this avo, but looks like things are getting back to normal. I'm going to start on a few other fixes i need to put in place... If you find something seriously busted please PM me, and i will add it to my list..

P.S I know tappatalk is broken. I am working on trying to fix that as well, as it is another silly recursive redirect problem..
Post by: richee on October 11, 2012, 02:00:51 PM
Fan bloody tastic job.  :cheers:
Post by: hutchie62 on October 11, 2012, 02:19:29 PM
Seems good so far, thanks.
Hutchie
Post by: Isuzumu on October 11, 2012, 02:46:44 PM
Great work, was very worried when I could not get on last night or this morning  :'(, but now  :D ;D
Post by: xcvator on October 11, 2012, 02:50:00 PM
and no withdrawal symptoms  :cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
Post by: Mace on October 11, 2012, 03:05:15 PM
This forum speed is now officially:
Post by: brickiematt on October 11, 2012, 03:11:04 PM
Or:

Post by: griz066 on October 11, 2012, 03:16:02 PM
This site is now..........
Post by: GeoffA on October 11, 2012, 03:55:36 PM
This site is now..........

......tolerable......... ;D ;D

Well done!!  :cup: :cup: :cup:
Post by: mrdenn1s on October 11, 2012, 04:12:41 PM
We've gone from Nissan Patrol engine to Mazda6 Diesel engine!
Post by: GeoffA on October 11, 2012, 04:16:28 PM
We've gone from 3 litre Nissan Patrol engine to Mazda6 Diesel engine!

There ya go. Fixed it for you, D...... ;D ;D
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 11, 2012, 04:59:16 PM
Its so fast now, its started posting things i haven't even typed yet.

I'm scared its going to form a swirling tornado type vortex and i could be sucked up and disappear into my own anal cavity..... nooooooooooooooooooooooo

I don't want a sh1tty outlook on life..... noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Post by: Matto on October 11, 2012, 05:02:29 PM
I'm scared its going to form a swirling tornado type vortex and i could be sucked up and disappear into my own anal cavity..... nooooooooooooooooooooooo
And that, my friends, is what astronomers describe as a Brown Hole. The forces involved are slightly less than a Black Hole, however the most defining characteristic is definitely the smell.

And here endeth the lesson.

Cheers!
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 11, 2012, 05:18:40 PM
I just yelled out to the wife in the other room, come and see how fast this happens now.....

All i got in reply was a huge sigh, and then.... yes dear, i know how fast you can be.....  :-[

Its not my fault that what i lack in size i make up for with speed. GEEZ, i have feelings ya know.
Post by: Camping Grant on October 11, 2012, 06:12:27 PM
Forum's a go go....well done everyone!
Post by: Paul and Bern on October 11, 2012, 07:57:55 PM
 :D Thanks for the effort, lookin good. Great being able to search the trips again, using the direct link option too.
Post by: KingBilly on October 11, 2012, 07:59:31 PM
Well done all.  Excellent result.   :cup:
Post by: firefox on October 11, 2012, 08:47:54 PM
So SUPER SPEED!!!!!

And now with Tapatalk ready!!!!! You may need to remove the forum in tapatalk and add it again. I've also updated so it works correctly in Hi-res (IPAD) and iphone and so on. New Logo, nice and fast etc.. And i know it's loaded correctly with tapatalk servers..

Should be ready to go for anyone trying to get onto tapatalk now.. (links etc all fixed..)

Now to sit down and try to make the forum cleaner and faster :)....
JD
Post by: Duchess on October 11, 2012, 09:19:06 PM
Good job guys.

So nice to not get that annoying and frustrating message any longer!!
Post by: JU5T1N on October 11, 2012, 09:21:25 PM
All looks good here....
Post by: JU5T1N on October 11, 2012, 09:32:17 PM
so quick people may need to get a heath check before using the site  these days...lol
great work guys :cup:
Post by: GrahamFamily on October 11, 2012, 09:42:24 PM
Tapatalk works perfectly just searched for the new myswag forum and it loaded super fast.
Post by: Bookleaf on October 11, 2012, 09:45:53 PM
Ohhhh, What a relief. 
I can now sneak peeks @ Myswag between other things and not get in to trouble with the wife for spending "HOURS on that bloody forum!!"
Smooth
Clean
A pleasure to use.

Glad I used PayPal - did you??
Post by: Bookleaf on October 11, 2012, 10:01:24 PM
Uh Oh
If found a problem with the new server

It is running so fast and smooth it it now so easy to add comments and posts, the log count is going to sky-rocket.
I mean to say, 3 pages of unread comments since I last looked 5 hours ago!!.
Must not be just me, others obviously have noticed too.

It is just so easy an quick to post now

Love IT
Post by: firefox on October 11, 2012, 10:10:40 PM
Glad everyone is liking the new server.
I've got quite a bit of "behind the scenes" stuff to still do. But we are probably about 80% of the way there.
My list is getting small, so if you find something not working, please send me a PM and i will look into it  (firefox) or ex jderry.au

Also going to get a few other mod options that brett wanted to setup running also.

JD
Post by: SteveandViv on October 11, 2012, 11:45:55 PM
Just FYI....
DNS is playing havoc! So really if you have old DNS cache pointing to the server it will cause mess everywhere. This is going to take at least 12 hours for DNS to resolve cleanly. Which means i have to make some changes.

The good news is we are on the new server and running! And it seems very fast.

Please everyone just bare with me, whilst DNS and server updates go through overnight. This is a little tricky, but things will look like they are broken, please don't try to fix them, as i am aware of most issues.. (all DNS related  ???)

May I just say - Good job.. DNS sucks with us as well especially when you are foresting your servers - because they did, I don't know why. I just run the joint ;D
Post by: fuji on October 12, 2012, 07:08:39 AM
Glad everyone is liking the new server.
I've got quite a bit of "behind the scenes" stuff to still do. But we are probably about 80% of the way there.
My list is getting small, so if you find something not working, please send me a PM and i will look into it  (firefox) or ex jderry.au

Also going to get a few other mod options that brett wanted to setup running also.

JD

Back in the old days (last week) we could stay logged on but now it automatically logs us out and we have to log in every time. Is this a new security thingybob?  Just curious
Wayne
Post by: griz066 on October 12, 2012, 08:03:38 AM

Back in the old days (last week) we could stay logged on but now it automatically logs us out and we have to log in every time. Is this a new security thingybob?  Just curious
Wayne

No. just check the "keep me logged in box"
Post by: Hairs on October 12, 2012, 08:16:49 AM
Yep, keeps me logged in.
Post by: DannyG on October 12, 2012, 08:23:00 AM
Server is a rocket ship. I always thought the 3G network near my work was a terrible connection for web surfing on my phone until Myswag switched to this server.......now I know all the other web sites I frequent must have slower servers, my 3g connection at work flys on here!
Post by: jwb on October 12, 2012, 08:24:08 AM
Wayne
[/quote]

same with me??
Keep ticking the " keep me logged in box", but still no doing it :(
help!

please?
Post by: DannyG on October 12, 2012, 08:25:46 AM
Wayne

same with me??
Keep ticking the " keep me logged in box", but still no doing it :(
help!

please?

Hmm thats odd its all fine with me on several computers.

Im sure the IT genius will sort it out soon enough :)
Post by: outbackogre on October 12, 2012, 08:36:36 AM
A fast site is a happy site.  Many thanks.
Post by: Hairs on October 12, 2012, 08:45:05 AM
Hi guys,
For those that are having trouble with being logged out, have you in your browser settings deleted the url and user name/password from the cache/cookies list and started again from scratch. Just a thought.
I use FireFox, Tool/Options/security/Saved Passwords/Show Passwords.
A message will pop up asking do you want to show passwords, Click yes.
Scroll through the list and remove all entries to do with MySwag.
Now close FireFox, reopen and go to Myswag, enter your details again, FireFox will ask to remember, do this.
You should be logged in each time you visit.
Not to sure about the steps for other browser, but it would be pretty much the same, just different names for the steps out lined above.
Hope this helps.
Post by: jclures on October 12, 2012, 08:50:24 AM
I seams fast but why has it taken me nearly two hours to fix my camp trailer build thread, :D I can't  have that many photos to fix ;D with the new gallery, changing from this  www.myswag.org (http://www.myswag.org) to this //gallery.myswag.org/.
Post by: firefox on October 12, 2012, 09:00:24 AM
For those having logon problems, i think what Hairs recommended is definately the way to go. I'm logged onto permantely about 6 different browsers and my ipad. Works perfect.
Between the old/new there was substanial change in cookies and credential handling. My suggestion is delete all your offline data or at least just myswag including passwords/cookies etc and then close the browser and logon again.
Cookies (which keep you logged in) have changed their name etc from the old site. It's probably getting confused..

jclures, Send me a PM on the gallery if you want some help.. Apologies for the change in the gallery setup.

For the techies i'll explain why i made this decision to change...
What you didn't see behind the scenes of web pages was the quantity of mod rewrite rules. (they were everywhere!) I counted on a 2nd level page more then 380 rewrite's occuring on the gallery/URL/web page which was just putting insane amount of undue stress on the server.. To run the gallery and forum on the 1 virtual server these rewrite rules where needed.
As we were going for speed and a bit better security, the goal was to get rid of rewrite rules as much as possible. They are extremely limited now.. Actually i don't think the forum uses them at all.

So although there has been a few design/architecture changes in the forum, rest assured they've been done to speed up the site as fast as we possibly can. The server we are on (just for FYI, is a quad core Xeon processor (single) with 4gb of ram and SAS drives. It's a small DELL machine probably worth new about 4K...) Coupled with the flexibility now of our own host and the possibility to do a number of great little things like getting rid of rewrites etc this changes everything!

Glad everyone is enjoying, don't forget if you're stuck or found weirdness let me know.
Post by: bobnrob on October 12, 2012, 09:54:37 AM

(http://s9.postimage.org/jtpsn1niz/login.jpg) (http://postimage.org/image/jtpsn1niz/)

Doesn't seem to be there for me  :(
All cookies gone, cache completely emptied. Still keeps asking me to log in
Post by: firefox on October 12, 2012, 10:15:48 AM
Hi Bobnrob,
So it seems with the upgrade on SMF (patch i did) this has changed i think from a security standpoint.
The index page login no longer offers the "stay logged in option.  However...  ;D

Go to http://www.myswag.org/index.php?action=login (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?action=login) (or just click the Login option on the index page) and use that login, and there is the option to stay always logged on.
You can change the period of time you stay logged in as well.

Hope that fixes your problem.
JD
Post by: firefox on October 12, 2012, 10:17:16 AM
Everyone,

Good news the Forum Media Gallery is fixed  :cheers:
It was permissions and missing files?? Anyhow just did a test upload into it, and it failed last night, but i just tried after some changes and it is working now :)

So that section should be good to go..
Looks like nearly everything fixed on the forum :).. Now onto speed, email, ftp, dns and other stuff to finish :)...
JD
Post by: fuji on October 12, 2012, 10:53:03 AM

Duhhhh, thanks. Must be the new medication doctor has me on.
Post by: mrdenn1s on October 12, 2012, 10:57:48 AM
This forum is now going harder than Ron Jeremy after an enforced layoff
Post by: Brett on October 12, 2012, 04:21:21 PM
This is my first run on the forum with a decent internet connection as I've been at work so stuck with 3G off the laptop for the last week.

:cup: :cup: :cup:

I'm sure we have lost some members due to the past few months of poor site performance.  :'(

So Myswaggers if you visit some of the other sites from time to time, start spreading the word that www.myswag.org (http://www.myswag.org) is once again the best place to be on the WWW!

Post by: chillipepperz on October 12, 2012, 04:26:19 PM
This forum is now going harder than Ron Jeremy after an enforced layoff

Well done MySwag team. Your efforts are much appreciated.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 12, 2012, 04:29:20 PM
Yep, faster than a fat kid on a cupcake.
Post by: Camping Grant on October 12, 2012, 05:37:49 PM

Well done MySwag team. Your efforts are much appreciated.

Post by: bobnrob on October 12, 2012, 07:48:11 PM
Hi Bobnrob,
So it seems with the upgrade on SMF (patch i did) this has changed i think from a security standpoint.
The index page login no longer offers the "stay logged in option.  However...  ;D

Go to http://www.myswag.org/index.php?action=login (http://www.myswag.org/index.php?action=login) (or just click the Login option on the index page) and use that login, and there is the option to stay always logged on.
You can change the period of time you stay logged in as well.

Hope that fixes your problem.
JD

Hmmm...getting strangerer :o

Tried both those ways & still got asked to log in when I came back, BUT...on a 3rd attempt while at the log in page & not entered my UI & PW yet, I got the pop up to say I had a PM  *lol*
Now I notice, if I use the log in link from "Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.", I can't go any further till I enter my details. But if I use the "Login" button without entering my details, it brings me straight in!

Just for info only, so don't spend any effort on it because I'll be running my monthly security housekeeping routine shortly, which for all intents & purpose, roughly equates to being like a clean install. I'll see what happens after that  :)
Post by: firefox on October 12, 2012, 07:52:42 PM
thats weird, and seems a little isolated..
So lets keep an eye on it after your monthly updates..

I can't see any error's on the backend, and been checking all the scripts and permissions etc.. Which is all looking pretty good.
Let me know if anyone is experiencing this afterwards. It could be a cookie problem?
JD
Post by: fuji on October 12, 2012, 08:02:31 PM

Still have to log in each time I leave the forum. Tried everything. Maybe it is the iPad?
Wayne
Post by: firefox on October 12, 2012, 08:06:42 PM
did you try on the ipad to clear all the browsing cache.
then instead of using the login on top of the index page, click the login link and use the form with the login page, with the option to stay checked in.
I've tested this process on my ipads and seems to be ok. Let me know how you go.
Post by: jeb1900 on October 12, 2012, 08:08:09 PM
Nice work everyone involved in the server upgrades!  My coffee now gets cold while on myswag, not enough time to drink it between clicking everywhere! 

Congrats to all, it's a lot of hard work and I'm sure at times you get fed up with it. 
Post by: fuji on October 12, 2012, 09:18:23 PM
did you try on the ipad to clear all the browsing cache.
then instead of using the login on top of the index page, click the login link and use the form with the login page, with the option to stay checked in.
I've tested this process on my ipads and seems to be ok. Let me know how you go.

Hey Justin
Cleared the cache on the iPad and logged in using the login link and ticked the box but to no avail. Must be me. I am known to be a pooter spa#%^ic. Lol
Post by: Bird on October 13, 2012, 01:28:43 PM
Interesting to see the numbers logged on seem to have dropped off drastically since the fix.. maybe people are in and out quicker, or maybe they gave up waitin over time.
Post by: bobnrob on October 13, 2012, 01:47:44 PM
Build it...and they will come  ;D
Post by: jag001 on October 13, 2012, 04:30:45 PM
I can't stay logged in on my iPad, iPhone, MacBook Air or eithr of my iMacs...am I missing something?

Don't tell me it's a Mac vs PC thing  >:(

Jade
Post by: Bird on October 13, 2012, 05:45:59 PM
I can't stay logged in on my iPad, iPhone, MacBook Air or eithr of my iMacs...am I missing something?
its an iFeature...

no problems on any of the PC's at home here or laptops.
Post by: firefox on October 13, 2012, 05:56:16 PM
for those having trouble staying logged on.? Is this a session thing, i.e after every page, or when you come back after a while?
Please send me a PM directly and i will try to help you out.

There is a number of recommendations in this thread on what to try.
JD
Post by: griz066 on October 13, 2012, 09:39:21 PM
I use an iPhone Ipad and macbook and have no issues at all. Not sure what is going on for others.
Post by: Mace on October 13, 2012, 09:45:25 PM
Ive just saved the new login as a favourite after logging on, no issues.

Every time I re-open the Myswag Favourite Im straight in.
Post by: jag001 on October 13, 2012, 09:57:55 PM
Fixed it... must have missed the memo that said not to use the www.au.myswag.org (http://www.au.myswag.org) anymore, after only several days of not being able to access it any other way!
Post by: Mace on October 13, 2012, 10:06:11 PM
Perhaps those that are "connected" could send a PM to those regulars nearby that seem to have gone missing with the new "gateway"

http://www.myswag.org/index.php (http://www.myswag.org/index.php)

Works for me, presume this is the one?

Post by: fuji on October 14, 2012, 05:38:34 AM
I just pm Firefox and he may think it is an issue with ios6 on iPad as I don't have an issue with my desktop. Anybody out there with new ios6 software?
Wayne
Post by: DannyG on October 14, 2012, 06:12:21 AM
I just pm Firefox and he may think it is an issue with ios6 on iPad as I don't have an issue with my desktop. Anybody out there with new ios6 software?
Wayne

We use iOS6 mate and no problems here sorry
Post by: PAC1977 on October 14, 2012, 06:22:14 AM
Yep IOS 6 and it keeps me logged in.
Post by: duggie on October 14, 2012, 06:26:32 AM
Ive just saved the new login as a favourite after logging on, no issues.

Every time I re-open the Myswag Favourite Im straight in.

Thanks Mace,

I had tried everything except resaving to favourites after login, after saving the site I sent it to desktop, works every time now without having to login.

cheers duggie
Post by: carinya on October 14, 2012, 06:28:08 AM
Sat here waiting for the screen to change after I logged in for a minute or two.  "what the hell is wrong with this thing".  Oh. it's instant now.  Beautiful.
Post by: fuji on October 14, 2012, 07:20:32 AM
Yep IOS 6 and it keeps me logged in.

Bugger!
Is everyone's clock apart from our northern friends displaying EST not EDST?  :cheers:
Post by: DocTas on October 14, 2012, 07:25:02 AM
I had a similar problem. Deleted all old bookmarks and favorites, logged into the site then resaved to Bookmarks.......All good now. :D
Post by: firefox on October 14, 2012, 08:40:06 AM
Ahh, very valid point about the DNS.. I sort of mentioned in this thread way back..

If anyone is still using the old DNS i setup (www.au.myswag.org (http://www.au.myswag.org)) please don't... It will sort of work, and it was put in place to speed up migration time. But it also caused alot of grief with the site.
So the correct details everyone should use is just..

www.myswag.org (http://www.myswag.org)

Yes there is no /forum anymore, and the reason why is to avoid rewrite/redirect rules that slow the site down and put load onto the server..
The way it is now is so much better and quicker.

I know there is a little pain in transitioning, but will get past that very quickly, and the changes significantly benefit the site speed and overall experience/load of the site.
JD
Post by: D4D on October 14, 2012, 12:39:52 PM
I just got my first SMF error since the upgrade...
Post by: Geoffwin on October 14, 2012, 02:24:22 PM
Ahh, very valid point about the DNS..

This was the issue with login,

The mix and match between with www.au.myswag.org (http://www.au.myswag.org) and www.myswag.org (http://www.myswag.org) and propogation times. From what I observed over the last couple of days the dns server used by internode finally resolved www.myswag.org (http://www.myswag.org) yesterday.
Post by: firefox on October 14, 2012, 03:08:06 PM
its not supprising about the DNS taking a while.
Unfortunately hostmonster (previous host/dns) used really long SOA entries. I tried to fix this but knew it wasn't going to be easy.

If anyone is still using www.au.myswag.org (http://www.au.myswag.org) let me know, because i will probably drop this DNS early this week when i do a cleanup on the DNS entries from the migration.
Post by: fuji on October 14, 2012, 03:08:55 PM
For some reason or another I am now staying logged in, YES!
Post by: firefox on October 14, 2012, 03:33:04 PM
hmmm me thinks this could just be DNS servers on the internet still trying to fix up the resolution. Lets watch it over the coming days..
JD
Post by: bobnrob on October 14, 2012, 04:55:24 PM
For some reason or another I am now staying logged in, YES!

Likewise  :cup:  :cheers:
Post by: Mace on October 16, 2012, 08:03:01 PM
Great to see 140 plus users online and its still flying.
Post by: firefox on October 16, 2012, 08:13:59 PM
just ran a stat on the server.. Last 30 minutes, maximum CPU was 2%... I think we have lots of room  :cheers:

Server running ok at the moment, i've been watching it at night time just making sure we've got some nice loads..
JD
Post by: BigJules on October 16, 2012, 08:29:27 PM
That's Justin, performance is absolutely smoking.
Post by: HKB Electronics on October 17, 2012, 08:59:57 AM
Have noticed a strange thing, sometimes when I log in and select show new posts since my last
visit I receive the message no new posts since last visit select show all unread posts to show
unread post etc etc or similar.

When I select show all unread posts, there are new posts there since my last visit?

Leigh

Post by: GeoffA on October 17, 2012, 09:03:14 AM
I just got my first SMF error since the upgrade...

I've had maybe 4 or 5.........not an issue at all, though........
Post by: BigJules on October 17, 2012, 09:17:40 AM
Are you accessing the forum via Tapatalk as well P&C browser? I've also had the "no new threads" thing.
Post by: WilSurf on October 17, 2012, 09:59:18 AM
Have noticed a strange thing, sometimes when I log in and select show new posts since my last
visit I receive the message no new posts since last visit select show all unread posts to show
unread post etc etc or similar.

When I select show all unread posts, there are new posts there since my last visit?

Leigh

Same here from my work pc.
No new post since last visit.
It is only when I start up in the morning and log in to see what has happened when I was asleep, dreaming of camping.
Post by: peanut2 on October 17, 2012, 10:15:24 AM
Same here from my work pc.
No new post since last visit.
It is only when I start up in the morning and log in to see what has happened when I was asleep, dreaming of camping.

Same here - work PC

Peanut
Post by: HKB Electronics on October 17, 2012, 10:21:58 AM
Are you accessing the forum via Tapatalk as well P&C browser? I've also had the "no new threads" thing.

Happens from two PC's as one pointed out above, first thing of a morning often happens
but I'm sure I have had it at other times.

Also from memory (take old age into account) I thought when I accessed the forum I was automatically
logged in. Now I always have to hit the login button.
Post by: Mandrake on October 17, 2012, 10:48:20 AM
Also from memory (take old age into account) I thought when I accessed the forum I was automatically
logged in. Now I always have to hit the login button.
That happened to me until I renewed my bookmark while I was logged in - that seemed to fix it ..

I also get the no new posts early in the morning - then 2 or 3 tries later they magically appear ??

Mystery ..

Mandrake
Post by: Mace on October 17, 2012, 10:58:08 AM
That happened to me until I renewed my bookmark while I was logged in - that seemed to fix it ..

I also get the no new posts early in the morning - then 2 or 3 tries later they magically appear ??

Mystery ..

Mandrake

Is that an old Mandrake the Magician Trick!!
Post by: Mandrake on October 17, 2012, 11:01:03 AM
Its just an illusion - all done wiv mirrers !!!
Post by: yogi on October 17, 2012, 03:27:58 PM
Any one else having issues with the MySwag Gallery ?

Post by: firefox on October 17, 2012, 05:24:08 PM
yogi how are you trying to access the gallery?
The URL has changed (i had to)..

it was   www.myswag.org/gallery (http://www.myswag.org/gallery)

it is now...

http://gallery.myswag.org/ (http://gallery.myswag.org/)

If you have links to your profile from the gallery then they have to be reset.
I believe the gallery is working/login/upload properly, but if you've got a problem let me know what it is..
Post by: fuji on October 17, 2012, 05:27:24 PM
Any one else having issues with the MySwag Gallery ?

Yep, nope not now, wrong URL.
Post by: firefox on October 17, 2012, 05:45:34 PM
ok what are the problems?
Can someone explain what is happening or send me a PM with the info so i can look at it.. :)
Post by: Jenko67 on October 17, 2012, 05:51:31 PM

Mystery ..

Mandrake

Same here, get no new posts when I log in.... plus i cant stay logged in.... even if i close the page and come back 1 minute later... but at least it is FAST....
Post by: firefox on October 17, 2012, 06:10:27 PM
i think this still has alot to do with cookies and DNS.
Can you please restart machine/device. Plus also flush your cookies (empty browsing data)

We had to change the values of the cookie during the transition.

Others have had similar problems and have done the above and it seems to have addressed the problems.
Post by: Chris F on October 17, 2012, 06:42:21 PM
I believe the gallery is working/login/upload properly, but if you've got a problem let me know what it is..
Hi Justin,
You've done a great job, this is the fastest site I think I've been on :cup:. When you say "If you have links to your profile from the gallery then they have to be reset", does that mean all pictures we have used from the gallery in the past? I would like to get the pics back into my thread in the "My Camper Trailer" forum. Do I need to manually do them all again?
Chris
Post by: firefox on October 17, 2012, 07:13:08 PM
Hi Chris,
So what you need to do is... Go to the forum posts, and edit the links.

You will need to change the information from

www.myswag.org/gallery/ (http://www.myswag.org/gallery/).............
to
gallery.myswag.org/gallery/...............

The images are named the same and gallery is fine, the gotcha being is that there is a few name changes we did..
Hope this makes sense.
The actual link/filename etc stays the same the change is purely in the front part of the link.

Hope this makes sense.
Post by: fuji on October 17, 2012, 07:21:24 PM
Hi Chris,

to

The images are named the same and gallery is fine, the gotcha being is that there is a few name changes we did..
Hope this makes sense.
The actual link/filename etc stays the same the change is purely in the front part of the link.

Hope this makes sense.

And it works, yippie!
Post by: Chris F on October 17, 2012, 08:34:57 PM
Hi Chris,

to

Hope this makes sense.

Thanks Justin, I knew there must be an easy way. It's all sorted now.
Chris
Post by: firefox on October 17, 2012, 08:41:20 PM
Everyone,

I've also noticed that alot of people have links in their signatures that are wrong.. :) (Chris i picked it up with you).

It's not going to fix itself overnight and there really isn't too an easy way to fix this all. but..

http://myswag.org/forum (http://myswag.org/forum) (used to work. it no longer does.) the reason is that we used to have special rules on the server to rewrite that URL (this is partly why the server was slow) it's also the reason why it's fast now.

The CORRECT way to link..

http://www.myswag.org/......... (http://www.myswag.org/.........)    that way the server knows where to look and there is no need for rewrite rules (which means better speed..)

Over time if you see something you can simply fix it up.

Was just an FYI.. I've included in another post about how to fix the gallery links also..
Post by: Chris F on October 17, 2012, 09:19:38 PM
Thanks again Justin, I think I'm back to normal now  :cheers:
Post by: yogi on October 18, 2012, 08:24:53 AM
yogi how are you trying to access the gallery?
The URL has changed (i had to)..

it was   www.myswag.org/gallery (http://www.myswag.org/gallery)

it is now...

http://gallery.myswag.org/ (http://gallery.myswag.org/)

Thanks that's got it sorted ... couldn't find the new URL to use.

Can everyone now see my pic's below of the 80 ?

Post by: jclures on October 18, 2012, 08:37:11 AM
Sure can yogi, I have nearly fixed all of my links in most of my posts now as well.
Post by: WilSurf on October 18, 2012, 09:56:55 AM
i think this still has alot to do with cookies and DNS.
Can you please restart machine/device. Plus also flush your cookies (empty browsing data)

We had to change the values of the cookie during the transition.

Others have had similar problems and have done the above and it seems to have addressed the problems.

Done this yesterday and still the same.
Apart from that great work Justin.
Post by: yogi on October 18, 2012, 10:24:06 AM
Thanks JC .... now to fix all of my links.

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on October 18, 2012, 11:54:08 AM

It's gonna take me a long time to fix any links!  Yikes!  How's about if anyone spots one, they tell me?

Post by: D4D on October 18, 2012, 12:56:47 PM
That's why I host my own photos :)
Post by: fuji on October 18, 2012, 03:00:05 PM
That's why I host my own photos :)

You must show me how to.
Post by: D4D on October 18, 2012, 07:04:04 PM
Buy a domain and a website from godaddy.com and away you go.
Post by: Jenko67 on October 18, 2012, 07:16:40 PM
Done this yesterday and still the same.
Apart from that great work Justin.

Me too... cant get the new posts, frustrating.... how can I see what is new...... ;D but at the end of the day that is minor with what is really happening in the world....
Post by: fuji on October 18, 2012, 07:19:53 PM
Buy a domain and a website from godaddy.com and away you go.

Doesn't it have to be .com.au? What's yoirs
Post by: D4D on October 18, 2012, 07:23:52 PM
Nope they don't do .com.au only .com, doesn't really matter

HIGHWAYCOPPER.COM is available. Just A$9.99*/yr  ;D
Post by: xcvator on October 18, 2012, 07:27:21 PM

Doesn't it have to be .com.au? What's yoirs
.com.au is reserved for registered aussie businesses only.
Post by: fuji on October 18, 2012, 07:28:39 PM
Nope they don't do .com.au only .com, doesn't really matter

HIGHWAYCOPPER.COM is available. Just A$9.99*/yr  ;D

Yeah I like that too but don't want to tell the world. Just found crazy domains which appears to be aussie? So I just pay the $20 for two years and off I go? Looking at dizziefuji.com
Post by: fuji on October 18, 2012, 07:29:39 PM
.com.au is reserved for registered aussie businesses only.

That's not fair, can you get it for me please?
Post by: firefox on October 18, 2012, 07:32:05 PM
the move on the server is permanent. If you setup a gallery account there will be no change (ever again).
We've upgrade to the ability to cover us for years. And we made the changes to ensure that even if we did load balancing, multi servers or anything like that we would be 100% covered with the correct domain structure.
The problem was the original way it was done, worked well, but was not expandable. It is now.

Don't be afraid to use the gallery etc. But we have no problems hosting pictures elsewhere, as we do have limited space, but it is available if you want it.
Post by: Hairs on October 18, 2012, 07:38:56 PM
the move on the server is permanent. If you setup a gallery account there will be no change (ever again).
We've upgrade to the ability to cover us for years.
Sound great mate,  :cup:
I busted my bandwidth limit yesterday with my host, so my site wasn't accessible  >:D

How's about if anyone spots one, they tell me?

Will do.
Post by: D4D on October 18, 2012, 07:39:18 PM
Yeah I like that too but don't want to tell the world. Just found crazy domains which appears to be aussie? So I just pay the $20 for two years and off I go? Looking at dizziefuji.com

You need to buy the domain and then a web hosting package and email, so about $50 p/a I think. I would also sign up for the whois privacy option which means your details are viewable.
Post by: Hairs on October 18, 2012, 07:54:45 PM
Just found crazy domains which appears to be aussie? So I just pay the $20 for two years and off I go? Looking at dizziefuji.com
Hey Wayne, My site is hosted at Crazydomains.com, here's my thought about them.
Cheap and that is reflected in some of the comments that have been posted in a few tech forums, they don't have a great reputation.
Now my experiences have been good, sure sometimes I haven't been able to access my cPanel, or email, sometimes my site has been down. having said that, I have contacted them, either through their Facebook page, by phone or email, they have been slow to act, But I have been polite to them and the problem has been resolved as quick as humanly possible I guess.
EG, I would create a fold in cPanel and it wasn't visible with a FTP client and vise versa, My cPanel had been missed in a couple of updates, another was they had huge outages over about a week, again I contacted them through FB and they would fix my site, They gave me a years free hosting. I exceed my bandwidth of 25GB this month in 17 days, a phone call and an upgrade and all is good again.
Just giving you a heads up.
Post by: fuji on October 18, 2012, 08:01:10 PM
 :cheers: thanks hairs
Post by: Hairs on October 18, 2012, 08:08:00 PM
No worries Mate,
Search through the below forums for who would best meet your needs.
Web Hosting Australia (http://www.webhostingtalk.com.au/web-hosting-australia-2/my-experience-crazy-domains-11536.html)
Whirlpool.net.au (http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/)
Austech (http://www.austech.info/)
Hope this helps you.

Oh, and ask questions, tech heads are a bit rude too( Not all  ;D), they expect everyone to know everything or at lest as much as they do.
Post by: timneva on October 22, 2012, 08:49:00 PM
Hi Guys,
Just letting you know I've been getting a few SMF Connection problems tonight. First time since the upgrade  :'(

Other than that, the site seems to be flying  :cheers:
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on October 22, 2012, 09:26:45 PM

I'm having some performance issues ... the site is so fast ... I can't keep up!  Do I reboot?  Upgrade?  Just get drunk and hope you can all cope without me?  Aaarrrrrgggghhhh!  LOL!    ;D

Post by: bunyip on October 23, 2012, 11:53:28 AM
Hey Wayne, My site is hosted at Crazydomains.com, here's my thought about them.
Cheap and that is reflected in some of the comments that have been posted in a few tech forums, they don't have a great reputation.
Now my experiences have been good, sure sometimes I haven't been able to access my cPanel, or email, sometimes my site has been down. having said that, I have contacted them, either through their Facebook page, by phone or email, they have been slow to act, But I have been polite to them and the problem has been resolved as quick as humanly possible I guess.
EG, I would create a fold in cPanel and it wasn't visible with a FTP client and vise versa, My cPanel had been missed in a couple of updates, another was they had huge outages over about a week, again I contacted them through FB and they would fix my site, They gave me a years free hosting. I exceed my bandwidth of 25GB this month in 17 days, a phone call and an upgrade and all is good again.
Just giving you a heads up.

I am (was) with crazydomains for two of the community groups I work with. Just signed up and ended up moving one site to another host because crazydomains was down or unworkably slow too often. Still with them for the other site because at the moment we have no traffic so not really an issue.

They are cheap and you get what you pay for.

Post by: Bird on October 23, 2012, 12:01:16 PM
I'm with Venturaip and godaddy...

Both work really well for me.

https://ventraip.com.au/ (https://ventraip.com.au/)
http://au.godaddy.com/ (http://au.godaddy.com/)

Post by: Bird on October 23, 2012, 12:03:52 PM
Is there a way to update the links throughout the forum? I've seen it done on other forums over the years...

plenty of broken links, easy enough to change for those of us that know how to manipulate th URL, but for the average punter, the old link URL is going to suck.

Thoughts?
Post by: mcm72 on October 24, 2012, 09:53:35 AM
Love the new forum speed etc   its GREAT

BUT i have an issue, every time i hit the "show new post" button , i get NOTHING at all

i have cleared my DNS and Cookies ( for my swag)  but still the same

Any ideas ??

MM
Post by: WilSurf on October 24, 2012, 10:05:40 AM
Still the same as above but only at work.
Then I hit "see all new posts"
Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on October 24, 2012, 11:39:44 AM
Is there a way to update the links throughout the forum? I've seen it done on other forums over the years...

plenty of broken links, easy enough to change for those of us that know how to manipulate th URL, but for the average punter, the old link URL is going to suck.

Thoughts?

Thanks for thinking of we average punters Lost!  I've got heaps of links back to the OLD gallery, but no idea how to find them without driving myself Miss Daisy ...  I agree, it's going to be painful for someone sweating on that pic or info ... even more so for us to go back and fix them all.

Post by: Chris F on October 24, 2012, 02:42:00 PM
Here is how to fix your links to the gallery. It's boring but easy.
Hi Chris,

to

Hope this makes sense.

Post by: Kit_e_kat9 on October 24, 2012, 04:16:32 PM
Here is how to fix your links to the gallery. It's boring but easy.

This coming from a user with 143 posts!   :cup:  Try wading through a few thousand posts and then tell me how easy it is ... cheeky bugger!  :o  ;D

Kit_e  ;D
Post by: Chris F on October 24, 2012, 04:27:55 PM
Sorry but I don't think there is an easier way. Good luck with it  :-*
Post by: Geoffwin on October 24, 2012, 05:47:58 PM
I have used cPanel and Plesk and in both the myswag.org/gallery and gallery.myswag.org would resolve the same way.

I do not recall now where the control is in the control panel - been a little while - but it should be relatively painless to change?
Post by: xcvator on October 29, 2012, 05:32:30 PM
I have found that some pm's are not being forwarded for some time, ie., email notification comes in but pm's not showing for more than an hour or so .
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on October 29, 2012, 06:38:16 PM
I have found that some pm's are not being forwarded for some time, ie., email notification comes in but pm's not showing for more than an hour or so .

That'll be the daylight saving causing that.  ;D
Post by: mcm72 on October 29, 2012, 09:49:17 PM
Hi. Any help or ideas for my question above ?
Post by: ozbogwam on November 02, 2012, 04:40:39 PM
I can't seem to access the forum via Tapatalk anymore. Any idea of reasons why?
Post by: Kangaron on November 02, 2012, 06:18:57 PM
No probs here.
Suggest you check for updates.

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

Post by: Estelle on November 02, 2012, 07:32:37 PM
I can't seem to access the forum via Tapatalk anymore. Any idea of reasons why?

You have changed the address?

Http://www.myswag.org (http://Http://www.myswag.org)
Post by: ozbogwam on November 02, 2012, 07:33:59 PM
You have changed the address?

http://www.myswag.org (http://http://www.myswag.org)

Oops

Have now and all good
Post by: Kangaron on March 05, 2013, 05:42:44 PM
Is it just me but the forum has seemed very slow for the last couple of days.
Scrolling through posts it has the stutters etc.
The rest of the net is as smooth as!
Torrents running @ 2MB/sec
 ???
Post by: GGV8Cruza on March 05, 2013, 06:09:02 PM
Been fine down in the South

Post by: Hairs on March 05, 2013, 06:16:06 PM
All seems to be as normal here, Northern NSW.
Post by: KingBilly on March 05, 2013, 06:17:47 PM
All good in SE Qld.

Post by: xcvator on March 05, 2013, 06:49:34 PM
Is it just me but the forum has seemed very slow for the last couple of days.
Scrolling through posts it has the stutters etc.
 ???
Have you paid your internet bill ?  :angel:
Post by: Toy pradopetty on March 05, 2013, 06:58:02 PM
Fine in the Gong and Sydney.
Frank

Frank
Post by: Kangaron on March 05, 2013, 07:23:17 PM
Have you paid your internet bill ?  :angel:

Just d/l ARGO in 21 minutes so running ok
Post by: D4D on January 24, 2015, 03:43:41 PM
Just got a bunch of SMF errors, first time for ages.
Post by: DarWen on January 24, 2015, 05:47:48 PM
Self Managed Fund Errors can't be good  ;D ;D ;D
Post by: firefox on January 24, 2015, 09:35:45 PM
Hmm. Well d4d you better send the, to me.
We are on the latest build but was it system erros or performance related?
Post by: D4D on January 24, 2015, 09:40:14 PM
It was the usual, SMF couldn't connect to database, error. Lasted about 2 minutes then back to normal.
Post by: D4D on January 25, 2015, 06:41:54 PM
It's happening right now

Connection Problems
Post by: Swannie on January 25, 2015, 06:44:03 PM
Yep I got the same message
Post by: muzza01 on January 25, 2015, 07:14:29 PM
Mine is working perfectly. I was on line at the same time D4D posted his probs.  I was on the Ipad both times, not sure if that makes a difference but I havnt had any probs.
Post by: Swannie on January 25, 2015, 07:35:12 PM
Mine was on ipad
Post by: firefox on January 25, 2015, 08:26:52 PM
I did a heap of updates on the server today.
Though had a look at the logs, we peak at about 10% cpu.

Nothing in the logs so maybe just a weird blip on the radar..

Post by: GeoffA on January 26, 2015, 06:01:54 AM
No issues here. Windows 7 PC.